As long as paid $25 to liase Bulk Purchase, I can mark up the price???

motherof_2

I noticed that there are quite alots of BP for TW things that was not allow in spree previously. Now, seems that as long as paid $25 to host in BP, many people are making use of it to even mark up the price at least 30% in SGD!!!
I knew all these TW websites because has been viewing or organsing myself with friends via email.
Another things, why nobody question when price so much higher???
This is not fair for who for doing the oversea sprees.

<font color="aa00aa">hi mei:
guess most of the time, mummies don't do "homework" or "research" to find out abt price and other stuff.

and i guess, we are also trusting that organizers will give us the best price.

in the past, bulk purchases happened because that particular mummy wanted to get something from that site and realised that it would be cost efficient to share the cost of shipping and handling with other mummies. this way, many mummies and babies can benefit. guess we are stuck with this mentality that we will benefit / gain from bulk purchases.

but like you mentioned, there are many more pp now, who have taken advantage of this "loop hole" and charge higher prices. and mummies will be none the wiser until someone points it out.</font>

especially for the BP on taiwan bags! I was surfing the web and soon found out to my dismal that I paid $23 for a bag (in a bp) that actually cost about $15 with shipping. And that bag can get 20% cheaper if buy in bulk of 30 bags

sigh!!!

learnt my lesson liao - now searching for sprees from PG mall and bigi bags so won't kena conned

(pics from these two sites exactly the same as those on the BP threads!!)

a very expensive lessons.

I realised the BP prices not attractive anymore. I tot BP is Bulk Purchase, meaning we get in bulk, entitle a little bit more discount as compare from getting 1 pc on our own.
Some BP prices are so high, yet still got mummies buying. I don't understand cos still need to include postage, which adds to a much higher price. Just take for example the towel cake pricing... there's a few BPs/Business thread selling at ridiculous pricing where the shops at shopping mall are selling at much lower price. Same design towel cake but almost double the retail price, exclude postage hor.

Bigi bags:

http://tw.user.bid.yahoo.com/tw/show/auctions?userID=bigi0107000&u=%3abigi0107000

PG Mall:

http://tw.user.bid.yahoo.com/tw/show/auctions?userID=002-002-002&u=%3a002-002-002

Found out about these bags being cheaper through sprees from this spree site

http://beautifullife.forumarena.com/

This is how I know the bags can be very cheap by refering to this spree thread

http://beautifullife.forumarena.com/beautifullife-thread123.html

but spree closed liao - I too late, just found out about this site only this past mon

can anybody start a spree on this? Can't understand chinese - can only make out the price hehe

good lobang must share ah

I guess BP site now become open market, as long as paid $25 can do business there...
I knows most of TW links & price well because I organise sprees via email instead.
When I found out this is too much, too expensive!!!
Then, I sound out...this is to benefits all that don't waste so much $$$...

Hahaha... got to know recently that many are doing business... They dun really out of kindness BP to share shipping charges or get cheaper price only. They earn money no matter how much lah... it is under business lor. But difficult to control also. It is like you want to buy, be prepared that organisers are earning from you. Nothing is FREE! It is good that you started this thread... mommies can know that organisers are earning so they have to provide better services. =0)

I have a close friend here, she told me that she was "complained" by another BP organiser for selling BP items too cheaply. But my this friend do not making earnings from BP, she just like to organise and buy things together to share freight etc.

mei~

should have known u earlier!!...

now heartpain...

so much money spent for nothing when i tot i saved!!! =(

wa.. i calculated, the bag that i order is actually about S$14 only.. (have not include the discount & shipping) BUT organiser charge S$28???!!!

wa.. should have done my stupid homework!!!! =(

The Bulk purchase price is really (no words) .....

See another mummy ordering $300++, infact she is spending $100+ more for those tops..sighzzz

All mummies here wanna save more but it turn out to another way.. for tat kind of money $300+ infact she can get another 8 - 10 tops manzzzz

1 more example is the socks.
Jshoppers is selling the socks for JPY1090 for 12pairs, S$14.60, 1 pair only S$1.22, 1 BP organiser is selling @S$4.50 per pair!

somemore, now jshoppers is offering free shipping to SG if order more than JPY12,000, might as well join Overseas Spree better, each pair can save $3.30!
I still saw some mummies buy more than 10pairs, meaning she paid $30+ extra for the socks!

I agree tat BP thread now dun serves it meaning anymore.....

it's no longer call bulk purchase... it's simply a business thread. so disappointing...

