Anyone share experience for Lymph Nodes

afcai

Anyone share experience for Lymph Nodes??every one has 6 pts of lymph nodes.

I have told doc that there is a small 'lump' at my bb left neck since 4-5 mth ago. the doc said that 'lump' is called Lymph Node. usually, this node will grow up to a certain size when there is virus attack within the body and it helps to fight against the virus that why it grew. after the virus disappered, the node will become small or disapper. so my bb was given 5 days antibiotics (but after doc sec review, her antibiotic has been extended to 5 more days with extra dose). Next week, will be gg to take her for doc review again, hope the lump will go away....and nothing wrong...or else she will need to do blood test and might be refering to specialist.

Have any mummies hear/encountered this node thing(small lump on the neck) issue?

Is just a sign of virus/bacteria infection.Even a adult can hv this.Flu cold can cause this too.once there is no more infection the lymph node will disappear.
however if there is nothing wrong(not sick look well) with the person and the lymph node ENLARGE even course of antibiotic...probably is indicate serious medical condition.
Dr will take blood test and do biopsy.

Dun worry,is very common to hv enlarge lymph nodes when sick.of course the size will shrink to normal when recovered.

hi smurf28,
thks for the reply. yup, doc did mention her body coudl be fighting for some infection. but my gar dun look sick and not sick during her 9mth but node still can be felt. she is somemore on ebm.

An updates:
We have decided to bring my gar to the PD at CCK kidlink (third option) for her lymah node. We just walk in without any appointment bec even I called in 1 week in advance to book the appointment, it was full. so we reached there at 1210hr hoping to be the last patient before the clinic closed. this was my first time bring my gar to see a PD. we were the last 3 patients. wow, the doctor charges the consultant fees by timing. eg less than 10 mins = $40-$60. if more than 10 mins but less than (forgotten liao) will be $50- $100. still got prescribe fees of $10 on top of that.

The PD at kidlink checked the lymph node. He checked all the lymah nodes (neck,armpit and groin area) in her body. PD mentioned that the lymah node on her right side is very tiny (so dun worry) but it is 'unique' that her left side has double lymah node- meaning that on my usual 1cm node, there is another very small size node beside it. for her case, he advised us to monitor for another 3 mth to see if the size increase or not (size matter but not it did not matter if lymph node can be felt or not....it is the size....only but for my case, the node is rather small only 1cm) and also asked us if she encountered with any ppl in the house for chronic illness (coughing) or any pet. we told him there isn't except during cny, my gar only did encounter with my sil's chihuahua only during cny time but at that time, she already had lymph node (can felt type) during her 9 or 10 mth time. PD also said that some children lymph node is like that, it can be a lifetime case and there is no life threatening case. he gave 2 suggestion whether my parents wanted me to go for blood test and chest xray or just remove the lymph node for study. but afterall, he adviced was to monitor for another 3 mth as my case is not that serious cos her node is small. even the blood test and chest xray were not 100% accurate in the testing and nothing might not be found. of cos, by removing the node will be more accurate case as testing can be done to see if the node is beige or not. we did ask the side effect for the removal of the node. the doc said no life threatening and also removing one node no different cos our body got tones of lymph node.of cos, we disagree to remove the node from the neck.

my col also have this case, he also refered to a specialist at TSS. the specialist also gave him 2 choice either go for surgery or monitor. he said siao anyhow, remove the node (no pain nothing) what if it turned out to be nothing then later got side effect how. so he chose to monitor.

Another Mummy removed her lymph node at her armpit as she felt uncomfortable and doctor advise her to remove as she scared it might be breast cancer type.

Just to recall the comment made by polyclinic doc (2 different doc) and KKH A& E doc.

