Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Morning mummies- TGIF!!

Tam- I see...I guess must call insurance to check- I did that and it was helpful to get guidance from them...

For my ANA fare to Tokyo- it was also under the "non-refundable bargain fare" category- but ANA now allows full refund- I guess they are not a budget airline, and the situation is exceptionally bad....

I am going through my 4th myanmar maid in less than 6 months- really suah to get really bad ones...can't believe it!!! First time in my life I am changing maids so many times....

Hairdresser- I limit to 3 times a year, around S$100 each time for wash, cut, colour- long hair can keep for longer, won't go out of shape...

Many mummies back here reporting...hehe

snowball
You are the 3rd person I hear re stone in kidney this week.. my brother, and a gf also apparently too. How does it develop??

rona
chara had to to CT scan when she was 8mths +... what are u testing for?

fairy
Isn't there a quote for the no. of maids u can employ before they call u up?? hee.. .beta read tam's blog.

tam
I don't check the trvl insurance either...hee.. just buy and go.

mumusings
I love la la leh.... !

sharon
We'll be going to distribute cakes to the one-room block near our neighbourhood.

sophia
Understand the 'loss' keke.. I hv been with my hairstylist for more than 8-9 years .. he is unassuming and does not pressurise me to buy anything.

Hi Snowball,

Let me know how your bee hoon turns out. You can put just a little light soya sauce for flavouring.

Btw, what's nice to eat at the Putien restauarant?

Hi Stylo,

I used to like lala when I was a kid. But after my mom and friends brought us to the pasir ris beach to pick cockles and clams during low tide, I somehow couldn't eat them anymore... My mom is crazy over shellfish and when she was younger, she cooked everything with dried oysters and scallops. In the end, I grew tired of the look, smell and taste of all shellfish (except scallops)...

reiner
How old is ur kid?
If jesse asks for sth, usu we tell him to save up and buy. He saves his pocket money and stimes he wants to buy a book or sth, I will pay half and he pays the other half.

Actually my older twin wants to hv curly hair, and I once said I wl get the hair curler for her, so wl wait for the sale at watson's to get one... hehe.. she reminds me stimes.. hehe

Usu. we wl tell them prior to going out that we are not buying them. They are quite content to just look at the toys. So we don't hv any problem since young, they don't throw tantrum either.

yawn
It's ok for the gals to want to look pretty so long it's not overboard, sort of builds up their self-esteem. I rmbr when I was young, I looked terrible with a bad haircut and specs...sigh... and crooked teeth.. haha.. it was only after I cud afford that I did braces...

rona
Everything is $$$... the gals have started their swimming so there goes some $$.
Yeah, we/mil are now fetching them to/fro school.
Also the timing, otherwise v siong for them to hv to wake up so early...

mumusings
We have limited to eating at Mc's only twice a month more for health reasons... hehe

I still like lala, my mom does them with chilli/sauce and just plain cooking... I find them tasty. But we cut down on cockles even though my whole family (mom/dad/brother) like.

fairy
I asked my boy to name one of his fave places and he said "Itacho Sushi!"...haha

Will be going to Zhou's Kitchen tonite - has anyone been there before?

Stylobb- maids- really? Thanks for the alert...

I love to eat sambal lala too! Usually, I have them at no signboard seafood restaurant, geylang- very nice!

Hi Stylo and all,

Macs only for apple pie or when we need a Coke fix (super-tired bringing the kid out!). He'll play with the ice and drinks only a little Coke.

Do your kids eat veg? I recently found out why my son dislikes brocolli and kailan. He will eat other veg like carrot, corn, potato and even spring onion. I have a picture book with brocolli and he calls it FLOWER. He also pointed to the screen when watching Horton the elephant by Dr Seuss. He thinks the specks/flower on the brocolli/kailan is like the Whoville in the movie!!! Good grieve...

http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2011/03/parenting-mystery-solved-veggies.html

And so my son probably thinks we are feeding him trees and flowers 'cos he likes the mimosa flower too

5262710.jpg

Hi Fairy,

I bought the Cathay Pacific Airtix is also non-refundable fare type. Early this week, I saw in their website that they allow full refunds too for airtix to Japan. But, we stick on our HK holiday plan since we have already re-route our tix to HK.

