Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

Emily,

Thank you for sharing. Might approach Sun Employment if I need to find a replacement.

Not gg back to Crislo. Their service sucks. Especially with existing customers. They are only good to new customers.

Forgot to ask. The agency will bring the maid for thumb stamping right? I ever engage an agency which I need to bring the maid for thumb stamping myself.

Emily,

I presume the agent fee of $168 is for getting fresh maid. How abt getting maid with experience in SG? How much fee will Sun Employment charge if we get maid with previous exp in SG?

Sorry for asking so many questions.

Thanks for your advice! I have booked her a ticket for tmr morning 10am...asked the agent to pick her up from my place at 7am. Should I tell her that I'm sending her back tmr morning just before she goes off in case she decides to do anything to my baby? I'm so scared of her now...dunno what she will do. Last night she shouted at my baby when she was crying. I told her off and she didn't respond. Dunno what she is thinking. Think I will also pack her things for her tonight after she goes to sleep coz I don't want her to steal my things.

Emily,
My agency is Pathway, the lady Pauline has been very helpful. I have a free replacement coz I terminated within 6 months. But she say I must pay $250+ for the insurance/bond protector and $50 for English test. Is that normal? Thought it was free? Does your agency do the same?

Caira,
Thanks for sharing your story here. It's always nice to hear some positive stories about the nice encounters with new maids. Your agency seems very professional and their fees are alright. Let's hope our maids continue to do their best for our families.

Hi angel..
We have to pay the insurance/bond protector for the new replacement maid. But for the $50 English test, nope. Maybe it depends on the agency.

If you terminate the first maid within half a year, the insurance company will give you a refund, but I cant rem how many %. Pls check with your agent.

For the safety of your baby girl, do not let your maid handle her today. Actually, you can just send the maid back to the agent and get a replacement. No need to get her an air ticket. Just transfer her to other employer. Why waste $$$ to buy air-ticket for her?

Coz we have to pay lodging of $12/day..and up to 30 days or till she finds a new employer. If she doesn't find one, then we still have to pay for her air ticket back. We also dun want to transfer this maid coz I think this girl got alot of problems besides her bf problem. Dun want the next employer to suffer!

angel2baby
If I remember correctly, your current maid is pretty new in your house right?

Emily
I'm surprised to hear this. I have terminated many maids for working with me for less than half a year, but insurance company (Tenet) never once refund me any premium lei.....but I think we received a release letter from the ins. co.

angel2baby,
Must thank you for thinking of others and not passing your bad maid onto another employer. Respect.

My last maid ran away within 6 months and my new maid was free. All insurance, bond, medical etc no need to pay again.

Precious,
Yes, the agent paid everything. I got my new maid for free. No extra $$$ from me.

My ex-maid ran to embassy and got deported.

Em, Liana,
Actually I have been feeling quite lousy abt this whole situation coz I'm sorta ruining her life by sending her back. But I keep telling myself its not fair to let her ruin other ppl's lives too.

precious one,
My maid worked for me for 5 months. She's been in Spore for 7 years already. I'm her 3rd employer. She was very good with housework and taking care of my baby, but then got alot of rubbish - like from day 1 I allowed her to use her handphone but told her specifically not to do it when she's handling/carrying my baby, but caught her so many times doing it and tell her so many times also she doesn't listen. Totally bo chap. Her salary is $350 and she can spend $40 (minimum) to $80 a week just on top up cards and sends very little back to her family. Then I found out she got bf and he's been giving her money every month. I told myself to tolerate it but 2 weeks ago her bf broke up with her and she keeps crying and having mood swings. No money to buy top up card then keep asking me to buy for her. I refused then she asked my hubby to buy for her and when he refused she got really angry and started throwing tantrums like a small kid, black face the whole day and refused to talk to us. Then this week she completely decided not to work. She's supposed to take care of my baby at my sIL's house during the day while I'm at work, but these few days my SIL says she has been doing nothing the whole day. I suppose she thinks that this will make me give her money??? So hubby and I decided got no choice but to send her back since she doesn't want to work.
Now I am maidless.

