Being SPECIAL ,...

1173361.gif

tick tick, we r very near to 2008

Dear mummies. I am just a preschool teachers just begining a module on special needs.I don't have a special needs child nor have I have much encounters with them so I must admit that I don't know much. I read in the entries that everything is very expensive. I thought the government provide subdies? I read that one of you is taking a special needs course. Is it subsidised or self sponsored? I get the idea that there are not many teachers in the special needs field and fees are increasing. Actually it would be nice for the government to sponsor such courses up to degree level. I am currently on sponsorship for my diploma in preschool as budget is pretty tight.

hi btw I also PM some of you guys am email as I would like some of you feel back on special needs inclusion in singapore preschool.I hope you will be able to help me.My email is [email protected]

My girl doesnt attend pre-school with education like Kinderland or other preschools.

School fee subsidy available for low income grp.

Sponsored/certified special needs course - U can try SDF if u r a working personnel whereby yr course is 75% subsidied. Degree as a pure student, not sure.

wendy k
I think you referring to me?
I am currently pursuing a master degree in Special Ed (Visual Impairment). It's a distance learning course (cannot leave my 2 kids behind). the course is entirely self-sponsored. i have approached several agencies for partial sponsorship or some funds, and no one is interested. Reasons?
1. I am too old. Sponsorship only to those below 35! Heck, I'm already past 40. Nobody wants to sponsor grannies. And they talk about life-long learning!
2. I'm taking distance course. Somehow, this is NOT as 'prestigious' as doing it there. But I can't help it. I have a girl who is going blind, and needs me, and another 2 year old boy! Can I leave them behind, just so I can do my course?
3. No demand (MOE and NIE response). As far as these 2 are concerned, 'special needs' in Singapore schools refer ONLY to those with learning difficulties, in particular, Autism and Dyslexia. It doesn't take a genius to realise that this is very politically motivated! So, those with vision problems, sorry lah!

Well, I am doing it because in the first place, I am able to help my own child. Then of course, there are also the so many children who are not receiving specialist care in education here. I hope to be able to help, once I complete my course. Wish me luck!

Hi all great mummies here,

I oso hv a special need child who has epilesy n delay in global development. Just want to share, I hv got some free tkts to give away. This is recommended by my friends who also hv special needs children.

Especially those parents with special child this talk will be of good knowledge for them to have a better understanding.

We would like to extend the knowledge of the wonders of Enzyme Therapy plus the benefits of enzyme for pregnant women, infants, children and safety and efficacy of Enzyme Supplement to those who needs help.

Pls PM me with your address if interested. Just pay for the postage n envelope will do. Dun want the tkts to go to waste as the date is drawing v.near now. YOu can bring your child along oso if you want to.

1495919.jpg

i don't have a special needs child but i'm working as a counsellor in a mainstream pri sch and i really would like to learn more from all from u mummies

i hope if u mummies dun mind if once in a while i pop in to ask questions, "listen" to ur posts, etc.
if i am intruding in the thread, pls do let me know n i will def back out
mayb just some background?
i've been working as a counsellor for e almost 7 yrs liao but only joined sch late last yr.
but in all my 7 yrs, i had to work with children with special needs occasionally n sometimes, i really find it hard, not becos i dislike them or anything like that, but becos i find that i'm not properly trained so sometimes things that people and i take for granted, e children cant handle.
so if i may, i would appreciate any help in learning how to support these children

to all e mummies, u've been through a hard journey n it is still a long one
u need to also take care of urself so that u can take care of ur loved ones
god bless

Hi, may i join this thread? My child is developmentally behind and i'm looking or planning to start a parent support group to meet regularly to let our kids play together or for parents to meet..

my child is now 17m old.

The Disability Information Referral Centre (DIRC) together with KK Women's and Children's Hospital, NCSS, MCYS, North West CDC and the Ulu Pandan CC will be organising the above event on Saturday, 12 July 2008 from 8.30am to 12.30pm at the Ulu Pandan CC Theatrette.

