A fresh new thread to locate SAHM of yr2006?

Lin
cy does like his chocs and stuff and we do give him lah, just during his drought season, it's really nothing...these few days, cook his fav bombay toast, no...then choc banana cake, no...muffin (from chocz), no...he will eat candies but cy cannot take candies else he'll go hyper and crazy and wont sleep for dunno how long. yes, a potential candidate for adhd

his meal times these drought days machiam buffet style...cook some, buy some, if dun wan later order in some...usually all end up in the fridge or thown away.

garfield..
o to train your patience, let's exchange kids for one day!!!kakakakak....

jp
o yes, cy is lactose intolerant so no milky stuff. the range of lactose free stuff in the market is limited and i've got most in the fridge liaoz :p...

i'm going out to buy some real sinful stuff to tide over these few days. the herbal soups boiling oredi...

haha, yes im supposed to keep a food diary as intructed by PD.but it got me really stressed up the other time, hahah...coz when i bring back the dietitian told me too little.

at this point, just packing in the calories...

Loppily
Poor thing! I know it must be tough on you. You are such a brave mummy!

CY
Cheer it...just now I also locked S in the toilet cos she refused to swallow her food

Every meal for her is a drag...I really got no patient with her too...

p_moments
Welcome to our thread!
My girl is end Jul 06 bb. She has been attending CC since 18mths. I don't really have much time for her now cos I have another coming 6mths boy. She goes to school from 8-11am. Reach home bathe, lunch, tv, nap....wake up, cycling/playground/playard at home, dinner, playard, sleep....
Only occassionally do some handicrafts or go outing with mummies here.

jp
wow!!!
G1 is eating a lot!!
haha how i wish kai is eating that much...

cy
hmm... no pt saying take it easy to u now la...
but i am v sure ur staying at home has paid off in other aspect of cy's development...
other than this eating prob... i find him ok...
like u just shared with me on sat over lunch that he cld READ! i was very impressed cos i can't imagine kai doing that!

kai is also going thru a phase of i dun want food every now n then.
he tells me i dun wan fish. smelly!
i got a bit mad cos it's cod fish n it's nicely grilled, cooked, steamed, pan fried n what do u mean by smelly???
but when he said that i will usually gave a mock horror look n asked, really??? yum.. yum... nice! u dun like? maybe u like other food?
sometimes they get inspired by other kids or adults too.

kai will vomit when he doesn't like sthg...
he vomited all his milk etc this morning when mil gave him egg.
vomited when he ate potatoes at lunch.
yes, too marshy fr him.

he returned his box of snack untouched... cos he din like the honey... with bread n cheese.

i will very consciously add some carrots or peas or beans into his snack box.
although i hope he puts on a bit more but i also want him to hv good eating habits...
so meat(sausage or chipolata) will be accompanied by some greens plus fruit.

give him juice n a bit of ice cream or yogurt.

dun get angry with him cos being angry at meal times will make him hate food even more.
tay as calm as u can n as long as he's still drinking milk shld be ok...
when he is done with this hunger strike he'll be back to his normal self?

p moments - Hi there and a warm welcome!
I am a SAHM of 2 kiddos (July06 & June08). My 1st kid is attending N1 now. Don't be so stress coz G1 which is my 1st kid has never been to any enrichment classes till this year. He is in N1 (just 2 hours). To us, going to school is like till Uni. So, we prefer he enjoys his toddlerhood coz once he starts school, its school, school, school till Uni.

CY - Hang in there, ok? Just keep feeding him...a little at a time. Let him graze himself through.

