Baby's Inc - Infant Care

tusony

Anyone able to share your experience with Baby's Inc infant care. There are 2 branches - Tanjong Katong & Bt Timah.

I am in a fix where to place my 6mth old baby, and am seriously considering Baby's Inc.

u can try ACADEMY KIDZ at Laguna Park Marine parrade or u can call HP 97918811 to know more about the infant care. the space is very big ane the enviroment is good for nurturing because it is homely and happy enviroment. the staffs are v well train in music .u can try .

I visited Baby's Inc at CHerry Avenue. For the $1100 u pay after subsidy too expansive considering the facilities are kinda old and the house is so hot. Plus the babies there don't get a bed. They sleep on mattresses.

Hi tusony,

I put my son at TK babies Inc. since he is 3 months old and so far I am quite pleased with their service. My son is now 25 months old.

They have 2 sections. 1 section is the infants/crawlers section, and the other section is the toddlers section. The infant section teacher to babies ratio is 1:2 and crawler is 1:3 while toddler is 1:5. Perhaps this is why it is more expensive. Personally I prefer to have small ratio, coz' it would mean more attention. So I dont mind paying for more. I heard that some childcare centre like Brighton Montessori is even more expensive.

The not so convenient thing about Babies Inc is that they only accept toddlers up to 3 years, the very max 4yrs old if your toddler attend the day school beside babies Inc TK. So, I am worried that my son wont adapt to the new place when it is time for him to switch school.

Food wise, I am quite fine with what is provided. Well, at least my son eats well there.

Facilities wise for toddlers, i am very pleased. They have a big gym/kindermusik room where they use as a nap room. They have the main classroom where all the montessori teaching materials with a small "living hall". They have a library, a "kitchen" where they used as a sick bay for sick childrens in transit. They aso have a big front yard where the children can go out for kiddy rides/outdoor play. Lastly, they have a yard where the children do water and sand play.

And best of all, it is all in one storey.

Yes, the one at BT is a 2 storey pte hse. We have been there. The things there are older and area wise, quite crampy. Once you see the TK side, you will not choose BT unless it is due to the distance.

For TK side, all babies and crawlers are provided with a crib. So, we can choose to let our baby sleep in the crib or on the floor with a mattress.

One thing I like abt this school is that they do not use walkers. They have a area where the crawlers are allowed to hold themselves up and learn to walk. My son learnt to walk at 9-10 months and can run at 12 months. And the teachers in this school respect the children while discipling them.

The thing I do not like abt this school is that not many parents signed up for Sat. I dont know why. It seems to me that the teachers do not like to come back on Sat too. And there is no cook on Sat, so I have to pack lunch for my son. There is a period of time when I signed up for Sat, but sometimes I can sense that I was not too welcome on Sat. So, now I save the additional $180, and bring my son there on Sat 8am to 11.30am where he has makeup lessons (The school offers makeup lessons on Sat half day 8am to 2pm if my son is sick and did not attend school during weekdays)

Sometimes, we may have some misunderstandings or miscommunications with some of the teachers, it will be resolved quite fast thru the head nurse.
My misunderstanding with the teachers is unusally regarding my son's medications. The teachers there are quite the kiasu types, so when it comes to HFMD peak period, he wont be able to go to school if he has a fever due to the jab. But come to think of it, being kiasu is aso good coz' the teachers aso are thinking for the rest of the kids.

However, all and all, I am rather pleased with the school and the teachers. In fact, they helped me to bring up my son. I am a first time mother and a very green horn. I do not have mother or MIL to help me or guide me, so the teachers in this school really help me a great deal. I remembered when my son started on solids, the teachers taught me how to make the rice cereal. Sometimes when i face problems at home, I call the teachers to get advices.

