(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

Crystal

Good JOb. Nw i am wondering if i wan to go back to pump n feed. Getting very tired, without knowing hw much BB is drinking and latching on demand. Some days can be very good, sleep for a good 3 hr stretch, some days can be very tiring cos every 1hrs+ wan to latch n drink... argghh... but then latch is def more convi and faster cos no need warm up milk etc.. headache!!

Stefie

Jia you... am glad to hear tt things are OK liao..

Klitz

dun angry la... i can understand the frustration tt u r goin thru now. ur CL also one kind...

but ur MIL keep carrying BB ah? Like tt BB will always want to be carried le.. Best thing is like wat u do lo, to let BB sleep on her own after drinking milk..

Oshgosh_baby,

Cos the binder is causing me to have rashes and blisters. At least be4 my rashes and blisters recover, I cant wear it. Initailly, I also kiasu wear it everyday, but i guess i am too hot and sweaty with it, somemore never bath. That's y cause a lot of problems.

Yurieve,

Me too, find the bandage area a bit itchy leh. My hubby told me it could be the skin recovering that's y cause the itchiness. I scare it is rashes and blisters as my skin very senitive.

my MIL is the too stubborn type... so cannot tell her.. if not she'll get very pissed off... i've asked hubby to talk to her when he see her doing it again. she just came up again to carry my slping BB down to show off to her frens.

i feel like changing CL. anyone got gd cl to recommend?

decmum, a nurse taught me a trick. To stretch our legs in and out, den take a deep breathe and exhale as we slowly get off the bed. i think it helps cos after i followed this method. it doesnt hurt anymore. and i'm already off painkillers. so i guess when we do that, blood is pumping and it will help reduce the pain.

juz went back to Mt A for the PD checkup for Gwen. She's all clear from jaundice and everything's ok! woohoo! but she has "fake menses" where her V is bleeding. PD said that's a good sign that her reproductive system is working & not to worry. He also said feeding 90 - 100ml per feed is ok. I didn't dare ask how many hours in btw feed 'cos since she's doing well so far, then her feeding pattern is ok. He did say feed on demand though. Also, jaundice can only be cleared via poo-poo, so the more baby feeds, the more she poo-poos, the faster jaundice will clear. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: bandage

i couldn't take it anymore last nite and removed it. the wound doesn't look infected but all surrounding skin ard the bandage were red and itching. i cleaned with dettol and put a fresh low allergy bandage, then put back the binder. i find the binder helps with limiting actions so wound dorsn't hurt so bad.

dec-mum, i also get the sharp pain when getting out of bed. so painful i always hv to pause and wait for pain to pass.

klitz, how abt telling cl sternly that the sterilizer only beeds certain amt otherwise it'll spoil then she has to bear the cost? so irritating of her not to listen to instructions. your MIL - get yr hb to handle her. i'm getting my hb to handle my in-laws 'cos they're really getting on my nerves re: gwen's chinese name. i've already told my hb, they've had their chances naming their kids. since they can't come up with a single good name that i like, then i'm going to name her myself.

cindy, i'm getting better & better results with bf-ing. juz pumped and managed to get 80ml! so jia you & take all the tips given by mummies here. they sure know what they're talking about! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie, oshgosh & mango - good luck and smooth & fast delivery for u tonight! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello Mummies!

Been suffering from so much aches (neck, back and shoulder) that I try to avoid using the comp as much as I can.

So many of you have popped! I'm really looking forward to the day I see my baby now after reading about your post-pop adventures! Hang in there those who are facing the initial problems.

Stefie, Oshgosh and Mango, jia you! jia you! Hope that you will all have a quick delivery and hold your baobeis in your arms soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh ya. c-sect mothers still feeling the pain. u gals wanna try drinking one glass of redoxen in the day and in the night. eat more kailan. i was told increasing our intake of vit c will help the wound to heal faster. now i dun feel pain, except when i climb the stairs all the way to the third flr. guess tt was a bit too strenous.

dewdew, i've just told her this morn that overboiling will release chemicals and poison the baby. see if she does tt tml again.

Dewdew: Good to know that Gwen is doing ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Wow 80-100ml per feed is good. Whenever I pump, I get the meagre 5-10ml [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but somehow Liz can latch on and drink continuous for 15-20mins each side. I gave up pumping and let her latch on whenever she wants. PD didn't say anything, and was happy that Liz gained back the weight she lost post-birth.

