5months baby boy not drinking milk nor taking cereals.. help needed

Hi edde,

How old is anthea now? does she has drinking or eating problem? Does yr PD said is ok for her wt?
My gal is ~7.6kg, PD said is ok. But when i met another parent who has a 9 mths old daughter at my void deck, her PD said her baby is underweight as she is 7.9kg. So, i really get confuse, cud it be diff PD has diff opinion?
I m bringing her to Dr Ong at Spore Baby & Child clinic, TMC. Need to wait long time & consultation is very fast.
she's happy, healthy and sleep well, but not yet teething. Which Dr are u seeing? me tot os changing Dr and seek 2nd opinion.

hi jace, anthea has just turned 9 mths old
i suppose diff PDs have diff opinions unless yr baby is severely underwt like mine. anthea has raised concerns from many diff PDs i went to. but up till today, we still find no reason for her low wt gain.

i think as long as yr baby is happy and healthy, it shldnt raise any concern. i used to worry a lot abt her wt gain issue like u... but it has been 8-9 mths (she has nvr gained substantial wt like normal babies since birth)... i hv grown indifferent to it liao..

anthea is not teething yet too! and not crawling.. very lazy...

anthea's PD is Dr M C Tan from raffles hosp since birth. she is also visiting a gastro specialist at NUH wrt her wt issues. tmr we are visiting the spec for a review, and i certainly hope to see wt gain on anthea!

read this thread! maybe u will feel more assured aft that

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353640/976021.html?1190703612

hi jace,
I personally think ur gal's wt is alright. my gal is only 8kg @9.5mth... since u said your bb is happy, healthy, sleep well, I don't think it is of any concerns...just make sure she achieves the development milestones.

As for teething, don't worry, mine @11mth is still toothless! My GP said that some bbs take longer to cut their 1st tooth...and it has got nothing to do with milk intake.

edde,
did u help/encourage anthea to crawl? maybe she doesn't have sufficient strength due to her low wt., but I believe muscles can be trained....what i did was I train my gal to balance on fours first. Maybe you can give it a try.

msworri, i think anthea doesnt crawl coz she finds no need to. if she cant reach her toys, she will cry and expect toys to be brought to her. i tried to ignore her cries and she just continues to cry her lungs out. some more she is not the active type. she is contented with playing watever is given to her. when i put her on her tummy, she cries. how do u train yr gal on four? i tried before but u r rite, seems like she has no strength to support her wt.

edde
hey are your pics taken at studio? which one? she looks so cute. her hair got curls? good luck for your appt tomorrow. i'm sure anthea will put on weight.

sungrapes
both my kids are having runny nose now and then. and ashley has difficulty breathing when i'm feeding her in her sleep. jared also appetite poor these days. not taking any meds. their pd usually give rhinaramine or something. it's in pink. but i din give.

capetown... my hb says south africa is dangerous. last time we did a flt together to jnb we din even go out. he kept telling me stories of how his captain was held at gunpoint blah blah blah almost lost his life, car jacking incidents lah... i want to go fukoka. nvr bn there. want to see the tv in the toilet. haha. so good you can go back to work. i'm still stuck at home feeding ashley all day.

hi edde,

me too agree with msworri, think anthea doesn't have sufficient strenght to carry up her wt. Did u check with the PD bout this? Hope to hear good news from the Specs on anthea's visit, do update us, ok?