Hi StyloBB,

I did ask the Urologist. He mentioned its the food we eat. Small particles build up. I have a colleague who was hospitalised twice due to kidney stones. He has many stones developed that it gave him problem. One of the hospitalisation was during one of his overseas business trip. Stayed in Germany hospital for almost 1 week. The danger of kidney stones is blockage of urinary tract causing infection if the stones grow too big.

Zhou's Kitchen - Been to the 1 at Jurong Point. Food is nice
They serve weekday Executive lunch at $8.80 ++ very good value for money for a 4-course lunch - Appetiser, Soup, Maincourse (Rice or noodle) & Dessert.

Hi Mumusings,

Putien - The fried Bringal (with pork floss), HengHwa Lor Mee and fried Mackerel fish is very good. I have also tried their specialty soup (cannot remember name of the soup) also very tasty.

styloBB

I had braces too! In my mid 20s. Removed it in time for my wedding photo taking. I had those white braces

Recently dentist said my dd1 would need braces eventually. There's gap between her upper and lower teeth, like bunny teeth. But she looks cute wah, so I told her no need lah

If protruding or crooked like mine, then need braces. Got to give up 4 good teeth, I heartpained leh

yawn
iherb is having free int'l shipping for March for orders over USD40, you might wanna try ordering...hehe

fairy
I think so... maybe Tam can advise. Cos I read the forum thread before and some mummies were hauled to mom for interview when they kept changing maids.

mumusings
That's funny....

They eat vegs but find it difficult to chew on those with 'hard' stems. I figure spinach is the easiest to eat and the chye sim leaves...

Since many of you are seafood fans like my husband, try 'chicken' rice with white jade clams
Mix in pre-mix (pour away oil) to rice cooker, press start, add in clams 20 mins later and you have lovely flavoured rice

http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2011/03/rice-cooker-recipe-flavoured-chicken.html

My son had nearly 2 bowls of rice. Hb ate up clams and egg fooyong while I had mine with fried tofu burger.

5263298.jpg

Hi Snowball,

Thanks for the recommendation. Haven't gone to a Chinese restuarant to eat for ages!

Hi StyloBB,

Last mth Iherb has additional 6% discounts for min Order USD80.00. I saw their promo for free shipping. But, I do not need to order until next mth to replenish Sambucol for my kids.

Btw, we went to the wedding dinner with my kids. As expected got some drama during the dinner. My BIL's son cannot even sit still for 5min and he nearly broke 2 glasses and got so restless that he laid across the pathway....sighhhhh. I brought story books & colouring books to keep my kids occupied and also to keep them away from my BIL's kids. My 2 gals were very well behaved thro'out the dinner. I was so proud of them

Hi Fairy,

If you change maid more than 4 times a year, MoM will call U up to go for "counselling" session and attend some kinda classes (probably on how to manage your maid) before you can employ the next maid.

yawn
That's why I'm forever checking my kids' teeth to ensure theirs are growing out well! I wouldn't want them to hv crooked teeth, bad for self-esteem leh.
Tkfully for my case, no need to remove teeth, already lost one molar previously.

snowball
Tkfully your gals were ok.... hehe.
I also cannot stand bad behaviour in kids, my kids can get restless (being kids) but we will remind them to behave themselves otherwise wl kena scolding by us.

Which is more worth it? I understand they have a cap for the maximum weight per shipment under normal pricing. What about for discount?

Tx for explanation.
My bro gotta go for the gallstone surgery leh....

I wonder if we drink mineral water for prolonged periods, will we get any mineral build-up or not.

tam/rona
Any tips for coaching jesse so that his chinese gets better? I think his understanding and writing is ok, it's the verbal/reading part that he is not so strong in. Cannot recognise some of the words.

Sat afternoons after chinese class is spent doing homework and revising chinese... sigh.

mumusings
Which pre-mix brand is the best in your opinion?

Btw if you take meat, Culina counter at Bishan has a large variety of meats. That day I bot some steak for bbq, it was really cheap, only $2.40/100g. The butcher even marinated and then vacuum packed it.

