Anyone TTC for a year?

minx

I've been TTC for a year already but still no good news yet. Any gals out there in the same situation? Shall we share our experience eg, methods, gynae etc and encouragement here?

I've been TTC for 6 months, feel so disappointed everytime my menses come. =(

Wonder how long the average couple takes..

I've just started taking supplements like Vitamin B6, Vitamin B12, Zinc, Selenium, Vitamin C (Not too high dose, as it can dry cervical mucus), Vitamin E. I've also been charting my BBT, cervical mucus and position to better pinpoint ovulation day.

I'm crossing my fingers and praying hard that this time it will be successful! all the best to the TTC-ers out there!

Hi hi, me too. Have been trying for a year. Recently, started taking temperature and taking folic acid pills....still no luck too.

Hi meixue and su-an,

Really glad to hear reply from you both? Is your menses regular?

I'm going to see a gynae regarding TTC soon. The appointment is next week. However, I feel quite uncomfortable about it but no choice as ppl and papers always said After 1 Year of TTC and unsuccessful, it's time to see a gynae.

Meixue,
wow, you are taking so many kinds of supplements.. good good.. is it prescribe by GP? Also, is your hubby taking any medication?

Su-An,

I also started taking folic acid one year ago, but since been trying for so long, i also lazy to take folic acid everyday ;p. I took EPO also.

Hi Minx,
What is EPO? Keen to know.... does it help one to conceive? Which gynae are you going to see? I thought of changing mine. She seems too young....

EPO = Evening Primrose Oil... suppose to regulate menses.And some say it helps to clear ur skin and keep it looking great. EPO is a great supplement for women.

BTW: I am not TTCing yet...will prob start end this yr.. came in here to see what kind of advise u girls are giving out. Maybe can start preparing now. Hope u all dun mind me contributing in here.

Ya i was told by allmy friends to start taking Folic acid even when i am not TTCing now.. i have tons with me.. almost 100 tablets ... but not a single tablet consumed.. i am the lazy kind.. so lazy until i can take like just 1 EPO tablet every 3 weeks.. hehe.

BTW: anyone know how many mths before TTCing should one start taking Folic Acid. What happen if u only start taking folic acid like for 1 week and u get pregnant.. will the folic acid be effective then? any one has any answer for this?

one of my friend ask me to go do a cervical scan with a gynae before TTCing to check if all is ok. To check for lumps.. or any abnormalities etc. Is this necessary??

Hi Su-Ann,

Some ppl say EPO helps during the ovulation to ovulate better so the chances to conceive is higher. However like what starfruit mention it is a great supplement for woman. That's why i am taking it. hee hee

I was with Dr Heng from Eastshore when I did my ultrascan and pap smear last year. Everything is clear and she wanted me to keep trying. But this time, I am going to see Dr Loh from KKH as she is the expert in the reproductive dept.

Can I know who is your gynae?

Hi starfruit,

Folic acid is to be taken 3 month before you decide to TTC. However, many ppl did not take folic acid until they realise that they are preggie. Folic acid is to reduce defects for the bb.

I did went for a scan after 6 months of TTC. I mean it is good to go for a scan to make sure everything is ok.

i've been ttc for 15 months ever since my miscarriage in Aug 03. Nearly gave up hope but end up went to see a gynae for a thorough check. everything turns out fine, i'm ovulating, my eggs are good, hubby's SA are ok too. anyway, i have another appt with KKH in 2 months time to check my tubes. meantime, just have to keep trying until i strike. i'm also trying TCM, been to Thong Chai Medical a couple of times, seems like they have a good reputation of helping couples conceived with chinese herbs.

I tried for 15 mths b4 i could finally conceived. I went to see a specialist after less than 6 mths of trying as I thought something muz be wrong since I was trying hard. They fouund a fibroid and advised me to remove though they said it was not the cause of my infertility. I removed it eventually and during the laporoscopy surgey, found my problem was endometriosis. So my doctor removed as much as he could. 1 mth after the surgery, I conceived!

I started TTC-ing in Aug 2003. Thot it wld be easy for me as my menses were a regular 28 days monthly. Then it went haywire when i started TTC-ing. Then in Feb 2005, thot I was pregnant after missing my period for a week. It came after 35 days. I was so disappointed. Cried the whole day and then made appt to see a gynae in Mar to do a thorough check-up.

Spent quite a bit of $$. Found out overall hubby & I were okie. It just didn't happen! It was physically & emotionally straining. I went thru HSG (check blockage of tubes) and one round of IUI. Nothing happened and I gave up. Even went on holidays to relax.

