(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

After I complained, I felt so much better now. Is it common for my near 2 w old bb to have growth spurt. He seems to be crying for milk non stop in every hr. I resorted to feed him some water.

Usagi, my boy had growth spurt from week 2-3. You can increase the amount of milk given then he wont be asking for milk every hr. Mine was asking 80-90ml milk every 2h back then so i gv 100ml n this drags the time to 2.5-3h.

usagi take care. glad that u felt better aft pouring it out here. hang on there, yes there's a growth spurt during week 2-3. either u bf on demand or give fm. u just need time to get used to being a mum. talk to ur hb n tell him now that he's a dad n need to help u esp when u r doing confinement now.
n also during growth spurt, bb is more fussy.

Thanks Reikibaby and Sade. I just put him to sleep after 1.5 hrs of feeding, burping. His last feed Ard 10+pm lor. Gosh. He fed Ard 100 ml of bf and 60 ml of fm. Total 160 ml. Scary.? Now I got less than 2 hrs to wake up to pump.

Hi ladies, do you have any ideas where to get the green coconut. Cannot find in Ntuc. So manage to take once at newton.

Lil: I dunno le ha ha.. Mentally excited . Feeling more easily tired now and I tried to take a walk after meal . Two more days before I start my leave . Talking to baby to ask him to come out after I go on leave ..

Dian tang, lil ponyo,

Thanks for the address!
Currently at 10 wks plus, going for my next appt on Thur.. Will be seeing new gynae already as Prof said bb growing well, so he's ready to pass the baton
Physically, i've actually been pretty miserable as MS is getting worse.. But i'm grateful i have no work commitments so i can just nua and moan and groan on bed.. Haha.. You gals must try to rest more now to prepare for the arrival of your little ones k! It's very soon!

Min81: so u changing to another hosp or stick to Nuh? Glad to hear that baby is growing well . Is ur a one baby or twins ?
Just try to eat if u can .. And rest as much as u can . Very soon u will reach second trimester .

Usagi, try to sleep when bb sleeps even thou it's aft. I don't know how much my bb drank during first few weeks as I latched on directly. Nurse from 8-14times per day for first few weeks. Can understand its v tiring to take care of new born, but hang on there, soon ur bb will grow n u will be glad that u had passed thru first month.
Bb likes to suck, rock, cuddle and walk around. Try ways to soothe ur bb cries before offering milk. Also swaddle ur bb during first month, so that bb can sleep better.

Dian tang,

I'm sticking to NUH.. Will start seeing Prof Mahesh next wk.. I'm having 1 baby, hubby and I are still very thankful and happy
Have lost about nearly 3 kg so far but Prof says it's normal and i'll gain it all back.. He does not wanna give me meds for nausea as he wants to minimise the use of medication.. I will endure!

Unfortunately, laki gal did not bfp this round.. She has just switched to seeing Prof Wong.. Hope change of doc, change of luck.. Wishing her all the best for the next cycle..

Usagi, if bb vomit milk often then try to cut down the volume but may hve to end up closer feeds. Also try to burp in between the feeding. After feeding sit up the baby at 45degree for abt 20-30 mins. Ths will help to lessen the chance of milk vomitting out. Its alot of trial and error to understand our baby. Jiayou! Your confinement only dh helping you?

Thanks Sade and Reikibaby,
Only my mum helps in daytime. My hubby sees his mood de at night. If he not sleepy then he helps. Super lazy man.

Hi Small Bunny, no didn't buy the twin nursing pillow though saw some mummies selling second hand ones in the 2012 twins thread on this forum. No confidence with tandem breastfeeding...so will try latching b4 buying bfeeding stuff. Also, note that in the starter set, the teats for the bigger bottles are 1mth+ teats (at least in the gold series).

Hi GirlGirl, me too - feet and ankles are swollen now. Going to work from home after this week as difficulty walking and even breathing.

Hi Babysmurf, think u mention u and hubby go JB? Jusco supermarket (tebrau city & bukit indah) sell the Laguna peeled coconut. It's from the green coconut.

Hi Tutu, Tx for sharing your birth experience. Although it was tough, glad to hear you are recovering and are taken care of during your confinement period! It's scary how much the actual weight can differ from the ultrasound weight! Congrats to you n your families.

Hi KittyKatty, your girl looks so sweet - and so much hair too! U are so lucky to have a natural delivery! Enjoy motherhood! Congrats to you and your family!

Hi Usagi, yeah I understand how frustrating and tough it can be to have a hubby that isn't pro active. However at the same time our hormones are pretty out of whack post delivery which certainly doesn't help the situation! Glad u feel slightly better after getting it off your chest!

