Boon Keng Mommy's Club

Leereiner,
I not sure who is the biter also. I only noe its a little boy. The teacher scolded the toddler lah. But I can bet with u this kind of thing happens everywhere...so I guess there's no way to prevent it

U mean ur ger is sucking the water or juz sucking in air? I think u have to persist and try for another few more days. Because she has been used to nite feed for so long its not so easy to wean her off nite feeds.

Leereiner,
Then u got tell her "No more water" then show her the empty bottle. Then if she still wanna hold it boh pianz have to remove it and let her a cry a while liowz. Then try to sayang her after that?

she knows she gotta "hand over' the bottle whenever she finished her milk or water. (trained her hee.. to prevent sucking).

okir gotta use "boj pianz" to remove it... see how its goes tonite...

thanks... blur... thanks for your advice...

Leereiner,
Your girl seems to show improvement
Don't give up!

Celeste,
The playgroup that I enrol my girl for nxt yr is $150/mth for 2 hrs, ie $3.75/hr.

So for Creative, it'll be $270/mth = $67.50/wk = $4.5/hr. If it proves to be good, then will be worth it.

jf,
Me enrol in Creative infant/childcare becos that is the only one that takes child at 18mths and somemore my ger 17mths now only. Around Boon Keng MRT area no other childcare take 18mths kids. The others i enquired are 2yro and above.

hi jf,

the creative playgroup is 9-12 and lunch is included, no shower. how about yours?

hi blur,
my girl didnt wake up for milk last nite lor... but she wakes up early, aro 7am to ask for milk. And me made more for her and she can finish it. hmmmmm hope she will be in this way lor. but me cldnt sleep leh, think my body clock has used to "wake up a few times", hard to fall back to sleep.

Leereiner,
oh, that's gd. What do they serve for lunch? Do they feed the kids or let them self-feed?
My girl's playgroup is from 9-11am, 2 hrs, no lunch.

Leereiner,
thats gd!!
Wake up at 7am gd liowz woh. My ger sometimes up at 6am. But as long as I get to sleep through at least from 11pm-6am then its oledi happie enuff for me *lol*

I guess my ger will most prob be inside ur playgroup with ur ger too! The operator Mrs Wong has been telling me my ger refuse to stay inside the infantcare room these days keep coming outside to join the older kids...haha

hi jf,

cant rem what're the lunch serve.... teachers will feed them unless toddlers can feed themselves lor. still training my girl to self feed, can hold spoon to mouth but food tends to go to other places rather drop to body... teach her gotta pick up food when drop, cant waste it...

hmmmmm my girl is a good girl again today... she didnt wake up for milk or water at all... for 1 day... hooray....

hi blur,

did mrs wong call you? there's 1 case of HFM @ her centre, the partent cfm today. was mrs wong who spotted the red spot on the kid. the ctr will be doing the disinfection the ctr tml. wonder shall me bring me girl over on mon? hmmmmmmm....

Leereiner,
gd news leh.. your effort is showing results

Teacher will go around feeding the kids is gd lor. Bcos there're so many kids around but so few teachers.

My girl can only self-feed at around 1.5 years old. But still very messy, bcos some porridge will somehow 'escape' from her spoon on the way to her mouth. keke..

Leereiner,
Yuppies....Mrs Wong told me when I went to fetch my ger. She asked me to monitor in case my ger kenna. *touch wood*. So far still nothing, but i read the circulation they stated incubation period can be from 3-5 days!!
Hopefully no kenna....*sigh*

hi blur,

sent my girl over @ creative on 4 Dec. was with her for 2 days... she's alone today. missed her!!! called mrs wong, almost every hr to check on my girl. think she's going to "fan" by me.... ha!!!

hey my girl didnt cry @ all, from the moment my MIL left her @ the centre till my FIL went to pick her up... brave girl, rite? ha!!! feel so great of her.... wanna go home now to give a big muack, hug to her... too bad, on leave for 2 days, papers are piling up... gotta clear, clear them leh....

btw, can know your girl's name?

my girl didnt wake up for milk or water for 1 week lor.... hooray.... thanks to blur, jf... thanks for your advise, encouragement...

