BEDOK mommies club

Luvet

Before the centre change operator, the centre is really in a mess. After changing of operator, the place is now well organised and clean... my son enjoy his day there...

Gin, wendypooh,

I am moving to Bedok cos I have no choice. Now the resale flat in AMK is so sky-high, so we can only go for balloting by the government. Although far, but I'm still thankful that it's not in Punggol or SengKang cos Bedok is still mature compared to these estate. But like what wendypooh said, I think I might have fears being home alone next time, esp with the baby alone. Don't know how I'm gonna cope...

Childcare: I know of one childcare call learning hill under kinderland at Kemangan area. That one I quite like the childcare cos I was attached to that childcare last time. The environment looks quite nice and teachers also seems nice. But that was years ago, dunno if the childcare is still as good...

Kelcqi

you already purchased a flat in Bedok? 3 or 4 room resale in AMK still not too bad, maybe can go for a smaller flat lor

initially we were looking for 3 & half room or 4 room flat in Bedok. But didn't manage to find a suitable one or one with reasonable asking price

Bedok is nice. Plenty of good primary schools here. Which part of Bedok will you be moving to?

ssm
replied your PM.

I watched movie again yesterday

'L change the world' a spin off from Death Note. But so so only lah, not as good as Death Note, aiyo not worth my $19

wishes

I went to Soka's open house last year. Didn't enrol my girls. Location not too ideal for me, need to take school bus & I don't like school bus lah

School premise is quite impressive though. Fees a little steep $350 per month if I remember correctly

Jenny

your boy is 2002 or 2003? decided on a primary school for him?

Cin,
My ds (up to 2 yo) used to wake up 2-3 times a nite to nurse then sleep. Finally I BTH cos it affected my sleep and I'll wake up like zoombie. Besides he eats and drink FM also so definitely he is not hungry. I told him if he wakes up at night again, he can't sleep with me and I have to put him in another room. After the 'warning', he finally slept thru the night.. phew..

Luvet,
PCF only pay for school term. June & Dec no need to pay fees.

wishes/Hippo,
I was considering Soka too. But I find $350 per mth for 3 hr too steep. Jun/Dec also need to pay half the fee. The place does look impressive. But I did hear some pp comment that it may not suit every child. It is on group project-based and if the child is not the type who make initiatives or are creative, they may find it too demanding. That happens to my friend's son. She says her son din really participate but just sit there and watch. Pay $350 just to sit there and watch not v worth it, in my opinion

Hippo,
Wow, another movie again. Made me feeling like going too. It's been some time since my last movie but most likely have to bring dd1 along.

I’m new to this thread too. I have a 20mth old girl, and currently pregnant with my 2nd girl, staying at Bedok North.

I’m looking for weekend playgroup or enrichment classes for my girl, anyone has any recommendations? She’s currently at JG forum weekend playclub, but need to stop her soon as I’m due soon and hb and I may not be free to bring her to JG forum after no. 2 is born, so looking for classes in Bedok area, for her to socialise, have fun, and have more speech opportunities. anyone tried edufarm before? They have star thots phonics and music classes for 18mths old onwards, am considering that.

Little E,
I brought my girl to kidslink before too, but not for constipation. You ever tried barley water? My fren says her boy’s poo is regular and soft after she gives barley water almost everyday.

Nuiguirumi,
My girl also born in 2006, in June. How old is yr boy? I’m looking for playgroup or enrichment classes for her too, but I’m looking at only once a week on weekends.

Hippo,
Hb bought medishield plan for our girl, covers hospitalization I think

Hippo,

Yah, we confirmed a blk with HDB at Bedok last week. Location is at Chai Chee Blk 41. We got that through the Feb 3rm balloting. That area is consider Bedok North or South?

AMK resale flat is asking for 20-50k cash above valuation for even 3 rm flats. Imagine paying 300k for a 3rm flat? And that is before Renovation. Not very worth it rite? The Chai Chee flat we got only cost us 129k, no cash upfront, plus they upgrade the door, flooring for us. Can save the extra money for baby...

Btw, wat are the good Primary Schools in Bedok? Sorry I very Shua Ku, dun really dun the East side well.

Caymon, Hippo,

I also chiong movies nowadays. It's like the only entertainment I can have now.

Happymum123
kao_welcome.gif

Kelcqi

wow, $129K is very good buy! Chai Chee is a cluster by itself. Not classified as Bedok South or Bedok North.