KKH A & E doc - on 30/3, we took me to KKH A&E (as suggested by my mum bec my gar Lao Sai and no appetite etc. At that time, she had recovered from fever and vomiting for 3 days liao) and then 'shun bian' ask the doc abt the lymph node issue. KKH doc mentioned that all children has lymph nodes, it will go away and come again when there is infection and vice versa. so he told us not to worry for my case as my node is only 1cm. size is matter unless it is 2cm.

as for polyclinic doc (see doc on 17/3), they mentioned it is 1.5cm for my gar's lymph node. she was given 5 days of antibiotic(yellow liquid). then the next doc review (see doc on 27/3) again, she was extended to another 5 days with double dose (2 x2.5ml thrice a day). in total, she only completed the 9 days out of 10 days course of antibiotic bec on the 10th, she vomitted, lao sai, fever and a bit runny nose (few days ago already runny nose but was on runny nose medicine liao). so she had stopped taking the anitiobiotic on the last day of the course. doc said, if the antibiotic work, then it will work on the first dose. so the doc just told us to focus esp on her fever first etc instead of the node. node now will be not accurate as she was sick then. so she will be given another doc review again on 25/4 (think won't be gg to polyclinic as we had brought her to PD). another doc said, if antibiotic did not have any effect then she will have to go for blood test or refer to specialist.

Comment from Papa: dun even want to take her to PD and say her node seems to be smaller. but I still insist to bring me to PD.

Comment from my mum: Just leave it lah, when she grew up, node will go off.

Comment from my Col (last time): Get a 2nd advice from PD since polyclinic doc and KKH doc did seem to do anything.
my col herself also go for a minor surgey, just a small cut on her neck area (her neck swollen) and doc scrapped out tissue for testing. then doc placed plastic on her neck only and wound heal few days later.

Pondering if you were me, what would u do? Am scratching her head for an answer??

hi afcai,

Wait for another 3 months to monitor the lymph nodes.My chief consultant fr TTSH also gave the same advise as ur PD.

At this time now if u want VERY SURE to find out wat is actually in lymph node is to do biopsy test(which mean small cut on her neck and doc scrapped out tissue OR remove the node then send it for lab test) .

But there is no urgent to do this now.JUST monitor closely and follow up with DR.Usually blood test itself(in this kind of suitation) is to check whether there is bacteria or viral infection that cause enlarge lymph node.Or is there any abnormal findings in blood test which may indicate serious medical conditions.Dr will do biopsy to confirm the findings.

If u still worry u can always seek another professonal advise.Understand how you feel as a mum.

smurf28,
true...that's why my col also refuse to remove when the specialist gave him 2 choices - remove or monitor. ai-yo, no pain or not so big size but just some feeling of so uneasiness only. so I just need to monitor loh.

hmm...err u consult TTSH also or are u a nurse?

oic...that test is so biopsy test. no wonder, my another col told me it's just a small cut cos she herself did it when her neck is swollen. but it turn out to be nothing, the doc only told her that she is over stressed.

yup, PD also said blood test not so much finding, he advised us to monitor.

thks for the advice. will monitor the nod. it has been there since my gar is 9-10mth liao. almost half a yr liao.

hehe both.i also a staff nurse and got this few years back.i was given 1 or 2 doses of antibiotic and follow up in 1 mth , 3 mth and 1 yr to monitor the size of lymph node.My DR also gave me option to remove but there was NO evident(for my case)that indicate any serious medical condition so he wasnt encourage me to do biospy.

Fyi:patient with serious medical problem usually hv increase no of lymph nodes or increase in size.

Dun worry too much.just monitor ur bb and follow up with PD closely.

