BEDOK mommies club

how was yr CNY? I ate so much, that my friend whom i had lunch just now, commented that my arms seems to be abit big!!! and i noticed my waistline like expanded abit. GOSH!! I really need to do something abt my diet!

BTW, my ds had high fever on 2nd day of CNY. It went as high as 40degrees! Good thing after seeing the doc, his fever has subsided. Doc said he caught a flu bug. DS has started to cough and had runny nose since last week too. It looks like there's a bug going round, cos a couple of my friends' children (so far 7 of them) are down with cough, flu and fever. One even got admitted to hospital due to pneumonia! So poor thing.

ssm,
My cny as usual. Not sure whether you all believe in the "fan tai shui" or not. According to the geomarcy, year of horse (2002 kids) "fan tai shui". I don't usually believe those stuff. But when my gal was 3 yr old, we didn't go to the temple to pray for her wellbeing and she broke her arms on 2nd day of CNY. Quite sway and we spent our CNY in KKH fixing back her broken arm. Somemore it's right arm. After that she can't move around for 1 month. From that incident onwards, we very religiously go temple on 2nd day of CNY.

hippo,
is the Jay Chou's movie nice?

Gin,
Err, me christian so not into the "fan tai shui" thingy but my mum used to bring me to the temple to pray for me when i was young. Yr girl so poor thing, so young hurt her arm. Good thing she's ok alrdy. My son (2002 kid) fell sick on the 2nd day of CNY, so its a sign???

ssm

yes! I enjoyed the movie
hehe, I am beginning to like Jay Chow after this movie. Told hubby Jay Chow just expanded has fan base to include aunties too

ssm,
I also never step into temple. But I tell myself it's a Chinese "tradition". Thankfully she's ok now. I still can see a small patch of stitches on her head. Lucky girl can have long hair so can't really see. She broke her arm when she played at the playground and fell on the hard pebbles. So better watch out the kids when they're at playground where there are hard pebbles (for people to walk on and do foot massage).

Btw, my dd (2002) also fell ill on Sunday till now - she has stomach flu cos ate too much goodies. Missed school for 2 days liao.

hippo,
Hmm...then can consider watching cos I never like him though some of his songs actually not too bad.

gin,
oh dear. Hope she's better now. My son still having fever but good thing its a low grade fever. But his appetite still not very good. I hope he quickly recover and get back to sch!

ssm,
Thanks.. she's much better now. My gal always has weak digestive system. She gets stomach flu almost once a year. She likes to eat all the unhealthy food like biscuits and chips. When we forbid her, she'll throw so much tantrum. My friends and relatives say we muz control her so much as it's CNY. Not that we want to control but if sick, who's going to suffer and take care of her? Of cos it's the parents.

my dd 2002 one also got stomach wind on Chinese New Year Eve and no choice bring her to 24hrs Clinic and she ok the next day after taking the medicine .

I bring the girls to Guan Yin Temple at Bugis yesterday to pray .

dear all mummies,

I m looking for playgroup for my boy born in 2006. My parents are staying near the FengShan CC, so I am wondering is there any good playgroup around there?

PAP at Blk 135 has little step programme for pre-nursery kids

Blk 123 has a playgroup from 2 years old onwards, the center is between 2 clinics

Blk 124 RC has a plagyroup too

came across their banners but not sure about quality

nuiguirumi,
My kids are in Blk 135. Their playgroup seems qt good. Inside there's many padded gym equipment for the little ones to climb - looks like Gymboree. My kids even ask me whether they can go in to play : ) The teachers are quite caring too.

Hippo,
Envy you leh. Always get to watch movies. Does your parents look after the kids for you when you watch? I'm lazy type. Prefer stuck at home watch Serials. hee hee..

I'm new to this thread. Got invited here by hippo2002. Currently staying in AMK but will be moving to Bedok in 6-8 mths time.

My EDD is 31st May but might deliver early cos my gynea said my Bratox Hicks too frequent already.Apart from the medication and less movement, anyone can share with me if they have similar experiences? Thanks alot.

Kelcqi,
Welcome. My previous 2 kids, I get Bratox hicks quite frequent also. Average 2-3 times a day. When that happen, I will 'freeze' and not move cos suddenly whole tummy will be very very tight. I ask my gynae he say it's normal as the womb is 'practising' contraction. Mine is C-sect so I gave birth at 37-38 wks.