The forum would share and discuss issues on Autism Spectrum Disorder and the continuum of care. We have invited speakers with expertise in ASD to share on diagnosis and the Continuum of Care which includes Dr Lim Sok Bee, Senior Consultant of KK Hospital , Social Workers, Psychologist, Occupational and Speech Therapist.

We would also like to extend the invitation to you and your colleagues, parents to join us for the Public Forum to enrich our knowledge with experts views on helping children with Autism Spectrum Disorder.

The admission is FREE and is through registration only. Do register early as seats are limited.
If you need further information on the forum, please contact Ms Normalah at 67882215 or email: [email protected]

Hi all, this thread had stopped for so long...Shauna you are welcome here...

Hi Angelmum, never had a chance to talk to you in sch...how is Sym in the new sch? Lucky for my gal that 2 of her old classmates are with her, so she is quite ok...parents are not allow to stay ard, & teacher said she is happy & cooperative, have to trust them lor...

Hi Toy Collector, is the date correct? If is in August, i will let my frend know, cos her son has austistic.

1568772.gif

hi Yukee

Ya this thread extremely quiet .... hmmm, we assume not many special kids lately nor bad news so gd news lor (since everybody living happily), hehehe.

A lot of ex MDSS commented we like going to jail cos so many gates and restriction. I cant even stroll to EIPIC blk nor get water as and when I like. Now I practically go in and only step out with gal after 4hrs of sch. No more Library or go makan/jalan for 1hr.

My class got 1 ex classmate cos was told exMD will be classified in same class so kids wont feel totally new or no familiar face. Sym still bonding with teachers, no therapy or Aqua yet.

Lately got to know an on-line novel website, housing all our fav authors/novels, want link? PM me/post here if u free to be glued to the PC.

Hi Angelmum, can pm me website? That means reading the novel on pc? Abit tired for eye leh, but try & see how.

Yah u r right, like jail...can't even see wat my gal is doing and we still don't know the time-table yet, but luckily her classroom window is near the carpark, we can peep from there...my hb says sooner or later we will get complain...hahaha...i heard my gal have aqua, PT alternate week, group OT, but Speech still donno...don dare to ask liao, cos keep asking whenever i saw the teacher...Actually me & Anita is consider questions mummies in Margaret Dr, until the EIPIC head & the teachers also cannot 'tahan' us...but wat to do, increase the fee & took away the therapies, of course we have to push them to do something lor...

Morning
Think it's right for parents to ask especially yr fee much higher den PCMH.

PM yr link. I got glued to PC, really tired. I add a link into my fav whenever I want to pause so need not find the pg again.

Angelmum, tks for the website...can only read at nite, scared if read in day time later get hook & my gals will be in a mess...haha...

angelmum-
hi from ur nick, im staying pretty near u. i'm in clementi area. bb is on waiting list to special sch. actually specialist feels he's a little young and can wait awhile. but all the therapy costs are really getting a handful so we requested they proceed with application. mixed feelings abt commencing the process..

yukee-
thanks for the warm welcome. it is a very trying period and i'm sure all the mommies here have gone thru it and may still be going thru it.

is ur gal in margaret drive? what happened to the therapies?

Hi Shauna

Indeed we stay near each other.
Both Yukee and my gal were ex-Margaret Drive students, we've just transferred kids to Yishun new sch.

It is certainly costly, no subsidy if u r not under low income - applies to govt sch only. Nothing is cheap for a special child. Those who hv diet issues or bedridden even worst.

Therepies are limited for older kid (PCMH) such as mine but if u were to get into Rainbow Centre, the EIPIC (younger kids) will hv therapies, could be 1 to 1 or group. My gal got in at 19m. Was told early interventation (EIPIC) is better ... just as the name explains. One of my gal's diagnos is also GDD

Hope u r learning how to cope. Not an easy life, sigh!

btw, r u working or taking care of yr child?

angelmum-
yishun new sch? i have alot of catching up to do(abt all sortsa options available and what lies ahead). the disability services just contacted me so we're be seeing them for admission. so i guess thats not the same as being on waiting list huh?
pardon me, what is ur gal's diagnosis?

yes i'm doing ok. i'm a sahm. we cant be more grateful that our boy does not suffer physically.
sometimes i really feel burned out trying to practise the things the therpaists tell us to do. with so many therapies going on, n such close intervals in between, its abit hard to see success. so skiving abit now.. heh heh. cancelled some apptmts so we can practice at home.

