Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

ribena, I called up agents that I'm going to see them this Sat. They actually filter their biodatas according to my requirements. U shd ask the agent to do so too, giving u all the biodatas for u to select is a bit tough. I'm also worried to get those irresponsible agent.

Ribena,
The agency I go to doesn't give me that kind of attitude. My mum & I have gone to that agency all these years for our maids. The staff know us well and we are not the type who complain to them unless the maid is on our nerves.

Tamarind,
I think we have encountered enough of nonsense from Filipino maids. It's not that all of them are that bad, but to get a reliable one is really difficult. Endless comparisons, frequent sms and yakking on handphone, attitude problems are really hard to tolerate.

Last year, I gave my maid $20 for CNY red packet. Throughout the year, she has surpassed my expectations. When my hubby went to France for training, she packed his luggage. She was very happy when my hubby bought her a t-shirt from France. Then my girl had high fever and she looked after her the whole night for a week. I was down with a bad flu then. Gave her $40 this year for CNY and she was so happy.

I guess it is 2 way traffic. Because she has helped me so much, the only way I can show her my gratitude, is through care and concern. By doing so, we are all happy.

ribena,
i agree with the rest. Better to get the agent to shortlist for you. For mine, i've been in contact with this agent some 2 mths back and told her that my priority is that she must have experience in looking after young children. So each time she comes across those that she thinks it's suitable, she will fax them over to me.

Ribena,
It's good to go for an agent who knows what you need. Otherwise they will just throw all the biodatas to you and let you read for yourself.

Hi Lani, Rec'd your mails. Thks a lot.

Hi vone, my maid's loan had yet finished... So i can only return back to her agent. She is an experience maid.... She knows how to get her way through, there's nothing I can do to her. Even my MIL & SIL cant do anything to her.
During CNY period, we were at my MIL's hse, at 10plus, she told my SIL that she wanted to go back home..(as i stay nearby MIL, is only walking distance). She dun dare to ask the rest of us since my sil is easier to attack. I do not know this till today......... wasnt aware that she is so daring.....to request such thing.
If i question her, she'll act blur... smiling there...(her smile is those cunning type).
Even the SG agent can do nothing to her (or shld I say this agent is useless)
Ladies out there dun go to this agent, he dun have office, he was introduce through words of mouth...
ART Employment Services
The 1st time I approach him, he sound professional. However the 1st maid i get from him, after wkg for less than 2 mths, told me she wanted to trsf out. I must say she is the cunning type... She told my MIL that she likes to work for her, but tell me otherwise. Ask me if she can dun go my MIL hse.. I told her not since my son is over at her place, she needs to go over. B4 she agreed to come over, I have told the agent specifically that she needs to do 2 hsehold and additional $$ will be given to her.
She must agreed b4 she takes up this job. Since she had requested, I had no choice but to let her go... my current maid is a free transfer.. so the agent dun really bother.... the biodata he provide is so limited....when i told him i got problems with my current maid, he dun even bother to come over, just get the indo agent to call to my hse and talk to her. Ask him when is the WP ready after 1mth, he said that is ready.. but he dun hv time to deliver... His actions doesnt tally what he promise as he does home delivery services since he dun have an official office for ppl to go over.. Therefore pls remember not to use this agent.

Hi Leoleo,
Some agents can be rather unscrupulous. When they have rejected Filipino maids, they try to push them out telling the prospective (and sometimes desperate) employer how good and experienced they are. That's why it is so important to go to an agent who doesn't promise the stars and moon and yet can't deliver.

Vone, my silly sil nearly gave her $60 as RP for helping to spring clean her hse ! Goodness, that's spoilt market rite.

Come to think of it, for the past 2 months my poor maid has to wash more clothing (My sis & bil can't bear not seeing their new born). Even thou, she never complains but I'll rather be automatic abit.

Can someone advice me on :-

1) When is the best time to ask her whether she wants to renew or go back ?

2) How long should I let her go back, should I decide to renew her contract ?

3) Usually extend for 1 yr / 2 yrs ?

4) How much to increase ? Currently getting $230.

5) Is dental provided by employer, just like medical ?

6) If maid is allowed a day off, what time should she goes & return ?

Ma22,
$60 for red packet ??? My goodness, she really spoilt the market. I gave my maid $40 this year. Then for her birthday I give her $20. Occasionally, I buy her a t-shirt or face wash.

