(2012/06) Jun 2012

Sunbelle, we brought the baby out a week ago to church and recently to the airport and to shops near our place. We've tried going out with the stroller by cab (to church) and with a baby carrier by public transport (to the airport). Both ways have their pros and cons, eg stroller lets baby have a place to sleep and frees up your hands, while carrier is easier for maneuvering and less bulky/lighter compared to a stroller.

My suggestion is try going out somewhere close by first with your spouse and plan out the route before going (whether you're driving, taking cab or other public transport). It's less challenging if you pick a place that is family friendly with proper nursing rooms, good accessibility (for stroller) and less crowded. We always make sure our son is well-fed and cleaned before going out so he usually sleeps all the way instead of getting cranky outside. Also make sure you're well-prepared with ebm or formula when you're out and have a well-packed diaper bag with all the essential things. If possible, go out during off peak hrs so there's less crowd. Once you get a hang of it, it's easier the next time. Good luck and have fun!

Ssmilezz & Nattan: both of u total BF? I have to supplement with FM coz I dun have enough supply. do u all take any supplements?

<font color="aa00aa">helloagain,
I latch him directly.
I applied ru yi oil, burped him and carried him using various positions.

I've just started to use petpet after buying 2 packs of size S from NTUC last Friday.</font>

Kadice, I mostly bf, only supplemented with fm twice as I was unwell and unable to produce much. I didn't take any supplement but drank a lot of red date tea and soups. Now, since my "confinement" is over, I am trying out motherlove more milk plus capsules which my boss passed to me.

I'm better now. Last week was really a bad bad week.

gingera,
Thx. I applied cold cabbage in the end. cos at first CL didn't allow to apply cold, that it'll introduce wind. In the end, I cannot take it anymore, used cold cabbage available in the fridge. But you're right, I think it somewhat reduced my supply which I'm trying hard to up again.

Kadice,
My fever suddenly subsided, don't know why. So strange...
Aiyo...I very scared of pain one. I took epidural, so really don't think I can take this one. Do they have mini epidurals for breast pain, keke! Would be really useful if they did. It's so painfulm that I begin to wonder (again) why weren't our breast made such that it has a straw to suck from, wahahaha!

Jenny,
Good lah, you manage to get away with all the rules.
I pump bcos I couldn't take the nipple sore anymore. This gal will suddenly bite me.
Ooh....mastitis is really bad huh? Mine didn't reach mastitis level, already so painful. I can't imagine the pain, think I'd rather die....

Thank you all for your sharing. Now, I'm better. Altho there's still a stuboorn hard lump (like a small marble) there that simply refuses to back down no matter what I do. I feel like latching on my baby to see if she can help clear it. But I'm very sure latching her on, will stimulate milk production, and then this will lead to more blocked ducts (since it's partially blocked now), and the whole episode starts again. Sigh....what shall I do? I believe this was what happened the last time wrong. *really confusing*

bejewel,
Do you know how much Mdm Rokkiah charges? I actually have only 1 small lump to clear. Is 180 joo Chiat Road a shop? or.....?

nattan,
Good to know you're coping well.

So you only latch on your son at night? Day time you pump? I'm trying to figure out what should I do.

What is the purpose of red date tea? I'm wondering if I should still make for myself after confinement.

ssmilezz,
Your CL so good

Thx for sharing your schedule. I hope I can figure it out when CL leaves.

gdmaimai,
Have you tried white noise? Heard that it works for some babies.

helloagain,
I've heard that gripe water nowadays is not good to give leh. I gave for #1, but stopped halfway. Not gonna give to #2.

snowdoll,
I'm still on Vit C to aid recovery. Thinking of taking those milk for mothers for calcium. I used to take a pack of anlene everyday, but now still confinement, haven't start.