Bedok North 3 room easily $180K & above. Upgraded ones $200k up

Top 3 popular primary schools: Temasek, Red Swastika, Yu Neng

hippo2002

my son is born 2003. i am looking at Temasek Pri but i had to work as PV as the school is within 2 km from my hse, Bedok North Rd. Red Swastika is within my 1km but heard many stories from my friends that the school is very stress..

happymum123, which part of bedok north r u staying?

Jenny

Distance is my number 1 consideration. I will only consider schools within walking distance. 6 years is a long time. No joke to travel to & fro.

I am in Bedok North too. Temasek is ideal with affliation to secondary school but must take school bus, not near enough leh

Temasek PVs need to ballot? heard a lot of PVs for this year registration

Why is Red Swastika stressful? a lot of homework?

hippo2002

which part of bedok north r u staying? yes, although need to take school bus for temasek, but for the sake of the child, i dun mind the school bus... I gog to due next month for my 2nd bb... so i dun have to wori for my 2nd child...

What I understand that PV dun need to ballot. anyway my son onli register next year... i not sure about this year...

Red Swastika is very stressful... many homework and when reach P4 onwards, many assignments and they often need to stay back after school almost every day for tuition...

Jenny , no 100% PV no need to ballot . This is still subject to no. of vacancy left after phase 2A2 , if no. of PV and RC members more than vacancy left , still need to ballot .

Jenny

in event of balloting, those within 1km will have priority. Find out from Temasek what is your chance before you commit your time. You don't want to end up as free labour

I am surrounded by 3 schools. Yu Neng, Red Swastika & Feng Shan. All no affliation to good secondary schools. Temasek is attractive but far lah. I don't want to wake up so early to catch school bus. Lazy mommy

A&E
have you decided on your girl's primary school?
I think we had some discussion before but lost in the archives liao

Jenny
I stay at bedok North road, near Bedok North Ave 1, quite near to interchange.

wishes,
edufarm called me today too. Ya, not enough kids to form a class. The person asked me to leave my name too, and I did. Thought no harm putting down, but dunno when the class can be formed la. How long is the MMI playgroup session and mind telling me how much you paid for it? How old is yr gal?

Jenny,
I've a friend whose 1 son in Temasek and 1 son in RSS. She say no difference leh. Both also same amount of stress ; P But no stress also jia lat. Means the child may not be well-prepared for PSLE.

Hippo,
Temasek Primary is not affiliated to Temasek Secondary. So you won't lose out for not choosing Temasek lah ; ) Same name doesn't mean it's affiliated. Temasek Sec is also not affiliated to Temasek Junior College.

Hippo, Soo,

Thanks for the info. That's why although I know I'm far away from my mum, the price I paid for the flat is a consolation to me.

Far as I know from the parents living in the east when I was teaching, I heard there is one Primary school call Dao Nan also rite? Heard that school is quite good but alot of mummies had to do volunteer work in order to get priority for their child. But I dunno where is that school. Only know it's in the east.

Kelcqi

Tao Nan at Marine Parade. Elite school, with gifted programme. Another gifted programme school is St Hilda's at Tampines, nearer than Marine Parade. Last year's top scholar from St Hilda's

Iwg26

huh? Temasek Pri & Secondary not affliated? thanks for the info!
I kept thinking they are because same name. So misleading leh.

St Hilda's pri & sec are affliated though according to my friend. Her friend's child got in with a lower PSLE score because she's from the pri

wishes,
Sure, if class is formed I'll let you know, though I don't really have high hopes of it forming soon. Min 7 is needed to form a class, think so far only 3 or 4 on interest list. How is yr gal's playgroup? Is it good?

wow, all the discussion about pri school. I have a few more yrs before I have to think about it :p

Hippo,
St Hilda secondary is an average school but it helps that if the child's PSLE score is not v good, at least he/she is assured of a place. Unfortunately, the pri schools around Bedok area has not affiliated sec schools so muz pray hard my kids score well enough to go into an OK secondary school.

My 5year old girl is in Columbus Childcare (near Bayshore side).She was there since she was 18mths-full day.We chose that centre because of the environment with big playground,no air-con-high ceiling-well ventilated.With good mix of races-chinese,indian,Japanese & Angmo, thus educational has to be of certain standard.Although the fee is steep compared to other childcare in the region,its worth price-with the enviroment,chinese teachers from China(Indians & Angmo also can speak Mandarin),inclusive of martial art lessons,lots of creative art lessons,montessori,tang poems,phobics,drama,football lessons,penmanship.
If money & location are not big issue, can go for a visit to understand more.

