Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

Totally agree tat Phillipino maid cannot live w/o phone calls! Btw, I just sacked my Phip maid cos she secretly made phone call outside w/o my permission. Fed-up~

vone,
Get the Indo maid from city better. At least they more hi-tech & English better.

HI all

Need some advise on whether to keep my present maid. She is with me for the past 2 yrs. I renewed her for another half year as she intend to work in HK this june 06. Now only willing to continue to work for me if i increase her pay to $300-00. I am still hesitating. Her bad habits include answering hp while holding my girl(10 mths olds), washing utensils with banging sounds very annoying during early morning, always like to argue with me example (can you close the window before you undress and bathe my girl? Her ans will be : I close the window everyday only today i forget!) I have been closing the window on many occassions only i have keep quiet. She do not need to do cooking. She also takes care of my 2 boys 10 yrs old.

Still thinking.

hi Janet,
u mention after u short-listed yr maid, the agency called over to Jakarta training centre. yr mum asked her a few simple questions and she was able to answer.

May i know what questions yr mum ask? how to test is the maid gd or not?

cat_tail, ya. i heard tt indo maids fr central java is better. so i'll keep a lookout 4 tis.

tulip, if i were u, i'll nt keep her. i can't tahan maids who talked back.

Hi Tulip,

For me, if the maid is good and nice, I wouldn't hesitate to keep her for such a short time and even give her my blessings because they earn more in HK. Since your maid is not good, why do you bother to keep her, I would rather start afresh with a better one. Let them taste their own medicine....I have been kind to my maid like trying to tolerate her by keeping her for another few months so that she can earn some $ after she cleared her loans. But in the end, she getting more ya ya and frankly these kind of demanding maid won't appreciate your good deeds.

Hi Tulip,
I can understand it's not easy to look after 3 children. But if she talks back, I don't think I can tolerate that. Furthermore, she is holding you to ransom by asking for increment. If she doesn't need to cook, then why keep her ?

Hi mum88,
Actually, those 3 questions my mum asked her are not able to test/know whether she is good or not. It's really a matter of luck whether she is able and willing to pick up fast. I would say I am very lucky. My maid came 1 month before I delivered. During that 1 month, my mum taught her to cook some basic simple dishes. Her English also improved a great deal and fast because I have a 5 year son.

Vone,
Try to get Indonesian girls from Java or Surabaya. Don't get too ulu (countryside) or you will suffer teaching her to use our modern equipment.

hi janet, tks. will take note of ur advice.

Filipino maids prefer to work for expats because they have more freedom of speech and the freedom to run around. Sometimes, they don't even have to cook. We won't be able to tolerate them. Also, I see my sister-in-law's Filipino maid rather cunning and sucks up to her. Indonesian maids are not as cunning.

Tulip,
I agree with vone, jaci and Janet. You should definitely get rid of your maid. You can still tahan her for 2 years, if I were you I would have sent her back within 1 month.

Janet,
Filipino maids are also not easily satisfied, no matter how good you treat them. For example, I give my Indonesian maid $380 salary, she is already very grateful, and very hardworking. I paid my ex filipino maid around the same, she gave me black face everyday !

Tamarind,
I think it is common sense that the maid should know her place. If she talks back, no way will I tolerate that.

I increased my maid's salary from $230 to $250 after 6 months. She is really worth every cent. Now, if she extends her contract with me, I would increase to $280. She received $170 for her CNY red packets and just told me she is very happy because it is a lot. When I have friends over for dinner, she is able to cook up something for them. If they have young kids, she will prepare food for them to eat as well.

Filipino maids are never satisfied with what they have. Give them Gardenia bread, they want Breadtalk. Give up on them. Indonesians are more easily contended.

just realised today tt my maid misplaced 1 of my diamond earring.... waaiiii so heartpain...

Normally, wat do u guys do when ur maid misplaced/damaged yr belonging?