Anyone using iNouvi cosmetics? They are having 2-for-1 sale this weekend at FE Plaza and BHG Bishan of similar items, ie get 1 lipstick for 1 lipstick free.
Their lipgloss is pretty good.

Zhou's Kitchen was a pleasant surprise. Food was good and the prices are not overly expensive. Worth a try: Their braised pork shank (enuf for 4-5 adults), pepper beef cubes, fish skin with egg yolk, toufu with seaweed and veges, chicken.

mumusings
I don't know-was hoping you will tell me..hehe

Culina is inside J8 NTUC, the usual counter that you see where meats are sold.

Going for their swimming class soon.

Hi Stylo,

Thanks. I've bought beef from that counter before - didn't know it had a name hahaha...

Am hoping one day to make real chicken rice but too lazy at the moment. Need more people to eat - very hard to cook for 2 adults and a toddler.

It's a terribly HOT day....

styloBB,
Jerome completed the Si Wu Kuai Du series of books, and he is reading quite well in Chinese. I find that Berries does not teach enough words for kids to read independently after they completed K2.

I advise you to get as many Chinese picture books as you can, and ask jesse to read out loud for at least 30 mins to you everyday. Help him with the words he does not know. Kids learn very quickly this way. Start with very simple books, then move on to more difficult ones, there is no need to repeat, just keep reading new books. If he can do this everyday, you will see improvements after a few months.

Which Zhou's kitchen did you visit ? There is one at Jurong Point serving unlimited a-la-carte buffet.

snowball,
It is stated that the insurance will only pay if it is serious illness. I doubt that high fever is considered serious illness, especially for children.

Fairyprincess,
Yes I heard that you will be invited for an interview when you apply for the 5th maid in one year.

Hi StyloBB,

Iherb - the 6% disc was worth > the foc shipping cost actually.

Chixrice premixed - I like the brand Kee's followed by Primataste.

Gallstones need operation 2 remove. It is an easy procedure but need 2 stay 1 nite in hospital. Need 2 remove as can cause bad pains.

Hi Tam,

Zhou's kitchen at JP serve nice food. We took the ala carte menu. Like eat Stylobb mentioned, px reasonable.

In BKK for work now....

Thanks for the info re maids- I quickly read up and yes, MOM will query if you change >5 maids in 1 year period...good to be alerted to this info....

Tam- good advice re chinese...I must work harder with my kids...
How do you teach chinese idioms? "cheng yu"- are there good books on it, or is it via reading story books? My gal tells me some of her friends know a lot of chengyu....they must have a lot of exposure...

tam
Thanx for the tip. I shall have to borrow chinese books from the library from now on!

His berries teacher told me to revise with him more.. I am trying my best leh.. but there is only so much I can do. He is doing ok in school now. Like for all the surprise tests, he did pretty well.

My gfs and I went to the one at Square Two. Thinking of bringing my parents and hb/kids there soon...

I hv the Braun ear thermometer, also got it cheaper than normal some time ago thru a gf. This is a good deal.

You read all about the Indon maids on Sat's papers? You gonna put the articles on your blog?

fairy
Can I ask why you decide to get Myanmar maids instead of Filipino or Indon maids? Wah, then you hv to tolerate this one

I really wonder how do these kids pack in so much? Drilling or really v smart...

mumusings
Yeah, thinking of getting more steak for home meals... cos really reasonable.

yawn
My braces were the transparent type..

Such a hot day today...

Fairyprincess,
In Berries, kids are taught many "cheng yu" since they are 4 years old. If kids can remember all these "cheng yu" then they would know a lot of them by the time they entered P1.

I have heard of parents who make their kids memorize hundreds of "cheng yu". However, that does not mean that they know how to use them.

In the case of my girl, she is reading the 笑猫日记 series of books now and there are a large number of cheng yu used in these well written books. I think this is the best way to learn cheng yu, since kids learn how to use them in sentences. But then kids must read a large number of Chinese story books.