I have a qn to ask you ladies. I need help.

Anyone can teach me how we count Bratox Hicks? My tummy very tight now. Do we count 1 tightening as once, or we count the series as once?

I was on medication for Bratox Hick cos CNY I experience it 5-6 times a day. But the tightening never let go kind. Now the tightening is like come and go, come and go. Feeling terrible. What should I do now?

Hi wishes,

Actually if you are looking for lessons, alot of childcare their lesson time only half hr, cos children have short attention span.

Last time when I was teaching pre-sch, my lessons max only 30 mins also, cos I realized that by end of 20 mins, alot of children are already moving ard. After lesson, usually will let them have some hands on activities(depending on age) and then free play.

Of cos it also looks at how old your gal is. The younger the age grp, the shorter the lesson. Phonics wise, you can also look at what programs they use for the phonics, some centers uses zoo phonics, some berry lands, some just teach the sound only. But phonics are very important, cos it helps the children later with words forming and reading. So try to find out more before you enroll.

Just sharing some info I have on childcare centers, hope that helps.

hihi...

was busy with work, sch hunting and the new house lately.

My colleague went to the Natas fair, it was super crowded! Any good deal? As for me, no concrete plans yet but since next year ds will be P1, am hoping to go somewhere probably later part of the year. Thinking of either HK or Aussie. The only attractive thing abt HK is the disneyland, at least Aussie has lotsa activities and places of interests to visit but will be more exp.

I am urgently looking for a babysitter ard bedok to look after my 3 months old baby girl. Any good recommendation? Please contact me at 97893650. Many thanks!

hi mommies

sometime ago, i was asking mummies abt being a SAHM?
my coy has offered and approved my part time so i will be still be in the workforce for a while.

mummies, do u have any home tutor or good tuition centre around bedok north to recommend?
sorry, i am not trying to be k.s but my gal really need help in her learning...
her basic concepts are really very weak. (not exaggerating, seriously)
she is going to Pri 1 next year and she really need a primary 1 prepartory help.
if you have any good recommendation, can email me at [email protected].

thanks a lot mummies :D

Spagoh,

You can try sending your gal to Kumon? Heard it's very gd but I never try so don't know. If you're looking for a home tutor, try to get one who knows how to use concrete stuff to teach your gal, not juz on paper. Children in this stage still need alot of hands on experiences, so it'd be best if you can provide counters, legos and blks all these to help with your gal's learning.

And remember, don't lose your temper or stress your gal too much when you find that she don't understand. Sometimes, the more we stress abt it, the more the child is scare and it affects her learning.

Hi, wishes
Which constituency is your kindergtn under? My kids are in Blk 135 pcf under Kampong Chai Chee. So far quite satisfied. K1 is quite basic - mainly playing and do some homework. K2 has many activities from cooking, to making trips out of classrooms to police station, Chinatown. And computer lessons which my kids like, are included. My k2 gal has spelling ting xie every week. After 1 term, she has a revision for all subjects (something like a test) for Maths, Eng and Chinese. Because the school is preparing her well for pri school, I didn't give her any extra academic work as she is already learning how to write so many words in school. It may come across as stressful, but my girl is happy there and never complain about the work. In fact, she's enthusiastic about all the tests.

Hi Hippo2002 , I change my nick from A&E to wish a boy .. hahaha .. I not yet decide which pri school for my girl . Think need to see the vacancy and intake by then to decide . What about you , decided which school already , RSS , Yu Neng or what ?

wishes,
My kids' teachers are very caring and observant. They always feedback to me my kids' progress. In my previous kindergtn, the teacher seems busier. It depends on individual centres. When I chose the school, I ask around the teachers how long they have worked there and they were teaching for 5-10 years so I'm quite sure they are committed. Whereas another PCF that my friend's kid attend kept changing teacher. Most jia lat is those school's whose teachers kept changing. Teabreak is porridge, bread, mee hoon, red bean soup. The fees are about $115 per month for 4 hr.

Hippo / SSM,
I went to Natas fair. Booked a 5day trip to Club Med Phuket cost $3k for whole family all inclusive. Heard from my friend it's v good and no need to bring wallet cos it's all inclusive. No time to plan holiday so try out Club med.

