Advise needed: how bad is the natural labour pain without pain killer

giving birht naturally shouldnt be painful, but i would describe as a huge discomfort, as the cervix heaves to move the baby down to birth. it is a beautiful process , trust our maternal bodies to know what to do. anyone who need guidance (i did!) can google hypnobirthing (can sign up courses , read abstract of the book by the original founder on amazon- think the name begins with m..) and/or have Dr Paul Tseng - from TMC as ur gynae. he is very pro-natural and will be able to advise u if u need help
he is the one who guided me to search out hypnobirthinng. it is not hynopsis , rather a way to overcome the fear and relax so that u wont clench up and feel the pain. it takes a very consistent and perservering effort to consciously relax under such condition, esp when we have been conditioned to think it is painful. so would be worth ur while to go thr the course. it also replaces the hospital course more than adequately

<font color="aa00aa">major constipation. big time one.. hahahah

i will always remember it</font>

pSi, i agree with both hands. Haha...

I plan for a drug free delivery for my 2nd bb. Just asking for gynae recommendation... I'm looking for a gynae that strongly recommendation NATURAL WAY, no drugs.

Btw, i'm not preggy yet. Just wan to go for a pre-preggy check up

purelyz

u can go to paul tseng. he is well-known for his pro-natural way. think u will like him . all the nurses at tmc are also very used to unique birth plans drawn up by patients under him haha

always wanted epi-free delivery, but almost went through hell. haha...
gave birth last May with laughing gas &amp; penthadine. the injection on the thigh doesn't work for me. so requested for laughing gas. however, the pain was so unbearable that i couldn't hold the gas mask, had to get hubby's help for that. anyway, i was in a confusion/delirious state. the pain had overcame me, i just didn't know how to breathe properly in the last stage. i didn't scream through it all. i was too weak from the pain. i thought i died. my hubby said i had turned white. my bb also in distress, so gynae suction her out while i pushed. luckily only afew pushes. actually the labour pains was bearable until the last one hour. i actually couldn't sleep well for 1-2 nights, coz woke up from nightmares from the horrible painful experience. i was really traumatised. my threshold for pain is very low. i will definitely go for epi for my 2nd child.

hi all the brave mummy out there...
currently i'm planning to conceive but i really got phobia of giving birth as my threshold for pain is really low! so scary sigh...

Gave birth Drug Free via Hypnobirthing as well. And it's after a 1st Cesarean. Definitely recommend Hypnobirthing to anyone who is afraid of PAIN like me. It really teaches you how to have a pain-free birth!

Anyone keen on VBAC and need some support feel free to pm me.

is this thread still on?? Im interested in hypnobirthing and want tofind out more and wish to have some ideas of in sg we have a course or soemthing....pls reply.. thanks..

I had a drug free birth as well and my baby was 4.4kg!

There wasn't much pain throughout, only when it started.

I did my best to relax and used natural pain relief methods to ease it and then my body took over, releasing endorphins, the body's natural pain killer.

Everyone was shock at her size and it only took me 8hours.

Never let anyone tell you that Asian Women cannot give birth to big babies again! I'm a Singaporean Chinese of average size.

There was no need for an episiotomy (the cut at the opening of vaginal) as well.

Childbirth education is really crucial because what we've heard from others might not be true and holding on to those ideas will not do us any good.

Also take the course from the right educator who'll provide you with the appropriate information and do a lot of practice and revision.

Labor pain is going to feel different from the rest of the time a woman feel pain. And a woman will definitely feel it if not, how will she be able to tell the pains apart and know that she's in labor?

It's about what we do about the pain that makes all the difference. The right information and beliefs we hold will determine the birth experience that we'll have.

Just to share... I've never had menstrual camps in my entire life so when labour pains came, I thought it was gastric pain or stomach cramps! Lots of scolding from the nurse though 'cos she kept saying, "just like cramps, why you cry!". I never had cramps before lah!!!! I remember feeling so shocked when I realise I was having labour pains. My mind was swirling with fears of being cut up (thank goodness natural birth) I didn't know whether it was the pain that was killing me or worries of how delivery might go.

Giving birth (befoe bb comes out) was extemely painful, felt like I was splitting into parts. Good thing my son was very impatient so everything was done within 2 hours. After delivery, I felt so LIGHT and FREE!!! I actually lost all the weight/flab immediately after birth (but now put on 'cos not working or exercising much). Anyway, having a kid is a roller-coaster ride and we have to learn to adjust and make improvements as we go along

i hv 2 lil darlings, 2yo and 6mth old. Both births were natural, 1st one w epidural, 2nd one w gas mask. I actually preferred the one w/o epi as recovery was fast. About 2 hours after giving birth, I felt normal, could walk ard my ward. It's liberating as no need to hv a urine bag attached and no need to be told to stay in bed for entire day for the epi effects to totally wear off.

How about the labour n birth? With epi, you literally lie in bed w minimal movement for fear that the tube might shift. Was totally numb waist down, legs were dead weight. I felt horrble to be constrained by tube in my back (tho cant feel it), drip in my wrist, doppler on my tummy, dead legs. But it was a welcome respite from pain as i had laboured at home for abt 20 hrs. 2nd half of that 20 hrs was horrible back pain. cold/warm presses didnt work. Hubby had to massage my tail bone area everytime contractions came. Reached hospital at only 5cm dilated despite all that horrible pain. So took epi... another 10 hrs later, it was time to push. Pushed w nurse's instructions but progress was very slow. After close to an hr of pushing, i was exhausted. Gynae came and advised that she will use forceps as I was swollen there from all the non-progressive pushing. i didn't like hving vacuum or forceps assisted birth but no choice la, baby's safety more important. Within 3 pushes, baby was out. only 5 mins!

