(2013/02) March 2013

Hi sunflower,
Last night couldn't settle down to z properly bcos bb like poking on whichever side I lay. Been getting kicks past few days n hubby still told bb to kick me harder! Like father, like sons lah...

iasilw,

Under TPS, shorter waiting time, plus gynae will be friendlier cos u pay premium rates to see him. And the environment is much better than clinic becos its sofa with free flow of beverages..its like a business class compared to economy haha.. but then if u are happy with clinic , u can continue cos u can save some money. Gynae will not look at your tummy to see if bb is ok lar..there is also machine to scan ur tummy.

sbb, vamiga,

seems like we all can feel quite early! at least now can make sure bb is active inside , not so worried.

When my mum preggie w my bro in 1981, she only went to gp for check up. He really only used something like a horn/funnel to listen to bb heartbeats nia.
So for a moment, I was imagining kkh doc doing that! Lol..

Excited about 6 oct where I will bringing my first born to see gynae
I haven't talk to fb about new baby yet but he says he wants a little sis... Not sure if he knows what he talking about or not also...

Anyway for those who are choosing gynae, one
Consideration may be the newness of the scanning machine your gynae has;p

Vamiga: they mentioned abt the carpark but i forgot if it will be completed together with new 5storey bldg or the 9th storey bldg. If its the 5storey then it'll be done by end of tis yr.

Neuros: The place nw is in quite a mess due to the reno, so pple may not be impressed, but i think once the Reno is done shd be fine...

hello everyone.. i have been a quiet reader.
Am a first time mummy and currently am at 13 weeks. EDD: 31 Mar 2013.
Can i request to join the FB group?

Jeremy, I just ordered BabyPlus from Amazon yesterday. Recommended by two of my friends who have used it during their pregnancy. I heard it costs $300+ in SG...

Koirc, how much was it from Amazon including shipping to SG? Yes, I think it's pretty ridiculous for 300SGD in SG so am actually getting a 2nd hand from another mommy.

Think my 2 boys will b equivalent to Babyplus?
Just the other day they were teaching bb Abc song n 123. Lol..
Anyone want to borrow them for a day or 2? No charge, just hv to give them food. :p

Hi Hj
Think of how much we can save! ;p

Hi Theresa,
I had booked my previous confinement nanny.

As all of us shld b delivering ard the same period, u might want to get recommendations from mummies who had completed their confinement nannies in the other threads?

somehow i can imagine all mummies here renting a bungalow, living out their confinement together and having joint confinement nannies. Kinda like a getaway.

Confinement lady
Hi Theresa, you might want to check out PEM (agency). Seems prices are reasonable and service is good. Heard from friend.

hey, mummies haven get the cl better get it now, if you are looking for those very hot pick aunties.

Jeremy, it's USD109 excluding shipping. My friend is in US so I am asking her to bring back to SG for me. So shipping cost is $0 for me.

Talking about CL, may I know when I should be booking mine? I am in week 14. Is it too early?

Vamiga, yeah I think it will make for a good reality tv show but may be negative towards our nation building since potential mommies might get scared off by the constant crying of babies? hahaha

Koirc, I see. Then it's a pretty good deal for you then. It's probably a price of a pre-owned here.

Why do mommies here all want CLs? I always hear not so good things like the CL is there to only clean up the baby, wash baby's clothes and specifically only cook for the baby and no one else in the family. In the end, the rest of the family members need to make their own food, wash their own clothes etc. I do find it a little extravagant. What do you all think?

I thank God though for my awesome mum who will be taking up this CL role. hahaha

Antenatal (consultation) package
Went through previous posts:
HJ (starts week 20) $1k
Karen Lee (starts week 12) $800+
Celtbaby (starts week 12) $600
jO (starts week ?) $1200
Jeremy (starts week ?) $777+

KKH has no package!