I am a rather yim chim mother who wants the best for my son. I tried another childcare when my son is 2months. After 1 month, I find the caregiver lousy and lazy. She is a nurse but she is so dirty. She said she will read to my son when he is only 2 mths old and I think she bulls***. Everyday I go there at different timing, I noticed that she will read newspaper and listen to radio when she is free. There are 3 babies at the time, my son who is 2 mths old, another 2 babies, 1 is 5months olds and the other is 9 months old. Let me tell you what the 3 fellows are doing all the time. My son, always in the crib, the 5 month baby always sitting in the baby chair and the 9 month baby always in the walker. And there is only one caregiver, the nurse. She works from 7am to 3pm and someone else (another auntie) takes over from her from 3pm to 7pm. And I hate this second auntie. There was once I saw her feeding my son and the 9 month baby came cruising to her and hold onto her knee. She pushed the 9 mth baby away angrily and he fell. I was so disgusted by her actions. This childcare is "Young Kids Childcare". I paid $600 after subsidy but I get s*** service. The principal is an jerk as well. When I complaint abt the auntie after stepping on one of the toys, pick up the toys and hand it to the 9 month old baby, he said "Never mind, aso wont die". So, I told him that I will make a complaint, he said "Aso not your baby, why you so uptight." Yes he is not my baby, but this is juz not right. I find that this kind of school, it is better to pull my son out. I prefer a school where my son can grow up gracefully and be respected a person although he is a baby.

thanks Leon's mummy for sharing. the Young kids childcare is so disgusting. I really can't stand adults bullying babies like that. My child's ex-ex-babysitter also treats another child badly, always scolding her even when I'm around. I still feel very guilty not waiting outside the nanny's house and tell the girl's mother. Why got so heartless people huh? Babies are so adorable!!

hi lis,

Some caregiver tends to bully another child and adore your child in front of you. Although it is not our own child, but who knows that will she bully our child and adore the other child when the other child's parent is around.

Anyway, childrens are innocent. Even they are naughty or irritating at times, I just cant stand caregivers spanking them or bully them. Even want to spank, aso we spank ourselves rite?

Normally, not that I kapo, if I see this kind of situation, I will arrange to withdraw my kid first, then wait o/s the childcare/nanny house to tell the parents what I see.

Tanjong Katong
Babies Inc Singapore Pte Ltd
369 Tanjong Katong Road (Block A) Singapore 437126
Tel: 6348 4248 Fax: 6348 3248

528192.gif

You can aso visit www.babiesinc.com.sg for a map.

The fees are abit expensive $1100 for Mon to Fri without dinner. I asked them to cook dinner for my son Mon to Fri and I pay $1200. If you are signing up for Sat (8am to 2pm), you will have to pay another $180. But one thing no good, no cook on Sat. Reason being, they dont have parents signing up for Sat. But they do have extended hours upto 8 or 8.30pm. Again, not many parents signed up. I signed up before when my boy is an infant/crawler but stopped coz' he seems to cry alot when he sees other children and most teachers left. He aso cry alot at home. Like ganna scared off by the late nites. So, I sarcifice a bit of time by bringing work back and staying up later at night to do after my son is asleep lor.

Hi Leon's Mummy

Thanks for the informative feedback.

I have placed my child in another infant care liao. But I am considering Baby's Inc after she turns 18 mths. I like their program - like gymboree & kindermusik. But I feel an infant may be too young to appreciate at this point. So I will reassess when she is older. Plus the fee at baby's inc a bit steep.

Hi tusony,

It's ok. Juz sharing wif you what I am thinking.

On the other hand, I think slightly differently from you. I strongly believe that music is very beneficial to infants. I have been singing and playing music instruments to my son and he responds very well to it. Even in kindermusik, he responds quite well, when I sit in wif him. Now that he is 2 years old, he is trying to sing.

But I do agree wif you that the fees are steep in Babies Inc.

Hi Leon's mummy,

I've visit Babies Inc recently and noticed that the infants sleep outside, near the play area. My daughter is a very light sleeper and I am worried that she will not get enough sleep, if I decide to place her there. Does your son have this problem?

Also, the place is non air-conditioned. I know that this is supposed to be better for the babies but my dd sweats a LOT, even in an air-conditioned environment. Is this a problem for your son?

Hi friend,

When my son is borned, I remembered one of my friend (who has 4 kids) telling me not let my son sleep in a too quiet environment, otherwise he will be so used to it. I myself being a person who hate noisy sleeping environment (to the extend of even soft music can disturb my sleep) thot otherwise. I din heed my friend's advice, and try to make the environment as quiet and dark as possible for him to sleep well, so that he will not be easily woken and be crying after that.

But to my surprise, my son sleep well in the childcare, on the floor with the mattress, in the open sometimes wif other crawlers playing.

However whenever he came back home, he became a light sleeper. When he is sleeping in the day, if any kids r playing o/s would have woken him up with their laughter. I find it a torture to pat him to sleep after he woke up again and again.

