Anyone battling with PCOS?

sharkles

Hi there..

I was diagnosed with PCOS for several years and back then i brushed it aside as i was just 18YO and was single. I knew that it was a condition that attributed to my weight gain, horrible skin and excessive hair growth. Fast forward today, i have done a surgery to remove cyst from my ovary and the gynae did some procedure that was suppose to help PCOS patients ovulate ( I think it is puncturing holes in the ovary or something or that sorts).

I used to be on BCP to regulate my menses and i could only treat the symptoms of my PCOS (e.g. waxing for hair growth, diet and skincare for skin). Unfortunately exercise only got me 'fitter' but not so much weight loss. Apparently it is a double edged sword to be overweight and have PCOS because you need to lose weight to solve the PCOS or solve PCOS to lose weight.

My husband and I are considering options for fertility since we know of this condition. I have yet spoken to any gynae yet. I did not really liked the gynae who did my surgery so i dont think i will be going back to her. I was hoping to hear from people who have battled with PCOS and what sort of treatment are they seeking, successful or non successful stories. I dont know if i should seek TCM? or should i go to a gynae and be prescribed with medication/surgery to attempt to conceive. I know IVF would be a costly procedure and a long commitment too.

Thanks in advance :)

Me too diagnosed with pcos ..married for 5years finally got preggie early this year just gave birth..dun give up easily try to relax urself...I took royal jelly for 1year plus and chicken essence thrice a week plus warm water finally got pregnant..

yes,dont give up hope.I was diagnosed with PCOS too,and got preggy..in 2months time i will be carrying my little angel in my arms..Just relax and you will be surprise,next seconds your pregnancy kit might have 2 lines=)Jiayou

I have tried natural,but wasnt successful.Then we decided to seek for doctor's help.Doc's want us to set an appointment with the fertility check BUT while waiting for the appointment (weeks apart),i decided to just try out my pregnancy kit before it expire..And to my surprise,it was a double line!i think we gave up hope so we was quite relax and stress free..and it happens..So stay relax!on some music..and dont think so much..=)I know is disappointing that you have PCOS,but dont give up hope..I was so emotional when i know i got such problem..but i was grateful god gave me a chance=)Jiayou ok!eat more avacado it helps to support hormonal imbalance...i drank that quite often..

Actually.. i havent really try anything cos we have been waiting for our house to be ready. My husband also very busy so very hard to do it too. :(

So i havent tested cos i think chances are no. I not very stressed also leh. just that i know i have PCOS and it will be difficult to conceive. Just dont know what are the options that i have.

Hi I jus diagnosed with Pcos, went for a fertility talk last yr and menu recommended for Pcos patient as follows, hope it helps: i m still trying and struggling, Gd luck

Women for Pcos (more male hormone)
Whole grain bread
Plain water no sugary due to insulin
Lose weight
Life style changes
Pcos diet
Walnuts,almonds
Kale, broccoli, asparagus
Beans lentils
Grapefruit and apples
Evening primrose oil take 1500mg Fro day 1 Mense to ovulation and increase cervical muscus & metabolism
Cinnamon insulin resistance
Royal jelly
Cod liver oil regulate ovulation n hormone balance
Exercise 5days for 30mins daily

hi all. new to this forum :)

i was diagnosed with PCOS in 2014.. although i had an ovary cyst removed when i was 12 years old (the doctor then mentioned that it was almost the size of a bowling ball :O)
anyway, over the past 2 - 3 years i did suspect that i might have a relapse because the surgery i had back when i was 12 years old was to remove the 'liquid' from the sac and not remove the whole cyst as if i wanted to, they had to remove my whole ovary and my mum wasn't with that idea.

i had the usual weight gain, irregular period and frequent bloating so i decided to see a gynae at KKH and after all the scan n stuffs, she said that it's most prob PCOS as there were around a dozen tiny sacs spotted. so she suggested me to take BCP to regulate my period or else if not, it might lead to cervical cancer.