2nd birth, i was privileged to go thru w/o epi. I was free to move my body (tho still had doppler on tummy). My labour started at 4am and i reached hospital by 9am. All was bearable and I was already 7cm dilated to everyone's surprise cuz i still could walk from carpark to delivery ward. Gynae said,"Wah, 7cm you can still smile. Seems like ur labour will be fast. No need epi la. See you later." BUT labour wasnt fast. Took abt 3 hrs to full dilation and the last 1 hr was very difficult. I keep watching the machine that measured the contractions and braved myself for the peak ( which sometimes were so close, 2-3 mins). Furiously used the gas mask. Too painful to talk so I gestured whatever i needed. Was so happy when i could finally push. Baby came out in 3 pushes. I felt like i achieved a milestone w that.

Truly felt blessed to go thru natural labour w/o epi actually, as i had wanted. That said, pls dun feel any lesser as a mother should u need epi (i needed for 1st one or i could hv just died from pain) or need c-sec. All that matters at the end of day is safety for mom n babe. All mothers are just amazing, regardless of how you give birth

My 2kids are now 2.5yo and 1yo.. Both were induced. #1 was due to high blood pressure.. #2 was because I wanted to do it, it was so tough to take care of my 18mos with a huge tummy!

I was chicken and opted for epi during my first labor.. So couldn't feel much of anything and it was bliss.. Shivered and slept, on and off.. Until gynae popped my waterbag and I waited somemore.. Then it was time to push.. 9mins and she was out! Simple and easy.. Recovery was fast, very fast.. I walked soon and pooped next day, as if it was normal.. Even escorted my guests from lobby myself.. =X

For #2, I decided to try without epi as I was 4cm dilated when I checked into the hospital.. Apparently, I opened only additional 1cm during the night.. So disappointing! Ended up with bursting my water bag the next morning.. My gynae told me the pain would come in the next 2-3hrs.. I beared with it.. Well, until that 2-3hrs later anyway.. It's the worst kind of pain for me because I couldn't reposition myself when the contractions come.. I had to freeze.. I think if I could walk or move or crouch, it may have been better.. But then again, not an easy task when i'm strapped up and into the bed, with a huge hard belly and the drip.. I gave up and took epi.. hehe.. Best decision ever! My hb was SO relieved, I didn't even noticed he was so tensed! Next thing I know, I'm woken up and asked to push.. 3pushes and HE was out!

After cleaning me up and pushing me to ward, 2 nurses wanted to carry me onto my ward's bed.. I didn't want that so I moved over by myself.. The nurses said it was as if I never had epi.. I wanted to walk down to buy supper but nurses stopped me.. Next day, I walked and pooped as per normal, same as before..

And I agree with the mummies here.. It's definitely THE WORST POOP ever! Haha..

I'm not pro-epi nor pro-natural.. I'm just being neutral.. And I just want to share my experience.. Taking epi isn't weak or something to regret about.. End of the day, we all just want our babies in our arms..

I wanted to "try" natural birth without painkiller cos i only want 1 child but chickened out last min and had pethidine and laughing gas.

Pethidine only made me sleepy to dull the initial "pressure" of the contractions. Laughing gas only came in when the really painful contractions starts. Just feel really "high" but can still feel the pressure building for about 40mins before i gave birth.

Overall its not too painful lah.. could walk to the nicu to visit my baby (cos she had a heart condition) right after i gave birth.

Agree with some things the mummies here said.
1) mindset - 'I can do it v impt'
2) breathing - must force self to breath slowly in and out as much as possible. Its hard but pain is more manageable with that kinda breathing

breathing slowly connected to the feelings/mindset.
if breath slower, the mind/emotions dun panic so much hence its more manageable and feel can get thru the contraction.

breathe fast or cant breathe - panic more and feel like cant do it.

dat my personal experience...hope it helps

I also took the hypobirthing course. didnt really use the exact methods. but it was the idealogy, concept that really helped me.

I'm surprise to know that this thread is still active. I just read my past posts in year 2008. That's is my labour experience for my #1. Time flies... Earlier this year i just deliver my #3 without any drugs. I did the same for my #2.

For my #2: My contraction start 8am, i wait till 2pm then go hosp. I was already 7-8cm. Deliver my #2 close to 4pm.

For my #3: My (weak) contraction start 10am, i wait till 11pm then go hosp. But i'm just 5-6cm. I deliver after 2.30am.

Drugs free labour is possible! Jia You all mummies!

reading this thread is fun.
really pei fu those that go drug free.

i'm due anytime soon but i had decided to take epi tho. then after reading this thread, i feel like giving it a try w/o drugs. haha... hope i can do it this time.

I did it. without any pain killer.
my contraction start at 5am, but not so consistent, so I ignored. even went for my sons PTC. it din went away like the last few times after 6hrs. so I think it's for real le. but then oso delay here and there to go hosp. when reached and chk dilation already 9cm. I shocked, midwife oso shocked. so hurry me to delivery suite. and advised me not to take epi. I agreed oso since already 9cm la. so waited for gynae to come after his op with another patient. and within 1.5hrs after 4-6 pushes, and bb is out. feel very admired and proud of myself. but maybe due to this is my #3, so labor progress very fast too.

Gave birth Drug Free via Hypnobirthing as well. And it's after a 1st Cesarean. Definitely recommend Hypnobirthing to anyone who is afraid of PAIN like me. It really teaches you how to have a pain-free birth!

Anyone keen on VBAC and need some support feel free to pm me.