! Advice for ecezma baby. Help!!!

enzomom

Hi mommies, my boy is 4mths old and has got bad ecezma (with pus). Ecezma spreads on his face, legs, body, head and now I see pus coming out from his ears and belly button. Heartache to see him like this. Took him to the pd and they prescribe him with steriod and antibiotic creams which I am really relunctant to give but given his condition I have no choice but to use it. I've also tried using cetaphil shower gel and moisturizer but its not helping much. Can someone please advice, what other cream will be effective and what other things must I take note of?

Hi enzomom,

I know that eczema is usually dry. I use Weleda Baby range product for my daghter who has the dry type. You can buy it on www.ginko-shop.com or Sunflower City Square Mall Unit B1-12A.

But your baby has pus. I googled "eczema with pus" and this is what I found: "The rash is normally dry, but if the skin is infected with bacteria (impetiginized eczema) the eczema will begin to suppurate (produce pus). This is a danger signal, and you should consult your doctor or a dermatologist if this occurs."

Here is the link if you want to read more: http://www.netdoctor.co.uk/diseases/facts/infantileeczema.htm

So better you bring your baby to her doctor.

Hi Liz and Smileyface,

I took my boy to the pd again today. And she has given another stronger type of steriod cream and a free tube of cetaphil moisturizer. I am like overdosing him with steriod cream just to get rid of the pus. Maybe I will need to change a pd for him.

Liz, how frequent do you use the moisturizer on your daughter? My pd asked to use it at least 4-6 times daily.

Hi Smiley,

I know its dangerous, and I'm worried of the pus in his ears. Pd also given him ear drops to clear the infection. Hope he can recover really soon.

Hi enzomom, would you consider supplements to help your child? I would really love to share my expertise if you are keen to listen. Thanks.

Hi enzomom, my daughter has some patch of eczema from time to time. It's not widespread on the body. But the moisturizer I put on her heals very well. I just put it twice a day and her skin is already better the second day. I highly recommend the Weleda Baby product range if your baby suffers of eczema. The whole range contains calendula flower which has anti-inflammatory, healing and softening properties. And it's made with natural ingredients only. I've also read many other reviews on the internet for this brand and a lot of parents whose baby has eczema problem recommend this brand. Type "weleda baby reviews" in Google and check yourself.

Hi enzomom

Do bring your child to National Skin Center. The dermatologist there will be able to give a more accurate diagnosis.

My son used to have rashes all over his body when he was 1month old. We went to PD, GP, private dermatologists who gave us different diagnosis and they are all WRONG. In the end, my son was diagnosed at NSC after a skin biopsy and his condition wasn't a simple one like eczema or heat rash or viral rash like the other doctors suggested.

My advice is anything that doesn't heal in 2 weeks. Go to national skin center. With a biopsy or skin test, they will be able to give a more accurate diagnosis.

Don't wait too long because your son is still v young. You can PM me if you need more help.

Hi Liz,
I've tried Weleda and California baby but his condition still remains the same

Yesterday, my hubby took him to the pd, and he was given bactoban (according to PD, this is stronger than Elomet). And still I hesitated in applying it for him but I have not choice. I see his skin thinning by days...

Hi Selina, what was your girl diagnosed with? My boy has been having skin problems since he was 2 weeks old. The rashes comes and go...

Then, Weleda and California Baby is maybe for the dry type of eczema.
Maybe you should follow Selina's advise if your son's condition is not better after so long time and you have tried so many products already. The problem may be something else than just eczema. Anyway, if you are using natural or organic product, it's already better for your son.

u got try use chinese tea water clean the rashes?
when my gal eczema flare up i will use chinese tea to clean for her and will get better faster. taught to me by a tcm.

Yes, I should be taking him to the NSC if he still doesn't recover after this time...
Hi Smiley, I did use chinese tea and coconut oil too since both has anti-inflammatory contents, but it still comes back again... Coming to think of it maybe it really isn't just ecezma.

NSC hor need wait at least a mth time for gd doctor. i cant wait that time for my boy n in the end i go to pte derma.
but since u alr been to derma then i think last resort is to NSC liao. no choice.
heartpain to see kid like that. the rashes just keep spreading n spreading i know.
is he on any med?
have u try see tcm?

my elder gal kena v v bad cold sores all over her mouth n even spread to nose and inside ear. its looks like rotten. i was so worried and was prescribe antibiotic for her to consume + antibiotic cream to apply & ear drop for ears.
took more than a week to recover wor.
doc told me kind of dangerous if develop fever n i have to monitor closely and send A&E immediate if fever cant come down.