Cat - Is it? Is that a lot? Compare to my cousin's kids...its very little. But, I am happy coz its way more that the last time. Seems like Kai is like G1...if don't like...try to vomit it out.

cy

maybe i will share with u my own personal experience...
those who know me enough will know that i so love my food...
but not many knows not my body will go into self-cleansing every now n then...
like after many nites of hokkien mee with oyster my body will start to reject carbo for few days... no matter how nice the food etc...
maxwell lor mee, sterling rd crab, lavender's big prawn noodles... no no no no!
just some nice congee with fresh raw fish?! yes!!!
some boiled carrots n baby corns?? yay!
ok sinful indulgence of ice cream?? can can...

after a few days, when some sort of balance is achieved, i'll be back to my carbs etc...

not a deliberate attempt at controlling my diet but i think as i was very into sports i have built in some form of discipline when it comes to food...

so maybe cy is also trying to cleanse his body? esp after the oily herbal soup?
it might be too much for his body??
it's just a thot la...

jp

haha no la kai doesn't try to vomit out... more like the thing freaked him out n made him gag??!!
it's not intentional n his vomit is the merlion type, everything comes out, not just that particular food item.
n it has chain reaction one... will be non stop.
i've to quickly try to give him water or gummy to kill the taste n plug the reaction!!!

cat
huh??self cleansing?dun think he's got such advance digestive system yet...

he couldnt really read lah just a couple of words he knows that happ to be stringed together..

CY huh..if his appetite is as big as his attitude, now 30kg liaoz i tell you!!!

elmo
wow, that's very pretty!!!!wow!!!shes got sense for pretty stuff leh!!!

herbal soup...
how often can the child take??

jp
thanks for your recipe...

when G1 eats honey stars, does he finish one whole pack?cy has this habit of not finishing whatever he's started, even if it's very nice..

cy

i wun dare let kai finish the whole pack of honey stars cos i thot it's so heaty!
i seldom give him honey stars or any of those coco puffs etc even though ning asked yest...
cos they are very sweet and i am more concerned abt them coughing aft that...
cos i noticed kai esp is the heaty type....
instead will give him egg tart etc...

Elmo
Tat is very pretty artwork u and S did together.

Where did u get it?

CY
Maybe we should exchange our kid for a day then it might make me appreciate K more after tat.
But lately she teething her 5th molar but still eating snack except for her main meal she dilly dally and eat very little but I am amaze she can bull me to to give her 1 ice cream cone and finish the whole of it when she say she bao bao liao and cannot finish her main meal.Haiz.

CY,garfield
I sticked more than her

I got it from Spotlight some time back. Maybe they might still have. Paid for just $1.50 if I remember correctly. Thought I saw it at the craft shop at United Sq & JL too.

Elmo
Tat is cheap sia guess weekend I am going there to check it out and get a few and make up to K as been quite harsh to her recently.

jp
N loves lollipops too but i seldom give her :p i rem buying some manuka honey ones from vitakids...thot they will b good when she has sore throats etc but hv not given her any yet. Cos she doesn't seem to get sore throats but only coughs. Wonder if they will cause more phlegm instead?

wow, G1 drinks so much milk & so much milo in one day??? if i feed N that much fluid, i'm sure she will eat even less of her main meals. Actually i dun feed N much in between meals cos i realized if i do that, even harder to get her to finish up her lunch or dinner.

elmo
pretty! the foam craft not easy to do leh...lots of patience & precision. N has clumsy hands, will probably mess them all up.

how long do u lock her? only to scare her for a short while kind issit? i find that even scarier than caning leh...how effective is it? does she really eat better after that?

cy
herbal soup for kids gotta moderate, i think. Esp for N, heaty based lagi dun dare. I've realized over time that her taste buds r mild still. Though she loves the fish we cook at home, she's not too keen on fillets outside. J often wonders why when they r so delicious but i told him, the seasoning they use outside can b v strong for them. the pepper, spices etc. She does eat more when at home so we try not to eat out consecutive meals/days.

cat
coco puffs? N first knew abt them when ur kids ate them...she loves them! but i've not bot for her b4 haha. Even when she sees their ads on TV now, will tell me kai eats that keke.

p moments
i'm sure he's not losing out much as they r still young. Definitely not the knowledge or acad sense. You can always read more to him, do art wif him at home, bring him outdoors etc. But the socialization part is impt. Learning how to share wif his peers, work tog, take turns etc. I found that is sthg that we can't really replicate at home even if you hv siblings for him. Cos it's so diff when it comes to interacting wif ppl outside the family context.

yes...true on the socialization part....pretty different. the worst is he don have any siblings now...and he plays all alone by himself..sometimes i feel that he is so lonely...and of cos he will always come and bug me to play with him.

and my boy is not an adventurous eater too...and he used to vomit easily when he was younger only getting better now. the worst part is he refuse to drink milk on his own...need me to spoonfeed. any mummies got any experience to share on how to wean this bad habit off...