Apple,
can share which agency you go to?

vone,
tonight i'll be going to swift arrow at sembawang. cos the other time we walked past and just asked the lady a few qns, my hb was pretty impressed with her and how the agency credentials.
the first one i went to did recommend me one maid, actually the maid looks gd, but its the agency service we dun like, keep getting the info wrong and drag, do things vry slow. we went to them in early jan and nothing is done yet.

Apple,
I am very lucky. She is more patient with my son than myself. Sometimes that fella really drives me up the wall. Pray hard for a good maid.

Tamarind,
Your Indonesian maid is getting a good pay. But if the maid is hardworking and reliable, I feel that it is worth it.

My maid's mother was hospitalized last weekend for bad viral flu. I offered to let her go home and visit her mum. She was crying all day. Got my friend to bring her maid over last Sat to console and ask what she wants. I advised her to eat a little and not to think too much. Now her mum is ok. My maid is very happy and kept thanking me for showing her concern over the past few days.

mel, i'll make sure tt my maid find it 4 me. if she can't find it, then i'll deduct fr her pay.

ribena, u can chk it out. as dif ppl run each agency, may u can get a gd agent. gd luck 2 u.

apple,
My Indonesian maid's pay was only $260 when she first came. After 8 months, I increased her pay to $320. Now after 2 years, I increased to $380. She is very good at baby and childcare, hardworking and is always very cheerful. She is doing much more than my previous filipino maids, so I don't mind paying her the same.

Good luck with getting your maid. Be mentally prepared that if the first maid does not meet your requirements, just change another maid. It is your hard earned money, you deserve the best.

Janet,
Yes I feel that my maid is worth it. Like your maid, she is more patient with my elder girl than myself ! Sometimes when I am fed up with my girl, I ask my maid to take over.
You are right that showing concern for the maid is also very important.

mel,
I don't let my maid know where I put my valuables at all.
My ex filipino maids broke my plates and utensils a few times. I never saw them break it with my own eyes, so I never penalise them. But if I have a maid who keeps breaking things out of carelessness, I will definitely deduct her pay.

vone,

my tis maid is 1 big sotong, quite a few tmes hang clothes outside, drop dwnstairs also dunno... i hve keep a lookout...

tamarind,
Most of my valuables are kept locked away except those i wear often, it's during the CNY tt I was bsy visitin & oni came to realise when i wanted to wear it.
kao_sad2.gif

hi everyone, I am considering getting a maid in a few months' time with a #2 coming in end Sept. From the old posts, I read that Lenny sent a spreadsheet of some sort to many mummies which contain instructions and things to look out for etc. Can Lenny or any of the mummies who have received a copy pls forward to me for reference? TIA!

mel, oh no... then u hv 2 warn her liao. i told mine tt if she hangs clothes outside & it falls down & injure some1, i'll b penalised. thus if i m penalised, then she'll b out of a job!! tink she gt d idea.

Mel,
Maybe you should teach your maid how to hang the clothes on the bamboo. I'm more concerned with the safety aspect. If she hangs the heavy ones on the other end, she may end up falling over. I always remind my maid to be careful.

My watch and ring are what I normally wear. So I place them in my cupboard. Other valuables are in the safe inside a cupboard. Until now, my maid doesn't open my cupboards to put the clothes in except for my children's clothes. This is my instruction from day 1.

Hi domesticgoddess,
If you are getting a maid, don't do so too late. In case, the first one is not up to mark and need to change. Then you have time for a replacement and train all over again.

vone,
Hope u can get a good & hardworking Indo maid. For me if I am going to get another maid, 100% sure give Phillipino a miss.

Janet,
U sure lucky to get such a good maid! In the future if u dun want her, can transfer to me? Heehee...

Haha cat_tail,
you so cute, 100% sure to give phillipino a miss!

apple,
i stay in wdlands, so the one at sembawang is nearest to me.
i went just now, they have VERY limited maids left. told me to go again on thurs cos they will be receiving new biodata. i think this weekend i will go express already.

hi DG,
i would also advise you to get one early to get her prepared, in case the first on don't turn out to meet your expectations, train earlier so that you can get yourself prepared for delivery too

janet,
wah i really learn a lot of things from you. you are my role model as maid employer! heheh

if anyone have the spreadsheet that domesticgoddess talk about (from Lenny), pls kindly send me a copy too.. my email is [email protected] .. thank u!

