BEDOK mommies club

Jun
thanks for ur link... So helpful of u...
I managed to secure a preloved one at $30... Hope the condition won't b too bad....
14mths start walkin not too late bah.. My godson start walkin ard 18mths.. Nw still unstable whn he walk..

Carrie,
No prob. I think your baby should be able to sit on it soon. We started around 5 months. Initially he only sat there staring at the toy. As he grew, he could play longer and enjoy jumping and bouncing inside.

dear mummies, how's everyone?
have been a silent reader all these time.

read abt where to eat and what is nice so finally got smth to write. hee...
today, i went to the jap restuarant near lib, the service was poor and i left without eating in the end.
has anyone eaten there and experience bad service?

Spagoh
hi!!
U mean the Japanese res at bedok central...? Saw the prices ther quite cheap rite? But service no good ah? Wat happened? I haben try also... If I gt chance to try Liao thn let u Noe... Keke
but I like the astons at the kopitiam besides e jap res.. Haha.. Cheap n good...

Iwg26

check with you regarding your ds in P1
those regular tests in school, are the marks countable ?
any class ranking done for mid year?

spagoh

I recall you were looking for facial recommndation in the East. Did you manage to find a good one?

My current one too far, lazy to go town. Waiting to use up my package then look for one nearer

<font color="0000ff">shoe cabinet</font>

mommies, did you come across any nice ones? Thinking of getting one off the shelves, should be cheaper than made to measure. But those that I came across seem so obiang leh, screaming I'm a shoe cabinet
Any recommendation where to check out shoe cabinet?

yawn yawn, your memory very good leh!
didn't manage to find one.
recently, impromptu went to enquire Erabelle at Bugis about the facial. Signed up a package with 3 sessions with them. I find it quite good but very damaging to the pocket.

saw there is adonis and estetica nearby but am worried if they would use hard-sell thus never enquire with them so far.

yawn yawn,
P1 has numerous topical tests and also Show n Tell, just like P2. But I'm not sure whether it's countable. So far, there is no mid-year exam and no ranking. I did email his teacher once but her answer like not very clear. I'm going to talk to his teacher again on some issues about final year exam. In the date calendar, it states P2-P5 SA2 but didn't state it's relevant for P1. I better ask whether he will have Final year exam. If I get the answers, will let you know.

Do you know anything about ICAS? P2 have English and Maths in July / Aug.

P1 tests, show n tell, spelling etc:
All are countable towards year end results and ranking. But the weightage is not revealed. And yes, there is SA2 final year exam.

Thanks Iwg26

Sigh....so not really without exam. Actually seem worst hor, all these mini tests and assessment spread throughout the year, and then one BIG exam at year end, scary leh

I prefer old style CA &amp; SA. Only need to study 3 times a year

re: ICAS, school didn't attempt to prepare them at all leh. Heard from my dd some of her classmates didn't know how to shade those bubbles on the day of test

yawn yawn,
huh... you mean the ICAS is over already? I am not really in tune with what she does in school. Blur mum...

Hi Lee Tai

You found your childcare centre yet? Am looking for one too.

FYI there will be a new Cherie Hearts opening at Blk 219 Bedok Central next month. I visited them last week. The director seems like a nice lady but did not get to meet the principal. If budget is not an issue ($980/mth!), you are likely to get a place there.

I am still considering if I should pay so much although the place is very convenient.

I went Pri 1 reg yest. Was so surprise that most of the PV are either PR or non Sin citizen.

All along I tot only Singaporean can do PV din knew they also can.
They take up abt half the seat avaialable

jun,

it is only if ballot then Singaporean have another ballot slip.

but they make up a major population and mabe it is why temasek alway have ballot lor.