i've been married for 1 year+ and my HB and i have been discussing on starting a family. althou he's quite excited (me too) about it but i'm kinda hesitant now because we are still staying with his family (our flat is only ready by end 2018) and no.1) there's no space & no.2) my MIL is a nice lady but i don't agree with the way that she does alot of things from household stuffs to personal stuffs & no.3) she spoils her children ALOT.

but now the dilemma is, i understand that for those of us that have PCOS, it's even harder to get pregnant and i don't wanna risk taking too long because we plan to have 2 kids and I'm already 28 this year.

so for all fellow PCOS "sufferers", how long on average did you ladies took to get pregnant via the natural way? and if i were to see a gynae to prescribe fertility pills, will it affect anything?

Thanks in advance! :)

I am a PCOS sufferer. First kid was conceived through taking metformin, second kid was an accident....PCOS means you are not ovulating regularly, it doesn't mean you don't ovulate. Keeping your weight in check will increase your chance of conceiving. Baby dust to all mummies to be here.

Hey! Thanks for the reassurance :) if u dont mind me asking, how long is your period cycle on average?

hello loveholic,
i'm also a PCOS sufferer and currently on Metformin medicine. Been on it for about 3 months now.

I want to know if there are anyone who used to take Metformin for PCOS and managed to stop the medication totally in the future?

hello loveholic,
i'm also a PCOS sufferer and currently on Metformin medicine. Been on it for about 3 months now.

I want to know if there are anyone who used to take Metformin for PCOS and managed to stop the medication totally in the future?

*hugs*

my friend who is also suffering from PCOS only took metformin during the period she was TTC-ing. after that she stopped once she gave birth.. wasn't a long term medication.

thanks loveholic! :)

my doctor gave me a diet plan on top of the metformin medicine. And recently, i was given a high protein diet to shock my metabolism.

I am diagnosed with PCOS more than 10 years. Have been seeing a doctor at NUH, now with KKH. I also seen TCM at Bejing Tong Ren Tang. Up to now, i am still not conceive. Very sad... feel like giving up. :(

I am thinking of trying another TCM again. I know the medication from KKH helps to regulate the menses, but it is not good for my health as i was recently admitted to hospital due to liver issue because of the medication and i am really scared.

Any other ways... i am at the edge of giving up... adoption may be good, but you know is still not your own... haix...

Ttc#2 for more than a year and planning to consult a gynae for help
Any feedback on
Dr Suresh Nair from Mount Elizabeth
Dr Roland Chieng Parkway
Dr Anupriya Agarwal NUH

Or please recommend a good doctor

Hi, I have been having irregular menses (up to once every 3 months) since I was 17 and thought it was due to stress. As I was in sea sports CCA and it is more convenient with less menstrual cycle, I brushed it off.

I got married in Dec2014 and have been trying for a year with ovulation kits. After one year, things weren't working out and decided to see Dr Wen Lim at Mount Alvernia. Scans showed that I have polycystic ovaries and husband's normal sperm was just 2%. We also did not find Dr Wen Lim helpful with her attitude and cannot feel her sincerity to help with our condition.

I have also met with Dr Kuldip Singh at NUH. Despite telling him about my PCOS and husband's sperm condition, he believed that I should not worry too much as I only need one good sperm to conceive. He prescribed steroid hormones to regulate my menses first but menses did not come even after taking it for 1.5 months.

I have then made an appointment to see Dr Benjamin Tham next month at Thomson Medical through a friend's recommendation. Appreciate if anyone can share their experience with Dr Benjamin Tham and how he handles PCOS patients.

Hi all! I was just diagnosed with PCOS and Doctor prescribed me with metaformin and clomid (not sure if I spelt correctly). She advised if cannot conceive in 3 months then go for ivf. Is it necessary? Previously I had went for keyhole surgery for endometriosis to remove fibroid.

yeah Metformin & clomid is used to induce ovulation.

