Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

babycutie,
hahaha you are very farnie abt the fake gender bit...

That's the same thing i thought too abt the maids.. My MiL is roughly as tall as the maids, and has no problems at the stove, yet the maids have!!

you got a pt, even my hb also thinks the same way..I'm quite particular only because of my boy. For myself, i just need the house to be as dust free as possible because of my allergy. But with a small fella crawling around and putting every darn thing into his mouth, cleanliness is really impt...

nellu,
Tell u a story. Yesterday my maid make my mum so angry that she scolded the maid. (BTW, my maid gets scolding from my mum almost everyday).

My girl usually comes back at 5pm. My mum was not feeling well so she went to have a short nap.

At 4pm, after her nap, she found that the maid has not wash up all the dirty utensils in the sink (My mum usually starts cooking at 4.30pm so that the food is warm when my girl return at 5pm for dinner). Not only that, she has not even sweep and mop the floor and has not take her bath too. Dunno what the hack she is doing from 2-4pm. My mum expect her to finish washing all the dirty utensils in the sink and finishing mopping the floor and finish bath within that 2 hours. But nothing has been done. The maid will only do household chores in a haze with loud noise when the time is so tight as she needs to rush to finish which my mum hates is very much.

So my mum scolded the maid. U know the maid replied my mum: "I will die if I always get scolding from you everyday." My mum was fumes and scolded back: "Who will die first?? I am older than you. Most likely I will die before u fall dead."

Haiz....

Cutie, you are paying her $370, yet she dont appreciate so high pay for indo..if she dont do work properly..think better change.. Cause she dare to talk to ur mum that way.Yet she dont have to cook.

My maid, give me black face,siow hp..but she still do work.. so I think, as long as maid do work, employer paid.. fair,dont bother she get herself w bf problems.

Jo,
My agent is Pathway...their office is in Bukit Timah Shopping Centre. My advice is if she got bf, send her off! I used to think that it was ok...but it affects us when they break off or quarrel lor.

Hi Angel..
I agree with u... I used to think it is OK for maid to haf BF... But after hearing your encounter, I think better dun let them haf BF and no off day too...

Btw, what's your plan now? Who is taking care of Jade?

Hi babycutie..
Why don't u sack her? I cant tolerate maid who is rude to elderly.

Hi Jo..
My HB checked the postbox yesterday, and the mail has not arrived.

Emliy, Oh, no..I send out last Friday.I will check my mail box,if they return to me..cos I wrote my add behind the envelope.

Angel, thanks for concern. Meanwhile am looking for suitable one.. I do hope everythings go well, as I need to travel end July. Not sure the new one can cope.

cutie,
2yrs back i sent off my indo maid too..Reason being she is damn rude to my mum. Mum is quite kind to her, and our house got nothing much to do at that time ( baby not out yet) so she watch tv and nap in afternoon. Then she start to be more and more rude, dare to talk back to my mum. My mum was okie abt it and brush it off but i could not stand her being so disrespectful so off she go. Think she was so stunned when i pack her bag and tell her we go agency.
Thats y this time round i got a myanmar maid cos i think they are more respectful to old ppl.

Emily,
I will wait till I come back from holiday in May.
Will be bringing my girl to BKK next mth.

Will sack her when the time is right.

I just went to SUN Employment at bukit timah to view the maid,

met the 24hr hotline guy & met Kent (agree with caira, reminds me of hossen leong.. kekeke)

going to get a transfer maid.. hope will be successful~~

wish me luck~

Do you all have weighing machine at home?

My first maid was very diet conscious and she will always weigh herself and I got fed up that I keep it...

Now, I have a new maid.I took the weighing machine out again and put it in the bath room...Guess what my maid told me?I want to loose weight till 48kg and am now 53.9kg....Why huh, all maids are so smart, know how to use weighing machine?I just worried maid go excessive in diet and ended up fainting in my house....

What would you do?

jo,
my maid is $320 without off. There are some agency charging $350 without off. using JLK Employment.

Emily,
not true leh...Mine can speak english although slow. But written communication is good.

Ivy, thanks..

Cutie, just tolerate a little more, wait for the right time, tell ur mum not to angry, since will fire her soon, as when a person angry, body will release toxic cos aging faster. not worth lor..