Full month celebration
I'm finally looking into this now. and just discovered I could get a 15% discount from SweetestMoments. So blur!

jomomm, no I latch throughout the day and pump after most feeds to encourage more milk production. If you always get engorgement, I suggest you use the cabbage leaves to ease the engorgement first then get your baby to latch and clear your breasts. If you feel hard lumps, just got to keep pressing and massaging it. I even got my hubby to help me cos he's stronger. It hurt a lot but after that you'll feel better. Once your ducts are clear, you have to be disciplined about latching and pumping. After a while the body will regulate bm production to cater to your baby's need.

Re red dates tea, it's mainly drunk during confinement as mums are advised to avoid plain water as it's believed to cause water retention and bloatedness. While I don't believe it, I drank the tea cos I found a recipe that's suppose to help boost lactation. I've stopped drinking it already cos my confinement is over, I've established my milk production and I'm sick of the tea. It's not cheap either as it contains more herbs than the usual red dates tea. I'm now taking Motherlove capsules to see if they increase my milk production.

Jomomm,
You should latch to try to see if you can clear the block ducts. Usually you can clear the ducts better if you were to latch. Like what Nattan said your BM will be regulated after a while since demand equals supply.

Rebonding,
My hair is so messy now...want to rebond so much...

my milk supply did not increase at all and i have to supplement with FM everytime after feed. Quite upsetting..

for those on total BM, how long your latch last? and how regular?

mine already 1hr per latch and abt 3hourly, but no enough milk

Hi ayurra,

thank you very muchie for the useful list

Hi jomomm, dun give yourself too muchie stress. yeah have plentiful of rest if you can.

Hi Nattan,

you are right ehehehe we started with nearby places like parkway parade yesterday heheeh
yeah today went east coast park. u are right hehe before we set off, is after milk feed and new diaper change ehhehehe

Kadice, I latch from 15min to an hr, 2-3hrly, depending on the time of the day and whether my baby is having a growth spurt. The last week when he was having a growth spurt, he nursed nearly an hr each time so it was very tiring and I also doubted my ability to provide sufficient milk. If your baby is drinking frequently and demanding more milk, he could be having a growth spurt which can last anywhere from a few days to a week. Have you tried pumping out your milk to see how much you produce? Don't keep giving fm as it will only tell your body that you have enough milk. Instead pump after each latch to stimulate the body to produce more. Also, make sure you drink a lot of fluids everyday (more than usual 2L) and try some supplements like fenugreek, sacred tea, etc.

Sunbelle, good that you managed to go out with baby
Does PP have good nursing rooms?

Jommom - u shld latch to clear ur block ducts. Bb can help to clear much better than pump. My bb is now 3.5 wks old n my breasts no longer feel engorged. No lumps. U shld let bb latch, once ur production is regular, ur engorgement or blocked ducts will b lesser n lesser.

I'm not sure abt gripe water now. Both my older kids I didn't give since they didn't ve colic issues. But my mum swear by it. But even if u don't give that, pd can recommend some anti colic medi too.

Nattan - pp as in parkway parade? Yes, Isetan nursing rm there is great!

Btw ladies - although I joined fb for this group but I dunno who is who?? ;p

Dear mummies

Congrats on your newborn. My EDD is 14 feb 2013 and is looking for a good confinement lady.

If your CL is good, could you kindly recommend to me ? Thank you very much. Please send your CL contact details and reason why she is good to my email account [email protected]

Thank you very much

Oh for red dates drink - it shld ve black beans as well to boost bm supply. Can drink even after confinement. Actually we can take confinement food up to 100 days.

nattan, tlisa, cyn, snowdoll
Thanks for advice.
Sigh...I so scared to latch direct, the nips so sore leh...
altho I only pump. My threshold for pain super cannot make it, hahaha! The rest of the breast is actually soft. It's just that one small tiny very hard lump that seems to grow bigger after each pump, then I gotta press &amp; massage it until my hands so tired and the area also become bruised. I tried latching once, she drink until fell asleep and didn't help to make it go away at all. Will have to try again today.

snowdoll,
Don't be too upset about not having enough milk. Some BM is better than none at all. Slowly bah...this moomoo business is really hard work man

I have some voucher with them. When are you ordering? If you're keen, I check if can order for you too? PM me regarding this?

cyn,
My mum used to swear by it too. Until she heard the news. I thought I read somewhere that no medication can help colic also. Just gotta get through it. Some parents even have to put baby in car and drive around.

