Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

Suzie,
Your maid is really a numb skull.... Just like my maid....

Chole,
The time is not right to get rid of her yet.... so keeping her for the time being....

nellu,
U know wat my mum told me? She said if employer can beat our maid.... my mum is gg to give her few tight slaps on her face...

Another incident happen again just 10 mins ago.

We finished our dinner. The maid wants to clean the dining table. I just bought a cake from bangawan solo. Really dunno how she moved the cake till the whole cake drop off on the floor.

I told her to be careful in all the chores she is doing. O/W, I am gg to make her pay for the cake.

Wo ren.....

Chole,
I really dunno what's wrong with her. Maybe she purposely.... FYI. She gets scolding from my mum everyday....

Yes waiting for the right timing.... Gonna kick her back to Indo...

babycutie, chole,
maybe your maid is just one of those "fan jian" type of pple....get all itchy if no one scold them...or maybe she got ADHD syndrome, purposely do all this to get attention....hahahaha

san,
My maid will apologise for one mistake.... then less than a day, another crazy mistake comes out... How many times does she wants to apologise??

So from now on, I am gg to punish her for any mistake she do. She has been with me for 8 mths and I cannot accept silly mistakes. She should know our family standard by now and should be on the alert at all times.

I told her not to force me to send her back to Indo without getting any pay (meaning after serving her loan, immediately send her back to Indonesia). I told her I am not gg to send her back to the agent.

nellu,
I suspect she din get enough sleep that's why do chores like tortoise and make so many careless mistakes.

But I already told her to speed up her pace so that she can finish early and turn in early. Well, I get answer like "that's the speed my body can allow me to go, I can't do any faster". Fine... let her man man mo lor.... Why should I reduce her workload??? She will become more lazy if her workload is reduced.

bbcutie

aiyo yr maid ah ... everyday kanna scolding not tired meh, the person scolding her sure very very tired already!!

sometimes we need to treat them like kids ... poor us!

san,
Ya lor... my mum kept complaining to me that she will die of heart attack one of these days....

Very cham right? We can lower our expectations if the maid is good with our kids. But there is still a limit to our expectation. We simply can't leave the house in a dusty, messy and dirty state right? Although the maid can handle the kids, there still must be a certain level of cleanliness mah....

She has spoilt my boy. My boy kept wanting her to carry. She always carry my boy with sarong sling and do housework. I told her so many times not to carry my boy but she refuse to listen. So be it. She is the one suffering.....

One of these day, I am gg to confiscate the sarong slings (One is mine and one is hers).

ya agree, bbcutie ... the minimum standard of cleanliness cannot be compromise ...

We shd be firm & not let our maids culture bad habits in our kids. once i see my maid carrying & swaying my boy to sleep, i correct her immediately. i wont allow anyone to cultivate bad sleeping or eating habits. I imagine one fine day i send her back, i be the one swaying my boy to sleep ... so i insist on using my method even though im not the one doing it right now. I wan to be more prepared if one day suddenly go maidless.

And this stage my boy very active & wanna walk & climb everywhere during meals. And she lets him do that so i also insist that she must sit him down for meals no matter wat. Give him watever toys he wans, jus sit & play with the toy & eat. I also cant imagine myself chasing my boy around wif a spoon! bad bad habits!!

san,
Oh dear.... that means my boy has all the bad habits...... don't sit still during meals. Everytime see the maid, he wanted her to carry him....

Think I should stop all these nonsense....

Will get the maid to feed my boy at the dining table. Get her to wash the 2 sarong slings and keep it in my bedroom. Let's see how long she can carry him without the sarong slings.....Hopefully she will stop carrying him in the long run....

babycutie, If I were you, long ago I will kick this maid out.