HI Ladies,
Wow, so many posts in just 2 days! Thanks for all the birthday wishes. I had a great day yesterday or rather a great night cos my boy slept thru the night, from 730pm to 630am!!! :D

Jo,
your maid really does sound like she has some problems leh...whr got pple for nothing knock head on the wall one??!

babycutie,
your maid really knows how to 'sa-ka' (brown-nosing in hokkien) the boss ah! But also a bit stupid to think that her actions while you are not at home would not be made known to you...Sometimes these maids really think they are smart but they are not lor..If I were your maid, i'll just consistently put up the show. Want to cut corners and skive also must be skillful....
since she is like this, then you'd better change her lah, otherwise alot of stress for you and for your mum...in the end, family relationships will suffer because of the maid...not worth it.

Emily, Caira,
Thanks for sharing abt Sun Employment. They sound good. I'm also in the process of looking for a new maid and also for a reliable and good agent. I may check them out since Bt Timah SC isn't that far away from my plc.

angel,
hope your maid didn't give you trouble when you send her off. My neighbour's Indian maid created quite a bit of drama when it was time for her to go. They had to call the police to come. Even the agent couldn't settle the problem...but I dunno in detail what happened....just saw police at their door.

oh dear! Angel, your maid is really childish!!

Thankfully you sent her back. You should not feel bad at all about it. Frankly she had not done anything significantly constructive for you, so why should you feel like you are ruining her life by sending her home? These irresponsible maids have to learn the lesson and learn to be responsible for their own life choices...sadly so many of them behave like the world owes them a million bucks and that since they are poor, it is their god given right to behave like this...I hate people who think and behave like this...because the fact of the matter is there is no free lunch in the world and our own happiness is our own responsibility!

...i can only wish (really wishful thinking on my part) that all these maids will just wake their ideas up!!

precious,
i also did not get refund from Tenet for both my ex maids leh. Is it just Tenet? or other ins companies also the same??

angel,
I think she ruined her own life by getting herself a boyfriend then getting dumped then not performing and expecting money for having a black face.
Not your fault...I think she should be grateful to be sent home so she can be with her loved ones and reflect on how she got herself fired.

Do let us know if all goes smoothly tmrw....I was also maidless for 3 months when Homelink failed to provide suitable bio-data.

Liana,
What happened when your maid ran away? My maid just ran away. The agent came to pick her up this morning at 7am and sent her to the airport, while queueing to go into immigration, she told the agent she wants to go toilet. So the stupid agent let her go...and she had her passport and money with her. Now she ran away...Dunno where she is. Shitz.....so much trouble! I have to make a police report now. And I dunno whether I will be held responsible for her missing now. The stupid agent told me he was doing me a favour by sending the maid to the airport and he's not responsible. #@$%

Anyone got similar experience?

Hi Angel..
Oh, no.... That agent is really a piece of shit.. Report to police... This case is really complicated..

You DID NOT ruin her life.. she is the one! In fact, she gives u so much trouble, and she doesnt deserve ur sympathy at all...

Without much $$$, she cant go anywhere, except going back to the agent.. the agent may 'gang-up' with the maid & purposely let her run-away so that she can stay in Singapore... I start to have doubt with your agent...

Hi babycutie..
These r the charges of Sun Employment:

up-front package for Indon & Phil: $168
post-dated package for Indon & Phil: $368
Add $100 for FDW with overseas experience

angel
oh no...what a mess your maid have created....she must be running to search for her bf now. Your stupid agent should know that the maid could use the toilet after clearing immigration....so your agent is also at fault cos I believe you told them that she had bf problems right.....

Yr maid must be a disciple of Mas Salamat...go toilet and disappear....Like MM said, "complacency"...use this word against your agent, you pay them to escort the maid to the airport and it is their responsiblity to ensure maid clear custom. They are the pro in this area. How could agent so carelessly pass her the passport before clearing custom??

You must lodge a complaint to MOM about the agency too. Don't let them get away too lightly. If every fault is on the employer, let's all of us quit jobs/SAHM come out and we open maid agencies. Since this is the biz that only make $$ and have no responsibility/biz ethics etc. Easy right.

Pin, Emily,
Ya this is really terrible. I cannot imagine that this kind of thing can happen. I'm so upset.

