BEDOK mommies club

tinkberbelle> thks for the info.

Tauras> do tk care and rest well...

Taurus,
Do take care.

Xin,
Welcome. I usually bring my boy to Kidz Clinic at bedok north. The lady doc is quite nice.. But at times the clinic can be quite pack.

Hi Jun,

Thanks. Actually is my sis looking for it. Her girl at Temasek and her currently student care gog to cease service end of year.

So good that Red Swastika have in house student care.

Some thing to share wif all of you who intend to do Grassroot Activities.
I was rejected recently for the priority application! Guess wat they claim that only certain committee can apply. and best of all we were not inform and we manage to find out that this new rule only started in tis year.
It so unfair for both me and hubby tat we had serve for 10 over year.

We had appeal to the MP, wish me luck

Gd luck to u

btw my hb is gg to organize dinner for frenz gathering. any pl to intro which adult can eat & chat kids can play!!

I look forward to ur suggestion or recommendation.

Taurus,
I think Palanus Brahaus (spelling may be wrong) at Millenia has a small play area for kids. I went there for lunch last year.

Just celebrated my ds 1 year old birthday today. So fast he is one liao... Time flies.

Actually his birthday is mid May but we celebrated in advance. Only with my parents, sis and nieces. So it's more like a gathering. Cos for his full month, we didn't do anything so feel a bit guilty. 3rd one always feel left out.

Mine son too!! Abit worry he can't wake up in the morning if realli get in temasek cos nxt yr all student will b in morning session. Sigh!!!

Hi yawn yawn

no problem for your gal pri one registration as your eldest one is already in RSS.

I will have to pray hard over my girl's registration as I never do anything at all.

Leetai
Assuming no special preference, opt for the one which is higher chance. On last day, you can call or visit the school to ask them what is the application status to-date vis-à-vis the vacancies. They can advise you your chance. Based on last 2 year enrolment, RSS seems to be more popular and need to ballot for even within 1km.

Jun, ya according to my nephews & nice they told me tat they are gg to convert to all morning session. I heard fr MOE thru the news tat tis yr we hv two times of balloting. I wonder hw it wrks???

Jun
wow time passed!, yur bb alry 1 yr. Rem last year all talking abt yur delivery.

yawn, taurus, winnie
i am still in the appealing process still no new.
dam piss. very likely i will go for temasek even by normal way.
temasek still not single session yet.
i choose temasek cos of the convenient and LSP cos my girl got delay learning

Hi Jun

If not mistaken, Yu Neng also have balloting within 1Km last year ... sigh

Guess I will use your method to call on the last day to see which one higher chances :p

winniebear

Other than going for balloting, another possible route is to do PV for your younger child. Once you are inside the school, any vacancy that arise you are usually given priority to transfer the elder one since you are already a volunteer in that school. A friend of mine managed to get a transfer successfully this way

you can also put your name on waitlist for the school of your choice. usually after 2C, there will still be reshuffling due to musical chair effect. for example someone registered for school A in earlier phrase (phrase 1 or 2) managed to get a place in school B, that vacancy in school A will be given to children on waitlist at principal's discretion

wendy

I think all schools have LSP.

Did your MP mention when would you know the outcome of appeal? Can understand your frustration. 10 years is a long time, thoroughly proved your commitment.
I thought volunteer in RC also considered grassroot. If not, what type of committee then consider grassroot?

Yawn,

By next year MOE claim all sch have LSP. At the moment still not

Yes very frustrated, not only 10 yr, both me and hubby doing so double the work yet nothing in return

Still waiting for ans. We are the YEC committee in the CC managaing Youth event. They claimed we under sub gp so not counted. Can u imagine how shock are we. MOE web claim GRO are entitle but they din state which comittee.
We all all know as GRO yet now when we want to use the benefir they start to breakdown.

Now our qns to them is when doing community work we are knew as GRO and now u claim we are not the "right" GRO.
Suck right?

any one have any idea wat the the strait time forum email? we tot of writing in to voice our view

Iwg26

How is your dd's SA results compared to last year?

My dd threw tantrum when she came home yesterday evening. She was disappointed with her results, lost numerous easy marks due to carelessness. This morning she's feeling alright after a good night sleep, can laugh candidly about her silly mistakes, not that touchy like last night. Overall, her results slipped compared to last year

YawnYawn
Her English is ok. Still waiting for Chinese. But Maths result deteriorate, worse than last year. One question, it appeared in a past year paper which I went through with her. But she got it wrong again. And many careless mistakes. This year, I didn't really go through Maths with her. During holiday must buck up and revise with her.

I last posted about infant care and now asking about childcare. Anyone can recommend a good childcare centre in this area, preferably near the interchange?

Any comments on My First Skool and Marine Parade Aspiration?

Hi Jun

Rber me? My bb is also the same age as yours. My girl will be turning one soon too. Am thinking of taking leave to bring her out.

Anyone has any suggestions on where to go in the east? Thinking of those baby gym activities.

i am in need of a pt-helper/cleaner

area of stay is bedok...

pt-helper/cleaner to help do household chores
prefer to come during wkends
$$/hr between $10-$15.

those with recommendations do pm me.

Jerejoy,
Happy birthday to your gal. My boy officially turn 1 last week. He still can't walk though. Can crawl very fast. I've to crawl after him under the tables and chair. That's when I tell myself 3 is more than enough. Age is catching up! My boy went for trial class at Mygym at Tampines when he was 3 month old. They made him do forward rolls and handswings. He looked horrified but never cry. Would have love to sign up their package but too expensive for me. The elder 2 already spending so much on enrichment. I ask the elder ones to play with him more for stimulation.

