Anyone TTC for a year?

I got the Jamu from the Jamu Centre at Jurong Point, 3rd level. Its the same row as Golden Village. But if you have some illness like G6PD, you cannot take the jamu.

I took 2 types...one is for 'healthy uterus' and the other for 'ovulation'. I took one dose in the morning for the first and one dose from another at night. Its called Bibit (Ovulation) and Rahim Sehat (Uterus Health), both from the brand P.T. Nyonya Meneer Indonesia. One box costs about $3 plus. Good luck.

Trying to conceive for 3 years until my prayers are answered.

I think if you want to try the jamu, you can also combine with the ovulation kit...at least you can now estimate when you ovulate.

Hi Mulberry,

I went for check up almost a year before I conceived and a year before that I tried IUI (intra uterine insemination) but was unsuccessful. Both times they scan my ovaries and said I have what looked like polycystic ovaries. I did a pap smear test before the IUI and it was normal.

I went for check up last Thursday and the obg confirmed I am pregnant when they did the scan

Hi Makeupfairy,
Congratulations! Looks like your prayers are finally answered. I am so happy for you. I pray my turn will come soon.
For medical checkups, do I do it alone or with my husband?

To Mulberry,

If you are doing check up to see if your uterus/ovaries are ok or not, you should also get your husband checked. Sometimes the sperm count can be very low and a lot of deformed ones. The doctor could also advise your husband how to improve his sperm quality.

I have not done any check up yet. Thought of doing one if I still cant conceive after 6 mth. Can anybody share how much is the check up?

Feel so sad that the pple ard me are all getting pregnant one by one. Mayb my time has not come yet.

Dear Makeupfairy and Mdm Rokiah,

I will definately consider your suggestions and discuss with my husband about a check up. Im really scared that something might be wrong with me.

Any good news from here?
I would like to recommend one book.
Can try to read. Heard the success rate is high.
"Taking charge of your fertility".

lily

Can you share a bit more about how Dr Roy helped you get pregnant? What did he advise? tks

noscon..there are several methods of artificial insemination (AI). SO-IUI is one popular method. u should see a gynae and they will test if u ovulate normally or not. if not, the gynae will prescribe med to make u ovulate. they will scan to track the progress of how large ur eggs have grown. then when the day comes for insemination, ur HB has to ejaculate and the lab will 'wash' the sperm to get only the strong marathon-running 'boys'. using a speculum to hold ur vagina open, the gynae will insert the sperm using a thin long catheter into ur uterus. dat means the sperm no need to swim thru the cervix. distance is cut shorter and chances for pregnancy may increase. i am thinking of IUI if still not successful by year end. lots of info in the internet if u google it. how long have u TTC if i may ask? i have been ttc for a year.

thanks happytots for your info.

would you know how much the whole procedure would cost? where do they have this procedure? tks

noscon....i thk it varies from clinic to clinic. i heard it ranges from $300 - 600 depending on what medicine one has to take to induce ovulation. a friend of mine has normal ovulation, but her husband has low count, so when they did IUI , she did not take any medicine i thk. hers was abt $350-400 per cycle. there's many hospitals/fertility clinics can do like KKH, thomson, gleneagles etc.

Hi all eager to-be moms.
I would like to share my experience too. I've been married for 3 years and trying very hard to have a baby. Last year I started to visit an old Chinese Physician at Tanglin Halt after a recommendation from my frd. He said my uterus is 'cold' and suggest i take some medication n after a period of 5 months, And BINGO! I'm pregnant..... Now I've a healthy boy and experiencing blissful motherhood. I know everybody's condition differs but I sincerely hope I could share/give valuable information to attain happiness for all who wanted a family out there....

hi doreen

congrats! can you elaborate on uterus is "cold"? what is that in western medicine terms?

hi..i think it's the balance between yin and yang. something like that lah. i don't think there is a western equivalent term. i am taking TCM too, and the doc told me same thing. with 'cold' uterus, i guess we should avoid taking too much cooling stuff like grass jelly (chin chau), sour stuff, food/fruits that are considered cold in Chinese 'culture'.

i am also in the same boat...been trying to conceive for a year now..no news yet...wats to make it worst is that..my menses is not and i mean NOT regular...i'm depending on hormone pills to help regulate menses..and the sad thing is also..if i fail to take the pill means there's no menses..
therefore i'm not ovulating...and doctor told me to lose weight too as i'm on the chubby side...
tried traditional massage too..i'm hoping this will help some how...as some of my frens and people i heard who managed to conceive with massages...but all in all it's God's will after all..we just need to strive hard for it...

Good luck to u all TTC-ers

rizrayza, u might want to consult ur gynae abt clomid. apparently to help the female ovulate if menses not regular or no ovulate.

