Advice Needed: Any Mummy who put baby in infant care centre ?

janiemin,
Happy 1st Birthday to Jave Junior!

My boi like urs also, cannot sit still in the car for long, so cruise is a better alternative now if I wan to travel.. If my boi is co-operative, then at least we can self-drive to Malaysia but my hubby sense of direction also quite not good and I'm not good at looking maps, later lost in the jungle..Haha..

pastries,
It's one of the 6-in-1 jab required to take at 18mths. He alry took the mmr jab around 2mths back. The mmr jab will cause high fever, somemore it's 1 week later. But my friend's boi dun hv fever, maybe his immune sys better..so depends..

Wow juju, u so adventurous, go so many places…

pastries,
it's hb who like to go m'sia. his logic is dun waste money on air tickets. *bleah*
my malay colleague who's great-grandma stay in m'sia, say i travel to more m'sia states than her! lol!

snowyee,
can get gps! hb jus got a garmin gps, it even lead us to less-known places of interest & wun get lost de! very good!
lol! hb miss his m'sia trips

halo ladies, my gal also at IFC at buangkok area, she is 1 yr old now

Juju, i thot u are SAHM liao?
Hey I am Va*****
beside sandy that post u are on papers at FB
Then how come ur gal at IFC ah?

mangogal,
cos dun wan my ex-colls & boss to noe i'm still working. told them i was leaving to stay home.

I don't like to work but also don't like to stay at home look after bb leh, best is don't need to work but still send bb to IFC, hahaha! *lousy mummy*

pastries,
maybe send for half day lor... they can socialise & learn things, think better than stay at home whole day

Juju, haha! Hey, I did had this thought recently. But current IFC doesn't encourage half day leh.. Also subsidy for NWM half day is only $150...

Really contemplating a change of line.. I am in accouting line, realised that I am bored of it..

wow! so many posts these few days!

snowyee, yah, she is taking 6-in-1 jab. this time round, her fever subsides a little slow. but luckily now recover liao. oh, you are also in HR profession! me too! well, I just went back to office on Monday (after my maternity leave), then this morning kena high fever, 39 degrees, given 2 days MC. sigh...

juju, you are so adventurous! traveling so much! i went to Hokkaido last year during their winter, very nice! we would like to go again. but now with the little one, will have to postpone our trip.

Juju, actually our company finance dept can go back on the dot wan, hahaha! v good hor! but 一言难尽。。 It is the right time for me to move on.. But I am really at a loss sometimes...Don't know to con't in this line or took a paycut by trying new areas, but then, there isn't much new areas for me to try.

How abt u?

Peipei, take care oh! Could it be due to block ducts?

pastries,
huh? then better change la. stay in ur current line may be better. continue to command dat level of pay
or maybe can try to do accounting frm home. seems like companies like to engage freelance so they save money on full-time staff.

me? i dun hv much choice. anyway, my pay level quite low.

Juju, v difficult to made decision hor.. cos i am those type like to buy pretty stuff for myself.. anyway, if i change company, i will remained same level as per current. Cos i realised in Singapore, 99% higher pay = higher stress and longer working hours which i am not willing to..

If work freelance, then IFC subsidy how leh?? haha! no sudsidy v xiong leh.

juju,
Ya gd idea hor, did think of tat. GPS solve my hb "mi lu" problem. heehee.

pastries,
true la, high pay=high stress and more responsibilities..mee also xian, been in the same line for almost 10 years..nw switch to other profession got no exp, so better to remain status quo safer.

peipei,
Take care and rest well hor, 39 degree is very high.

Wa, so co-incidence, same line. U doing full spectrum?

pastries,
true la. if i can do freelance frm hm, i jus wanna put jodie for half-day. work half day at home nia. will be shiok!

snowyee,
keke... very fun to self-drive de. jus dat in m'sia, gotta be careful on the road

Any mummies put their kids in Cherie Hearts?
I am looking at the following branches.

1. Cherie Hearts Precious Tots Pte Ltd
(Upp Thomson)
(with Infant-care services)
6 Jalan Gelenggang

2. Cherie Hearts Kids-At-Play Pte Ltd
(Thomson Road)
(with Infant-care services)
34 Westlake Ave

juju,
same thinkin, if can work half-day freelance from home shiok hor, save travelling cost..

tango,
mine currently in cherie hearts but different branch.

snowyee, yah, quite surprised to see another HR profession around. haha... yes, i'm doing full spectrum. everything also need to help a little here and there lah... cos small HR team here. U?