Hm...must go check FB hor? I don't really know how to use that...

Confinement food - up too 100 days? Haha....even if can, I'm not sure if I want to...28 days is like so long already... :/

I jus realized my idiot CL use tap water to clean bb mouth n eyes even though I told her to use boiled water!! Yesterday throw cotton balls n wet wipes into my toilet bowl, before was wash bb clothes with poo at my kitchen sink n even throw dirty diapers at my kitchen sink n now this! Walau! Can't wait for her to leave!!!!!!!

jomomm, try using a hot compress before pressing the lump. If your nipples are sore, apply nipple cream. Actually soreness indicates that your latch may be incorrect and the baby is sucking on your nipple rather than areola.

Cyn, your CL is really quite unhygienic. Did you tell her not to put soiled clothes and dirty diapers in an area where food is prepared? When is her last day?

Nattan - I did after I saw it happened. I didn't tell when she first came bvos I tot it's common sense. But I did indicate to her she can throw at the bin in toilet. I don't understand y she still choose to throw the cotton balls n wipes into the toilet bowl when the bin is next to it! When both me n my maid tell her not to wash bb clothes at the kitchen sink, she jus reply "abit only abit only v fast v fast!".

Her last day coming Monday.

Jomomm,dun worry so much of the pain. U can do it. I also have sore nipples from his long hours of sucking &amp; he suckles really hard. Just apply nipple cream, no choice. Really envy those mummies who find BF a breeze. Btw I already placed my order with sweetest moments already. Guess too late?Thanks anyway

Thanks Nattan. I let baby suck for very long. Milk production also abt the same.

Cyn, since your CL is leaving soon. Just close tahan a few more days...

Kadice, just keep pumping after latching and your supply will adjust. Must really make sure you drink enough fluids also. I'm sure you will see an increase soon. My masseuse also advised me to use a hot compress and massage the breasts before pumping to encourage more milk flow. Meanwhile take the opportunity during latching to bond with your baby

I am an Oct 12 mum. Would like to check if any mum used Sweetest Moments for your baby first month. Any reviews on their cakes to share? Thinking of engaging them for baby first month.

cyn,
walau, I can iamgine your frustration with your CL.

nattan,
I use hot towel, is that the same as hot compress? The thing is whenever I manage to press the lump away, it will come back at the next round. I've been applying nipple cream. Actually, I'm still pumping, not yet latch baby yet. So you can see how low my threshold for pain is >.<

Buttercup jessie,
Apparently it's not good for the bones.

Kadice,
Sigh...I can't even take the soreness from pumping already. What more latching? I really very scared, but guess have to overcome the barrier one fine day.

All of you are really great!!

No problem, if can help, why not

When your CL leaves, do you all ask them to sign any form or receipt to indicate that you've paid them?

Hi Nattan, agree with cyn ..the isetan nursing room is fanstatic ..got its own individual breastfeeding room. cosy environ....

wow piang, cyn, your CL best leh...hmmhmm i dun tink i can tahan it leh...yeah is so dirty leh...anyway she is leaving soon ..so dun let her affect you too muchie....i will oso not engage my CL the next time...

yeah today went taka baby fair leh..bought cartons of wipes and huggies diapers ...cos free medala bottles leh..hehhee quite worth it leh..
now house like diaper warehouse leh hehee
stock up size S and some M size too...

wonder anyone of you use any disposable tissue to lie underneath the soiled diapers to clear off all the shit huh? yeah cos i am tinking is more logical to place a clean sheet of sumtin beneath ....hmmhmmhmmm....i will use warm boiled water to wash backside and also use a new diaper subsequentlty....

jomomm : i din ask my CL to sign leh...cos she is a super great hurry to leave too..somehow when she left, we are so so so happy

jomomm, yes hot towel works also. I use that too. My masseuse said we can even use a hot glass bottle (not plastic) to roll against our boobs before or during pumping. I usually use the hot mug while I'm drinking milo and pumping :p Yup, I also have lumps that come back after pressing them away so it's normal.

