BEDOK mommies club

Iwg26

Teacher Jane's daughter is taking piano too.

I spoke to her piano teacher once. She doesn't allow parent to sit in. Hubby prefers to sit in so that he can assist my dd2 during home practice.

Lee tai, my son had low concentration so abacus can help to improve concentration so I m still considering .

Yawn,
If the piano tr goes to her house, can see what she teach right? Just that cannot sit next to her lah. How's the teacher? I need to look for new one soon.

leetai,
My son "graduated" from the teacher at Tanah Merah last year. She teaches only till k2. My consensus similar to yawn. I see some parents really stress up when the kids started to fail at P1 and P2. My gal will tell me so and so fail Maths or Chinese need to go back for remedial class during holiday. For her, Chinese and English seem to be a breeze cos she started reading and writing since preschool. So I focus on maths cos the school will teach diff topics every few weeks.

Yawn,
Do you find that starting P2, the syllabus gets more difficult.

Iwg26

I didn't try that piano teacher after our conversation. Hubby prefers to sit in leh. Maybe when my dd2 is older then shall consider independent lesson

Yes, syllabus getting tougher, I see less and less full marks, more & more mistakes.
For comprehension, it's no longer simply lifting from the passage. That's why hope to find an English enrichment by P3

Yawn,
I get stress up when I see her marks like roller coaster, esp Maths. Sometimes can be v good sometimes borderline. Why dun you try Mindstretcher? I heard it's good. The one at east coast always full house on weekends. I enquired at the Grammer school (can't remember exact name) in a row of shophouse opposite Katong mall and near Kim Choo. They seem v professional.

Iwg26

thanks! Is there a website or contact number for Grammar school?

This year our weekends are packed, mainly due to my dd2's piano classes. So I can't add any enrichment for dd1 because no time to ferry her. Waiting fo P3 morning session so that she can attend classes on weekdays afternoon

How's your kids' diagnostic tests? Are you looking for Maths enrichment?

Hi Yawn2 & Jun

I feel so "bad" when compared to the both of you :p

I didn't research on what are the enrichment classes to send my children.
Only send my gal to mandarin speech & drama as there's what her K2 teacher advise me to.
Then I am registering my son for the phonics class at Tanah Merah next yr cos I don't have the time to teach him like I did when my eldest was still small.
Other than that I didn't plan for any other classes for them.
Probably my thinking is "wait and see" attitude. When the "alarm" rings, then I will take action :p

Sometimes I do feel guilty towards my baby ... whether is it a right choice to have her or not.
If w/o her, I might possible able to do more things for my eldest gal & son ... sigh ...

leetai,
Phonics class should be good enough. Teacher Jane is good with preschool kids. Both my kids can write by K2. So don't worry.

As for #3, I was in this dillemma before. But now looking at the little one, he's so adorable. And his bro and sis adore him. We should count our blessings that the kids are growing up happy and healthy.

Iwg26, winniebear

Every baby is a gift! I wanted a 3rd child too

But hubby is not convinced. He's the rational type lor, said I would be 高龄产妇 too risky & another baby will affect my 2 girls' studies since my attention would be diverted. I know he's right but but but babies are sooooooo CUTE!

Yawn yawn
Ya loh. It's a joy. Can't help to share how responsive my boy is now. Recently he has started walking. He always try to "escape" from the house, run to the lift and press the button to go downstars. Then this morning he went to my cupboard and dig out a bottle of bubble. Keep mumbling to me bubble cos my kids always blow bubbles for him.
If I'm a tai tai with a lot help, don't mind have a few babies loh.

Hi Yawn2 & Jun

my baby gal is becoming more responsive as well
At 2 months old she starts to smile at us when we play with her and on & off she can laugh out loud

Each time I bottle feed her, she will be playing either with my fingers or the bottle.

My two eldest are not so responsive at her age then. Indeed this baby gal has bring joy to the family. Each time when I am feeling stress, a look at her will take away all my stress.

I must find time this weekend to print out a picture of her and place it at my workstation

Hi Lee Tai,
Can u share more abt the phonic class at Tanah Merah? I'm interested to send my son, K1 for phonics lesson. Is there still vacancy?

Hi tadelin

Actually my boy have not start the phonics class yet, will start next year and I haven't meet the teacher too probably in Sep as recently she send me an SMS to confirm the seat for my son.

The website of the school is
http://www.icreativelearner.com.sg/. It's home-based
phonics lesson conducted in the teacher's house.

Think this teacher is quite popular. I register my son back in Yr 2008 when he's only 1 yr old :p

lee tai,
The teacher is not in icreativelearner anymore. She has ventured out on her own. But she adopted the same teaching method. She's good and patient with young kids.

Hi Jun

Thanks for the update.

So that explain why I can't find her address on from the icreative website. But her lessons still conducted at Tanah Merah?

Anyone knows any ballet class for toddlers in Bedok or east area? My ger is 27mths now and she request to go for ballet classes

Jus me, The clinic is Oasis clinic @ blk 56 new upper changi rd, tel: 6448 8055 it is a PD clinic.. Bt expensive. The charges normally $50 abv.

Hi there....