Jun,

I think u are refering to Lush. My boy is already 26 months old. =) Seldom post on the thread. Ya, all enrichments are so expensive. My boy is attending both Shichida and Kindermusik. It's good to have the elder kids to play with him. His motor skills will be very good even without gg to the gym class.

Oh ya, sorry for the error. Blur liao. Ya, my baby always play ball and even badminton with his brother. He will take the racket and imitates the swinging. Qt funny. Actually even if $ is not an issue, I have no time to send him. Planning to send him to childcare next year so he can mix around with toddlers of his age. Is your kid afraid of stranger? Mine will cry if he's home and a stranger walks into my house (even if we are all around).

He will not cry but will cling to me very tightly. Maybe it's becos I'm the only caregiver and seldom have playdates for him.

I'm also planning to send him to pre nursery nx yr at Bethesda Katong. Not sure if it's a good idea to send him to school at such as young age and also he has to take the school bus to school. I think he will cry very badly on the school bus. Wanted to send him to Bethesda Bedok Tampines which is only walking dist from my house but seems like not much gd reviews on this school.

Do you have any good facial salon to recommend in Bedok?
Coz I had finished my package that was signed up before my gal was born. The place is abit far from Bedok.
Hope to look for a facial salon ard east area so I can chop-chop go home after finishing the facial.

Jerejoy,
Re: separation anxiety- my bb is worse leh. Considering he mix with his siblings at home, he can still cling to me and cry if I bring him to neighbor's house. Somemore I am with him (not like I leave him there alone) and he can still be upset. Probably at this age they feel insecure. If he wakes up at night and I walk away for a few min and he can't see me, he will start sobbing.

I think pre nursery is fine. My gal went to 2hr playgroup at 20mth. She cried like crazy and will cry till she fall asleep in the stroller. For a whole mth, everyday after class I collect home a sleeping toddler. 1 mth later she was ok. Even the teacher confessed her crying stamina is superb.haha... We joke that my bb is exactly like his sister bcos my no 2 has no separation anxiety.

Jun,

Ya, mine too. He used to wake up every 15 mins from 10pm till 4am in the morning. That horrible stage was when he was 6 months old to 16 months old. He will keep crying and wants me to latch him on. Managed to wean him at 17th months old and he managed to sleep abt 2 hrs before he starts looking for me again. Hopefully this stage will pass soon.

Hi Jerejoy

We ended up in Polliwogs and both of us fell sick the next day! My daughter tried to lick the balls when we throw them around her. I think that was how she fell sick. I dunno how I fell sick tho. =)

Have seen many people at My Gym. It must be very good then. I concur with Jun that it's really quite expensive if you sign up the course. Jun, my girl cant walk yet too. She only started crawling a couple of months ago. Which childcare are you sending your son to?

Lush,
I haven't decide on the CC yet. Some friends recommend Brighton Montessori at frankel ave but logistics is a problem as he maybe too young to take a bus. I need to go down one day to view the school. Alternatively, we are considering Orangetree at Simei. It's convenient and I can send him to school myself.

Jun, there are some CCs at Chaingi Business Park leh.. u tried those? They seems nearer to ur place than Simei..

BTW, as u hor.. apart from Berries, did u try tien tsia? Sam's compo and comprehension sucks big time.. ARGH.. Teacher is suggesting we get him a full time tutor to help him out..

Simei - cos I take Mrt to work so can send him to school myself. It's only 1 Mrt stop. Haven't check out CBP yet.

My ds tried Tien Hsia but daddy say berries standard higher. So in the end, we are back there again. My friend said Mo Lin at Katong is also good and much cheaper.

Just to add, my friend's gal went to Berries at P6. She scored 277. So if results is an indication, Berries should be ok ba. So far my kids enjoy the lesson which I believe is important. My only complain is the fee is damn expensive.

jun,i still letting sam continue at berries.. but i think i need something for compo and compre.. :p I heard tien hsia has that.

no double that berries is fantastic, and like u say, fees is really an arm and a leg.. i forgot ur kids at berries, when i signed the 3 up in mar, i was like going around asking who's in there so that i can put the name of the referral column!

Sng,
I know Tien hsia has holiday prog during jun and dec. Maybe those will focus on compo and compre. Can check it out. My son was there only at K2 so I'm not sure about their pri school syllabus. If you don't mind, can send me your kids name and class/day they are attending. I tell them I referred u. Cos 3 kids x $20 is $60. We can go for a big meal! Last time my friend signed up, then later on I claim the voucher. If still within 1 term, can try.

Yawnyawn,
Yes, got my gal my neighbor as tutor, for convenience. Now not much time to fetch her for classes. So far her English maintained standard so will stay as it is. This year, I notice the boys results moving on fast. Last year, her class top students are all girls. This year some boys make it to the top too.

jun/sng

my niece is at katong molin for sometime.
my sis say they are good.
there alway jam wif car frm parent dropping the kids. my office was previous there eveytiem exam period saw them giving oral at corridor area

My girl will go P1 in 2013,prefer to go Yu Neng or RSS but i stayed between 1-2km. Can mummies share with me what is the changes getting to the shcools. Is PV can increase priority eventhough stay >1km? Just worry if that year application will need to go for ballot even stay within 1km then i'm sure i will not have chance as i stayed >1km. Then what should i do?

Lush,

Sorry for my super late reply. Was bz recently n didnt have a chance to go online.

I'm sorry to hear that both of you fell sick. Maybe there's lots of virus spreading ard recently. Hope both of u hv recovered already. I don't intend to send him to a childcare cos I'm a SAHM. Sending him to pre nursery nx yr to let him mix ard with other kids. He will be going to Bethesda Katong. Didn't want him to go initially but my hubby insisted.

Thinking of changing to Kinderland at MP when he turns 4. There are lots of gd reviews but it's a bit far from my pl. We shall see his progress in Betesda Katong.