Wah.. got to wait so long? Even if he can endure that long, I dun think I can bear to see him like that. He is not on oral medication yet. I've not tried TCM though. Any good doc to recommend?

NSC i know if u dun choose doc then may not need 1mth. my GP help me choose a prof level doc in NSC so have to wait so long hence the GP eventually ask me go pte derma whom he recommend also.
hmm...TCM i consult for coughing instead of skin condition so i cant advise. and the TCm i went to is specialise in cough.

My son started having eczema when he was 4 months after we started him on milk formula. We discovered that he was allergic to it. Allergies could be the cause of your child's eczema. It can be external things like dust mites or food such as cow's milk. It would be good to bring your child to NSC. They can give you a proper diagnosis and also maybe skin prick test to determine what he is sensitive. He will only get better if you can eliminate things that he is allergic to.

For NSC, you can choose to walk in then there is no need to wait but I think must pay additional $10 for walk in fees. Otherwise, you can get your GP/PD to give a referral. For my son's case, a pte Derma make the referral for me and I get to see a senior consultant almost immediately. But then my son's case was quite serious.

By clinical diagnosis, it is quite hard to determine what's the source/cause of the rashes. Many types of rashes looked the same ... some bacteria infections may look almost similar. So if necessary, go for a skin biopsy to ascertain the actual cause so that right medication can be prescribe.

For my son's case, a professor dermatologist at a pte hospital misdiagnosed my son and only want to follow up after 6mths. Luckily I did not listen to him and went for another opinion otherwise ... i hate to think of the otherwise but I am glad we see the derma at NSC.

Do not worry too much. Many ailments are treatable; just have to get the right prescription. But do act fast coz firstly you want to eliminate your son from his discomfort, secondly, timing may be important for some ailments. Thirdly, to have a peace of mind ... coz you know the actual cause of the rash.

My son is having pus around his penis area when he was 2-3 weeks old. The doctor prescribe anti-bacterial cream for him. Maybe u can try KK hospital

I can understand how helpless you feel. My gal has eczema since 6mths old. It got worse each time we "upgrade" her milk stage. By 2YO, there were raw wounds on her joints, arms, knees, back & neck. She scratches very badly till there were blood stains on her pyjamas every morning.

We went to KKH, PDs, GPs & etc ... and they gave steriod creams and moisturisers which only seem to work for short while before the eczema flares up again.

I was pretty desperate when I met someone that told me about a skin doctor at a clinic in Hougang. I thought I would just take the chance and gave it a try. The doctor told us she's allergic to milk/milk products and some other food. We were given herbal bath oil, cream and some oral medication. My gal was on those for 2 mths before her condition went under control. It had been 1yr since we seen the doctor and I would say she has got no raw wound now and her scratching had stopped since then too.

Here's the clinic website.
http://www.grace.sg/

I hope your son will get better soon.

Poor little buddy

I kn how u feel my child has eczema before

Try dead sea salt bath
M like u
Dun like steroids

Can pm me for more info
Wanna to pm u but u don't accept

enzomom,

i am a ezcema mummy who suffered from seasonable ezcema.

Had full-blown ezcema since my teens till now.Really dread hot weather and allergy to certain seafood (seafood lover)

As an experienced seasonable ecezma sufferer, i had since been using baby or organic products for bathing and avoid seafood during really hot months in spore.

Both my boys also had slight ezcema (30mths and 5mths old). An unwanted 'inheritance' from me, unfortunately.Started them on NAnHA since birth and on GAIA baby products recently.

Like you, PD prescribe cetaphil and steriod cream when my boys from newborn onwards shown signs on feet, face and neck. Did try Cetaphil and mustela products but refuse the cream though. No signs of recovery.

Instead from my own experience,i change my boys products from johnson baby to GAIA products.Keep my boys dry and powdered frequently. During really hot months -plenty of water, fruits and changing of clothes for them.

As a SAHM, i vaccum and mop my house daily and change the bedsheets weekly.

Your poor son is obviously in quite a serious state. Stop whenever you are applying or washing, seek professional help. Change PD, since he is not helping much, go to NSC instead. Western med can clear up infection faster then TCM.

Don't get me wrong that i look down on TCM, my elder boy is currently on TCM. Relatives and friends had advised me to go for TCM for whatever ailments only when your kid turn 1yr old.

Once infection clear, next step is the milk powder and baby products. You have to nip the problem now before your boy started semi-solids.