I maid a police report and they confirmed with the agent that the maid is in their embassy. Now the maid is threatening me to go to MOM to report abuse. She ask me to give her another chance and let her find an employer, or else she will report to MOM. So cunning this maid. The agent ask me to extend her work permit so that they can help her find employer. I'm certain the agency is in cahoots with her now.

Now the problem is whether I want to take this up with MOM, coz its her words against ours. Dunno who's side they are on. My colleague says they tend to give the employer the benefit of the doubt since this is my first case, but then next time if it happens again it won't be so easy.

The agency and MOM tell me I have 2 choice now, either send her back again (must extend her S pass and book another flight back and this time personally make sure she boards the plane and get the police to escort). Or we can extend her work permit under my name, then she will stay at the lodging provided by the agent for $12/day till she finds a new employer. If she can't, then I still have to pay for her air ticket back again.

So I'm really back to square one....Seems like the maid teached me a lesson instead of the other way around!

angel
Send her back again. Did the agency send her to the airport at all? All the agency merely give her the passport and $ to run to the embassy. Don't believe what the agency said. Go speak to MOM directly and hear what they have to say. Did you abuse your maid...eg. beat her etc? How about yr SIL? If you didn't, why subject yourself to the silly maid's threat when she's the one who going crazy over the loss of her bf.

precious one,
Yes she was at the airport, I know coz she called me and my hubby and my SIL and asked us to come pick her up.

My agent just called me again. I just found out that the 'driver' that the agency used is a taxi driver! We paid $70 for his service. But now he is demanding another $70 because when the maid fleed, he was left with her luggage and had to bring it to the agent's place. The agent now wants me to pay another $70! I should be demanding a refund coz the idiot let her run away.

I am definetely going to CASE and MOM to fight this to the end.

Emily,
Thanks for the info.

angel,
OMG!!! Can share which agency u used to hire this maid? We shall boycott the agency totally. Simply irresponsible and unethical.

Hi Emily/Caira,

Can you give me the telephone number of Sun Employment? I am thinking of going down to their agency tomorrow cos my maid last night "chao wo yew yu"!!! So angry!!!

I was thinking she has made so many mistakes and some were quite serious yet I did not send her away. Now she is telling me that she does not want to work anymore as she is afraid of making mistakes and make me angry??!! What load of rubbish!! I will send her home since she has finished her loan and I do not need to pay for her air ticket as she is the one that breaks the contract.

She is really ungrateful!

Sil just hired a 74kg filipino maid and she tried to loose weight.

Latest upate is that she used up two phone cards within a week to call back filipines.sil paid for her as she find her pitiful for this maid has never worked before and used to live a tai tai life. Now, husband out of job and she has no choice but to work to pay for the expensive house.

Her hands also very allergic to soap.
Sil has lots of empathy for her said that she very poor things as last time she used to be a tai tai and now has to be maid....

Do you mums feel the same way?

Kristen,
Be careful...MOM ruling says that employer has to pay for the air ticket back - even if the FDW is the one who breaks the contract. Its on MOM website. Don't listen to what the agent tells you if they say that FDW has to pay. My agent also lied to me. Lucky I went to website and saw so I paid $400 for her air ticket.

Kirsten
Most of my maids also fire me by saying that they're afraid to make mistakes and made me angry so it is best I go get another maid to do their job!!! A crap of rubbish indeed!!!

Chole
Very soon, your SIL will be the maid instead and the maid continues to be the "tai tai" in Singapore. Ask your SIL to come into this forum and read the archive, hopefully your SIL realised that her tai tai maid who fell from grace must work hard enough to earn back her former tai tai status. And not with her "story" to earn your SIL's compassion, then who's going to do the housework?

angel
I believe that you didn't ill-treat your maid.

Do not give in to her threat if you can since you have treated her well. I believe MOM will listen to your reason on why you have no choice but to send the maid home. Your maid agency is so horrible, pass on the job to a taxi-driver?? No standard lei...

angel,
Sorry for not getting back to you earlier, just got home.

I know it's a pain for you to have to deal with this but it's very common that maid will run away at the airport.

She is in her Embassy and trying to blackmail you. Please do not give in to blackmail. She's a very dishonest and untrustworthy maid.