Thanks ladies

Dian Tang, Lil Ponyo: You gals will be the next one, ya. Wish you both have an easy and smooth delivery!
It's a wonderful feeling of carrying baby in my arm and staring at bb when she is sleeping so peacefully. And, bb smell so nice....hehe. My only prayers now is hope that her jaundice go away soon.....

Babysmuf: previously I bought the green coconut at Kovan hawker.

Usagi: Don t be upset. Sometimes men are like that. It's not that they don t want to help maybe they don t know how or when to help. You have to talk to him. If not try to do a duty roster........hehe.

MofMm and kittykatty,

Ya. I talked to him and he said he is too tired to help me due to work and his MBA. It doesn't help that his co do not support the one week paternity leave lor. Says effective may 13. Stupid policy n stupid co.

Min81: dun worry abt weight loss , baby will still grow inside . Continue to stay positive !
Oh I didn't hear from her , hope she will make it soon

Kittykathy: congrats to u! Have a good rest !

Mofmm: u are back from ur trip!

Mofmm: dh already ban me from going jb. Ask my friend to help but also didn't see coconut this wkend at JB.

girl girl n mofmm: I also having difficult in breathing. Walk abit only.

Ladies anyway thank I manage to bought it at marsiling hawker centre. They have big n small one.

Usagi: slowly both you n your dh is getting used to your new family member. Jia you.

Usagi, focus on the positive. Do you think your bb vomit milk could be a case of overfeeding? I don't know if 160ml for a 2 weeks old baby is scary but my bb is 7 weeks old and he's taking 120ml.

I just had a meltdown again cos overwhelmed by the thought of nanny leaving.

I remember someone checked out infant care, can share more?

Usagi, glad you feel better after getting your feelings off your chest. Please continue to do so here because we are all here for you
I can understand how frustrating your DH is to you because I just told my DH on Friday that I don't think he is doing enough. I felt very stressed with maid search, CL arrangement and the outstanding preparations for baby. I felt resentful because I work full time just like him yet I feel like I do more baby preparation then him and not forgetting I'm the pregnant one who tires easily and don't sleep well at night. It felt much better after I told him how I felt and the best part is this weekend he did so much! Ha ha! Anyway, enough about me, I hear the first month, especially the first 2 weeks after baby is the hardest. Hang in there and try talking to your husband in a calm manner so that he won't feel attacked, in which case he may withdraw help even more. Try not to get upset because your hormones are still adjusting. I'm sure he wants only the best for you and baby and it is highly likely he doesn't know what to do. (I know I definitely read up more about baby care than my DH!) So guide him and set some expectations for him. Take care!!

Min81, wah 10 weeks already!! Good to hear baby is growing well. Jia you, soon you will reach the wonderful 2nd trimester. You will have more energy and your appetite will be back!! I remember I just survived on cereal in 1st trimester. I shudder just thinking about that period. Ha ha! Yes, I heard about Lakigal, hope she will succeed soon with change of doctor.

Mofmm, you're back! You survived your 3 dreaded days of work!! Good to hear you're going to work from home from now on. When I have difficulty breathing, I try do simple stretches with my arms using deep and slow breath like in yoga. Just did our first load of baby laundry. Just the swaddles alone filled out our drying rack! lol! I think we have more than enough clothes now. Even before baby is here, I already feel that he is spoiled!!

Kittykatty, thank you! Mine will be a scheduled c sec on 29 May. Yes, I keep visualising the moment when baby comes out and being brought to me. I have a feeling I will burst into tears of joy! Sometimes I still can't believe we're going to have a baby after such a long ttc process! We are all so blessed
Enjoy motherhood!

Koirc, we booked infant care for baby. They take infants from 2 months onwards. So we plan to put our son there at 3.5months so that we have 2 weeks adjustment before I go back to work. The infant care is from 7am to 7pm. They are put in separate area from child care. Each infant will have their own crib. We pay for the mattress because this is not shared with other babies. There is usually 1 care giver to 3 babies. There will be a log keeping track of feeding, sleeping and diaper change so that parents will will updated when they pick up baby. They will also do activities such as singing and interaction with baby. Once baby can take solids, they will also prepare baby food. If you want baby to continue on bm, you can bring there every morning, and the caregiver will give according to your instruction. We felt infant care was the best option for us because we work and my mum works too. It's safer for baby to be in infant care than home alone with maid. Infant caregivers must also be certified by government with certified training. Hope this info helps. Oh yes, there's of course downside, which is baby will probably get sick more often in the beginning.

Babysmurf, yes. Our bb brings a smile to our faces. His arrival makes a big difference.