I miss the old SMH...

Hi MrsPOh

The choice is up to them... sighz but really heartpain for them

Dunno me will kena bombard ornot...

hahahhaha

Agree with you mtdt...

Las time the bulk purchase is purely getting cheaper stuffs...

Now SMH so into commercialise.. :S

Before we started restriction of the marketplace and exchange corner and charging a BP fee, many of the BPs were already organised by users trying to make money. We tried suspending the account of the organisers but they would just register another account and start again. There were also simply too many of these BP and sprees for us to close. Oftenly, we also do not know if the organisers are making a profit as we don't know the original price of the items that are being brought in. We had wanted to close the BP and spree section entirely but we received feedback from mummies that they don't mind paying more to buy the items from the organisers and they don't mind the organisers making money for their effort. Some of the mummies were willing to pay more as they don't have time to shop.

In order to curb the number of BP being organised and continue to allow genuine BPs and at the same time allowing mummies to buy things from BP, the marketplace and exchange corner became restricted and a BP organising fee was imposed.

Like the purchase of any items in any place, we leave it to the mummies to decide if they would like to buy and whether they find the price attractive enough to buy.

Chin Leng.

Hi Mtdt and Jolene,

Even before the restriction, many of the users were already selling commercially, selling for profit. When these users' account were suspended, we get 'scolded' by the users' supporters. They even vouch that they were not selling to make a profit but we've done our investigation.

The difference was that last time it was less obvious as there were a lot more BP threads as it was not restricted. Now it is easier to scrutinize as there are much lesser BP being organised.

Before buying any item, research about the price of the item first. If you find that the price of the item is too high, don't buy. Ultimately, if no one buys, BP price will be brought down. However, if the organiser selling at a high marke-up price and the mummies are willing to buy, the organisers will obviously choose to sell at the highest possible price.

It is not only now that the organisers are making a profit. Many SAM also joined in to make money by organising BPs. We already saw it happening then. That's why we had to restrict the marketplace and exchange corner before the problem became more difficult to control.

Chin Leng.

Hi Chin Leng

Understand that the organisers are making profit.. Sigh.. but the price is really too steep.

Is true that we can do nothing cos mummies are willing to pay such a high price..

Cheers to your team

CL,

I agree last time also hv such practice... but it's a win-win case for buyers and sellers (but lose to SMH) as they charge higher from their cost but we pay lower than other plc selling price. but of cos, in the expense of SMH as it's free then.

also, as last time it's not "official" so many of them will do discreetly, earn less so tat it's still cheaper than in the mass market. however now tat it's open - $25 for a biz thread, many of them are doing it openly.

to a oldies, way back from brides thread, I do see the big differences.

but of cos, I dun hv a solutions for u.... so just can "complain" here and sigh abt it. :p
ignore me hahaa

Hi, for people who have a good grasp of Mandarin, it is an easy task to order online.

My mandarin is not very good and what more the characters are not in simplified chinese so even more difficult thus I have no choice but to order thru BP.

Anyway, if any mummies here is organising any purchase for clothing or bags and wish to accumulate for free shipping. Would appreciate if you can include me.

Hellooo all..
I too notice the bags is ex.. clothings also .. got the same problem as most of you, having problem with understanding the chinese.
Appreciate if any of the mummies organising any purchasing will include me in the distibution list..

Erm.... I''ll be removing the email addresses here. This thread is not the appropriate place to ask for inclusion in the distribution list. Also, by putting your email addresses here, you are also exposing your email addresses to be collected by spammers.

Chin Leng.

hi jolene, mrspoh,

have you thought about pm-ing the specific moms (the ones who paid $100+ and $30+) to warn them about the overcharging? feel so sorry for them after reading your posts... hard earn $ if ftwm, worse if sahm
don't have to warn everyone lah, maybe just the ones we are going to get it bad :shrugShoulders:

now, really wondering if i'd been conned too:eek: sahm very diff to do research, always stuck at home and time surfing means when the kids are in bed :booHoo:

hi mrs poh, joyjuice
mrs poh, saw u post in the socks BP. 3 cheers! i was afraid to do so openly coz tot won't b nice since she paid $25. hence i tried PMing the mummies who bought. only 2 accept PMs. In my msg, i told them i wished to remain anonynomous n not to expose my identity.