Can you call your travel agent and get the ticket extended for tmrw? MOM is closed so if you get police escort and personal escort etc then you can send her tomorrow.

If not, and she intends to report to MOM, please do not worry.

Speak directly with your maid. Tell her you are fine if she reports to MOM because she will be housed in the Embassy until her case is cleared which can take up to one year and she will not be able to earn any income during that time. Furthermore, you can tell her that she will have to undergo a "lie detector" test (polygraph) and if she fails then she will be blacklisted for lying and making up stories about her employer.

The only way your maid can stay in SGP now is to report abuse to MOM.

You are well within your rights to send her home and you should stick to your decision. Even more so, we know it was the right decision to make. Your maid is a selfish loser. She has no place in this country.

If you would like help, PM me. I will put you in touch with the Director of HOME who can advise you of what will happen if you decide to go through MOM case.

I experienced EXACTLY the same case as you with my first maid. She threatened to report abuse because I was sending her back and created a huge scene as she was being told to go.

I told her to go ahead and make a report to MOM as we, the employers have done nothing wrong. She's the one with the stolen goods business etc. I told her I am happy to let her rot at the embassy and wait until she gets deported because in the meantime, i will be getting on with the rest of my life.

I'm sure it will work out. Hang in there.

$70!!! To send a maid to the airport!!! That's outrageous!! Another $70 for bringing her luggage back!! Wah lau! Should have told the driver to dump it in the trash bin...she obviously doesn't need it right!

Thanks Emily.

I just called Allen and spoken to her. She will help me to shortlist some maids according to my requirements. I will go down to her office tomorrow afternoon.

Precious_one

Thanks for highlighting this to me. I already told my maid that she has to pay her own air-ticket as she is the one who does not want to work. If really MOM rule is that I need to bear the air-ticket, then I really have no choice! So angry wit her for causing me so much inconvenience!!! Really feel like chasing her out of my house now!!

I have some questions and need some advice.
My maid's contract is expiring in Oct and still deciding to renew or not.

1) Do I need to go through the agent to renew or can I do it myself?

2) Is it more costly to ask the agent to do?

3) If I am going to renew her contract, I dont want her to go back home, is it too much?

4) If she wants to go back, do I pay both way ticket or just one way ticket?

5) I also realise her passport(Myanmar)expiry 2009 and how do I renew it?

6) Actually, some people told me not to extend the contract as the attachment between her and my gal will be harder to let go as the longer she stays..

Thank..

Liana,
Thanks for your advice. I PM'd you! She's actually an illegal immigrant as of tomorrow coz her S pass is only up till today leh. I understand from MOM that I need to renew her S pass at MOM on Monday, then only she can leave the country! So I might have to wait till Monday to get her out. But even if I manage to get her a flight, she's in her embassy under their 'protection', how do I get her out? Just go there with police escort? Will they refuse to give her up?

angel
If maid is the one who wants to go back, i think she pay the tix. cos written in the contract. And oso if she breaks some rules. My maid paid her own tix to go back.

emma,
You can renew her work permit yourself. Can get details from MOM website. Renewal is free but u've got to buy your own insurance bond and medical insurance. I buy it online from NTUC.

She is entitled to home leave if u renew her contract. But it can be mutual agreement for her not to go back but u'll hv to compensate her for the price of a return airtix. That was what my maid did. If she wants to go back, you'll hv to pay for her return airfare.

If her passport expires in 2009, u can only renew her work permit up to the expiry of passport and not for 2 yrs. So it'll be better for her to renew her passport so that u can save the hassle of renewing her work permit twice.

She can either renew her passport back in myanmar when she goes on her home leave or if she is not, she can renew it at the embassy here.

But renewal fees is not cheap. It cost $300 for a 3 yr renewal but she got to pay income tax for her income that she has earned for her 2 yrs here and it's 10% of her total 2 yrs income. Including those and kopi money, it's about $1100.
You'll probably have to work out with her as to who will bear the costs or how much to co-share.
I paid full for my maid on the condition she continues to work for me.

it's up to u whether to extend the contract or not. For me, if the maid is performing up to expectation, i would rather keep her than risk changing and getting a lousy one in return.
My kids are close to the maid cos she genuinely cares for them (kids are v smart and perceptive) but in their hearts no one can replace daddy and mommy.

angel,
sorry to hear about all the trouble that u've got to undergo.
Good that u've decided to send her back instead of subjecting to her bargaining and threats. Best that u get her sent home asap.