I have seen some cheng yu cartoon books in Popular bookshop, but I am not sure whether they are good. You can try looking for them.

styloBB,
Thanks for reminding me about the Indonesian maids on Sat papers, I just included it in my blog.
My maid is going back to Indonesia in June because her daughter has some problems, and I am praying hard that she will return !

rona, ahhaha.. the 2 of us sound so pathetic..cant change hairstyle (like men!) :p

mummusings..ahahah.. ur son is one hurricane... my beautician is at bt timah plaza, lee luan beauty salon tel : 64680214. B1 or B2 canot remember ahhaha... usually if i bring my gal i will warn her beforehand..but my gal still quite OK... she will not anyhow touch the things (eg, hot steamer or products) but sometimes will keep climbing up and down the 'beds'. Be prepared to pay at least $75 but she does not hard sell and she never forbade my kid from going in! :p i think ur son is very kind hearted actually.not wanting to eat brocoli cos he does not wan to eat the whos....

snowball, interesting that the stone at the kidney will cause problem at the stomach... sorry, not cursing ur BIL.. but could his kids be ADHD and needs intervention?

mommies.. did u all know if the call-for-queue-number system mentioned in the newspapers some time ago for polyclinic is for all illnesses and they no longer entertain walk in??? need to get referral from polyclinic cos my annual check up flag out something...

fairyprincess, yes, expensive school bus club!

sharon, weekdays cannot lah....

yawn, yeah..nowadays my gal also like places like coffee bean etc... beginning to reject food court..headache...

Joke abt la la... that day our canteen sold la la and my colleague was so excited..ordered it.. then end up all shell and only 1 closed (so the meat had not fallen out yet). but when she tried to open, the shell pop open and the meat fell onto the table/floor so 100% no la la meat for her :p

re pkt money.. how old r ur kids before u give them pkt money?? (from styloBB's topic abt asking jesse to foot half using his pkt money)

re braces.. my teeth are super croaked (with vampire teeth and those teeth facing each other i/o straight line)... but never go for braces cos last time no money, then subsequently i am afraid of pain and love my food too much :p if my gal get croaked teeth i will let her wear braces! :p

Hi Bloom,

The Urologist I am seeing also says that my stomach cramp not likely caused by the kidney stone lah. I am supposed to do a stomach scan and by chance spotted the kidney got stone. So, my stomach cramp problem is still left unsolved.

ADHD - I also suspect that he has mild ADHD but his father do not acknowledge that. So, nothing much we can do.

How's everybody?

Hair,
i also have curly hair n I think the rebonding technology was a life saver. But when rebonding was first introduced to Singapore, I couldn't afford it
. It became more affordable over the years. I chanced upon "soft straightening" (similar to rebonding - also chemical treatment with ironing") and is stuck with it since. The end result is more natural, and hair does not look as flat as rebonding.

Bloom, Rona,
Can consider giving rebonding or soft-straightening a try, then can explore other hair styles? I've tried cutting my hair to a chin-length bob after straightening, something I cannot do with my curly hair or I'll look like a mushroom head

Snowball,
Not to scare u hor - my experience of sever stomach cramp/pain lead to a diagnosis of me suffering from peptic ulcer, caused by a bacteria called helicobactor pylori. The pain usually comes in the middle of the nite, n is not relieved by food intake. The pain i had felt like very extreme gastric pains. During my treatment, I learn that when patients complain of stomach pain, the dr typically will zoom in on our kidney, gall bladder, appendix n sometimes spleen. Gastrointestinal checks are at times overlooked cos a scope is needed to check things out as a normal scan can't reveal anything. Stress can trigger the helibactor pylori bacteria to flare up.

Anyway, I hope the pains u had will come to pass soon.

I just saw a poly student, around 18 years old, heavily pregnant ! I could not believe my eyes. I wonder if this will ever be allowed in JC. The pregnant student is still allowed to study and still happily socialising with her friends. In a way, I am happy that our society is more liberal towards teenage mothers now. But I wonder how she is going to cope with her exams after the baby is born.

aly_nat,
I replied your email. Please check my email in your inbox or junk mail folder. Sorry for the late reply because your email landed in my junk mail folder and I always forget to check that.

tamarind

If she's unwed, then I suppose her parents will end up babysitting?

Not that I'm encouraging lah... but I think it's a good sign.

At least her friends are supportive, not ostracizing her. And my guess is her parents also resigned to fate liao, better to have a grandchild than having their daughter killed herself in wits end?