Cutie
I can understand your mum's anger, at her age, she's supposed to enjoy her children and grand children, here comes a silly maid who disrespectfully bombard her all the time. Your mum must be very gek sim. You must reward her with a holiday....

Cutie,
Your maid is the sort who needs to be supervised all the time otherwise nothing gets done. Furthermore, she is not humble and answers back. No respect. I would send her back. Nothing worse than a bad attitude.

My maid has been with us for almost 6 months now. This is a record. She's ok. I came back from my biz trip yesterday and the house was still in one piece.

angel,
m v glad 4 u tt ur maid left. she's really a troublemaker.

babycutie,
ur maid is really rude. tink it's time 4 u 2 change her when u come back fr ur holiday.

chole,
i gt d same prob as u. my maid aso wan 2 lose wt as she says tt she had put on so much weight tt she can't wear her jeans anymore. c wat a good life she has at my plc? so u noe wat she did? she bought these jamu 2 help her 2 lose wt. so i always find her in d toilet as d jamu makes her go 2 d toilet more often. 1 day, i can't take it anymore. i told her off v sternly tt whenever i need her, she's always in d toilet. i said tt i dun wan a maid who's always in d toilet esp when i need her help. so i told her, if u wan 2 lose wt, tt's ur prob. bt dun cause me any inconvenience. if i ever need 2 do her wk coz she's in d toilet or she had fallen sick, i m gg 2 send her back. tink she gt d idea. nw i dun find her in d toilet tt often liao.

liana,
good 2 hear tt ur current maid is okie.

angel,
Just read your story....gawd....she's full of threats! Glad she's gone.
How disappointing regarding the embassy! How can they just shove her in a taxi without making sure she leaves! Arrgh!

Chole,
my 1st maid was like this. It got quite bad until we threatened to send her home if she refuses to eat rice!! Hahaha!!

Liana,
Congratulations on the new record with the maid!
good to know that despite her funny antics, she's still decent! Happy for you babe!

Nellu,
Cannot speak too soon! Never know...these filo's are unpredictable man! I would not be surprised if she turns weird any day! (correction...weirder).

So how gal? You found a maid yet?

Liana,
search is still on. I can afford to pick and choose because we are not really in a hurry due to a planned trip end of this month. prefer to have the maid arrive when we return in May.

i've been 'shopping' in fact. been recommended quite a no but have also been rejecting quite a bit. What to do? I'm a bit paranoid and picky... :p

I thought I knew all I needed to know about maids but my expat friend today opened my eyes "wide" with this...

My friend has 3 expat friends. All are very good looking and could easily pick up many good looking girls....but....they prefer MAIDS!!!

Every Sunday at 3PM they head down to Monkey Bar at Orchard Towers which is a full blown disco that is supposedly more happening than MOS at it's peak on a Fri or Sat night!!!!!! There are tonnes and tonnes of Filo maids in there. They take their pick of horny maids and bring them back for "you know what". All are willing and they LOVE being exploited by these expat men.
My friend told me that there are a few things they must check first before picking up a maid. Most importantly is their CURFEW time. If it is 3pm and the maid has to be home by 5pm then the guys know that time will not permit and they move on to the next maid! Some maids are so desperate that they say "no curfew" but inevitably, the employer's start calling when the maid is late causing many problems.

So those of you that give your maids off days....do you know what she does on her Sundays?

I give my maid every Sunday off so I wonder if these guys have picked her up too!

Another bunch of guys I know likes to cruise around in their car on the weekend and they often pick up maids walking along the roadside....all filos....gosh...

I worry abt maids with day offs... Seen to many of them on Sun in town. That's y I insisted that mine cant have any. Made sure the agent understood that, the maid she chose understood that too.
So far, my maid's still okie... in fact, I cant imagine my life w/o her now... esp household chores which I absolutely loathe doing...
My maid put on weight (told us herslf BUT we can also see her clothes getting abit tight-fitting already... haha) but I told her strictly no dieting cos she needs the energy to clean my place... hopefully she wont try anything funny.

i dun worry abt mine ... shes short, plump & unattractive ... and she comes home by 9pm ... unless u tell me these expats go for such requirement or they go for afternoon quickies!! fainted .....