Aiyo I just spot another BP ripping ppl off again.

Cos the brand of that shirt the organizer selling I used to frequent for Kenise cartoon shirt and I brought it at Malaysia at RM9.90-RM17.90(depending on design) at holiday inn plaza and those she selling on BP is SGD$9.90 each(those design she stated are RM9.90 regardless of size) damn where got cheap and it like paying the double price lor for a pcs of tee espescially I know that shop owner can bargain wif them if buy more pcs.

p moments
my ger's an only child too & so far, socialization's the best thing i can see her getting out of being in sch. whatever else the teachers r teachin her, i can do too at this stage.

hv u tried letting him drink milk from cups/bottles wif his fav cartoon characters etc.

an observation i made in N's sch today...reinforced in me how impt a low teacher pupil ratio is at their age. Though N can speak, she still needs time to overcome shyness/reticence, formulate her thots etc b4 she can express them verbally. Her teacher was really patient & waiting for N to answer her question. Makes me think that in classes where teachers hv to manage bigger number of pupils, it's really kinda hard for the teachers to spend that kind of time & attn wif them. i've seen some who will ask questions; no response? teacher will just brush them aside or answer the question herself. Kids, esp the less verbal ones dun really get the chance to practise their 'skills'. Definitely an impt factor to me, even more so than whatever curriculum is being taught, i think.

garfield
u r so good at spotting these bp rip offs! maybe u can gei gei comment that u hv seen it selling cheaper elsewhere in the thread to warn other mummies...dun point out point blank that she's trying to rip off but maybe she could hv got her goods from a supplier who's overcharging her...make it like the supplier's fault, not hers.

Cheri
Not possible tat she can get elsewhere the goods cos tat brand of tee so far I only saw it selling in tat shopping centre in malaysia and u can even customize the shirt whatever pictures u want in their catalogue which have tons of pics and they even sell polo tees and so far I have been there twice and made a total of 4 tee and 1 polo for kenise and myself.

Haiz dun wanna ring the alarm as ppl might find me kapo and dun wanna be another saga person as well so might as well warn ppl I am familar wif.

Lin
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
G also feels more comfortable to bring us overseas when kids are much older, even more fun for them and less stressful for us (guess I have to wait another few years then).
But thank God he won't stop me if I want to bring Sha for travelling (but not now, cos pregnant)
Hence so far, our get-away holidays are always in SG.
Iya, supposed to go HK Disneyland togeher with pils in Feb, who knows I was suffering from terrible MS so had to postpone.
Sigh!

JP
His staff calls him "Nr Nice Guy", and each time they see me, always say "Wow, your hubby is very good, you are so blessed to marry to him".
As usual I just smiled (I don't know how to react.. keke)

P_moments
Welcome to this thread!

Elmo
That's beautiful!
Btw mummies, Learn Thru Play also sells, around $1.50 each.

Garfield
Nextt time if you go JB, must let me know, ok? Planning to customise Mickey/Minnie tees.

CG
No prob but hor their design I juz randomly choose over there hor cos too many pics liao.

Next mth if nothing happen then am going there wif colleague.

cheri
those coco puffs i rmb now...i bot them fr vitakids plus some choc cookies but that was the last time i got for them too
haha now that u mentioned... ya cos after a while i realised kai is heaty so dun dare to buy... still have a box of cornflakes that's only eaten once...

even the goat sweets i'm not so willing to give now...

cheri,cat,CG
I don't like coco puffs. I find it to hard, too sweet & too heaty. I don't think S is the heaty based but she ever took some from class party & got unwell.

garfield
ya u r good at spotting those bp ripper :p Next time whichever I want to join will consult u ya

cheri
For that form activity, that's why I said, I sticked more than she does...whenever she sticked it out of the line or not straight I go grrrr & scolded her

It's really cheap & not bad quality leh. Too bad they had pretty limited designs...think 2 or 3 only.

