BEDOK mommies club

Hi Eunice72, I'm a SAHM wif a 6mths boi. Besides flash cards wif my boi, I go library to borrow those "Touch & Feel" books for him to try out diff textures & read to him as well. I've got a number of Leapfrog Baby toys for him to play by himself too. U dun have to play wif your bb all the time. It's highly recommended that u get some toys where he can play & explore by himself & u just watch by the side. This helps them to b independent as well.

Anxylyn

What is wall hanger pockets?
where can i buy?

Yawn
no leh...i didn't sign up any art program cos timing not suitable.
i hope the childcare can introduce as an enrichment programe then i can sign up! hee...
what abt you?

Hihi mummies,

Very very long nv log in since I delivered in May le. How is everyone?

My baby is now coming to 7 mths old end of this yr and we'll be shifting to Chai Chee next month officially. Juz like to find out if there are any recommended infant care centers in bedok cos I'm thinking of heading back to the workforce. Anyone can advise me on that? Thanks in advance.

Mag, Eunice,
I'm also a SAHM currently. Very lazy to teach my gal also although I inspire to let my baby be more advance. All I did everyday was only to place her on her bumbo in front of the TV to watch your baby can read. Sometimes I'll use the flash cards frm the your baby can read set and thats all. Other times I only leave her on her bumper mat, throw a few toys there n let her entertain herself. Only carry her when she fuss.

spagoh,
Wall hanger pocket is a big wall hanging with horizontal transparent pouches for you to put flash cards or children's art piece. Can always see them in kindergarten / childcare where teachers use as teaching aids to insert words.

I bot it during some book fair from edu aids shop. Cost around $28 from this shop http://www.big-tree.com.sg/

Can also find in Nuture Craft shops but I remember it's more expensive as it's imported from US whereas the one above is made locally or M'sia.

Hi Tinkerbelle,
Try sparkletots near Tanah Merah MRT (block 80+)? Current plan is that I may placing my bb there next year when my mat leave ends as it's within walking distance from my house.

spagoh

Sun afternoon teacher not bad. New class starting in Jan. My girl is not continuing though. Our weekends very packed, no time lah

yours going P1 next year?

ya ya that's what i did, pasted some flashcards on the wall. after some time also lazy to change. haha. so the wall hanger pocket might be good
other time i also more of just jaga my bb at play and just carry her round the hse

when u mummies do the flashcards do u just show the pictures or u show bb the words too?

any babies under 1 yr attending enrichment classes?

Hallo...

Sold off my Sengkang flat. Probably, will be looking at Bedok area soon.

What are the things one will look out for in buying a resale flat?

PS: Merry Christmas to all!

Hi juz me

I sold my flat in Jul, shifted out in mid Sep and only moved to new flat in late Oct.

In btw, we were staying at bro's place and most of our stuff are in the warehouse.

A few pointers:-
If you moving from 5 room to 5 room or downgrading say from 5 room to 4 room, you won't be able to take HDB Loan, have to take bank loan.

If u are upgrading say from 5 room to exec or 4 room to 5 room, then you can take HDB loan.

Taking HDB loan is less hassle but u need to apply for the HLE letter.

If take bank loan, only can up be to 80% or 90% of the valuation price. If there's cash above valuation, say 10k, you have to pay cash. So all in all, taking a bank loan requires u to have alot of cash on hand.

If take bank loan, there's a cap on CPF withdrawal limit. Currently the limit is 120% of the valuation. Say the valuation is 300K hence the cap is 360K. Means for the whole loan period, the total amount u can withdraw from CPF to service the loan and the interest is cap at maximum 360K. Once you reach the cap, you have to service the remaining loan term with cash. A lot of people are not aware of this.

When selecting a unit, you probably would like to consider where u want your kids to study in which school later. If house is within 1 km from the school, chances of getting into the school will be easier.

Those Bedok units which are near shops or good schools are all asking high cash above valuation. A few months back those sellers are asking for 30k cash

U need agent to help you look for Bedok flat? If so, I can PM u my agent's contact. She's good and professional. Overall I like her service.

Juz me

I remember in P1 registration thread you were considering St Hilda's. If going St Hilda's, then Bedok Reservior view is the nearest to his primary school. If not, then just look around neighbouring blocks of your in-laws, walking distance would be the most convenient, can pop by easily for dinner

No loan sharks then ok liao. The feelings when you step into the house is important too. Bedok flats all quite close to amnenities so no problem selling lor

Bedok Reservoir View is consider as outside 2KM from St. Hilda, so if you are going under phase 2C, you will not even get a chance to ballot as based on past history, only within 1KM gets to ballot.

Thanks Lee Tai for responsing esp your pointers on the loan portion.

2Sleepy: We have enrolled him in St Andrew - Daddy's ex school. We have no confidence to get in St Hilda as we will definitely subject to balloting - no guarantee securing a seat.

We are looking around for a 4 or 5 room flat. We will need to take a bank loan if we are getting a 5 room flat. We hope to we can get a nice 4 room flatso that we will not need to secure a bank loan esp during this economic downturn... scared kena retrench and still have to service the loan...

