Baby's Inc - Infant Care

Hi Leon's mother,

You are really lucky, my bad experiences is all with old teachers. I knows several of them are still there bcos I have friends who still put their child there. It is definitely a TEACHER who is selling health products to me & my friends. I know another staff who is also trying to promote her products to parents.

You are right with communication. I have given them many chances by feedbacking to the headmaster but they keep making the same mistakes again & again. Dont understand why I put several plastic bags, they also cannot see ? Dont tell me your plastic bag is much much bigger than mine !

I did not notice the teats problems, perhap that is the reason why my son fall sick so often last time!

Glad I dont have to worry such things now.

hi viola,

Is your dd still with BI? I heard many of the toddlers withdrew due to the recent TB case. My ds is still with them. But I am thinking of withdrawing too.

I heard many parents complained during the day they held the TB conference.

I have checked out with some of the other parents and heard that they have shifted to shaws / kids world. I have been to Shaws but found it pretty hot during sunny afternoon. I have not been to kids world yet.

Hi Sirotan,

My son is no longer in BI since several months ago. I am very unhappy bcos I did not know of the Mantoux Test until one of the parent call me. My son went for the test & luckily it is negative.

I am really glad that my son is enjoying so much in his the new childcare & I think it is the most correct decision that I ever made for my family. I really hope this will be the last time I ever have to step into BI again.

It is really a misfortunate that TB breakout in BI & I can really understand how concern most parents will be now.

Good luck & take care.

Hi Sirotan,

Yes, my DD still in BI. Objectively speaking, I think if parents are afraid that their kids may kena TB, BI is considered safe becos all the kids there have already been screened and the school has already identified the potential "high risk" kids and would monitor them more closely. Versus a case where you send to a school where no such screening has been done, the school probably does not even know of any potential "high risk" kid and would not monitor as well. According to my cousin who works in TTS hospital, TB cases sort of rose recently and so it can actually happen anywhere/everywhere...

However, I am actually going to transfer her out in a few months time but it was a decision made last year before this TB saga came about. The reason being she's turning 3 and i need to put her in a pre-nusery school. In fact, I have already paid a deposit to the new school last year but only transferring her when she turns 30 months.

Viola,

You are right. I actually plan to write a letter to my son's new childcare about the outbreak of TB & advise the school to take precuation measures too.

I hope the TB will spread no further in Singapore.

Hi Viola,

The reason why I am planning to trf my DS out of BI is coz' I heard that some of the parents are intending not to feed their kids the medications , despite the fact that they are tested positive. Although the staff in BI are told to be more viligant on those "high risk" kids, I feel that they are not as viligant as what they claimed to be. My DS was coughing badly (not coz' he is positive) but all the 4 teachers I asked claimed that he had not been coughing AT ALL. This is even after the outbreak. I felt that they are not viligant at all. So, i am worried tat some of the "positive" kids might be coughing and the staff are unaware. I do understand that TB could happen anywhere, but I just couldnt help worrying

Another main reason Y I am planning to trf him out is coz' he is the only one left in that prog.

Btw, which school do you intend to trf her? I will be visiting Shaws and Kidsworld this week.

Can check with u gals that is that BI has children with TB and still going to school? When did it happen?
I intend to place my gal there this coming March. Cant help feeling worried cos my gal will only be 2 mth old by then.

Hi shannonbaby,

well, when the child is tested positive for the mantoux test, it may be positive coz'

1) The child has latent TB infection (which is not contagious until it turns into TB diseases. The thing is we do not know when it will turn into TB disease. My PD said that a person may turn contagious w/o coughing a lot in the beginning)

or

2) The child may be reacting to the test due to the BCG taken.

However, there is no way to tell if it is (1) or (2) when the mantoux test is positive.

When the child is tested positive, he/she can take a preventive medication (a kinda antibotic) for 9 months continuously to cut down 60% to 90% of the TB infection becoming TB disease.

However, the last time I heard from the parent conference held by BI, some parents of the "positive" kids are not taking the medications due to the possibility of side effects. I am, until today, not sure if the medications give side effects. This is coz' I heard from some teachers that the medicine has side effects, and I heard from some teachers that the medicine has no side effects on children.