Hi, i'm new to the forum. Been trying for 2 months & really hope to have a piggy baby. intend to start on folic acid. anyone can recommend a good brand? & what will be the recommended dosage?

halo all

ladies, a wonderful story to encourage all of us here.

Today, i received a wonderful news from my churchfren that she is pregnant naturally!!

She actually had Stage 4 endometrosis and PCOS and did laproscopy in yr 2000. Gynae mentioned to her before even after surgery, chances for her to get pregnant is very slim and need to go for IVF...
She got married in Dec 2005 and a yr later tested BFP 2 days ago in dec 2006! I really rejoice for her!
She never really expected to test BFP cos she always said hv baby will be an additional blessings from God, one of the pastor actually asked her on christmas day when is her turn..she replied, I really dont know cos it's God's timing for her.

She actually went China and so her bb is made from there,hee...

She encourage me alot not to be stress cos God will always bless when least unexpected and she is a very good example

She actually enjoy her marriage life and really not thinking of bb in her mind too hard..just enjoy the couple intimacy...baby is an additional bonus for them before she got pregnant, that's hger mentality.
Her story is really sooo comforting and give me lots of hope from God again, indeed his timing is the BEST!!

So ladies, let us receive the blessing when least unexpected!
Blessed new yr in 2007, a new hope!

Dear happygerl...
feel so happy for ur fren..anyway pls congratulate her for me..i juz feel very happy when i hears someone or friends that manage to conceive...
As for me, I just had an appt with my gynae Dr Roland Chieng from SGH.I knew that it's not so good news for me as I know that I've ballooned up to 75kg standing at only 1.5m is very overweight..he said this makes it more difficult to conceive.Currently he make me continue on my 2tabs of metformin 3times a day, 1 tab of folic acid in the morning and Clomiphene citrate for 5days..i'm praying hard that it works this time with the help of the medications and massage. Failing to ovulate meaning that next appt he will make me go for the injections to induce ovulation..heard it's quite expensive..costing bout $3 to $4K!! haiya...dunno why it's so difficult for me...then he requires my hubby to do the sperm analysis..
and that is problem no.2 for me...
my hubby was unhappy thinking that i dragged him to this matter...as he is very very fit man..so he tot why he needs to go thru all this when actually i am the one who is the problem source.. :_(
i know u all will say don't be stressed up as this won't help but it's a feeling juz so natural...
i am trying to lose weight now..Dr was saying no RICE NO BREAD NO CARBO food for me..only soupy stuffs..and exercise more..
i feel that i'm not getting the support from my hubby..all he noes is he juz wanna a baby...

*by the way does anyone knows if we are seeing for this gynae for fertility issue, will he follow thru as our gynae if we do get pregnant
( i hope!)

depressed soul....

Hey all, i been ttc for more than 1 year but no news. Just seen TCM yday, sinseh also say my uterus is 'cold', gave me some medicine to take.

Dear everyone,

Hi, I'm new here. Just wan to voice out n hopefully, de-stress here.

Me married for 2 years and TTCing for a year liao and sigh, no good news.. Age also not young anymore..

Not only did I receive stress from work, but also constant nagging from MIL n Mum to have baby. To make my life more miserable, Friends n colleagues didn't spare me with the questions too. Feeling so demoralised! Why so difficult to conceive. Really envy those who dun have to try hard to conceive.

Wonder why these pple can't give me a break n give up asking after all the times my replies to them is "No good news". I also feel embarrass that my answer is always the same... Also realize MIL n friends keep poping the question at me but problem didn't lies with me! I went for Medical check up n gynae say no problem at all. Most of the time, it's hubby who didn't wan to BD on O-day. Either too tired or no mood.

Will be trying out another Gynae for second opinion.

Thanks for all your time reading my long winded complaint...

Hi Autumn

If u nvr BD on yr O-day or fertile period... no matter how many gynae u see also no use... unless u r able to BD on yr fertile period for at least 3 cycles, and still no news then go for another check-up lor... have yr hubby gone for sperm test anyway?

Have u talk to yr hubby abt TTC, is he interested in having bb? if he always tired or no mood during fertile period... could it be he dun wanna have bb...

As from those nagging... why dun u juz tell yr friends and colleagues that u r NOT TRYING... then they will stop asking... That's y, even I'm trying now, I also nvr tell pple... not even my closer friends coz i scare they keep asking me... for mi, I already have known fertility problems... so hard for mi to get preggy... so if pple keep asking... i will juz tell them i difficult to get preggy... ;p

as for MIL and Mum... think u have to talk to them to let them that they are stressing u lor...

Hi Yuki,

Yes. Indeed we alway try to make an effort to BD on fertile period or near O day. I even use fertitiy strips to test my fertility n monitor my CM too. The thing is not everytime hubby will want to try BD near O day unless it happens falls on weekend. If falls on weekday, he will be too tired. Consider me trying more than 8 cycles also no good news. Hubby also want baby but think he not as kancheong as me. Cos he take it easy. Of course lah, people always target the question at me and not him. So he dun feel the stress.

