Anyone manage to lose weight after delivery?

Hi Fellow Mummies,
I dunno abt u all but i put on 30 kgs for my pregnancy and it was my first pregnancy. I guess i ate too much or something and i had hypertension at the third trimester, so doc had to do a c-sec. Well, I did all i could to resume to my pre-preg weight and i guess it paid off...
I got a personal trainer who comes every thrice a week and I went to the doc to take some pills...no side effects and i am 3 kg away from my original weight...its a miracle to me cos I was really like a hippo! so fat n ugly!!!!

hi tocco,

what is the name of the pills fm the doctor? not many doctor wiling to give pills, u see specialist or GP?

just want to share.. i put on nearly 20kgs when preggie.. 1st pregnancy also. within 2 months, i regained back my pre-natal weigh and some pple even comment that i looked slimmer than before.

i guess its the food u eat during confinement. my friend told me not to eat too much pork (esp intestines etc) and eat more fish and vegetables. and i breastfeed for only 4 months because supply suddenly dropped when come back to work.

i didn't exercise because i'm the lazy type. i only swim (or play with water) 1 time per week.

plus i only eat 3 regular meals (sometimes skip breakfast because no time).

Guess snacks will kill..

good luck mummies!

Just to share. I put on 0kg. lose 6kg immediately after delivery ( baby + water). lose another 4kg after a week. Then stuck with 10kg for more than 2 months. Nevertheless, I continue to fully breastfeed my son. Before I knew it, I lose all 20kg within 6months. Now into 10mths, I have lost 24 kg. lighter than pre-preggie. I still eat alot cos gets hungry easily. never do much exercise, play tennis once a week.

I still breastfeed. I guess breastfeeding works for me. For those mummies who breastfeed, please be patient cos I realise the effect of breastfeeding comes in gradually.

Very encouraging to hear about your experiences where u all manage to lose weight and some even slimmer than before.

I am now 7th month pregnant, gained 9kg. I am so worried that I cant shed off the extras..

Hi sue,

Yea, I have booked a malay massage lady to do post-natal massage after delivery. How many sessions did u go for before you see the results?

Hi, my weight was 56kg before pregnant and hit the highest 73kg (before delivery). After delivery, my weight maintained at 68kg. Was trying my best to do 100% breastfeeding but cannot established the supply and my son is a big drinker. So i had to do half breastmilk and half formula for my son. I did breastfeeding till my son was 11 mths old but didn't lose any gram at all from breastfeeding. My diet was very controlled (cannot skip meal as it will affect my breastmilk supply). But still couldn't lose weight at all. Then i started hitting the gym to exercise during office lunch hour (aerobics and cross training machine etc) and after i stopped breastfeeding, i replaced my lunch with just a platter of fruits and exercise over lunch. Managed to lose 8kg within 4 mths. but now still have 4kg to lose. I guess if breastfeeding doesn't work for u like me, u have to hit the gym and be determined to exercise for at least 400kcal over at least 45mins. Try the cross training machine.

hi to share :

i was 54 pre preg. now i am 50. my son is 11mths plus. i did post-natal massage almost immediately after birth - 5th day after birth. the malay massage lady tell me the earlier you start, the better the results. the massgae was unbearable. but i endure. I am please with the end results of the massage. tummy goes down a fair bit. i breastfed my boy for mths. breastfeeding makes me hungry all the time. i do not skip meals. in fact, i took slightly bigger portion than my usual. 1 mth after birth, i was able to put on all pre preg clothes. just a little little bit tight but ok. i resume exercise 1mth after birth - did some crunches. it was tough but i think it helps to remind the body that its time to wake up and not continue to slumber and grow
i swim on a weekly basis ,between 1-3 times a week. now my wt maintains and hovers ard 50-51

thus i think that while we do whatever we can to stop the body from growing too big, we gotta exercise. thats a sure way to lose wts.

really envy those who get back to their pre-preg weight & size within days or weeks after giving birth. I belonged to the opposite. Still cant lose the weight that i put on during pregnancy and my eldest already 10 this year. Already used to hiding beside T-shirts and jeans for years. Haiz!

I've not been on this thread for a while. For those who've just joined, I actually shared that I've lost 10kg in 14 weeks (Now at 50kg. Was almost 70kg just before entering the delivery suite) after joining the Weight Mgt Prog in Changi General Hospital.

It's all about eating right and exercising. The Prog has taught me how to lose weight and more importantly, maintain my new weight.

I've also found a new passion... that's running. At first, it was running to lose weight but now, I'm doing it cos' I enjoy. I've run 3 10km-run since last July. It was something I never imagined myself doing.

But I was lucky to meet great people at CGH who've motivated me to overcome my mind. It's definitely mind over body.

Celia, there's no need to envy us cos' the ball is in your court. If you want it bad enough, you'll do it. I'm sorry to say that age is not an excuse.