With off day, really hard to say,unless follow her one of the rest day...still cant tell,I realised most maid behave differently infront of employer..they can be totally 2 different ppl

My maid no off day, already can hav bf.. can buy herself hp, can go out without my permission.. and she is looking after my bb girl.

I can't imagine if I give her off day. I decide no off day, for my maid..current n future..simply no off day..and no hp. Really sian with this 2 problems..better dont have since they misused.Not we cruel but they asked for it.

San,
These expats like "brown girls". Plump also no issue. I think your maid got chance!

Jo,
Yes, I came back on Wed, then out again Thurs but back now. It was a good trip and the weather was fantastic. I was visiting a client and they were in the same building as Forever Living.

Liana, u mean when u r in Taiwan?
Taipei have Forever Living, Nanking East Road.
Ur client from another company but in same building? I use to visit Forever Living company and managing director's house in Taipei. He was my idol

My maid has been taking pain killer on on off. I ask her why she told me last time (2yrs ago) she had a c-section and now the c-section part is painful. After taking the medicine she is ok already. As an employer should i bing her to consult doctor? I am also scare that i might be the one ending up to pay for her medical expenses.
No doubt her work attitude is very good and my 3 month son love her so much that sometimes he also dun wan me to carry him. Which is a problem i am worrying now. Will my son call her mummy next time.....

Just received a phone call from my mum telling me that my younger sis' new myanmar maid of 3 weeks told my sis suddenly this morning that her heart is painful and refused to work. My sis was so angry as she took 3 weeks to train her and she seemed alright. So my sis asked her why she had heart problem and still come and work as maid. She said, she still want to work. My sis who's also a SAHM with twin boys (5 yrs old - very active) and a hubby who also travels often felt that she should send the maid back to the agency to avoid any complication. A heart attack medical fee can be huge. But whether she feign heart pain or not, no one knows either...sigh

MIL also complaing about her Indo maid with ex-Sin experience always feigning sick here and there. MIL's house phone has double line, so the maid was using the phone one day, then MIL's friends called and called and maid refused to pick the phone but continue with her conversation. This friend of MIL buay tahan, rushed all the way to MIL house and scold the maid upside down, and told the maid she cannot be so selfish to hog the phone for so long. My MIL was so happy but keep the joy to herself cos she didn't have to tell the maid off. Then the next moment, the maid told my MIL, next time she don't mind going downstairs to make phone calls. MIL said NO, you still can call from the house except that you should answer all incoming calls even if she's talking on the phone.

Precious, I send out today..do sms me. Thanks.

Emily, please check the add u gav me, think the mail lost... I will send again,after receive u email..last few digits postal code n blk not related? Can sms me,faster that way. Thanks.

I just realise, some agent just go online looking for maid's supplier..and get the biodata,sell to employer.. cos,I try to search..and there was a company(in indo,supply worker to other country) email me biodata(s).. of course the risk is there..not knowing the maid can work or not by looking at biodata.. hmm.. direct hire, must know that person..very risky.

Maid use Phone:
I really cant understand why maid need to chat on the phone..its a communication tool,where we contact another person when necessary, to bring message across.
MAID is here to work, what message so important that they have to use phone/hp so often,worst chat long time. Then their business is much bigger than the employer.
I really dont like maid spend lots time on phone/hp..means less time to work. Not paying them to work as operator.

Hi Jo..
I received your VCD finally... Thanks...

But a friend of mine introduced this to me before... sorry, I'm not able to join u for the moment.. But I do appreciate your help to send me the VCD...

jacelyn,
ur maid's explanation sounds fishy 2 me. coz i dun tink d c sec pain can last 4 so long. actually as an employer, u r responsible 4 her medical bills. thus, if u wan, u can bring her 2 c a doc. dun worry abt ur son being close 2 her d nxt time. our kids always noes who's mummy 1. like my case, when my son was younger, he used 2 find d maid 4 everything. nw, he doesn't even wan d maid anymore. everything is mummy mummy...

precious_one,
wah, ur mil's maid is 2 much liao. being able 2 use d phone is oledi a priviledge liao. yet she can abuse it.