Usually for we ladies who suffer from PCOS, our fertility level is quite low. There are cases of those with PCOS who still are able to conceive naturally. However, doctors usually will recommend for other artificial procedure to increase the rate of conceiving. Whether or not is necessary usually is up to each individual I guess J

Hi, I have been having irregular menses (up to once every 3 months) since I was 17 and thought it was due to stress. As I was in sea sports CCA and it is more convenient with less menstrual cycle, I brushed it off.

I got married in Dec2014 and have been trying for a year with ovulation kits. After one year, things weren't working out and decided to see Dr Wen Lim at Mount Alvernia. Scans showed that I have polycystic ovaries and husband's normal sperm was just 2%. We also did not find Dr Wen Lim helpful with her attitude and cannot feel her sincerity to help with our condition.

I have also met with Dr Kuldip Singh at NUH. Despite telling him about my PCOS and husband's sperm condition, he believed that I should not worry too much as I only need one good sperm to conceive. He prescribed steroid hormones to regulate my menses first but menses did not come even after taking it for 1.5 months.

I have then made an appointment to see Dr Benjamin Tham next month at Thomson Medical through a friend's recommendation. Appreciate if anyone can share their experience with Dr Benjamin Tham and how he handles PCOS patients.

Hi, I am not sure abt Benjamin Tham on ttc but I know he is a well known good gynae

yeah Metformin & clomid is used to induce ovulation.

Usually for we ladies who suffer from PCOS, our fertility level is quite low. There are cases of those with PCOS who still are able to conceive naturally. However, doctors usually will recommend for other artificial procedure to increase the rate of conceiving. Whether or not is necessary usually is up to each individual I guess J
Are the chances high to conceive using these two products??

I don't think it is necessary to jump straight to ivf. You can try with the medicine first and try naturally. If doesn't work out, you can try IUI. Or you can try TCM to 'tiao' your body. The last resort will be ivf. Different bodies react differently. My fren ttc successfully through TCM when she failed ivf.. and at tat pt of time she went TCM is jus to 'tiao' and rest her body after the failed ivf and not to ttc but she conceived. (My fren had one blocked tube which she did not do laparoscopy & her egg reserves are low (known from the scan before the the ivf procedure)

Sometimes, your body just need time to adjust to the chinese/western medication. You may like to consult a fertility specialist. A few whom I had friends who shared positive stories include:

1) SF Loh from TMC
2) Sheila Loh from Raffles
3) Charles Lim from Mount E Orchard

I don't think it is necessary to jump straight to ivf. You can try with the medicine first and try naturally. If doesn't work out, you can try IUI. Or you can try TCM to 'tiao' your body. The last resort will be ivf. Different bodies react differently. My fren ttc successfully through TCM when she failed ivf.. and at tat pt of time she went TCM is jus to 'tiao' and rest her body after the failed ivf and not to ttc but she conceived. (My fren had one blocked tube which she did not do laparoscopy & her egg reserves are low (known from the scan before the the ivf procedure)

Sometimes, your body just need time to adjust to the chinese/western medication. You may like to consult a fertility specialist. A few whom I had friends who shared positive stories include:

1) SF Loh from TMC
2) Sheila Loh from Raffles
3) Charles Lim from Mount E Orchard
Thank you icyjol for sharing. Cos I have both endo and PCOS so time is running against me :( hence Gynae advised ivf, sigh.

Are the chances high to conceive using these two products??

it really depends on each individual :( gynae won't be able to tell u is it high or not, just that it does help to increase the rate.

my cousin has PCOS, even with the 2 products, she's still not pregnant. but i have another friend who got pregnant after taking those 2. she even has 2 kids now! :)

I went NUH and my tears rolled down when I got to know I have PCOS.
Doc did not tell me what to eat/not to eat for PCOS, I did all the research myself.
Got the medication, had it tried it with the follicle formed. Still no luck yet.
Got stronger dose , but may have to hold on to the plan until house is ready too :(
Not getting younger, quite worried about it.
Will losing weight really help?