Confinement Lady
It's better to start asking earlier. Be a kiasu Singaporean! :p like what sbb said earlier, very hot pick CL should be fully booked already. Remember they can only handle 1 mummy/baby every 1-2 months. .

Koric
not too easy to book wor if you have someone in mind.
sometimes too late all book liao unless u go through the agency la.

Hi koirc,
Unless there is a need for deposit, no harm booking early.

Hi Jeremy,
A gd, proper cl does more than u mention lah. Will take care of mummy, in charge of marketing n take over entire family's laundry n meals. Mine. will even entertain my #1 when I m bz or napping. Some cl will also walk older kids to nearby sch.

Thank, Jeremy..I'm trying to do some quick walk and walking the stairs.. Thgt it might help on the breathlessness but still the same
What is babyplus and any idea how does the Oscar scan works? I'm gg for it this friday and am so anxious and worried of the result..

Is there any different to keep the gender a secret? Or is this actually bad for the bonding? Coz I just want the bb to be healthy, gender doesn't matter and in case of any stress from the elderly...

Hi Neuros, i used to have bad headache too so my mum gave me some dried longan to be taken as snacks and it's work so well for mi bt comes back whenever I run out of stock. Bt wasn't sure if it's good, guess small portion okay ba..

Thanks everyone!!!

I tried calling 7-8 cl but all booked!!!

Mayb ll take frm pem if can't find any other better!!

Neuros!!! Excited!! Which hospital do u choose??

Jeremy have ur wife started using baby plus? How is it?

Shirlene - really? I'll go buy some dried longan later to try! So u eat it directly without washing or adding water?

Re the Oscar scan it's basically just a scan and blood test. During the scan they'll measure the thickness of fluid behind baby's neck n whether baby has nose bridge. These will help determine the risk level of baby having Down Syndrome. Actually we just asked the sonographer during the ultrasound what it looks like and she did tell us it's ok. We were rather worried previously as I'm older so we know my general risk profile will not be ideal. Luckily the scan profile was good so that lowered the overall risk significantly.

Re gender - actually we dun really mind whether it's a girl or boy as very precious to us either way. Baby strong and healthy is all we need. But I still wanna know more due to curiousity and easier to buy baby stuff and think of name etc. I dun think there's any right or wrong just personal preference. I'm sure even if dunno gender still can bond by talking to baby, right? ;-)

Theresa - my gynae 's at paragon so he only delivers at mt e. but I'm seeing another gynae later (he delivered for both my sils) for 2nd opinion and he's at mt a. Will only decide whether to change after seeing both I guess.

I booked my cl couple few wks ago when I just passed 3m. Cos my frens all say better book early (n seems like they're right!) Basically just used a cl who was doing for my fren. Hahaa... My fren liked her so we just trusted her recommendation didn't look around much at all.

Koric

Yes!! Actually I book mine when I was haha… just 8 weeks. Haha..
I scared later kana book liao le. Hhee.

Shirlene
The Oscar scan is like your normal gynae scanning. Don worry.
They will check the I think black colour thing (fluid) between the skin and the spine area, if I remember correct what the doc said.
She said if it is thick, than have to worry that the baby has down syndrome.
Also got check the nose bridge. She is saying if don’t know short huh, than bb got higher chances too down syndrome.

Are you facing any stress from elderly about the gender?
Actually even earlier or later I guess once the bb is out, they still have to accept what is it right? Cos if keeping secret whole throughout the month, will be you more stress?

Hi Vamiga, will a cl really do all that? Must be quite lucky to get one like that I feel. hah! But good luck to all mommies out there needing a cl. Everyone deserves it.

Hi blueswimmercrab, does your package include other things apart from gynae consultation and scans? Sounds like it would include other things like perhaps normal delivery etc...