These are the figs I heard :

4 staff tested positive and are taking medications

6 staff tested borderline and are not recommended by TTSH to take medications

12 kids tested positive. I am not sure how many of these 12 kids are still there and whether or not they are taking medications. As far as I know, there are a couple of parents who had decided not to give the medications. I am not sure if these parents have changed their minds since.

Hope the above clarifies. TB disease and latent TB infection is different. When someone has latent TB infection, he/she is not contagious. Only when someone has TB disease, then the X-ray will show abnormalities and the sputum test is carried out to confirm if the person has TB diseases. When the person has TB diseases, he/she is contagious.

I had seek the opinion of a TB specialist/doctor in another hospital. She said that there are 2 immunological tests available for testing latent TB in Singapore, the Quantiferon Gold-in-tube and T-SPOT or Elispot, which do not give false positives with BCG. They may, however, give false positives with persons infected/carrying a small number of non-tuberculous mycobacteria that share the same antigens. Like the Mantoux Test, these 2 tests will only indicate the likelihood of active or latent TB and serve to help the clinician make a decision whether to start anti-TB medication, especially for borderline Mantoux positive cases. I'm not sure if these tests were not offered to BI because there is limited data on the performance in children and they are expensive (> $120).

Accorrding to her, currently the recommendations for TB exposure are to screen for symptoms, do a Chest X-ray and either a Mantoux or a QTFN/T-SPOT test. If the case is symptomatic and the Chest-Xray and Mantoux/immnological test positive, then the doctor may send the sputum for TB smears and cultures.

Hi Kitty,

Thanks for the info. But to be frank, I am not sure if I should share this info with them. To me, I feel tt they have not been really open about the whole case. if parents do not ask, they do not feedback the current status, like are all the kids on medications or have they went for X-ray or what? There were some parents who suggested some tests which are more conclusive but the teacher-in-charge told me that the "suggested tests" are not applicable to those who are having latent TB infection. And so, no action is taken.

Even if I asked, the "story" is always different from staff to staff. This makes me confused.

On the whole, I feel tat the staff there are not very truthful. Not only coz' of this TB case. There are many things which I have looked back and think thru again.

Oh one thing which I would like to share abt food. My son used to eat his breakfast in BI and I was told tt he ate his breakfast. I packed some snacks for him to eat at the enrichment school which has snacktime at 10am. He usually finished everything coz' I see nothing left in the snackbox at the end of the day.

Recently, I changed his routine. I fed him his breakfast at home. It has been more than a week already and he had eaten his breakfast at 8am at home. The funny thing I found : for more than a week, he did not touch the snack. Even if he did, it is just a bite. The whole lot of snack is still there.

My guess : He did not eat his breakfast at BI previously and by 10am, he was so hungry tat he eat all his snack. Or it could be that he eat so little breakfast at BI.

Well, the funny thing is I did make him eat a lot at breakfast time as well. Here's a list of things he had been eating during breakfast :

Day 1 Half a roti prata
Day 2 1 small box of honey star
Day 3 3/4 bowl of oatmeal
Day 4 Half a slice of french toast
Day 5 1 slice of plain toast / 2 pieces of wheatmeal biscuit

Tat's not alot, isnt it? So, if he ate at BI what he ate at home, he could not have finished those snack at 10am as well. This really puzzles me....

Hi Sirotan,

You are absolutely right about the staff. I have lost all the trust with the staff & thus decide to withdraw immediatley even my son did not have a childcare at that time.

I was at the parent conference for TB & I know alot of parents are very worried. How can a teachers tested positive & yet reject medication ? Yes, there maybe side effect but her job will require frequent contact with young children & children infected with disease will pose more danger as compared to adults. If they want the job, they should be on medication. If they are not sure whether it is true positive, they should do the sputum test. Yes, sputum is difficult to get from children but it should be easy for adult. I also dont understand what is going on there now. Dont know if any of the infants is tested postive or not ?

I wrote a letter to my son school & ask them to take note of any TB symptoms. Any new teachers should be screen for possible latent TB also.

Hi Soratan,

Wow....your breakfast very interesting!

Last time in BI, all the staff always tell me that my son eat very well, behave very well, sleep very well.

Now in the new school, the staff will tell me that my son dont eat breakfast, eat little at lunch & sometime misbehave. However, he will drink all his milk & sleep very well. This is definitely correct. I know my son, it is very difficult to feed him food & alot of effort is required. Furthermore, every morning, I feed him 280 ml milk & thus I know he cannot eat breakfast.

