Any Flying mothers around?

wa...so many meh? Anyway they just did fresh cc recruitment on 21st-22nd Jun or so? training, retraining, nvr ending..
visited the blog too..piangz..sound like some love/sex story book abstract.

OK, gave up the Shichida mtd job smtm back, found another job with higher pay oredi, yeah!
5d week, off wkends!!
SOO, finding a gd job with prime time off is still poss! Glad i managed to hold on! ;)

hello all ex crew mummies!

I've juz resigned as i'm abt 9 weeks along... glad i stumbled on this forum.
how are things? Me oso dunno if wanna go back flying after giving birth. But money is good lor

Hi Jo,

Welcome to this thread!!!

Money is definitely gd flying lah... but time with our kids is also so precious.

July 7th, I think probably ard 1000 cc?? hehe its my ger's bday too!

my baby is 2 mths old now. resigned in sep last yr. dunno whether to go back these few mths or when he's 1 yr old.
flying is still a good job. miss shopping and eating nice food overseas. pretty sick of life in singapore.
but will miss my boy if i decide to go back. now in dilema.. haiz

hi jo,
welcome to motherhood!!!!

hello sugar, i quit Aug last yr, after few mth job hunting,finally starting work on Mon! Really hv some mixed feelings as to whether I can perform at admin work aft >5yr in airline.

Anyway m starting work only aft getting everything settled,put at in-laws' hse,& my maid will help them wif hsehold chores & mind baby. Aft 3mths of training/monitoring myself,tink she can be trusted..cos in-laws will kp an eye.

Hubby n i figured if i dun start work soon,it will b even harder 2 start later.Luckily i hv sis & cousin still flyin,thou i miss flying (shoppin/eating),i can still get my buys (but sis will complain big time)..
but the main deterrance in gng bk to fly is the nite-stops away (2nites for 3days flt; 7nites consective for 8d flt)! so long away..i want 2 bond wif baby, & not hv chemicals (hairspray/nail polish) lurking ard..so decided 2 find grd job 1st.....hopefully it can bring me sm overseas travel opportunities too!

Hi Sugar,

Welcome to the thread!

Yeah true true the hairspray & nail polish is so bad for our kiddos.. but really do miss shopping and eating at different stations esp Japan and States!!!!

ya lor,
envy my hubby everytime he goes to narita or states. seems like there's so much nice baby stuff to buy in these stations. how i wish i can go too.... nothing can beat going to these destinations and buying the stuff myself

hot soup,
i think it'll be very hard for me to get a ground job since this is my 1st job after i left school. some more i see pp working on ground putting in long hours at work (also no time for baby). so you're also entitled for the bonus too!!! can check bank ac on the 21st
good luck on your new job!

hi sugar n jo
Welcome to our gathering here! A plc whr we can still mit common ppl n tok common topic...

Hotsoup
u quit last aug? Me too leh! Did u mention dat earlier or i forgot??? Anyway, CONgrAtS for finding a job! Wat do u do n salary bracket? Don't mind to share? I tink we'll still hVe some vAlue lah, hor??

Sugar,
i tink all of us here feel the same way as u do - miss the stations shopping, food, etc! Sin is getting so ex everywhr n everything! But the bonding wif our child is definitely more fruitful n fulfilling as a mummy den anything else! I guess once u r a mummy, u tend to put ur child above everything else. U rather gain the closeness, watch ur child grow, mit every milestone den ur own happiness such as shopping n eating overseas! Jus b thankful dat we ONCE had dat kinda luxurious lifestyle. Nw we gotta a bigger task to accomplish n time to move on! Although occasionally we'll miz it... I jus dreamt dat i was back flying n got b2 position but another gal change wif me to b4 cos i jus got back n the flt was full... Hahaha

Galz who jus quit not long ago --- did u rec ur ltr fm co? I rec'd the ltr dat i'll get the pro-rated bonus.... Add cash for me! Yippee...

sugar
u can still go into tourism industry like hotel or customer svc kinda jobs. The training in our co some other co love it!!!

godsent,
so funny! me too. keep having dreams abt flying. one funny one was tat i was ls2 and i forgot to update my announcement text!some more pax were boarding before i could borrow one from the lss in eycl.
then another one was tat i forgot to leave EBM for my son and i went for flt!

i also received the letter from co. so 21st can get some pocket money.. hahahaha

hahaha so funny.. i also had a dream of flying... was back to fly and was super nervous... almost forget how to work! Gosh... do i really miss flying so much? But like what Godsent said, i think witnessing and experiencing every milestone of our kids is above anything else! I also put my child above everything else... thats y till now still haven't go actively to look for a job. Will probably do so when she starts full day school.