As much as we trust that u are not guilty of any abuse, don't give the maid a chance to report that on you.
My friend threatened to send the maid home after many mistakes. Maid ran away to embassy and reported abuse cos she didn't want to be sent home. Friend was told that maid won't have a case against her. But who knows, even in the absence of an injury report or witness, she was charged in court and eventually sentenced with jail term. Right now she is working on the appeal. The courts are sympathetic towards maids when it comes to abuse.
So don't take the chance, get her out of the country asap.

babygrace,

Oh gawd...I was thinking I'd wait till Monday to get her a ticket back home but now that you tell me this..I will try to get her the first ticket back home tmr!!!!!

angel,
i didn't mean to scare u. Just wanted to share that case with you. My friend was really unlucky to kenna implicated.

Liana brought up a good point about letting the maid know that she ain't going to have it any better if she reports abuse. My friend told me that her ex-maid regretted her deed and was feeling guilty that she didn't dare to look at her ex-employer during the trial.
So if you wanna wait till monday, make sure you let her know the consequences.

wow im shock to hear tat employers still get charged in court without injury or witness!! how ridiculous!!! no evidence, how to put employer in jail? And spending the money to appeal already cost the employer much emotional & financial stress.

angel
So sorry to read about what happened.I hope things are fine now.

Precious one
Sil believes in karma so she treats the maid well on that ground.She had four maids prior to it and she was firm.However, this maid is a SPECIAL CASE as she find her pitiful.....

Sil cannot come into this forum as she does not know English...only speak not write.

Chloe
I don't understand this. If the 'tai tai' maid's hands are allergy to soap, then ask your SIL to get her a pair of gloves. My point is, regardless she was a tai tai before, she is now a maid and she has to do the maid's work. This maid must face reality, life has its up and down, what goes up will come down. It's just GOd's will that her rich period didn't last her a life time, instead she has to become a maid to help her family. She should know that she has a responsibility towards her family and her current employer and she should not ask the employer to buy phone cards after phone cards. Two phone cards within a week is a lot, of course, if your SIL is another rich tai tai, then these $$ is nothing. All employers should treat the maid well regardless she comes from rich or poor family...so why give special priviledge to a tai tai maid? As long as the employer does not abuse the maid, give her enough rest and food, she is a good employer. To help this tai tai maid, your SIL should encourage her to work harder to build her wealth and house again. By giving into her every request, does not help this tai tai maid in the long run. This is my personal thought.

Liana,
Thanks so much for all your advice last night!!
I called the embassy this morning and told them what happened...thankfully they asked me to book a flight out for her asap and they will send her to the airport. The lady told me she has scolded my maid for running away and explained to her that she cannot stay in spore anymore. She's scheduled to leave at 10pm tonight. I managed to get the phil airlines to re-book her but need to pay $200. But that's fine...better than paying another $475. I am praying no more surprises!

Hi mummies with myanmar maid,
my 3 weeks maid requested to send letter home. One to her mum and one to her auntie ( dunno why to auntie leh). She din seal the envelope and requested me to send for her..i know its disrespectful to read but i do want to know what she is writing back esp its only 3 weeks ( she wrote once back when she is at agent), also if the letter to auntie is real or maybe its to her bf.
The letter is in their language, where can i get translation for it or if some mummy can help me to ask their myanmar maid to translate for me?

Hi Angel..
I'm so relieved to hear that you have finally sorted things out with the maid. I hope that she will leave at 10pm tonight.. *I will also pray for u*

It's really such a nightmare having this kinda maid. I was suddenly taken aback after knowing the maid issues that u r having, but I can't turn back as I have already paid my agency fee. Sigh...

In the mean time, what is ur plan? Who will be taking care of your baby while u r waiting for ur replacement maid to come? Will u consider putting ur baby with infant care?

Hi Kristen..
Good, I hope that Allen can help u to find a suitable maid. I feel that she is actually quite good & helpful... I hope I din make a wrong choice... cos I heard a lot of maid agencies provide very bad after-sale service..