Anyone have BLOCKED fallopian tube

WOW the HSG cost $450 ar? i thot my gynae wanted to charge me $350 is aldy hell expensive & i bargain with him leh. then he gave me $50 discount off leh..

So u will stop ur menses for 6mths lar? i think also good lar. lidat ur endo wont recur fast & make sure everything dried inside. soon after 6mths i believe inside shld be clean clean & u be more easy to conceive. alot of pple after gg thru op indeed success more easily.

huh? can bargain for discount one?
i so stupid, didnt bargain with him.

me also hope to convieve more easily after that cos the jab not cheap also.

Evangel, my HSG only cost $150. Your gynea do it himself or? I did it in the hospital not with my gynea. Maybe therefore cheaper abit. Very brave of you to go straight for Lap. Anyway i going for mine next week. Hopefully can unblock the tubes.

my gynae said chances are 50:50 to do laproscopy for my blocked tubes. Will there be cases whereby your tubes damaged after lap? Any side effect? i had 2 D&C done for my miscarriages and that may cause infections.

Started this thread for infertility due to blocked tubes:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/833309.html?1181330473

Any one went for Fallopian Tube Recanalization for blocked fallopian tube/tubes? Seems that gynaes always suggest doing lap surgery but not Fallopian Tube Recanalization after finding out ones tube/tubes are blocked. Check from internet shows that the service is only offered in Raffles Hospital... wonder how much it cost... Anyone with the experience, pls advice.

Hi WanBB

May i know where did you go for the HSG test? Cos my gyna quoted me $400 - $500. Which i find is too ex.

Hi there, I went for HSG at Thomson Medical. Gynae not present. Only rediologist and helper. $189. Maybe the $400- 500 include gynae fees which their presence are not actually necessary.

hi ms_blur
ur gynae quoted u that high charge maybe he/she is the one to do HSG for u. My gynae also charged me $350 for it. & he is the one who do for me. I believe if u go to other X-ray clinic then will be radiologist who do, will be cheaper. doc also have their professionlism. But then i think radiolosigst also can else they wont be qualified to do this for patient.

Thanks for your info. Ya i remenber my gynae telling me that he's the one doing the test. Do you think i can just go to other x tray clinic and do the test?

Will you spend $2500 to get pregnant?

I met a biomedical research scientist has a new innovative product for improve blood circulation by 34% & balance of blood pH. The product cost $2500, I can keep it for life and it has healing ability more than just aiding with infertility issue.

Ms_blur
i think u can try calling X ray dept in TMC if they accept patient to walk in to do HSG. How much will that cost lor.

Kook_car,
care to share more on the pdt? cos my sis has ttc very long. seen many TCM or gynae also no results.. but recently saw 2 tcm & both say her liver is not good.

How do you know to go for the HSG test? How did the gynae find out that you will need HSG? I'm curious to find out if my tubes are ok or not since I've been TTC for over a year w/o success....

hi noscon,
Your gynae will advise you whether you need to go for HSG. You can also request yoour gynae to let u do this HSG to check if your tubes are blocked or anything. but usually HSG is last resort bah.. cos it might cause some discomfort when doing the test in a X-ray clinic either by radiographer or gynae. Of cos if gynae does it will be very exp, if radiographer will be much cheaper. my gynae charge me $350 to do that. omg.

is having fluid in the tubes the same as blocked tubes? how does the tubes get blocked? what is the cause? is it some infection? what are the treatments given?

Hi, I'm thankful there is a thread and some kind of support group for ladies with this condition. I was diagnosed with blocked fallopian tubes on both sides 2 weeks back and I was devastated. I am usually quite healthy and my menses is very regular. I saw Dr SF Loh who happened to see my hubby the same day that I got my results. He suggested that I go for laparoscopy or IVF. However, as he was not my gynae, he suggested that I discuss with my gynae on the options in depth. It was an agonising few weeks wait as I was unable to schedule an earlier appointment with my gynae in KKH.

For ladies who have undergone this procedure, do you encounter any side effects and do you have any success story in conceiving after going through the op? One of my friends who is a doctor mentioned that a possible risk would be scarring of the tubes which will increase the chance of ectopic pregnany.

I have also made an appointment to see Dr Eunice Chua for a second opinion on this matter and I want to be sure about what I will be going through before making the final decision. As far as possible, I want to conceive naturally and hope that IVF is my last option.

Hope,

Dr Eunice Chua is my gynae, seeing her for 4 yrs plus for other issues.