CG
Learn Thru Play as in there's one outlet at AMK Hub? Never seen though...

Elmo
Many designs at United Square branch.

Actually I also have no idea if Sha is heaty based or not. Maybe she is just like us, eats chocolate/potato chips we are still ok.
One good thing she does drink lots of water if given her too much chocolates/snacks. And also I always let her drink chrys tea.
She is quite particular about snacks/junk food, not all she likes. etc: cholocate w nuts she rejects, and she also dislikes fried stuff etc: chicken wings, nuggets

Elmo
I am not really tat gd juz tat happen buy before some of the item but hor never ask me which educational toys,book etc where cheaper cos tat 1 I am totally clueless liao.

CG
Wow sha has so many artwork and the last pic of her playing wif finger painting is really nice.

Lin,
Happy Birthday to you too!

Cheri,
i am really excited over it...cos it is a rare find over here. been searching for a while before I found percussion music. Over SG, there are so much variety of enrichment classes...here need to dig out to find.

CG,
i really like the caterpillar artwork. thanks for this idea!! will try it out this week. easy and nice. post more next time!!! hee hee

i like the finger paint as well. actually i did similar ones but using hands and feet. got this idea from website.

pmoments
Hi! Welcome! My son also only drinks milk spoonfed. All his meals are spoonfed too. Went thru a stage where I made him drink milk from straw but I ended up shouting at him cos he wouldn't suck for ages and when he did, it was terribly slowly so returned to spoonfeeding.

Socialising.... My son, Dylan, does a lot of that at playgrounds. If it wasn't so warm here, I'd definitely let him spend more time in pgs.

D goes to CC in the mornings and the main reason is for him to socialise, not to attend lessons. Like JP, I don't believe in structured lessons at such a young age. I believe tots learn best thru play with other children.

Food
Everything is spoonfed and nothing requires chewing. He will spew violently at the slightest lump or if he is upset at mealtime.

His ultimate fav foods (the only things he eats on his own), fries, fried batter, sausages, he only consumes morsels. Equivalent of 2 fries for eg.

CY
If given a choice, D won't consume anything all day. Don't feel bad. You're being a good parent. I'm the lazy one. I don't give him a choice and am doing what all books say not to- to let them decide when they are hungry, to not force, to not make mealtime an unpleasant experience. I do believe D is different though. He honestly won't eat if given the choice. In our case, it paid off to a small extent. The unpleasantness and forcing was a short period, a long time ago, after which he learnt he doesn't have a choice, he has to sit there and consume enough before he's allowed to play. So I can feed him pretty well, as long as there are no lumps.... How he is going to progress from here, I'm not sure. His dad was similar and was still spoonfed at 5yo. Frozen peas (still frozen) was the only food he willingly fed himself... Anyway, I think CY will snap out of it, seeing how he was already consuming, just little, before this phase.

JP
G1 takes so much liquids! He consumes a lot of food overall. Plus 500ml water some more. I think D would spew if I made him drink so much plus take solids. ;-)

GOOD DAY MUMMIES..

gosh...miz out so much since my last log in. Really busy with my 2 kids lah..my boy within 1 week in cc, fell sick ar..down with fever(5days), very phlegmy cough and flu. few days later my girl had it all too, and was said to b bronchiolitis. pity my girl cos still so young.=( its been a week plus le but yesterday nite fever came bac reaching as high as 38.9. but luckily subsided now n had stop using neb at home after seeing doc for her 2nd review today. her lungs r cleared loh...though still lots of phlegm ard her nose n throat area. really hope my 2 kids can get well soon. very tired now.

elmo & cat
r coco puffs the same as the coco crunch ad we see on TV? must buy in vitakids? i thot the usual supermart sells? Or r we talking abt sthg diff?

cg
i let N drink chrys tea twice a week too. J is a super heaty person so probably genes do play a part. He'll get ulcers the next day even when he just takes a few chips.

hehe you should tell G's staff he's the one who's blessed to hv married you...u r beautiful, sexy, looks after the home well & most importantly, much younger than him lol

elmo
Departure's the movie i'm hoping to watch on the plane hehe..J just watched it last week on plane too. Btw forgot to remind you to bring the Desperate Housewives DVDs that day at Chrn's Gdn..only rem yest nite when i was watching the show.

