5mg of folic acid

sleepyhead,
5mg of folic acid is the correct amount... its to help prevent netual tube defects of baby.. most docs will ask the preggie ladies to take till 3 mths pregnant..

sleepyhead, 5mg is fine. however, gynae prescribed 10mg a day till i reach 3 mths pregnancy. i was informed not to worry about overdose as folic acid is water soluble. any unabsorbed folic acid will be passed out through the urine...

Hi sneaky...whos yr gynae? just knew i am preggy and thot of going to a specialist..just bgt folic at gnc

Any good folic acid brand to recom?
Me tot of eating b4 conceive mah.. haha
Where to buy beside GNC recom by Elise.

Cheers,Summer

hehe, happen to chance on this thread, yes i agree with urbanzi5, i think i also got mine from Unity Pharmacy (NTUC pharmacy i think), think it costs only abt $2.52 for 100 tablets. think dosage is abt 5mg.. this is good enough, as i have checked with my Gynae..
hope this helps..

can i check if any kind of folic acid can eat?
im about 4/5 weeks pregnany, and i didnt eat any folic acid before conception so now a little worried....

can you gals recommend any that's safe for first trimester?

Does taking folic acid increases chances of pregnancy? Or is a wrong conception? Pls advise!! Cos i just TTC..Hee

bbunny,

I believed there's only 1 kind of folic acid. Unless you are asking about diff brands. I bought from Unity as it's the cheapest. The one my gynae give is also the same as the unity one.

You shld start taking now and continue till the end of 1st trimester.

hi Melody, no lah, the folic acid is taken to prevent/minimize birth defects, i forgot the spelling, think its spina bfida or something...
Btw, heard from other threads that its best to consume 3mths in advance while you are TTCing, so better buy now..
Hope this helps
GOOD LUCK~! heeheehee

Thks...maybe i shud starting eating folic acid now.... intend to prepare 1st child only next yr.
100 tablet for $2.50 its cheap lor.

Brgds/Summer

Hi hidora,

So which hospital u using? who is yr gyne?
Me now starting to source out good gyne..

Hi gals.
Btw will there be side effect to eat folic acid even thou i am not pregnant? Eg: Getting Fatter, or pimples pop out... hahah

Cheers,Summer

Hi gal...

Oh how many tablet shud i eat? and during which period of the day? Eg: morning,aftern, night.

Need to eat after food?

Curious/ summer

hihi hidora

ok....went to get it already...the lady advised me to take the 800mcg one....hope its not too much.......

Summer,

Dun need so kiasu lah.. :p Eat 3 mths before TTC can already. But if you are not using any contraceptive, then better take now.

5mg (1 tab) a day is good enough. Normally I just take in the morning with my other pills. But if wake up late, then eat later. No need to eat after food.

I dun think there's any side effect as it's just a form of Vit B.

http://www.medicinenet.com/folic_acid-oral/article.htm

SIDE EFFECTS: Folic acid usually has very few side effects. If you have any unusual effects from taking this medicine, contact your doctor or pharmacist promptly. A serious allergic reaction to this drug is unlikely, but seek immediate medical attention if it occurs. Symptoms of a serious allergic reaction include: rash, itching, swelling, dizziness, trouble breathing. If you notice other effects not listed above, contact your doctor or pharmacist.

If you are staying near the east side, I will strongly suggest Dr Heng Tung Lan at Bedok (delivers only at Eastshore) I really liked her a lot and was glad that she is the one delivering me. She's full of confidence and will let you feel you are in good hand from the start till the end. Eastshore hospital is very nice too! Very homely place. Nice food, nice nurse!

Three's a thread on her too in the forum. Just do a search.

Hidora, I didnt know about it..heehee..=) Is interesting..So shold ask my hubbie to consume aso lor..Thanks!!

Melody,

Kekeke... can go read up on more ways to increase sperm production, and it's motility.

There are also food to take/ not to take if you are trying for a specific sex.

And if your menses is regular, you can TTC on days where certain gender is more favourable.

Yup...Hee...I actually found a website where u can decide the gender of the babies...But somehow,I think is fated...kekeee....Mine is irregular..haizzz...

Melody,

If yours is irregular, then track your EWCM (egg white cervical mucus). BD when the mucus is there, higher chances of boy. BD before mucus appears (meaning no BD after mucus), higher chances of girl. :p

Thank you so much!! Actually im aware of the EWCM..It looks like a raw egg white right? But hor does it always "come" out every mth?? Or u have to check yourself de?? i see some ppl said is non-existence de... I suspect i do not have lei, that y im quite worried...Maybe gg for a test to check if im ovulating...

Ya, it looks like raw egg white. Hmm, for me, it comes every month. I'm not sure whether all women should have it thou.