Shauna
Yishun Park sch was formerly Balestier Special sch, belong to Rainbow Centre

My gal has Angelman Syndrome - mainly speech impairment and GDD. Deletion of chromosome.

I know of 2 kids (many others but not same class) with GDD but no diagnosis. Even CT scan also cant find anything.

On the initial stage, worth to try out all therapies (if can afford) and see which one got improvement and benefits yr child. External therapy not cheap. Pte cost ard $100/hr. KKH previously 30min about $22.

Ever since attended special sch, we didnt go KKH Rehab. Also didnt even bring her for accupunture .... mentally and physically tire. Just want a easy life with no strict targets.

U got a maid to share yr load?
Yr boy now can crawl or already walking?

Angelmum-
well PD says its GDD for now. we will just have to wait and see.

We're seeing therapists at Child Devt Unit at NUH. its quite a sum too. $70 for 45min each session. i didnt go find out abt other pte therapists since we're already waiting for special presch.

its true we need a break. i feel constanty uptight and very very responsible for every activity my child is doing.

no maid leh. we had one when we 1st tot i would return to work after maternity leave. ended up, din like the idea of a maid too much and became the slave myself. haha. thank goodness! or i wil always be in question if my child had always received good care.

my boy is cruising. hope he walks soon. my neck is REALLY long liao. haha.

are u in any of the support groups for special children?

u a sahm? have u tried bringing ur gal out on playdates?

Hi Shauna

U didnt ask for C class subsidy at NUH? Can get polyclinic to refer u to NUH if u r a Sporean. Can yr kid call papa mama?

Not bad, yr child already cruising. My gal at 19mths still cant sit up or creep. I didnt join any support grp related to Angelman cos it's something very rare. I joined a club ie meant for kids with life-threatening or long term illness/dissability. There r events to meet each other as well as share our life journey. At least not so lonely cos I SAHM, hardly bring her out to play .... especially places which mrt cant reach.

SAHM for a few yrs. No choice, wasnt able to get a part-time job ie able to cover cost of caregiver + work expenses after retrenchment. Cant entrust my child to a maid with nobody at home to keep a lookout ....same worry. Now too old for office job.

At special sch, I borrowed a Kaye walker during sch holidays for my gal to walk at home. Was really helpful!
http://www.rehabmart.com/product/12021.htm
(the version sch is the latest model, not same as pic)

It really means a lot to means to see her walk at 3yr old. Now I still carry her but not so much. Still rely a lot on her huge stroller cos she cant walk very long, will trigger seizure if too tire. Oh, did I mention she's turning 6 this yr?

Yukee
u busy ahh, got hooked to the on-line novels?

Cowandchick
Guess she still busy with her course.
Wonder how is it and her gal's eyesight.

Angelmum-
i was admitted as pte patient during my delivery so cant downgrade now. nah, my son is not saying anything meaningful yet and does not say papa or mama.
*nods.i understand the constraints of being a sahm. very hard to entrust an "average" child to anyone's care, so for me, its almost impossible to entrust my child to anyone now!

wow. u can actually borrow the kaye walker? how tall is she now? actually my son never walks on any of the walkers we've bought for him. n he's got plenty! he takes the computer chairs with wheels like "office" chairs and pushes them ard for a very very short distance.

how heavy is she? carrying her is alot of work. the greatness of a mother's love is just beyond words!

is she the only child?

Shauna
cant downgrade? I didnt know. So if u ask polyclinic refer u to KKH will be C class? U got try ask at NUH? My elder son also born at pte hosp, was able to get C class subsidized rate for PD and Rehab (flat foot) @KKH.