My baby is due in a few days.. I make the mistake of getting a maid too late.
I just send my first maid - Phil maid back to agency after 11days. I endure and "suffer" thru the 11 days.

this maid was terrible. Lazy, tell lies, talk back, dont listen to instructions, complain, keep making calls, want sleep v early, want own bed and room,everyday just wash her own clothes and ignore ours, housewk not done properly, eat her own breakfast and never prepare for us..etc.. definitely the maid from hell...

now i am scared.. swtich to indo maid.. i want to make sure from day 1, the indo maid agree to my terms or else i would not even take her out of the agency.
if anyone have any employment agreement or list that i can get the new indo maid to sign, pls email to me! would really appreciate the help! i really got phobia of maid already.

here is my email address again. thks! [email protected]

Janet, like everyone else, we really envy u.. does yr maid have any friends/ relatives that is just like her and would like to wk here? pls intro to us! we will all grab them!! haha...

I had a terrible & blood boiling day today.
Just want to vent my anger here .. just bear with me.

I have paid $1600 upfront loan for my maid and I had change 3 maid with him which at the end , we come to a mutual agreement that he will pay me back the $1600.00 while I want to look for another agency since he do not supply Indonesia maid. The $1600 was agreed to pay & he say cashflow tight, can give him instalment , ok I agree. Yesterday is the last instalment $316 and he paid me $266 only. He say he need to hold back $50 because he need to check with if the figure is correct, and if he is happy with the figure , he will return me the $50.00

What the F he is talking about! what he mean by if he is happy with the figure he will pay.
Just made my blood boil.

I take ages for a businessman to pay a housewife & It take one minute for a housewife to pay a businessman. shame on him

So don't go to this agency at Bukit Timah : Dot.One Consultants
Bukit Timah Shopping Centre #B1-17
Mr Victor Ow

Opps, so many mummies here rejected philippino maid. Mine is a philippinos.

Came on 25 Jan , now already 12-13 days.. I got one indonesia maid before here & I send here back in 2 days.
My personal encounter: This indo seem dirty, and they don't seem to know hygient. worse is I cannot communicate with her.. Boidata say knows English but she cannot understand my engish.

This philippino maid is experience in her own country , no overseas before, so to me is like fresh maid. she is smart (i just need to say 1 or 2 times) she gets it. She can learn my mum hokkien very fast (now she know hokkien for : handkerchief, milk, wash, wait, bath, sponge bath, pacifier, sarong rocker).
I can write down note in english that I want to tell if she is sleeping , so that morning she can do it before I wake up.
I got baby book & flash card that she will show my gal everyday afternoon when I am in office

She is mountain tortoise because did not go out of philippines so she can be easily brainwash by me.
She got no day off

So far she ok. she got no handphone.
Of course there is no prefect maid, she has weakness too. not very organise which my mum feels that can be trained. She is a bit scare so dare not take initiative to do housework that is not told or taught before, so I think ok lah.. give her time.

when I scold her yesterday, she keep quiet.
so far so good.. keep my finger cross & pray God for maintaining her well behaivour.

Cat_tail,
I'm planning to extend her for another year. She's still thinking about it but will give me a reply.

Ribena,
I'm not that perfect lah. She is also a human being. She helps me with the housework and cooking, so the least I can do is to show her concern and care about her when she feels down. My hubby isn't happy at times, saying I spoil her and that she will climb on top of my head. At times, she does talk back then, I will remind her I don't like that.

Coffeedrinker,
Most biodatas will indicate the Indonesians can speak English but in actual fact most don't. If they can understand simple ones, that's considered good. It's really up to them to come here and pick up. My mum had 2 Indonesian maids earlier and they simply refused to speak English. She tried to convince them to pick up slowly but met with lots of resistance. In the end, had to go back agency.