Ideally don't even get into this mess in the first place lah. This is like most ideal outcome in a worst case scenario

Hi Bloom,

Yes, my son is kindhearted indeed. He's kinder to plants and flowers than his own parents! He's one hurricane as you aptly put it.

One of the kindest outings to ourselves now is Ikea. He's into watching the heavy vehicles stacking up furniture parts behind the no-entry areas before the check-out at Tampines. We'll now eat something first and let him have the joy of having his own plastic cup of ice, some of our food before going straight to the lights department, then the vehicles. 3 hours
Then after, take a walk around Giant if we're still left with some energy and arm strength.

Need to ask a few questions:
At what age did your kid COMPLETELY:
(1) stop using milk bottle
(2) sleep through the night
(3) not want to sit in a stroller
(4) don't need to be carried

I only know that i'm looking forward to (2) and (4). (3) is fine 'cos I can use the stroller basket to dump all my shopping...

yawn,
I kept thinking of those TV drama where teenage mothers were forced to abort their babies, and ostracised by everyone. Looks like those days are gone ! At least it does not happen in Singapore now.

Not that I am encouraging too. I wonder if it is because sex education is not well taught in school.

That girl may be married. I have heard of lecturers being invited to their students' wedding :p

mumusings,
(1) I am embarrassed to admit that my kids still like to drink from the milk bottle sometimes. But most of the time they drink from the cup.

(2) Both can sleep through the night since less than 1 year old. You mean feeding milk at night right ? Not that your son wakes up in the middle of the night ?

(3) Since about 2 years old.

(4) Since about 1 to 2 years old.

Even after the above, I still could not relax. I only started to feel relieved when my kids can go to the toilet on their own, eat on their own, and basically don't bother me at all when I am at home hehehe

Hi Aly,

Thanks for the "warning". I have been complaining to the Company Dr about the cramping pain for more than a year now, which still comes in on and off. That is why, she asked me to do a stomach scan as my blood test shows that my gall bladder is function normally. Maybe, I should request for a Stomach scope the next round I see her just to confirm nothing wrong.

Hi Mumusings,

1) I started to cut-off my DD1 from milk bottle when she turned 4yo. She is now 4.5yo drinks her milk from cup. But, sometimes she still ask for her milk bottle when she sees her sister drinking milk from bottle. Now working on my DD2 to cut her off from milk bottle. She drinks her milk from sippy cup (w/straw) in the CC now.

2) Both my DDs sleep through the night since they were ard 4 mths old. Ironically, my DD2 wakes up at night for milk after she was 2 yrs old. But, not always. Recently, she has been sleeping thro' without asking for milk.

3) My DD2, now going 3 do not need the stroller actually. But, we still bring as she still need to nap in the afternoon. It is very heavy to carry her (ard 16kg now) when she zzzz while we are out

4) DD2 walks most of the time except when she is very tired or throwing tantrum that she wants to be carried.

tam
I think Sat's New Paper featured that maid who kicked the baby in the video. She was charged.

Preggie at 18 - Eek... that's scary.... agree with yawn says about 'This is like most ideal outcome in a worst case scenario' and is something none of us would want to face...!!!

No matter what, what can an 18 year-old do? Has not seen much of the world, yet has a baby. Her whole life would change leh, even though maybe her mom helps to look after... still......

Even tho I managed to travel last time, I still wish I had travelled more...

Read somewhere about modern couples' preference not to have kids. One hb even said he rather invests his money to provide for themselves in old age rather than on a kid... sigh....

bloom
Yeah, you take care.... (rona, you too).
Can't deny it, we are all ageing... lately my knee caps hurt when I climb the stairs..

mumusings
haha, same here, kids still drink from milk bottle, BUT... hv cut their milk drinking - no more at night. We give them fruits.
From six months - we trained them, had to do it as we were having sleep deficit. Better train ur child, otherwise it becomes more like a habit to wake up...
(3) not want to sit in a stroller
They like to sit, cos we had a twin stroller...haha
They still liked to be carried now, just that too heavy. Stimes we carry the gals but for a short distance only.

Thanks for the quick replies.