I guess most impt is to start encourage her on tummy position first, and play/sing/talk to her, just keep her entertain at that position, then slowly encourage her to move forward.

i have seen babies move (crawl) on tummy and later on fours, this usually occur to baby who are too heavy or underwt. My friend's ds was moving forward on tummy, and started to crawl only at ~ 9.5 mths

msworri, yr gal now @ 11 mths, u don't bring her to PD anymore? do we need to bring babies for any assessment or check up?

currently, i will bring my gal to PD for jabs only e.g. recent one was the pneumococal. but it's just a jab and no detail check.

anthea and cutieface
my son also only crawled at age 12mths. at 8/9mths he hardly was on his tummy and din like it v much either. he walked at 16mths. but he's the one who ate and drank normally. ashley is the one giving me problems, she, on the other hand, sat unsupported at 6mths, is on her fours tummy off the ground already. and trying to stand. so dun worry too much. my son's doing well now at 2.5yrs.

hi all, guess sungrapes is right. All our once babies have now grown into fine lil boys and gals. Thus this thread's not been active. Which is a good sign

Ricco wishes everyone a Merry Xmas!
1159357.jpg

jace,
I started bringing my gal to GP when she is about 6mths...cheaper only in terms of consultancy charges...and Q is not that long...me v lazy type... :p. GP will do the same kind of assessment and vaccination for bbs.

edde,
my gal never likes 2 b on tummy too, regardless how soft/firm the surface is. Like anthea, she would cry and fuss if she can't reach for things -with no intention to move forward at all.

Maybe you can start anthea by helping her b aware of her muscles.(sorry if I didn't put the terms correctly). What I did @5mth onwards was I lie bb on her back, held both her palms and "pull" slightly (please don't over-pull ok?)to show bb how she can pull herself up from lying position. I'll always accompanied this activity with "Eeek" sound as if I'm asking her to use all her strength. Slowly, she understands what I want from her and subsequently, all I need to do is to hold her little palms and say "Eeek" and she'll try to lift her head and shoulders up. my bb took abt 2 mths to b able to pull herself up into sitting position. I believe somehow this has strengthen her arms and tummy muscles.

After that, I started with the "all-fours position" . Do this by placing bb face down on your bed, preferably letting her lie on tummy first, then put your hands at each side where her ribs and waist are and gently lift d entire body off the surface, like into a kneeling posture with hands supporting infront. bb will resist initially, so must perserve. For the 1st few wks, try with a lesser grip of the body so as to allow bb to feel some weight on her arms and legs. bb will react by trying to support herself. When bb is able to support momentarily with this degree of grip (after a few days/weeks, depending on indiv bb), lessen your grip further.

Do this gradually, if not, bb might b scared and not want to try again.

To put her back, with your hands still holding on the rib-waist area, slowly place d body back on tummy position again.

My bb never crawl on her tummy. I started doing the all-fours when bb is abt 6.5 mth and she started crawling on fours @8mth and master crawling by 9-10mth.

Hope I've been clear. My english not that
fantastic. :p

hi guys! gd news! anthea is finally 6kg!!!! EXACTLY 6kg!! haha... she put on 600g in 2.5 mths.. ht no increase though.. still very short at 68cm and head cir 43cm.. thx guys for yr prayers and well wishes

valc, anthea took her pics at studio loft. they took the pics for TMC 2008 calendar too!

http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1197957882

hey ashley looks very gd wor!!! gd wt and size
u hv a pair of lovely kids!

jace, i certainly must pump her up more! and make her stronger!

msworri, thx for the tips! yes i practise pulling her up since she is very young, and she can do it very well.. think she has prob with her leg muscles... her legs seem wobbly when trying to pull to stand.. i tried to put her on all 4s but limbs like wobbly.. very heart pain to see her on all 4s coz her limbs very thin..
nevertheless will certainly motivate her to crawl!

clarrisa, ricco looks like he is enjoying his crystal-clear bath so much!!

edde,
cheers for anthea! Is her appettite better now?

valc,
agree with edde, ashley definitely doesn't look like she's on milk strike becos look v chubby!

msworri, thx
her appetite is certainly better than before! haha.. but if compared to other kids its average lah... but i am happy liao, nothing beats more than seeing her wt increase

msworri
it's not a milk strike. milk strikes are temporary. this has been like this since i started her on the bottle at 5weeks. latched on i dunno how much she drank or if she was drinking at all.