Latest update of my maid. Yesterday, again on the way to pick my girl up from school, my maid asked my mil to go ahead first while she go and buy the earpiece. Then my mil waited till my girl out from school, still din see her coming and went to look for her, as she knows the shop that sells hp accessories. So she went to ask the lady boss and confirmed that the maid did came to buy the earpiece. So my mil left and went around the block looking for her with my girl. Then finally saw her waving her hands at one end. When asked about it, maid claims that she cannot find mil at the school, so also went around looking for mil. Evening time, when me and hub came to pick them, mil was telling me what happen while the maid was washing up in the kitchen. I can see that the maid is not happy. She din say a thing and I din ask her also. Till I was brushing teeth for my kids to go to sleep, she came and say "sorry mam, today I go buy things and cannot find ah mah", I answered her "next time, don't go and buy things yourself" Her face changed. Then I continued "you not familiar with that area, then ah mah got to go and look for you, and you look for ah mah, both cannot find and if you go home and ah mah still running around with my girl looking for you how?" And she kept saying "sorry ah, mam" and my last reply was "don't do it again".

This morning, my mil saw her in my son's room for a long time and went in to take a look. She got a shocked and dumped a red plastic bag aside and pretend to tidy my son's bed. Mil says later on the maid came out, but went in again thinking that mil not watching her.

Actually was thinking of getting a maid first then let her go, but now, we decide to send her back to the agency. Pil says don't get maid and waste money anymore, but really worried if they can handle or not. Sigh...

Hi Kristen_mum..
I just briefly read through your posts. So sorry to hear that your new maid is giving you problem. You must feel so relieved now after you sent her back. When is your replacement maid arriving?

Just to update you on my new maid from Sun Employment. She worked for me for one week liao. So far, her working attitude is good, hardworking and pleasant. She handles my boy very well and do all housechores diligently. I hope that she will continue to maintain this standard and dun 'chut pattern' few months later.

Liana, Thanks for ur suggestion.. will get Myanmar that can speak mandarin, or Indo so can communicate with my IL, they can speak malay but not english.

Actually, I tot better maid n IL can't communicate, as my IL tend to tell too much..not related to work..also cannot,what if I'm not at home..

Babycutie, think most mummies here been tolerating their maid..will get good maid soon.

After searching high n low..and speak to so many agent, really can sense some agent only want sales and dont bother customer's need
anyhow push transfer maid..work 1 day w employer and send back also recommend to me,said suitable for me..rejected because she cant clean dog's urine on news paper properly..the urine drip fm news paper on the flr. So employer angry n reject(Phil maid).

May 6, 2008
Engineer jailed three weeks for hitting maid
By Elena Chong
AN ENGINEER was yesterday given a three-week jail term for hitting his maid with a rolling pin.
Xing Likun, 36, had earlier pleaded guilty to clubbing Filipina Irene Israel Miguel on her calf and back, and kicking her in the knee.

District Judge Shaiffudin Saruwan said the courts have consistently meted out jail terms in maid-abuse cases and that, in an aggravated one like this, a sentence of up to two months would be usual. However, taking into account the reports submitted on Xing's mental condition, a three-week jail term was enough, he said.

The abuse, which took place in Xing's flat in Yishun Street 20 on the evening of July 17 last year, began when Ms Miguel, 31, gave his three-year-old daughter Vitagen, a chilled yogurt drink.

When Xing's wife saw this, she scolded the maid and told her to take the little girl to the playground.

A while later, Xing went to the playground and told Ms Miguel to return to the flat. There, he scolded her for angering him and ordered her to face a wall in the kitchen.

He then picked up the wooden rolling pin and hit the Filipina on her back and right calf.

When Ms Miguel turned around, she saw Xing with the rolling pin in his hand.

He hit her on the back again and she fell. As she lay there begging him to stop, Xing kicked her in the knee, then told her to get up.

The police arrived shortly after the incident and the maid was taken to hospital for her bruises to be treated.

Lawyer William Koh said in Xing's mitigation that his client was then on medical leave following a minor surgery, and that Xing's wife had just given birth to their second child. Mrs Xing had to rely on the maid as she had no one to turn to for help.

A private psychiatrist stated that Xing had an 'anxious personality' and was under tremendous stress at the time; an Institute of Mental Health report said he had adjustment disorder and acute stress reaction.