Hi smurf28,
oic...so bingo, I guess correctly...
. thks for the advice and appreciated. my another col told me to go for chinese sinseh lah...err...he himself also had this problem so the chinese sinseh gave him some medicine to drink. the sinseh even told him the node is the cause of heaty in his body...err...duno how true.

like me, last mth, I went to doc for my prolonged menses and low BP. menses came non-stop for 3 weeks and those menses (usually, came 5-7 days then follow by spotting for the past 3 mth) are like blood cot type...so scary. polyclinic just refer me to hospital. wow piang, then need to wait for 1 mth can see gyn at KKH. last mth, when my gar was sick and I think I overwork (lack of slp), my spotting become heavier till scary can see pull out those blood cot thing....so my mum suggested I go A&E NUH (nearer to my hse). then doc injected me with homegene jab loh. haa I even told the NUH doc that I went to chinese physican - ma kuang for my low bp. the chinese physican told me that my heart not enu blood to pump, that's why sometimes I got chest tight etc. haa I even told the NUH doc what phyician said and he said no scientific prove etc...dun believe in chinese physican....dun believe in chinese physican.

now this mth ok, less spotting liao. my result shows there is no problem with my pap smear and blood test. Gyn told me it might be my homegene is readjusting cos I bf for 1 yr 1 week (wean off in mid dec 07).thks god.so I will still need to follow up again in 2 mth time.

My girl now of 26 mths also have several lymph nodes at behind the ear and neck when she was a baby. But according to PD as long as it doesn't grow in size (think is 2cm) then you can just leave it.

One more thing is also due to her skull been compressed thats why she has bad lymphatic circulation thus may also result the swelling of lymph nodes. After going for craniosacral therapy, her lymph nodes seems to have grew smaller but is still there. Think as long it doesn't grow in size and the child is happy, it should not be a problem. She went for the therapy not because of the lymph nodes but because she didn't gain much weight and height, and had a poor appetite.

My personal opinion is that is no good to take so much antibiotics for a child, it will weaken her immune system as it will destroys all her good antibodies. When my girl is sick, i will bring her to see TCM (Eu Yan San Clinic) instead of PD. Western medicine is weakening to the body thus i prefer chinese medicine.

Of course we stil have to monitor if there is any grow in size.

Hi taurus033,
thks for sharing. in fact, PD mentioned that our body contain a lot of lymph nodes but wondering why some can be felt but some cannot. the kkh doc mentioned that bec kids dun have muscles that's why the node can be felt.

what is craniosacral therapy (first time heard this) consist of?? how long does it last? is that what craniosacral therapy for?

true, my gar is ok and happy, still active etc. when she was a infant (at 9mth or 10 mth) the lymph node can be felt at her right neck. she was still consuming ebm too and did not fall sick before since infant till then.

agree that on the antibiotics issue, even when I am sick, doc give me antibiotics for throat infection but I never consume one. if one kept on replied on antibiotics, later the immune system will kept relying and dun build and fight on its own.

but mentioning abt chinese medicine, the effect of the medicine will be slower than western medicine loh. it will need some times to take effect.

yup, that's why PS told us to monitor for another 3 mth.

Hi afcai,

Yes the link you found is an explanation for craniosacral therapy. Actually some of babies' problem can be solved by craniosacral therapy. But this is uncommon in Singapore which is rather common in UK, Australia, US...

You can read more from this link which i found http://www.craniosacral.co.uk/cstchildren.html and http://www.craniosacral.co.uk/ . The therapy session is what the web have mentioned and it lasts half an hr. You have to go thru several sessions in order to solve the problem.

Yes chinese medicine takes time to take effect but is better for the body. For me i feel comfortable with chinese medicine.

Hi taurus033,
thks for sharing the infor. oh, I learnt something new. oh, this craniosacral therapy can even treat colic. my gar is a colic bb ever since she intro bottle when she was 3.5mth old.

u mentioned that yr gar went for this craniosacral therapy right. but can she sit still and not to move ard?

afcai,

When she was 1+yr old, she hated the therapy. i have to press her down but she would still struggle and was also wailing away. During that time it was difficult to treat her in the half hr session as she was moving too much. But few months later she behaved better, didn't struggle but i need to let her play with my hp to distract her.

From what i know the therapist dun accept all patients as he lives in Hong Kong and only comes back once a month. He would need to know ur child's condition first. My girl's conditon was quite serious as she was not growing well.

How old is ur child now? Normally they will stop having colic when they grow older. My girl was also a colic baby, but she stopped having it when she was 7 months.