So, I started to train him to sleep with some noise. With singing b4 he sleep, and as he falls sleep, I open the window and put down the blinds just a little and both my hb and I would talk and do our things normally. And now, he can aso sleep soundly even in crowded food courts/shopping centres/wherever...

My dar dar aso perspires a lot, even in aircon during rainy days. The PD says he is normal as he is very active. He smells so sourish even wif two baths in a day. But he is fine there too. Well, BI have aircon rooms, like library, gym, etc. I havent been to the infant side for quite some time already so I am not sure how much it has changed, but I remembered there was a small aircon room for sleeping in the infant/crawler side. Well, I prefer no aircon for my son, even though he perspires a lot. Coz' he perspires even in aircon, I find that having too much aircon is no good for him esp he is always wheezing.

my son has been at babies inc bt for coming close to 2 years now. he started at 2.5 months and he just turned 2 recently.

yes, the place is small and crampy, cannot compare with tk at all. but i think the most important thing is the care and love showered upon them. i have stopped working some months back and switched my boy to half day so that he can continue to socialise and attend gymboree and kindermusik.

i agree with leon's mummy when she says that babies inc teachers have taught me so much. i too am a 1st time mom and having my child at babies inc has helped me get through the various phases in my son's growth. today, he is a very happy, sociable and cute or should i say cuddly 2 year old.

hi duckweed,

would you mind sharing what the cost of half day infant care is? i am considering putting my 6mth old at Babies Inc for just a few half days a week or even everyday so that i can get more work done. i don't need full day care at this point and in any case, i find the $1100 quite steep. thanks!

hi miu66,
since your baby is 6mths old, you should be considered under the babies/crawlers. the costs for babies/crawlers vs toddlers are different.

babies/crawlers: - before subsidy
3 sessions/wk - $780
4 sessions/wk - $880
5 sessions/wk - $980

toddlers: - before subsidy
3 sessions/wk - $650
4 sessions/wk - $750
5 sessions/wk - $850

i'm currently paying $825 a month. this includes ($850 less subsidy of $75 and $50 for chinese enrichment class). depending on whether you are working or not, the subsidy amount will differ.

you can either opt for all morning, all afternoon or in-between. my son currently attends school at 9am and finishes at 3pm. i prefer this timeslot as there is no need to rush to school in the mornings. in my son's case, lunch is included, but not breakfast.

let me know if you have any other queries, and if you are really interested, you must visit the place and talk to the teachers/head nurse to make sure you are really comfortable with the place and the care-givers.

hi leon's mummy,
yup, i am staying in bt, so can only choose the bt branch (which is just a 5min drive away). have been to tp branch once when they had a halloween party last year. really like the spaciousness. too bad, location is not suitable.

how long do you intend to have leon at babies inc? i am starting to look around for a nursery to move my boy (isaac) to, as i prefer one that will allow him to transition all the way to k2 without any further moves.

hi duckweed......

how are you ?!! how is your SAHM's life...enjoying it ??

You are looking at new school for Issac huh ...he just turned 2 couple of weeks ago right ? thanks for the stickers...Cayden love it !!
Issac move to 10pm to 3pm timing huh...no wonder i din get to see him......hug him for me :p

when are you planning to move issac out ? I am quite dreadful of putting cayden in a new environment all over again....he is so used to where he is now....

hi duckweed,

ic. I jus shifted to Bedok. So, it is abt 15mins drive to BI at TK.

Yah, my hb and I luv the space at TK.

They told me tt they can allow him to stay until max 4, but when he is 3, their advice is to let him go to for the enrichment courses next door. And they will fetch him to and fro for me. Lunch and Dinner will be prepared for him as well. And I jus have to pick him up as usual. How nice if he can stay until he is 6. I can see that he is so used to the place already and the thot of moving him out and praying that he will get used to the new environment sometimes stress me out. I heard that a few other parents with older kids who have moved out have chosen "Kidsworld", "Brighton Montessori", "Kinderland". Most of them went Kinderland but the last comment I heard was that they are changing school coz' Kinderland is not flexible enough..

I checked out a few childcare centres in Bedok/TK, but so far I havent found any other nice ones... Anyway, I am still taking my time since he just turn 2 in aug06.