ashley's size - no one can believe she has a feeding problem by looking at her except my family members. even my sister cannot believe. but my hb, my mum and MIL knows v well how v difficult it is to feed her. we spend an hour each time we feed her milk and wat a struggle it is. she would cough choke push away scream cry. and at her age, she is still can't take semi solids.

msworri
yes, on milk alone and i add multivit into her milk. but does that really supplement enough? in another thread i frequent, one mummy said that if a baby doesn't have semi solids, there will be complications later in her life. is that true ah? i also hear some babies start solids later like at 10mths and some even start 12mths but few lah. i think almost all babies start at 6mths. my son had no problems starting solids. dunno why my girl like this. causing me alot of grief and body ache. haha

valc,
I can't comment on whether the multivit is sufficient for her, but what is important is that you keep on trying ashley on solids. Every bb develops differently and at different paces, but if a bb starts solids too late, then you may risk seeing more feeding problems in future when bb is older.

I'm not sure if this works for ashley, but no harm trying.
(1)Massage her gums before feeding
(2)Offer hard rusks to bb to encourage "chew"
(3)Wrap semi-soft food (like cooked carrots/bananas/apples/pear/potato strips/etc) with sterilized gauzes and encourage her to "chew".

The above stimulate the oral muscles (needed for proper eating) and at the same time, bb is also able to get some nutrients ("juice")from the food. This, however, should not replace actual feeding.

Not all babies like cereals/porriage, if she doesn't like them then offer veg or fruit alone, or even a little of the food that we adults eat(provided it won't cause allergy and is not too hard)! Constant exposure to different texture food other than liquid milk, is essential.

ValC, i have a friend who started her 1st baby (currently 4 yrs old) on semi solids only when she was 12mths. Cos she says she is afraid that baby's stomach and kidneys not developed to digest solids at too young an age (strange logic, but its true). Her gal is growing well.. now even taller and bigger than most 4yr olds.. so i guess should not be a problem to start slightly later.

nonetheless, i agree with ms worri, gotta keep stimulating and exposing her to solids.

hi all mummies,
long time no chk in..bin busy with his bday celebration and nanny has return home so im alone with my boy..damn tired man!!
edde,
anthea looks so great in those picts..she's grown so much!!

Valc,
ashley is so chubby lor! despite her drinking problem leh!!she is so cute!!

me juz went get maid 2day,got a transfer maid cos i really so so bogged down with chores lack of zzz..

wen me free then i will post latest picts of my boy soon..meanwhile, merry xmas to all great mummies and may God bless all our little ones!!

edde, great to hear that anthea is gaining wt

what food are u giving her now?

valc,
does ashley looks at you guys eating? normally baby at that age is curious on food, and that is the best chance to let her try solid.
really can understant how mummies with feeding problem baby feel as me felt the same too, really stress when they refuse to eat/ drink

as for me, my gal have feeding milk/solid problem too. so till now, i will need to distract her when drinking milk eg let her hold a toy etc and watch cartoon when eat her porriage/cereal!

edde, great to hear that anthea is gaining wt

what food are u giving her now?

valc,
does ashley looks at you guys eating? normally baby at that age is curious on food, and that is the best chance to let her try solid.
really can understant how mummies with feeding problem baby feel as me felt the same too, really stress when they refuse to eat/ drink

as for me, my gal have feeding milk/solid problem too. so till now, i will need to distract her when drinking milk eg let her hold a toy etc and watch cartoon when eat her porriage/cereal!

happy 2008 everyone!

jacie, i feed her porridge and milk as her staple. and of coz other stuff like cheesecake, mee sua etc.

hi edde,

so, what do u add into the porriage?
My baby seems to be fed up with porriage oredi, i also tried sweet potato as well.
anthea shd be ~ 10mths, can eat cheesecake huh? u bake one or buy from store one?

hi jace,

things i add include pumpkin, carrot, potato, spinach, broccoli, wolfberries, red dates, lean pork, chicken drumstick. of coz not everything at a time lah! hee.. i steam the threadfin with ginger and tomato seperately for every porridge meal.