Actually I find that latching may not be as painful as pumping. Maybe my baby sucks gently (he starts quite vigorously but after a while he slows down and I almost feel nothing), or maybe I'm already used to it. Perhaps you can pump a few minutes first then switch to latching. Slowly you'll get used to it. Besides latching is much better for building your supply as your body will respond to the baby's demand and it's great for bonding too.

Sunbelle, don't quite understand what you mean by putting tissue under the soiled diaper to clear off the poo? If it's soiled, I'll just change a new one and throw the dirty one away.. Why still want to put tissue there?? I don't use boiled water to clean the backside.. no need la... only for face then I'll used boiled water in case baby happens to drink a bit of the water.

I'm also going to Taka next week to trade in my used avent bottles (given to me by other people) for Medela ones and also buy some Huggies. My spare room is also like a diaper warehouse now.. haha.. got all sorts of brands and sizes...

BTW, I'm finally having my full month party tomorrow... excited

hi nattan,

congrats on your full month tomorrow
heheee is a very happy occasion for me too....

what i mean is that for soiled diaper with poo, usually i throw them away...but sometimes, baby havent finish poo poo, then what should we put beneath huh? yeah i a bit puzzled lor...

yup one of my bedrooms oso like majian a diaper warehouse leh..now only left havent go stock up on milk powder...anyone got enfalac stage one lobang huh?

Sunbelle, if baby hasn't finished pooing then I just let him continue la.. usually he's not fussy if there's a bit of poo in the diaper.

How come you are stocking up on milk powder? You don't intend to continue breastfeeding?

Jommom - u using medala pump? I ve medala Swing n avent duo. I hated my medala, not comfortable n also suction not strong but can still b Painful bcos of d funnel cup. Love avent since it has a silicon bubble cushion n the way n speed can b program by user rather than factory standard program. These features make pumping a breeze with no pain. I'm not sure how other medala works. But then latching can b painless too but some mummies may feel acute pain for 1-2 seconds when jb first latch if they suck real hard then later painless but some bb cause no pain to mummy at all even at start. But of course if u allow ur bb to suckle as pacificer (ie nipple suck) then u will feel sore la. Give a try to latch ur bb. Words can't explain the feeling of a mother latching her bb, but I love bf so much till last time when I stop bf my 2 elder ones, I was depressed for a while n was really hesitant to stop actually.

Nattan - I'm also celebrating bb full mth Tmr. But jus family lunch, booked 2 tables at Ahyat abalone restaurant. Any feedbacks?

Sunbelle - I also dun really understand what u meant by putting tissue? U mean the dirty diaper still under bb bum? Or removed already? What I do is when I want to clean his bum, open diaper, put a clean wet tissue on top of poo which is inside the diaper so that bb bum doesnt touch the poo again, wipe away d chunks of poo fr his bum with wet tissue, wipe more thoroughly with wet cotton balls n put dirty wipes n cottons on the soiled diaper, wrap up n throw. But b4 I wipe him, I see if poo v little, I will try to make the pooing sound to encourage him to poo more.

Slowly u ladies not only Will see ur house full of diapers, wet wipes n milk but also TOYS!! My house is so full of things!! ;P

Nattan - for hot compress, I bought stones meant for hot stone fr Malay massage lady Mdm Rokiah last time. Put the stone in pot of boiling water n take out, wrap in thin towel n compress on breasts or lumps. The heat last longer than towel.

Btw u ladies saw my post on fb on Elma numbing cream for bb vaccine?

Cyn, I also use a Medela pump, the Freestyle model. Is Avent really good? Is it noisy? My freestyle is quite noisy so I'm a bit paiseh when I need to pump at work next time even if there's a designated lactation room.

Ah Yat sounds good for small, cosy gatherings. I'm holding mine at a cc multipurpose room as I've about 50 guests, excluding colleagues. I'll go back to my office to distribute cakes next week.