So.....this is what I really like now about his new school. Teachers are caring & responsible.

Hi Kitty,

You were there at the conference? I tok to one of the parents who is a teacher too. She said she was pulling her child out and never going to come back ever again. She uttered something about sueing them for negligence as well. Her child was tested positive. I can understand her frustrations.

I heard from another parents on tt same day that she had pulled out her children some months back coz' her kids were complaining that they are being "forced" to watch TV.

Another mother told me that her dd choose not to go coz' she is unhappy there as there is no one to play with her. The little girl was right coz' apparently it was only her and my son left in the prog. And now, my son is all alone.... He told me once that he has got no friends. Poor thing.

I did not want to distrust the staff. But I just could not help it. Why are all their kids leaving? From what i heard from the parents, not all leave due to the TB case. I am not sure. Should I continue or should I not? I am so worry. Will I find another ccc which is worse? My head is bursting!!

Hi Sirotan,

How old is your son & what prog is that ? How come no friends ?

I know someone is pulling out bcos their child has HFM disease for 3 times since last July 2007.

Poor thing, you must be stress. I was like you the last time & it really drive me mad seeing my son so unhappy.

My son is 2 years plus now & he just has his class photo recently. The photos is very professional & he can tell me all his friends name & teachers as well.

I do believe that there are good childcare center around. Just be calm & do some research first.

My son is coming to 3.5yo. It is the kindertots prog and he is the only one left coz' the rest all pulled out! And I was the last to know coz' the teachers did not tell me anything. Until my son told me "He got no friends", then I went to probe further and found that he is the only one left in that program which is catered to 3 years and above. The rest of the toddlers who are still there are all much younger than him and cannot communicate and play at his level. I guess that's y he is bored.

My son had HFM once b4 he turns 1 yo and another once b4 he turns 2. Both are bad exp to me.

I just had a talk to the centre manager in Kids World. They r located at Boscombe Road, pretty close to BI. She sounded professional, patient and nice over the phone. Some of the kids from BI went there. I had a chat with a mother who placed her boy with Kids World since he is 18months and is still very happy with them. She also told me that Kids World never had a case of HFM as far as her ds is there. The centre had undergone recent renovations and had bought new materials and toys after a new mgt took over last year. They are building a playground and changing most of their furnitures too.

The only thing that worries me is that we r expecting a no 2. And even if I shift my ds to Kids World, they do not have infant care. So how? Gotta run 2 places next time? This is another big headache.

i hv shortlisted Kids Central at Arthur Road (learning vision) too. They have infant care and child care. But if I shift my ds there, he will have no friends. Coz' most of his friends shifted to Kids World and Shaw's.

Shaw's has infant and child care, and some of my ds' friends, but they are packed for the morning session. Only afternoon session available.

tat's y I am darn stressed out. it seems like there is something to worry whenever I place him.

Any advice??

Hi Sirotan,

Actually old friends does not matter at this age. Kids at these age make friends very easily. I shift my son to a new childcare at 2 years old & he is only fussy for a while. In just 1 month, he already can tell me many of his friends names. My husband sister's daughter is coming to 4 years old & she also shift to another new school at 3 years old.

I think all kids will make a fuss in a new environment whether they have friends or not. The most important issue is that the teachers will care & assist them to adjust to the new environment. My son cry on the first week but with the patient & assurance from all the teachers, my son adjust it very well. Trust me, with all the fun activities in childcare, they wil forget the old & make new one fast.

I think the childcare with infant care should be ideal for your family as it is more convenient for you. Children should not be pamper & occassional changes can be good.

You must plan it well so that it will not affect your family & work too much.

Hi Kitty,

Tks for the advice. I have gone to Kids world yesterday with my son and he luvs the place and of course his old friends welcome him so much. I am putting him on trial next monday.