I was surprised so many of them

Hi Lush

Still on waiting list at a few centres.
Received a brochure on e Cherie Hearts @ Bedok Central. Will not consider because exceed our budget :p

wendy

Me too, I thought only PR and Singaporean can do PV?
Maybe they already obtained PR status or
their spouses are PR / citizen

Have you confirmed a place in Temasek? I met the principal a couple of years ago, spoke to her briefly

yawn,
saw most of the parent are either taking both passport or Blue Nric. Some of the birth cert are non singapore.

yes i had cfm a place in temasek.
under tat phase 2B alot of those singh ppl leh

wendypooh,
Congrats for getting a place at Temasek. It's v competitive in other schools. Catholic High only left with 8 places in Phase 2B!

yawnyawn,
I went for the kumon talk last week. Considering sign up for the maths trial. How do you find it? But it's not in line with MOE syllabus.

jun/ yawn

thank. choosing tis sch is more of location for me cos Mil will be sending her next year.
now is headache time on how to brush up her study

wendy,
Pri 1 has many topical tests and show n tell, but no exam. Nevertheless, I find the stress is being deferred only. My boy is still expected to cover the same topics as compared to when my gal was in P1, except there is no formal exam. He will be learning multiplication soon for Maths and has been writing English compo since last semester. I don't find that the syllabus is more "relaxed".

Iwg26

I recall your kids have a tutor? Kumon is on top of their private tuition?

I signed mine up for the English trial. dd2 went once &amp; refused to have anything to do with homework worksheets. dd1 went twice, she's keen but I'm not. She spent > 1 hour at night (longer than I expected) doing merely 5 pages and this affected her bedtime. There's no time in the morning because of her school workload. Actually her school homework not that overwhelming but she's a slow snail, need an hour for lunch, 30 minutes to change into her uniform &amp; wear her socks...so you can imagine lor

After weighing the benefits against her rest time, I decided not to add on her burden &amp; insisted to stop her trial right away. She bemused I'm a weird mommy who didn't want her to study too much
Although abit paiseh to the instructor, wasted her time

For Maths, did you kids sit for the diagnostic test? I feel that Maths is useful up to level F only (fraction). Beyond that, it's algebra &amp; calcus which I think there's no point studying so advance lor, settle PSLE first

My dd1 with Sakamoto, started few months ago. I can't say it helps in her Maths result tremendously because her SA1 result worse than last year. But she's learning how to draw models so I guess it meets my purpose. I'm still searching for English enrichment for her. Any recommendation?

Taurus

My dd2 used to attend CMA. There's a relatively new center at bedok interchange.

However, her foundation still not that strong or maybe she's plain careless 6 + 7 can tell me equal 14. I withdrawn her last year, after 2 years in the programme

Yawnyawn,
Her current tutor (my neighbor) is more focus on English. So far, her English has been consistently band 1 so I let her be. During SA1, her maths results was disastrous so I have to give her extra attention. This year onwards, the topics are more advanced. Does your gal likes maths? My dd said she hated maths. The problem is she's v careless. And when the problem is more complicating she will throw in the towel, claim that she can't do.

I'm going for the kumon diagnostic tests this sat. Will see how it goes. May or may not continue cos no time to send them.

Wendy,
There are some Pre P1 preparatory classes in bedok area. Maybe you can try that up. I feel that languages are more important at P1 level because even the maths problem sums are tricky. So if the kid is weak in language, she will have difficulty understanding. Until now I must think very long when the question is "what is XX more than / less than XXX".

jun,

thanks for yur detail advise and help.
i really at loss also. Sad to say I register her for Pri is just becos she is due in age.
And choosinng temasek is cos of journey.
I sound like a very bad mummy.

Rem I told u that she is behind all her peer and she still cant attend classes on her own and she can only handle small gp or individual teaching. based on kkh diagostic she is able to attend normal sch and she do not need special sch education.

She can communicated very well just the putting word down is a hurdle to her. I seek many opinon from various ppl and experience ppl all suggest to move her up first and let her adapt.

Now I at loss after i register her and wonder how she is gog to survive in her education. Now sourcing diff type of classes for her to attend.

yawn,

she is weak in almost all subject but just surprise she can perform quite well in her chinese which all of us was wondering why.

Hi Wendy

I remember that u sign up ur gal for mandarin speech n drama n u defer it? Why don't let her try again?

I have sign up e second term for my gal. Each time after e lesson my gal will say she enjoy e class hence we continue w another term which will commence in Aug

Wendy,
Don't think that way, you're doing well. I chose the school based on convenience too. Proximity is important because I don't want them to tire out with the journey.
As for P1, let her try it first. If really cannot cope, then apply to MOE to defer.