valerie
oh no, it's tough when both kids get so sick...hope they get well soon.

cg
the caterpillar activity is fun to do...lots of surfaces for painting which N will like haha...did sha draw those stick figures? so beautiful & child like! what is that activity abt?

valarie
Oh dear! Hope both of your kids gets well soon! It's good n bad for them to fall sick sometimes so that to build the immune system...bad is they gotta suffer for a while...n mummy too...

cheri
Ohya I brought along the dvds!!! Now u mentioned then I remember, it's in the car

Regarding the coco crunch/coco puff, I am talking about the one that u can find in the supermarket...never tried the vitakids one though.
I was asking about where to get muesli bars for kids? I always find muesli bar too sweet.

CG
Lovely artworks!!!
I'm still very hesitant about doing artwork with water color...lazy mummy

elmo
oh u rem! nvm next round. thanks!

u try to do the watercolours activity when rose is over then less for you to clean up hehe

no idea abt muesli bars leh...i'm v cheena type, dun like all these western stuff haha

elmo, cheri
ya kids suffer the most...my girl vomited last nite while drinking her milk. today she LS. wonder is it alrite with her? haiz..jus got to monitor her closely. esp with her super blocked nose, make me sleepless at nite. got to see if she's still breathing. hahaha i know i'm kiasi. =p u know y? cos i see her jerk aft each breathing while she already sound aslp. n thanks..hope they get well soon though it takes time for their phlegm to completely go away...

CG
yeah i like the caterpillar too...super nice leh. ha me too scared to let my boy use water color, think i will clean up like a mad woman after tt.

A clearer pic.
2370641.jpg

Sha said she wanted to make more caterpillars for her toy caterpillar. So we made use of egg carton.

Thanks mommies

hehe too many posts liao... i jus skipped to the pics

Elmo
wow the butterflies r soooooo pretty!!!
all for $1.50 only?! i oso wanna get!!
haha think prolly more for myself!

CG
ooh the caterpillars r so cute!!
btw where to get the wiggly eggs??

Valerie
hey so sorry to hear tat... hope ur kiddos get well soon

CY - Didn't know that CY is lactose intolerant. Wow...he could read? Congrats!! For soup, I boil soup every day coz DH is a soup drinker. However, I only boil herbal soup once in 2 weeks. We bought the value pack cereals and whenever G1 wants to eat it, he will ask me for a bowl and he will take a handful himself. So, its about 40-50 pcs. Its not much but at least its something....as long as he eats.

elmo - G1 loves to keep his food in the mouth. Therefore, it takes me about 30 mins to get at least 5 mouthful in. I will sing the Mr. Stomach is Angry song so that he will chew and swallow his food. The foam handicraft is so beautiful.

Cat - Really? I guess compared to 2008, he is eating much more liao. Ever since he started school, he has begun to eat more. We are not going to KKH Rehab Ctr that often now as G1's eating habits and such are up on the charts. He is in the 25-30% in the weight chart...so, can breathe now. That's a phase...G1 also like that. So, I will tell him...OK, no more fish. Will ask the fish to swim back into the ocean. Then I will start clucking like a hen...here, chicken, chicken...its your turn now. G1 will start laughing and chicken will be his next "IN" food. G1 is very dramatic...he will do the "vomitting act" if he does not like something...haiz! I tried getting him to sleep earlier but in the end, I gave up coz he will play, tell us stories, etc till the clock strikes 12 and then he will ask me to pat him to sleep.

garfield - Ice-cream really helps to ease teething pains. When G1 was teething, it was McD Ice-Cream all the way. Aiyoh...another case of BP ripe off? Haiz!