I hope this ccc can work out for us. Only thing is it does not have any infant care services. Maybe by then, I have to start hunting again.

hello

I have been reading the discussion on Babies Inc and wanted to share my experiences.
My child was in Babies Inc and we decided not to send her back after the TB episode. We were very upset that the school was not forthcoming with full details of the incident. By the way, were were not informed of the Parents' Meeting (re TB) . we heard from another parent the day before. Also, it appears that more than 12 children were tested positive - at least double the figure. As Sirotan mentioned, some staff tested boderline (which means you could be positive or -ve) and refused to take the antibiotics. If those who were tested positive had to take antibiotics so as to keep the disease at bay, surely staff who refuse the medication are exposing others and themselves to the risk. We are talking of exposing young children to the risk, who have a lifetime before them.

Also, 2 months before this, my child told me one morning that she didn't want to go to school.Very surprising as she seemed to enjoy her time there before. Subsequently, everytime we neared the school, she cried to be sent home. I'm not sure why.
I know some parents have kept their children in Babies Inc because they have yet to find alternative schools.

Regarding HFM, on 2 occasions when they closed the school, they did not inform me. I drove her there only for them to tell me at the door that the school was closed.

School management is poor and whoever is running the school is more concerned with keeping the money coming in.

Hi mummyofone,

I understand your frustrations.

I also met a few mothers who was so angry that no one from the BI called to inform them about the TB case. They got to know abt the TB case from other parents when they bumped into each other in the streets!

Your child is not the only one who refuse to go there. As far as I know, there are 5 kids. I heard tat one of the BI teachers even shouted at a kid when he refused to return to BI after attending enrichment next door. All the kids + their siblings withdrew.

But my son appears to be a little different. He wanted to go back to BI after one week I sent him to Kids World. He kicked up such a big fuss at his enrichment school when the school bus came picking him up. He even said a teacher at the new ccc hit him. And he said he wanted to go back to BI. But the truth came to light when he finally confessed to us tat he did tat coz' he wants "mummy and daddy" to pick him up from the enrichment school and go home. He told me "he love daddy & mummy".

I did a couple of spot checks recently at the new ccc and can see that he was very happy there. He did not see me looking at him and the teachers did not know beforehand that I am going too. To think tat some weeks ago, I was so stressed up by what he did, not knowing if I should place him back to BI. I am glad I give him more time to adapt at the new school.

How do you know tat more than 12 children were +ve? Did any teacher in BI told you? Since my ds withdrew, most of the teachers did not talk to me. Only 1 teacher from the baby side talk to me. But nothing regarding the TB case was mentioned.

Tat's bad. I thot they will phone all parents to inform of any HFMD case. Is your child on full day? I understand tat they will usu call and put a slip in the bag. You mentioned tat the school is closed due to HFMD. I din hear abt that. Was tat a Sat??

The HFM cases I mentioned were not recent. Quite a while back.
The children numbers for TB were announced at the parents' meeting.
Anyway, it's all water under the bridge.
Good to know that your son has settled into the new school. They do take a while to get used to the new place, teachers and children. But i know of some children who really enjoy the school bus trips cos it's like new found independence!

just curious about the TB cases at BI..
which branch is it? is it at BT or TK?

i have thots of putting my ds there but on the fence now..

I went to Babies Inc at Tanjong Katong on Monday (was on leave) and sort of decided to place my Cedric there in Oct when he is 2 mths old. Because the ratio is currently at 1:2, and the place is airy without aircon (think babies shd not get too used to aircon).

Kitty,
Your bad experiences w BB Inc only started when your son was transferred to the toddlers' group? Was he ok when he was in the babies' group?

Now concerned....

hi cellow,

my gal is nw in BI (TK) infant care.
lovely teachers who take good care of her when i am at work.

yup, at times they may make small mistakes but i can see tat they care alot for my gal esp teacher jamilah..

My boy is w BI (TK) now. didnt know of the negative feedback prior to joining. Can i check if the complaints are from toddler sections? does the teachers fr toddlers section helpout in baby section as well?

Thanks, shannonbaby.

I suppose the level of care boils down to each indvl teacher. Shall go back a few more times and evaluate... After all, little one only has to go in Oct / Nov

i enrolled my son in BI before i saw this thread. now i am really worried. tomolo will b his 1st day at the infant care centre....i am at a loss what to do.

hi cynthia n babyshannon,

how long has your babies been with BI? any probs so far? r yours on full day or half day? hope 2 meet u at the centre and we can chat more.

starrbliss,

personally, i feel that there is nothing wrong with BI. I am a childcare teacher myself and have visited alot of childcare n infant care centre as part of my work and when searching for school for my baby gal. i feel the same as cellow -> the level of care really boils down to each individual teacher. no school is so called "perfect" school.

