Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

hello mummies ! hws everyone doing? any1 rem meeee.. =P

tam

hang in there! altho i oni hv one girl, i don't hv a maid n many many tms i also feel like gng to DIE . survive for 1 yr w/o maid liao. everyday i change many many hats - one min i am maid , one min finance mgr, playgrp principal etc

gingerbelle

3yrs seem to be the magic number. my hb ever tell me not to wrk for at least 3 yrs so that cn look aft my girl . gd luck with gng bk to wrk!

precious gem

agree with tam that u r resourceful to cut cost by shiftg to JB. I supp our survival w/o a maid also cn consider to be one 'cost cutting' measure? tdy they announce gng to raise elec tariffs !! arrgghh.. i feel demoralised lei. forever canx lower my bill cos they kp jacking up the price

slpy resolutn

i think semipi is ok, depends on who u get for the teacher. their fees differ according to the indiv teachers. quite unusual.

Tamarind

I can identify with 'getting hands wet'. One moment washing veg. One moment cleaning poo. Keep washing hands
That's how I ended up with eczema on my palms

Mink

different fees? oh, I was quoted flat fees leh. Maybe for entry level still flat fees
yours in Seimpi too?

StyloBB, I also want to start jogging. no time leh... though confinement lady still around to help me look after bb, but the 2 elder ones are quite a handful. already suffering from not enough sleep. think i also need to find a very very good jogging/exercising bra, else its very painful for the skin around my heavy breasts... ;P any brand to recommend?

my little bb sleeps well in the day time but will not sleep from 8 - 1am. and then not so soundly too. any advise to change this habit? i'm very worried cos confinement lady going back soon... then i will have lesser time to rest and don't know how to find time to go mkt... BAD!!!

i also need to send a friend a gift. she stays in the US. think most of the things are cheaper there... can you ladies think of something for me? budget aroung S$50-S$80...

Mink, yes, i was very fed up with the 21% increase on the electricity bills. too much!!! our annual salary increase only 3%, one full year of salary increment is not even enough to cover for one month of the increase in the bill... getting harder to survive

tam

oops, i alm forget, in case i sound v fantastic, i better qualify here that i do hv a PT maid come in 2x/ wk. but somehw, these days i am so dead tired that its alm negligible.

sleepy

u changed ur nick?
nt sure for which lvl. but i assumed its the same for whichever lvl. i didn't really pay attentn. but i rem they told me that diff teacher(teaching same lvl), the fee cn range frm 100-150. my girl is in the cheap $100 class . wahahah
hv u sign up yet?

rona

nt sure abt gd sports bra, mayb cn try m&s? they seem to hv wide range.
I knw nxt mth when the utlilities bill comes, i won't dare to open it liao. v scary. nw my bill $170 alm every mth. to me , its alr sky high liao...

How's the break today for FTWMs? Good hor.... went to Ma Maison for lunch.... went to buy some diaries and a box from Muji to neaten up my shelf... watched some episodes of "Ugly Betty" - I quite like the series.. went to Beach Road hawker centre for dinner, wah they have ice-cream and the usual Belgian waffles...
after dinner, boy said he wanna lao sai so shooed my hb to the toilet with him.eeeeeks even the handicapped loo is so dirty.. think my hb was traumatised...!!! Me and the twins sat outside to wait for them... then I told hb quickly drive home, cos if one of the twins wanna pee, I don't think I can stand going to the toilet with them...haha!!!

tam
Yah I really sounded hb out on taking leave next week... he said can take a short holiday to get away...haha.. more imptly I hope my maid wl extend her contract leh.. don't wanna find another one.. this maid's honest...

rona
I don't hv sports bra leh, I dun have so much 'weight' to carry around..... hehehe...but I bot new running shoes and sports top and shorts...

Last time it was hb who trained them to sleep... of crse try not to let them sleep too much during the day... night time if they cry, time their crying before going to tend to them... also tried to cut the night feed.. I also don't know how he did it... but phew, they started to sleep thru at 7 mths...

mink
Currently we are paying around $220+++..scary hor, 21%, left article for boss to read...haha
Today newspaper man came, mthly amt also increased... must really tighten our belts...

and with the weather so hot, my kids can't sleep without the aircon. before long, they will have perspire until shirt is wet through even with the fan on the highest and blowing at them. what do to, got to cool down the room and then off the aircon around 12 or 1am...

still got to go look for the sports bra. i still aiming to go for a jog at least once a week. i still wanna use my good jogging shoes i bought just before i got pregnant. was aiming to go for 10km run before i got pregnant.

any gifts idea? not too bulky too cos got to send to US... also any books or advise on the bb sleeping habits?

Does your heart palpitate when asking your kids to do things?? Don't know is it becos my kids are younger, stimes really man zhang just asking them to keep things and they don't listen...