Bedok reservoir has 4A type of flats and newer but I have impression not much amnenities there....

We prefer near to my MIL (Bedok North Ave 1) and amenities, if possible.

When is the best time to hunt for a flat? Now? or next quarter or 2nd quarter??

Juz me, my neighbour is selling her flat.. it's a 5A at chai chee. Email me for her contact if u want to view the flat.
nicky_chen05 (at) yahoo.com.sg

Juz me

42X series very near intrchange. 417 point block expensive lah, otherwise even nearer to interchange
You can also consider 412 or 416. coffee shop downstairs & walking distance to Bedok library

Hi Mummies : Wish u all a Happy New Year .

Been very busy so did not talk here for quite sometime .

RSS Mummies : For the exercise book , what is the standard means ? What should be fill in ? Thought was class no but there is another class no. there lah . Can advise for standard what do we fill in .

cdajun,
What is register number in class (Class no)? How can we find it?

Hang,
Welcome! Are you a new mummy? I've 2 kids with 1 more on the way...

Happy new year to all!!

Each children has a name and each name is link to a register number. The school would let you know on the first day of school.
Just like if your name is apple ang, your register no should the first few number in class. If your name is Zach Tan, you register number might be 30 in class.

When you go for orientation, you go the class list to see if your kid's name is there, beside each name, there is a number. This is the register number.

Hope you understand what i mean.

Today is the first day of School

This morning around 7 am saw one accident along the road, opposite RSS. The accident involves a RSS school bus and a car.

Hubby said the school bus hit onto the car. The school bus is full of children. Luckily all are well.

Because of this accident, it causes a massive jam

I am residing at Bedok, teach at 1 of the Primary school in Bedok also. Just deliver my BB in Oct. Hope to share joys and woes of motherhood with u ppl. Maybe some of u here are parents of my students. Haha...

ypg
kao_welcome.gif

which subjects & level are you teaching?

P1 mommies
How's your kid first day at school?

my dd1 still quite timid leh. She just stood down there, dare not place order during recess. Her buddy had to order food & drinks for her.

I intend to let her bring food to school. Any suggestions?
Off hand I can think of sushi (make the night before & keep in fridge), sandwiches, cereals, biscuits (biscuits heaty lor, cannot eat everyday), cakes
What else can I pack for her, that's not too time consuming to prepare?

Hi Yawn Yawn,

How about muffins, make in the afternoon and bring tomorrow? Fried noodles or rice for lunch with extra bring to school for recess.

2sleepy, bento sets? i tried for my son b4 and he is so inlove with it... just that the lazy mummy is too lazy to wake up at 5.30am to cook it daily..

Steam veg, quell egg with teriyaki sauce. fried cod fish and rice..
2043282.jpg

Re: P1 first day
My gal was v excited. Although I packed bread for her, she decided to try buying bread (also) from the canteen. Monday she said will buy mee hoon cos she saw someone eating. We noticed many kids buying cold drinks and titbits during recess. I told my dd titbits & cold drinks are only allowed once a fortnight otherwise, it's too heaty and unhealthy.

2sleepy,
How about make crepes and coat it lightly with jam/honey? Sometimes my kids have crepes for lunch too. Yoghurt is also good, except it won't be cold by recess time. Can also make potato cutlets the night before.

anxlyn, i told my son no cold drinks in school. My boy usually buys pizza or curry chicken during recess.. I think it's about buying and eating the same food as others. When i pack food, i also ensure i pack slightly more so that his friends can share otherwise, he will feel that he is very "poor thing" eating home food. Another thing, when we pack food for them, need to make it more unique that can attract them otherwise, they rather go for canteen food which is like their friends...

I remember my parents used to pack bread for when when i was young and everytime b4 i board the school bus, i put it under the tree for the birds to eat cos i want to buy food together with my friends.. hahahaha

Anxlyn, another thing hor.. i think this week they got buddy system leh.. so if u give them home food, then it defeats having a buddy to teach the how to buy food... Let them learn first bah for now.. till they have a close friend liao then occasionally give them home food...

Happy New Year 2009! And back to routine.

P1 1st and 2nd Day. My girl very excited too! So far no problem with school bus and recess. She has a good buddy to show her how to buy food and even brought her to the toilet.

I packed some cookies for her to munch in the bus. Her jounery back home is pretty long... currently we are picking her up mid way to go home instead of travelling back to my mum's place.

Hope the routine will kicks in and kids settle down soon.

Chinese New Year end of this Month!

Hi Mummies ,

My gal very excited too and first day first thing she bought was jelly drink . Then 2nd day hor bought sushi , yoghurt and biscuits .. spend so much till I told her cannot buy too much food ... hahaha so excited and happy and looking forward to go sch .

Sch bus : Did not arrange to take RSS sch bus as they cannot pick my gal from the student care and send back to my PIL's place at Simei must pick up same location and drop off same location and timing super bad lah .. pick them at 11.30pm for sch and reach home only 7.30pm . So in the end I pay more to the student care sch bus to specially pick and send her to sch and timing was so much better , pick her around 12 - 12.15 to sch and reach Simei at 6.45 - 6.50pm .

sng mummy,
I told my dd and hubby the same also. Ask her to buy her own food since she has buddy. But she's my hubby bao bei. He worries that she may not know how to buy. I'm super hands-off mum - she can buy whatever she want as long as within the set boundary.