I enrolled my gal in BI long before I read this thread. When I first read about all the negative things from this thread, I was having my confinement and feel super depressed on why I had chosen BI when everyone is talking about BI so negatively. But 4 mths down the road, I am glad that I make the right choice by putting my gal in BI.
My gal has been in BI for full day care since she is 2 mths old. she is coming to 6 mths in Jul. She loves going to school and is well liked by the teachers. the teachers will constantly feedback to me and provide me with sugesstions especially since she is a reflux baby which need extra care at times as she can get very fussy n cranky when she is having reflux. Teacher Jamilah and Teacher Ivy are both great and experienced teachers. In fact, I learn alot from them and they are the one who keep encouraging me to breastfeed my gal whenever i feel like giving up.

oh ya, i attended kindermusik with my gal every wednesday morning in BI as encouraged by teacher Ivy.

starrbliss,
hope to see u in the centre too..but my gal is usually one of the last one to go home..hehe

hi shannonbaby,

my hubby called up the centre to clarify the TB matter n we feel more at ease now. i agree with u tat it all boils down to individual teacher n there's no perfect school.

been 2 days n so far so good. i am quite pleased with BI n my son is settling well too. my son oso has reflux prob. on his 1st day at BI, only ivy managed to feed him without havin a wrestling match with him.

today, i saw him havin fun at the kindermusik class. i am happy that he's enjoyin himself there.

cya around at BI

Hi mummies at BI,

A good school is not just about caring but also the activities involved. With the amount of money I paid previously, I do not think BI is worth at all.

My son is now 28 months & has been in the new school for 6 months already. Beside the normal water/sand play, kiddy ride, arts & crafts, reading/music sessions, this neighbourhood childcare have alot of fun activities to stimulate the kids learning experiences. In less than 6 months, the school has already organised 1 trip to the zoo & 1 trip to the science centre. My little boy even got to perform a lion dance at the Chinese New Year celebration. Last month, our whole family attended a sport/family day events with lots of fun fair stores organised by the childcare. In November, there will be a graduation concert at a theatre where my little boy get to perform in a children play. I am really impressed by the number of educational activities they have with just the little amount of school fee I pay. No wonder, this childcare has a long queue for registration!

My little boy was with BI for more than 1 year but there are no such educational activities at all. Saw some photos that BI celebrate Halloween Party in the website & I really wonder how long was that ? I am disappointed with BI, not just the individual caring part but also the curriculum.

You will never know unless you look around.
To me, there is a PERFECT school for my precious little one.

Hi starrbliss

my bb in BI too. doing fine so far in BI. teachers are fine but like kitty says, there isnt really alot of variety in the programme. i dun seem to see my bb attending kindermusik very often. there seems to be alot of freetimes which we dun noe what she does. no harm keeping a lookout for other centres. btw, my email is [email protected]

Macpherson Sheng Hong Childcare Centre !
The childcare centre is established by The Society of Sheng Hong Welfare Services,the welfare arm of Lorong Koo Chye Sheng Hong Temple Association. The childcare aims to promote a spirit of learning in partnership with parents towards the development of a holistic child with strong moral values and a passion for life long learning.

Macpherson Sheng Hong Childcare Centre is housed in a 3-storey building with a uniquely spacious compound of 1732 sq m in the heart of Macpherson.

It does not have infant care & I think the children range from 18 months to kindergarten. School fees is at least 3 times less than BI & all teachers are fanastic.

Do you guys still have to purchase the kindermusik CD pack ? I was asked to buy 3 times & heard from another mum that it is not compulsory ? I feel so silly bcos it is really expensive.

thks kitty73 for reminding me. i paid for some kindermusik materials wc i completely forgot...lol. will ask them what it is later.

so glad tat tis thread is still active.

Actually, I wont say tat BI is totally no good. My son was there since he is 4months old until he is 3 yrs plus. It is normally for a centre to have babies/toddlers come and go. Every parent think differently on certain issues. Of course, every parent wished for a PERFECT school. But human are not PERFECT, how to have PERFECT school since schools are managed by human. So, it is impt for parents to think what is more impt to them. The activities in school/level of care/honesty of teachers?