I actually accepted my 60kg for a long while. Even my hubby said it was normal for woman to be fat after being a mother but it was my friend's "YOU"VE GOTTA DO SOMETHING ABOUT YOUR WEIGHT" that pushed me into action. For that, I'm forever grateful to her harsh but honest words.

No need massage, no need belt, no need detox, just a steel will power, for exercising is not only good for your figure but damn good for your heart.

meilinbigfoot - congrats on the wt lost. must have taken alot of determination on your part. good job! keep it up! and i agree that theres no short cut to a healthy wt and body - exercising

Hi Meiling,

Very encouraging post!

I totally agree with you on running- it is also something I "discovered" about 2 years ago...in the past, it was aerobic exercise, swimming that I preferred, but I realised running is the EASIEST sport, cos you can do it anytime, anywhere, and no need for companion.

I also run every weekend, and it feels really good after. Unfortunately, my weight still 57kg after 2 kids, it was 50kg before...but I can live with myself lah...

Hi meilinbigfoot,

ya, I know age not an excuse. Just indicated that my eldest son already 10yrs old and I've not been able to lose the stupid weight. Haiz!

Dear Rianne, Fairyprincess & celia,

Thanks for your encouragement. Actually, I think this is the first time I'm getting a response for my posting here. Ha.. Guess most of us want the easy way out... Who wants to hear that you'll have to wake up early, put on your running shoes and get out there and run for 45mins to an hour, 5 days a week?

It was a tough period... survived mainly on oatmeal for breakfast, fish soup mee sua for lunch and half bowl of rice plus some fish and veg. In between when hungry, munch on an apple, drink a glass of milk, or low calorie museli bars.

I think the main motivation was when I saw my weight dropping every week. It's addictive. Ha!

Now that I'm in the maintenance stage, I eat more "normally" now. In fact, trying to put on some weight cos' trying to conceive for Baby No. 2.

Celia, sorry for being harsh. Age is actually a prob... so better do a body check-up before you start exercising... Ha. May we stay healthy and happy!

Hi meilinbigfoot,

hmmmm.....y still harsh on my age? I'm only in my mid 30s and I started out saying that my eldest already 10yrs old so its already been 10 years but I've not done my part in shedding the weight. How come u kept referring that age is not a problem? I know its not a problem (my age)....the problem is its been 10 years. Dont worry, me not angry but y kept telling me that age is not a problem.

Thousands of apologies to celia....
Really don't mean it. Please forgive me (even if you're not angry),k? I know you will... hee hee... Thanks!

Hi meilinbigfoot,

no worries. Me not angry la. Me started my 1st jog yesterday. heee.... Hope can continue cos me working shift duties so mostly can only jog with my hubby and the boys when I'm off on either Sat or Sun

Celia,

Great to hear that you're jogging. Try to set a goal for yourself. You'll find that you'll run better. E.g. run non-stop for 20min, then 30min, etc...

Enjoy the bonding time too.

hi, i put on about 15kg during pregnancy... 3 mths since delivery, i m now slimmer den my pre-pregnancy weight... m on total b/feed

I put on 18kg during pregnancy...After 3 mths, I I manage to go back my prepregnancy weight after taking a weight management product since a month ago. Interested to know more can PM me.

i put on 12 kgs during my preggy time.
lost all in the 1st two weeks after delivery and lost another 2 kgs when baby 1 mth.
2 months after, i lost another 4 kgs so total i lost 12 kgs (preggy weight) and 6 kgs my normal weight.
didn't do anything special, i just take care of my girl myself for about 2 mths..... monopolized.

now my girl already 19mths and i already gain back whatever i lost + 4 kgs

so taking care of baby is a real program for losing weight (oh, i BF for nearly 5mths)

I'm a person with super low metabolism rate.. was about 58kg before pregnancy, in order just to maintain that weight I ate only 1 meal a day, which consists mainly of fruits and veggies. Seldom take meat or carbohydrates.

Only when pregnant did I take normal 3 meals a day.. no snacks also, and also mostly veggies and fruits, very little meat and carbo. however even on such a diet I still gain 20 kg and was 78.6 when I went into hospital to deliver my gal.

Lost less than 5kg when gal was born, and another 9 kg due to water retention in the 1st 4 weeks. So am now 65kg.

Did post natal massage, it did not decrease my weight by even 0.5kg.. Am breastfeeding, also does not decrease my weight at all.. Return back to my pre-preg eating habits and it also does not help.. SIGH.. Cannot do any exercise yet as mine was a C-section case, advise to wait 3-6 months before doing anything other than very light exercise.

SIAN! Wonder how many months or maybe YEARS it will take to return me to pre preg weight.. =(

BTW I am only 1.59m tall.. 65kg looks really GROSS on my short short body.. =(

Hi ming,

i also same situation as u. did postnatal and it made my c section wound pain and gotta stop after 3 sessions.
Cannot exercise too. So now, I only depend on breastfeeding and controlling diet, putting on the girdle gynae gave me. Am comtemplatin whether to do lipo! But scared also, cos of the C section!