Hi mummies, I just sent my 10.5month old girl to IFC. today is her 5th day. any mummies sent their kiddo to IFC at that age? she's suffering from separation anxiety, kept crying at the IFC. wonder how long it takes for her to adapt there?
Also, any kiddos reject the food from IFC? my girl doesn't wanna eat the porridge and cereals there but she'll eat as per normal at home. i wonder if she doesn't like the food at IFC or is it the problem with the teacher. Sigh.. I'm soo worried. Pls help..

peipei,
I'm not doing full spectrum, only partial. My co. workforce quite alot, so HR team also more ppl.

tango,
my boi at Cherie Hearts Justkidz (Jurong West ave 5)

woooohh all the cute bbs and hot mamas.

sorry ah mummies, pls bear with me, i'm nursing a bad flu (down since sat!), hence haven't log in for a while. went to doc for the 2nd time today, boo...

janiemin, sophia - have just added u on FB

a mummy was asking how to feed bb medicine? for me, i add the med in milk/cereal. there was once i tried to just use syringe but bon seemed quite traumatised by the experience =( so now for med sake, even if it is past feeding time. i'll add the med to an oz of milk and let bon drink. for him, it works cos milk is really his first love =) he doesn't refuse milk

janiemin
happy 1st birthday to jave! so fast =)

heyhey
something wrong with our thread? cannot see past posts leh ...

i want to ask. bon like v prone to nappy rash. how ah? doc said he has sensitive skin =( he's getting it v frequently, sometimes fortnightly, or weekly. terrible rt?

lina,
Did u tried california calendula cream? It's very effective for nappy rash. Sometimes when they poopoo abit loose, will make the skin red red also. Or could it be the diapers? Prob not suitable? Like Pierre also have sensitive skin, cannot wear those economic type 1, else his buttocks also red red so hv to wear huggies brand.

hi snowyee
oh, i do hv CB calendula cream. thks, will try.
diapers he's been using the same brands (pet pet for day, mamy poko for nite) for a while, so don't think it's the cause. sigh, we just hv 2 change the diaper for him more regularly

Snowyee, wah your Pierre boy have golden buttock. haha! Huggies is good but the cutting abit bulky infront hor. I like Mamy Poko. ^^

Lina, also maybe due to once bb started solid food, their urine & poo is considered more 'toxic'. For nite use, what time you change the nite diaper for him and did you change throughout the night? For me, around 7+, will change nite diaper, then around 11+, change another one for him. Then morn change to day diaper.

hi Maggie, I sent my gal to IFC last yr Dec ard 8 months old and she also start to hv seperation anxiety..now she stil hv cos every morning she will cry when she see the teacher..but once teacher set her into routine and they knw her 'pattern' quite easy for her to adapt

Im back to work but very busy to reply.will read previous postings and reply.

Im in dilemma now.for those of u who knw tat im goin to chg IFC in May rite. today my current IFC told me tat they are providing bus services starting fm May, meaning going to my blk to fetch bb..The teacher told me 1st hand today as they kwn my reason (travelling issue) why i wan to chg IFC.How ah? If you were me, wat will u do?? stay at current IFC since bb comfortable & pay extra $$ for bus transport? its 120 bucks, but can pay by CDA lah..but i have not ask in details yet.

He is now in the separation anxiety stage..always stick to me, dun wan ah gong to carry..plus oni favourite teachers then can carry.

janiemin,
ur boy still young, u wan him to take sch bus? wl they put car seats?
if i were u, i wl still chg ifc. jus my opinion

hi janiemin,

I know it's hard to decide.
But like what juju say yr boy so young, are u letting him to take alone?

Indeed if u add up the cost & compare is abt the same, right?

pastries
i change diaper abt the same time as u did, 7+ in the evening, 11+ at night then next morning. day time at ifc use pet pet.

janiemin
i'm for changing ifc as well. bb too young to take transport alone, dun feel secure at all.

mummies, i'm in a dilemma now. bon has been falling sick every fortnight for the past 6, 7 weeks. each time he's well, we brought him back to ifc 2, 3 days, he's down again. fever, LS, cough, bad nappy rash - i've lost count on the numerous med he took. he's now on antibiotics again (since he went to ifc, think this is his 4th or 5th course). it breaks my heart each time he's sick. when he cried earlier, i felt like crying with him. on one hand i know being in ifc, he learns more things, is happy and cheerful, however it feels like now it's at the expense of his health =(

tough decision now - should i become a SAHM? if i do, will i be able to engage him as well as the ifc does?

Morn,
now got some time to post.kekee..

tangofango,
i chg IFC cos of location/travelling distance.by car, abt 15 mins but by bus, its KNS cos wait for the stupid bus,to and fro need 1 hr.the prob is i dont drive, i take bus.

juju78,
wah very good leh, self-drive to msia.we drove to msia (muar)in JB last month,cos of the "qing Ming"..i still have to choose timing one ok..drove at ard 9pm so tat bb can sleep in car but cried almost rching, then when bk home, drove home when its ard his nap time..very stressful,tink nothing to do inside the car mah.