Hope to see your next post with positive results. Meanwhile stay strong as you know all mummies are behind you and you are definitely not alone.

my boy who is 5 this yr had fever on 29nov. then 01dec, develop rashes all over his body and it itches. so 02dec, brought him to pd and diagnose as viral or microplasma infection. ask us to go bk to him if it does nt improve. actually he did improve but like new rashes outbreak again on 08dec. brought him bk pd and this time, diagnose as eczema. gv steriod lotion and topicream moisturizer. told us to apply steroid lotion 1st then moisturizer. but someone told me moisturizer then steroid lotion. can someone advise? this is his 1st outbreak actually. do u all thk eczema can happen 1st time at 5 yrs old?

Hi HappyGal

I will apply the steroid cream first then the moisturiser so that the skin will absorb the medication first.

To differentiate viral rash and eczema : viral rash usually covers entire body. Eczema usually hits the joints/bend areas like knee, elbows etc ... If it feels dry to touch, most prob is eczema.

It is possible for outbreak of eczema at 5 but good thing is that kids outgrow childhood eczema. For eczema, the key to control and prevent outbreak is constant moisturising so do it diligently and regularly for your child.

Same advise if rashes persists for more than 2 weeks and also get worse in the first week, go back to doctor or seek 2nd opinion.

thx selina. actually his outbreak is at joint areas as well as skin area like chest, thigh, arms, back, but those are little red dots. only near the private area, there is a big patch.

hi, my gal currently has red dots too since 17 nov and steroid can't suppress its redness. jorubi aloe vera gel oso doesn't stop its itch. pte derma says if it's eczema, steroid will able to suppress it, cos we have tried her on elomet, doesn't work. he now diagnosed my gal has viral exanthem which will take several weeks to clear spontaneously. i hope and pray he's right..now, my gal has no steroid nor any medicated cream..just wait for it to run its course.

i need recommendation from mummy what brand of aloe vera gel and moisturiser can i use to help relieve her itchiness and redness. try jorubi, doesn't seem to help. now, use "jin yin hua" to dab her skin, seems a bit less fierce..but, i have to look into long term to moisturise her skin...

however, my fren who has her son seen this pte derma was given efficort as the pte derma said he has atopic eczema. true enough, the eczema clear totally on second day. my fren is happy with the recommendation...if you want to see this derma, you can look for dr henry loh at paragon medical centre #15-05. tel: 63338108. he sees many babies and adults, gentle with babies.

Hi Happygal

Continue to moisturise your child. Rashes can be very frustrating coz' they take time to go away. So must be very diligent in applying moisturizer.

Hi onsang

If it is viral rash then there is indeed no medication except to wait out. But if you feel that your child is scratching or the rash feels very dry you can help by moisturising. I used ICM aqueous cream, some mothers here recommend QV Cream. Use generous amount. I always used a thick layer for my boy until he feels so oily to touch but it helps.

hi selina, from your experience on viral rash, how long will it normally takes to clear and is the clearance of redness and dots are bit by bit stages or dissappear overnight, after it has runs its course?

thx selina, his rashes is much better now. but still got new red rash coming out. will definitely apply moisturiser on him at least 3 times a day. btw, qv gentle wash good or sebamed baby bubble bath good? or mummy got good recommendatn on shower wash? thanks.

Hi onsansg

So far my experiences with viral rash is they go away in stages; those that start out first will disappear first.

HappyGal29
For my son, I use Gaia, i tried using other types but they made him itch. So only Gaia works for him. So far from what i know, cetaphil and QV are very mild so should be ok to use. I have not used sebamed before so not too sure.

So far my experience is.. apply moisturizer very frequent to prevent any eczema to develop. When my son was about 2 mths old.. he started to develop milk rashes and pimple like rashes on the face. I made a point to clean his face everytime he finished his milk and apply johnson and johnson on the face. It's not 1 or 2 times the rashes wil stop.. Its take times for the rashes to go off with consistent effort to clean and applied lotion on the face..

Can try Sebamed facial cream too. I like the texture of the cream as well. It's act like a protective barrier on the face. Strongly recommend!! :D

Cheers!!

Hi Happygal,

My son use Sebamed baby bubble bathe since the first day he was born... now coming 10 mths old.. so far so good... You can consider trying :D

okok. my kids are using sebamed now. but in sch, they just using normal shower bath. had bought QV gentle wash recently and brought to sch to let my son use. his rashes are better and recovering. juz worry for another outbreak.

oic... QV gentle wash also not bad.. most PD doctors recommend this as well.. some hopsital also recommend for adults who have sensitive skins problem as well.. so long as ur kids get used to it.. just stick to the brand... keep changing also not so good for your kids.. :D

hi selina, thanks for giving me this wonderful infor, of viral rash clear stage by stage. i start to believe it's viral rash now as i noticed those on her both fist are less red now, while new ones develops along her jawline and below eyelid.

would you able to email me or post here which doctor diagnosed and treated your bb for viral rash then. i may consider for an alternative doc if it's not too costly.

