Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

Kristen mum,
The name of the agent starts with "SUCCESS". Agency fee is $488. 1 replacement within 6 mths. Actually we decided to replace the maid after working for us for 2 months. Having experienced their standard of mental ability, we opted for a graduate for the replacement. But for more than 2 mths, the agent could not get back to us her application status. Fed-up, I called up the agent and was bluntly told my $488 was nothing, and have no rights to demand for their service. (I called them almost every 2 other days). That's it. We kept the maid till now. Confirmed, she really can't make it.

About the maid, she is 28 yrs old, single.

I have selected a new maid from Nation. Their service was much much better.

suzie,
n****n service sucks when come to returning maids too...hope your this new maid will be good and you dun have to know abt the after sales service.

Just to check. Are employers reliable for dental fee of our maid?

I thk MOM only mentioned medical fee. It did not state dental fee. So I presume the maid has to pay for their dental fee?

Truly disgusting...

May 7, 2008
Maid, 45, had sex with employer's son, 14
HONG KONG - AN INDONESIAN maid admitted in court yesterday to having sex with her Hong Kong employer's 14-year-old son after they watched Internet porn together.
They continued having sex for five months after that, but when the boy wanted to end their sexual relationship, the maid, 45, refused, reported the South China Morning Post.

At her request, they had sex three more times.

According to The Standard, the boy, who had no previous sexual experience, eventually sought help from his Christian group, which then told his mother. The police were called in.

The maid, Suwartin, a divorcee with two children aged 24 and 15, was arrested.

She arrived in Hong Kong in 1994 and had been working for the boy's family since 2005.

She pleaded guilty to five charges of committing an indecent act with an under-age child.

The short and rotund Indonesian maid apologised to the boy and his family through her lawyer, and said she would live with the shame of what she had done for the rest of her life.

She had acted out of loneliness, her lawyer said.

The boy's aunt and mother wrote the court a letter appealing for a lighter sentence, Hong Kong's Apple Daily reported.

The relationship between helper and boy was not very close. He sometimes shouted at her, the lawyer said.

When she found the boy surfing Internet pornography sites, she had advised him not to indulge in sex, the lawyer added.

The maid accepted that although she had not forced herself on the boy and he had agreed to sex, he was too young for that consent to have legal force.

She will be sentenced in two weeks' time, said the Post.

The boy lives with his divorced mother and two older brothers.

Good morning...

Can I just check, if you are going to holiday, and you have no relatives, what would you do with the maid, at home, back to agent or others?thanks

Liana,
That was truly disgusting!

Crazy mother and aunt appealing for lighter sentence! That kind of act = raping a minor, if here will get max jail and caning!

liana - so disgusting.... where are people's moral values nowadays i wonder...

need advice from travel related matters.
for those who had brought their maid out on holidays before, do u check their luggage?
pls advise,
thks,
wendy

Ladies, need your advise.

1. Indo maid, 36-37yo. Finishing 2 yrs contract, taking care of 5 and 7 yo. Employer do not want to renew cause younger child is very very close to the maid. Give good reference for the maid.

This one I like cause got good reference. But she is used to staying home with the kids. So I'm worried that she might not get use to my schedule of going to mil's house on weekdays.

2. Phil maid, 35yo. Worked 6.5 months with a family of 3 young children. Goes to ah mah house on weekdays with the children and weekends after cleaning up the house, need to bring the children to coffee shop where the employer is. Maid doesn't like to go coffee shop with the children as they run about and don't listen to her and hence she gets scolding from employers.

This one has similar working experience which will be an advantage to me, as I won't need to worry about her not getting use to that kind of schedule. But she's phil and might have communication problem with my mil who speaks only broken english and sometimes when she kan cheong she lost all her words and will do things herself instead.

What you all think?

hi wendy,

yes. i do check their luggage / hand carry / pockets.... =) i specify them what to bring...
coz i dun wan any problem with customs (be it sg side or other county)..
returning as well, i also check. just in case, they accidentally bring in drugs to sg or wat.. =)

Hi Chole,

I left my maid at home when I went for a short trip. I locked the master room. Delegate some tasks for her to do.

If u send her back to agent, you need to pay for her lodging. There is also the risk that she may get to meet other transfer maids staying there. She might get influence by them.

JChew,
I would not choose any maid who has worked for one employer for less than 2 years, so the phil maid is definitely out for me, she also seems very fussy, complain about small things.

Personally I would go for the indo maid. She is definitely a better choice. If she is keen to work, she should be able to adjust to the new schedule. You may consider giving her slightly better benefits than her previous job to motivate her.