Hi Gin,

I'm quite new & long time didnt follow up this thread.Is your kids are in playgroup at Blk 135? Any idea what is the teacher ratio there? Do you have their contact #? I'm looking for a good playgroup for my girl also, considering talent plus at bedok cc but not sure is it good.

im totally new to this thread, and had not been visiting this forum for some time.

recently placed my boy 21mths at childcare, so finally get to get a breather from him and can start doing some of my own things. so can finally start some forum talk over here again. hehe..

anyway, i placed him at sasco childcare at bedok north. anyone had any idea on that childcare? the blk 135 tt you guys mentioned seems quite near mine. sasco is at 93. so tot of asking for your opinions.

Hi, Luvet
My dd was at Talent Plus Siglap CC for 1 year. It's more for socialising and there are singing, dancing, story-telling and art & craft. My kids are in Blk 135's K1 and K2 but I walk pass the playgroup room, looks interesting. I think PCF will be more equipped as it is a full fledge Kindergarten with indoor playground/gym room. Ultimately, depends on the teacher and which one is more convenient for you. As you wouldn't want to walk so far with your little one.

hi all bedok mummies.. im new in this thread..
same as kelcqi, im due in may.. my EDD is 19May.. im a 1st time mummy-to-be.. i lived in bedok for my 25yrs.. hehe.. even my hubby oso live in bedok.. so i guessed i will be living in bedok for another few yrs..
btw.. can anyone tell mi @ week 27 bb wts ard 1kg is it big or normal??

mommies

did you buy <font color="119911">hospitalisation plan</font> for your kids? from which insurer?
now we are insured under AIA but thinking of either switching to Aviva or GE. Any advice?

<font color="ff0000">Hello mommies, </font>
Gong Xi Fa Cai!!! Hope I am not too late to wish you all a Happy Lunar New Year! Very busy over the festive season because my gals were not feeling well.

<font color="aa00aa">Welcome to all newcomers!!!</font>

<font color="ff6000">Hippo,</font>
Wow, you've been catching the new movies. I only have time to watch DVDs. Recently watched the movie directed by Jay Chou and quite like him now.

<font color="119911">Winniebear,</font>
Your hb is so lucky!

hello mummies
wishing u all happy new year again.
welcome all new mumies

was very busy over the cny, daughter sick 1 after another due to too much goodies. my younger daughter run high fever for a few day, dunno is it teething or too heaty. the relative keep feeding them goodies so fedup.

school
my girl attend childcare along east coast road "My first Classroom'

hi hippo
both my girl is insure under GE.
it so great to have yur mum to help out. other than work, i got no gut to ask my mil to look after the kids so simple no personal time at all sort of deprivied but nothign i can do

hi caymon,
i went back to punggol last sun to visit my buyer and "see" my ex house, some contrustion is carry our at punggol plaza, i still sort of miss there haha...

Hi Gin,
Thks for yr info, i'm staying at chai chee both are not within walking distance fm my hse except there is one call "Litte Rainbow" at chai chee blk 43 have u heard of it.
Me FTWM, my hubby will hv to send to-and-fro as his working hr are flexible. Hubby said now too young send her to childcare so plan to let her go only when she reached 3, now want to let her get preparation first as she is very shy and scare of stranger quite worry for her.

Luvet,
Never heard of Little Rainbow. You can visit the school and request to sit in for 1 day trial to view the place and how the teacher teach. Usu the teacher won't mind. I sat in with my gal for a week but she still cried for 1 month. She cry for 1 hour then fall asleep for 1 hour in the stroller, then it's time to go home. This happened for 1 month. Those were the days...

Next year Pri 1 dunno how. Heard from my neighbors their kids cried on first week in pri school. Mummies with 2002 kids, are you excited that next yr your kids start P1? I am. I think I won't be able to sleep.. ha ha.

hi bedok mummies, i'm new to this thread too...
m a 1st time mum-to-be due in august.

moony,
both my hubby &amp; i have been bedok-ians all the way &amp; we also chose our new home to be in bedok. i can't imagine staying anywhere else!

i'm at wk14 now but still am not showing at all... wonder if this is normal. only have abit of tummy after eating. in comparison my cousin who's also at w14 has such a big tummy now. i'm very worried that my baby will be a small baby. anyone had the same experience of not showing but went on to have normal healthy baby?