Stimes I reflect and it seems that all I rembr is me scolding them .. haiz... but one saving grace, boy told me 'Mommy, you love me even tho you scold me.'

tam
Forgot to remark on ur 3-hr meeting, that can be so peaceful compared to being with them all the time!! haha.

rona
What does ur friend like??
What kind of person is she? Homely? Active? Athletic?

StyloBB- I understand how you feel...sometimes, I feel like I am shouting at them all the time when I am at home...its like "close the door"; "put back the toys"; "wash your hands"; "dry your hands" repeat, repeat, repeat...all day long...

You did a lot in a day...i brought my kids to Istana open house yesterday- totally worth it, not too crowded, and cloudy day throughout- not so hot...

Its amazing the number of places you can bring a kid once you have a car- I bought a second hand 4YO car, quite old but low mileage- suddenly, I am so mobile with the kids...do this and do that every weekend...my hubby has his car all along, but its really huge so I got mental block, cannot drive it..this small car is different, now I am confident about driving again =)

Jogging- a must for me, my only exercise- but quite tough to do 10km leh, I do about 4km on Sat and Sun- my regular routine, already takes about about 45 min...its great if can train to do 10K...burn more calories...

rona
I can't sleep w/o aircon. Due to their coughing, we moved all three to the study and they sleep on mattresses and the fan is switched on.

fairprincess
I'm really trying not to nag so much... haiz...that's why I figure I cannot stay at home... I don't think I will be a nice mummy!!

I did a lot of ......eating.......!!!! hahaha...
After eating ah boh ling, I was game for ice-cream and waffles but seeing my hb's look, I sacrificed the ice-cream lah... hehe...

The other nite, boy told me he is sad that I told him he is annoying... (cos I think he was whining away)

So you and ur hb each have a car ah? Wow....
so u drive ur small car... beta than nothing right, small ok, lah, stimes can see some women drivers driving super big cars but cannot park properly esp those places with super mini lots!! hehe.. I must confess first, I cannot drive! I think I wlbe a danger on roads...

U are good .. I figure each time I run 6 rounds, it's ok -- 2.4km... but I can't do more.. v siong liao... plus must ensure I don't 'destroy' my knee caps... hahaha.... u know, at this 30-40s age group.... got a friend who used to run and run and now her knee caps macham out-of-order..

fairyprincess
Is the Istana nice? Haven't been there w/ the kids...

Actually I like to bring the kids to botanic gardens, but stimes they gv me 'heart attack' when they seem short of falling into the pond in their zeal to feed the fishes!!

Actually, I think I am fortunate to be a FTWM, I have very short tolerance for whinny kids, so better I am not in the house all day long...

Two cars is very ex of course, but mine is quite efficient- S$130 of petrol + S$50 for cashcard per month...still cost more than taking bus and MRT, but the convenience is worth it...

Istana is nice- free entry, but S$2 per pax if you want to enter the Istana building itself...
- there was a performance by a pri school brass band- played very well;
- a kiddy playground was set up with kiddy swings/ houses for families who bring kids- very thoughtful gesture I thought
- ice-cream stand with ice-cream for sale (i never knew istana could allow this?)
- donation stand for community chest
- all the police/ guards were smiley to guests
- more tourists than S'poreans (tourists must pay S$1 to enter- they prob think its a worthwhile trip to see the Istana)

stylobb

ur posts made me smile .. hehee.. esp the part u left the newspaper for ur boss to read n the one abt the traumatising loo (sori i knw u prolly didn't find it funny then)
btw , hv u ever thot of buying those portable potty? i hv been having this phobia of bringg my girl (nw she's still on diapers) to the loo for the longest tm. i bot her a portable potty looooong tm ago to 'prepare' myslf for such a day.

fairyprincess

i agree that the mobility with a car is impt. even u take cabs, its so diff cos smtms u hv to wait for long cab Q or booking lines are bz etc.

fairyprincess
The petrol costs sound reasonable.
Everything is going up, heart attack when paying for petrol, cash card seems to run out fast, food /meals are also not cheap, now I'm waiting to see how much wl utilities bills cost...

Oh Istana sounds interesting... do they open during public hols each time??

mink
But I know boss' response, 'at least you are all still getting increment!' haiz.... (but not enuf like that leh....)
Yes, one mommy in the twins thread showed me the potty but I think it's more suitable for coach rides... I know they hv those foldable types but don't know where to get.
I really dislike going to the loo, hugging my gals there is like so close to hugging the toilet bowl! Super eeeeky.... I try to avoid if I can... T1 usu does not pee outside but T2 wl... how old is your gal?? (Did u change ur nick?)
But I'm glad they are toilet trained lah....