Klitz: Turn off the intercom and get some rest. Your MIL is way too much, and your CL is more trouble than help. Tell your CL one last time how things are done in the house, and if she gets it wrong, game's over. You definitely do not need any additional stress right now...

For those mommies having BreastFeeding blues, this is my dedication to you...

Ode to Breastfeeding (sung to the tune of Everly Brothers "Dream")

Drin-in-in-in-ink, drink, drink, drink

When I have you in my arms

When I have you and all your charms

Whenever I have you, all you want to do is

When you feel blue in the night

And you need me to hold you tight

Whenever you have me, all you want to do is

Drin-in-in-in-ink

You can make me yours, taste my tits so sore

Anytime night or day

Only trouble is, sore tits

I'm milkin' my life away

It hurts me so that I could cry

You suck you so and I'm so dry

Whenever you want me, all you want to do is

Drin-in-in-in-ink

You can make me yours, taste my tits so sore

Anytime night or day

Only trouble is, sore tits!!!

I'm milkin' my life away

It hurts me so that I could cry

You suck you so and I'm so dry

Whenever you want me, all you want to do is

FADE

2nd time mummies who BF/BF-ing mummies

Jus a qn to ask ah.. A bit blur though..

BB usually sucks for 5mins, min. up to 18mins, max.

And tt 18mins happen only once, usually 10-12min max. Sometimes realised tt she can get hungry like 1hr+ but sometimes can last til 3hrs or more. Worried tt she is overfeeding. And she only take 1 breast at a time.

Felt my left breast 'lighter' regardless jus fed or not & right breast is usually heavier than left. But after BB feed on right, will get lighter la. Does it mean right has more milk than left?

Also feel tt BB like to stretch a lot, even when she is latched on and drinking.. Any of u experiencing same thing??

Dbaby: I gave up swaddling Liz, so she stretches and scratchs my tits when I latch her on. So the stretching is normal.

Sometimes Liz just wants to suckle for comfort. But most of the time, she latches on to one breast for 15-20mins, then depends on her mood, she might go to the other one after I burp her, or just stop for 5-10mins before indicating that she wants the other one. Yes, after a feed, the breast is normally lighter.

I have:

1) An almost brand new My Brest Friend pillow for sale @ $70.

Used only a few times.

2) Preloved Philip Avent Dual Electric breast pump selling for

$250. Used for 1 month. Still have 6 months warranty. Its an

U.S. set.

Both items self collection @ Tiong Bahru.

If interested, pls call 81828574. Thanks

halo mummies! I hv delivered my healthy boy, he weight 3.3kg,praise God for smooth delivery n epidural, my induce labour was 6 hours, no episotomy but gynae said quite swelling dwn there :p

now waiting nurse to bath baby n will breastfeed him, my colostrum kick in liao

I delivered baby Leah by c sect at 12.12 pm today.

She's quite small at 2.83kg at 37 weeks 5 days.

She's too sleepy to latch on, will try again later..

oshgosh,congrats! No ur gal is nt small i think she is in good size! My #1 was 2.75 at 38 weeks wor, u rest well gal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

congrats mangogal... gd that ur colostrum has come. tt's a gd headstart to the moomoo career...

congrats oshgosh, dun worry. she'll start putting on weight when she drinks ur milk.

Mangogal & Oshgosh

Congrats!!!! Recover soon...

Mangogal- u can ask ur gynae for any postpartum spray or cream for below. Tt time i also swell quite bad n i used the postpartum spray, very fast relieve the swell n recover.. If nt very diff to sit upright esp if we wan BF

Oshgosh

2.83kg nt small liao. My boy only 2.58 at birth.. I wonder hw heavy is he nw.. Hee hee.. Very soon will gain the weight liao..

Muddypaws

But mine always jus 10mins max, occassional 1-2mins more nia. Though breast feels light n soft but still worried abt him nt getting hindmilk. Ur gal can last hw long btw feeds? Mine still very eractic..

Will ur gal jus fall bk to sleep after the feed when u put her back to cot? Mine will fall asleep in my arms as i burped him but as soon as i put him in his cot, he starts fidgeting n stretching again.. Sometimes very unhappy. But when i offer another breast, he also nt keen.. Normal??