JChew,

If I were you, I will take the Indon maid becos at least she finishes her contract and have a good reference for the maid. If you are worried regarding the going over to your MIL house during weekdays, you need to explain to her and that she is OK with the arrangement. Make sure you also tell her what she is expected to do while she is at your MIL house to avoid any accusations by the maid later.

For the Phil maid, I dont quite believe her story...Also like you say, there will be a communication problem for your MIL with her.

JChew,

There will be serious communication problem between your MIL and the phil maid if you choose her. Since she is expected to work in your MIL's place. There will be frustration since message cannot be conveyed over between both parties. I had this problem when I hired a Phil maid last year.

Furthermore her employment record is not good.

As for the Indo maid, she would be of better choice since her previous employer give good reference of her. Of course, this reference serves only as an information. She worked well with her ex-employer doesn't mean that she will work well with you. Because different household had different priority and different level of cleanliness and duties.

Her working experience is taking care of 5 & 7 years old kids. Kids of this age does not need much attention because more or less they are independent to take care of themselves already. Is/Are your kid/kids falls under similar age group? If so, you can consider her. If not, then u might want to interview her and ask her questions on childcare and see how was her response to your questions.

May 8, 2008
MAID DEBATE

Here's what employers must put up with

I REFER to Mr Paul Jacob's article last Saturday, 'Can't treat them right? Ban maids'. It is not uncommon to read about the plight of maids.

But what about employers like myself who do not get the same help as maids do when matters go awry?

For starters, we must pay a fee of $150 to $300 to engage a maid agency. When the maid arrives, we must pay for her written test, regardless of the outcome. There are also insurance charges which cost almost $250. Don't forget the loan taken by the maid in seeking employment here, which we must help to redeem by paying upfront on her behalf to the agency. This amounts to almost $3,000.

Theoretically, we can recoup the cost of the loan amount via monthly deductions of the maid's pay. But as it can take eight months to settle, there is no guarantee of getting the money back if the maid quits or is sacked before that period of time.

Once a maid starts work, there is a one-month settling-in period whereby the maid cannot be changed. This may sound fair. But the period can be excruciating if she is incompetent or unwilling to adapt.

I had a maid who refused to cook and could not wake up in time to help me prepare my children for school in the morning.

Another wanted to go home because we did not agree to let her chat on the phone for hours and return home at midnight on her day off. Even if a maid is recalcitrant, we must bear with her because we depend on her to care for our dependents while we are at work.

The calls for a day off for maids seem fair and is fine if nothing untoward happens.

But if she gets pregnant and must be repatriated, the employer loses the outstanding loan amount.

Then comes an agonising wait of another month while the paperwork is processed for a new maid. Meanwhile, the employer must juggle work and managing the household.

The process of hiring a new maid is long, the money we stand to lose is hefty, and the problems can put our livelihoods at risk.

Neena Godhia-Gunter (Mrs)

A BIG BIG CLAP for Neena.

I can say that with my 13 maids over the last 3 yrs, I have at least spend thousands or even a 5-digit figure on maids.

May 8, 2008

Part-time solution dearer

'The sums do not add up.'
MS NG MAE LING: 'Mr Paul Jacob suggested that instead of hiring maids, Singaporeans should resort to alternatives like flexible work arrangements, childcare services and part-time help. Part-time help alone can cost up to $800 per week if a local domestic help comes in three times a week, for four hours per session to cook and clean. Then there's childcare fees for my two children. The sums do not add up...unless one resorts to cheap but unreliable and illegal part-timers.

CALL FOR TOUGHER PROSECUTION

'Surely, the ministry can improve on barely 6 per cent.'

MR YAP SWEE HOO, who feels that the Manpower Ministry should come down harder on abusive employers. There is a disproportionate number of cases of maid abuse reported compared with the number of employers prosecuted, he contends, citing figures from a report ('More reporting cases of maids in danger, April 21). 'Four cases of maid abuse a month works out to 96 in the past two years,' he says, but only six employers, or only about 6 per cent, were prosecuted over the same period.

CHECK BEFORE CRITICISING

'Survey former maids who worked in Hong Kong, Taiwan and the Middle East before concluding that we fare badly.'

MADAM FIONA TENG, referring to reports that maids prefer to work elsewhere for better pay and conditions: 'Why are Indonesians and Filipinas returning here after trying out Hong Kong, Saudi Arabia and Taiwan? My Indonesian maid who's worked in Hong Kong tells me that typically, maids must find their own quarters. They wake up at 5am to reach their employers' home by 6am. They foot their own medical bills. Their wages include payment for days off, so their pay is cut if they take their rest days.'

WHY THE QUARREL OVER DAYS OFF?