Xing was allowed to defer his sentence until July7 to complete a project.

He could have been jailed up to 18 months and/or fined up to $1,500.

I discover this thread abt 3 weeks ago and has been reading....I had 2 maids for the past 1 yr looking after my newborn and 4yr old boy under the supervision of my mother...... currently am maidless for 2 weeks..... I feel the same abt those issues.....and seems like the government and others dont understand the problems of these maids.....I am not sure how long I can tolerate being maidless......but again having them means got to listen to my mum's complains everyday...... and she said one day she will die of scolding these maids......... or if not the other way round that the maid after being scolded, go crazy and kill her.... aiyo... delimma rite

JChew,
I almost kick her off few mths back. Later, changed my mind and retained her. Since now she has completed her loan and I do not have any string attached with the agency. I won't hesitate to kick her back to Indo if she continues with her stupidity.

Emily,

Can you share how much agency fee (and any miscellenous fees) did you pay for getting a maid from Sun Employment?

How much are you paying your maid? How much placement fee did you pay upfront?

You went to the branch at Bishan right?

Sorry so many questions.

Hi Emily,

The maid that I have just sent home has been with me for 10 months...so, not really new lah

I haven't got a replacement maid yet but am considering Myanmar. I have selected one Myanmar maid but is still in the process of applying for her. I just told my hubby that this will be my LAST time getting a maid and if this maid does not finish her contract due to whatever reasons, I will STOP hiring maid and send my DD to full day childcare. Anway, she will be 3 this Dec and should be ready by then to go full day. My MIL will then have to employ her own maid for the housework lah...I cannot always be the one that give in to them and my hubby at my expense

Really getting very sick and tired of employing maids and not fogetting the amount of $$$ I have wasted on them!!!

Hi Kristen..
I can understand your frustration. Hope you are able to find a good Myanmar maid. Childcare maybe a better option, but hafta worry abt taking leave when your child is not well or if the center has any HFMD outbreak like now.

Hi babycuite..
Yeah, Bishan branch. Maid salary (No experience, Indonesian) is $320 without off-day. Upfront placement fee is 8.5 months ($2720), excluding insurance. Agency fee is $168. Insurance is ~$200. No other charges.

Hi Emily,
U mentioned that your maid can handle your boy well. Can I know how old is your boy? You get a maid without experience in SG right?

I am very skeptical about getting a replacement maid. Because I dunno whether they can handle kids or not. My kids are pretty active. They can't sit still at home. Worst of all, sometimes they fight for toys. So I need to get someone who can really handle kids very well. Its really not easy to find one who is very patience with kids.

How do you find the service of Sun Employment?

Hi babycutie..
My boy is 8 months old. The maid has no working experience as housemaid at all. She is 23 y/o. She undergo 2.5 months traning at Jakarta before she came here. She told me she was trained in taking care of babies at the training center. That's why she has some basic knowledge. In addition, she used to take care of her younger brother who is 2+ y/o.

Her highest education is Secondary High School. Her command of English is better than what I expected. So, I don't want to speak Malay with her. We speak English with her all the time so that she can improve further.

Sun Employment? So far so good la... I appreciate that they help to expedite for us & handover the maid to us on-time...

hello ladies,
After reading your posts, now then I realised stupidity is very very common among maids. Or they just simply acts stupid?

Mine also another stupid indo maid. But that's quite ok as I can close one eye when comes to household chores. However I'm quite concern about hygience. my new indo maid is slightly bigger size than those usual skinny indo maids that I've seen before. Guess becos of her size, she has body odour. What makes it worse, she has bad breath too. I heard from agent that many of those comes from those kampong area usually will have this kind of problem. So I decided to give her a chance. I make her bathe 3-4 times a day, especially before she needs to attend to my boy. And I also buy her listerine, and make her brush teeth after meals. But still, the problem doesn't improve. now she's with us for a month already, she has shows improvement at works, and quite obedient too. So I'm in dilemma whether to send her back or not due to her body odour and bad breathe, cos I'm quite particular especially when she has to carry my boy. Sigh... Does anyone of your maid have this problem too?

suzie,
You don't usually bring the maid out? Then you leave her at home alone? Don't you worry that she might do funny thing in your house?