Guess what?! i received a long email from the seller (not via PM) who was angry tt no one buy her socks and angry also she was accussed of being a CHEAT n spoils her reputation.

i also found out from her tt another BP selling at high price too. to quote what she wrote

"Just to let you know, the organiser that's selling the French brand sleeping bag is a bigger cheater. The sleeping bags imported from Taiwan cost less than $15/pc inclusive of international shipping. The seller is cheating mummies of at least $20, and I get prosecuted for pocketing $1.50/socks? U don't see me go send PM to the organiser's participants. Maybe u want to help me do that. I know the cost price becos my suppliers are selling the sleeping bags.
"

N no thank you email from the 2 buyers. i choose to just leave the matter rests.

So, my lesson learnt: hao xin mei hao bao. so think next time i jus don't need to chup all these businesses liao.

mrs poh,
I also think that it's brave of you to post at the thread.

hi grance_hui,
Lesson learnt.. Guess its better to post openly rather then pm individual.. By posting openly it allows the organiser to explain themselves (in case they're also cheated by supplier) instead of the buyer backout silently one by one.

I saw the same cake towel is selling at $4.90 at a shop but one of the BP is selling at 8! Since I'm not free to organise and help them buy, so didn't post anything. Else the BP MOQ not met the other buyers would be upset.

Hi joyjuice, grance_hui

Really NO words, even Chin Leng get 'scolded' :S

Quoted from Chin Leng
Even before the restriction, many of the users were already selling commercially, selling for profit. When these users' account were suspended, we get 'scolded' by the users' supporters. They even vouch that they were not selling to make a profit but we've done our investigation.

Hi Sudoku,

Actually, we are thinking of closing down both BPs and sprees. BP can also be masqueraded as overseas sprees. We've seen it done before. That's why currently we've disallowed certain overseas sprees.

However, I hope and believe that there are some good and genuine BPs in the forum. I hope I won't be disappointed.

Chin Leng.

hui,
I think u have missed quoted me. I had said in the email I am NOT angry abt the sharing of good lobang but rather the accusation of me being a cheat. OUT TO CHEAT OTHER MUMMIES. I'm not so stupid to start something if I had known that the item is selling cheaper somewhere. My policy is always that the items I sell must be the same price if not cheaper than what is the official price, if I cannot match the price I will not sell it. So DO NOT accuse me of cheating.

Actually I support closing down BPs. There is too much risk and too easy for the organizers to cheat. Too many police cases will hurt this forum's reputation.

But I do hope that overseas sprees for certains websites can be allowed, may be can just restrict to gymboree.com, oldnavy.com, GAP.com, polo.com etc, and only organizers who were approved can organize sprees. It will be very sad if we can't spree from these websites.

HI To All,

I think all of you has good intentions when alerting buyers/ Chin Leng about the high price that a seller is coming up with.

But since buyers choose to go ahead after hearing from you all, why dont you all just leave the sellers and buyers alone? All this will only make buyers and sellers perceive otherwise of your good intentions.

This is a case of willing buyers and willing seller.

I am the mummy whom bought $300plus clothings from Pink (Ladies Fahion Wear) and i still went ahead with my order after hearing the well-intended advices from mummies like Mei and Jolene.

I read from this thread that one could have possibly buy another 8-10 tops with the $300plus paid. Having known this, i still went ahead with my order. Not because I am ignorant, stupid, silly or make no research. Simply because I feel that the price I have paid for each piece is reasonable and within my means.

Once again, thank you for your well-intended advices.

Me too support the closing down of BPs. This is a parents forum to allow us to share our experiences, woes, questions .. etc regarding parenting, we gain from this area..

itsy bitsy,

jus wan to clarify that i have no intention of accusing u being out to cheat mummies, that is why i use PM to PM the mummy whom u know.

have replied to u personally via email in case yue miao yue hei.

do not wish to create any war.

Seriously, I do not understand why so many making a hoo haa here. I support what Pig07 says. It's a case of willing buyers and sellers. As you can see, there are so many whom are willing to buy from the sellers. Also, there are a handful of threads whom can't even garner any sales. Gosh.... I seriously doubt where's the touch of sympothy of some mothers here.

I personally know one of the organizer of sprees here. She make little profit and have to do big projects to get the spree going. Taking orders, noting down emails, taking down address, calling supplier, ordering the 'CORRECT' items, risking T/T ing over the money over.... Answering to all emails..... tending to her baby..... then when goods arrive, unpack, matching, wrapping the items for post, arranging to meet up, smsing... emailing.... making sure all items are in good order. Whole house in a mess. Lost of sleep most importantly. What for? Cos she's forced to be a SAHM with no ILs nor parents. Hubby barely earn enough to sustain both of them. And she's only a secondary cert holder. All these hard work for a salary much lesser than an admin clerk!!!