Need some advise. My maid called home and her son don't want to go to school, she worried till no appetite and sick for a week and kept sleeping. She made herself so weak by not eating and can't look after my daughter. I am going to ask her if she wants to go home. Have spent too much on Agency fee to employ her and only work for 1 year, anyone know how we go about cancel the work permit ourself and also recommendation on any cheaper flight back to Philippines? Thanks.

amlamum - i read your note, you shld send her home. I hate to see that she lost her motivation but no choice.

I suggest u send her thru tiger airways or jetasia or cebu pacific. if u use pal or sq, it will be more expensive for u. avoid may 1st travel, it will be very expensive. good luck.

Nellu - I have same case as you when i employed my maid last year. She does not have experience cleaning house or as a maid, was a college graduate, took care of her siblings and nieces. Yet, I was very strict from the start with what i expect from her. I even put in a 2 page excel sheet what i expect from her daily, weekly. My friends laughed at me but i want to be sure she knows what she is going to get if she joins me as a maid. I do not regret hiring her bec i was able to train her the way i want it.

So i suggest u talk to her and tell her what you expect. They do not get this much salary in philippines so that is the reason why they are willing to take the job. Give her enough time to rest and encourage her to be open to u.

good luck

hi disneytokyo,

Thanks, have just checked the tiger/jetasia air fare and it costed S$250+. Agent wants to charge me S$350 for airtckt and 150+ for work permit cancellation...I also took pain to train my maid with written instruction on excel sheet and also sent her for cookery class etc. No choice since she so emotional even just on her son not gg to school. We asked her to consider carefully and told her we will respect her wish if she wants to go home since her heart is not with the work here.

Any mummies has experience to DIY on work permit cancellation and buying air tickt for maid to go home as their wish? Is it as simple as book air ticket then go MOM cancel permit then sent her off to the airport? Any idea what is OWWA /POEA? I hope this DIY is not against any regulation...

amlamum,

u can log on to mom's website using ur singpass & cancel ur maid's WP. as 4 buying an air ticket, u can chk out www.zuji.com.sg 4 d cheapest airfare. i hope tt ur maid is paying 4 her air ticket back since she's d 1 who doesn't wan 2 wk 4 u anymore.

Need to ask you for advise on how to get work permit sorted for my transfer maid. I didn't want to use an agency and chose to do it myself. I applied for her work permit online on 25 March. Then I got the in-principle approval letter the next day and using that, I got her existing employer to sign, and I got the insurance company (AIA) to get her medical insurance and security bond. Now what to do next? How do I know if it's been approved? Their website got problem today and the hotline is horrible, no one picks up. So I don;t know what to do next.

Amlamom - when does she want to leave? if you are near the may1 date, it is more expensive. I just checked for my maid recently.
try zuji as well
sometimes PhilAirlines have fares like 125 but you know fuel charges really brings up the prices

Same thing I was worried abt my maid, so i told her before she came here, it is not easy to be alone in another country etc etc....

Re OWWA is Overseas Workers' Welfare Administration
POEA - philippine overseas employment agency
anyway, the point is your agency must have applied her to get permit from philippine govt and these are the POEA and OWWA agencies which is the right thing to do, but you do not need to do anything if you are sending her home. If you get her an exit pass or what they call oec, your maid will be able to come back. As long as they will not exit philippine soil thru immigration, they do not need additional papers from owwa or poea. Hope this helps.

cancellation of work permit, check mom website.

if you need further help, pls pm since i rarely log into this site

good luck.

disneytokyo,
thanks for your concern. i supposed you were referring to my post abt considering the maid with teaching exp? We have actually decided not to take her anyway.

WRT to the maid's routines and houserules, these are things that I have been doing with my last 2 maids. Only sensible ones will have no issues with such things. It really depends on the maid's personality and attitude. I had 2 bad experience previously that's why i'm very particular now with my selection.

hi nellu, yah im new to this thread, another mommy told me to go to this thread since there are maid issues that i might be interested to know and learn from.

disnyetokyo,
welcome welcome...i'm sure you'll gain much being here, just as i had...also there is a great support system here...hope to see you more often.