Any nice makan places to recommend?
1. Cheap
2. Mid price

stylo

my girl is 17m nw. i hvnt started her potty training cos (ok, this sounds warped) i m nt lookg fwd to bringg her to the public loo. how old are the twins? hw old were they when u started toilet training and hw old were they when they suceeded ?
me nvr change nick.. think slpy resolution changed hers ..

re : makan
r u a fan of buffet? UOB(or is it citi?) cc has got quite a few 1for1. one of the cheapest is holiday inn atrium . buffet for 2 total arnd $35nett

My boy may be having HFMD ! He has rashes in his throat. Sian...he is having fever and I was awake in the middle of the night taking care of him, so tired !

tam, give barley water. china barley is good, no sugar though. Also, you can also consider lengliang - go chinese medicine hall and tell them its for kid, they will adjust the qty. If he cannot swallow due to the ulcers in the throat, you can give him ice cream and once the pain is numb due to the coldness, can give him some porridge water. My niece had HFMD twice and nephew once and we help take care of them - you better separate the kids too, so quite experience with the caring. Of course got to take medicine for fever to keep the temp in check.

Tam,
i know its very tough to have a sick kid at home... hang in there! is your maid coming back soon? Hope everything will get better soon!

ladies, which petrol companies give the best discount from the various credit cards? HB said that we will start pumping petrol in singapore from now onwards (we have been pumping petrol in JB since he works there). think my credit card bill is going to sky-rocket!

styloBB, I also like Ma Maison, its my fav restaurant. have brought a few people there and they also like it and they also brought their love ones there too. hehehee... seems like we all like good food.

as for my friend's gift. I think I know what to get, will try to get something from the internet for her and send it to her since she stays in the US. will try look through some sprees to see what mummies are buying now. any other good suggestions?

mink
Yr gal is young, no need to toilet train lah. I read that if they are not ready, it takes a longer time to train them...I think that's what happened to my gals, mil started to train them w/o telling me... took her like months... everyday pee-ing accidents... haiz... finally only recently they were able to say they wanna pee...

I'm not crazy abt buffets but the price sounds reasonable.

tam
O dear!! You must be so tired... ! and no maid somemore... Hope he gets beta. No joke waking up at nite to look after him, but what to do, we the mummies are usu the ones to do this job.
Hope u get some rest after ur maid returns.
Must u isolate him? esp from ur gal?

rona
Did they implement any rules about S'poreans having to pay 'market price' for petrol??

So far I only tried the steak, cos their set on weekdays is more worth it.
Wat other dishes is nice? Heard good comments re the ink squid pasta but wl make my teeth look black leh...hehe

The other place I like is Pasta Cafe...
Yummy pizzas from Al Dente, Da Paolo, Spizza and this place La Pizzaiola (they hv closed and reopened under another name.. )

Cheap food will be hawker centres like Adam Road, Beach Road, Zion Road, Toa Payoh Lor 5, NO FOOD COURTS cos most of the time, the food's super lousy....

Gifts...what about this one? www.eyeslipsface.com (if she uses cosmetics).... not expensive at all.

Hiee Mummies,

Can anyone share what are the things to look out for buying a resale flat... I am looking for a unit (4-5 or 5 exec) flat.

Is it a right time to buy flat now? My current flat is in Sengkang and staying with ILs in Bedok. Thot of buying a resale unit near them...

tam

hope ur boy get well soon ! we mummies alw suffer frm fatigue n heartpain when we see our little ones ill.

stylo

ok point noted. won't be rushing her.

juz me, think HDB resale flat is still expensive. my mum's 4room flat in bedok was worth $200k in 2006, now is about $320k... really regretted not buying the unit right below hers when it came into the mkt in 2006, was going for $190k only. now got to stay with ILs in ulu pandan... and feeling bitter all the time...

styloBB, breast is heavy cos its engorged with milk half the time. I remembered from the 1st and 2nd kids, my breast actually shrank after i stop breast feeding - i took the pill... and i got some stretch marks on my breasts!!! don't know about this time round. weird hor, to have stretch marks on the breasts. tummy was very very big (like 46 inches!) for all 3 pregnancies, but no stretch marks.

And yes, ma maison's squid ink pasta is very very good, but you will have black color mouth after that. their tonkatsu is also good, so is their hamburger steak (i don't take beef, but this remark is from my friend who is picky with food). I like their curry rice too, the jap rice is so nice!

Recently there's a new variety show on channel 8, new foreigner, i think. there's this mexican food in dunno Changi Business Park or Changi North Industrial Park's canteen. I think the food looks fantastic. am trying to find out where it is and go try. Its made by a mexican lady so should be authentic. I think the stall name is:" the mexican taco bar" or something like that. If any of you been there or heard of it, please tell me where. wanna try it.