For those mothers whom make so much complains here, esp Mrs Poh, why don't you ORGANIZE a BP here and then start commenting? Prob you are one of those 'LUCKY' one whom can shake leg at home with a helper to tend to your kid. Please do show some appreciation to those whom even bother to start one. All of us are not dumb. If they are really overcharging, we can jolly well not join. Buyers are already not complaining. Why should you?

What I see from those complains are selfishness.... not helpfulness. This forum is slowly becoming one with no big hearts. It's so disappointing.

Mrs Teo,
I understand what you mean and I too agree that nothing is FREE! But do not cheat lor... if they BP under business then ok lor, give and take. But also lah, the BP got loopholes, difficult to control, buyers difficult to gauge also. So in the end, buyers should be prepared that organisers are earning lor. No free lunch one. =) Also cannot say ALL organisers earn lah, there might be minority who do not. So give and take... =P

hi hi, happened to see this thread. actually do you guys seriously think that someone would organise a BP without earning any profit? people are doing business leh. If anyone of you organise a BP, wouldn't you want to profit at least a little? (no need to answer this question) of course i agree there are some who really earn a huge profit. so before buying got to do a little bit of homework before buying lor.

I personally think there isn't anything wrong with a person making profit under the BP thread (this is not the same as overseas sprees - which should not be profitable). Afterall, the person did pay a business listing fee. So it is really for the buyers to be selective in their purchases. If at the time of purchase, the price is right, then there is no ground to complain if it turns out that there are other cheaper sources.

I also don't see any issue with any person posting on the business thread to state that the amount appears high. After all, this is open competition. more competition must mean lower prices.

as for selling fakes.. hmm.. that's not good lah. esp if the impression given is that they are real goods. That would amount to dishonesty.

fully support Mrs Teo (twixyrosy)'s point of view!!!!!!!
if asking for no profit from BP organizer..then also ask for no listing fee lor..
since BP section is asking for listing fee..means it is ready for business wat..

just dun understand y some of u cannot understand the hardwork of organizing a BP!!
just give the organizer some kooligang is not too much what..plp is contributing so much time, attention or service to the BP..then u expect for free service ??
dine at restaurant..though u dun enjoy much of table service..but still u need to pay 10% service charge la..
put urself into other's shoe..there is still lots of mommies need this tiny profit to raise their family..

Please try to understand the differences between Bulk Purchase and Business.

A bulk purchase is for forumers to collate their orders and get items at cheaper prices. Therefore, it does seem unethical to be doing business and earning profits under Bulk Purchase. Most people have the impression that they would get things cheaper through BP. Hence, it can be considered as cheating indirectly in 2 folds if one tries to earn profit for his/her hard work by charging higher prices knowingly. One for cheating ignorant trusting forumers, and two for cheating the forum owner.

Nobody is stopping anybody from conducting business deals here. Indeed it's a tiring job to organise a BP. But if you want to be paid for the work and charge higher prices/earn profits, please list yourself under the proper channel - Business and pay for the appropriate fees too. Likewise, the forum owner deserved to be paid for his hard work in providing a platform, pool of potential customers and opportunity for one to earn profits.

Charges for Business -
This is setup for businesses to promote and sell their products. The listing is at $25 per 7-days period or $80 per 28-days period.

Charges for Bulk Purchase -
This is setup for organising of bulk purchases. The listing is at $25 per 7-day period. The listing fee will be returned upon no participation of the BP and spree.

Please do not violate rules and claim to be pathetic later. That is most underhand and shows the worst side of one's nature. Remember, most of the forumers here are also mothers with young kids trying to get by. They are trying to scrimp and save to raise their families too. And that's the reason why they participate in BPs to save a few dollars. Otherwise, why would anyone want to take the risk of trusting strangers?

<font color="0000ff">Serenade</font>
I agree with wat u say! BPs is to buy things at cheaper price!

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">MrsTeo</font></font>
So many pple also talk abt the high price in BPs thread, why u pick on me only???????????
and, i only highlighted it out to mummies to inform them of a cheaper source, anything wrong????????
did i offended u in any way that u pick on me only??????????

In case someone here do not understand the meaning of BP:

Bulk Purchasing is when products are bought in large quantities. This often results in a lower price per item, or Unit price.

Lifted from wikipedia.