Hi taurus033,
Thanks for sharing. my gar is now 17.5mth liao. she is a colicky bb when she is 4mth - 6mth (after intro of bottle). she will cry via scream type for 1-3hr non-stop. there is no way to stop her fr crying, so heartpain when she cry in high pitch last time. same same, my gar stopped having it when she is after 6mth. but some bb (my sil's bb so angel bb) dun even encounter colic and stranger anxiety. my gar also has stranger anxiety fr 5mth onwards. she screamed so jialat when she was in the new environoment and see new ppls. it took her stranger anxiety to 'die' down only when she is 13mth. but now, she still got a little bit of stranger anxiety.

Seems like my gar's lymah node is still the same size. can touch type....will be gg for review next mid of july.

Acc to PD, as long as the size does not grow, it is ok. some ppls are born like that. so either given a choice to do a test or just leave it.

afcai,
my son had the similar case when he just 1month old. The node ard the groin area was swelling. We consulted the PD, given antibotics and PD refer me to NUH.

They did a ultra-scan and found nothing. Put my son in the ward for three days with antibotics and still not seeing it going now. I was so stressful then n was happy when the doct at NUH told me to bring him back to monitor. The node was back to normal size after 5 days when we discharge from NUH.

Till now we still dun know the cause.

hong,
thks for sharing yr case. hmm...is yr son got some flu or when the node is swollen? sometimes, it is unknown cause too. maybe some ppls are like that. the node at my gar's neck are still like that since she is 9mth. but she is ok, still happ go lucky.

hi, my son is scheduled for his day surgery tom. nymph node swollen at the groin. PD strongly advised to remove. discovered swell a month ago. It has gone bigger and not smaller. Its about 2cm. Other than sleeping a lot. He is a happy child with good temperment. Can I know what serious medical condition if yr PD say if it is more than 2 cm.

Feels so sorry for my boy. Dr says its rare case ( both gp adn pd say its due to his BCG injection).

bonjovi,
pai seh have not follow the thread. thks for sharing.

oh, so how's yr son now? any side effect after surgery? how old is yr son? hmm..BCG jab can cause swell nymph node??

my gar's nymph node is still the same size since infant now.

my 8 week old son is scheduled for the surgery this Tuesday 11/08/09, he's lymph node at his left groin is also enlarged due BCG jab happens to 1 in 10000 babies born in Singapore I quote the Specialist from CDC(Communicable Disease Center) he also said that the actual number is much higher, actually 5-6 a year in KKH alone again I quote the CDC specialist. My specialist at Mount E when we saw him yesterday(6/08/09) also said Mount E itself sees 5-6 cases also. singapore has a average birth rate of 30000 babies a year if every major delivery hospital has 5-6 cases, you do the math. It is very alarming is it not? and yet when the baby is given his BCG jab nothing is mentioned about this at all. I've been reading up in some countries that offered BCG vaccination they will do a skin test first to confirm that the baby/Child about to receive the vaccine is not allergic to it before administering the BCG jab. Now the question is If the CDC specialist already knows that the statistics are actually higher than what is being recorded.Shouldn't Singapore do the same, by doing a small skin test before injecting the Vaccine???!! We as parents have the right to and must really question this procedure, as it involves the lives of our children.

I pray for alll children mentioned in this post and for those who are not, to come out of this ordeal healthier and stronger.

<font color="119911">chua</font>,
thks for sharing.

the lymph node at the neck of my gar fr 8mth onwards till now a toddler still the same. if she see doc, i will seize the chance to ask doc, doc always will tell me as long as the node dun increase in size to 2cm, it is ok. some ppls are like that.

hmm...8 wk old bb still young....can't he be monitor instead of surgery? isit an advise fr doc that yr son need to go thru surgery?

is there any risk involved during and after surgery?

thks for the prayer.

Hi you're most welcome :)
yes monitoring is an option, things to look out for are whether swelling increases in size, redness and does it look like it may have pus inside.