I don't like the idea of bringing my maid out too, especially when she always shows her black face when sitting on the same table with us in the restaurant. My boy doesn't really stick to her too, so most of the time my mum is the one who entertains my boy while dining outside. So it's like we are just bringing her out to enjoy good food.

babycutie
I like the way you settle your maid dinner while you dine outside, bring fried rice from home for her to eat... maybe I should learn from you too.

halo...mummies who had installed cctv at home....hmm..where can i get cheap cctv ? Cos i also want to monitor my maid who sometimes alone with MIL..scare she do something funny ..

You can go and check out with Singtel. they have this ViewCam with very minimal costs. Can view from pc or hp.

Hi Sonic,
I don't care what she does at home anymore. It's more annoying if we bring her out. Tell you, initially, she was so stupid that she didn't even switch on the lights, and even tell us that nobody at home to ask her to eat, so would wait patiently for us to return and give her permission to eat !!!

Liana, want more examples ? Here goes:
1) Apart from the cake incident, I also caught her letting my girl cover herself with blanket all the way to the head.

2) The way she feed my girl milk is just pass her the bottle, and she sit on the floor and stare at her, hoping that she would fall asleep.

3) asked her to watch the chicken in the oven, she literally squatted down beside the oven and watched.

4) she used the brush for cleaning the drainage pipe to clean the diamond water filter ! When told, answer with her favourite reply "can not huh? "

5) I found a tube of cleanser in my jacket. The jacket was supposedly hand-washed, and gone through the ironing process.

6) One day when I was packing the bag for my girl and asked for her uniform, she told me she has kept the uniform in the cabinet. When I opened the cabinet, tell you, it was so so so smelly. Apparently my girl has urined on her pants (dunno which day), and somehow the stupid woman has not detected it. And even after cleaning, still did not realise any problem, and happily went on with the drying, and folding and packing into the cupboard. I scolded her, her whole body is handicapped, eyes can't see, ears can't her, nose can't smell. Only the mouth can eat.

.... to be continued......

Suzie,
haha...i like ur statement:her whole body is handicapped, eyes can't see, ears can't her, nose can't smell. Only the mouth can eat.

tat was what i scolded my 2nd maid,who i just sent bk to agent yesterday.

My indo maid looks very obedient.She is 24,mother of 2 boys.Apparently,her behaviour is worst than a 2yrs old child.

I've more examples:
1) She uses the brush for cleaning the floor mat to brush my boy clothes

2) Almost 80% of the utensil she washed were not cleaned.Can find obvious traces of foods on the cooking pots n plates.

3) She didn't bother to apologise when she did wrongly.

4) She washed my neighbour's car! We r driving a purple Nissan but she washed a blue Mazda.

5) She used the dirty water(the water used to wipe the window grill) to water my plants.

6) When my boy refused to let her tak out the diaper,she just threw my boy back to my hb.

7) She eats like a small kid,traces of biscuits n breads all around my kitchen area

8)she always forgot to lock the door.

After 13days of torture,i decided to send her back.

When we sent her back to the agent last nite,we asked the agent to go thru her luggage bcoz we always left her alone,wonder if she would steal any valuable stuff.Guess what???The agent found bunch of hairs wrapped in a paper nicely!! My hb was very angry!!! Questioned her why she kept our hairs.Obviously it was our hair bcoz hers is short n curly.Mine was long n straight.She insisted it was her hair n she forgot to throw away.but why she wrapped n kept so nicely in her poach?

After we sent back our 1st maid,both me n my hb kept falling sick.We didn't go thru her luggage.So this time,we r smarter.

I reali stress on the importance of going thru ur maid luggage.U'll nvr know what kinda funny things they'll do.