Decide to pop in here since I'm quite an Easterner. Grew up n attended schools in Bedok, now staying in MP, moving to Bedok Reservoir next year!

I'm a SAHM in late 30s with a 9mo boy.

Would like to know fellow mummies with young bubs!

Any good nurseries in Bedok?

Hi Nov Mum

Welcome to the club

I am a FTWM and staying at Bedok Reservoir

I have 3 kids from 4 months to 6 yr olds.

Eldest 2 are currently attending Bedok Luthernan Kindergarten.

Hi June

I have no fate with the phonics teacher afterall. She is not having any N2 classes next year on sat, the classes are during weekdays instead ... sigh

I am actually looking forward to it as I don't have time to teach my son like I do with my eldest ... sigh

Guess now I have to start my search again ... sigh

Hi Nov mum,

I'm a semi SAHM. Have a 2yrs old boy and next month i'm goin to pop a girl.

Do join our gathering when ur free next time.

Congrat kris, do take care..

Welcome nov mum to our bedok forum..

Do u wan to try phonics @ Mavis or mind strecher @ Tamp. My son attended mind strecher b4 I find him gt slight improvement they will oso give storybook for the kids to read @ hm. bt I w/d him & enrol to Mavis for P1 prep.

Hi Jun,

Thanks for Jane's contact!
I had called her and unfortunately, she only has 1 slot available for my son on a thurs and the timing is from 3 plus till 5pm. I dun have any helper to bring my son to and fro tanah merah, so i need to look around again.

Any one has any good recommendation for phonics in bedok or parkway?

Prefer to have the class on weekends so that i can bring my son by myself.

Menmen,

lee tai, some addtional infor abt mind strecher:

U can try Mavis @ parkway or mind strecher @ Tamp swimming pool. Bt there one ting for mind strecher I don like Is the toilet is inside the pool. sometimes the way to toilet the flr is quite wet & children might fall.

Lee Tai & Taurus,
Thanks for ur blessng. Very anxious now, cus less then one month of waiting time. Last pregnancy is induce, so was in the hospital waiting for birth. This time got to wait for the right time. Hope everyting goes smooth.

Hi Kris,

Wow.. you must be anxiously waiting to meet baby girl! That's wonderful, a boy n a girl! I hope I'll have a girl next too... even though it's hard to imagine having a 2nd one when my hands are full with my boisterous 9mo!

Winnibear,
haha, my younger sis who's already turning 31 this year, attended Bedok Lutheran nursery n pre-school in her days! Gosh... how time flies! Isn't it quite a distance for you to travel from Reservoir to Bedok South?

Nov mum,
Thanks. Was glad its a girl. Cus i'm almost driven crazy by my playful boy. But most ppl say now a days girls also very playful. I nv really plan for 2nd one. Try once and strike. 4D also not so accurate.

Nov mum n Winniebear,
I'm from Bedok Lutheran when i was young.

Taurus,
Nv really enjoy this pregnancy, as I'm down will eczema this time. Think is due to hormones changes. Seen the skin specialist. Lots of things to apply during shower and hv to keep applying mosturiser. So troublesome. If I'm lazy, I'll end up like a monkey.

Kris,
Didn't know you have eczema. Is it better now? Recently, my gal has also eczema and her scalp is very dry and scaly. Now she's using the baby shampoo meant for cradle cap and Qv cleanser. Every night also must apply moisturiser.

Re: Girl
Girls not necessary easier wor. My gal is the most accident prone compared to her brothers. So far, she admitted A&E 3 times and stay in hospital twice. Most "memorable" was fractured arm and stitches on her eyelid. That time I almost cried when I see her eye full of stitches. Luckily the stitch was on the double eye lid slit so has recovered nicely. The doc say if miss by 1/2 cm, she'll be blind.

Jun,
That day when we met was so much better. But its the hard work.. As i hv to apply moisturiser on my whole body twice a day at least. And med on the itchy area. the toes and finger joint crack till it bleed initially. And i can't go on medication due to pregnancy, so i"ve to eat flu med if i feel itcy, which i try to avoid.
Mt A got a skin specialist which is quite gd. All thanks to him, i improve quite fast.

Kris,
The dry skin could be due to hormonal change. After giving birth should be back to normal. What is the name of the moisturiser did you use? Is it from pharmarcy or the skin specialist?

Are you ready? Well prepared with the baby and confinement stuff? So excited for you... ; ) I told my kids next time I'll help them take care of babies. Cos they're so cute! Can't get enough of them.

Jun,
I'm using Cetaphil Moisturing Cream tt u can buy from Watson. But i find tt its still not mosituring enough, so i bought cetaphil Intensive Cream that can only get from the doc clinic. U might wan to try the normal one first, if if still not gd enf then i can help u buy the intensive one. Recently i try the Cetaphil Daily Advance Ultra Hydrating Lotion from Watson. Its more watery, but i don its as gd as the cream onces.

I'm not quite ready, haven even fix the cot. This time is second one.. so took my own sweet time. Haven even pack my bag yet. Goin for my pre-natel shoots tomw at the studio with Lucas. Hope he cooperate wit me..