I think we are most valuable in tourism industry! But also depending on whether they think we are an asset or not lor.... My friend in one of the hotels in sg told me... they like stewardess but they prefer someone young below 30. Faintz...

thnx godsent,sugar..
i do admin stuff,supp 2 help boss, salary range 2.5-3.5, how abt urs?

I was rather laidbk in job-hunting,only look out for Sat papers,&amp; applied < 5 &amp; late each time. I am in my late 20s now, so i guess some co. still will hire.
&amp; I tink it's true most co. look at age to train so better 2 start early smwhere. My new boss also hired headhunter but age was a factor (women got menopause etc)...so if by 30+ we dun acquire certain skills will be phased off.

Of cos witnessing baby's milestones most impt &amp; fulfilling,provided both comfortable with 1 person's salary...
It also depends on couple's lifestyle,habits.My hubby's parents pamper their children quite abit i find, so if i were to man the household alone, I will be working non-stop cos own expectations high..&amp; miss out on quality time wif baby,hubby (aft work). So now my maid works non-stop,keke, wash baby's cotton diapers, iron my hubby's casual tees (his mum used to do that), of cos... i treat her well too &amp; she respects us. furthermore my hubby keen in doing own biz, so as a wife i need to be supportive so i need to find stable job.

Anyway, my plan (if current job dun bring me far) will be to stay home and look after my 2 children after my 2nd one is born (plan 2yrs time)..see how it goes.

sugar, u got hubby flying got company hor can couple-code still..so good. U dun hv to work ma, haha..wait for him 2 buy bk stuff &amp; use free ticket to travel lor!!

Now I am also reading up &amp; understand generally baby's developmental stages..currently reading Glenn doman's bks..quite brain-washing but i think they are true..bonding wif baby is v.impt! but make sure u r enjoying it everytime cos baby will noe!!

godsent,
think i'm over the age limit liao. my hubby suggested having another baby then decide whether to fly or not. think gotta hang up my kebaya for good liao

hotsoup,
your new job seems pretty good.. i'm starting my baby on "your baby can read" series when he's 3 mths. my hubby used to say tat we'll leave the baby in sin then enjoy "er ren shi jie" overseas, now he's saying tat baby very pitiful if both parents are away. think its because my mil is a housewife and he's used to having his mum at home with him when he was young.

<font color="0000ff">HI welcome Sugar &amp; JO!</font>

Yap I heard Tammy is flying aridi. And she zapped a LS.

HOtsoup, lucky you. Guess you hv the adv due to yr age.

I think this yr resignation rate should be around 80?

Read today and yesterday newspaper abt having more bb?

My wish list:

1.$$$
2. Always welcome ret mother to work force with 'open arms' and nt with 1 finger. (Cut the crab abt left the work force for so long, eg.2yrs.. that all I can offer you)
3. Pay ask whwn we are going on maternity leave.
4. Don't discrimate pregnant women cannot work, etc...

Hotsoup,
I'm getting 3.5K excluding comm - it's like a sales job.. so work hard, pay hard.. Ya, age is always a factor in sin society. so dat's y i left at 30.. still employable ba...

i saw that our co is employing CC thru bus ad!!! can u imagine? they gotta go into such extend!!!

nothing much for me to post..envy those who found gd grd jobs. im gg mid-30s liao, market value drop alrdy..sigh!!

evtime b4 flt i becm super moody..will scold my maid for nothing..juz feel so sian to leave my bb again. smmre my flts very tight, turns and 2-3days flt..get only 1 day off, how to spend time with my boy??

glad to have new mummies joining this thread.