Feel free to PM me and we can chat more

Dear hope,
No nid to feel devasted. I am the one who started this thread one. hehe. I had exactly the same feeling as u.. What to do? No one have the same situation as me? HOW HOW HOW? My gynae is a firm one. I see him like on Tues/Wed. he immed arranged me for op (dunno is lap op or what other name lar; cos when i register in TMC the nurse classfied under 4in1 op .hysterotomy op i think).

I do not encounter much pain lar. lucky me. dunno is my pain threshold high or what lar. its a day surgery. at nite i am able to go home liao after my anaethis(sp) goes down & i am able to walk lar. nxt day i can wakeup and walk as normal liao. very heng. got a 3wks MC to rest. but actually by 3rd day i fully recover liao.

then i went back to see gynae 1wk later to review the wound. No un-stitching is required anyway. my tummy got 3 holes or rather like 2cm cut nia lar.

Gynae ask me tried BD the week cos just happen is my O day lor. so i tried & no result nxt mth. After that my hb went overseas trip for 2mths, when he came back we BD & I strike naturally w/o clomid or anything lar.

What u concern is what i never think be4 on the scarring of tubes.

Becos my gynae went overseas for further research liao.. so i hv to seek other gynae help when i got pregnant. he realli did say he is afraid how the operation will affect my wound cos he is not sure where & hw deep the cut was? anyway my gynae was previously in KKH one.. so my gynae Benjamin Tham requested his wife taking over his duty during his absence to send him my report. & lucky enuf i am able to give birth naturally as the operation cut was not to much confusion or what lar. i also dunnno what am i talking abt cos i am not clear on my detail case also lar. oni knw abit abit lar.

So if u want to seek 2nd opinion also good lar.
I also agree IVF shld be last resort. I also had 2 tubes blocked as one was twisted & the other tube got a cyst on it ar. my gynae did say can dun do operation another alternative is IVF lor. but he say exp lar. & not 100% guarantee.

I hope my above posting is clear. haha. u may want to add me to ur MSN.please email me for my MSN contact.

I am also diagnosed with both blocked fallopian tubes. As I have just gone thru lapo in 2006 to remove cysts and fybroids, so the gynae advised not to go thru again, she suggested ivf. I've decided to go for ivf in Mar, but after reading the posting here, I'm not very sure about it...

Hi Jenn,

I guess your doc is worried that you may get scarring from repeated lapo, which does not help fertility. Thus she suggested lapo for u. I thought lapo is done to correct conditions in the womb at one go. So if u have blocked tubes, they would have noticed that during lapo and corrected it then. Have you asked the doc who performed your surgery whether he has detected the blocked tubes then?

Hi, it has been a few weeks since I last posted. I was scheduled to undergo a tubal recanalization operation on Monday. It turned out that I need not go through the full extent of it afterall. When the doctors injected the dye at high pressure to ascertain the blockage, the dye ended up clearing both my tubes instead. My gynae told me that my tubes are patent and I can start trying for a baby. Praise God for His wonderful work and His faithfulness in my life.

I went for a HSG scan and the result is out. I have one block fallopian tube...and the reason is unknown.....I have no cysts nor endometrsis...
My gyne say no cure since is not cause by cysts or endometrsis..Anyone managed to concieve naturally with one blocked fallopian tube?Any cure or advise?

Anyone have the same problem as me? I am seeing Gyne in NUH.

Anyone can recommend a gyne for 2nd oponion?

hope_4_bb,
maybe u can seek 2nd opinion from KKH? since it is womens specialist hosp??
for KKH, you may look for Dr SF Loh (Infertility specialist).
last time when I had the same pblm as you I was visiting another gynae from private practice

ya heard abt sf Loh..and his long queue...was tinking of seeing PC WONG of NUH..head of infertility....just very dishheartened...

my huby say seek 2nd oponiion dr will aso say same ting...sigh

Hope_4_bb,
I think no pblm with 1 fallopian tube getting pregnant one. just that chances are lower lar. I do hv a frd's SIL whose tube oni left with 1. I dunno what happen to the orhter one. If I din rem wrongly has been removed.. but she also managed to conceive naturally leh.

No harm seeking 2nd opinion.

You may book to see Dr SF LOh at KKH Private suite. that one perhaps shorting waiting time. Else take the earliest slot lor. so no nid to wait that long. he even hv night session.. or he also go AMK clinic.

