BEDOK mommies club

mommies

there are a lot of black dots & marks along the silicon line of solid surface top, around sink area

any advice how to remove those stubborn black mark?

Ha Ha,
Problem is grow up also not ladylike how. My mum say I'm a tom boy last time. So now she say my dd is exactly like me - tomboy, stubborn, forgetful etc. So now I know how my mum goes thru last time...

Hippo,
Wah, really marathon leh. I also watched princess hours at one go... just couldn't stop watching.

The black dots are mould. You can get Duck Mold Killa or Mr Muscle (choose the one meant for bathroom mold) from supermarkets. Spray on the mould and wait for a few minutes before rinsing it away. The mould should disappear easily. If not, it means they are very stubborn and may have to leave the cleaning agent on for a longer time. Some people use bleach and it works too. If you have bleach at home, try it first.

To prevent such mould, you have to keep the area around the sink dry.

haha, i was addicted to coffee prince so much so that i watched it twice! and for princess hours, i watched it 3 times! and i like the sound tracks too!

hehe, my next conquest will be either 'meteor garden 2' (Japanese version) or 'romantic princess' (Taiwan). TCS starts screening 'romantic princess' tonight at 8pm

the only frustration about watching online is the page seems to load very slowly, hang very frequently

caymom
thanks for the advice

Woow... New to me. I'll try when free. I heard can watch movies online but nvr try. How about HK dramas, any websites to watch online?

hippo,
romantic princess is it "gong zhu xiao mei"? the show acted by angela zhang and wu zun? if that is the one u are talking abt, i've just finished watching it. i first started to watch on youtube, then find it too slow, went to buy the dvd in the end but i find the ending so-so, like ended abruptly kind, just my own opinion.

Caymom,
u know, i like the sound track so much so that i went to buy the OST album, download it onto my mp3 player and keep listening to it day and night. I even make it my ringtone! :p

SSM,
My hb likes the sound track too and he bought a compilation that includes the song.

Sigh, nowadays no time to watch TV.

ssm,
Do u know I so swaku don't even know how to download music. How to download? IS there a website?

caymom,
me too! i bought the compilation too! yalor, i tried to make use of weekends to watch tv/dvds during children's bedtime.

gin,
errr....i dont know where to download too. i usually buy CDs and download to my mp3 player. if u want to watch MTVs, dramas, variety shows, u can try youtube.

Saw this article on teaching children how to save quite interesting. Soon relevant to me when dd goes to P1. My dd already know how to 'calculate'. She told me next time pri school she will bring food from home and save up the pocket money so that she can buy other things for herself. So small already think so far...

http://library.thinkquest.org/3096/teach_kid_save.htm

Iwg26

your girl is matured. Hasn't occur to dd1 to save money to buy something for herself. I guess she still doesn't know how to crave for anything at her age?

she's quite thrifty though, never ask me to buy anything for her. If I commented something is expensive, she will place it back immediately. She has the impression we are very poor

hippo,
I also train my dd to be thrifty. I told her we don't have printing money machine at home ; ) Ha Ha. U know why she wanted to save up her $. Cos she wanted us to hire a clown for her birthday and we refused quoting cost as a consideration. So she say she will save up herself to hire a clown to entertain her friends *faint*.

hippo,
haha, yr girl so cute re impression issue. My children wl drop the item too if i commented exp, but they will always add on saying "Mummy, can u buy this exp thing for me when u have LOTS and LOTS of $?"

gin,
my son doesnt have the concept of $$. To him, anything's below a dollar is considered cheap regardless of the condition of the item. But it is good that yr girl knows how she could save up $ to get her desired items. HAHA, so cute, want a clown for bday to entertain friends!

ssm,
Cos dd went to a few kids party which hire clown. Thinking whether to have a mini birthday celebration in MacDonald's / KFC for her this year.

My dd think that if numbers is bigger, it means more expensive. She told me 20 cents is more than $1.

<font color="ff0000">Gin,</font>
Your dd is really very sensible.

<font color="aa00aa">Hippo,</font>
Good leh. I told my dd1 that I dun have money and she will threaten to roll on the floor liao.

Does your child try to throw tantrum when he/she did not get what she want? I know my dd is testing her limit as she will pretend to cry when e.g. her brother accidentally pushed her, she didn't get something (like sweets) what she want. S'times I try to ignore. At other times, I will get soft hearted. Hopefully she'll outgrow that phase when she starts P1 next yr.