I read about bringing maid out, I hardly bring the maid out during weekend and we usually handle the kids ourselves. I prefer the family time without an outsider. But my hubby says it is a bit difficult when it comes to mealtime as we both need to feed the gals and it takes some time.

But I feel that bringing her out will mean I have limited choice of food as I wont indulge in good food with her around. I will dine in food court.

I took her out for mother day's dinner with my parent, she commented that is the best dish (I ordered spicy noodle from jade palace) for her. I have bought her so many nice food and she said those food not nice so far. She thinks by telling me all these I will bring her to the restaurant more often?? no way..not appreciative

check with u... can a maid choose to resign from a current employer? issit cheaper to take a 'transfer' maid?

Emma,
just tell ur maid to eat 1st b4 bringing them out.If i am going for fine dining,i'll leave her at hme or relatives hme.

Maids r forever like tat...nvr satisfy wf wat they hv..My maid has her own big room n own toilet.But she's still nvr satisfy.

Hi Suzie,

Which agency your Myanmar maid came from? I am also hiring a Myanmar maid and I hope that she will not be like your Myanmar maid!! You can PM me.

Emma

Your maid said the food that you bought her not nice right...next time, tell her to eat maggie noodle first even you go for fine dining ,tell her all the food you buy will never fit her taste bud...maggie mee will taste better...

avocado,
i totally agree on checking the maid's bag before they leave. I always nvr did a check when i sent the maids away bcos i believe in their privacy... this time round, bcos it was my maid who ran away to the agent. I have no choice but to pack her bag in her room. I almost died when packing... There was a book full of telephone numbers.... Men, women, SG, Indian... some of the names look familiar... some look like workers of my dad, some of other maids, numbers of my mum's place, mum's maid etc, etc.... I do not know how she get all these numbers bcos we have nvr given it out to her.. but the number of pple on the list is scary esp since she does not have off days n we nvr allow her to go out of the hse on her own.
Then we saw her diary where she wrote abt her love for several men... Arrrgghhhhh!!!!!!! It came to my realisation that all these while when she claimed to wan to call home, she was actually talking to MEN!!!!!

Re: Eating Instant noodles
On the 2nd day of work, my Indo maid actually came n tell me she cannot eat noodles too often. Must cook proper rice meals for her.. Faintz.. fed up.. bought her her own supply of rice. Stupid maid. Always tell her must inform me early b4 anything runs out since only hubby drives n usually needs his help to buy weekly groceries. Finish her rice already and expect me to buy by this afternoon. Told her no possible, must eat instant noodles. She resorted to stealing our supply of brown rice.

When i ask Indo maid why her hair all over the in her room and so dirty. She got the nerve to reply me its bcos i make her eat instant noodles so often.... I was like, excuse me.. I bought u one 5 packet Maggi mee 1 mth ago n u still haven't finish but already finished the 5kg rice!!!!

Re: Bring maids out
I agree bringing maids out are more troublesome. They can't control the children, i still ended up being the one doing it. N for my last indo maid, like what i mentioned b4, i need to look for public toilet for her ervy 15 min... N every time she like an air stewardess after visiting the toilet. Hair all nicely in place while Mdm looked more like the maid.

Re: Eating out with maid...

I have experience wif 2 extremes

My Myanmese maid refuse to eat out wif us even though we order 1 proper meal for her in the restaurant. Insist she wan to wat at home..... but complain to agent that bcos she eats late, that's why keep having gastric!!!!
In the end, the fired me bcos she d0 not want to go out wif me on weekends. She find that very tiring and wan to change employer.