I was envious when people announced their pregnancies. I cldn't tolerate it happening to others but not myself though I was always happy for them. Had to talk myself out of my sadness & self-pity.

A non-believer of Chinese Medicine, I was talked into going to c a physician. Had to take the awful herbs to heighten hormonal levels . I took 6 rounds of it and nothing happened. Stopped going also.

Then I decided to take folic acid. Took for 2 months. Last friday, I decided to do a pregnancy test aft missing my period for 10 days. It came out positive. It really stunned me.

So I believe we all will get pregnant at the right time. As long as all our tests turn out okie, we gals have a good chance of becoming mothers one day.

I went through a lot and I understand the feeling of those really trying. Take this as an encouragement
It will happen some day

i tried for more than 1 yr b4 i conceived. it took me almost a yr b4 i knew what was wrong with me.

my suggestion is, if u have been frequently trying, say once every 2 days during your fertile period(try charting so that u know when u have ovulated), perhaps u should see a gynae for checkup if u dun wish to waste your time.

i saw one in less than 6 mhts time of trying coz i thought something muz be wrong since i had been actively trying.

i went to a govt hosp thro polyclinic recommendation-cheaper. u dun do all the tests in 1 short. u come back to do the different test(blood test, hsg test, clomid taking, scan for cyst, fibroids) once every 2 or 3 mths.

My tests shown that I have a fibriod which the doctors think is not an issue due to infertility since its not blocking the passageway. But I was advised to remove it since its big.

I went to seek 2nd opinions and had it removed in a private hosp. At least this doctor could tell me that during the surgery, he could at the same time checked my uterus, tubes, etc for any prob not detected under the scan.

I was kinda shocked to learn that I have endotrimesis(this is somethin not ever mentioned to me by any doctors whom i have seen), which was the cause of my infertility. My doctor took the chance to remove the blood clots while removing my fibriod. I conceived within 1 mth of trying.

Endotrimesis is a disease that cannot be detected by ultrasound and not mentioned by most doctors. It can only be found when the doctor perform a key-hole surgery to check for problems. Try doing some research on this to check whethe u could have the symptones. But no symptones doesn't mean u may not have it. Some people have unexplained infertility but I suppose if they are advised to do a key hole surgery, they may be able to detect peoblems not found under any scan. just my 2 cents worth.

i also have been trying for about 7 months .. and no news.. so demoralising .. everytime u see menses, u felt disappointed. My husband and I are contemplating to go do a check up and see if theres anything wrong with us. Recently, Im on folic acid for about 2 weeks and I just got my menses 2 days ago. So sad.
need your advice. do we go to a general practioner or go straight to specialist?
How much does it cost to see the specialist?
Hope we all can be mothers soon !
Do not give up ladies ...

I'm oso been trying for 6 months. I agreed with jajabings that it really demoralising whenever i see menses. I've went for blood test, pap smear & pelvic scan. Everything seems normal.....

Just wandering does anymore out there always have light brown discharge?? This month i have light brown discharge on my 14 days and slight bleeding too. I was really scared. Went to see a GP... she said is common when we o ... dun noe how true..

Any good specialist to recommend (",)

Dun give up !!! Gan Battle !

Does anyone has the link to the website where they will teach us on charting and how to test the fertile period ? I would like to do some self help first.. If really still no news, then will go see doc. Told my husband to try for another 2 months and we see how.

jajabings,
Have you tried using the ovulation kit ? It is able to pinpoint the exact day when the ovulation will begin, I think it is more accurate than charting. It worked wonders for me for 2 pregnancies.

okie .. i will try both .. for that ovulation kit .. its available at pharmacy right ?
will go get it later on .. !!!!! *wink*

Hi Jajabings
I agree that you shld try using the ovu kit. I used Clearplan's ovulation monitor instead of the kit. Got preg after 2-3 cycles. My colleague who tried it after TTCing striked on the first use. Hope it helps. All the best.

bot the kit yesterday and was reading like mad on the instructions.. the thing is my cycle is so irregular.. the instruction say i should look at the past 6 months of my cycle .. it ranges from 28, 30, 32 and 40 !!! so i heed the advice and go for the shortest cycle date... what u gals think ?

Jaslyn
The monitor is $300+, if I rem correctly. Sticks are $80 for a pack of 20. It's quite easy to use. Just take urine, turn on the monitor and insert the stick in and wait for results.

jajabings,
Yes, you shld start testing based on the shortest cycle to avoid missing the day just in case your cycle is short. If the cycle is long, then, need to buy another pack of testkits. My colleague who just got preg even got her O day on day 10.