Oshgosh_baby,

Congrats! Dun worry, try to rest more as i believe you still have your tubes on. Initially i also cant latch on my sleepy small gal 2.49kg for the 1st 3 days, but now no problem already.

Just now when i took my nap, my mum came in to cover me with blanket, in the end i sweat like mad. Don't wake up also cannot.

thks mummies..:D

so hungry now and epi wear off liao, feeling menses cramp [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

will hv dinner 1st then nurse bb, feel like having painkiller 1st :p

Dbaby, oki...will ask the nurse but they will give me spritz salt bath to sit and soak..

muddypaws: haha, nice song and so apt!

mangogal & oshgosh: wow! congrats! you gals are super fast. rest well to recover and all the best for your moo moo career.

mangogal: so good! no episiotomy! i hope i can achieve that too!!! hehe..

hi mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

klitz, haha yr CL story cracked me up :p

but i can imagine yr frustration esp when u want things to be sterilised fast, thats y bought the steriliser, yet ppl just duno how to use it!

eoneon, thanks, though the weight increase abit only i think (coz was with clothes) haiz... hope no pressures on FM T_T

will u be inducing or will be waiting for Cheyenne to decide?

stefie, jiayou! Alexis really would be full term baby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dbaby, my baby also same case as u haiz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

but i worry more of underfeeding T_T

oshgosh, mango, congrats! finally have yr babies in yr arms le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cindy: i have to check with my stand-in gynae tomorrow. hope to have Cheyenne out by 12 dec. so see if can induce on 11 dec. cause i dont wana risk her overstaying. scary!

eoneon, haha the babies in dec really like mummy's tummy :p

seems like alot of overstayers hehe...

but really have to enjoy life now b4 baby comes out hor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

not as free when u have Cheyenne liao hehe

Oshgosh/mangogal, congrats!! So happie to hear from both of u. Welcome to ur lil ones.

Muddypaws, the song is cute! Shall try to remember it when ethan is suckling.

Klitz, I can understand ur frustration. Get dh to tok to ur mil. For the cl, I will take dew's view too. Give her last chance and se how it goes.

Dewdew, ya just name gwen how u wan it? They has their chance u shld have urs now.

congrats mangogal & oshgosh! wow, very fast delivery & recovery for both of you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dbaby, i swaddle gwen when i latch her. she does wriggle but since she's swaddled she can't move much. also she'll always fall asleep. she can latch for up to half an hour if she's in the mood, and she favours my left side than my right - but funnily my right has more milk. not sure how that happened.

if i'm not wrong, if yr baby favours one side, that side will produce more milk - so you might be right that your left breast has less milk than the right. maybe u can try pumping to stimulate the left side? that's what i do to mine.

cindy: yah, a few overstayers here in dec. i rather Cheyenne comes out within these few days. i dont wana think of the consequences of overstaying. hope to have good news from the gynae tomorrow. praying hard.

Hi mommies, ive pop earlier this afternoon. V painful birth for me. So 2nd time doesnt mean easier.

Catch up those posts again

andrea: congrats! oh mine.. but so long both you and baby are safe, sound and healthy.. everything is worth it. rest well and all the best for your moo moo career.

Just had very heavy early dinner. Hubby taking nap now for our big day[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cindy, yes leh. Alexis would be 40 weeks after midnight. Praying hard that everything will be soon soon Heng Heng[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrats mango and oshgosh, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] do rest more and eat more bu okay[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eon eon, don't stress okay. Hope that your cheyenne would "cooked" by herself than induce. Be positive. Don't stress out okay. Everything will be smooth smooth one[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Jia you.

Andrea, congrats. You looked tired on your face book. Do rest more okay[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie: cannot dont stress leh. im coming to 40 weeks also liao. so hope to hear good news from dr magdeleine tan tomorrow. hopefully before tomorrow you will have Alexis in your arms le.

Wanna share a good news.. BB Rayshon has gained 1kg from birth, 19 days ago.. Initially was worried cos both ah ma & hubby feel tt Rayshon's tummy is bloated & hard. Brought to KKH & realised tt its Infant Colic & partly due to not burping properly.

Do take note tt Breastfed BBs also need to be burped. So pls burped them. And intro pacifier will make the colic worse. He got colic n we didnt realised cos he wasnt wailing nor crying. So do look out for other symptons..