'There is no law requiring a day off in Indonesia, India or the Middle East, so why are we being harassed?'

MS PUNAM DOGRA, a mother of three, aged six, four and one: 'In Dubai, maids work for years without a day off. Do maids get a day off in their respective countries? My business friends in Jakarta have maids who are paid about S$50 to S$100 a month, with no day off. They can phone home only during Hari Raya Aidilfitri. If working Indonesians in Indonesia can relax during their weekends, why can't working Singaporeans enlist their maids' help so that they can enjoy their weekends too? Maids are here for only a few years to make money and return home to a better life. Each night, my maid sleeps for eight hours whereas I sleep no more than five. Most Singaporeans are good employers. I respect, feed and treat my maids well. They are a part of my family. Just because we are law abiding and prefer to go about our lives quietly and peacefully, does not mean that people should exploit us.'

did u all notice:
- those spoke up for maid: mostly male
- those wpoke up for employer: mostly female...

-_-

Hi mummies, I'm just opposite on choosing maid..tot hire a myanmar..so my PIL cant communicate with her(as my PIL can speak malay but not good in English)..to prevent politic at home..means maid only communicate with me,anyway I train her and my in law no need to give instructions,maid just report/feedback about work to me..cos they(PIL) will chat or talk to her..PIL dont talk to me straight,can ask maid about madam..so create misunderstand..

Double standard at home..like I dont allow my kids to choose food but PIL said dont like,dont eat(cos PIL do this,when we serve them meal that they dont like,they will throw away the food)..so teach my kids that habit too..Last nite dinner, I told m boy to finish his noodles(if cant finish leave it there and eat later),and I went to my bedroom,imediately,I heard my FIL told my boy to leave the noodle and go to my boy's bedroom instead..end up the noodles went into dustbin. When I asked my boy why? He can tell me, ah gong told me not to eat.

I'm so sian about everythings..their behaviour like so rich but they dont have money, talk without responsible either to my children or my maid. They can be so friend with maid even knowing my maid did a lots of mistake yet dare not voice out..but to me,I'm more like maid..

Always act blur,when I teach my boy..MIL said dont understand,her favourite words..but when I whisper..they can hear n understand..

PIL complain to me abt maid,but infront so friend to her...maid complain to me abt PIL but so friend to them.. just now,when I heard my girl shouting/crying in bathroom,I rush to see..yet my MIL seat on chair lke stone..she dont bother what happen to maid n girl..when something which she can/have to say..she keep quiet..when she is not suppose to say,she will talk.Haiz..

Think better to have a maid that can talk much,to avoid misunderstand.

PIL can seat on livingroom, saying how lazy this DIL, as they saw my maid is the one that work at home,while I'm in my bedroom,doing office work(where they can't see). I understand as my MIL used to work without maid when she was young.But that is different now.. well,I pray for a good helper.

Ivy,
You have had bad experience with Nation ? Tell me about it.

Actually, I don't have high expectations for maids, but this current one really below my expectations ! So hopefully the one I have chosen at least have some common sense, so I don't have to go back to the agent.

jo,
yes i would do the same if i were you. The last time when my MiL lived with me, i had a lot of problems. Somemore my MiL ya-ya really thought she could handle my boy alone, but she forgot she is old, abit deaf and quite dirty...how is she going to do the babycare like that? I tested her to change diapers for my boy, she didn't even dare to touch his shit! So how to take care of bb w/o maid?

But when the maid is here, she's so friend with maid. But in front of me always complaining and critising the maid. To make things worse, the maid picked up on this and play politics with me also...damn sian.

So i'm happy now that my MiL is no longer living here with us. The new maid comes, she'll be with me the whole time. Until of course when MiL wants to come and visit us...which will be many many months more...hahahaha

Jo,
She looks quite nice....I think she might be ok since she's used to working in an orphanage with lots of kids...only thing is that she speaks little english and she's never been a maid before. And she doesn't look like a maid. She might be a bit shocked actually.

Jo,
my agent also recommended an ex kindergarten teacher to me but i din take as well....no guarantee that she knows how to do housework leh. Like what Liana says, cos she had not been a maid before, she might not be able to take it if she comes here...

yes, i got your email
...reply you later... now i'm in the hotel room cos boy is sleeping...shiok weather here...

nellu

I smiled when I read what you read as you are not alone ..with maid mil problems...

My mil does not stay with me, but she is exactly same type as your mil.Before mil visits me, I will warm maid not to talk to her, smile and walk away....as mil like to stir shit...

So, maid with me for two months, mil and maid yet to meet.....

Hey, have a good holidays...