Btw, can I survey what is the pocket money amount that you give your kids daily? Now we give $1 but seems like most kids get $1.50.

hi lee tai

ur gal also in bedok lutheran church kindergarten rite? K1?
my gal is in nursery... well.. shes adaptating pretty well i guess... i went wif her for the orientation on the very first day... she blur blur follow the classmates n teachers about loh... luckily on the first day, the lunch is mashed potato which is her fav! so at least she wont resist the lunch in the nearby future.... but got around 18 students in a class... pretty big class hor? on the v first day alreadi accidentally banged into another classmate n fell down at the playground liao.. jia lat... but at least she din cry... yesterday, 2nd day at sch without me around, frm wat my MIL say... she also quite alrite... jus yawning abit.. thn once reached home... she fell asleep in around 10mins! dunnoe why she so tired also? hahaa... but luckily adaptating well loh.. hows ur kids doin? adaptatin well?
btw, i met shirley (frm this thread) on the first day, her gal same class as mine... quite a nice n friendly lady...
at least got ppl to exchange info... keke..

Anxylyn, I think fathers have just this thing bout their dd.. The other day when my little girl was admitted to hospital and had to put on drip, i could see tears in the daddy's eyes when his girl was screaming and crying. When she all a sudden stop crying, the daddy almost dash into the room and check what happen. He wasn't like that when his son was admitted the last time.

We gave our boy S$2 from this year. Last was only S$1.50. i think the food in school also getting more and more expensive cos a plate of chicken rice is S$1.20 and pasta is S$1.50. 80cents can only eat noodles.

Ya I think daddy all loves their dd .. though sometimes hubby do scold or punish my gals when they misbehave but still loves them so much that when they sick , he care so much for them . Even now he is on reservist , though can leave army at 5+ and go back to camp at 12midnight , he also came home to see my elder gal and ask her how is her sch . Yesterday even when to sch to peek at her waiting for sch bus and make sure she don't run down the staircase .

I give my gal $2 but usually she did not spend all .. first day spent $0.70 , 2nd day spend $2 , yesterday spent $0.20 .. ya the food is getting expensive and though recession but food increases ..

Hi carrie
wow your gal has been good ...
I have been bringing my girl to the school for the past few days and saw those in nursery crying
The night before the school reopen, she cried and told me she don't want to go to school. When morning comes, also said don't want to go to school.
Thereafter mum told her bring Dora Bottle and wear new shoes, and she finally said want to go to school
I won't know what to do if she insist she don't want to go to school

hi lee tai
luckily my gal still like gg to her new sch for the time being...mayb can try to give her a small reward each time when u wana fetch her back frm sch, ice-cream or cake or sweets mayb? let her noe she ll get the rewards if she guai guai go sch n behave herself... to encourage her loh...once she is used to it n starts having friends at sch... she would wana go to sch liao... dun worry too much...

Hi bedok mummies,

My friend asked me to buy for her "CASCO Primary English" for P1, not knowing that she also bought a copy. Am having a extra copy, brand new not written on it. Any mum keen to have this copy, am selling it at a cheaper rate (Bought at $8.35 with popular 10% off).

If your are keen, please PM me your HP no. i will contact you, collection at Bedok area.

sngmum/foocj,
My hubby even personally pack my dd sandwich box for her (instead of my maid).... Hmm... he has never personally pack anything for me before. Alamak, I should get jealous. Haha.

Yday went to see gynae. He said my bb is lying too low and my muscles too tight, so I must keep stress-free and rest more otherwise, got risk of premature delivery. From now on, must relax relax. I think these few days school reopen, rush here & there make me so tired & stress. Yday my whole tummy feel so pain and tight.

Anxylyn, oh my god... better rest more and dont carry heavy stuffs.. How many months preggy are u now? I used to have that same problem in my 3 pregnancies and doc has to give me oral and drip ventolin to stop the contractions. My 3 kids are low also, and only bed rest helps, means no going out!

sngmummy,
I'm 5 months now. The doc warn me to be careful cos still v early now. Usually tightness should happen in 3rd tri. Ya, will try to rest more, go home earlier. The doc also gave me oral ventolin for prevention. I din have this problem for the 2 earlier pregnancies but now older so perhaps must be more careful. Maybe take some leave to sleep at home. Heng, this year onwards I've got 6 days childcare leave.

Anxylyn, you can actually request from ur gynae for hospitalization leave to rest at home cos contractions need bed rest de. Dont walk too much, dont carry heavy stuffs, do squat down, dont rub ur tummy cos rubbing also will have the tightening de etc..... Rest rest..

Thanks... yesterday too kan chiong forgot to get MC from her. Meanwhile take leave first if can't tahan will ask for MC. I also dare not take too many MC cos not sure other colleagues will mind or not. There's still discrimination against mothers lor.