Hi Kelcqi
heard Kumon does alot of paper practise and don't think she can do it. She cannot even finish her school homework over the weekend.
double-sided of 4-5 sheets consisting of english, maths and chinese.
she takes ages to do just 1 page, keep daydreaming and staring...thus i lost my patience and temper easily.
thot better get a tutor or tution centre to help her. otherwise i probably end up killing her learning interests.

hi hippo2002
i'm looking english, maths and chinese.

She is in childcare and comes home 6pm.
ending at 8pm, indeed very late.

great to see the PCF discussion, i was about to ask feedback from mummies.
is the youngest age intake for PCF, Nursery 2-3yo?
my in law also lives above the Kaki Bukit PCF (Blk 409)
Any mummies whose children there?
Any comments?

Spagoh,
Probably your gal is a learner by visual or hands-on. You can try Claris Montessori at Kembangan MRT. They have English and Maths enrichment but being montessori, it is not cheap. If you are looking at cheaper alternative, many RC in Bedok provides group tuition for English and Chinese. But I guess the good thing about montessori is t-c ratio is small, hence result is usually better and you can have both English & Maths enrichment on same day so save a lot of time.

SpaGoh,

Your gal now in childcare and how come still cannot catch up. Children usually learn better in Childcare than kindergarten cos the group size is smaller and longer hrs for the teachers to catch up with the slower children. At least this is what I did with my kids last time when I was teaching.

It's very common that children daydream and staring into space cos of boredom. You'll need to learn to be more patient with your gal, try reward methods? Positive reinforcements usually encourage a child better.

Personally, you feel that she is slow or she is bored with work? There is a difference. Slow means she have difficulty in catching up with schoolwork, but bored can develop when the child already knows what is going on and that is why what they are doing is not challenging enough for them. You need to identify is Boredom or slowness.

I dunno if you are open to this suggestion. You may like to try those children interactive CDs. But do be careful of the amount of time she spent on the computer cause it can be very addictive.

I only know Kumon and Julia Gabriel cos I have ex students attending them. Reviews were gd. Which is why I suggest to you. Bedok is near Marine Parade rite? There are alot of enrichment centers there, you can take a look there at the centers. Maybe one of them might suit your gal?

Hi Kelcqi

precisely, that's what we thought and heard abt children in childcare but she seem exceptional.

she entered childcare when she was 2.5yo, that time shld be Pre-Nursery class. There was learning but don't think it was very serious type, more geared towards introduction and refining fine/gross motor skills bah.
we suspect she associates the centre with play as the primary objective and learning as secondary. In her review, she has no problems with social, motor skills.
Her teachers are aware of her progress and have sat down with her 1-1 to teach her and even get a buddy to guide her as well. Till now, she cannot even read a simple story book on her own.

we as well as teachers have given her lots of words of encouragement and rewards but none seem to work in long term basis. After hearing the encouragement words, she either feel contented or shy, even more encouragement words is required to make her finish her homework or continue the game.
When we tell her, after she finished her homework, we bring you to xx xx place. She is happy and excited but instead of quickly finishing her work, she will keep telling u want she wants to buy, eat or do at the xx place. The homework just come to a halt.

Really makes us wonder if she understands the message onot.

eg, understand that counting on the paper is boring, so we try to use the beads counter but she cannot even take the correct no. of bead as 'instructed'...*faint*

another occassion, she just finished writing eg no. 12 on her own, the next qn also requires her to write no. 12. she will ask me how to write? *pressure goes up*

even her teachers are not sure whether she understands the concepts onot...

Thanks Wishes, will keep that in mind and look around. didi cmg 12mths so shopping around for more information and feedback. cos dun think placing didi in childcare if MIL can look after.

Spagoh,

From what you told me, in your gal's case might be she hasn't fully understand the concepts yet. That is for Math.

For English, don't need to worry about your gal not knowing how to read a storybook by herself. She's only 6 this yr. Alot of P1s still can't read a book by themselves yet. So no need to stress your gal so much in this. Just let her remember the simple words like is, are, was, were, we, you etc... You can buy cardboards and cut them into tiny pieces and do a flash card game with her.

Another thing to note for her English language development now is her phonics. Make sure she knows the sound of each letter and that will help her in making up words easier when it comes to reading and spellings.

When you give her rewards, you state your terms clearly and firmly. Give her a time limit for eg, "If you are able to find 10 qns by 10.30am, I'll bring you to XXX place. But I do not want to hear you talking now. Do your work quietly." and leave her alone to do, make sure all distractions are off. And by that time you come in at 10.30am, if she hasn't finish her work. Tell her you'll not bring her anymore and stick to your word regardless of her cryings and temper.