My opinion:
1) You have to decide if she is worth extending. If yes, then you can ask her 6 months in advance to think about it.

2) If she wants to extend, then you have to give her 2 weeks holiday back home. Employer also buys a 2 way ticket.

3) If I extend her, I won't think of 2 years. Try for another year because you never know if she will change. Her attitude may change, knowing you depend on her. I only plan to extend my maid for about 1 year. She wants to go home and get married too.

4) New maids (Indonesian) are getting the basic of $280. My maid is getting $250. So will increase to $280 if she extends.

5) My maid is afraid of dentists and doctors. Back in her country, they don't visit dentists. I do bring her to see the doctor if she is very sick. Otherwise, she will take Panadol for the normal headaches and cramps.

6) If I allow my maid a day off, she should go out like 9am and be back by 5pm after she has eaten her dinner outside.

janet,
so has your maid decided to extend yet?? wah...they take damn long to consider hor...? can i know which area of indo she comes from? so sorry hor, but can you give me your maid agency details again? thanks!
maybe next time when i decide to get a maid can consider your agency

Lani,
Yeah, you are so right. They take so damn long to decide whether to extend or not. It's like they have some big plans or whatever.

My maid came from Central Java. It's ok. I can tell you again. The agency is called Express at Bukit Timah Plaza 2nd floor. BTW, it's not my agency lah. HaHaHa.

Hi Ladies, will you interview the indonesian maids??? via tel-interview? How to go abt asking them qns to determine if they are suitable?

Leo,
Most of them are not able to answer many questions over the phone being so new. The biodata is also a lot of bullshit, about being able to cook and all that. Most of them can't.

Leo,
I have interviewed some Indonesian maids over the phone before. It is quite useless. They cannot understand what I am saying, and I have to go through the maid agency staff to interpret. Then I have no idea what they maid has replied, because the agency staff could say anything to make them look good.

I have interviewed transfer maids (those currently in Singapore), and these can speak English quite well. Here are the questions I ask:

1. I will tell them 10 things and ask them to repeat to me. This is to test their intelligience.

2. I ask them what is their previous duties. In particular, I will ask them whether they use hand to wipe the floor, or use mop. I prefer those who use hand, that means their work is very tough. When they work for me, I will let them use mop, and they will appreciate better.

3. I will ask them whether they have any friends or relatives in Singapore. If they have, I will not hire them.

4. I will ask them what they cannot eat. I will not hire any fussy eaters.

5. If they claim that they can cook, I will ask them how they cook, what ingredients they use, what are the steps. This is to test if they are lying. The same goes if they claim they know how to look after babies.

If you interview a maid over the phone, and she can understand and reply you in English, you can try these questions too.

leo, oh gosh... ur maid is really 2 much. so when can u rtn her 2 d agent or u hv 2 tahan til her contract finish??

ma22, ya, ur sil really spoils d mkt. bt wat 2 do, it's her $$ afterall.

tamarind, wah, ur qns r veri gd!! tks. nw i noe wat 2 ask liao.

Tamarind,
Wow, your questions can be really tough for those who are fresh. I remembered my mum asking what she can cook and her answer is 'yes'. But thank goodness she picked up English fast soon after she came.

dear Vone, thks for yr *hugz*.

needed that...

now still waiting for my agent to update on the status of new indo maid. dont know why no news..sigh..

Ribena, i tahan 11 days cos no choice. i stupid go pick up maid on new year eve. agency closed all the way till 11 days later. the day they reopen, i immed return the maid to them!!!

ask yr opinion. my new Indo maid is coming soon.
Her main role will be to take care of my MIL (who got injured recently. She can walk but cant go toilet herself. need help).

Since she is taking care of my MIL, she cant take care of my baby (i am giving birth in few more days time). So I have no choice but to move back to my mom's place. but now i am so worried, cos no one to train the maid. and worse my MIL so old, alone at home with maid.

I have asked for help from my hubby's family, but they said no need to worry. they will pop by to take alook once in a while. I have another BIL staying with us, he wk shift so sometimes afternoon will be at home.

But i am still v worried. do u all think it is safe to let the new maid alone in house with my very old MIL? she doze off quite often.
I am scare maid run away, keep go out, make calls, bully my MIL, laze around.. and she so new. no one to train her.. but i dont know how to convince my hubby's family to help!

i think i am going crazy soon thinking about all these.... super stress (esp with my baby arriving soon)...