Dbaby: Liz normally lasts for 3hours between my BF feedings. Sometimes she's cranky and wants milk every hour. She normally gets sleepy at the end of one breast, and if sleeping, I would burp her and put her into her cot, else I would cuddle her for a while, and see if she wants the other side before putting her back into her cot. Maybe you can cuddle kiddo a little before putting him back?

Mommies: I want to rant about my parents. My hubby and FIL are not the pantang kind, and my hubby wants me to bring liz for family lunch at my FIL's place on Sunday. My mum says no, says confinement period women considered 'dirty', cannot go out, what if people want to visit me on Sunday etc etc. My hubby got upset when I called him in China just now to complain about this. Hubby says FIL only saw me and Liz for 5-10mins in the hospital after I popped, whereas my parents (living so near us), come everyday to see me and Liz (also to boss me and maid around), so my hubby wants my FIL to see Liz on Sunday. Reasonable right? Plus my hubby doesn't believe in confinement.

My mum nagged at me to wear long pants at home (cos I'm wearing shorts and tee now, and I refuse to wear pants cos it gives me a rash in this kind of heat!), to only wash hair once a week (i wash it once every 2 days! No way am I having greasy long hair), and nagging at my maid to do this and that. I told my mum to leave my maid alone, and when my mum wanted to stay over to help, I told her NO. My mum doesn't know where Liz' things are kept, how things are done etc (she can't even carry Liz steadily, and she tells my maid to cook liver with oyster sauce for me for confinement!), and my mum wanted to cry when I told her that if she stays over, we would be more busy.

My dad comes over to peep at Liz during lunch every day, and then sleeps on my sofa or just on TV to watch! I just don't like it cos I want privacy right now.

Hubby says he doesn't want to give it to my parents' nonsense already...

Muddypaws

I think i haf to be more 'hardworkin' & not so sleepyheads tonite ba. Haf to give medi & seems like BB gt a bit if stuffy nose.. Argghh...

And i need to make sure i burped him well before putting him back to back. I seriously admire u all cos u all can take 1hr or so to latch & put BB back to sleep. I usually takes 30mins or max 45mins and i dun even pump nw so even faster. Bad mummy!

Parents

My mum also same same. Ever since i haf my own plc, she will cum over on weekdays if she is OFF to 'see' my gal.. But when she cum, its like after noon & she will watch SCV, sleep on my sofa and only spend like total of 1hr thru her stay in my hse. And she goes back in the evening.. Haiz.. Am used to it. Sometimes even sick also still come. When i asked her dun go close to my gal cos scare pass to her etc, she also dun listen.. Worse huh.. Lots to rant. Jus haf to take it in our stride..

Congratulation to all popping mums!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

All the best to those mummies who are still waiting for the exciting big day... U ladies are great!!

Have been a silent reader all these while...my prince has arrived last Thursday, 2 December and therefore would like to join in this December MTB forum officially and I believe we would have lots to share and learn from each another..hope I m welcome here..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just done feeding and changing liz. She's in lala land, n i'm waiting for my maid to take over d shift. I 'watch' liz till 12midnight n my maid 'watches' her till 530am, when I take over again.

watched liz poo-ed just now... So cute! She was searching for my nipple when she suddenly stopped, and with intense concentration, gave a few loud grunts (followed by gurgling sounds in her diaper) n she concluded with a sigh... Haha! I must be crazy already... Fancy being amused by a NB poo-ing!

I just found out that I can fit into one of my pre-preggers jeans! So happy!

Mommies i am only 1 cm dilated. My poor hubby can only stay at the waiting area cos I have a room mate. Now have to see whether my waterbag will break. If not would have to wait till 7.30am tomorrow.

Wow my room mate snore very loud till I can't sleep.

Hippo which hospital are you in?

Muddypaws: I think we are all crazy to see how we are amazed by their poo and pee. I noticed at baby wee does the same intense look before at wet sound from the bum comes about. He showered himself just now with his own pee pee as well. The projectile was up till his own hair... I was like NO!!!!! Damn had to re clean him all over. Seeing that it was evening I only could wipe him down. It is hilarious thinking of it now but when it happened I went into a frenzy. The other day while hubby was cleaning him gist after shower, he decided to release flying caramel fondue on my hubby. Haha then u could hear hubby scream.. Heehee.