That should cultivate discipline in her. Many of the times as parents, the kids knows our limits. Many parents have this weakness, esp when their kids starting showing temper, they give in cos they feel for their child. Thats why most children behave better in schools than home, cos the teachers set rules and will stick by it, while many children knows their own parents are flexible with the rules. But once you let her know you mean what you said, eventually she'll learn and she'll take your words seriously.

I know perhaps you think saying is easier than done but I've seen parents done it and their children know their parents mean business. This will also teach your child to obey rules and take responsibility for their own actions when they grow up.

Another I observe from what you told me is that she might lack alot of confidence in herself. Why I said that is because from what you told me, she is very scared of making mistakes thats why she's very dependent on you to spoonfeed her with answers.

You might want to encourage her to try on her own and ignore her pesterings. Tell her to try doing it herself. When she's done and even if it's a mistake, let her know that it is ok to make mistakes. And still give her the reward. And when giving her the reward, tell her you are rewarding her for trying and completing her work on time.

Don't give yourself and your gal too much pressure. Our times we weren't put through so much presuure but we still survive rite?
Every child only have 1 childhood, let them have fond memories of their childhood rather than it's all about education.

This is something I really hate abt Singapore education system. Becos we focus too heavily on academic performance, our children are missing out alot in life.

mommies

Just returned from 4D 3N Bangkok trip. Bangkok seems to change quite a fair bit since my previous trip when I was pregnant with dd1. Infrastructure improved & I love their mega malls. My favourites are Siam Paragon lingerie department & Naraya bags. Kids also enjoyed their visit to Siam Ocean world

Hi Hippo
I din go Bkk for 5 yrs liao. V swaku as everyone I know seems to go there for shopping every yr. But I'm worried about cleanliness in Bkk. Now HK is no no due to flu strain so maybe shd consider Bkk. Wat's there for children? Any good buys? What's in Siam Ocean world - IS it similar to Ocean park in HK?

Ocean world is like a huge aquarium 6 feet tall. Kids watched sharks feeding in a glass boat. Heard Ocean world is the biggest underwater world in Asia. Admission a little steep though, 1 adult 2 kids S$90

I bought lingerie from Siam Paragon. Cheaper than Singapore. Also bought children hair accessories (10 Bhat each) from MBK & pretty children dresses (150 Bhat each) from Platinum shopping mall. Naragya bags for friends & relatives. Very nice!

Kids like the river cruise too. We visited 2 temples. Very easy to find your way around.

Food wise, top favourites are MK restaurant for steam boat & Fuji restaurant for japanese food. Relatively cheaper than Singapore & very yummy. Definitely going to BKK again

You can stay in Siam Square area, location very convenient.

spagoh

dd1 was with Kumon for 3 years. Withdrawn her last year because she seem stressed out. However, I feel that Kumon is still the most suitable enrichment for her. Can't find another replacement since withdrawing her & I noticed her Maths standard has deteriorated since.

You have to understand your child's personality to determine whether kumon is suitable for her.

For dd2, I am very sure she cannot take the drilling method. Will turn her off Maths totally. So I sent her for abacus instead. She's the itchy finger type, at least she can have something to touch & see in abacus

thanks Kelcqi for the detailed analysis of my gal situation. will take note and try to reinforce the system again.

thanks hippo too!

will give a try again!

Spagoh. Jia you! DOn't give up on yourself and your daughter ok. Hope to hear good news from you soon! :D

SAHM, Like Spagoh, your gal might be bored with her schoolwork. Very common in pre-school. Not attention Deficit. Usually for Attention Deficit, she might even have difficulties when it comes to her favourite actitivies like watching TV and even during play. Can she sit well during story telling?

mommies

I changed my nick. hippo2002

Kelcqi

yes, she can pay attention during story time.
My friend commented my girl may have attention decifict because she procastinated a lot, got me worried lor

Hippo,
Maybe she's not motivated or bored? Smart children may get bored as they lack clear direction and competition. Can try something competitive for her so that she feels the need to get going.

My friend was relating about her daughter who lost interest in piano after playing for 2-3 years. She was not taking any exam as the mum doesn't want to stress her. The teacher said that she lacks motivation so signed up her for grade 3 exam. Now she has regained her "motivation".