My Fili maid, tell her we will buy dinner for her after we eat at the restaurant. (We have an early dinner that day). Meanwhile help to feed the younger child. The maid refuse to take care of the child n keep flipping the menu that is placed in front of her. After i told her several times n she continued to flip the menu n refuse to take care of chidl. Hubby has to tell her off harshly, " U take care of child NOW!!!!" n ignore the other part that she will eat later.. somehow.. either that act blur or they can only listen partially...

b2b3m4,

I read previous posts and knew that you're a FTWM with 2 kids, right? May I find out from you how do you manage your household and kids without a maid? Coz I'm contemplating going maidless but will hire part-time help but hubby is very sceptical. He insists that I must get a maid coz he doesn't think that I can manage without one.

lostinthots,
Alot of time on weekends now spend on housework.
It helps that my workplace is near home and CC. So by the time i reaches home with the kids will be around 6pm. Then will start to prepare dinner.Meanwhile the kids will either entertain themselves or watch me cook or give them some simple tasks to do like washing veges.. they love it bcos they get to play wif water..
By 7pm+, hubby back from work, start dinner. After dinner, hb bathe the kids while i wash up the dishes n clean up the place. (the kids will leave food crumbs everywhere).
If it is laundry day i.e wednesday, will start washing machine the 1st thing i'm home. I also have a dryer, so everything just dump into dryer by now.
The kids have their own respective laundry box. So once the clothings r washed & dried, we just get the kids to put their own clothing into their own boxes.. For them it is quite fun. N dun bother to fold the kids' clothes nicely, they usually runnage thru the cupboards. So i think it is a waste of time.
Around 10pm, send kids to bed. And i rest for myself too.

Morning....
Wake up make simple breakfast for kids n hubby. (i eat in ofc). If need to make bento for hubby's lunch, must wake up 1 hr earlier to prepare. For me, pack lunch easier, finish in 10 min (just put in all pre-prepared foods in their own nice boxes and liners top wif sea weed)
Eating in ofc is better bcos it allows me to finish most of work n leave ofc on time.
Hb helps to prepare kids' bag for CC and get them changed for CC. Kids and hb eat breakfast n then out of house.

Weekends,
will be left for cleaning hse, toilet etc.. ironing we pass to an auntie to help (i am totally hopeless in ironing)
We use gadgets n better cleaners and the job gets done faster n more efficiently. We also keep reminding each of us to put things back in place after using, try to keep hse clean.. so that the hse will not be as messy n dirty. The kids need to clean up their own toys otherwise mummy will throw whatever toys that is not in the toy box in the rubbish chute.

B2B, your maid really stylo.

You all know what? I realised that only when you are strict with maid, then they dare not do funny things. Make all the rules works and they will behave. If we give them a little previledge, they'll think that they can ask for more and take advanatge when you are nice and don't raise voice at them. This is call "fan jian".

Anyway, the above is my own personal view lah. Just so disappointed with all these maid. They had a hard life back there and come here to earn money. While they earn, they get free food and lodging with employers like us who is willing to give and take with the basic requirements met. But yet, this is how they repay us.

lostinthots, actually, I also manage 2 kids without a maid with a full time job. I'm lucky to have my pil during the day to care for them, and I know there are others who send their kids to cc during the day. If you go maidless, you and your hub will have to compromise on housework and help each other out. What I do is I'll let the children had their breakfast, then on tv for them to watch while I put the clothes to wash or dry the clothes, then for their lunch or soup, I'll use the slow cooker or themal cooker to cook the night before (after they have slept). While they are taking their naps, i'll be busy getting ready for dinner, etc. My hub usually helps me to clean up the kitchen and wash the dishes after that. Cleaning of the house? Got time do, no time throw aside lor. Ironing and folding of clothes, I do when the children busy watching tv and I can watch them out or after they have slept late at night. Got to sacrifice some sleep also lah.

lostinthots,
Hubby got no choice but to agree not having a maid after we have changed 4 indo, 2 Mynamese and 1 Phili maids in a span of less than 4 yrs.