Emma, I bought at $189 each,will sell for $120 each. Its new in box,only open and try to set up but didn't use..as I have 2more..I have total 4cameras..so used 2 is enough..1 living room another in children's bedroom. This 2extra,tot in kitchen n in my bedroom but end up no use.

My new myanmar maid 30yrs old.

Hi Jo,

Which agency did you get your Myanmar maid from? Did your agent tell you that she has got her a flight out from Myanmar? I understand that there is no daily flight out from their country esp after what has happened now. The earliest flight my agent has booked for my maid is 17 May.

Kristen mum, SLF green, saw the maid in netmaid.. she/maid had experienced in Myanmar with 4children, and only maid with her employer..
30yrs old,mature and not too old..
>13 yrs education (college/degree)..was thinking she can learn faster/better..

Liana, thanks..I just pray for the best

My current one giving problems, she is so smart, and dont know who told her,.. she told me, if I cancel her permit,the agent will send her to batam and wait for new employer.. She die die dont want to go back Jakarta. She want me to send her back to agent for transfer..

Jo,

Your current maid got no hope already....suggest you just cancel her WP. I don't think you want to be paying levy and accomodation for her whilst she PICKS & CHOOSES a new employer. Just get a budget fare to JKT or if she requests Batam then a ferry ticket to Batam is also ok.

Where she goes and what happens to her after that is beyond your control already. I think she will not be a popular choice for a new employer though, due to her skin condition.

Liana, ya, don't know what she think, not here to earn money..she dont bother about the transfering fees..even waiting at Batam,agent will charge her few more months loan..her employment history also not nice..I will send email to Tam..

Help help

I'm a nov 07 mummy and has a filipino maid close to half a year.

Wanted to change a new maid as I feel this current one cannot make it.

She's here for less then half a year and I've brought her to see the doctor 3 times.

1) gastric problem (apparantly, doctor says eat too much)
2) flu
3) eye problem, just last week, complain to me about her eyes being painful. Brought her to see doctor which doctor examines her and says nothing wrong but she insist got something in her eye. Then tells doctor the pain goes all the way back to her ear, informing the doctor the eyes and ears are connected. Doctor then like no choice says give her some cream to apply and monitor for 3 days, if not ok, must go specialist doctor.
And she cannot go near my baby for 3 days also.

aiyo, everytime like that I got to make alternative arrangements for someone to take care of my gal.

my mum says she's like not very healthy, better to send her back, if not not good for my baby.

My agent like not very good like that. When I say I want to send her back, she says I cannot be so cruel, must give the maid option whether she wants to stay or not.

Any mummies got good agents to recommend?

Joining in this thread for first time here. Just when I tot all is well with me and my maid, her latest complain is about aches and pains in her chest. Since she's with us (coming 7mths), I brought her to see doc almost every month for different complaints.

My situation quite similar to lostinthots. Yes, she too had broken things but nothing valuable so far for us. She also help to look after my bb. I am currently SAHM. She too had fair amount of 'free time' and keep one eye close on her napping coz my bb has night feeds. I wonder if she is trying to reduce workload or what.

Am thinking if i should give her up to other households requiring her to just take care of bbies only.

litty fly

sama sama here. My maid dun even have to look after my baby at night. I look after myself... She has a good 8 hours of sleep everyday and yet can doze off sometimes in the afternoon.

She's ok with babies actually, but my gal now also refuses her. Dun want her to carry, she'll cry and cry...

On Sunday I took out a set of blouse/skirt set for my girl to wear for mother's day dinner. She has worn this only once during CNY. I was shocked to see that there were some discolouration (streaks of darker color lines, either it was dirty, or it was discoloured by other clothes). The skirt has been washed, dried and ironed before being hung in the closet.

I left it in a basin to soak. In less than 5 min, my maid took it out to hang dry. I went near and saw that it is still dirty.

Mummies, is that acceptable to you ?
1st, she failed to spot the staining during the wash, dry, fold and iron process.

2nd, even when alerted (though I didn't tell her why I placed it basin to soak), she failed to realise the problem (therefore no question asked)and went on mechanically to wash and dry. When I told her, she replied she didn't see.

There were a few times she happily dry and iron my white-turned-pink blouse without telling me anything.

This is the kind of issues I am facing everyday. Yet hubby says I am picky.

I wonder if we're being too nice to them already? I wonder how my cousins' maids cope with taking care of bbies & toddlers, cooking their meals and housework and my cousins are FTWMs!

Gemini19, how old is your maid? Mine is 42 this yr, Filipino. I am paying her $400 and she gets a free day each mth after the inital 6mths. If I am SAHM and she cannot work, then what can I expect when I become FTWM? Gemini19, r u SAHM too?