i give her cheesecake from breadtalk... the jap light cheesecake..

u can try giving mee sua too! or bread? i give anthea bread + kira cheese for breakfast on wkends, so only 2 feeds of porr so that she wont grow sick of it. i used to feed her 3 times porr a day too and i realise she is getting fed up..

hi edde,

so now, u don't feed her cereal anymore?

think it was my mistake at first as i add carrot,french beans & pumpkin to the porriage. i also steam the threadfin separately. but she has been eating the same taste since 2 mths ago, 1 porriage feed per day, so xian oredi.
gave her bread as well, & she loves it

do u mashed the fish & chicken into puree form now? or she can take in small pieces?

jace, u r rite, i dun feed her cereal anymore.

i dun mash the fish, been giving her little bits of it since the 1st day i feed her fish. but chicken i do puree a bit coz i am lazy to "strand" it haha... chicken is the only thing i puree now, the rest all mashed or bits...

hm.. yr gal has a picky tastebud huh... haha... siong for u.. gotta think of variety... my thread (march thread) pple are very creative in that.. maybe u can ask them in the march thread for some ideas!

edde,
how many teeth does anthea has? if bb toothless, can take bread or not? What kind of bread do u give? plain ones or spread margarine/jam? how much bread is consider enough for bb?

msworri, haha... anthea is still boh gay wor.. toothless!! but she is eating bread like nobody business.. i give her all kinds of bread from soft bun to sliced bread, but of coz i give only the soft white part.. usually will pinch a bite size, top up with kira cheese (sometimes more cheese than bread) and she enjoys it. i think 2 slices made up 1 meal. for breakfast, anthea eats abt 3/4 whole soft bun (soft white part) from koufu + 3/4 cube of kira cheese.

you may wanna download this dietary guideline for children from Health Promotion Board, very informative and gives u a gd gauge of how much is enuf for our babies.

http://www.hpb.gov.sg/hpb/default.asp?pg_id=776

click on The NEW Dietary Guidelines for Children and Adolescents to save the PDF file.

ashley still not eating leh.
and still drinks in her sleep. she's putting on good weight tho. she's now 8.485kg. i hope she'll start taking semisolids soon.

Glad to see that all your babies are growing well... gave me alot of comfort as my boy is also refusing milk. He is 4 months now, has had problems feeding him since 2 months when he will cry at my breast when I try to latch him on or bottle feed him.

Now I have stopped BFing and he is still not taking to the bottle well
Usually we will feed him when he is half asleep but even then it is touch and go. Sometimes he will wake up and that's it. Now he is still waking up 3times at night and I think it is because he is not taking enuff in the day. Really very stressed and I worry everyday in the office now I'm back at work

Any advice on making him drink more? He is luckily still ok in the weight range but can see that the weight gain is slowing down. I have just started introducing cereals to him. So far, he eats, not alot though. Still, cereals can't provide him with sufficient nutrients so my troubles with milk still not over

msworri
ashley is 9mths now. well almost. 5 days to 9mths. i have bn adding wat edde adds to her girl's milk feed. caloric supplements. i think cereal will be too thick for the avent no. 2 teat too.

peapod
your son fed ok during the 1st 2 mths?

read the posts and ev1 seems to be doing well..all got put on wt

now my boy is refusing to be fed..he shakes his head side to side to avoid the spoon,clamps his mouth shut and uses his hands to push the food away n will grab the spoon in frustration if i force it into his mouth. 2day i gv him his own spoon and he was happily scooping food frm the bowl and trying to feed himself..needless to say,the whole 1m radius ard him was a warzone!! Food was EVERYWHERE,in his hair,ears,nose..my face oso kena. SIGH...i read abt this,knew it will happen sooner or later,but really very messy and time consuming to let him feed himself..he's gonna eat less for sure since most of it will end up on the floor.

Endless headache.

Peapod,
cld it be u feed him cereal then he 2 full for milk? cos this is a problem most mummies will face wen starting solids.