The maids either act blur, dun understand or simpy bo chiap.. N i will end up to the one doing the chores bcos i really cannot stand the dirtiness. My maids need not do any cooking since i nvr trust them to cook.
They only need to clean the hse, wash n iron clothings... n help to take care of younger tod on weekdays at my mum's place.
On weekends like what i mentioned b4, they need not take care of the kids since we took them out (actually is to let the maid able to do the chores in peace) but ended these maids took advantage n nvr get chores done. Complain not enuf time, my broom no good, my mop no good... blah, blah.....
N of coz, i face the daily complains from my mum abt my maid. Until i think my mum saw how agitated i have gotten n start calling my hb in the ofc. This whole thing lasted until last March, that i call it quits. I feel that i am going to have a mental breakdown soon. Imagine, everyday, i still need to leave ofc on time, pick older child from CC, rush home to make dinner. Only fact is that i do not need to wash up after dinner.. But we still need to bathe the kids n the maid will be the one feeding the younger tod which the younger one still refuse the maid n wan to sit on my lap while we r having dinner.
Now we just dump her on the hi chair bcos she has been trained to feed herself ever since she is in CC.
CC has also trained her sleep on her own. No more swaddling, swinging etc, etc.. N i believe bcos my child is so occupied in the day. (The maid make her nap 2 times a day even though i said it is not necessary, then they get to sit down n stare at their toe nails grow. ) So it is quite easy to put them to sleep. 10pm, around 5minutes, the kids will be knocked out.
Previously, the younger tod will be still fidgeting till 12 midnight.
The maid can sleep oredi but i am still awake taking care of the tod.

Bringing maids out...
my 1st indo maid...... must eat ho liao, else face black black.... she can happily eat her share and ignor my boy who mess himself up .......when we ask her to stop eating and look after my boy she will act very helpless as my boy wants to stick wif us only, she also dunno how to handle baby..... so I become the MAID...and she will get to eat....

at the Carpark, she will act babodo, will not hold my boy's hand, so I gotta hold my boy's hand, carry my gal and my hubby carry all the bags etc....WE are the MAIDS!!!

my 2nd maid ... slighlty better than the 1st... but as she's the "tai-tai" runaway maid she tell us she eat alot of ho liao back home.....but everytime bring her out although she help to look after my baby gal, she will act till like we never give her eat.....butactual fact we does, just that she eat later and in smaller portions cos she's a small eater at home mah..... then my MIL and family will gowhy give her so little, give her more..... more ho liao.... then she eat happily while MIL will hurry carry bb gal and then MIL become MAID!!!....***faintz***

JChew,
Yes, i set the rules the 1st day they r here. Wrote it in black n white n explained everyday single rule to them. All say, "yes, mdm!" Even give u the i know lah its common sense look...
But in the end, they still break all the rules.
Keep food in their room. Never lock the doors etc...

My last Fili better still. I kicked her out after 2 weeks. Tell me she understand all the rules. When she left, i found my paper wif the rules, on the back blannk page, scribbled how much peso she will earn by Sep, oct, nov....
Argghhhhh...... N of coz she broke almost all the rules on the page.

Honestly, u say they fan jian. I'm sorry, i believe i am the fan jian one. Spend so much $$ on them n agency, give them their own room, buy food that they liked, scare they will mistreat your children n give them all the privilleges.. n all i got is my Australian crystail broken, several plates, spoons,brooms thrown away bcos broken, my wedding bouquet which i have nicely dried up n put in the cabinet thrown away. Worry abt them when u wan to go overseas or out for the whole day. Worry their dinner, worry their health (2 maid give me problems wif mense, swollen eggs bcos insist eat prawns, gastric, all got stupid headaches, backache this n that ache when all younger than me)
Worse than taking care of my children who only gives me coughs n fevers ever since they enter CC.

B2B3M4

I also having mental stress when my mum can call me several times a day just to complain abt my maid..... then 2 weeks ago I call quits to maids.... so now maidless too....

B2B, you all cannot beat my records of maids lah. Eileen will know. Over the past 3 years, including my current maid, I have 13 maids. I already given up on them but I got no choice but to select again and again cause my mil who takes care of my kids need a helping hand.

We actually went maidless for 3 months last year. We really enjoy the stress-less time, but we also see that my mil get very tired out. So, we also "fan jian" again to take a maid in. Then continue our torturous time with the maid.