Personally, I feel that the honesty of the teachers is the most impt to me. Next comes the level of care. Last is the activities in school.Of course, as our child gets older, the level of care need not be as much, and this is a time when the child needs more activities to be more exposed. I heard lotsa complaints from other parents but the complaints din move me. Coz' the management explained to me regarding the complaints and I accepted based on TRUST.

1 ultimate main reason why I moved : I am not sure why the management told me something untrue, and I din realised it was not true until I attend the parents' conference. Why i questioned tat person back, there is no answer and no explanation. Tat broke my trust. And she is the person I trust most in BI. And I find it hard to continue to trust anyone and anything at that time. Moreover, with that TB virus around, I am so worried tat my son who is always sick, might "sway sway" ganna it. My thots was that : Better to be safe than sorry.

Well, although my son's new ccc is not that fantastic in their food/daily activities, but I like the ccc's principal who is very caring and committed. I own a business, and if the boss is very committed to work, normally employees are also the same. She is in the centre most of the time. Her son who is 1 yr older than my son is my son's good friend. And all the teachers are very caring, cooperative too. They also have very low staff turnover rate.

Actually, the school which I appreciate most is the kindergarten next to BI. They have a fantastic principal and very caring teachers. My son has been there for 1.5 years and I love their curriculum. My son started read books on his own when he turns 3.5 years old. And some of the words which he can read are not those short simple words. I was so amazed. My son is poorer in his Chinese. But now he is picking up (although still slower than his peers by a little bit), and can read about 50 characters already. His art and craft also improved tremendously. I saw some other students with abacus class, doing Maths questions. It was superb. I din even know the answer. Wow!

Well, the foundation which BI gave him could have contributed to this. And together with the curriculum and teachers in the kindergarten, he is doing so well now. So, I am still thankful on what the teachers at BI have done for my son during his 1st 3 years.

Given another choice, if I have another bb, I may still consider to place him/her in BI. One of the parents in a thread here had recommended Babyplanet Montessori to me. She has got great comments for BBplanet and her 2 kids are there since long long time. It has the same settings as BI, but it has 2 premises, one cater for 2mo to 3yo, and the other cater for 3-6yo. So I guess this is gd coz' the same batch of kids get switched to the next premise together when they turn 3yo. I havent seen the place yet. But I think the price is more or less the same as BI.

Mummies, you may want to check it out as well.

Hi kitty,

Where is Macpherson Sheng Hong Childcare Centre? Is it near to UBI? My office in UBI and I stayed in Bedok.

Actually, I have plans to become a FT housewife. But no harm finding out more.

Does anyone know the current status of TB in babies inc? Do they transter staff between Tanjong Katong and Bukit Timah?

How do they manage hand-foot-mouth disease cases?

latest news abt BI at TK. It had been sold to another party.

Now BI is only located at BT.

The centre is now known as Little Empire. There is no website so far.

I understand that the whole mgt was changed but some of BI-TK teachers are still working there. And I understand that the fees charged are still the same.

hi christy,

there was a recent case of hfmd, about 1-2 mths ago.

they called to informed me of 5 cases in toddlers' group & nil in infant group. i brought my ds home immediately after receiving their call. the next day thinking that there was zero case for infant, i sent my ds to infant care and i was told that 2 cases reported for infants. it was my choice whether to leave him there or bring him home. i decided to bring him home.

the following days, the teachers on & off will call n check on my ds and oso to update me on the situation at the centre. their advice was to return 7 days after the last reported case which i did. all is well with ds, he was not infected.

Have been to BI at TK, which is now known as Little Empire. Found the centre pretty much the same, with little changes in the Library and Gym room. On the whole, I am pretty comfortable with the new mgt. A few of BI teachers are still there.

Heard that Little Empire is under the same umbrella as Elfa Preschool and Childcare which is a division of Crestar Education.

http://www.elfa.edu.sg/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=19&Itemid=36

Are there any parents here whose babies are with the infant care section of Little empire? How is it? Planning to enrol my 3 mth old baby soon... The ratio is gd @ 1:2 & the number of children for the whole compound is rather small... So how are their standards now with e new mgt & the teachers?

hi jacquise, my son was there since babies inc time. for the infant side, majority still the same teachers and i think it's better managed now.