My gal weighing 20kg, cant carry long.

<font color="ff0000">greatness of a mother's love is just beyond words </font>
I'm not a very superb mum but at least dont ill-treat her. She certainly got my attention compared to brother.

My way to release stress .... Last time glued to TV (no Starhub cable), now internet about 8-10hrs a day .... play on-line game such as mahjong or read novels. When I play, my girl roam around (my hse child proof) or watch DVDs.

i m a mummy wif a pair of twins, gg to be 3 this NOV... but my younger twin a special kid, being cerebral palsy.. attending special sch at cerebral palsy centre @pasir ris... wandering any mummy here wif CP kid...would like to noe u n share our tots....

angel-
wow. really? i asked the social worker then she say she cant qualify.. din try kkh.. hmm..

its true we need to vent n find some form of stress relieving activity. actually since my boy was born i rarely even turn on the tv unless he's aslp. like living in well. thankfully he sleeps early so i get abit of sanity aka tv at nite.
i always feel very guilty if i leave him to roam the house leh. my house also quite childproof. hee. but childproof till his height oni. (if u know what i mean..) haha.

i din noe u have 2 kids. how old is the boy? we may go for no.2 in some time.

20kg is alot loh. mine is like 10kg plus and i really cant carry for long. i rmbr when he was 6 kg i was complaining, 8kg i was complaining.. n the complaints havent stopped but we still manage somehow..

so is her current sch parent-accompanied?

carrie-
welcome.

Carrie
cerebral palsy ... this was a term given to 'olden kids' ... b4 somebody discovered a new medical term - Angelman Syndrome. Some AS kids looked like CP (bedridden) thus was often mistaken. I'm considered 'lucky' cos my gal can walk with a wide gap (a bit robot and unstable)

Yr sch has many CP? Wat do u do in sch?

<font color="0000ff">Actually most special child parents r going thru almost the same journey/feeling. We dont seem to get enough support in terms of financial help to get equipment, therapies, special diet, etc.</font>

U aware u were pregnant with a special child? Any family history .... forgotten to ask Shauna this question too.

Shauna
My hse has no glass look cabinet but got a glass sliding door, no choice, cant change to thick unbreakable transparent door. All my stuff r hidden/locked so she cant pull my drawers/doors easily. She loves ransack my drawer &amp; cupboard, doesnt appreciate the joy of playing with toys.

My boy in P5. I think u shld try for no2, not only get a companion for yr son but also take advantage of the new attractive baby incentive. If u working will be even better, 16wks M leave!! Envy!!

Her sch requires one caregiver to a child but some parents simply dumped the kid in sch and made sch a childcare ctr - if the kids r independent, can self feed, I dont mind at all ... too bad, they r quite dependent on teachers. I came across some kids who took the sch bus to sch themselves, made the teachers pay extra attention and deprived other kids of learning.

We attend 4hrs sch, 2 times per wk. If the parents dont come in, teacher will hv to bring the child for therapy, do work time, feeding or even change diaper. Each teacher has 3-4 kids to handle.

Since it is a new sch, I'll see how the teacher intend to balance her time. Currently, my gal only has about 15mins/day of teacher's time, which I find quite unfair to me and another mummy.

20kg is as gd as having 2 big sack of rice. I wear waist pouch so that my girl can sit on it to lighten her weight ... I'm not that strong lah

angel-
haha. u're right. the new baby bonus.. we've always wanted a playmate for the boy. esp when its hard to take him out on regular playdates and good company is rare. (i'm sure u know.)not working lah. never thought of going back to work, not esp when this boy needs extra help.

i guess some parents really have trouble making ends meet, so gota "dump" the kid in sch alone. but if they are being pure irresponsible, its damn sad.

oh, u have the hip carrier? i do always refer to my boy's weight by "sacks of rice" too. ha!

we have no family history. in fact there isnt anything to trace back to. the pd felt that it was necessary to intervene early coz family background is good, mommy is with bb ..haiya.