I went NUH and my tears rolled down when I got to know I have PCOS.
Doc did not tell me what to eat/not to eat for PCOS, I did all the research myself.
Got the medication, had it tried it with the follicle formed. Still no luck yet.
Got stronger dose , but may have to hold on to the plan until house is ready too :(
Not getting younger, quite worried about it.
Will losing weight really help?

while losing weight is not 100% guaranteed that you will conceive, it does help to a certain extend. no harm trying! afterall, losing weight does make one self healthier :) but of course, not too much weight.

But u know, I hasn't been exercising and it really takes more than usual courage to start.. Haaa.
but when it comes to the diet, it's really a big no for milk yea?

But u know, I hasn't been exercising and it really takes more than usual courage to start.. Haaa.
but when it comes to the diet, it's really a big no for milk yea?

Hahaha not necessarily lah J just need to cut down processed food / carbo (cut down, not totally remove) and take in more proteins / greens / fruits. If exercising like running is impossible, start off with strolls in the evening J if not, you can choose to walk home from the MRT if you usually take the bus. Or climb more steps instead of taking the lift J just a few suggestions!

don't give up okay! let's all jiayou together! i've already started to take multi-vits and folic acid to 'build up' my body...

I have been taking folic acids daily too but not sure about what supplements I should / suitable to take.
But i heard about the primrose evening oil, what are u taking currently?
Yup! Let's jiayou together! :D

I have been taking folic acids daily too but not sure about what supplements I should / suitable to take.
But i heard about the primrose evening oil, what are u taking currently?
Yup! Let's jiayou together! :D

im currently just taking the multi vit from Centrum and Folic acid :p
has your gynae suggested you to take metformin n clomid?

it really depends on each individual :( gynae won't be able to tell u is it high or not, just that it does help to increase the rate.

my cousin has PCOS, even with the 2 products, she's still not pregnant. but i have another friend who got pregnant after taking those 2. she even has 2 kids now! :)
Hi loveholic! Hopefully it works for me!!! You taking both too?

No group chat, I thought it would be good to have one with you ladies to learn more about pcos!

Milk is not good for pcos because of insulin. That's what I read in pcos diet.

No group chat, I thought it would be good to have one with you ladies to learn more about pcos!

Milk is not good for pcos because of insulin. That's what I read in pcos diet.

Milk is fine. I have pcos but was not advised on this. The only thing to avoid is caffeine (coffee, tea) and cold stuffs. I didn't take any multi-vitamin except folic acid.

my doctor gave me a diet and at night, you have to remove all kinds of carbo. it seems to help for the weight loss. just take meat and veggies at night and if you cook, try to use as little oil as possible.

Hi everyone, im new here. been suffering from PCOS for many years.. tried clomid.. and also clomid with gonal f combi. both didn't work out well. last year dec just went KKH IVF to find Dr. Tan HH, and he do all kind of blood test and HSG test as well. Previously I was with a gynae in Raffles. And now.. Dr. Tan say since i am still young, no blockage, and bloodwork come back fine.. he gave me letrozole for 3months to try naturally. 1st month of trying.. and my menese is already late.

Just wondering.. if anyone got similar case as me? but end up letrozole is just causing late menses and as pcos.. we shld take pills to induce our period even with ovulation pills? last time.. raffles gyane will give me pills to induce period.. which is also safe if i get pregnant. Meaning, i eat the pill, if I'm preg.. menses will not come.. but it always ended up coming. but this time round.. no pills is given to me. and my menses disappear again. I have not tested again yet..thinking of waiting another few more days... cos I do not have any PMS symptoms? and Im currently seeing TCM as well at chinatown.. the famous one that alot of artist is going. and the sinseh seems to know Dr. Tan HH well as well.

any experience with letrozole mind sharing?? cos is limited info online.. i dunno if the med is causing delay in menses...