Yes, think the eyelipsface is good. will get something for her from this website. thanks!

Mink, I share the same experience as styloBB. I tried to toilet-train my gal when she is around 18-20 month old but no good, everyday accident. Started again when she was about 26 months old, better but still not very stable but manageable. she tends to forget when she got excited with something or otherwise too urgent to do properly in the toilet. so i decided to take it easy and now at 29 months, she is better with it.

now i got to deal with my boy peeing at nite. he can't wake up to go to toilet and kept peeing on the bed! very fed up!

I got trouble disciplining the kids. the 5yo boy has a mind of his own and does not obey instructions when he thinks he is right. My gal just follow whatever he does. I can cane him now and he shed tears and said he understand what he did wrong and when the cane is kept away, he forgets everything and went back to square 1 again. i'm so angry with him that I cried yesterday afternoon. then they are so naughty that my maid was so angry with them that she cried this evening. I'm really at my wits end thinking what to do with them, esp the 5yo boy. don't know if it has anything to do with the new born bb...

My boy has been hospitalized at Mt Alvernia Hospital. Confirm HFMD. But the strange thing is that he only has ulcers in his throat and gums, nothing on his tongue, hands, feet, etc. His nursery teachers only check, tongue,hands,feet, so its useless.

He kept crying and crying of the pain. He cannot drink anything at all, not even ice cream. So no choice have to be put on the drip. My hubby stayed with him at night, while I stayed with him whole day. He almost never eat anything since Friday ! Hopefully he will start eating soon.

Now my girl also started to have an ulcer on her gum. Sian...but no fever yet. We are keeping her at home.

rona,
My maid came back on Saturday. I am relieved. With her, my life is back on order.

I have sent my maid back two days before I started work. Brave right? haha...now I'm so tired as I'm a FTWM working double as a maid. Looking forward to a new maid. Cross my fingers that she will be good and a stayer.

Tam
how's your boy? Is it confirmed HFMD? You must be really worried.

Rona
My hubby told me that UOB credit cards is offering discount for Shell petrol. You can check it out if u pump at Shell. About your boy peeing at night, what I do is to restrict water intake for my boy. No water after 9pm. If he really needs to drink water he can only take sips. Really no choice otherwise he will keep waking up every nite at 3 am to pee and I'm already tired with my gal's frequent wake-ups at night I can't deal with another one.

Good day mummies!! I hope everyone will have a wonderful day ahead!

need some advice from all of you..

my son who is 6yrs old keeps getting nose bleed for no apparent reason. anyone has the same experience? his kindy teacher told me that its common among kids and he will outgrown it. i hope so too but its really scary seeing the amount of blood flowing out. wonder if i should bring him to an ENT specialist?

appreciate any advice and thanks.

HI kk,

My gal (5) and boy (4)also have very frequent nose bleeding. Recently even my 17 mth old starts to bleed twice so fay. So scary..... I have consulted my pd (Dr Terrence TAn)and he says if it is not a everyday problem and only last a while, it's ok. However my gal's nose is blocked almost daily these few weeks and when we clear her nose. it is always blood clot. It is also giving out a bad smell fr the nose. Thus we asked our pd to refer my kids to a ENT specialist. Will be making appt to see him soon.
Actually my husband is starting to suspect the problem is due to the air con (my kids are in air con environment 24hrs daily). Anyone care to share your experience?

rona

thks for sharing abt ur experience at toilet training. nw she does tell me whenever she wants to poop. but when i haul her to the WC, she nvr poop lei. i think she is too amused by the act of perching atop the wc. i put her potty seat on top of my wc, so tht i cn cut one step of cleaning her crap frm the potty aft her poop.

ginger

when is new maid cmg? sending old maid back b4 u start wrk has its gd points. u gng bk to wrk n got no tm to jaga her properly anyway. if she's still arnd, u may end up with 'long nite, many dreams'.

tamarind

o dear, hope ur boy get well fast. do update us when u cn. hope ur girl wont get it frm him.

kk/jeng
no exp with nose bleed so can't be of any help but can understand how scary it is to watch blood coming out from their noses.

tam
think we posted our thread about the same time yestereday so my posting came slightly after yours. oh dear ulcers in the throat is really painful, hope your boy gets well soon and your gal too. take care ya. keep us posted on his progress.

mink
have paid for my new maid but the agent hasn't confirm on when she is coming. apparently they were all sent home, from the Indon agency for the hari raya celebrations,think it's gonna take some time. life without maid is tough..haha...my hubby mentioned quality of life compromised again haha. First time quality of life affected, second time quality of life impacted, third time quality of life compromised. Hope there won't be a fourth, otherwise he needs to come up with another term.