My hb and I planning to have the 2nd one in 2008, that is when Leon is 3 plus to 4. So, if I can find, I prefer to put them both together. So the childcare must be able to take care from 2months to 6yrs old. But it is hard to find good ones offering such services and with such a big spacious environment.

hi phantom,
it's so nice to hear from you! glad to know cayden likes the stickers. i had lots of fun looking around for the stuff and packing them.

i am definitely enjoying my sahm life. so free from work burden and stress. now, i have time to pop by the school once in a while to observe isaac in school and it's nice to know how one's child is doing. i saw cayden on most of those occasions and must say he is really doing great in the toddler group.

you still have quite some time to go before you need to move cayden to new environment since he is born in 2005. i have looked around. it seems that those born in 2004 will start nursery1 next year. i will most probably move isaac out by end dec this year or end mar next year, depending on what i manage to find.

i've looked at pat's schoolhouse (buckely rd), etonhouse (vanda rd) and raffles house pre-school so far.

leon's mummy,
i have to admit that babies inc is one of the more flexible centres around. not many allow make-up classes and to think they even offer to send leon to classes next door for you is really amazing. i am also trying for #2, and will most probably have #2 go through the same route as #1. so i am definitely looking for a pre-school near my home or near babies inc bt. i think the oldest kids at bi bt are 3, don't see any 4 year old ones around.

duckweed

thanks for the info!

it's nice to hear that babies inc has been a positive experience for you and your child, i hope my daughter will enjoy it when the time comes!

Had something to share.

My son was badly bitten on his back by another child in the centre on Wed afternoon The teacher called to tell me what happened. She claimed that the "biter" is a 20MO and cannot vocalize yet. My son, being cheeky, went to snatch his book and the "biter" snatch the book back. My son gave him a push and lie down on the floor to throw tantrums. The "biter" then proceeded to give him a bite on his back. The teacher who called me said that my son "provoked" the "biter" and she did ask my son to stop snatching the book from the "biter". As she turned around, the "biter" alrdy bited him so hard and my son cried. But we juz could nt buy the story. If the teacher seen wat had happened form the start, y din she separate them and since it was known in the centre that that particular is a known "biter". My poor son was so badly bitten on his back that he has a two bleeding teeth marks and a 20cents coin huge blue black on his back.

I felt so painful... This is not the first time my son ganna bitten. All the previous times, the bites are not so bad. Just teeth marks or teeth marks with some blood marks. But tis time, this boy should have really used all his strength in biting. It hurts me so much to imagine, coz' we cant view the CCTV hard disk which the school has recorded the incident...

My son, after the bite, become for 2 consecutive nites, too unusual quiet and inactive as compared to before. The first nite after the bite, he din even allow us to lift up his shirt to dress the wound for him. Last nite, my hb asked him who bite him and he said "Daniel bite, daniel bite" But when we probed further, he said "no no no no" with a frightened look on his face. But I remembered that this Daniel is 30+ MO. The teacher claimed that the biter is in his 20MO.

We are not trying to penalize the biter, but I feel that the teacher has not been fast enough to pull the kids away to avoid such an incident....

is there any infact care centre at west area? i staying CCK area..also first time mummy.. no mil to take care and my mum stays really too far away..

pls recommend.. thanks..

J and R u could try the INfantcare at Sparkletots locacted at Bukit Gombak. Its facilities are new and spanking and the teachers are attentive. I personally wouldn't go to Babies INC. For $1100 after subsidy is a cut throat price and also the house is old and hot, facilities inadequate and babies don't get beds. In Sparkletots up to 18 months your child would get a bed.

Are thre any infant care ard East areas, ie. tampines, simei, or eunos??

Or.. TK Inc wld be really recommended by the mothers here??

Need advice from mommies who have/had kids in Babies Inc before.

My daughter is now attending the toddler school there in Katong and has settled well. I'm also very happy with the teachers/activities etc.

The only concern i have now is that when she's old enough to go to Nursery/Pre-school, I'm not sure whether i should pull her out of Babies Inc and send her to another school (where she probably has adjustment problems again) or simply send her to the MDS school next door and continue her p.m. session with Babies Inc (as after school care). Not too sure about how good the MDS school is but the adjustment would be better for her.