Iwg26

kids in this era usually go through 2 to 3 years of kindergarten. Should not cry anymore by the time they reach primary school

looking forward to dd1 starting primary school next year. I will have more free time

Shan

my first pregnancy tummy was quite small too, only started to wear maternity dress in 5th month. Baby 3.8kg

Gin, my Bratox Hicks is like 5-6 times a day, and now I'm only at week 24, thats why my gynea got worried tat I might have preterm baby and ICU will cost us a bomb. Now on medication and told to be less active. My boss always said I not active enough, later have difficulty giving birth. But my gynea told me to even bedrest if possible, just that I itchy backside, feel so bored to just stay home and bedrest. But of cos if my BH doesn't stop from the medication, I'll guai guai resign and bedrest then...

Moony, I dunno lah, but my gynea told me 1kg is usually at 28 wks. So your baby size is either normal or abit bigger loh.

Shan, me so envious. I started wearing maternity clothes at 3rd month, my tummy swelled although I dropped 4kg then. I've heard of ppl able to wear their normal jeans till 6 mths. Maybe cos I'm those fleshy kind, that's why balloon so fast.

Hehe Bedok mummies, will have to learn from all of you. New to Bedok, so might need you ladies to share with me where to find good PDs, food etc. I feel so scared moving to Bedok cos all these years staying in AMK, hubby also in AMK. Suddenly gonna stay so far from parents. Feeling kinda lost...

Kelcqi,
What makes you move to Bedok since you're not "raise" here. Usu pp stay in this area because of parents.

Think better listen to your gynae cos premature kid is no joke. Hefty hospital bill. My friend told me if going to deliver pre-mature, muz go KKH cos then can take subsidised ward. She delivered twins at 7 months. The 2 babies were in incubator for 1 month and cost $10k per baby. And $10k is after subsidy. If no subsidiary is $30k per month.

hihihi
wow, so many new mummies here, welcome!

Re when to wear maternity clothings, I think it depends on individual. I have a friend who is 5mth pregnant, still can fit into her jeans. When I was expecting my 1st child, my tummy started to show only after my 5th month. As long as yr gynae certify that yr bb is healthy and growing, there's nothing to worry.

gin,
I think i will be very excited too, even more excited than my ds!! But now i'm more kancheong abt the balloting. So worried that my ds can't get into that school.

hippo,
where is the church sch that yr dd is attending? I think i will have to register my dd this May for next yr's K1.

shan
ppl say usually 1st time tummy will be small, dun worry. same as hippo my 1st time my tummy so small and no one know i pregnant till close to 6 mth. doc keep suspect ppl small went for sever detailed scan end up bb turn out to be 3.3kg at birth. my 2nd time tumy ballon at 3rd mth so big.
so dun worry enjoy yur pregancy ok.

kelcqi
rest well ok, takign care and bill for premature bb is very stressful. better to take care now and have a stressless delivery ok.
i can understand yur fear, cos i used to stay at punggol and both set parent at bedok tat why now i back to bedok again.
last time i very fear to be alone at home cos i feel so lost and if need help like no one can come in time. do come in to chat wif us to share ok

hihi all bedok mummies,
i dunno if i had made the rite choice to put my ds in sasco. cos i hv quite a troublesome criteria, ie im actually stil bfing him. he is actually not on any FM yet. so i came across this childcare at blk 93, and they seem quite willing to accomodate my bfing son, so i decided to place him there.
but it seems like they dun hv much activities... maybe bcos i brought him in only during the lunch hour. but ther isnt any gym or anything like tt inside leh... or actually i dunno wat the gym thing looks like (sua koo)... hmmm..
but my ds is kinda used to the teachers there, as he really is quite a hard nut to crack when it comes to getting him to nap. cos he is nursed to sleep, then he refuses to sleep in school, which is giving me a big headache, cos it lowers his immunity... sigh... can i check with all of you how did ur lil ones manage to nap in school? i really am quite at my wits end...

tummy small
my tummy all the way quite small leh... but i think the most important is to eat and stay healthy, and the bb come out healthy.

My 1st kid tummy oso small. Only wore maternity clothes at 4th mths. My kids both about 3kg which is alright. Actually the weight of the kids not so crucial (as long as it's > 2.6 kg) it's the development of the organs. So must make sure eat well and carefully, especially first few mths.