Kissie,
wow ... very expensive lei. think ovulation kit is cheaper. I have irregular cycle too .. range 28 - 31 days. Tat means i need to test on Day 10 or Day 14? Tonight will go Watson shoppin... (^^)

We have been trying for 12mths, on the 2nd mth, being too impatient.. i went to gyne wanna check if i am fine. I knew i had a cyst 1yr before trying but gyne told me it is too small to cause any alarm (abt 2x3cm or slightly bigger only).

Gyne (3rd gyne) advise was to remove the cyst even though it is small coz he suspect that i may be suffering from endometrisis.. so i did a laproscopy.. and while removing the cyst, he found a fibrod, which he also removed. he checked my tubes and everything is fine, no blockage.. told me my uterus is a bit tuted.. remove all the tissues caused by the endo.. then told me to start trying..

So its 8mths of trying for me liaoz.. still nothing.. then i suspect maybe my hubby got problem.. coz it seems to me that his soldiers are always hiding somewhere or are lazy to work.. hahaha.. he also went to check but everythig is oki.. nothing seems amiss..

finally recently.. we found out why is his soldiers always in MIA mode.. coz they are not satisfied with the "salary".. :p hahaha.. we started exploring different style and "pay package".. his soldiers are finally working.. so hopefully.. i will have gd news to share with u gers..

Conclusion, somtimes its not always the gers who may be the cause of not conceiving.. husband plays a part.. so mst review hubby's soldiers performance also..

Also, besides the charting, using the test kit for "O", maybe if ur mensus is regular.. can check the mulcus also...

Wish all of us.. best of luck !!

y dun u gals invest in a themometer and do the charting...it saves alot. i tried ovu kit which didn't work for me. at least with charting, u know when to "take a break" and wun tired yourself out.

im going to start my testing next monday ... from the ovulation kit .. keeping fingers cross..

toto,
I agree with you .. sometimes its not the woman but the man's soldiers got problems .. my husband also commented on tt .. but again, i just want to rule out possibility.. if using this kit also no news, we will proceed to see doc .. i told him, give ourselves 2 months to try using the kit, then hopefully succeed and if not, will go see doc lor...

krissie,
thanks for your advice too.. lets all pray hard that we will realise our bb dream one day !!!

cheers !

try buying online. They're cheaper online and very effective. Spore's OPK & HPT are so expensive. I got my HPT for just abt $1.30 (including shipping) per pc. Singapore's selling at abt $10 per test leh. Not only that, the test kit is more sensitive.

hi gals ..

getting abit worried now .. have been using the kits since sunday and till now, still havent had my ovulation ... finish one box of test kit and now gg on to my second box .. how ar ??
I got irregular menses and have been testing for so mnay days .. maybe u gals can share with me on this ?? Rather frustrated and demoralising too . remins me of the time im testing for preggie .. also heart drop kind .. can anybody gives advice if they encounter the same situation .. pls share .. thanks !!!

jajabings,
On which day from the start of menses did you begin testing ? How long is your longest/shortest cycle ?

It's either you have missed your ovulation, or your cycle is very long this time.

got the dark line this monday .. then only do it for that nite .. husband not free .. guess the chances are slim

i posted previously on this thread & i'm now 6 weeks pregnant. i was discovered to have left block tube during my fertility checkup in kkh. my gynae unblocked my tube & check my womb during a laproscopy & i got pregnant 2 months after my op. my advice for those of u who have been ttc for quite some time, pls see a gynae for a checkup, there might be some underlying problem which is hindering your ability to conceive. good luck to all!

hi missy, congrats....

Can i know what are the procedures for fertility checkup in KKH and what are the charges like.
Has been ttc for abt 6 months already. Will like to go for fertility checkup oso. Pls adv. Thanks

hi jaslyn, u can go to any polyclinic to get a referral letter to see the gynae at the subfertility clinic in kkh. with that u can get subsided rate when u see the gynae at kkh, remembered only from polyclinic, not from GP. the gynae at kkh will advise u accordingly, usually they will do a sperm analysis for the husband & blood tests for the wife. blood test include checking the progesterone level & also to check if u are ovulating or not. if blood test & sperm analysis shows no abnormality, then u do an u/s pelvis to check your uterus & ovaries. if still nothing, gynae might do a HSG to check the tubes.