Mum88,
If my Indonesian girl had any relatives, I would let you know. HeHeHe. In the meantime, I am still keeping my fingers crossed that if she extends another year with me, her attitude doesn't change. I don't dare to plan nor think far ahead, just pass one day at a time. I think I've done my part as an employer to accomodate, feed and show my concern for her. If she doesn't appreciate, my conscience is clear.

janet,
ya, she usually hang clothes on bamboos except for those t-shirt then i will ask her to hang on hanger.

Just yday, an employer was convicted 4 her maid's death (due to negligence of maid's safety)

Coffeedrinker,
Biodata always exaggerate their skills, my prev 1 also nvr hve exp takin care of bb, it only depend on confidence of the maid herslf.

Although my new maid doesnt speak vry well, but she could write fluently in English. So, I doubt she's tt bad in understanding my conversation w her. She could surprise me w 'bombastic' words at tmes.

coffeedrinker,
You can tell your maid agency that you will complain to MOM about him. They are all very scared of MOM.

There are some good filipino maids. My auntie's filipino maid has been with her for 30 years ! Just make sure you don't spoil her. Never allow handphones ! She may not have off day now, but she may ask for it later. A maid like this can be very easily influenced by others, so you have to be careful.

Coffeedrinker,
Since your maid is a Filipino and very new, she will be easily brainwashed by others. After a while, she will ask for off day. Once she goes off, be prepared for endless comparisons and her request for handphone when she comes back.

Mel,
It would be advisable to teach and remind her NOT to hang the heavy clothes on the other end of the bamboo. It's to protect yourself as these maids are not aware of the dangers.

ribena,
No lah, it's just words coming out from my heart..haha...

coffeedrinker,
Is your previous Indo maid from ulu village one?
It's good tat your current Phillipino maid do not have hp & never come to Sg before so she is very "clean". My previous one came to Sg before, so she always got lots of friends around. Buay Tahan...

Janet,
So sad tat I can't have it.

cat_tail, tks.
m keeping my fingers & toes crossed tt my nxt 1 can stay wif me.

ribena, cat_tail is nt d oni 1. i dun tink i wanna empployed another fili maid given my veri bad experience wif them. i nearly killed my 1st fili maid. 4 d 2nd 1, i m at tt level liao.

mum88, *hugz*. i can understd hw u feel nw. my maid oni came in during my confinemt coz thr was some prob wif her passport. instead of helping me, she created a lot of prob 4 me & scared d hell out of my son. i kena post natal blues coz of her. u shld b glad tt u r rid of her. gd luck 2 u in finding ur nxt maid okie.

coffeedrinker, oh no... ur agent is really bad!! hope tt u can get ur $$ back soon. m glad 2 hear tt ur fil maid is nt 2 bad. mayb she's d gem among d stones which came out of their country.

janet, i hope tt my new maid will b like urs. willing 2 learn & wk hard.

Janet,
That is exactly what happened to my ex filipino maid. For the first 3 months, no problem at all. Then she request to have off day. I was kind enough to give her. After a while she requested for handphone. Then her attitude turned very bad and I had to send her back.

To all mommies,
I have a Fisher & Paykel dryer which I simply love. I dry all my clothes and bed sheets in it. I am so glad I have it, especially during last month when it was raining everyday. I also don't have to endanger anyone by hanging clothes outside. You may want to consider getting a dryer, will save you so much trouble.

Hi all, I have changed 4 maids less than 12 mths. Also rec'd letter from MOM reminding me not to change so frequently. My current maid is the worst among all 4s. But cannot changed as I would need to attend the course MOM set. So got to endure w her 1st.So pls send me a copy of the spreadsheet that Lenny previously sent. Need that to source for my next maid. Thanks a lot!

my email address: [email protected]

janet, ribena, thanks. I am thinking of getting one to start around June. Quite a few things to do before I can have the maid around though. Does either of you have the spreadsheet from Lenny? Pls email to me at [email protected].. Thanks!!

Lani, I scrolled back and realised that Lenny sent you the spreadsheet. Please send it to me. TIA!!