I have one problem with my son. He kept biting his nails until they bleed. I have caned him once and my hubby another but he still can't stop. I think it has become a habit that is hard to break. Any mommies have any exp and any idea how to break the habit? I'm contemplating to put ru yi yu on his fingers.

Bz yesterday, plus had a terrible headache yesterday...even after jogging.

tam
Aiyoh, sounds quite terok leh... hope ur boy recovers soon and ur gal won't get it! He caught it from school?

rona
Citibank has some rebate from Mobil station.

Hmmm...I can't imagine stretch marks on breasts...!!!

Oh I missed the foreigner programme leh... meant to watch it but forgot...

My hb likes the hamburger steak. I tried the steak don rice and it's nice too.
I forgot to mention another Jap place that I like : Tampopo at Liang Court.

Hey hey hey, what you described is just what I went thru!
But first things first, I think he could be trying all his tactics just to get ur attn! So try to have 1 to 1 time with him.
But having said this, my boy also makes my heart palpitate. So far I didn't cry or cane him but at times really so pek chek!

mink
Oh, my gals are now 2 yrs 9 mths..... my mom used to compare that so and so is toilet trained, I would tell her that everyone wl eventually get toilet trained!

juz me
Not sure what it is that you are asking. Are you asking re how to gauge condition of flat, how much to offer, etc??

kk/jeng
Nosebleed?? I think it's best to consult the PD leh.... cos frequent nosebleed for adults is not v good, not sure re kids.

gingerbelle
When we get a good maid, it really helps.... no worries about anything.....

Biting nails - could be a sign of stress leh... I think you beta find out the source rather than hurt him with the oil lah....

tam,
so sim tia to hear abt your boy.. esp the need to be on drip. hope he gets well soon and hope ur girl is just heaty rather than anything else. you must be drained. take care.

Hello ladies!

Sorry I was away for awhile there ... busy with the festivities.

Well I'm forever a FTWM without a maid and with 3 kids. It is tiring but I only do what is priority. I only do housecleaining during the wkends. Before I used to cook dinner, make breakfast but now since we moved to JB, I don't seem to have the time & energy to do so. Breakfast is just milo drinks for my kids, I'll buy my girl 'bbq/honey chicken steam pau'(her favourite) once we arrived in Singapore. If we got time, we eat at the coffee shop in JB for some nasi lemak or roti prata. Dinner now at my mom's when we pick up my boy. Lunch is at work, as usual.

I have loads of instant/frozen food at my JB home; campbell soup, maggi noodles, instant mashed potatoes, oatmeal, muesli bars, frozen fries, sutchi fish & chicken drumstick (for fish & chips or chicken & chips) cheese/wholewheat crackers and my must have; milk, eggs, cheese and wholewheat bread. Also a few bread spread for my kids like nutella, jam & kaya.

My hubby do help with laundry and vacuuming and throwing the garbage. He also helps with bathing my boy, making him milk or changing his diaper. My eldest girl will only do the dishes and her own laundry. Me ... used to be the cook, now I guess the coordinator of things ;) Of course I still have alot of unpacking to do ... I still got loads of boxes yet to unpack! And I'm on course 3 nights a wk!

tam,
so sorry to hear about ur boy HFMD but good thing u got help early. Atleast he is in good hands now. Wish him well soon!

nosebleed,
I noticed some kids do nosebleed and it became a common occurence to them. Not sure why.

Biting nails,
My girl bite her nails too, even at one point her toe nails! I read somewhere it's something to do with self-confidence and low-self esteem. She can be quite timid sometimes.

rona,
I suspect it has something to do with ur newborn. Try to include ur boy in ur caring of the newborn. Maybe he felt left out as you gave so much attention to the newborn so try to include him and make him do little chores like getting the diaper or throwing it, getting the talcum for the baby, little chores like that and don't forget to THANK him after that and tell him what a GOOD BIG BROTHER he is. Please also include ur girl and tell her what a GOOD BIG SISTER she is too. Once you include them, you'll see some changes, I hope. For the gift idea, how about one of those white gold pendant from SK, can cost from $60-$99. I just saw two very nice ones, $88 and $99, I think. Very light for postage.

stylebb,
The petrol price in JB is still a flat rate for both Singapore & M'sian cars. Aiya, they only talk! But I hope the issue will fade away ...

i remembered my younger sis used to have bleeding nose when she was younger. went to see doc and also ENT, both said she will grow out of it, which is true. some TCM docs say too heaty, so must on and off take some cooling stuff to balance. so you can cook some green bean soup, chinese barley without sugar etc for little ones to eat to see if improve or not.

Gingerbelle, well done and very brave too! Good lah, since you also cannot tahan the maid anymore so what for you keep her until long long then change. bite the bullet and move on is the right move. Luckily mine is still with me and she will help me till my little one turn one. then she wants to go back alredy liao. she is a good maid. your boy bites nails... my gal suck thumb from when she is in my tummy... tried all sort of ways and dunno how to stop her from doing that.