Mummies with the latching on intense pain. I ended up with a blister looking like thing on my nipple yesterday morning and it was so painful I couldn't feed from that breast. Just to share my experience in case any of you get it as well. Pain for 30 secs when baby latches on is normal if baby is hungry. The pain should not last through the feeding. If it does than something is wrong. I noticed a whitish spot on my nipple. At first I thought it was a cracked or sore nipple that we have all heard about. Did a google and found out that cracked or sore nipples are brown or red in colour. Mine was known more like a milk blister ( but in sg they call it blab). basically a milk duct is blocked by an over laying skin that grew on top of the milk duct thus cannot release milk causing a blister like pimple. Luckily I called parent craft at TMC and was told to go down to take a look. At first I had the intention of squeezing it like a pimple or like what the Internet recommend to use a needle to prick it open but I was uncertain. This is like 50% of my baby's food source cannot play a fool and let it get infected. So I went down to parent craft where she explained what a blab is to me. Then she started massaging and squeezing milk out from the breast. As she was doing it milk was squirting out like no ones business. So funny. But what she was trying to do was to squirt out milk from the blocked blister duct. After a few squeezes there was a trickle of milk then a few more times there was more and more so she unblocked the blister. Then she place my baby on to latch to start the milk flowing. So that resolved my problem. At home now I got to constantly make sure once in a while I massage and squeeze milk out through that duct. The size of the blister has gone smaller and pain is gone. Thank God for parent craft help centre. Latching pain is normal but as long as it goes away after a few suckle it's fine. She also mentioned that my baby has strong suction power so confirm a little pain.

For mummies who deliver at TMC, there is a hotline that u can call if u have problems in e middle of the night. If not during the day can go to parent craft and they can help u with latching problems. Must pay though. I was charged about 32 but worth resolving my pain. After usi my breast friend pillow at the centre I realize how convenient it is compared to normal pillow that I bought one too. It provides goos support for baby and easier for him to suckle and my arm doesn't ach so bad carrying him to feed.

Stefie jiayou! I was also admitted when I was 1 cm dilated. 3 hrs later water bag broke. Then 7 hrs labour. Hope u have a smooth and fast delivery!

Stefie, Jia you! Oh yr hubby had to wait outside one ar, so poor thing. I always thot hubby can stay in together ehile waiting for labor. Then when will they start to wheel u to delivery room?

Too bad mine is delayed, if not we can jia you together at the hospital. Me feeling excited also now to see woody tom am see what he say. If what u say is right, then he will prob ask me to admit 11pm tom night.

muddypaws, haha I think we are all gg mad during confinement so must self-entertain. U made her pooing sound like a stunt.

Looks like all parents are alike!! Last night I also quarrelled with my parents. They came at 7pm and my dad insisted on carrying the bb though she's sleeping so I let him carry like a min. Then they went to watch 爱. Lucky for them bb woke up at 710 so I let them carry again. Only when bb. more awake then I went to feed. I spent abt total 45 min and half the time was trying to wake her up to feed on other breast but she slept like a log so I put her back in the cot. Was pretty frustrated feeding as I was feeling tired. so I went to pump n intended to go to bed after. Who knew when I was done pumping I went out n saw my mum carrying bb again! She said tt bb was crying and she carried her to wake her up coz the CL mentioned tt bb sleep a lot in the day at night won't sleep. Thats not the right time to wake bb up loh!!!! So I told them off and asked them not to come at such timing again. Think my parents were hurt but they need to learn their lesson. They shouldn't think tt they can come at whatever time then do what they like loh.

How did u manage to lose ur weight so quickly?? Envious.

Lovebyte, yes I love my breast friend too! Hubby says it's the best buy ever! How much is it selling at parentcraft?

Stefie, we are waiting for ur good news!

Thanks Mommies. Just woke up. Managed to get some sleep. The pain is still manageable. Waterbag not break yet. I guess later dr woody would break for me.

Juliana, I am at the ward already. Cos has a room mate so the nurse would not allow hubby to be around. My hubby didn't sleep at all. Maybe ask your hubby to rest more today before going to hospital. But my hubby had some wanton mee at nearby 24 hrs coffee shop. Make me very hungry leh. Ha! Ha! Dr woody very gentle on ve, so no worries ok[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]