Koirc, I understand about the meltdown u describe. Is how I felt initially when my mum leaves in the night. But as Lil ponyo says, the first 2 week is the toughest. Since u have recovered from confinement it should be better? If anything not sure, want to ask your nanny now? Ever since I order confinement food, I think it reduces the stress on my mum. Now we are happier. She can spend more time with bb. She did offer to bring bb home in night so I could rest more after night pump. But I rejected, I want to care for bb when I can. Now that I am moving to 3rd week tml, I definitely not so negative.

Lil ponyo, thank you for ur kind words. Yes, after delivery, it all felt very unreal. I can't zz and my ears kept ringing the bb heartbeat monitor sound. Maybe coz I admit from 8am n only deliver at near 10pm. I felt uneasy, no joy or relief. But suddenly a wave of tiredness wash over me then I slept n felt better. My hubby got helped today in daytime by coaxing bb but he just can't help much in night ba. So I shall try rest more in day n now as I need pump at 12am again. See my bb face is my joy.

Lil Ponyo, which infant care is that? And I totally understand how you feel about hubby not helping and you feel you're doing everything because I felt and am still feeling the same!

Anyway, my mum and my MIL are supposed to help me when nanny leaves. We agreed that each granny will look after bb for 3 days (overlapping one day). My mum now suggests I bring bb to her place and let bb stay there. Bring bb back when it's my MIL's turn. I am not keen on having to bring bb here and there and let bb stay over. Then my MIL is so unrealiable. She's supposed to come and learn how to bathe bb this morning but last minute cook up an excuse and say she will come tomorrow. But I have very little faith in her. I know she won't come! It's not easy to tend to bb alone. Better to have two people. Cos I know sometimes I put bb in the cot for nap and I went to take shower, he will wake up during my shower. And if no other person is around to tend to him, how? Leave him there alone to cry?! So since it's so troublesome to get the grannies to help, I think infant care is the solution. Then I told hubby how I feel about the whole situation, he just kept quiet and asked why I wanna send bb to infant care. Why don't want the grannies to help. I am so annoyed because this "problem" arises because his mum is unreliable! If his mum is not involved, I will gladly put bb with my mum the entire week!

Usagi, good to know things are better. The above is why I am stress. I am not stress now since nanny is still around but I guess I am just anticipating what will happen when nanny is gone.

Hi Koirc, can understand how it feels to handle baby alone. I started to bath baby myself on day 3 of confinement. My aunts told me not to get confinement lady as i got a maid and they'll come to help me. In the end, maid said she can't handle baby and my aunts too busy to come help. So I've to do it myself. Although my girl is on fm but I've been doing all the night feeding and day feeding. I really find the few days in hospital is so blissful. Just eat and sleep. My MIL wasn't involved cos she has to take care of her precious grandson.
I'm also thinking of sending my girl to infant care...
It's not easy to handle alone but you'll manage slowly.

i am feeling so tired these days.... leg cramps that refuse to go away....

started to pack hospital bag and admission folder last weekend or so.....

Ladies I m also having problem with my in laws side n quarrel with hubby, even to the extend that he brought up if i wanted to divource since I hate his parents so much. Ever since pregnant my in laws did not offer any care n concern for me at all nvr buy or cook tonic or care in any ways at all nthing nthing... After birth they only visit me very much later n after discharge my mum in laws only came week later... N toking about after maternity , my mum in law who is a vegetarian mention that she needs to work n my father in law nt working so he can take care, problem is he is a smoker n dun even dare carry a baby... How to take care? My mum in law is a cleaner so work is flexible. Actually they r quite well to do dun Need to work also no problem, she say she will go work n will go home to feed baby, problem is how she know baby hungry n what makes her think my father in law can take care when he can't even carry a baby....becoz of this I m very unhappy n my hubby just can't seem to understand me.

As for my own parents they r already taking care of my 4mths nephew. They won't beable to cope... My mum in laws still can say gv my mum take care!!!

After quarrel 2days ago we decided to hire a maid n hope the problem will be solved.

Sry for such a nag. Been really stressful...

Koirc, its not easy but you will eventually be able to manage. Just have to understand your baby pattern...
Sometimes i will bathe in the morning before my dh leaves for work. Then once im settled..rest of days just abt baby.
Now you are having ML right? Consider taking care on your own...cos theres many things abt baby that you will miss once you send him to ifc. At this time, our baby will smile to us, look at us when we talk to them and respond by smiling. Our baby is able to follow the toy or sound when we shift it infront of them. Its gg be so fun and of cos theres always their cranky moments. But when you are bk to wrk you will definitely sent hhim to ifc so enjoy the bonding you have now.
I take care of bb in the day till evening when dh back, he will gvne a 2h break for me to sit n nua at sofa.