actually my pd has mentioned my child may (they really cant give any definitives yet and i dun think they shld, at this pt) have very mild CP.

anyone read the book "laughing allegra"?

angelmum
oh din noe AS kids will looked abit like CP kids...
well.. cerebral palsy is the diagnosis tat the neurologist at KK gave...n actualli CP thers a few types.. my gal is the more serious type wher by her legs, hands, neck, trunks, etc are affected... (quad CP)

shes coming to 3 soon, n she still cant roll over by herself, cant hold her head upright for long, learning to sit now... dun tok abt standing n walkin....
sighs... sometimes come to think of all these n the future path she gona go thru... i realli feel very upset why i haf to bring her to this world to suffer...
yah. i agree wif angelmum, special kids reali need alot alot of money ... n thers not much support..hope govt can give more subsidies to our special kids..yah?

my gal is in Cerebral Palsy sch.. thers many CP kids ther... n also sme autism kids...
my gal is still in the EPIC program, wherby she attend 2 sessions per wk, each time ard 2.5hrs..
the teacher will teach my gal hw to play, sing song wif her...smetimes help her to massage her hands n legs, cos most of the time she ll get very stiff... thn follow by OT n PT sessions(30mins each), wher by the therapist will help her excercise, practice rolling, sittin, standing, etc.

ur gal in yishun sch ah? so how u bring her to sch each time? u drive?

Shauna
Laughing Allegra, didnt read. U like this book?

That mum not making ends meet. I think Malay has many kids so she prefers to dump her 14yr old girl in sch for 5days (mine only 2 days)and get cheap &amp; gd childcare cum learning opportunities. Where got childcare charge half day care for $100/mth? I think would easily cost them $200. Can only say that Malay family selfish, deprived others learning opportunity. Most of us dont live nearby, we purposely go sch hoping it will create a difference/our child can learn something! Ask me travel all the way from BB to Yishun via train just to let teacher spend less den 30min with her .... I dont find it worth my time.

The waist pouch is the type with volume/fat looking, not those slim and soft type.
1655239.jpg
It is really useful to me. Cheap and gd. I know ppl say I look ah soh but no choice, I got to protect my back + really not a strong woman. Sometimes, at the mkt, ppl ask me for the price or to take order ...

Carrie
So did yr sch put yr gal to standing frame or some PT equipment? I was very sad to see my gal still lying around at 19mths. So after she got into Rainbow Centre, I co-operated with the PT to do exercise as well as brought her for acupuncture. Was very happy to see her walking at 3yr old. It was like my target has achieved thus I became lazy. Didnt purposely bring her to Kwong Wai Shui Hospital, TMC unit, near Boon Keng mrt nor did I massage her. Paiseh .... so lazy!

I'm also very upset and dont understand y I still get a special child, after visiting KKH during pregnancy and requested for tests. When I conceived her, I had uneasy feeling. B4 her, I had a misabortion, foetus no heartbeat.

I requested for detailed tests and thot I had been tested WHO KNOWS WHEN GAL about to turn one, KKH ran tests and found her abnormal, den KKH told me they didnt run any genetic tests cos I got no family history. KKH even claimed there are so many tests in the world and they cant run all. I shot them back and said, there wasnt any Angelman in my family so how did they found out if they didnt do all the tests. KKH's negligence = my whole life filled with miseries and no light. KKH said they adhered to SG medical guidelines so they did nothing wrong. They are the professional and decide what tests I shld take during pregnancy. I can request but that doesnt mean I'll get it cos they dont want waste their resources, although I'm paying! Angry, disappointed, sad and felt deserted .... still my gal, cant dump her aside.

Talk about more subsidies for our kids who hv no future and cant do anything beneficial to SG, I believe we can only continue to daydream that somebody will think about us. Some of us became homemakers (no choice since no trusted helpers) and wasnt able to contribute to the workforce were also sacrificed (again) in the recent govt 'good news'.

BB to Yishun via train = Yishun Park, Rainbow Centre. I dont drive. I only go to places accessible via mrt. If no, somebody must drive me cos I got a huge buggy + a big girl to handle.