Leereiner,
congrats
and also congrats to your ger for not waking up for nite feed already. Yeah!! 3 cheers for you!

Haha...i even more "chan ren" than you. I threw my ger at the infantcare the 2nd day. Me and hb accompanied her for 1st day only. 2nd day left her there alone for bout 11 hrs till we went to fetch her after work *lol*. Luckily she adapted well too, cos my ger is the kind that u let her play let her eat she quite contented and she likes to make frens or smile at ppl...haha

Remember, go back must kiss ur ger for being brave yah? Jiayou

Btw, my ger's name is called Yi Xin. what bout urs?

Yi Xin.... saw this name at the infant compartment. lots of barang barang... hee... think me "spot" your girl. saw her cry on my girl 2nd day.... heard teacher called her name... big eyes, bubbly one rite?

my girl name is "ying ham" (gotta read in hokkien) not "ham" hor.... in han yu pinyin is ying han.... small eyes... hee!!!

hey you really "chan ren" leh... my hubby said "try not to go in" on my girl 2nd day, me wanted to cry... cldnt leave her then leh... think me worry too much for her.

my girl will be able to play with your yi xin, in 2 mths times, rite? promoted to toddler by then....

cant wait for 530pm.... sigh... gotta go for meeting later, hope the mgr doesnt drag long lah...

Leereiner,
My ger cried on ur girl? Ahahah...so farnie *lol*
yuppies, big eyes bubbly one, loves to smile at ppl and wave at ppl

Hehe...okies...so ur ger's name is "ying ham"
I think ur ger most prob oledi playing with my ger cos Mrs Wong told me my ger seldom stay in infant room, sometimes she will wander around outside playing or join the other older toddlers in their classes so she might even be joining in ur ger's classes too

As for "chan ren" ah...haha...even mrs wong told me from wat she monitor on first day she tink my ger shld be okies on 2nd day. Because 1st day we got like morning leave her there alone for 2 hrs, then afternoon then go fetch her. I tink my ger quite easily satisfied lah...give her toys, dont lock her in the room, give her enuff food she is happy...haha

Btw, my ger going to officially promote to childcare in another 10+ days time! ehehehe

hi hi anybody?

my girl has settled down over @ creative.... but am thinking whether to change her to another centre when she's 2 (but yet source lor). err... why wanna change? find the english teachers speak ang moh "limited co" lor. my english is very "lan" so wanna let my girl to have a gd start. or shall me stick to this creative and enrol her into enrichment class. then this gotta burn the weekend... sigh... me is kaisu one lah. just cant help lor. what do you think eh?

hihi, I'm back

I'll be taking leave on the 1st few days of Jan to accompany my 2-yr old girl to playgroup. As she's pretty shy, I'd expect her to take some time to warm up & get familiarised with the new environment. Dunno if she'll cry big time anot?? Keeping my fingers crossed!

Leereiner,
great to hear about your girl sleeping thru'out the nite
Yippee!

I think the same about burning wkends too.. now my girl is enrolled in a once-a-wk wkend enrichment class at BJG. But I'll stop her lessons once she starts daily playgroup, so as to let her (& me & hb) take a break from classes.. hee

Do you speak English or Mandarin to your girl at home?
Most of us speak English to my girl in our family & now she's 'jiak kantang' one.. ocassionally when we talk to her in mandarin, she'll give us that blank look. Hopefully she can learn some mandarin when she attends playgroup.

FIL, MIL - Hokkien
SILs, BILs - English/Mandarin (has an ang moh British BIL)
hubby & me - English (trying to cut out those lah, hor, lor....)

dunno is it good to talk to my girl with the rojak or anot....

registed my girl for the JG sun class but on waiting list, think gotta be next mar08. wonder shall let her go...?? burnt weekend leh...