I do know that having menses doesnt mean you are ovulating, and you can be ovulating while not having menses.

There's another way... check your OS. Er, this method is a bit graphic. So I shall not explain here. This is a method that I seldom see books recommend. But it is useful.

Pls refer to this link.

http://www.sisterzeus.com/cervob.htm

hmm i thought folic acid is to be taken by the female, and the man has to take another kind to promote higher chance of conceiving?

Hi Hidora,

Thks for yr infor.
Heheh..sort of anxiuos wanna build my body well for conceive mah..

Hmm gotta plan c when need to eat folic liao cos i hear from frens i can start eating liao since me gg to have baby say by next yr...

Cheers,SUmmer

Hidora,
Thanks for your link!! By the way, i read in some websites that folic aicd has some side effects issit? Coz i have been feeling quite sick recently, i just started taking on last Sat only, dunno issit my AF coming or what...

Summer,

Rem to get your hb to eat too.

Melody,

Folic acid seldom causes side effect as it's just another form of vit B. And you are not taking a high dosage too. But if you are unclear, do check with your GP to get more assurance. I do think taking folic acid may cause your body to be a bit more heaty, so do drink more water too.

Hidora,
Ooh..i see then i must drink more water...My body is easily heaty...Coz i have headaches, abit dizzy aso...sometimes feel like vomiting n feel very sleepy recently...All seems like pregnancy symptoms..kekeee...But dun think is pregnant lah....

Hi Hidora,

Hubby dun eat wan..he say meant for females only.
Anyway most imptly mummy health must be tip top condition yeah

Cheers,Summer

Hi, is 5mg the correct dosage? I kept reading on the net that the max daily intake should not exceed 1000 mcg? Isnt 5mg too much? Can someone kindly advise?

Hi, as mentioned by Sneaky on the previous posting it is ok even if the intake exceeds cos folic acid is water soluble and will be pass out through urination if excess. 5mg=500mcg only, so it's fine. I am taking 800mcg now.

hi Tots,

Isnt 5mg=5000mcg? http://www.convertunits.com/from/mg/to/mcg. Hmm, i'm confuse on the metric.

I thought overdosage of folic acid is equivalent to overdosage of vitamins, which result in reverse effects.

Maybe Sg is relax on folic acid dosage. In USA, recommended daily intake is only 1000 mcg = 1 mg. Currently, i only taking 400 mcg(= 0.4 mg, I bought off the shelf). When i bump into this thread, i thought i'm too much way below the requirement. Can you or anyone clarify my doubts?

Ops, sorry my conversion is wrong, but I think they are trying to say they take 0.5mg folic, cos tat what the market is selling normally, like wat u have purchase is 0.4mg=400mcg.

thanks tots! appreciate that. 5mg is 10X the normal intake. That's y i'm shock! At least i know i'm on the right track now. I hope no one believe into eating 10X to make up for 5mg folic acid.

howblur,

according to the conversion table, 5mg is equivalent to 5000mcg, therefore, 5mg is definitely more than 800mcg.

i didn't know that we are to take folid acid before conceiving. better ask your gynae. I took it only when i learned that i'm pregnant.

it's important to take folic acid before conceiving. Taking folic acid before and during 1st trimester helps prevent birth defects. It is as important to take before as it is to take during. Baby is formed the quickest in the first trimester, and women don't realise they are pregnant until they are at least 2 weeks' pregannt. Also, taking folic acid before pregnancy will help build up your body's store of folic acid.

Yes, you may take folic acid even before conceive. Just that the folic acid which I bought is 800mcg and not sure if this is the normal dosage or is it too much already?

Just to share with you this.
Found this on the webby :
What Is Folic Acid and Why Does Your Baby Need it?
Folic acid is a naturally occurring B vitamin that helps a baby's neural tubethe part of a developing baby that becomes the brain and spinal corddevelop properly. It must be taken before and during early pregnancy when the neural tube is developing.

Folic acid works, but it only works if taken before and during the first few weeks of pregnancy, when the neural tube is developing into the brain and spinal cord. When the neural tube does not close properly, a baby is born with a very serious birth defect called a neural tube defect (NTD). About 3,000 pregnancies are affected by NTDs each year in the United States. If all women took adequate folic acid before conception and during pregnancy, up to 70 percent of NTDs could be prevented.

I dun think there is anything bad in overconsuming folic acid... and if there are supplements with 800mcg folic acid, I dun think it's an overdose. But if in doubt, check with the pharmacist. no need to go to doctor for this,.

Hi Cactus,
Yes, I share your sentiment. Since there's 800mcg folic acid supplements in the market, I think it should be safe..

yeah, to give yourself additional reassurance, you can always call up the pharmacy where you bought the supplement to ask if you are too busy to go down personally. Best of luck for your ttcing!