Also, hubby ego too strong. He confident his sperm have no problem. That's y we told pple we trying cos thot few cycle can get it. hahaha! Too late to tell friends or colleagues we not trying. Most of the time, I told them we take it easy, if it's yours, destine it will be yours.

Some of them will say "you not young anymore, cannot take it easy, Biological clock is ticking."

Hi, I'm new to this thread....

I have been to TCM for 3 months or so already... 1st 2 months there, my TCM gave me some pills to so called regulate my menses cycle as well as clear the clogged blood around my womb.

For the 2 cycles, i have been on a 24 days cycle...I thought the cycle would be regular as the 3rd cycle, i started TTC'ing as my TCM gave me pills to get me conceive easily.... In the end, the cycle din get regular and dragged for so long till 36 days cycle which initially i thought that i have missed my AF.

And with all the symptons that I suspected pregnant. But now in the end, my AF came. I got so disappointed.

I dunno whether izzit becos that the medicine that my TCM gave is not effective or what leh ... When I first knew that my Ovulation day is on the 21st day instead of what my TCM predicted, which is 12th day.... I felt 'gosh, i tot it's on the 12 th day ... Now another time of ovulation on the 21st day again?' And I thought couldnt be 2 ovulation days one mah...
When i realise my mucus was tranparant like egg-white and sticky, then i thought about it. haiz... my ovulation is on the 21st day. Of cos, on that day that i realise it, the few days before i din have any with my hubby... till the 21st and 22nd day, we had it....and waited until the 37th day that my AF came. And there were even symptons i thought i was pregnant.

Now I'm not sure whether should i continue to see my current TCM or what should i do? It seems like not easy to get preggy leh ...

Dear Rizrayza & Autumn_tan, I do understand both of your feeling. I am not joking. As a husband, I try to be very understanding when my wife and I are trying for baby. I like kids alot and that is why I have tried to get my wife to try since a year ago. We are seeing doctor now as my wife is have irregular menses. I feel that making baby are both responsible. I tried to get advise on my body health status even though my doctor said that curing my wife's problem is the most feasible option. Personally, I feel that I also need to be fair to my wife too. So I want to go for SA. Anyone can recommend where to perform this test and what is the fee like? Tell your husband to understand your feeling. I find it very sad and hurtful too when I see my wife cried when we have tried but see menses the following month.

hi eager2bfather, the SA test cost about $40+. u can go to your gynae and get referral to have the test done. My TCM gynae refer my hubby to do the test at TCM hospital after we fail to conceive for a few cycles

hi yun, you can just get a referral letter from polyclinic to refer to KKH and see the fertility specialist from there and there will be a series of tests run on you and your hubby including the sperm tests. not sure if you read the previous posts but i did post in here about my ttc for 1.5yr journey. i went to kkh to do some check and was diagnosed with blocked fallopian tubes. had an op done and am now blessed with a 18mth old boy.

hi missy,

thanks for the info and happy for you too.

by the way, will the poly doc do check up on you first or just refer you to others ?
and how much is the cost to see fertility specialist ?
so sorry for too many question cos iam not a local..so a bit blur lar

I ttc for almost a year, when I heard from my colleague who talk about different position after 's' as suggested by doc when she found out that she has invereted womb. I tried lying flat on my stomach after 's'. and got pregnant. But MC. 2 months after my MC, I pregnant again doing the same position. now already 3 months preg.

Hope you all could explore different position, as womb shape is different for all of us.
I hope it helps.

hopefully

did u tilt your butt up when you lie on your stomach or completely flat on the bed?

Hi can any one help in letting me know more abt taking folic acid tabs during TTC period?? i read from the net that taking folic acids 3 months prior to getting pregnant is good to nullify the neural birth defects. it also says that the recommended dose is 400 mcg or 0.4 mg per day... but the pharmacies sell only 5 mg tablets... the pharmacist said that even though the net says 400 mcg, its ok to take 5 mg ( which is more than 10 times the recommended dose). so dnt know what to do... any one out there who had taken folic acid in the pre pregnancy state pls help me....

Vava,

It's best to take folic acid. Think oso for baby brain or something like dat. And taking more foic acid is ok, cos if body have enuf, it will be pass out via urine. So, no worries. It's juz a kind of supplement. Shld take everyday.

Guys oso can take.

I have been trying as well for the past half year. My cycles have been regular and I do not know why it seemed so tough to conceive.
does the ovu-kit help?

I Had given birth to a baby boy three years ago.
Count it lucky ot what, i was pregnant after one month of TTC. Now after three years, i have been TTC for 5 months and still no results. Anyone encounter this problem before.