I will ignore their tantrums or unreasonable demands

dd2 wanted a watch when she saw us buying one for dd1. Started crying loudly &amp; demanding why she cannot have a watch too. We explained she doesn't know how to read time yet. Reason not acceptable to her so she continued whining.
We ignored her. She calmed down within 10 minutes when she realized passerbys looking at her

My theory is not to give in if my kids 'demand' me to buy something for them. The moment they say 'I want I want', that's it, definitely not going to buy. If dd2 didn't whine, I may have bought for her. Too bad she demanded for it so definitely not buying. dd1 had that rule tatoo into her head already while dd2 still tries to push her luck occassionally

dd1 thought we are poor because we do not live in a house with swimming pool. She asked why we can't buy a condo like my brother?

I told her we spent all our money paying for her school fees, buy new clothes for her, buy nice food for her so we have no more money left to buy a house with swimming pool. If we spent all our money on a nice house, then we will not have any left to pay for her school fees. If mommy returns to work, we can buy a big big house but mommy loves you more than money or big big house. I would rather spend time with you.

At least she understands money is in limited quantity &amp; seems quite touched we are making such a huge sacrifice for her

hippo,
haha, so cute, not staying in condo means poor. but i must say yr dd1 is very sensible leh.

gin,
my ds and dd dare not throw tantrum when we are outside except for once when dd wanted something and we didnt get for her. my kids know the rule - they are not allowed to buy anything except food. their wants can only be fulfilled on special occasion, i.e. bday and xmas. so when i say "no", they wont push their luck further. but usually they will add on saying, "Mummy, maybe when u have lotsa $$, can u buy this for me or on my bday?"

any mommies here brought their kids to bedok's kidslink clinic before?

I want to bring my son to see a PD cause he has a seriously long term case of constipation. Shit very hard, and very big and cannot pass out thus must use icecream stick to break up the poo before it can pass out normally. He doesnt like to drink water, I force and force and he will drink at least some within the day. Give him fruit juice and fruits but it doesnt seem to help him poo normally. Even bought a super expensive bottle of probiotics to feed him with but it's of no use either.

His condition has gotten worst, and it seems he has developed a phobia of shitting. He doesnt dare to force the poo out cause he's scared of the pain. And shivers and his hand shakes when he wants to poo. I see also I very heart pain. When we carry him and place him on changing mat he will fuse his legs togther scared that we will put a suppository in his anus. Even when he is not trying to poo, when it's normal diaper change, and I will normally put diaper cream at his anus, he see me take the cream he start crying already and start kicking. I have to calm him down telling him I am not going to insert a suppository and just putting medicine.

Anyone experienced this before? Any tips on what I can do? I dont want to keep using suppositries.

Desperate! Very Desperate!

Hi, Little E
Have you tried prune juice or prunes? If your ds is too young, maybe prune juice is easier. Last time my ds also have constipation, so we bot a bottle of concentrated prune juice and give him 1 small cup mix w water every alternate day / as and when he has constipation. Very effective. After 2 days, his system is clear liao.

<font color="ff0000">Hippo,</font>
You really have a way in teaching kids.

Hmm.. then I wonder whether my gals will think I am loaded as we stay in a 5-rm flat whereas my siblings stay in smaller flats.

Hippo,
v touching. That's the sacrifice of a mother. Recently, my dd ask me why many of her friends go for holidays whereas we have only been to HK last year. I told her I'm saving $$ for her college, hence, can't always go for holiday. She nod her head not sure whether understand or not ;-)

i tried gerber's prunes in the bottle and even grind sunsweet prunes for him. He will poo ok for a while, then later constipated even though still on prunes. So I really donno what to do. His systems adapts to what he takes after a few days and then constipated again. Btw, where did you get your prune juice from?

How, any help mummies? Anyone been to kidslink?

Little E,
It's prune juice from NTUC / Cold Storage. I think it should be sunsweet brand also. Did you try papaya? Cooked oat should also help. Supposed to be high in fibre.

little E

seen Kidslink before, also for constipation. doctor prescribe lactulose (not sure whether correct spelling) to soften stool, quite effective.

doctor also gave us a referral letter to see specialist for scope in case no improvement after medication

didn't see the specialist. Now just maintain with prune juice if she complains her stool is hard

went Chinatown night market just now. Quite crowded even though we were pretty early

bought some CNY goodies 5 for $6 &amp; a packet of mushroom. nothing much to buy lah, more for the mood

eh the normal doc i see now also giving lactalose...the poo is hard also but the inital head of the shit is not big...if you know what i mean. i just went ntuc to buy the delmonte prune juice. he doesnt want it...i tried it and it taste horrible. is the sun sweet one sweet?

hippo,
me not into shares and dare not invest too. Have friends who lost their savings away and have to borrow $$$ to pay off. Best is unless u have lotsa spare cash and very well verse in stock market, else better to stay away from it.