Mink, give your gal time. my son only can tell when he is about 30months old. and he still don't want to tell cos he was busy playing etc etc. so i made him wash his underwear with his poo. then he got scared and from then on, goes to the toilet promptly. ;)

Tam, is your son better now? hows the daughter? hope everything is ok with you.

Thanks for all your well wishes. My boy is discharged today. He still has big ulcers in his throat, but at least he is willing to drink water and eat porridge now. He could not take anything since Thursday and on Sunday he was crying and crying non-stop from the pain. I could not do anything, can only hold his hand and comfort him. He got better once he was put on the drip. The doctor said it will take a few more days for his ulcers to heal completely.

My girl has one small ulcer in her mouth, but no fever and no other symptoms. Keeping my fingers crossed.

my gal is sick. mild lao sia, fever 39 degrees. PD said he has been seeing a lot of children suffering from salom something illness, asked me to watch out for bloody stools. hopefully my gal will get well soon. confinement lady left liao, left with my maid and my ma to help out with 2 kids and a bb. not too bad lah, at least i still got good help.

tamarind,

Glad to hear ur boy is discharged but is it ok for him to be discharged since he still got ulcer in his throat? I mean at the hospital atleast they can put him on drip just incase he's not feeding well. Atleast for now he's drinking water and eating porridge, that's good to know. Sorry also abt ur girl, hope it will not get any worse. Is she drinking and eating well? Hope she gets well soon too.

tam

glad to hear that ur boy is well enuf to be discharged. pls take care too

stylo bb

my mum also hv this habit of comparing other bbs =P . mayb its a granmom trait. if i am feelg patient that day i will let her drone abit. but if i m not, then i will quikly change topic.

rona

tht is so brilliant! let them wash their own crappy undie. ha! i wont mind trying that tactic.

gingerbelle

haha..gd luck for ur new maid. hope u get a gd one so ur hb don't hv to think of a new term.
your boy's nail biting sound serious. the oni way i knw to stop nail biting is apply those bitter nail polish. they really work

precious gem

i like ur strategy of keepg lots of frozen / instant foods in the hse. me n hb do try to do tht, to avoid eating out or ordering KFC every week. But smtms we are so dead beat that we cant even find the energy to cook those frozen stuff. wats ur food routine like, is it elaborate? o btw, if u like tuna, according to hb, tuna is one of the best 'power' instant foods arnd. so we usu stock up in the larder.

Went to Peach Garden for dinner just now.

rona
I think both precious gem and I feel the same re ur boy.
Does ur hb bring him out for father-son bonding time and do guy's activity? It'll surely make him feel better.

precious gem
Wah u hv so much food! How was ur Hari Raya? Did u go visiting in S'pore?
As I don't cook, I don't like my fridge to be full!
On weekends, do u stay put in JB or come to S'pore?
I don't know how u cope, esp since u hv lessons.

tam
Hope ur boy gets beta and beta, he must hv lost a bit of weight.
U give him a big hug on behalf of the aunties here... hehe

mink
Yah I also shut my ears most of the time, aiyah, I don't think before 3 yrs already toilet trained is considered slow right... (sorry for my broken English here...hehe)
Anyway the gramps say all kinds of things at times, I just ignore.
One day boy v good, next day boy v naughty, I don't bother unless it's sth serious....

Long time no posting!

Nail biting
My son is into nails biting too! I dont even need to cut his finger nails. When he has nothing left to bite, he will bite his toenails. And if nothing left on the toes, he will attempt to bite my finger nails! Have been nagging him to stop but cant control him leh! What to do? This habit got to do with self esteem? I'm not sure though he is quite timid.

Tam
Glad to know that your son is discharge.

Guardianship
Anyone has any contact of foreign students looking for homestay/guardianship? I had just shifted to my new house and have a spare room. Would like to offer foreign students(primary school onwards). PM me ok?

my boy - yes, will try to spend some quality time with him one on one. but now gal also sick and also wants my attention. think boy felt a bit left out. I explained to him last nite when i put him to bed that I need to spend time with gal cos she is sick, he understands and wants to be sick too! I've not been spending time looking after the new bb until yesterday, cos the confinement nanny was with me until then. I only spend a lot of time feeding him and ebm... no time to even read with him and make him do some work too! They two older kids have been watching too much tv and dvds!

anyway, gal can't sleep for 2 nites in a row. Still having fever but no bloody stools. the diarrhea seems to be getting better but she is very listless. used to like food a lot but now it hardly interest her anymore. weight has gone down. My mum is a bit pan-dang (supersitious) so she is going to pray pray a bit for the gal. weird though, sometimes it does seem to work...