Leereiner,
I guess I am a very heck care mother. *lol*. Cos i guess my main purpose is to let my ger go and have fun and not stress her into learning things. So as long as the centre can take care of them then gd enuff
But also, around my area only Creative takes in kids at infant and childcare 18mths old *lol*. When my ger turns 2, i might change her to the childcare juz next to my blk so that its more convenient for me

jf,
I think I very jiatlat, i trying hard to speak "pure" english to my ger and my hb speak "pure" mandarin to my ger...but we normally ended up mixing english and mandarin at times *lol*

hi blur,
ooh... creative has the party for the kids today hor.... but my girl is not joining in... coz bit troublesome for my mil to fetch her back home @ 12 then gotta bring back to ctr for the party lor...

happy holiday.... enjoy.... are you taking leave on 21dec? then can a long weekend.... hee...

gonna bring my girl to the zoo on fri, hope it doesnt rain nor too hot...

Leereiner,
Yuppies, going for the party there today
Nahz, 21 dec not taking leave...this yr i burnt out my leave

enjoy ur zoo trip

Leereiner,
My DD also in JG class liaoz. for like since she was 8 months old.

This coming term will be last term under playnest and she will graduate and move to playclub.. me also on waitlist for weekend playclub... also thinking about it, cos burn weekends..

You think i should give up JG and just enroll her in Creative playgroup? It is easier on MIL, cheaper and less $$ spend on transportation to Forum shopping mall (but MIL like JG as it means she can go jalan with my DD!) JG really fun for my girl. she loves the classes and learn alot from teachers, songs and peers..

Boh lang in? I visited Bestcare Montessori at the Boon Keng CC on Sat. But does not seem really interesting. Guess what the teacher explain to me when I ask her how come the fees are $800/mth? She said its because the Montessori teaching materials are more exp...*pengz*...so we are paying for the materials more instead of other stuffs? Cos I tot the teacher-child ratio will be smaller but seems like it is about 1 : 7 also *pengz*.

hello,

happy new yr!!

Hey Celeste,
*wave*.. me here! kaoz. 800 sgd a month? childcare or playgroup? if playgroup, more ex then julia gabriel!

me busy this week with packing up.. gonna say bye to my city skyline view!

no one ah?

Hey, anyone KPO and check out the City View HDB @ boon keng?

i nearly fainted when i saw that the cheapest 2nd floor 5 room flat is 580k..

long time didnt say hi hi here lor...

ya saw the news on the paper too... hubby & me just said "siao" leh... how to substain the instalment with the cap of $8k.

jasmommy,
went to the JG last sun.... my girl was active for the 1st hr then no energy for the english section. but her eyes became big when its "outdoor" time, she "ba zhan" the slide... others she's not interested. ha!!!!

jasmommy,
800sgd/mth is for childcare but i still find it really exp cos the teacher child ration is 1:7 which is not say very gd attention also for this price *pengz*

Yes I went to view the Boon Keng DBSS! I love the balconies....can imagine staying at the 35th storey drinking kopi at the balcony and enjoying the cityview at nite! Only the C2 designs of bigger 5-rm flats got the Marina Bay/Spore flyer view! Price for 30th storey 1259 sqft is 670k!!!!

But the so-called condo finishings a bit kelong lehz...they give homogeneous + timber flooring. Actual condo normally offer marble + timber flooring. Somemore their bathroom acc. not those grohe types like pte condo....they still dare to price so high! *lol*

so quailty does not match with the price eh? besides flooring, what other things are included?

hi blur,
ya went to bestcare too... found it not worth the $$$... ya the same ans, the material for teaching = $$$? me just "HUH??" is the brand lor "montessoris".... still thinking of the learning vision @ arthur road...

do you have the "communication book" from mrs wong from the 1st day you put your girl there? how about "parent handbook", do you have it?
hmmmm... now your girl is in the toddler group leh?

Leereiner,
Ya...I feel that the quality does not match the price. Things included juz like condo lor...kitchen cabinet, built-in-wardrobe, toilet all done up.

Learning Vision at Arthur road...woah...ur MIL so onz will take transport just to bring ur ger there?