If your girl's swelling is less than 2-1.5cm, monitoring should be fine, of cos this is what different specialist have told me. you may want to bring to different PD for 2nd opinion.

For my boy's case his swelling has become very red and pointy, meaning like a pimple that's ripe and might rupture, so advice is before that happens to remove the pus and the infected lymph nodes.

Normal risk after surgery will be more towards the place of incision whether it becomes infected or not usually after 4-5days wound should heal properly.

for my baby boy's case because ultrasound has show that there are small pocket of pus collected it is best to remove before the secondary infection spreads further e.g into the blood stream.. by then it'll not just be a simple case of enlarged/infected lymphnode.
If you want to see pics of my baby's swelling, just add me on facebook. We can exchange experience's further. [email protected]

Regards and God Bless

<font color="119911">chua</font>,
pai seh for the late reply. was busy...so how's yr boy now??

hmm...my gar 's node is still the same size since she is 8mth blar but very obvious can seen on her neck leh. so a pus is detected by ultrasound...

in fact, we brought her to kidlink PD once, KKH A&amp;E (that time when she had fever, vomitting etc so just ask doc abt node issue), GP etc...all doc give the same answer. only PD said that if worry then can do some scraping and some minor opt for testing...err..I was like...better not to do anything cos kids such a young age go thru this very painful one...so I just let it be....

ok, me seldom go into FB. will try....

Chua,
My boy having the same case and the PD given me the same explaination that the BCG might have caused it. The swelling nymph node was on the same side as the BCG was administered?

My boy was the other side, and PD found it weird but luckily there was no pus and the antibotics work on him. However, still feeling heartache as he need to take antibotic as young as just 1 month old.

Chua,Bonjovi and Hong,

How are you boys now?

My son who is now 2mths 3 weeks old just went thru operation yesterday to remove the swollen node at this left groin area. Doc at KK has also given me the same explanation that it is caused by BCG.

Very Heartache to feed him antibotics and panadol at such young age and to see him going under the knife too....

looks like the swelling of node at the groin area affects boys only? Btw I'm currently waiting for the test results of the node. I do agree with Chua that all babies should go for skin test first. At least can reduce the possibility of babies having swollen nodes

<font color="119911">GeniE</font>,
oh, it is really frightening or sad to see bb at such a young age go thru operation to remove it. for my case, my gar since 8mth till now (34mth) still has the node on her neck. the size is still the same. thks god. hai....phew...so far, my boy dun have such thing.

so how's yr boy? ok now??

afcai,

Yes he is better now, recovering from the operation. However, He needs alot of comfort now and wants to be carried frequently too.

The first few days after the operation was bad, cries very frequent, must be in pain. and cry too when fed panandol and antibiotics..

Just want all these to be over asap for him...

<font color="119911">Genie</font>,
oic.glad to know he is recovering. as mentioned by Hong, why is there a need to operate? hmm..cannot wait and monitor....like my gar, her node still the same size (thks god) since 9mth till now (34mth).

Hi Hong,

Yes, b4 the node has pus, Doc advise us to take the swollen node out. Coz if burst, it will be very difficult to take care and it will be very painful for BB. The node has swollen more than 2 cm already.

not sure if this thread is still active. My gal is 7mth+ and have lymph nodes at her groin area.
Specialist at KK had refered me to a suregon. Said tat it might be cancerous. STRESS...

elbarc,
why not ask for the second/third opinion?

yr girl is only 7mth only....when my gar is at yr girl age, she also have lymph nodes on her neck. till now, she still have. I seek three doc and they all said the same thing - monitor, monitor, as long as the nodes does not grow to 2cm, it is fine. if worry, then maybe do the dunno what that called to scrape out some of the tissue and sent for testing.

so try to seek for other opinion.