U SAHM? Sch nearby or got to drive/take public transport?

hey all... my ger is also in EIPIC at yishun park now. she's got great teachers who adore her, so it makes my 1hr journey to the sch much more worth it.

my ger is also not walking at 4YO, can sit for a while when we put her in sitting position. doesnt respond to us, but only to toys. guess humans are not that *fun*. ha!

a fren has started a group in memory of her late son who has choromosome disorder, would you all like to join us? http://www.raregenes.org/

by the way, my ger is a choromosome disorder, some duplication, some trisomy. a unique case, no match in the world. really *special* lor.

do join us at raregenes, its great to talk to ppl who really understand rather than ppl who *say* they understand.

yah. the therapist does put her on the standing frame once in awhile, but dun do tat everytime cos my gal will cry like hell... she also has AFO to wear on her feet to prevent her legs to grow in deform shape.. but she also dun like to wear thm... sighz... we cant let her cry too much also, cos shes on gastro button feeding.. if cry too much... ther ll b milk leakage frm the feeding button...
got so much things to consider...haiz

sometimes i guess its fate bah.. since she is born my daughter.. thn i gt the duty to take care of her life.. jus try our best to do the best we can for our special kids bah!

wow.... u got to travel quite far hor..i think west side dun haf any special sch hor? neber tot of shifting somewher nearer to the sch? for my case, i stayin at bedok, sch at pasir ris, so not too bad... but usualli takes a cab to n fro the sch, esp if my elder gal also taggin ard..once in awhile will take mrt n buses..
i m workin full time... main caretaker is my maid n MIL loh... sometimes i wish i can take care of her myself.. but if i dun work, thn ther wont be enuff income to provide her wat she needs...

are
will definately visit the website n c c....so chromosome disorder is definately someting out of our control yah? so ur ger talk? she feeding well? u haf how many kids?

anyway i always hope tat ther ll be miracles for every special kid....

hey carrie...

my ger's on AFO too. also cry like mad each time we force her to stand. also cant let her cry too much cos she's got heart probs, and she tube fed too.

yes, chromosome disorder is out of our control lah, just our "luck" lor. ger not talking, dun think she understand language altho she sometimes seem to respond to some things. she's been tube fed since birth, still totally on tube feeding only. which brand of tube are you using? i have some mic-key feeding tubes to give away, the bolus one, cos i use the thin long one, which is meant for continuous feeding. throw away a bit sayang, so ex.

i only hv my ger. she's my first, and most prob my last also. dun think i hv enuff energy and heart for 2, esp finance also, cos i'm a SAHM.

Hi Angelmum...me no time to read the novel leh...cos catch a bad virus make me sick for almost 2wks &amp; after dat my maid went home for holiday, so have to look after my 2gals myself, by the time they sleep i am dead liao...

Hi Shauna, Carrie &amp; Are...guess with special kids we need to have a lot patients...that is the only thing we need lor...have waited 3+years, my gal finally can say a few words...haiz...hopefully she can start speaking soon...

Angelmum, you are not the only lazy mum...heehee...usually before school holiday i have a list of thing i plan to do with my gal, but when school re-open, think i only did 1 or 2 things with her...

Hi Are
were u previously at Balestier or MDSS? 1hr journey!!?? where u stay?

I browsed yr site and found a Prader Willi Syndrome named Jacob. Both PWS &amp; AS are deletion of chromosome 15. Only difference, PWS due to father's gene while AS due to me. We joined www.clubrainbow.org last yr and were very happy to hv our 1st family overseas holiday with CRS. There were doctors and volunteers with us so gave members an easy &amp; worry-free trip. Members are classifed into different grp, my gal in the Rare Genetic Network (RGN). CRS organises many events for members and their family to meet and enjoy. btw, there are 2 AS and 1 PWS in CRS .... if my info correct. Currently, there r 400+ members.