Hi missy

ive been trying ttc oso for half yr, both me & my hubby been guessing whose fault is it. everytime my menses cm,feel like its a "wasted" effort.
we been discussing we tried for another half more yr, then we consult a gyne.
pls advised, im really comfused.

hi ger11,

6 months is not a very long time actually. i ttc for about 15 months before i seek opinion from gynae. do u & hubby BD on your fertile days? maybe u can start from BBT 1st to monitor your ovulation day? that's what i did, i thought we didn't BD on my fertile days, so i did BBT to find out my ovulation day & we BD during my fertile period but still no results, that's when we decided to seek help.

So how is everyone TTC-ing here? Any good news?
I am TTC-ing for 7 months. still not preggie, very depressing leh...

i have been trying to conceive for a few years (married for 8 years now). finally got preggie last august but last it on 7th weeks. got preggie again this feb and gave birth successfully to a baby girl in oct. 6. not an easy pregnancy though. a lot of complications.

can recommend u to my gynae Dr. Roy Ng from Mt. Elizabeth. he help my got pregnant both times. before i went to him, i saw a lot of chinese doctors, went for SOIUI (something like IVF), spent tones of money but no result. Dr. Ng is very detailed about helping couples TTC. Try him. Call to make appt with him. he has 2 clinics call either 1 which is convenient. you can tell his assistant "fong ying" his patient lily chong recommended.

tel: 68874264 (Mt E. clinic) or 63529388 (toa payoh clinic)

Just discovered this forum. I've been feeling depressed lately. Been trying for a BB for about 5 months now and still no hope. Each passing month had been a disappointment. *Sigh*
What can I do to successfully conceive a child? I'm beginning to think I can never have babies! :<

Greetings to All

I'm new here and I would like to share my experience . I've been married for 3 years and trying very hard to have a baby. Tried for one year and no results so we went to CARE clinic for some assistance in using artificial insemination...1 try cost about $2K plus and we decided not to proceed the 2nd time as it is costly and results not guaranteed. We don't want to be broke by the time we eventually have a baby.

One year later, I was cleaning up and found 3 leftover clomid pills and I took them during my 1 -3 days of period. I think I conceived but it was a chemical pregnancy. There was a very faint line on the test stick after some time and it got even fainter on the next test a few days later. When I did a blood test at KK, the doctor told me that my HCG was extremely low and technically to them I'm not pregnant so I was sad. She predicted that I will have my period in 2 weeks time and I did. I tried to get Clomid from her but I was pushed around and given a lot of excuses for 1 year. She gave my weight as an excuse even though I'm not fat. I weighed 64.7 kg and I'm 1.58 m tall so its about an OK weight for me at the time and she told me to loose to 60 kg. She said Clomid worked better if I'm not overweight. I tried very hard to loose without starving myself. When I did get the ideal weight she told me another excuse, she said my period irregular, must increase metabolism some more to make my hormone stabilize. If my period is regular and my hormone is good, I would be ovulating normally, I wouldn't need her help would I? The scan during the first visit showed that I have polycystic ovaries. I was so looking forward to that last visit to try out Clomid but was so disappointed. I was so depressed and tried hard not to cry my eyes out on the way back home. I told myself that I won't see her again.

On the way, I dropped by an Indonesian Jamu store called Jamu Centre at Jurong Point. She asked me what I was looking for and recommended some stuff. I bought 2 boxes of Jamu (herbs). One for improving the health of the uterus and another to promote ovulation.

After taking the herbs, my period came about only 1 week late from the previous month. Compared to weeks or months of irregularities earlier.

2 months later, I got a very clear positive on 2 HPT (Clearblue and Guardians) less than 1 minute after taking the test. And best of all the herbs cost $3 plus per box. Compared to what I've been paying for the consultations and trials in the past, its a good alternative.

I know its still an early pregnancy and anything can happen but I prayed to God that we will have this baby.

I hope this will be an inspiration for all those trying to have a baby

Hi Mulberry,

I felt what you are feeling before. The uncertainty of whether you conceived month after month is draining. I took it hard upon myself whenever I got a negative result. Then I learnt to just stop stressing and opened myself to other options. There are other alternatives besides taking drugs that doctors prescribed. Like trying out Chinese herbs of Indonesian Jamu.

Good luck to you

Hi Mrs Da Silva,

Can you share with me where you got the Jamu from?

After reading all the posting on this thread, I have "My Action Plan".It's either to get the O kit or try the Jamu.

I must be the longest TTCer among all of you. For almost 1 yr plus liao.