Hi Shirlene, babyplus is a device that is supposed to help with the baby's brain development and strengthen learning ability. It is to be strapped around your tummy between week18 to EDD twice a day for an hour each time and it produces rhythemic sounds which the baby can hear. You can find more information on http://www.babyplus.com/WhatIsIt.php
Oscar scan is actually the same machine which your gynae has but the resolution is much better (according to the lady doing the oscar on my wife). Coupled with the blood test, it helps to better assess the risk for a few main gene related defects, e.g. down syndrome. Dun worry about the oscar scan, just treat it as another usual visit to the gynae. Usually the odds to have defects are very low especially for ladies below 35yo.

I think there is no difference to know the gender or not but would be nice to know since planning can be made much easier? E.g. Whether to join sch alumni to ensure the child can get back into your prev. school to shun away from balloting etc, getting baby clothings, colour of baby's room, etc etc... However, in my opinion, I think usually should be considered a girl all the way until scans along the way shows that it is a boy. Eg. My auntie was previously supposed to give birth to a girl as the scans showed no signs of a penis BUT everyone was pleasantly surprised when baby was delivered a boy! Apparently the angle of the baby sitting in the womb made the penis undetectable!

Hi Teresa, no my wife has not used the babyplus yet as she is only in week 13+. Have to wait until Week 18 to start. Starting earlier was mentioned not to have any improvement in its effects. However, we tried starting it and it seems quite okay. I would say works in a similar way as playing classical music. However, it's nice to have an alternative. I'm kinda little bored with playing the same stretch of classical each night although we'll do it regularly for the baby. And I do not want to use headphones and strap it to my wife's tummy as im afraid we may play the music a little too loud? The ambiotic sac is an amplifier since it is filled with liquid so afraid to harm the baby's hearing.
I think it's worth a consideration as long as it's not in the range of 300SGD for it, in my opinion. Forgive my bluntness for any mummies who may have paid that amount. It's just me sharing out loud

Koirc, that's pretty cheap. Total damage will be around 160SGD then. I got mine pre-owned from a mummy here for 140SGD though.

blueswimmercrab, that is super expensive! Cannot imagine how much supplements they would supply you with. I think 100-200SGD worth of supply can already last 3 months at least?

Thanks Neuros, sbb and Jeremy for the detailed information

Neuro For the dried longan, I got it from hock hua tonic. Think its 500g or 1kg for S$9. Just eat and chew directly. Bt maybe you give it a try of the taste if its okay before buying

Koirc: I heard too from my colleague, very efficient and approx. 17min per pump for both side. You may want to look at the breast pumping kit as well, http://www.pumpinpal.com/ heard that it is less painful and comes in different sizes

Koirc, dont think the breastpumps can be shipped directly by amazon to sg, need to go thru vpost etc n the shipping cost chrg by vpost will depend on how heavy n big the item, tink for the breast pumps easily more than $50 for just shipping. So usd359convert to sgd plus shipping will easily hit $500 ba. There are those shopping spree here selling medela pumps US set also ard $400 to $500, depending on the model. Maybe can consider.

Just woke up from a long nap as couldn't z well last night at the thought of going thru amnio test today.
Now the needle site still abit sore once local anesthesia wore off.
The 2 sonographers at tmc r friendly but the receptionist was quite curtish towards the 1st lady in the queue when it was actually the machine's fault that no queue # was printed out.
4-5 of us stayed in the queue for awhile until she exhausted ways to fix e problem n told us to dump the forms on the counter. Person behind hubby cut our queue bcos he had to dig out my admission letter from the sealed envelope.
Turned out I actually didnt hv to b in the queue as gynae already booked an appt. Ha!
But I really missed the warmth at mt A lor. It remits all the way to security guards n receptionists.

Will ask gynae if can do detailed scanning at mt A instead. I was so pleasantly surprised when the counter staff greeted me by name when I step out of the lift at the appointed time for #2's scan. Machiam like a vip. Ha...

Hi Jeremy,
My cl is like that lor. V pampered by her. That's y hubby kan cheong asked me to book her quickly once I preggie. Hee...