(1) Kid is starting to want to drink from his own cup.
(2) BUT still wakes up for milk around midnight and 4am. He drinks only 80ml each time - maybe it's because he's always been drinking so little and therefore gets hungry after a few hours.
(3)(4) Sits on stroiller for fun and only when needs to nap. Otherwise, likes to PUSH stroller about. Only wants to run when at playground, shops, play with animals, get up/down bus - otherwise he prefers to rest while being carried

As much as I never intended to spoil the kid, he has far too many toys. Now I keep 80% and rotate them. Gifts and treats through these 2 years. We don't get expensive toys. Only when there's 20%+10% off or during clearance sale. How many toys do your kids have, boys especially? I have a 'traffic' jam at home everyday! See pics here: http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2011/03/home-mumusings-63-clearing-traffic.html

He can now remember every single car and I'm finding it harder and harder to 'keep' some away from sight...

By the way (I always forget to post it here) I have some coupons and a Huggies sunhat to giveaway FOC. Let me know if any of you need it. I will pay for postage
http://mumusings.blogspot.com/p/giveaways.html

snowball,
Take care, hope all turns out well.

styloBB,
"Even tho I managed to travel last time, I still wish I had travelled more... "
I wish the same thing too ! My dream destination is the Antarctica and Northern Europe.

I have heard of couples who rather have a dog than have kids.

I didn't know that maid was charged, didn't read the New Paper. Good to hear that.

Am in BKK now- for some strange reason- bangkok's temperature is not more than 25 deg- with cool breeze blowing all day???? Even my Thai colleagues agree that the weather is unusual- I was at my favourite chatuchak park on Sun- and it was cool and sunny, rather than boiling hot and sunny....and I was cold walking around BKK on Sun?!?

To mumusings' questions:
1. stop drinking from bottle- around 6 for my elder and 4 for my younger- the easiest way to wean them off- I threw ALL their bottles out one day- so nothing left, can't have it even if they want...
2. sleep thru the night- from around 18 months- I refuse to feed them overnight, so they got weaned off overnight milk feeds
3. sit in stroller- at some point, it was my elder who wanted to sit, and my younger who loved to walk...then by aroud 5YO or so- too large to fit stroller liao- so can't sit even if they want too- they will get stuck when getting out...
4. carry- prob by 4YO or so....now I miss the days I carried them, but very heavy to carry them....30kg for my P2 gal, and 25kg for my K2 gal...

Thanks Tam about the chinese books....yeah, no short cut to learning the language...

Looks like I'm the only want still working on mumusings questions:
still using all the time. But they drink water with their sippy cups.
My daughter can sleep through the night unless she is fussy which is quite rare. But my son is notoriously fussy. He wakes up crying around 3am and wants milk. After drinking he will sleep through till about 7am. Since the maid sleeps with him, she will wake up to feed and pat him.
3)to sit in a stroller
They will still sit but after they are familiar with the environment, they want to explore the place.
Still want to be carried. Hubbi and I can still carry them coz they only 9.5kg. But later when they get heavier may be a problem.

Thanks Fairy and Sophia

One thing great was that he threw away the pacifier when he was around 13mth old. Didn't want it anymore... now hoping to wean him off the 3am crying-for-milk.

At least you boy can throw away the pacifier. My twins suck their thumbs....so when they are sleepy can tell as they will be sucking their thumbs no matter where they are.

Hi Sophia,

Now that you mentioned about sucking thumbs... my son has never sucked his thumb before - never seen it before. My sister was on pacifier till 4 years old when she was small!

snowball, oh well.. men usually are not receptive to such issues...

aly_nat, how curly are ur curls? when i do rebonding, the new growth will be very obvious (and ugly) after 2 months.. so its not nice.. so might as well not do. rebonding also cause more significant hair loss for me. Ur peptic ulcer..may i know where is ur pain? Mine is also in the middle of the night, but near to the groin area. Happens once or twice a month 20 min each. How was ur peptic ulcer diagnosed? How is the treatment like?

tam, yes , nowadays some kids got married very young (esp when they dated older men).

mummusings, re ur Qs...