What would you do if yr maid's boyfriend also comes to Singapore to work ? Would u send her home immediately ?

sharon, d website is :-
http://www.sp.edu.sg/corporate/courses/fdw2004.htm

mum88, u r welcome.
gd luck 2 u in ur search 4 a new maid. 4 ur mil's case, since u hv oledi done ur best, then dun tink abt it anymore. afterall, she's d mother of ur hb & bil. if they dun wan 2 do anything, then ur hands r tied aso. take care & dun tink so much. bb is more impt!!

Hi mum88,
I can understand your worries and stress. On your side, you and baby will be taken care of by your mum since confinement done over there. However, you are really sweet to care about your MIL left alone with a new maid. BTW, is the maid hired to look after your MIL and baby ? After your confinement, you will be shifting back to your place ?

I wonder if you can have the confinement done at your own place instead. This way, you get to keep an eye on the maid (can train her a little) as well as see that your MIL is ok. Otherwise, it's really not advisable to leave a new maid with an old lady or even a baby.

It will be tough but can your mum maybe help by staying over your place during this period ?

dear Vone,

thks for yr advise.

i am telling myself that too.. but sigh...
i am just worried about my home.. hee hee... hope the maid dont steal things!

Jaci,
Does your maid have off day ? I won't feel at ease if I am working, because I am afraid the maid's boyfriend will pop over my house when no one is around and they may have hanky panky.

Hi Tamarind,
Need your advice. My maid is thinking of extending another year with me. I told her to go home for 2 weeks break before coming back. She doesn't want to do that, saying her mum won't let her come back after the 2 weeks. What's your opinion ?

Janet,
Since your maid says she doesn't want to go back, then you don't need to let her go home. My maid has just renewed 2 more years with me, she also does not want to go home.
It is better for you, you can save the air ticket. You can check your original contract to see if you need to compensate her, if nothing is written then better still.

Janet,

Yes, she is going to have a day off starting from this month and her bf is coming on monthend. Infact, she told my mum she will not dare to bring the bf to my house else she will get pregnant (jokingly). I don't take it as a joke, I think she is very silly to say that and it is not once she said that to my mum.

jaci,
Tell your maid that if she gets pregnant, she will be sent back to her country. You should not allow any day off for your maid, since her boyfriend is in Singapore. Tell her that you will compensate her by increasing her salary. If she does not agree, then you should consider sending her back.

mum88, then u lock up all ur valuables.
dun tink so much k. jus njoy d last few days of ur pregnancy.

sharon, u r welcome.

jaci, tink ur maid is veri stupid 2 make such remarks & it's nt even once. mayb u can do wat tamarind had suggested??

Hi Tamarind,

I need your advice. I am making arrangements for my maid to go back for 2 weeks and she tells me she has to get her passport stamped so she can come back. Any idea if it's true?

I thot just buy her a return air tix and give her her work permit will do. So my plan is to renew her work permit only after she returns from Indonesia.

Hi bluebell,
If you let your maid go back before her work permit expires, then there is no need to get any stamp at all. I know this because my maid went back for 3 days after she worked for me for about a year. It was quite urgent, I bought the air ticket and send her to the airport on the same day, no problem at all.

You can just buy her the return air ticket, give her the passport and work permit. If she does not return, you can cancel her work permit.

Have just emailed you the spreadsheet. Sorry for the delay but I've been quite busy these few days, planning my trip to Australia (making bookings, packing, changing dd's passport photo, etc).

Jaci,
She doesn't need to bring her boyfriend to your home for any hanky panky. Since she's going to have a day off, any place will do. But it's a good thing that she is so dumb to repeat it several times. Now you can consider sending her back since there is a high chance she won't agree to NO off day.

Need your advise.
My maid has the problem of forgetful. How can I handle this?

I ask her to write down , but still forget. thingas that she been doing for 2 week, today, forget to do.?
How? I dare not leave my baby with her alone, she so forgetful.
wash toilet forget to switch off light. (i plan to tell her wash toilet cannot switch on light). Mop the floor forget to throw away the water immedtely..(how can I make her remember?)

Can I make her write down ten time on a paper like a school girl ggot punish for wrong spelling? hahaha.

Sorry I dissapeared for awhile. Was away on business.

Came back 2 days ago. Left my smart aleck maid alone with the kids. Luckily my mother was around to help out during my absence as hubby also has to work late. Sigh...my mum has lots of complains abt this maid. Think her body odour is making my baby vomit liao...my mum said she carried baby so low that baby's face was actually facing the armpit!!! Can you imagine how disgusting that it? Thankfully my mum is very garang so the maid will not climb over her head.