Any mummies there who have gone through this phase can please advise?

pls dun put your child in Academy Kidz..their standard is horrible now and the last trained teacher is leaving next month.i am pulling my child out

Hi Boon Tiong,

there's another mum in another thread who rec baby planet too. Is yr child there? May i know what is gd abt the place? Tks

Wat I understand from Academy Kidz, is that they change their teachers very often. I met the principal before and she thinks that the teachers she asked to go, are the ones who are no good.

Anyone putting your bb at the Kinderland Infant Care? How much does it cost? Any recommendation?

tried liao.. dun think my house area got infant care service... sighh... think babysitter is my only option now...

I had draw out from Babies Inc bcos I think the school really suck. I had put my son there for a year & it used to be quite good. The teachers are very unprofessional & are always full of excuses. For the amount of money I spend in Babies Inc, I think it is really not worth it.

Hi Kitty,

Would you mind sharing with us what happened? which outlet did your son attend? My DD attends Babies Inc too but becos now that I'm busy taking care of my newborn, i don't have time to check out the school on what they do etc. Would really appreciate your sharing.

Hi Viola,

My son is in katong area.

There are several issues that upset me terribly & suddenly I just decide to "fire" the school.

1) Did you get report from them everyday ? Did you realised it is often inaccurate ? I complaints again & again but they always said teachers forget to write. I really dont know if teachers really forget to WRITE or forget to GIVE milk/food/medicine? Dont understand why give parents the report when it is often inaccurate. I have heard other parents complain the same issues also but the teachers are always full of excuses.

2) They wants us to provide plastic bag for dirty cloth but then they often never use it. Instead they put dirty cloth with clean cloth & then in the school bag. Thus, I end up cleaning all the cloth plus the BAG!

3) Worse! I saw teachers several times holding the kids up with their wrist when they try to run out of the class. I feel really angry even though it is not my kids bcos I think that is very rough thing to do & it can hurt the kids arm.

Babies Inc used to be so good & I even recommend a friend there. Maybe just my bad luck. Cant tell you how glad I am now that my son is no longer there. That period, I become so stressful putting my son there. Everyday, I worried if the teachers really give him milk & medicine. With the amount of money I spend, I really expect some kind of standard but was so disappointed when there is no improvement.

Now, my son is enjoying very much in another school. It may not have a good curriculum but at least the teachers are really responsible & very caring. Better still, I only pay half the amount of school fee now.

Hi Kitty

thanks for sharing. my DD oso attends the one at Katong...was v pleased with them initially when she first join them (beginning of the year) but recently i oso beginning to have some doubts :

a) yes, i know the OB chart is not accurate but i just close one eye since normally i have the verbal assurance from the head teacher that DD finished her milk/had her nap (most important to me)

b) point no. 3 you mentioned sounds really bad...i oso observed a couple of teachers who are quite rough/stern...

c) just yesterday, i was very shocked to see that DD's bottle/teats that i put in school is not cleaned properly. so now i told them that i'm bringing back her bottle/teat everyday to clean

d) one morning after husband sent her to school, he told me that he saw them giving biscuits to the kids as breakfast. i oso very surprised cos i thot they should give proper food, rather than just biscuits.

e) over the last 2 months, DD was rather unhappy about going to school. all along, i thot was becos of my pregnancy. now, i oso wonder if it's anything to do with the school. Btw, i oso find them rather not transparent in the pricing of fees...when i asked them in details, they can't really give me a good explanation (DD is under flexicare and thus more complicated in the pricing).

btw, which school is your son in now? I originally intended to switch DD to another school mid next year when she turns 3 but now, i may consider doing it earlier. thanks for sharing

Hi Kitty,

I intend to put my child into Babies Inc (Katong) next year too. Luckily I havent enrol..seems like the teachers are not very responsible and rough with children according to yr observations.
Mind sharing with me which infant care centre did u enrol yr child in now??

Hi Babyshannon,

I must be fair to Babies Inc.
Actually, my hsuband & I really like their infant group teachers bcos they are all very friendly & caring. Thus, if your child is still a baby, then babies Inc should be good.

However, the teachers in toddler group just no standard. Maybe, there is improvement now. You can check it out on your own. I think they have trial session.