Tam, hope your 2 kids get well now.

How do you ladies do marketing? once a week to the wet market or? though I'm staying with in-laws, and my MIL is not working, fit and well and has her own car, I'm expected to do all the marketing and grocery shopping. So I got to go to the wet market at least once a week and supermarket once a week even when i'm heavily pregnant... and also after the 3rd day after my delivery. Now, I think I need to wash up for my bb when my 2 elder kids and my maid are at my mum's place. MIL told her maid that she doesn't need to help me with bb's things. dunno how to go to the market with the bb in the house...

precious_gem,
Actually we asked the doctor to discharge him. Although my boy still has ulcers, he is able to drink water and eat porridge, so we thought that home will be a better environment for him to heal. He is very happy to be back at home

My girl still only has one small ulcer in her gum. No ulcers in her throat and tongue, and no fever yet. She is drinking and eating well. I am not sure whether we need to bring her to see the doctor ? But we are still keeping her at home to be safe.

rona,
Hope that your girl gets well soon.

styloBB,
Thanks for the hug
Yes he lost 1 kg +. Sian...he is already a skinny boy.

The hospital stay of 3 nights in a single room cost me about $900 cash after deducting medisave. Hopefully our great eastern life insurance can cover the cash portion too.

Mink,

Well I gotta stock up just in case we got hungry in the middle of the night or especially weekend if we're too lazy to go out to eat. I forgot to mention, I also stock up on canned food like sardines & corned beef/mutton and canned mushrooms. Tuna is very high in protein and is a healthy choice of food but unfortunately, we don't eat tuna, don't know why. The only 'leceh'(troublesome) thing abt frozen food is that u need to thaw them.

At the moment, my new home in JB has no stove. We moved into a bare apartment, the only thing available are the ceiling fans & lightings. So no kitchen cabinet or stove ... So I have to depend on my own rice cooker, microwave oven (only use for heating), a mini conventional oven with a hotplate and an electric wok. My mom is giving me her electric 'steam boat' cooker so I could cook soup. I thot of getting one of those induction cooker later on cuz I saw one quite cheap at Sheng Shong, for like less than $50. One thing it is safe, no open flame and no gas. I also depend on my thermal flask for drinking water cuz I don't trust drinking straight from the tap in Malaysia. I would cool the boiling water in a big jug/pitcher for drinking or making milk and some in drinking bottles to be put in the fridge for cold drinking water.

styloBB

Ya lah, scared my family starve! Actually my main worries are that being a working mom with no and never had a maid, and especially now on course 3x p/wk and ferrying back & forth Sin-JB, just in case if I'm back home late or if all the eateries/foodstalls selling cooked food closes for some reasons or perhaps I have no cash in hand to buy cooked food, there's plenty at home to survive ... even for a week. I make sure I have atleast 10kg of rice & 5kg of oil and couple packs of plain flour(pancakes & malay jemput-jemput or fritters), a couple packs of pasta (macaroni & spaghetti) and also meesua/dried egg noodles (meesua soup with chicken/ikan bilis stock, yes stock up on stocks!). I make sure we have enough carbohydrates, then a bit of protein (frozen chicken, sausages, beef patties/burgers, fish/sotong balls, milk & cheese) and a bit of veg (carrots,tomatoes,mushrooms) and fruits (grapes, bananas, watermelon, apples & oranges). For snack, I like to stock up on nuts, chocolate, raisins and sunflower seeds as they are all good source of energy, not forgetting cereal & oats. My girls epecially eat alot of cereal(usually coco crunch) and oatmeal(quaker instant oats)even for supper sometimes! And they like to add sunflower seeds in them. Btw, besides the normal refrigetrator, I do have a small box freezer ;) easy for me to stock up food. But of course if mom stop by, she won't know what to do with all the food that I have because she can't use much of them to cook any traditional Malay food. My menu at home are simple these days, either western fast food (beef burgers, fish/fried chicken & chips), stir fry food (fried rice, stir fry spaghetti, fried macaroni or macaroni & cheese, stir fry sweet sour fish/chicken), 'dump everything' soup (fish/sotong balls, chicken, mushrooms, carrots ... in chicken stock soup, add meesua or dried noodles and have soup noodles!) The canned sardines & corned beef/mutton can be cook as a dish just by adding chilli paste or curry powder and eaten with rice and also can use to make sandwich. Eggs are my favourite cuz I can make a variety of ommelette with it, scramble eggs, half/hard-boiled eggs in soya sauce, mashed egg sandwiches, fried bread-in-egg the list goes on. Another thing, the oats, cereal, nuts, raisins and melted choc or honey combined can make a 'power' muesli bars! With the fruits, I would make fruit salad or fruit kebabs with the kids and also add milk and into the blender you got fruit flavoured milk shake!