Hmm... I havent seen the bus ad yet leh... wah... going to such extend arh! I guess they need crew cus they expect alot to quit after the bonus since every yr also like that hehehe

Sungrapes,
Don't be... must think positive... sometimes have to treat maid a bit better lah... then they will take care better care of your boy... wait they angry and take it out on your boy how?? Do u install a camera in your hse so you can monitor and video her?

Thanks for the welcome mummies
yay bonus coming in soon! For those receiving it on 21st. keke... i oso dunno wanna come back not.. hubby's roster so tight oso. Constantly on flight if not back in office for training. Juz bored out of my skull at home...tried applying for jobs but companies din even have decency to reply. Not many companies wanna employ pregnant women... haiz...

mummies with maids,
recently found my maid in the room wearing her white prayer robes and praying on her mat..with my bb in the room sleeping in the sarong,and it was mid afternoon during my boy's naptime. is she allowed to do that?? i dun mind her praying at nite wen the day ends for her, but in the daytime in the same room as my sleeping bb? any advice? and she has asked for day off on hari raya..can anot?
thks..

Jo,

Of course they wont reply... if they reply, they have to be diplomatic in their replies or else will get into trouble for not hiring pregnant women! So much trouble for them... i guess they would prefer to "overlook" your application.

wow godsent, that's a pretty decent salary ;)urs sales job? Commission must b quite a lot? which area, MNC? How u find it so far? benefits good?

I went conference sales interview b4, basic is pathetic only $1k! commission is more though maybe s$200-300+ depending on type.

sungrapes.pray in room, how long each time? guess she needs some privacy, shld b ok as long as she doesn't chant aloud and does it at a corner when baby cannot see/hear her? off day on hari raya, i tink give n take lor, maybe that's her only way of connecting to her religion/country/roots in a foreign land..she gng to pray right?

hot soup (hotsoup), wow, that is pathetic. Cut thoart man! Now is employer market.

Got a sad news to annouce, I got to resign again. Ha ha!

hey,petite! great news!!! congrats!! seem like not too long ago when i met u in stc to collect birthday banners..tat time u still gg thru training..now got 2nd 1 alrdy! how time flies! *ENVY*

hi hi, long time no chat!!!

btw, who is tammy?

talking about this maternity leave thingy, you girls should read the Today Papers for today. (background of this: some crew wrote to the Papers that we do not get maternity benefits and out of job once we get pregnant).

The company reply was- the crew knew that they have to quit and be out of job when they are pregnant. They signed the contract (BIG FULL STOP.

I think if we can get a ground job that pays close to 3K, then not so attractive to go back flying. Do you all agree?

woofwoof,
tammy is the poly gal whose hp was found with scenes of her making love with her boy fren. it spread like wild fire.. people were downloading thru e mails and hps a few years ago

Woof,

Actually have ground job seems to have more advantage than flying lor. Flying is for the moment you can save up as much as you can but for ground job its stability. Regular work hrs, if you are pregnant, still have job, have maternity leave (paid somemore). I think company shld review on that aspect.

Sigh... can't get a job yet since my ger still so young. Next year she will be starting sch

petite chose, u are so fast!!!

ylc, it is only 4 months til next year and yr DS can go school.... good luck on your job hunt!

about tammy
never occur to me is that TAMMY..... i told my hubby tat tammy is flying- he got all excited and said tat he must look out for her next time he flies SQ....hehehe
this gal is really fierce- just started flying and zap LS.... Crew nowadays are so different.

wow..someone is speaking up! Is she still flying? Facts wrong ley 'can return only after 2yrs'?!

best job is SAHM! Bond with baby! hehe.

Govt should reduce working hours of all companies. All to go home by 5.30pm so baby production line can start! haha.

Female crew quite 'cham', resign must produce Doc's letter (Must pay for own urine test in cash too, my god?! it's like 'death sentence' slapped in the face) &amp; of cos when d crew apply for other jobs thereafter, cannot pretend too she quit SIA cos of other reasons. No protection. *Shake head*

Irony: Those ladies who are really keen in flying as a career get 'sidelined' in the process of starting a family. I do not see how pro-family this is. There is no initiatives at all fr. co. on securing jobs for preggy female crew. Perhaps they should have a term stating 'female crew who worked more than 5yrs in the co. will be offered an affiliated ground job with decent pay', such that in the meantime, they can learn more on other aspects of the company's running etc. Is it not true?