HI elicia,
Thks for info. Ya I only left with 50% chance. My huby sperm also nt gd. Low mobility and morphility. So lower the chance even more..I think only have about 20-25% chance to concieve.
Plus we are both old. I 31 and he 37 already

i just done HSG today.. at first, radiologist say 1 side block then a "delayed" x-ray shows some "spill over" so he told me not blocked but just "delayed"... then i ask whats delaying it, he says usually infection but he can see no active infection now and tell me my gynae will explain to me in detail.. which is 2 weeks from now..

2 weeks from now is a bloody long wait!! anyone has the same problem? ... sianz... couldnt find anything on de

Hi Hope_4bb

Same as you, 50% chance to get pregnant cos my left fallopian tube blocked
(1 side ) and also UNKNOWN reason on last yr. KKH doctor ask me do the small operation to check in detail and unblock the tube. Although in low risk, i still very scare and undecide what to do if still unable to conceive after the operation?? need to spend alot $$... b4 making the decision i got pregnant finally! Now in my 3rd trimester =)

Btw, i went for travel with hubby after HSG Scan & before the operation and continue wif IVF/SOIUI ..

Lucky no need go for operation, sound scary ..

I know this thread is inactive for a long while already but I've also just gone for a HSG and found my right tube blocked, left one partially blocked... jialat...
Hubby's sperms are fine tho so the prob is only me
Am seeing a specialist at KKH; she's not bad, very reassuring. She suggested going for the op to unblock the tubes but I wonder if TCM can help? An op sounds quite scary leh!! :0

Hi Sera,
Dun worry.. I was the TS. haha. I went for HSG and detected 2 tubes also blocked leh. twisted kind leh. faint.. Of cos anyone hear op sure freaked out lar.. I also asked for alternatives with my doc, Dr CT Yeong formerly from KKH - infertility Snr consultant but went pvt liao lar at that time i saw him.

he told me if no op do IVF but then not 100% guarantee one lor. aiya so i just go lar. within few days decision leh less than 2wks he scheduled me for op at TMC lor. day surgery nia. no nid hospitliased one lar. ok no pblm. op did at 2+pm.. he visited me @ 5+pm.. showed me the blockage etc.. explained everything to me and i was discharged at 8pm. haha. steady lar. No pain lar. abit only lar prickling at the wound lar. no nid to go bck unstitich also one lar.. got a 2wks MC to rest at home but then 3rd day I aldy back to normal liao. haha. can run can jump liao.

my sis did the same op .. but she suffered more pain I dunno why. pain until cant go dwn the bed, cant slp and cant lie kind. very chiam.. maybe low pain threshold bah.

I'm schedule for operation to unblock my fallopian tube in a wk time. i'm worried. my doc is Dr loh. Is he really gd? i din ask him much ques after i knew that my tubes is blocked cos i was tearing. wanna know more bout the operation and had send him an email but that's no reply. anyone can help me to ease my worried? i still wanna be a mummy.

I just did my HSG yesterday and Dr WK Tan told me tt i have 1 semi blocked tube. She direct me to see Dr LC Cheng (head of fertility dept). I am now confused. dunnoe whats next for me cuz the next appt with LC Cheng will be 3 weeks later. WK tan said i might need to do ivf. Im shocked when i hear tt. I always tot there are "easier" choices first before ivf? like IUI or ops. now i cant wait for my turn to see LC cheng. btw, my DH sperm count isnt good too. so 20% / both of us got prob, meaning the possiblity of concieving will be very low.

im now pushing my DH away cuz im really confused now.

I did hsg and found out both my tubes were blocked.did a lapascropy with a normal Gynae,but nothing cld be done.then the ivf Gynae referred me to Sgh for tubal canalization procedure.the tubes were unblocked,but were not regular.we ttc for a few months,n in the end went with ivf.personally,I thot the lapascropy was a waste of time n money.

Hi, I did mine March this yr... left side is totally blocked, right side is not totally blocked but not very 'clear' either

I cried on the spot when gynae told me that... he did a procedure (cant rem what the name) to try to 'flush and clear' the right tube...
Till now, still no good news

Hi Jean

I am sorry to hear about your situation. I am still struggling to conceive. I have already went through 2 IVFs due to my blocked tubes. I got pregnant at the 2nd IVF. But I just terminated my pregnancy one month ago, as my little Kate had Trisomy 18.

I wish there could be other ways to conceive or unblock the tubes.

But it was just 2 months ago when you did your HSG, give yourself a few more months, before you decide which route to take.

I took half a year to ttc naturally before deciding to go with IVF.

Sori to hear that Babykate... we have TTC for 1yr plus before I consult wif gynae. So he suggested me to do HSG...den found out the problems.
Is IVF expensive? I am turning 35 this yr
so Im getting more devasted and despair..