I'm thinking of getting stuff fm ON since now USD is weak....keke

hippo,
Me too. Maybe wait for market crash first. Now seems like still quite high compare to 1997 asian crisis. Now w kids and family muz be careful with investment. I'd rather be more risk averse.

hello mummies

sending u all my early wishes. Wishing you a Happy year of Rat.

we just back from a short hoilday to cruise last fri. tis is our first trip and it really no joke so tiring lookign after the 2 kids.

Early wishes of Happy Chinese New Year to all too. CNY is always busy period for all the mummies ;-)

hehe, I am not particularly busy. Have been cleaning the house regularly so not so shiong, no need to do spring cleaning at one go. The only challenge is trying to buy groceries, so crowded everywhere!

<font size="+2">Gong Xi Gong Xi</font>

Talking abt springcleaning. Do you mummies buy much toys for your kids? What kinds of toys do you buy? Esp for the older kids (k1/K2). I try to be selective by buying board games and selected toys like lego, blocks. I've a friend who dun buy toys for her kids. Her philosophy is that too much toys, the kids will go "wild" and won't concentrate in studies.

Hippo,
So envious. I really dunno where to start for my spring cleaning. I think the most impt thing is to clear the clutter at home. If only we had been more diligent in clearing the mess.... luckily we wun have any visitors during CNY.

went NTUC at central this morning. wow, so crowded, super long queue! Aiyo, like fighting a war doing marketing before CNY

caymom

I don't have a store room so no place to put things, must throw throw throw lor, bo bian
whenever I run out of space, I have to find more things to throw

Iwg26

I bought toys like monopoly, puzzles, lego, blocks &amp; kitchen set. Ideally toys they can play alone or with each other, toys that they won't get bored too soon.

Won't go wild if we set the priority. I always tell my girls to finish their homework, then housework like folding clothes. They have 5 hours of playtime everyday. I leave it to them to play anything they want after they finished their tasks. They just have to tidy up after playing

talking about spring cleanning ... me no time to clean .. intend to just clean a bit tomorrow since I FTWM ... sigh .. still got so many things to buy for MIL and father as MIL looking after baby at home so no time to buy ... my father too old so cannot carry heavy things and I was on leave last Fri and half day yesterday to buy .. just now lunch time also go buy .. sigh ... buy and buy still cannot finish buying ... hahaha ...

me also do allow my girls to play toys and watch TV .. feel so sad if don't allow them to play and watch TV .. but of course selective programes and control timing

same here ... I haven't been cleaning my house ever since I am pregnant with my boy ...

This time round we just tidy up abit and put all the things away cos there was visitors at my place yesterday.

We didn't buy even any goodies except for drinks and ba kwa. Initially we only plan to buy a bit but my hubby joined a contest and won a bengawan solo hamper with all the goodies inside
and there's a box of gam as well
and a 88 red packet

There's the reason why we tidy up the house a bit cos the DJs delivered the hamper to our place yesterday noon

Tomorrow I have to work half day so plan to tidy up a bit more before going to my parent's place for reunion dinner

I hope that my boy who's 6 mths will be cheerful during the CNY. He's now extremely sticky to my mum and myself. Other than us, anyone who carry him he will cry
And I have a no of places to visit so not too sure whether he can take it or not
Last time round when my girl celebrated her first CNY, after those visiting in the day, she won't be able to sleep at nite and cried a lot then during nite time.
Hopefully this time round will be much better ... keep my fingers cross

Wow, Winniebear, so lucky you. A good and auspicious start to a new year !

I only bot pineapple tarts (my favourite). My family ate up 2 tubs of pineapple tubs within 1 week - I alone ate > half tub. Ha Ha... After CNY muz go on diet liao.

<font color="0000ff">To all Mummies

May the Year of the Rat bring you and your family an abundance of JOY, GOOD HEALTH and PROSPERITY!</font>