Maggie,
my bb is one of those who have separation anxiety..haiz..today, one new teacher came, he just dun like n keep crying..i wonder if he go to new IFC how?haiz..

Lina,
use desitin for nanny rash, quite good.

juju78,sherine, lina
Thanks for ur reply.i will have to provide car seat for bb under 18 mths, there will be one attendant.my oni concern is tat they will bring my bb go island tour,u knw taking sch bus,there sure drop off many stops one mah.wait my bb cried in the bus cos sit too long, his butt cant sit still one.if i added up the cost, have to pay 80 bucks more for bus services as compared to new IFC.

Today,bb's fav teacher accidently slipped her mouth saying she will be going over to do admin work, so if i stay oni got 1 teacher which my bb is okie with.meaning he will have to get used to new teachers..then 6 mthsa later, he goin over PG mah, will change teachers liao..this is the same as getting used to teachers at new IFC, i feel..

Lina,
its like this at the beginning..i oso heart pain to see my bb take meds, but he enjoys taking..my bb getting better lah, last sick was 1 mth oni..(finger cross).being SAHM is hard, u have to cook for them,be there for them..u cant do anything as long as they are awake..then when they Zzz,you oso have to go take nap to recharge ur battery..initally, i tot i can be a SAHM (if i got plenty of $$ lah),but after my bb born,i realised I cant do it..

Janiemin, i also think is btr to change IFC.. seems like you also decided this cos yr bb fav teacher is switching over to admin...

Lina, I understand how you feel because I also had the same question as you on one stage. May I know why yr bb need to take antibiotics? Antibiotics is for bacterial infection leh..

Also, your boy is in IFC for how long already?

When my bb is around 6-8 month that time, he fall sick so often until the PD asked me to consider be a SAHM. That time, I couldn't control my emotions until I cried infront the PD (worse, my hubby is overseas that time, I am taking care of bb alone) because everytime my bb is sick, the stress and worries are so torturing.. I went searching for a nanny but unfruitful, then my house area got 2 new IFC opening, I switched him over to the new IFC.

I would say, give yourself & your boy some time. Perhaps after the initial 6 or 7 months in IFC, he had built up quite strong immunity liao. If after some time, you really think you want to be SAHM, then just follow your heart.

You can also read story book to him, sing songs, etc.. can also join once a week enrichment classes etc.

Alamak, write long long, then my post gone..

pastries,
Ya lor, my boi got golden buttocks, need to use good brand, but it is quite absorbent, I change around 8plus then tong until tomorrow 6plus to 7, so no choice hv to use the bulky one. Tried Mami poko for night but cannot hold and but for day time usage quite good.

Janiemin,
I feel you shld change IFC since ur boi has the tendency to stick to teachers he knew, then no difference when he switched to PG next time and face new strangers. Who knows, probably Jave feels much happier in new IFC?

Lina,
Can understand ur dilemma. Once the doc told me, it is quite normal for infants to fall sick esp. if they are in the day care, at least for the first 2 years plus they have not complete all the necessary jabs. I even thought the teachers purposely made my boi sick so they don’t hv to take care of so many babies..(think too much). 1 thing is IFC is usually air-conditioned, thus the virus spread more easily and the teachers in contact with many babies and sometimes possible to spread through their contact also.

Like the mummies mentioned here, it is not easy being a SAHM, at least for myself I’m not ready for full-time, maybe half-day can and monetary is an issue. Most important is whatever decision you've made is the best for you and ur boi now, then just go ahead.

janiemin,
in dat case, i still think better to change ifc. dun continue wif the current one. ur boy will hv his new fav teacher at the other ifc anyway. mine does dat

u can try to put interactive toys in the car, or entertain wif dvd or play. depends on wat he likes.

thanks for all the advice mummies.

sigh ... to cut a long story short, i've just got retrenched recently as well, so have stopped work for abt 2 weeks. we still put bon at IFC full-day because:
1) the ifc has no half-day program;
2) we want to chope the place becoz initially i thot i 1 2 cont working;
3) we didn't 1 2 rock the boat, becoz really bon is very happy there

so the idea is i pick him up earlier in the evenings, or now and then half days.

the last straw tt got me into this dilemma was last thu pm, ifc called me to pick bon up as he was having fever (38deg), sigh ...

anyway, janiemin we're using desitin.
pastries, bon is in ifc for almost 6mth liao. yup, doc said he has an infection, prob becoz he cough so hard so throat looks quite bad =(

honestly mummies, i do not know for sure if i can be a SAHM. i only know tt it is real tough 2 c bon sick so often & i ask myself, wat am i doing at home when my bb's not wif me.

it's just me, i think reality has now hit me hard tt i no longer hv an income. & worse, i feel i suck as a mummy becoz i'm putting my son at a pl where i jolly well know tt he'll fall sick often =( sorry to rant, mummies ...