Hi Jean

I am 32 this year. I was ttc naturally for almost a year, before i consulted a gynae, who then asked me to do a HSG, which is when I found out my tubes were blocked. I then did a lapascropy, but the gynae could not do anything to unblock the tubes. which is when i decided to do IVF.

the ivf doctor asked if I wanted to do tubal cannalisation, but I was anxious and i went straight for the first ivf. i failed the first ivf, my one and only embryo from the cycle did not implant.

i then decided to try tubal canalisation, but the doctor at sgh told me that my tubes although were unblocked, but were irregular in appearance.

i tried for a few more months ttc naturally, but was unsuccessful. so i went for my second ivf cycle.

do you think you want to try tubal canalisation? maybe you want to check with your gynae on this option.

i spend about $13K on each IVF cycle. i am seeing a fertility specialist at Mount E. It is much more expensive than at public hospitals. but you get much more personal attention and less waiting time with private specialists. i did try to see Dr Yu at SGH, but the waiting time and the impersonal service did not sit well with me.

fortunately government gives grant up to 3 times, i think it is $6K for the first fresh ivf cycle, $5K for the second fresh cycle and $4K for the third ivf cycle.

if you like to find out more info about the procedures or just need a listening ear, you could email me at [email protected]

it feels like I have been through almost every thing possible to try to get pregnant...

you can find my story about Kate on this same board, at the thread "support group for mid term pregnancy termination"

Kate, Thanks for sharing.
my gynae did a flushing procedure for me but did not ask me to further test if the flushing work or not... only asked me to see him in June again.
Tubal cannalisation is a kind of op?
cos gynae did mentioned to me there's no point for me to do any op to unblock my left tube as there's no gaurantee that it will be unblocked
so he did the flushing thingy for me to help the right side..

tubal canalisation is done at the x-ray department. if i didn't remember wrongly, they will do a hsg first, to determine which part of the tube is blocked, then use air bubble to try to unblock the tube. they put me under GA for the procedure. it is about 45 mins to an hour. they will then give you 3 days mc to rest. i had no side effects or anything. i won't say its a op per se. it's just like hsg. flushing the dye into your tubes with additional using of air bubble.

yes, there is no guarantee, but at least you give it a shot. it cost about $1K to do the tubal canalisation at SGH. cannot claim medisave if i remember correctly. you never know if your tubes get successfully unblocked by the canalisation.

unless you are like me, anxious, i jumped straight to ivf.

Hmmm sounds abit like the flushing procedure my gynae did for me except i was on tranquilizer instead of GA...
IVF seems pretty expensive still

Hsg is flushing of dye into your fallopian tubes. Tubal canalization is one step up. There is a difference in both procedures. Ivf is expensive but for people like me with no choice, is the only option left.

But I would suggest that you ttc naturally for a few more months, since your hsg was done just recently,before deciding the next step.

I was diagnosed with block fallopian tube after I went through surgery to remove a huge cyst which was the size of a baby's head. As it has been sitting on one side of the tube for a long time, that side got blocked. I was devastated on hearing this bad news but my gynae was very encouraging. He said it is possible to conceive with only one side of the tube working and he's seen it happen before. He said to try to conceive naturally first before exploring other alternatives. And we really got pregnant a couple of months after the surgery. My girl is now 2 years old. I count my blessing for having her. We will be trying for our 2nd one soon. Hopefully it works out. So girls, it's possible! don't give up!

Not sure if this thread is still active.

Went thru first IVF recently but failed.

As I have a blocked tube, am thinking of going for surgery to remove it.

Can sistas who have gone thru the procedure advise the costs involved as well as its side effects? Aanyone got pregnant shortly after?

Are we also able to resume normal activities after procedure?

Many thanks.

Hello abbaby, sorry to hear that... I have been tinking to go for the op to unblock but anyone knows an estimated cost for it? cos I have financial constaint

So for the past few months, I have been running around different chinese temples to pray... praying for a miracle since I cant afford to do op or ivf now...

Hi Jean...I come across this thread today as this Monday I'll be going for laparoscopy surgery. After a m/c last Aug, I've been ttc till now but still no news. Went for HSG test and found out that my left tube is swollen. The report mentioned hydrosalpinx. I went for a second opinion and decided to go ahead with this surgery. I'm very worried as my left tube may need to be removed if it's beyond repair..
As for the cost, I think it varies depending on doctors/hospitals. My cost is estimated to be +/-9-10k..
Has anyone here successfully conceived after undergoing laparoscopy?