Then the maid keeps complaining to me abt my mum and said she dun like her lah and even said that she can't stay with my mum if I continue to go on frequent business trips! Think she is really climbing over my head cos me new employer who's soft spoken lor. My mum being the more fierce one will tell her off, that's why she don't like.

What shall I do especially with her body odour? I politely gave her $5 yesterday to go and buy deoderant but she black face and mumbled something while going out and banging the door!!

Think I have a maid from hell.

janet,
yah, going to melbourne on feb 25th for my sis' wedding. i am abit KS lah, so early already start all the packing, etc. headache lah, travel w/ an 11mth old. gotta bring soooo much of her stuff. and then aust cannot bring in most foddstuff, and have to declare any of those you bring in. and my dd doesn't like to eat those jar bb food, so i will have to cook porridge over there. 1st day there no choice have to feed her jar bb food, but then once reach there i gotta shop at supermarket so that can buy ingredients to cook her porridge. we especially booked a service apartment that is 5 minutes walk away from Safeway supermarket!

Maggie,
The body odour issue quite hard to handle. Does she bathe in the morning ? I know how disgusting it is, esp when she has to look after your bb.
Your maid is not happy because your mum told her off. The reason is because these maids feel that they are not answerable to anyone except the employer. Honestly, if my maid tells me who she doesn't like, complains and bangs the door, she will be sent off very soon. She has no right to say who she doesn't like.

Lani,
When you have a 11th month child, can understand why it is necessary to pack early. After packing all her stuff, you know you are safe. Stressful huh ? But lucky you managed to rent a service apt near a supermarket. Which child likes to eat bottled food after eating freshly cooked porridge ? Have a wonderful trip.

Hi Tamarind,

Thanks very much for your advice.

Hi Maggie,

Your maid sounds bad. Is your hubby fierce? I am quite chin chai with my maid but I dun let her get to comfy too and most importantly she is scared of my hubby :p That helps to "control"her in my house.

Hi Jaci,

Me being kpo here just let you know that my colleagues maid only gets to go out to do marketing every morning and has to be back in like half an hour and yet she still got herself pregnant...

Hi Bluebell,
I agree with you. Someone in the house has to be the fierce one or the maid won't be afraid. I am also quite chin chai but when she gets too comfy, I do remind her subtly.

Jaci,
I think the maid's boyfriend coming to S'pore spells bad news. Definitely she won't agree to no off day.

With new maids, I guess we just have to practice moderation. When they first arrive, they are very pitiful but try not to fall into the trap of spoiling them. As long as we treat them as humans, our conscience is clear.

Hi Maggie,
Your maid has a very bad attitude. Even with no body odour, you should still send her back ! A maid with bad body odour means she is not hygienic, she is not suitable for taking care of newborns. Remember that you pay her with your hard earned money, why tolerate all this ?

coffeedrinker,
You can paste little pieces of paper everywhere to remind her. One of my ex-maid is also very forgetful. I keep telling her to rinse the sponge after washing plates, but she always forget. So I paste a note right next to the sponge holder, it worked !

Lani,
i've received your email, thanks so much! Also, do have an enjoyable trip to Australia!

hi janet, tamarind, coffeedrinker, vone,
after hearing what you girls say abt the process of engaging maid, the experience i have is different which i also know its not supposed to be that way. anyway i also dun really like the way the girl talked, in fact we are considering dropping that agent off.
but after shortlisted 2 maids (each from a different agency) today we did a telephone interview and wld like to have the maid from swift arrow (which is the agency i mentioned abt). so we're now thinking whether shld we just go ahead cos its really not easy to find a suitable one. my hb was comparing that though SA girl has got attitude problem, but its a good maid we want and compared to the other agency, SA has more accreditions and the company is more "professional" than the other which is a small unknown agency. Actually its only that staff like that, her colleague is ok, just that she happen to serve us since day 1

before we do the paper work tmr, i just wish to ask for your opinions if you ladies hve any, cos you all are more experienced!

mum88,
the maid i've chosen is 24 yrs old. the min age required now is 23 yrs old. she is also single and first time in s'pore though she has some experience in jakarta. In fact being single was my criteria cos i dun want a maid that's married and has young children becos i'm afraid she will miss her kids that it'll affect her work.