Hi everyone, im new here. been suffering from PCOS for many years.. tried clomid.. and also clomid with gonal f combi. both didn't work out well. last year dec just went KKH IVF to find Dr. Tan HH, and he do all kind of blood test and HSG test as well. Previously I was with a gynae in Raffles. And now.. Dr. Tan say since i am still young, no blockage, and bloodwork come back fine.. he gave me letrozole for 3months to try naturally. 1st month of trying.. and my menese is already late.

Just wondering.. if anyone got similar case as me? but end up letrozole is just causing late menses and as pcos.. we shld take pills to induce our period even with ovulation pills? last time.. raffles gyane will give me pills to induce period.. which is also safe if i get pregnant. Meaning, i eat the pill, if I'm preg.. menses will not come.. but it always ended up coming. but this time round.. no pills is given to me. and my menses disappear again. I have not tested again yet..thinking of waiting another few more days... cos I do not have any PMS symptoms? and Im currently seeing TCM as well at chinatown.. the famous one that alot of artist is going. and the sinseh seems to know Dr. Tan HH well as well.

any experience with letrozole mind sharing?? cos is limited info online.. i dunno if the med is causing delay in menses...
Hi... i have taken letrozole before. I would say for my case it was very on time! You might want to get tested to see if you sre preg?

I tested yesterday... but is a clear negative.. i do temperature taking every morning same time.. yest suddenly the temp increase.. from 35.6 to 36.2.. this morning icnrease to 36.3..
usually my temp is about lowest 35.4 to highest 36.4... not sure now.. i was thinking just wait till weekend.. if no menses.. and still negative.. most probably i will start med to induce my own period.
i am also concern is cyst (but i have no history of cyst).. i read elsewhere that it may be due to cyst that causes the delay as well.. Or shld i call Dr. Tan office to double check?? do some blood test maybe?? Becos i didn't have much pms symptoms..
just bloating and gassy.. not even having nay sore boobs like what i use to experience. Or maybe I didn't ovulate at all? the positive OPK on 14/15 is fake? lol...

I tested yesterday... but is a clear negative.. i do temperature taking every morning same time.. yest suddenly the temp increase.. from 35.6 to 36.2.. this morning icnrease to 36.3..
usually my temp is about lowest 35.4 to highest 36.4... not sure now.. i was thinking just wait till weekend.. if no menses.. and still negative.. most probably i will start med to induce my own period.
i am also concern is cyst (but i have no history of cyst).. i read elsewhere that it may be due to cyst that causes the delay as well.. Or shld i call Dr. Tan office to double check?? do some blood test maybe?? Becos i didn't have much pms symptoms..
just bloating and gassy.. not even having nay sore boobs like what i use to experience. Or maybe I didn't ovulate at all? the positive OPK on 14/15 is fake? lol...
Did you go for a scan to see if you ovulated?

nope, i didnt. Dr. Tan ask us to relax and try natural. apparently he fweels our blood test and HSG test and semen test all come back OK. Just that lack of ovulation.
He didn't schedule me for any scan to see how it works. he is hoping we no need go thru IUI/IVF procedures and will get pregnant with some boost. sigh...

now all i can do is just wait...

nope, i didnt. Dr. Tan ask us to relax and try natural. apparently he fweels our blood test and HSG test and semen test all come back OK. Just that lack of ovulation.
He didn't schedule me for any scan to see how it works. he is hoping we no need go thru IUI/IVF procedures and will get pregnant with some boost. sigh...

now all i can do is just wait...
You should do a simple scan CD10-12 to see size of eggs and if you ovulates etc. Otherwise if no ovulation you try for many months also no use. It's just a simple normal scan.

I told him that.. usually i will scan at about day 12.. then day 14/15 will do the trigger. but he said no need... this will give pressure. So he want us to try "naturally" first without frequent visit to hospital.
Last time when to Raffles gynae, I went for scan from day 12 to the day i trigger. but still with full monitoring.. it also didn't work...