My son is also flexi scheme, attend few sessions per month. I even have to pay quite a bit for his dinner which I really think not worth. I started to complain bcos in a few instance, my son asked for milk immediately when we got home. Then, I notice, sometime the teachers forget to write if he has afternoon milk. Sometime, they will forget to write if he has dinner. Of course, the head teacher said they have given. Well, I can accept mistake one or twice but it was so frequent (remember i dont even attend full session) & everytime when I pick my son, I have to ask the teachers the same question. It got so stressful bcos I can no longer trust them. One morning, I remind one of the teachers to give my son 240 ml milk at 5 pm but her face turn black.

Talking about food. Did you have teachers trying to sell you health products ? They even supplement in my son milk without seeking my permission. Seriously, how can i entrust my son with such teachers.

I know the teachers is not happy with me also bcos they try to make things difficult for me. I used to just bring my son in for makeup session if he cannot make it on the actual day. Suddenly, they told me I have to call up & check first if there are enough teachers on that day. I know it was written in the handbook but still I was very furious bcos I have been doing that for more than 1 year & suddenly they said the teachers can reject my son if I did not ask for permission. So, I decide to "fired" the school.

I realised my son is less happy to go to the toddler group. I dont know why he cried often & I feel really sorry. Maybe, just my bad luck.

I am a lecturer, personally I think teachers play a very important role for child development. If the teachers are great, the child will learn happily. So what if the school have good curriculum but yet irresponsbile teachers.

My son is in a childcare near to my mother-in-law house so that she can pick him up at 5 pm for dinner. It is very far from Katong area so I dont think it will be suitable for you guys.

Been a mum is never easy. Maybe, my expectation is high. Anyway, I have learned a great lession, expensive is never always good!!!

Hi Viola & Babyshannon,

I must be fair to Babies Inc.
Actually, my hsuband & I really like their infant group teachers bcos they are all very friendly & caring. Thus, if your child is still a baby, then babies Inc should be good.

However, the teachers in toddler group just no standard. Maybe, there is improvement now. You can check it out on your own. I think they have trial session.

My son is also flexi scheme, attend few sessions per month. I even have to pay quite a bit for his dinner which I really think not worth. I started to complain bcos in a few instance, my son asked for milk immediately when we got home. Then, I notice, sometime the teachers forget to write if he has afternoon milk. Sometime, they will forget to write if he has dinner. Of course, the head teacher said they have given. Well, I can accept mistake one or twice but it was so frequent (remember i dont even attend full session) & everytime when I pick my son, I have to ask the teachers the same question. It got so stressful bcos I can no longer trust them. One morning, I remind one of the teachers to give my son 240 ml milk at 5 pm but her face turn black.

Talking about food. Did you have teachers trying to sell you health products ? They even supplement in my son milk without seeking my permission. Seriously, how can i entrust my son with such teachers.

I know the teachers is not happy with me also bcos they try to make things difficult for me. I used to just bring my son in for makeup session if he cannot make it on the actual day. Suddenly, they told me I have to call up & check first if there are enough teachers on that day. I know it was written in the handbook but still I was very furious bcos I have been doing that for more than 1 year & suddenly they said the teachers can reject my son if I did not ask for permission. So, I decide to "fired" the school.

I realised my son is less happy to go to the toddler group. I dont know why he cried often & I feel really sorry. Maybe, just my bad luck.

I am a lecturer, personally I think teachers play a very important role for child development. If the teachers are great, the child will learn happily. So what if the school have good curriculum but yet irresponsbile teachers.

My son is in a childcare near to my mother-in-law house so that she can pick him up at 5 pm for dinner. It is very far from Katong area so I dont think it will be suitable for you guys.

Been a mum is never easy. Maybe, my expectation is high. Anyway, I have learned a great lession, expensive is never always good!!!

Kitty/Babyshannon,

Yes, to be fair to Babies Inc, I also must say that DD learnt a lot in school and has progressed tremendously since she joined. She has learnt to be independent and disciplined. I am actually very happy with her progress in this aspect.

I ever encountered a staff selling me health food for my DD once when DD refused to eat initially in school but after that, she didn't persist. as for make up classes, i always called ahead to arrange becos i know their enrolment has gone up and they are rather at full capacity at times.

I once visited the toddler class at Pat's SchoolHouse at Katong Park. I must say that Babies Inc's environment is anytime better because the area is more spacious and the kids seem happier. The one at Pat's was a bit haphazard and less controlled. i saw a kid hitting another kid but the teachers were too busy attending to other kids.