Well since I have class on Saturdays (except for the nex 2-3 Saturdays, as we are doing research now), I'm only back in JB on Sunday mornings. We'll leave for Singapore on Monday mornings and back in the evening. Tuesday since I have evening class, we'll spend a night at my mom's and my hubby will relief driving the cab, then we'll go back to JB on Wednesday evening and again Thursdays since I have class, we'll spend another night at my mom's and hubby drive the cab again. He usually drives from 9pm-3pm. We'll go back to JB on Friday evening but hubby will go back in Singapore around 9pm to drive cab. Saturday noon we'll go in Singapore cuz I have class, hubby & kids will be at my mom's. Hubby will drive cab on Saturday night so we'll spend another night at mom' and will go back to JB on Sunday morning. I spend Sundays doing the laundry and catching up on housechores. I do my grocery in the evenings at Pandan City once a wk now as it opens from 4pm-3am, though the supermarket closes at 12am.

Of course I do my Hari Raya visitings in Singapore as I have no one to visit in JB! I'm still doing my visitings, even this evening cuz we have a big family in Singapore. Both my mom & dad are the fifth & sixth generation, respectively in Singapore. So loads of great grand aunts & uncles, grand aunts & uncles, aunts & uncles and countless cousins, second cousins ....

Btw, I'm planning for a playdate for my 2.5 years old boy for the next couple of Saturdays ... he really needs social skills cuz I think he's spoilt by his grandparents and his former caregiver, who is also my maternal aunt. Not sure where to go or what to do ... I mean I got so much ideas but not sure what the other mommies want to do. Anyone here want to join us?

jeng
thanks for sharing, can you tell me more after your visit to the ENT specialist?
my kids too, can't sleeping without aircon, especially my son, he wears only singlet and shorts to sleep and sometimes don't even need a blanket!!!

nails biting
will he stop biting if you cut his nails short? i mean nothing to bite anymore right? my son has this bad habit of peeling/biting his finger, not the nails but the skin area near the sides of the nail. so much so that you can see the 2 diff skin on almost all his fingers. faint ah....

hi kk,

okie will let you know once my kids see the ENT specialist. SAme like yours, my kids and I all can't survive without aircon. In fact my air con is on 24hrs a day as I am a SAHM.

Are you waiting for next month's utility bill??

juz me
So, do u still need some advice/info re resale flats?

rona
Marketing - I don't do marketing, my dear mom does for us cos she cooks for us!

precious gem
Is it tiring for ur hb to keep driving in and out of S'pore?

tam
Will be cheaper to admit to KKH? I'm just wondering...
Yah when they fall sick, imdt weight loss, nvm, will put back again.

kk/jeng
I think the issue is more than skin deep (pardon the pun). It could be some stress, esteem issues. Beta go seek some advice.

styloBB,

Yep I guess it is tiring for him but he doesn't mind. Anyway, when we're in Singapore, I try to help with the driving eg. when he fetch me, I'll take over the driving to my mom's place or to fetch my kids while he sit at the back to get a short nap/rest.

kk,
I agree with styloBB, the problem with ur son biting nails & peeling skin cud be more serious than u think. Anyway, does the peeling of skin gets til it bleed? How old is ur son? Perhaps shud take him to a PD.

stylobb, nope, i'm not looking forward to the utility bill. I think it will be a massive amount, including all the extra needs during my confinement, I think its going to be a very big number. ;P

Precious, sounds like you have quite hectic lifestyle. remember to look after yourself and not just pop in here and there and everywhere and forgot to look after yourselves.

my gal still not breaking out from her fever yet. still up and down and still very very lifeless... not her usual cheerful and active self. will bring her for TCM tuina also this evening at Yu Guo. Should have done it earlier lah, could have help her recover faster.

I've not been drinking teh tarik, tehsi or greentea for the longest time, missed it so much! to replace the caffine, i drank coffee now. but nothing like teh... even bubble tea is good... supposed to be cooling and produce wind so not good to drink during confinement. think i will take a little tonite. cannot tahan anymore!

Stylo BB,
Yes - I still need advise/info buying resale flat.

Rona C
Yes - resale flat is expensive. We will be working out our financial standing and decide whether to buy a 4 or 5 room flat.

Really hoping to get a reasonable flat with min renovation

juz me, i get very heartache to pay the cash portion... else i would have gotten one already. when the market is hot, the agents told me don't even need to see anything unless i have like $50k cash on hand. dunno about now, but reports saying that the prices and demand for HDB flats is still strong. sometimes also true lah, paying $500k for a 5 room flat is like paying for a pte condo... so really got to think what is beta. but you keep looking, it pays.