Ive decided to place bb in IFC.thanks for all ur advice. mum disagree to bus as well,extra costing by buying carseat,bus fee,concerned of bb seating in bus etc. yes,since bb is goin to chg teacher in PG,he must adapt..and as wat some said,he will find his fav teacher in new IFC since there are 5 teachers there.

Lina,
understand ur situation cos u not working now so u will feel this way..you can try taking care of bb whole day for 1 week and decide,althou its goin to kinda waste $$ cos u aldy paid for fees but let this decide whether u really wants to be SAHM.just in case, u regret then difficult to find IFC again.

Lina,
Usually bb cough will take longer time to recover plus tey drink milk, sometimes the milk also irritate the cough 1, so that's where Dr give antibiotics to recover from the infection.

It's ok to vent out your frustrations. I would probably have the same feeling like u as well. Meanwhile, give urself sometime to thought things out. Dun blame urself, u also dun wan to be retrenched and bb sick wan mah.

Hi Lina,
Im a herbalife distributer and I work part time selling products.. U can do too if u want..=)

Since u are retrenched, u can try work from home keep u busy.. until u find a new job...it's really own time own target..=) If u care for your health and u want to share your story w others on how the product has supported ur retrenched time and your health.. u'd be able to support urself at the same time take care of bb..=)

One of my friends also give her baby the product right from after 3 months..and baby is so healthy..=) hehe...

They have products for detox, weight mngt, health maintenance.. etc.. whole list.. let me know..=)

Me will give my baby too when he/she is old enuf.. now im waiting to get married.. so..haha..=) planning ahead..=)

PM me if u wish to know more..=)

Hi for those mummies who is feeding bb 3 solid meal, can you share the feeding schedule for your bb?

I am starting to let my boy have dinner now, these 2 weeks, he rejected milk, milk intake dropped by more then half! But my 'dilemma' is we fetched him around 7, so he will have porridge around 7.30 at my mum's place. I don't know whether to let him continue the 6pm milk feed and porridge at 7.30 and no more milk feed at night, or drop the 6pm milk feed and let him have 9pm milk feed....

The reason is
1) he rejected milk at both 6pm & 9pm
2) Normally by 9pm he is very tired, if he is very tired, he lagi not interested in milk..

Pastries, P taking 3 solids now. Here's his feeding schedule in his PG nw.

6.45am - Milk
8.30am - Breakfast(Cereal/bread)
10.30am - Fruits
12pm - Lunch (Porridge/rice/noodles)
1pm - Milk
3.30pm - Fruits/snack
6pm - Milk
Ar 7pm Dinner(Porridge)- depends wat time I reached hm oso.

No milk aft tat. Sleep ar 8plus.
I think it's better to continue the milk feed at 6pm, at least can tong till dinner. He may not take too much solid, maybe half to 3qtr bowl.

P oso recently milk intake reduced. I'm not sure if it is becos' of his jab. Cos everytime after taking his jab, his milk will drop..ltr his appeite cum back slowly. But his solid intake still the same. I guess possible cld be his solid intake increase, so milk reduced.

Snowyee, thanks! P's feeding schedule is quite similar with my boy.. hmm, better to have the 6pm milk feed hor. Ok, I shall tell IFC to continue the 6pm milk feed.

Haizz.. lately feed him milk must sing the marching song and pretend marching then he will drink. Nowadays even water he also refused, then everyday poo poo hard hard.

P is over 18 months le right? How much he is drinking for every milk feed?

Last Tuesday weigh my boy, only 7.7 kg but height is 74cm at 11.5 month! Used to be 8 kg a month ago.. I think I know how my mum feels when we are younger cos we all very skinny no matter what we eat and she everytime very 'ge sim'. haha! Now I feel the same way but don't know how.. cos he is eating very well already.. (except the recent drop in milk intake)

Pastries,
Yes, P is coming to 19mths alry. His milk intake before reduced is around 200ml to 220ml every feed, now reduced by half 120ml like tat oni..sometimes have to use spoon to feed him, no choice. Me too, hv to sing twinkle twinkle little star then he will drink his milk.

I think their weight will remain and increase slowly as they grow, as long as he's eating well, shld be fine lah. My friend's boi nw at 17mths but also weight around 9kg but small built. P nw is 11.5kg and 86cm, he also skinny type but bones very heavy.