The only maid that work out for me stays with me only for 1 yr cause she steals my money! I treat her so well cause she is really a good helper and she steals my money. I was very very upset with her then that I send her home for good. She is fast worker, knows her priority, when we go out, she eat first and fast, 5 mins, she'll be taking care of my children and me and hub can slowly enjoy our food. At home, she'll cook and clean and do what's necessary when I don't need her help. But she betrayed my trust. After that, I never get another good maid liao. Now, I'm going maidless again by Sat. But I'm looking forward to it cause I cannot stand the stress of 24hrly fearing that my maid will runaway or do something behind us.

Recently, suddenly both my kids became very close to her. So we also do not want to keep her longer. They are never close to her and my son don't really like her, cause the maid always cannot understand what he wants. But suddenly, since last week, they keep looking for her. I do not want to suspect anything but just want to get her out ASAP.

b2b3m4,

Thanks for your detailed schedules. I am actually quite fed-up with her antics. Always here pain there pain dizzy and blah blah, so i brought her to see dr ended up nothing wrong with her and I had to pay consultation. I had been asking myself is my workload (2 adults, 1 baby) too siong but it seems like she used to be a tai-tai at home.
Her responsibility is mainly house chores and cooking breakfast, dinner. She is not required to take care of baby at all, mainly wash baby's clothes by hand. Mopping with mop, all other washing with washing machine, drying with dryer. She get to rest in mid-morning (9.30am - 11.00am), mid-afternoon (1.30pm - 4.30pm), wake up at 6.30-7.00am, retiring to bed at 8.00pm. I will tell her next time she complained of pain again that maybe she is not fit to work, so I will send her home to be a tai-tai again.
Stressed now....

lostinthots,
your maid so lucky leh, her life is so easy and yet not satisfied? she's really giving herself trouble lor..

sonic,

That's why i'm so vexed. If like this also cannot handle, then might as well i do myself. Only disadvantage is if i have to do housework, then may not be able to spend more quality time with bb..

JChew,

I think my hubby scared I will ask him to help out, that's why insists that we NEED a maid. Haiz...

b2b3m4,

Talking about spoiling things, I also have to grit my teeth and heartache... hp charger, crystal figurine, souvenirs bought during overseas trips (lots of sentimental values), waste basket and the list goes on...very rough handling.

Avocado...very funny leh, she washed your neighbour's car. I showed my boy, he laughed non-stop.

Kristen_mum, my agent is at Gelang. They specialise in Myanmar maid. I have friends and relatives who employ Myanmar maids. They are not that bad. Make sure you choose only graduates. But I am definitely not going to get another one from Myanmar. My 2 other previous maids were from Phil and Indo. Both are very logical in their thinking, and has great initiatives.

Mommies - I really understand what you mean by "facing the daily complains from my mum abt my maid"....I went through the same - and even after you changed several maids, their complains are still there and a portion of it are MINOR things...Finally I really got fedup (my current maid is #8 in a span of 1.5 yrs). I found a ok reliable maid (touch wood if she changed after her probation) and decided she stays at home with the baby. Of cos it would be much reliable to have someone at home, but I am really left with no choice. The daily complains (mostly small issues) really can drive a person mad. The old folks, all meant well, but there are some things these maids are born to be careless or forgetful. Sad to say, we have to live with it, but the old folks cant really accept this. I asked my mom what she wants me to do: change a maid or quit my job and let my own family and kids suffer?! She kept quiet...

Finally, ladies - hang on there and think positive. I almost went into depression and I dont want that to happen to you too!

Suzie,

Thanks. Can you reveal the name of your agency? How much did they charge you for their agent fee? How old is your Myanmar maid and is she single or married?

The Myanmar maid that I have selected is not a graduate leh..I know graduates will more likely be able to speak English but too bad the one that I have selected is not a graduate. I chose her becos she is married with 3 children. She is 32. I prefer someone that is mature in terms of age (but not too old lah) and have kids. Hopefully being a mother of 3 she will have some common sense in childcare.