Re diaper, I just use wet wipes to clean his butt :p So far no rash.. thank God.. What do you mean by a pooing sound?! Care to share?? ;)

Nattan - avent is gd! It does ve noise but I don't think it's v loud n noisy. I find it acceptable.

The pooing sound is like pushing lor "mmMMm...mmMm.." hehe! ;P. till now my 2 older boys also when want to poo, either me or maid will make the sound to encourage them to poo. Hahaha

Cyn, haha.. that's quite cute... now I remember that my parents used to make that sound when I was on the potty too! :p Is your Avent a manual or electric pump? I'm thinking of trying a manual pump as I realise that my letdown slows down to a trickle after about 10min and I need to use my hand to stimulate and express (it's not that I have no milk, it's that the milk can't come out). I wonder if a manual pump would help.. Also, I am thinking of getting a less noisy pump for using at my workplace.

hi nattan,

what i mean is baby hasnt poo finished so at the same time, need to place a clean tissue beneath in case she kicks and dirty herself with it.

cyn : you have answered my question hehehee

i am oso using freestyle leh hehehe wish there is a pump that sucks out all milk in 5 mins time lor..now enjoying channel 855 8pm and 9pm show leh ...love TVB show...

mi oso using mmMMMmmm sound to encourage my gal to poo poo hehehee

try drypers when my frens gave me..the sizes are super small...like their S is pampers new born..so jus be aware ....mi like pampers best .....havent try the rest yet ....

jus wondering how you all settle your own meal when taking care of baby alone? yeah tingkat dun deliver for one person leh...

My baby latch 2hrly usually. Certain times of e day she latches hrly. Each latch lasting 15mins.

Taka pigeon wipes 6pk $19.50 not cheap. Carrefour also selling Same price. Then everyday members get 5% rebate + 5% cash disc.

For those OK with dryers, they r giving free pack with a empty 24pc pkt wrapper on 5/8/12.

I m using medela pisa. Great.

If poo little I'll cover back n make poo sound n face. My baby will follow my facial expression n gek sai. Then I'll change her. Even if just changed then she poo again, I'll still change her immediately. I won't wait to save diaper.

I ordered tingkat for 2 in afternoon. Tingkat for dinner also.

Been having sore throat, running nose and cough for the past 3 days... have not been to the doctor yet since i am the primary care-giver for my baby and by time hubby comes home the clinic closed and the clinic doesnt open on sunday.

i am worried that my baby will catch the flu virus from me, any one having same experience? how do you avoid pass the flu to your little one?

If tbf, bb won't catch most colds n cough from mom as before our symptoms appear, they already drink virus in milk. So when symptoms appear, our bodies a ready start producing antibodies.. that's y we get fever. Our body is at war.
Our milk contain antibodies. So when u find out u r sick, eat meds as usual n latch more. Bb won't fall sick.

Ginger - agree with petrina. But if u really afraid, wear a mask when u r close to bb. Btw, where r u staying? If east side, my gp at siglap open at night on wkdays n half day (am) on weekends even on ph. Alternatively, ask ur hub to go pharmacy to buy DANZEN for throat anti-inflammation n gargle with listerine/bactidol/difflam or jus salt water. Suck on difflam lozenges? U need to drink more fluid n rest more to recover faster. Get well soon.

<font color="aa00aa">ryan_mummy,
Where did u order the tingkat from?

disneyland,
U can thaw it overnight in the fridge section.</font>

thanks cyn/petrina

i finally went to the doctor today. the doctor says babies under 3 mths have good immunity so wont fall sick so easily. but he didnt prescribe me antibotics, only some lozenges and cough mixture. i took the lozenges but not cough mixture because it might affect baby too. well come to think of it, not a bad idea too, since it will make baby sleepy and i can rest :p

interestingly the doctor shared that the old benchmark for babies is double weight in 3 months and triple wt in a year, but nowadays baby grow so fast. then he ask me how heavy is my boy now. i told him my boy doubled his birth weight @ 6 weeks. he said it is pretty common since nutrition is good nowadays and lucky that i am on total breastmilk. lol...