At what age did your kid COMPLETELY:
(1) stop using milk bottle --> now at 4yo+ and still on bottle. Planning to stop her soon but not yet cos she is still having midnight feeds sometimes...
(2) sleep through the night --> sleep throughout most of the time after 3+. Now still wake up once in a while for mid-of-the-night-feed, esp when she did not eat enuf during the day (one mommy told us the hospital nurse told her that she must feed her premmie child small meals throughout the day to ensure that he is full to last the night w/o waking, and I agree, as I notice that my gal will tend to wake up if she did not have rice for dinner)
(3) not want to sit in a stroller --> still letting her sit , cos otherwise it will be me carrying!
(4) don't need to be carried --> still wanting to be carried.

Sometimes I think the extent of the above is partly based on the parents. Eg, if the mommy is expecting another child, then she had 'no choice' but to stop carrying no1 no matter how the kid whine and after some time it will stop.

To those mommies whose kids are no longer using the bottle BUT still waking up in the night for milk... do you use cup? Or just use bottles for middle of the night feeds and cups for waking moments?

styloBB, my knee caps starting hurting when i was in my 20s (too chor-lor when wearing my > 3inch heels) :p I am really very badly maintained.

styloBB, aly_nat, basically my CA19-9 was flagged as high during my health checkup. It supposedly can mean anything from infection to cancer. So have to get referral to hospital for a whole series of tests to eliminate the cause of it (going pte will be too exp and my company will not allow me to claim)

Hi Bloom,

Thanks. Yes, my son sleeps better if he eats a heavy dinner. And also if he gets to play/run around alot in the day.

Got to show you what I found in one of the squids I bought today. Screamed like mad 'cos I didn't know what 'bit' me when I was trying to pull out the insides (you know what I mean)...

A 20cm fish!!!!! All intact and gills still red. Undigested so I think the fellow must have been enjoying his dinner when he was caught by the fisherman

Hi Mumusings,

I also have such encounters before. Pulled out 2 small fishes when cleaning the sotong. Even the smaller sotong, I also have pulled out small fishes. Typical 大鱼吃小鱼. Ha Ha

Hi Tam,

Thanks for your concern. I do really hope its just normal gastric kinda pain and nothing else.

Hi Sophia,

Thumb-sucking habit is more difficult to kick than pacifiers. My 2 gals were on pacifiers until about 2yo where I got them to throw away the damaged pacifiers from biting and biting until broken.

Tam, Stylo,
me, too. I wish I can travel more. I wanna go Eastern Europe! Being SAHM now, no time, no money

Mumusings,
I think (3) n (4) kinda go together. my dd refuse stroller at about 24mths. So I told her if she does not want to be inside, then we will not bring the stroller along, which means she has to walk on her own! And we make sure she knows that at crowded places, she must hold hands with either Dad or Mum. So far so good

3am milk - do u think that waking is out of habit, or is he really hungry? My SIL's solution to that is to add some cereal or brown rice to the last milk feed. She reckon that fills up little tummies to last till morning. If it's habitual, how about feeding him with water instead of milk?

Bloom,
Don't know how to describe my "curls"... or should it be "waves"...

Your health check very detailed. Rarely they check for CA 19-9.

Peptic ulcer,
sounds different hor. My pain was somewhere between the rib bones n naval. But when it comes, it's really excruciating - enough to send me to A&E, and it happen 2 weeks after I delivered my #2. Initial check revealed that I suffered from liver inflammation due to overdose of chinese herbs - confinement foods (haha, funny right, but this was the conclusion drawn by the ang mo dr as we were living overseas then). Anyway, no treatment for that except that I was to stop eating those "undesirable" stuff. The pain did go away after being in the hospital for 3 days. 1 week later, the pain re-surface, and I went to see a GP who ordered a carbon breath test. After reviewing my case notes, he suspect I was suffering from peptic ulcer. And this test is very fast and effective to test if I had the helibactor bacteria.

For treatment, I had to take a concoction of 4 types of medicine (antibiotics n other drugs)for 1 week, following by 3months of nexium, to totally eradicate the bacteria. Although the treatment was painless, it was highly stressful as I worry how the drugs will affect my breast milk for my newborn.

anyone went through mammogram and care to share experience/comments?