Hi is this thread still alive? My son has the same issue and I am helpless - hope to get some advices from parents who have went through the same situation

Hi Lis1981,
How old is your son? How big is the lymph node? My son lymph node is ard 1.6x1.1x0.8cm.
I discovered my son had a lymph node under his chin when he was 14 months old. We were referred by GP to KKH ENT specialist for followup. Did a number of ultrasound scans in Nov last year and recently in July. Compared the July and Nov scan result, the July one is about 0.2-0.4cm larger. Also went for followup for every 3 mths. The Dr from KKH ENT advised us if we want to remove it during today appointment. Of course, my first reaction will still be monitoring it. I am thinking of seeking a private hospital specialist for a second opinion since the ENT doctor is leaving KKH also.

Hi winter,
My son is 10mths old now and I discovered there is a lymph node when he is 6 mths old. His lymph node is around 2.5cm at his groin. I was referred to KKH infectious disease and was told by the specialist that it was likely to be due to BCG infection. No tests was order and they refer me to the surgeon to remove it. Of course, I didn't as my son was very young and I do not know what's the implication. Then someone refer me to a specialist at Mt E and the specialist advise that I can observe and wait first. Did the dr tell you what's the cause of the lymph node? Cos usually is due to some infection in the body?

Hi all, it breaks my heart to see the little ones suffering. :oops:
Lymph nodes trap the viruses and bacteria and they are like prisons in the body. I think doctors just recommend surgeries because if u don't see it, it doesn't bother you and their job is done.

I too have it a few months ago. I could feel it at one side of the neck. As I use Young Living essential oils on my children, so I just rub some thieves oil, neat (undiluted) on it for a few times, 1-2 days, I think. Then it was gone. But your children are so small... the oil can be spicy. My gal is 3 and I rub the oil on her soles when she is sick. It helps her. If I apply at other parts of their body, I use olive oil to dilute so that it does not sting.

You can try Frankincense oil from Young Living too. It's quite a mild oil, compared to Thieves (which can be quite hot)

I think my skin is thick so I do not feel anything. Ops! I think Frankincense oil is also antibacterial. Should be safer like what michsl wrote.

Hi 5 michsl! I thought I am the only one...:D
Btw, just in case other parents think I am selling essential oils. Sorry, I am not. I know Young Living is run in MLM style but I only use it for my children and family. My son cannot take paracetamol so I have to look for alternative. Found this eo and so apply for him when he is sick. Not miracle, does not heal upon application like paracetomol but I apply abt every 15 mins... monitor his fever, then 30 mins... I use thieves and peppermint, diffuse eo too in his room.

Just sharing. ;)

Yup, me too! I wanted natural remedies for my girls as they were going to the doc far too often and fed too much medicine.

I find essential oils an excellent alternative, esp for chronic ailments like sensitive sinusitis. My older daughter has that and is prescribed a steroid nasal spray (which she has to spray twice a day)... Can you imagine how much steroid she would have consumed in the 6-12 months she has to be on the nasal spray?

I started applying Lavender and Lemon on my daughter daily and now we have stopped because she no longer has runny nose in the morning (except when it rains or when the air quality is bad).

Anyway, having seen the results for my girls and family, I'm happy to share my knowledge on using the essential oils.

Now trying to tackle my husband's HBP. Tried using Clary Sage, Majoram and Lavender on him but doesn't seem to work well... Will be rotating the oils (and trying out new oils like Aroma Life and Ylang Ylang). Hopefully he can stop taking his HPB medication

michsl, just in case u dun have the pocket reference. here is a pg on HBP.

• WIN_20140819_104209.JPG
    WIN_20140819_104209.JPG
    264.8 KB · Views: 449
Thanks, mummysniper! Appreciate it!
I do have the EOPR, hence now going to try out Ylang Ylang and Aroma Life as suggested in the pocket reference...

Earlier on, I referred mostly to neutral resources on essential oils as I felt YL resources might be biased... So Clary Sage had some research done showing improvements in managing HBP... But it doesn't work for my hubby. I guess, diff people react differently to the same oils. So, now I'm trying out the oils suggested in the EOPR... Heee