No lehz, no communication book mabbe cos when my ger went there she was infant side...haha...yes..she is in the toddler grp now liowz

Hi blur,

even the things are provided, bt with not gd quailty ones, maybe a few years later, the cabinets, toilet thingys will be "out of shape, leakage" then gotta fork out $$$ to buy/ re-built nah... troublesome leh, and waste the $$$... but the repsonse is soooo good leh.... hmmmmmmm.... so wonder what they see for the units leh?? pay the price for the VIEW?? hee....

if gonna put my girl over Arthur, then she gotta take sch transport - additional cost. my mil will have to pick her up @ the downstair car porch lor.... just a wisful thinking... ha!!!!

wow... toddler grp.... upgraded lor....

so sian @ work now... how me hope weekend will be 3days n 4 working weekdays leh... ha!!!

Leereiner,
ya lor...juz like u see those premium flats...so many ppl complain the flooring etc!
but i do agree the view shld be super nice. I like the fact that the bigger 5-rm flats master bedroom also got balcony...i tink its a very gd thing...imagine sitting there at nite enjoying the breeze and view....but with the kind of price tag, i don't think its worth it.

Woah...take sch bus....but so young, i feel that take sch bus like very sad....tats y i never thought of putting my ger at any childcare or playgrp that is not within walking distance.

ahha, sianz at work...me too...got 3d 4 working weekdays kind but shift work...12 hr per day...but if have i dont mind also, save time on transport!!

12hr shift work... can consider leh.

hi anyone had bring your jr for holiday before? can share your experience? like what things to bring. good,bad,enjoyable, troublesome trip? where did you go? will you bring your kid for next trip again?

thinking to bring my girl for holiday... so wanna gather information here... please share....

Celeste,

the view ah.. keke... that was the view i had at my old place @ blk 21!

Fantastic view, but do note, only city view 5 room flats have such views and not ALL have fantastic views! the finishes really not worth it. this price, i rather buy back my old place! whahaha...

I thinking to enroll my DD for playgroup.. think ascension kindergarten very far?? Or YWCA @ Mcnair better?

Sigh.. dilemma leh!!

junie,
I go to a gynae @ Geylang East area.. quite close by. Women's specialist clinic, Dr. Denas Chandras.. He is indian though (punjab type). but very nice and friendly and have night clinic, so can save leave. Price very affordable!If your family drive, quite convenient. Delivery @ Mt. A / East Shore.

Think you need to search yellow pages for his exact address.

Leereiner,
I went holiday to bangkok with my girl when she 2 months and to bintan in oct, 2006. Will be going Darwin Australia too.. My take below:

Bangkok
1) good for < 6 months when easy to carry around in bjorn/ sling, cos strollers are a no-no!
2) Book service apartments, cos can get kitchen with microwave to sterilize milk bottles!
3) Best go with family! as someone can help jaga bb and take turns!

Bintan Lagoon:
All ages, from 6 months onwards.
1) swim/ play water
2) Get a 1st floor unit with a foyer, so when bb taking nap in room, you can have a beer/ drinks with hubby outdoor and suntan and relac and read books.
3) Bintan lagoon got a kids room area for tods to play in. FOC for under 1 yr old.
4) Buffets r FOC for < 2 yrs old! so, DD get to taste milk, juice, bread, all kinds of fruits and food from buffet spread!
5) We ate japanese food also and DD gets to eat chawan mushi!

Things to bring:

1) Milk bottles enough for 12 hrs, to be washed with bottle detergent (travel size) daily.

2) Medela microwavable bags (add water and put in microwave. Alternatively, boil water, pour it into the bags when boiled and pour out after 5 min.) Can use 20x each bag! Can also use to sterilize breastpumps (i hand express or bring my Avent isis when i travel).

3) Enough milk powder (i put into double sealed ziploc bags instead of carrying a tin around.)
If you BF, even easier! Latch and go!

4) Clothings for bb &amp; diapers (pull ups!)
5) sweater for bb
6) small portable fan
7) a travelling diaper bag for use on planes/ boats (Like the big carters' flower bag) and a smaller everyday use diaper bag (i prefer lesportsac/ longchamp bags which can fold flat) when u reach destination for day trips.

4) spoons &amp; bowls &amp; long sleeve bibs, 500ml hot water vacuum flask.