In anyway, i'm currently still comfortable with putting DD there as i trust some of the teachers there. just that Kitty, your note reminded me to pay more attention to the development in school. Thanks.

Ho Viola,

I agree Babies Inc is clean & spacious but I dont think is hazard free. Since my son joined the toddler group, he fall down 3 times & got bitten by someone twice.

I like the new school now bcos when I ask my son want to go school, he will said yes. Most important to me, he is happy. Recently we just celebrate mooncake festival & children day. All parents are invited & it was so much fun. I get to interact with other parents & my son got to play like crazy. There are food, entertainment & gifts. At the end of the year, there will be a grand show perform by all the kids too. I saw last year video, I cant imagine my son wear animal constume & dance. It is so funny & cute.

Anyway, glad that your experience is better than mine & hope we just dont have to worry so much about school anymore.

Good luck & take care.

Hi Kitty/Viola,

Sorry to hear abt ur bad exp with BI.

Actually, there was a period of time when I was unhappy wif the teachers, esp the new ones. Maybe it is due to their exp. and the way they talked. But they are better now.

I do agree that their OB chart is not very accurate. Sometimes, they write the food served not the food the child really eat.

As for biscuits at breakfast time, I can understand. Like in my son's case, he is a very fussy eater. Even at home, or during wkends when we eat out, he dislikes breakfast. The teachers did explained to me that they have no choice but to at least offer biscuits, which is my son's favorite so that he will nt go hungry. This is wat I do at home as well. No choice if he just refuse to eat any other things. But one thing I am sure, I dont think the teachers at BI are uncaring. Allow me to explain. There are a couple of times, I reached the school at 9 plus and breakfast time is over. The teachers asked the cook to specially prepare the breakfast for him.

On a different occasion, one teacher did asked if we can bring him earlier coz' my son needs to attend the enrichment school next door at 9am and she wanted to have a little bit more time to coax him to eat his breakfast before sending him over. But at times, we are still late. I also explained to her that it is coz' my son like laze in bed. So, she told me if if I can bring some of my son's fav toys so that she could coax him to eat. To be frank, sometimes she told my son that she will keep his toy in her locker if he does not eat his food. But I am fine with that. Afterall, I can see that my son still likes her alot. My son is happily chasing after her last Friday when I was there to fetch him while all the teachers are busy preparing for the halloween party held on last Sat.

Regarding the point abt asking for milk straight after meals. I am not sure for others, but to my son, that is a norm. Every night, after 1 big bowl of dinner, he will ask me for milk. Sometimes, I was wondering if I havent give him enuff. But it is already one big bowl that he had eaten. He did asked for milk at times after lunch but less frequent as compared to asking for milk after dinner.

Actually, one good way to ensure that your child had eaten is to monitor his weight. This is wat the paed told me. If he is not being fed well esp for those who are on full time child care, the child will not grow well.

One thing that I feel that they should improve on is the communications to parents. At times, they feedback that they need milk powder and diapers quite late. There was once they forgot to feedback that my son's diapers are used up and they wore another kid's diapers on him. I went to ask and the teacher told me that he has no more diapers left. But I told them that they didnt write anywhere on the comms bk or the OB chart, or tell me verbally that I should bring more diapers.

Regarding plastic bags for dirty clothes, so far mine's ok. I have using plastic bags for my son's clean clothes ever since he is a baby and the teachers are already so used to seeing plastics bags in my son's schoold bags.

Only thing, is they did misplaced my son's clothes before. And the clothes cannot be found.

There were aso a couple of things when some other kid wear my son's shoes home or bring my son's bag home.

Abt the heath products, so far, only one staff tried to sell me the health product. I did try out some of the products before. She is not a teacher, just the admin staff. I think she is no longer there.

Holding the kids by the wrist? I have not noticed that. I will pay more attention to this.

Viola, this is true, they do not wash the teats and bottles clean enuff. What I understand is that the teachers do not wash the bottles. The cook is the one who wash the bottle and she had left the school already. I am not sure if the new cook is washing the bottles properly now. There was once I noticed moulds growing in my son's teats and that is. I bring clean bottles for them everyday. In fact, for my next kid, I am not using the bottles from the hospital as well. Have you ever notice that the bottles in the hospitals are very dirty as well?

Anyway, thanks for ur feedback. I will put more attention on their developments.