'Glamorous' female crew end up not so glamorous after all. Bonus sounds like alot at times, but it's peanuts compared to flight crew.

i oso say!! Govt keep asking us to gv birth, but SQ is a govt owned comapany oso wat! Y they not taking the initiative??? Infact, most pro-family comapnies r offshore companies. Y no reporter dare to take tis up har??

Btw, i heard tat the Tammy in the airline is not THAT Tammy leh..

Aiyoh, u think can post in CCN and satisfy our curiousity once and for all?

Twinkletotts,
u got c me b4 in a/c is it? i oso wan no.2. But....my hb cannot make it as a parent. to bring aonther 1 in2 tis world will be a HUGE mistake.

I actually resigned twice.. once in jun07 when i found out i was preggie.. made a mistake and when to raffles first before seeing my gynae.. tat pregnancy didn't work out so the following week i had to call HR to get my job back.

Then they grounded me for 2 days in stc to get a new crew id (i did not do any clearance yet). after tat told me tat i would be on standby the whole month as the rosters were out liao...

but tat was a blessing in disguise as during tat 6 weeks i got called up for chc 4 days... del 3 days.. sq12.. paris.. and man 7 days!!! Then found out i was preggie again!!! actually wanted to do fukuoka after tat but tan eng huat onboard ..haiz.. didn't wanna stress myself..

this time i went to see my gynae first.. took the scan from her and showed the dr in raffles.. this time didn't have to pay tat $20 for the stupid test.

UPDATES:

We refer to your email to DMP on 22 Aug 2008, which was forwarded to MOM.

2 We note that your concerns were also reported in the forum page of TODAY on 25/8/08, and the company has given their response.

3 The company has also explained to the Ministry that the practice is in accordance with the collective agreement of SIA and the union, which carried a provision that a female cabin crew who is pregnant and certified unfit to fly by company doctors would be required to cease employment. However, the staff may apply for an alternative ground job. Notwithstanding the company's explanation, the Ministry will be discussing your concerns with the SIA management.

Yours sincerely,

Jeanette Har-Tiong
Deputy Director
Employment Standards Branch . Labour Relations &amp; Workplaces Division . Ministry of Manpower . Tel (65) 6317 1207 . Fax (65) 6535 4811 . http://www.mom.gov.sg.

WOW! Actually SQ also govt owned what... some more alot of females working in the company... Its the best place to target for them to "produce"! Yeah its only this aspect, it sucks so much! When I got pregnant, it was so close to my 5th yr so I didnt quit based on pregnancy but contract up and didn't renew. I guess if i really want a career, wont consider flying.

Sigh... when my ger starts sch.. its about time to start producing baby #2! We are planning lor... so how to go find job? Work for few mths get pregnant again.. think employers wouldn't even want to hire me! hahaha ;)

Hey read the newspaper? It was reported that a steward raped a rather junior crew leh! I heard its a LS leh! OMG and he has got a family.

oh... i checked the crew on flt going and returning abu dhabi those few days,
its an indian ls...staff no 58 something... flew with him before leh... seems quite a nice guy.. some more abt 2.5 yrs ago on the flt i did with him, he paxed back from lon as his wife gave birth then.......drinker lah... maybe tat's how things started

i read from the papers that he got a hotel staff to open the FSS door for him, not the FSS open the door herself..... poor girl!!!

why didn't she latch the door from inside?

OMG! Aiyo maybe the hotel no latch on the door leh? Some hotels dun have latch one... so poor thing!!! That LS hor really really bad!

i believe there's always 2 sides to a story...the girl might have lead him on. U noe man..when the cat is not ard, the mouse comes out to play..somemre under the influence of alcohol.

Nowadays, the girls oso very daring type. I rem 1 gs told me how a fss came to his room want to borrow moisturiser. then she offer to moisturise the gs oso, then happening alrdy lor..

i juz pity the wife and kids at home.she muz be gg thru hell..and how to explain to the kids abt wat their father did??