5) favorite toys for car trips/ boat trips or provide comfort in strange environment for night. Pacifier is a must if they take it (my daughter dun take pacifier).

6) sunblock, sunhat, travel bb soap/ powder etc. (pigeon has a nice compact travelling case) and Wipes!

7)LOTS of ziploc bags to prevent spills and contain unexpected items like soiled diapers.

Anyone sent their kids or know someone who does to BestCare Montessori (Boon Keng) or Elim Church Kindergarten? I am trying to decide between the two so would appreciate if you can share your experience. BTW, what do you think of the Montessori method? Thanks for your help!

<font color="119911">hi oldnavy! sorry can i know where the bestcare montessori is? i think boon keng like got many kindergarden leh. got pap one very big haha. i was thinking ywca. or is that only got playschool?</font>

bestcare is @ kallang cc...

hi blur,
my girl got bitten yesterday and the ctr didnt notified my in-laws or me @ all. very disappointed. and mrs wong kept on apologised over the phone and said they didnt notice the marks on my girl's arm. and my girl cried, the teacher just wiped her tears. found the teachers are not attentive lor since they knew there's such a child who'll bite... we are well aware that such incident does happen, but we cant accept that we are not informed. urrgh!!!!!

oldnavy,
I went Bestcare Montessori before but i dont find it worth the fees that you will be paying for. When I asked the teacher there how come the fees are so exp she told me it is because the Montessori teaching materials are expensive. Hmmz, to me priority is giving more attention and care to the child (as in hygience etc) instead of paying more just for the teaching materials

Leereiner,
Hmmzz...so far my ger got bitten Mrs Wong informed me herself. Is the bite very obvious or very slight scratch kind thats why they did not notice? So far I find Mrs Wong quite gd and another teacher Jamie quite gd. The rest didnt leave a big impression on me.

Actually there was a child that bites but Mrs Wong told me that child has withdrawn. The kid that bitten your gal prob is just those once in a blue moon bite kind. Cos I know there are kids that bite but so far only heard there is one REAL biter and he has withdrawn. I guess I am quite used to this kind of thing. My ger bitten 4x liowz, once was on the face juz missing the eye. I was really mad, and thats when Mrs Wong asked the child to withdraw cos that child supposedly frequent biter.

As for the other 3x bitten, it was on the arms I am used to it. Cos even if in other childcare or playgroup there is no guarantee this wont happen *sigh*. Maybe that day there were not enuff teachers so they did not notice?

You noe YWCA at McNair, I heard there even worst there are 2 biters and they dont ask the biters to be withdrawm woah!

told mrs wong that we are well prepare to accept that my girl will have accidents @ childcare ctr, be it she's bitten, fall, hit, bruises cos they are still kids. the marks is visible to me. Mrs wong kept on saying that such a short time plus my in-law was there to pick her up so the teacher didnt have time "examine" my girl, but busy to wipe my girl's tears. But at least, the teacher gotta told my in-law why my girl was crying since my in-law was there. Me wont expect they to "report" every single movement/ cry of my girl. the ratio is 2 teachers to less than 10 children @ at time. Sigh.....

jamie is no longer with creative, there's a new replacement. and there's a "meet up" on 8 Mar, next Sat @ 9am... will you be going?

Leereiner,
Jamie left also? *peng san* seems like turnover rate there quite high, previously there was a Mdm Ng whom my ger likes a lot. She also left
. *sigh*
I tot playgrp is more than 2 teachers to less than 10 children. Childcare playgrp side alone I see bout around 8-9 kids. Then still got those playgrp from 9am-12pm type i tink if I am not wrong they have 2 teachers to bout 13-14 kids for the 9am-12pm session.
Got meetup on 8 Mar Sat 9am ah? I donno yet never receive the notification.

Actually I tot of changing my ger to the childcare next to my blk when she is 2 yrs old cos more convenient. But then my no. 2 is coming in July! I might end up putting no. 2 in infantcare...so end up mabbe still stay with them...cos thats the only place that offer infant + childcare *sigh*