Hi all, I need some advice & comments.

Engaged an Indo maid 2 mths be4 my 2nd child was born. She was a transferred maid (apparently was abused by the ex-employer). Pity her, so I decided to give her a chance. Luckily, so far so good and she seems quite satistifed. She's very thrifty, seldom call home or even write letters. I always ask her if she need any toiletries & etc but she always say got enough, no need. Brings her along everywhere we go, orders a portion for her whatever we eat. I always tell her that if u sayang mom & gals, mom will also sayang u.

During cny, while my gal was asleep, I'll told her to sleep (ard 11pm+) for awhile since we usually goes home ard 2am+. Else, I'll tell her to wake up later tomorrow am. Is this being too lenient ?

Her contract will expires this june. She told my sil & sil's maid that she has intention to continue working with me and hopefully with a day's off. But dare not voice out since I have not mention anything to her.

Need to know :-
1) When is the best time to ask her whether she wants to renew or go back ?

2) How long should I let her go back, should I decide to renew her contract ?

3) Usually extend for 1 yr / 2 yrs ?

4) How much to increase ? Currently only getting $230.

5) Is dental provided by employer, just like medical ?

6) Is $20 too little for her cny red packet ?

7) What time does maid goes off & return on her off day ?

Ma22,

Share the same sentiment as u, my current maid also was abused by her ex-employer & was a transfer maid, but we still hire her.

Usually, we try to let her wake up later when my hubby & I dun work. eg 7am instead of the usual 6am. Cos my HB usually wrk durin wkends too. Thus, we gave her tis priviledge.

But, till now we do not trust our maid havin off day. Cos my previous maid which we allowed her off once & she went out to 'tackle' bf... ended up, my hse tel kept ringing even in the middle of the night.

I thnk 20 is quite an amt, we oni gave her 10 4 AP. But she collected abt 100 thru out the CNY.

i'm also getting a maid to look after my 1 yr old when i go back to work in 6 mth's time. Can i have the spreadsheet too? Pls send to [email protected] . Thanks!

Read from a few pages back that someone had bad experience on Myanmar maid. I'll be getting one from Myanmar after a few colleagues who have them says that they are good. Just have to be more patient with them initially. I guess wtih every nationalities, there are good ones and not so good ones. I'm keeping my fingers crossed!

What are the typical questions to ask when interviewing the maid? My agent told me that the connection to the Myanmar training centre is down for the moment so i can't interview the shortlisted maid. Told her that I don't feel comfortable not interviewing cos biodata sometimes looks too good to be true. Told her, no interview, i won't get a maid from her. i still got time to wait till they fix up the connection.

mum88,
geezz..your maid sounds terrible, you still can tahan for 11 days!!

janet,
tonight i'll be going to the agency again. i noticed most of their maids are from east java, is that too ulu place compared to central java? the agency pple there like "ai mai ai mai" kind". just give us the files and asked us to choose. is that how agencies do stuff? sorry hor for my ignorance cos i've only been to two so far.

DG,
yeah, think you can start to hunt for agencies now and maybe even start to shortlist

janet n mel7704,
that's why i always see the biodata and the photo, can't tell me much, seems like its really heng, suay when comes to having a good maid.

Lani,
great, you have the spreadsheet! can you emailed to me as well. Thanks a lot! [email protected]

leo, if u really can't tahan ur maid, then i tink it might b better 2 send her back. tink of it in tis way, u r paying her ur hard earned $$, so it better b worth it.

ma22, u r veri nice 2 give ur maid a $20 angpao. i gave mine $10 & nw i tink tt it's 2 much.

ribena, if ur agent oledi gt a bad attitude even b4 u cfm ur maid, then i'll suggest tt u tink twice abt getting 1 fr them. 4 mine, i told them abt our requiremts. based on tt, they actually selected some 4 me 2 choose. in addition, b4 they showed me their bio-datas, they'll try 2 interview d maid 1st 2 c hw's their attitudes, their wking experiences, expectations, etc. so far, i m quite happi wif them.