Work things out.. im sure if we can go thru tat horrible ivf treatment n jabs, those miserable morning sickness and nauseas....we will be able to handle tat lil fellow. We handled him well in our tum..im sure we can do so now. Just a matter of getting use to it. Jiayou

Znatasha, at least you have a maid who can watch the baby when you're in the shower or need to go toilet etc.

Bbshower, my ILs are the same lor. I get no care from them for bearing them a grandson. Not even a bottle of chicken essence! And honestly, if my MIL tells me to let my mum care for bb, my problem is solved!

Reikibaby, my hubby travels frequently so I'm home alone most times. But yes, I have told him I will order tingkat so I don't have to go out and buy lunch or dinner. Otherwise, how to go out and buy when I'm alone with bb? If bring bb very troublesome cos I need to either drive or take bus to get to civilization where I can buy food.

I am new to this forum and undergoing ICSI treatment from Raffles.

Would really appreciate your help and support on this journey.

SSG

Bbshower: gd u employ a maid. Maybe initial stage. Send both her n baby to your mother place. Ur mum can also help to keep an eye on her n teach her how to take care of your baby.

My cousin also employ a maid to take care her baby. Lucky for her the maid is gd. Now her girl going 2yrs old, quite close with the maid n she teach drawing or do painting with her child when they out to work.

Koirc.

Maybe you source for backup plan for infant care while letting ur in law test out first. No pt to argue with hubby. Is really satisfying to see bb look contended at u or hold on to your hand when he burps. Yes is super tiring n at times I lost my cool at bb. But I am still trying. I know I will miss him when I go back to work in July.

I am new to this forum and undergoing treatment for ICSI @ Raffles.

Would really appreciate ur help/support and guidance on this journey !

Thanks babysmurf, ya glad the dicision is make actually hiring a maid will make our income really tight but I guess we ve no better option. We all been thru so much from ivf, to pregnancy to giving birth, n not getting enuff support from in laws side is really depressing n some how the man dun seem to get it, they just felt we are making thgs difficult for them.

Also my girl seem to cry alot very cranky...nt easy to take care...

Hi bbshower,
agree with babysmurf to let your mum teach the maid and also to watch over her.

Though having a maid is helpful at times but also more stressful as my maid is single, young no experience with kids and worst very Vain. Attracted male workers to where I stay.

I am considering infant care but my friend told me the child will get sick more often...Sigh...

If you're really getting a maid just make sure the agency knows what is your requirement...And set the rules straight when the maid is here. My maid came when I'm still pregnant but she said she got experience looking after her nephews. When my bb appear, she said she don't know how to handle...I get angry very often with her ard... worst than taking care of the bb

Koirc, talking abt meals. Haha can realli slim dwn. Nw i depend on my steamer. When bb is sleeping tat short while i will put rice n fish into steamer n tats it, once cooked will depend what time i free to eat.

Now i hv noodles n fish on my table but bb refuse to lie dwn n sleep n wants slp on me. Nw can oni smell....haha....

Usagi, im very bad tempered but dh was surprise tat with my son's crankiness i still can keep my cool and smile to him and keep saying "mummy sayang"... Lol... I just think of hw much i went thru to get him... And tats all it matters to let me keep that cool.

Usagi, that's why I wanna look for infant care near workplace. At least I can visit him during lunch time.

Znatasha, I actually joked with my friends, telling them I won't send my kids to My First Skool cos they can't even spell properly. Lol. Nonetheless, I will check it out.

Reikibaby, poor thing! So you only have one dish with rice every meal?

Hi all, I have decided to let dr sf loh deliver my baby. Can pls advise me his delivery charges so that I can plan it out? What other fees do I need to factor in for delivery in Thomson medical? Thanks!

Arrgh into my 36wks. Told my boss I want to take 12wks ml then keep the other 4wks first. She said cannot. I either choose straight 16wks block or I take 8wks first. Scratch head. At this time still stress me on ml thingyz

Babysmurf, did you ask your boss why?

Btw ladies, bb will have his next doctor appointment tomorrow. I am going to bring him to baby spa after that.

Koirc, better than just bread. Once i forgot to stock up groceries and only can hv bread. That one really ke lian. But today just one of my salmon meals. Cos on total bf so i make sure i will have 3 meals of salmon meal a week. Just that big slice of salmon and rice really filling liao. Even favourite brocolli also have to sacrifice cos will cause wind in bb.
Just had my first coke eversince i started ivf...shiok! wonder if coke make bm taste diff...hee...