Valc,
i met a mummy who's still TBFing her 11mo gal..no solids at all. Keep trying,dun be discouraged..ashley is so chubby,looks happy, im sure she's not nutitionally deprive in any way.

sungrapes,
my gal behave EXACTLY d same as what your boy! Every meal is a WAR to me....and you're right, most of the food end up somewhere else...

valc,
have u try bigger teats for the cereal milk feed?

msworri,
so how u manage feeding her now? 2day my boy oso nv eat..lunchtime oni manage some eggs and fruits, dinner was worse.

i can gv bread,cheese,fruits, but wat abt meat intake? serve in wat form than he will eat?

im gg work next wk,really worried abt this chg in eating pattern.

sungrapes,
feeding time is really stressful. the 1st few spoons are ok, but after that have to force feed every spoonful. Tried distracting her with various methods, still no use... after more than 1 hr of power struggle, the most I can managed to stuff into her mouth is abt 1/4 bowl.

The most annoying thing is that, if I offer junk food/juice she will ask for more... haiz

The next feed is still @ same time even though she doesn't take much in the previous feed, I was hoping that she might take more because hungrier mah... but still doesn't work. Her milk intake also getting lesser, many a times couldn't finish the bottle.

msworri,
my boy will only take fruits. so i bo pian mix his porr with fruits..i dip the tip of the spoon with pear,let him taste abit,wen he open mouth,then shove it in. but very time consuming lor..

i oso tried withholding snacks till next mealtime,hoping he b hungry..but oso dun work for me..2mr i gg c PD for chixpox vacc,sure will drill her abt this.

msworri
the thing abt avent teats is that the hole size is the same as the numbers go up. they jus increase the no of holes. no 3 has 3 holes and no 4 has 4 holes. so the cereal wldn't be able to go through. and my daughter has qt a weak suck.

feeding solids
for my son, even till now, i have to place a piece of crunchy stuff at the tip of the spoon eg japanese pigeon fish cracker ball, cornflake, baby bite. at one time i used potato chips in strips. v salty and unhealthy but it gets him to eat.

valc,
how about using other brands of teat? I also tried a lot of teat brands/sizes/textures before settling down for one. Also found that my gal prefers teats that are harder...maybe she likes the "chewy" part and that encourages her to drink.

The bottle plays a part too. There are some bottles that has a valve system that let the milk flow freely as bb suckles. I'm using Pur brand. You may wish to give it a try.

The position of the teat in bb's mouth also plays a part. I even went to the extent that I tried sucking milk from bottle and explored different placement of tongue, different suck methods, different depth of teat, etc. Many a times I have to pull the teat in and out of bb's mouth until she can "grap" the teat @ correct position. It took me and my bb a while to get hang of it, but at least this works for my gal!

Did your PD say anything abt the weak suck?

sungrapes,
bought some grapes last night, squeezed some juice at the tip of every spoonful and saw some improvement - from 1/4 bowl to 1/2 bowl

msworri,
got some info frm PD 2day.
she say im gvg 2much milk tatz y bb not hungry..but me gvg only 3x aday leh..150mls each.she ask me afternoon tat milk feed can omit so he will hav mre appetite. she oso say can add seasoning to the food make it tastier like adult food cos now they all big boys and girls liao,wan food to have taste.

2day i oso put little bits of papaya on his porr,bluff him eat finish whole bowl.

sungrapes,
found out that my gal actually caught Roseola, that explains her poor appettite. Hope her appettite will come back after she recovers.

sungrapes,msworri,
has been on/off reading following this thread, may i know how old is yr bb?
previously i have use the same trick, putting fruits at the tip of jace spoon, but now she knows the trick and i cant use it anymore.
and i realise is becos Jace is fedup wif the same taste everyday.

did u try giving more variety in the food? eg today pasta+ meat, tmr sweet potato + chick, and porriage + fish...and of course eash servng can add diff vege/fruit for diff flavour