How old r u? I know of some ppl who decided to hv another younger child cos the older is a special child .... Yukee eg. It is quite hard to 'survive' in Sg with a special child but I kept comforting myself she's not stressful cos no need go thru sch tests and education pressure. Only worry, wat gonna happen if I'm gone b4 she gets independent (able to take care of herself). I dont hv a fortune to give her nor got luck to strike Toto and ease my son's burden ....
We basically live with a miserable income, no savings for rainy days so quite worry about kids future. I dont think there's going to be teens/adult care ctr to watch and teach special ppl ... give them a safe, rewarding &amp; fun place to past time at a low cost.

AFO - understand most kids dont like to wear but dont wear bad for them. I saw some got strapped so tightly so when AFO removed, u can see the reddness.

Carrie
West, I think Jurong has a pte special sch so I guess would cost more. It is not near mrt so would be very inconvenient to us.

Understand, I also want to work so dual income to live 'comfortably'. But I worked out the cost of getting a maid is actually not worthwhile if I choose to work part-time ... Still want to be involved in my gal's sch. If work f/t, I dont think I can go home on time. Nowadays, employees seemed to take 2 person's load. Furthermore, I really too old to get a gd mkt (office) rate.

No need to shift hse la, my girl only goes sch 2 times a wk. The train journey about 25mins.

Wat kind of relation yr elder gal and younger 1? Bully or take care? No3 got gd bb incentive, wannna try? hehee

Poor Yukee, sick! Lucky yr maid go holiday after u recovered. Is it a must to give them home leave b4 a contract renewal? If they suddenly decide not to come back, how?

Next wk is last wk of sch b4 Sep holiday. Sep 1 is Teacher's Day but falls in the 1wk sch holiday, do u give teacher present? I thot dont give cos felt my girl didnt get the right amt of teacher's attn. No OT, MT, Aqua or ST, only PT alternate wk. Kind of paiseh not to give although I felt I got 'valid reason' .....

Angelmum...think is a must to give them home leave...cos every1 is doing it so we just follow lor...if she suddenly don't come back, i continue to slog lor...actually without a maid is ok for me, just a bit troublesome, cos my gals still young...anyway they are in childcare every mon, wed &amp; fri, but staying with my in-law...haiz...they abit troublesome, so got to get a maid to do housework lor...

Just to share...when i preg with my #2, i also abit scare, although all the test i did the result is ok, but always feel that there are some problem you can't detect during pregnant stage...anyway my #2 was in the NICU for a week after she was born, cos her lung has not develope well yet...cos of the 2 bad experience, thinking of having #3 also a bit stress...so now factory close liao...

Anyway having #2 doesn't mean that its a must to look after the #1 when we are gone...just don't want #1 to feel that she is the only person left here...

BTW, if you don;t feel like giving present, then don't give lor...last year i gave...tis year still havent thought of it, cos everyday so busy...heehee...but shd be giving, cos will buy something for the childcare, cos they take care of Jiaxing very well, really appreciate their kindness &amp; effort...

Talking about therapy...sometime feel that it is a mistake to change sch, cos Anita told me their side now is having individual Speech liao...think next will go &amp; check with the teacher again...

hi Yukee

I just chat with a friend who was previously BSS, dropped out and went pte. She now on waiting list back to Rainbow cos they didnt meet her requirements, despite the high fee paid. She was also telling me she's considering AWWA since near to her workplace. She mentioned AWWA dont need caregivers to sit in (fair to all kids) .... but I worry Sym strapped to the chair to control her movement, etc. Also AWWA so far.

It seems like therapists r scarce and thus some kids r sacrificed. Heard that if some parents r demanding, the chances of having OT MT or ST is higher. Thus, u might wanna ask her class teacher about the possibility of ST in 09.

Actually I brought Teacher's Day presents but the thot of teacher not spending time with Sym made me quite unhappy (out of 4hrs class, merely gets 15-30mins 1 to 1 attn). I want the present as a token of appreciation not becos ppl give, I must also give on T Day. Probably, I keep to end of the yr and see whether teacher will self-reflect. Dont want walk into principal office and be complain queen. Miss MDSS.