BP = buy in bulk = cheaper

just sharing my thoughts.

i agree w mikel, BP = buy in bulk = cheaper

my def of BP, take a example, if a bumbo seat is retailing at $80 & one is able to negotiate w e supplier to sell to him/her at $60 if can meet mqo 100 pcs. if he/she sells at $65, i will buy since i can't get tt price myself & i dun mind e person earns some $$ to cover e BP listing fee & time/effort put in. but if e person just gets directly fr supplier w/out negotiating for a gd price & add on a premium, like sell $85 to me, i won't buy, i might as well get it directly fr e supplier, no need to worry if e organiser will fulfil my order/run away w my money. if e BP price is e same as wat's offered on their website, i won't buy too cos i can get anytime, dun hv to commit myself in e BP.

Since the Forum Owner had disallowed certain spree and now BP organizer is using the loop holes by cut and paste from those Auction Website eg Taiwan, and marked up at least 50% and above.. This called BULK PURCHASE???

If classify under BUSINESS is a different issue....

1 of the mummy had email me tat she was a SAHM and thout BP can let her saves more but it happens to be in another way round.. she had no time to do the homework,she only can surf after her kids sleep so she put in trust tat BP = Cheaper..

What's said is already been said.

Serenade,
$25 per 7 days listing non-refundable = Business Listing

$25 per 7 days listing refundable = non-business listing

$25 per 7 days succesful BP = Business Listing?

I do agree with you for certain points. Esp those whom are buying and selling bags from Taiwan. These are uncalled for with the amount of mark-ups that they made. But to give them small salary for the HUGE effort that they give, is it humane enough? Are we big hearted enough to provide that. BP shouldn't be closed down. Rather, why not we have forum police?! Directly expose the original price of the item so that the buyers themselves can decide to go ahead with their purchase or not?!

AND... The internet police be the KIND SOUL to help the mothers BP for that item COST TO COST. Does it makes sense? Just for your information, being a singaporean myself, I know how cheap-skate I can get. But think... There are third party service providers businesses everywhere! For what purpose? Cos it's CONVENIENCE! Just pay for the service, and they get what they want! Isn't it supposed to be this way?!!! If you really want to calculate, look at those GAP and Old Navy sprees! They are also earning small profits doesn't they?! Just that they are being quiet over it!!!!

Bunnybluey,
I do agree with you. It's the right way to do.

Taiwan clothings and bags! No way!!!

Hope you all can give all mothers a lee-way. For those whom need this sort of convenience, and for those that need this sort of small allowances. And Stop calling for the BP thread to be closed! Be the internet police yourself and exposed those whom are making huge profits. And BE THE ORGANIZERS in place of them for those mothers whom you are worried that they might be conned. Both ways compromise. How's it?!!!

By the way,
Anyone of you had responded to the call of those mothers whom asked to be included if you happen to start a spree for those products? Afraid of the hard work you'll going to handle?

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/888559.html?1184769151

Just happened to come by this spree.

T/T commission set @ $2 per pc despite no. of pcs ordered.

T/T service charge plus overseas, my experience is $40 - $50. Say her spree has got 30 pcs, profits? And bulk purchases from overseas supplier, normally they will give discount apart from online pricing. It's profit earning already isn't it? And take note, she's not paying $25 for the listing. Why?

My whole point is. Why request for the whole BP thread to close down? Look at Zuo-er! Look at her pricing! She's genuinely helping people BP and she's asking for small returns only! Why can't you ladies give people like her a lee-way for some pocket money?!!!!

Organizing a BP take very huge efforts. It eats into the free time that these mummies have got. The time with their kids. Their time to rest. Their family time. I am very sure that they would love to have these luxury time to spend with as mentioned above. But no. They chose to hold BPs. Why? Cos their financial life isn't as rosy as many in this forums. Talking about holidays. Talking about LV neverfull bags as diaper bags. Talking about giving babies extra lessons to upgrade their little ones. It's the stress that society is giving to all of us. This is the only means that they can turn to in order to give their best to their little ones. And the willing parties are those whom really have more than enough for their lifestyle. I totally rest my case here. In life, you can't just view it in one angle! View it in dozens others. And you'll understand that those that unscrupously marked up the price are not to benefit themselves. Instead, they really could have some unsaid reasons!

Quoted By Mrs Teo
By the way,
Anyone of you had responded to the call of those mothers whom asked to be included if you happen to start a spree for those products? Afraid of the hard work you'll going to handle?

YES! I have... they r ordering thru my friend now..