Cheri - I heard that honey causes phlegm...not to sure if its true. Last time, the Specialists told us to cut down on milk and milo to encourage him to eat more....well, it backfired...he started starving. So, I decided to dance to his tune but made a deal with him...must eat lunch and dinner. So far, so good. Even the Specialists were happy and gave us the green light.
Talking about school, G1's class consist of 18 kids. For the 2nd term, they have split the class to 3 groups, so 6 kids per teacher. G1 is very hyper-active and talkative..so, he always sits beside the teacher...ha!ha!

p_moments - Welcome to the picky eaters club. Several of us have kiddos who are picky eaters. Talking about drinking milk...G1 only drinks it if its in his bottle. Seriously speaking, I really don't mind when I get remarks about a grown boy drinking milk from his bottle. For me, as long as G1 gets his milk in, I am happy. Toddlers needs at least 450-500ml milk per day. Maybe you can try to ask him to pick his favourite bottle/cup/water bottle with straw?

CG - I think you no need to say anything coz a smile speaks a thousand words!
I am sure his staff can see your happiness. Me going to be kaypoh a bit - as Cheri mentioned, u r beautiful (agree), sexy (agree) , looks after the home well (agree) & most importantly, much younger than him...now, Ms Kaypoh appearing....how much younger? No need to answer if you are not comfortable, ya?! Me just being kaypoh. Wow, I am impressed...so many activities. Her finger painting artwork is very nice. Kudos!!!

Zoe - Ever since G1 started school, his eating has improved. I am pretty happy over-all. And after getting the green light from KKH, lagi happy. G1 is about 11.5kg now.
Does D has any fav food? For me, to get G1 to eat more, I will ask him to participate in grocery shopping. I will then tell him what I am going to cook for him. He loves going grocery shopping with me now and he will ask me if I have cooked <recipe> already and is it lunch/dinner time. So, I guess getting him involved made him more acceptable in eating the food.

valerie - Sending over lots of quick healing vibes! Do rest whenever you can also as we Mummies are needed to pilot the ship.

JP
seriously speaking... do u know that we wld actually be quite happy if cay is willing to drink his milk fr the bottle?
cos spoonfeeding can be quite a hassle and like zoe's D... using straw will take forever.. if not never

btw wanna check w u rgdg frisocrem w fish...
u jus steam the fish and add it to the frisocrem??
stinko or not?? do u steam w ginger?

Lin - For me, this is an old trick from my grandaunt. To get rid of the fishy smell, soak fish into a bowl of water with vinegar added for several mins. Now, here comes the cheapo Mummy thingy. As G2 only eats a little fish, I will slice some ginger, garlic, onions &amp; spring onions and mixed it together. Then I will coat it onto the fish (back and front)and steam the fish. Then, after taking some out for G2, I will pour the gravy mix onto the fish and tadaa...HK Style Steamed Fish. Also save time lah! Lazy Mummy!!!

Lin - We had that problem too. So, I fed-up, brought G1 out to KiddyP and asked him to choose his milk bottle. He picked his own and I told him that from today onwards, you will drink your milk in your fav milk bottle. That was that...it worked till now.

Since we are talking about food, I would like to share this recipe. G1 doesn't like sushi but I was amazed that he loves this.

Oyako Donburi (from Recipezaar)

* 1 lb chicken, deboned and sliced thin
* 6 stalks green onions, sliced 1/2 inch long
* 1/2 cup tiny peas, fresh or frozen tiny peas
* 4 cups dashi (Japanese Soup Stock)
* 6 large eggs, beaten
* 3 tablespoons soy sauce
* 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
* 3 tablespoons mirin (Sweet Rice Wine)
* 3 sheets dried nori (Purple laver Seaweed pressed into thin sheets, greenish black color)

Directions
In a large saucepan, add chicken, peas, green onions and dashi.
Cook for 5 minutes or until chicken is cooked.
Add shoyu, sugar,and mirin; mix to blend.
Add the eggs, mix to combine and bring to boil.
Turn off heat and place cover on saucepan.
Eggs should not be overcooked.
Toast nori lightly either over a flame or on stove element.
Crumble nori into pieces with your fingers and place in a bowl.
Fill rice bowls with rice and pour chicken and egg mixture over top generously.
Sprinkle with crumbled nori.
Serve immediately.

Lin - Well..actually DH tried it and he said its quite nice...frisco crem with fish and carrots...ha!ha! Asked him why he keep trying our kiddos' food. He said so that if they ever complain, he will tell them, its nice what...Papa also ate it...ha!ha! LMAO!!!