Hi Ming and blessed,

I guess we are all in the same boat. hehehhe... worst for me its been 1 and 1/2 yrs I gave birth till now me not losing weights. hehehehe. tried cutting food intake from thrice to twice a day but still no effects. I guess we all shall gather together for some gym/aerobic classes. How about that?

Im a mother of 2. Like some of you here, I put some 18kg for both my pregnancies. Havent been able to shed the extra weight. However, it's really not the weight thats bothering me...more so the extra inches around my waist and thighs! I really hope to be able to lose the inches. Been watching channel u's 'Perfect Cut' recently. Feel like going under the knife to reduce the inches once and for all. Just a thought...

I put on 20 kgs during my preggy time, was 46 kgs before pregnancy, son now 15 months old and I am 50 kgs. Was on total breastfeed till he is one-year-old

for those who lost weight, juz wondering whether your tummy is also flat?

as for myself, though i lost weight, my tummy didnt slim to flat, in fact recently i thin its more flammy and bigger now...looks like pregnant woman.

jkids,

I lost the weight I gained but still have a tummy as a souvenir. haha

gg to stop bf soon. mb will gain sm weight again...

i hate it when i sit down..my pants feels tight at the waist coz the tummy poops out when seated...very low morale..

My pre-pregnancy weight was 44kg. During Pregnancy, gained a total of 14kg-hitting 58kg.

After delivery, dropped to 52kg. My boy is now 4months old, Im weighing 47kg now.

No pills, no Exercising, just purely looking after my boy and working fulltime make me shed the extra pounds..I guessed its insufficient sleep!

Hope to go back to my original weight at 44kg soon! Cheers!

I think is possible to slim back to pre-pregnancy weight if determined. I put on 18 kg when preggie, after 1 month lost 10kg. After 8 months, shed all .... infact, was 3 kgs slimmer than pre-pregnancy.

I was careful with my diet after delivery, cut down on carbo and take only 3 meals. Exercise also. Of coz, breast-feeding contributed to the weight loss though only breastfed for 7 months.

mama_g,

my bb is gg to be 11mth tomorrow. celebrating 1st bday next mth! still partial bf. problem weaning off...

lala:
if u cut down on carbo, not hungry meh? is your tummy flat as well? i realised moz of the time, the problem lies with the tummy.

I had 3 kids. I gain abt 15, 25 & 24kg respectively My youngest is 2mths now... i stll ve 6 kgs to go....b4 i can fit in my skinny jeans.i m slightly lucky cause of my height so fatty areas not so obvious heheheeee wish me luck!

Have our hips and bums expanded for good after pregnancy? Realised my bone structure seemed to have become bigger after giving birth to my first child. Can't fit into any of my old pants or jeans. Wondering if I can lose the 10 kg from my first pregnancy together with my 2nd pregnancy?

I also wish to cut down my weight. My son is now 3 year old. Last year I manage to lose 10kg within 6 month thru indonesia massage and drink jamu drink prepare by the massage lady . But she decided to go back to indonesia so i had to stop the massgae for about a year, and recently realise i had gain some weight .

I need to lose around 8 kg more after i lose that 10kg with eith the massgae lady .

After reading the thread , i think i will go and try the cellulite removing hot gel to try . any interested to buy too

Initially i really lost weight after delivery and during my confinement. But few months down the road, all weight i shed came back in double force. I think my good appetite came back. I then sign up for this tummy candleling session which i no longer have time to go. By the way, i am selling off my package so anyone keen can PM me. I still have bout 12 sessions, and will let go the package at bout $500.

Perhap can try out the acunpuncture slimming located at MP? As i see live testimonial through my friend, hence share it out here with you ppl.
It is effective, no side effect and most important is afforable. My friend slm down by 4kg with 3wks times, she really feel refresh and more confident in herself.

my son is almost 9 months old and I am still breastfeeding him. Personally, breastfeeding works, I lost 17 kgs in total. also, i look after my son full time at nights. Perhaps, the lack of sleep also contributes.

All mummies, I am taking a very effective slimming program recently which make me look prettier nowadays. The most important is it improve my health condition esp my joint and backache problems.

To me this is the best slimming program that I ever tried. It effectively shape my body without compromising my daily meal and it is a lifetime result(no rebound).

All mummies, we all are deserved to be prettier and healthier. Do PM me - [email protected] I will let you see my amazing trasformation testimonial.... :-D

I am taking this So-Slim SOD Tea + Probiotics. I started taking end of Sept and I have lost 4 kg by just including as a before meal drink.

Its a fiber detox drink that has carb blocking and oil absorbing ability. Safe, natural and HSA approved. The manufacturer is a Singapore owned company, there's accountability.

I am currently running a BP to purchase the item at a lower price because I'd like to continue taking this product until I lose another 17kg. Join me?

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4680809.html?1288668939