Cin,
I've never heard of Sasco. Why don't you bring your ds in morning for half day as most activities are in the morning? Then he can take nap at home. My ds used to nurse to sleep when he was 2 years old. I told him cannot do that anymore as he is a big boy and instead I offered to pat him a few minutes. After a few times, he understands and stop demanding for it. Maybe you try to explain to him or offer him alternatives?

Hi Wendypooh,
Understand that you send your girl to My First Classroom for childcare. Care to share with me on your opinions of this childcare? I was looking at this place too

Hi BZeemum

which part of bedok u stay? My girl was there since 2006 dec, my niece was there in 2005.

well I had share here before, I am very hapy wif the school so far though at time got some hicuup but it all can be solve after talk wif teacher.
u can email me at [email protected] for more info, not comfort sharing too much here or else later i kanna banned haha..

been so long since i participate in this thread...

my elder son now is coming to 30months and 2nd bb is 2 months...now deciding whether to send my son to carpe diem bedok res or telok kurau Or cherie hearts at jln melayu

any one got any feedback abt this 2 childcare?

Hi Caymon,

yes we still keep in touch. tat day she had a hse warming so invited us over.

so how did u ballot for the central area?

can't share much about childcare since I didn't place my girls in one in Bedok area

visited quite a few though when I was looking for half day childcare in 2006. Shortlisted Blk 76 bedok north ntuc childcare because my impressions was good. Most of the teachers are diploma in early childhoold education according to the principal

Cin
Soka behind Tampines Safra is quite impressive too but not a childcare. 3 hours kindergarten. if u don't need full day childcare. It has a huge gym hall. How old is your boy? Soka from 4 years old

ssm, PM you

Hi Gin
oh.. ur ds also nursed to slepp? does he wakes up in the nite n wans to nurse again? cos for my ds, he actually stil wakes up like 2-3times in the nite to comfort suck before he slips back into sleep. i tried to pat him b4, and it only works after much crying and only when he was on flu medication. but once he recover, he can tahan dun sleep all the way, jus keep playing on the bed, and refuses to be pat. haizz...
for the childcare, cos i work in afternoon, so i have to put him in school for nap, and he seems to eat better in school too. so i start putting him in from lunch. haizz...

hi hippo
my ds is comin to 22mths, so i guess the soka one he cant go in. and as i work in the afternoon, so i can need to place him in during the afternoon. haizz... the one u mentioned at blk 76, any idea if its very far from blk 84? cos i dun really explore the area.. im in quite a dilemma, cos my ds seems to like the teachers quite a lot in his current one... haizz..

Hi I new to this forum. I staying at bedok and will like to recommend the childcare at Blk 64 new upper changi road...

My son, 5 years old, is there and he really enjoy his class there. furthermore, the centre is non-aircon..

Bedside blk 76 (which is operated by Fengshan CC), there is another childcare at blk 184... both centres are aircondition...

Wendy,
No. In the end din ballot. Very low chance of getting because a lot of applications and the number of units available for Chinese is not a lot. The most impt thing is the price. Almost $450k for a standard 5-room flat is too steep... not to forget I still have to pay the HDB resale levy.

Hi Gin,
Understand that have to pay schools fee for June/Dec sch holiday, if i enroll my girl to PG in Mar i have to pay for June fees also? Will drop by Blk 135 and TP next week take a look for the school.

Hi Hippo,
Is the cc at blk 76 name is Sparkletots? Saw the banner when passed by, will send dd to cc next year looking for a good cc around that area cos mil staying at blk 65. Have u heard for Honey Tree child care at Dido Street(One bus top after bedok MRT, opposite Prime supermarket at chai chee).

Hi Jenny,
How is the hygeian of the cc at blk 64 cos i heard some negative view abt the hygeian, hope u dont mind.

Luvet

Yes, sparkletots. The principal is Ms Tan if I remember correctly. The center was not airconditioned when I viewed it in 2006. Not sure whether they renovate recently

PAP only pay for 10 months. Jun/Dec no fees deduction.

caymom
wow, that's a steep price to pay for 5 room

Hi Hippo,
I just called sparkletots, the center now is air cond which i dont think will send my girl to air cond environment. Thanks for the info

Luvet

Before blk 64 change the school operator, the centre is really in a mess. After changing the operator, the centre is call Kinderjoy Skoolhouse.. now is well organised and clean... my son really enjoy his day there...