Leetai,
My kids didn't attend P1 preparatory class. But they attended phonics and Berries in K1 and K2.

lwg26

Maths is supposedly her strongest subject since she spent 4 years in Kumon during her preschool years (withdrawn her before entering p1). But hor, she has the lowest score in Maths among her 3 subjects. Careless carrot lor

winniebear

Mine didn't go for any p1 prep classes. However, I sent them to hanyu pinyin classes at nearby RC, attended briefly for a couple of months because I'm not confident to teach hanyu pinyin

yawnyawn,
I sent my ds to HYPY class too, at Berries. My friend recommended me this Chinese class at the teacher's house near Bedok Lutheran Church. The charges is very competitive, I think $60-80 per month. She teaches the pri level too. I didn't go for it cos my hb wants to stick to Berries.

Yawn yawn, i enquiry the branch b4 is quite cheap compare to appleplus school. Which cost $300 per mth. Is there any particular reason u wan to w/d her?? Currently my son his math is in average anyone can advice beside abacus wat r the lesson can help??

Lee tai, my son Is attending p1 in Mavis tution @ parkway

Taurus

your boy is P1 or K2? or K2 attending P1 level @ Mavis?
Oh, I know where's Mavis, I walked past that center every week. I think they also teach Chinese next door
How do you find Mavis? It's more of tuition than enrichment, right?

Never heard of appleplus leh, is it an abacus school?

My dd2 reached level 8 which involved adding/subtracting a long string of numbers. She got frustrated doing the sums &amp; made lots of mistakes. I suppose it is enough preparation for p1 by that level, no need to train her to be human calculator lah &amp; I didn't want her to feel demoralised, hence decided to withdraw her lor

Actually I find Kumon Maths provides good foundation for preschoolers. The only draw back is the heavy workload which is not so manageable once the child enters primary school &amp; it doesn't follow school syllabus. So it's more of an enrichment rather than tuition

Iwg26

$60-$80/mth is much cheaper than Berries leh. Is it one to one or group tuition?

Currently my dd1 is not attending any Chinese tuition, I'm coaching her personally. She goes nearby CC for Chinese creative writing, more to 'force' her to write otherwise totally refused to write anything at home.

Your ds still learning piano at Yamaha? How is his progress?

Yawn yawn, My son is k2 tis yr. For eng they teaching 50 high frequency wrds , grammar, etc.. Math is addition, sub, time etc... I find the teacher is patient, &amp; she feedbk to me the progress &amp; wat I shld reinforce on my son. They do hv Chinese program. The price is p1 pre price is $80 + gst no need to put deposit @ all.. To me I tink is more to tution ba.. The apple plus is a abacus sch located @ Tamp cpf bldg.

Yawn,
It is small group tuition, around 6 kids. I need a centre that can take both P1 and P2 at same time cos no time to send them separately. I'm the "convenience" mummy. Terok hor. Hb in charge of teaching Chinese, I'm in charge of Maths. Last few days I went through with her fractions so many mistakes. Today the test result is good then she ya-ya papaya tell me fraction v easy.

Ds started private lesson piano last year but I find progress v slow. Want to change teacher liao.

Lee tai,
yes that drama class we resume back in April cry for 5 session then she is ok to go in alone. Since that we sign her up for another term (10 session) dun think learn alot but let her continue cos wan to train her up to attend class and independent.

Jun
Thank for the comfort. Yes I cant bear to let my kids travel far esp I not comfortable for them to travel by sch bus so location very impt.
Yes, many ppl also advise me let her try first and see how the teacher comment worst to worst let her retain Pri 1. If i dun try I also dunno whether she can or not

One of my friends advised me don't stress about Pri 1 and 2. Let my gal enjoy the first 2 years.

Thus, I have only sign up the mandarin speech n drama class for my gal. Hmmm think so far, my gal still can cope with English n Maths at her K2 Level.

Guess I will monitor her performance in Pri 1 first b4 deciding whether to send her for extra classes

winniebear

Yes, island wide free trials. You can go to their website to check which center is nearest to you

I guess I'm opposite from your friend

I feel that preschool years are in fact the best time to pump enrichments to ensure strong foundation. Once in primary school, the long school hours plus school workload, it's very tiring for the child to attend additional enrichments or tuition. Furthermore, with strong foundation, the child will find school homework easy bitsy &amp; will enjoy going to school more &amp; this in turn create positive vibes towards learning.

My 2 cents hor

wendy

Hav you considered letting your girl try Kumon? Lots of drilling. Should help in laying a good foundation.
After the basic ground work done, you can always switch her to other enrichments which followed MOE syllabus more closely