It's painful to see such a small fellow in this condition as mine too was like that started also ard 4mos... Pretty bad, always going to PD. He did skin prick test (w d advice of his derma PD)when he was 5mos as he was still on breastfeeding. Turn out, he sud not be taking soya (I gave him soya formula milk for his night feed!), banana & mushroom (that I love to eat!) and with this, I controlled what I ate and also stopped giving him soya milk. It was slightly better and then later when he was 7mos, I stop breastfeed him as I know there must be something else I was eating that causing his eczema. It helps. His condition improved a lot. Air-condition somehow helps such condition kids as well. Applying cetaphil intensive cream diligently helped him too.

Hi, I must say that each baby reacts to diff moisturisers for their skin texture. I have tried cetaphil, physiogel and jorubi aloe vera gel. these doesn't seem to arrest the redness appear on my baby's neckline.

Wonderfully, thanks to a mother in this thread, whom has been guiding me during this period, I resorted to ICM Aqueous on her neckline eczema. It's so good that the redness dissappear overnight on application. Now, I'm applying ICM on my baby's entire body and greatly noticed her skin is so smooth.

hi, just to share, I agree that different babies respond to different moisturizers. when my little one got eczema at about 2 months, I took him off the Johnson Baby Bath, then used Cetaphil. But the dry patches stayed. After that I tried Mustela Bath Oil, and it cleared up the dry patches. Even now my baby is sensitive to his own saliva and he gets a bit of eczema on his chest cos of his drool, and I bathe him in the Bath Oil every now and then to keep his skin soft and moisturised. For normal days I use Aveeno, which is not available in S'pore but I buy online. For his daily moisturising, I use Cerave which I also get online cos it's not sold in Singapore.

my PD says weather also affect ezcema, so i bathed my son twice everyday to keep him away from his sweat n saliva. yes when my son drools alot, d skin around his mouth got ezcema.

QV cream works for my baby. I shower him twice a day with very little bath foam or none at all. When his ezema flares up, I use the Dr's steroid cream 1-2 times on affected area and it clears up. Otherwise, its lots of QV cream twice and even up to 4 times a day.

instead of dead sea salt bath which is too harsh and irritating for young tender skin, why not you put a few drops of olive oil (found in baby store or baby product range) into her bath? that will be more natural and moisturising to her skin and may improve over long term use? or, milk bath for her?

eczema is common for young kids and then if it's a genetic, it may stop around puberty age and then recur at old age again. genetic eczema runs in the blood and only moisturising and proper diet may help to suppress.

eczema (non-genetic, rather allergenic type) is common for baby as their skin pores is still developing and may go away, after 5yr old...that's what i heard and understand from someone whose daughter has recovered totally at the turn of 6yr old..and her doctor also says so..

any mummy has done the prick test at nsc b4?

wan to know if 1 prick is only for test on 1 food item or more. and the cost too.

tot of test it on my ds.

Hi laila
My son did the test b4 but not in nsc. U let them know what food ur child usually takes n doc will advice which 1 to test. Each prick is 4 1 food enzyme and on top on those, 2 additional pricks - 1 negative reaction & 1 positive reaction so that doc can compare d outcome. In TMC, each prick, $10 (mid of last year).

Hi,My son got ezcema at the age of 3 month. He got a short neck which sweat causes his ezcema.It spead to his mouth area. I have tried many things.. Cream..the best is Physiogel intensive cream.It mois n last for hours compare to others. When to alot of doc , n at last recovered by one of doc at Hougang within 2weeks of hardwork. Keeping him clean n fresh. Do try n He have the cream there. ABC clinci

thanks christina, guess would let my bb take a prick test at nxt week's appt. at least i'll know what's he's allergy to.

Hi laila, how ur baby takes them well and hope that we will outgrow this stage very soon! Same goes to mine too, hee!

California baby's Calendula cream was a life saver for my bb and also friends's bb with eczema. PD asked us to keep our bb moisturised by applying it frequently after bb has taken bath and throughout the day esp if bb is sleeping /resting in aircon plc..

hi chris, didnt manage to get prick test for my bb coz gave him antihistamine 24hrs before. but dr did advise to try give him wat i think he allergic to slowly i.e. 6 mths. now my boy is 14mths oready ;(

just hope our kids outgrows soon this stage!