All about Hiring Helper/Maid in Singapore

MistyCloud

I'm new to it and my maid is coming in 2 week's time so would be glad if I can get advise from experienced mums here.

Firstly, wanna find out how do you all get your maid to wash her own clothes? I'm definitely asking her to wash her undergarments separately.

Hi,

My maid used my washing machine to wash her clothes, coz the amount of water she used to handwash is alarming. Unless you want to limit her washing to 2 pails of water (water in their village is free/cheap so they dont realise how ex is PUB charging us).

I think you need to set expectations right in the first place. We took it easy initially thought that she need time to adapt, but she get lazier as time goes by. Things that she was not asked to do and now u ask her to do, she will "make noise". Make clear what is her responsibilities.

I was thinking of listing and printing out the paper for her to keep. Don't know whether she can understand or not.

Agree about the water usage... It's really alarming... My maid came and left after 2 weeks and in that 2 weeks alone, my water reading increased by 200%! Her usage in that 2 weeks is equivalent to 2x me and my husband combined!!

Similar like what mocha_c mentioned, I suppose is due to the washing of clothes... I didn't check on her but I hear the water keep running for a good 20-30mins non-stop when she's hand washing her own clothes... And I tink she's relaxing and enjoying my rain shower inside the bathroom as well...

Wah... I feel like have so many things to teach her once she's here and wants to set her expectation right also. Don't want her to think that I'm asking her to do more once baby is here. Coz I'm getting my maid in about 1.5 mths before delivery.

Goggle and search for maid house rules. I find some advice in the templates giving some good examples to new employers.

undergarments i think my parents' maid wash her seperately coz she hand wash...