(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

wah mummies,ur kiddos r wonderful. my boy prefer to point rather then speak up.Till now, he still babble his baby lang mixing with some unidentified words. LOL. sometimes i can understand sometimes i cant.

Recongise ABC is also a nono for him. I wonder does he noes the ABC and refuse to speak up or simply dun understand at all..

And he has been going to CC since 17 mths old,but still stuck at zero stage in terms of lang

baby wonder,my boy does drives me crazy. and now i do hit him on his butt becoz he is simply horrible! when he throw tumtrams,he can lie down anywhere,tis incl carpark!

Chloe Goh (hapigal): Dun worry,ur boy will speak up before u know it..hahah...thgh i've only one ger but I do see tt in my nephews n niece [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Give ur boy a little more time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Is he on full-day CC? Not jus urs, mine drives me nuts at times too and I will spank butt too n her lil hand. Cos sometimes I really hv no choice..she wants her way but I cannot be giving in everytime right? (and I feel its nt right too)

Any mommies hv any comments or reviews on CC / enrichment schools? Which are the better options?

Die : Your baby is smart . can say so many words liao..

Chloe : "HiFive" Haha my boy and your boy can be best of frds.. Till now juz wana point only and refuse to speak any words.. Good moood only will say papa or mama.. haiz headache..

Baby wonder : I oso wana get reviews of schools or childcare.. Maybe intending to place my boy at Mindchamps nursery starting next year.. But they only have 1/2 day or full day nursery. Haaa dunno how my boy will get accustomed with the new surroundings...

evelyn (evet) : Ya tts y I started the topic and hoping all mommies can share their views n experiences here... Hv u check out Mindchamps already? Issit very ex?

Babywonder : I have checked out Mindchamps and already gone for a site visit 2 weeks back.. Very impressed by the surroundings.. Not sure if its because its still quite new. I went to the one at Mapletree district (PSA building) The classrooms are big and spacious. They hv a gym room too where gym sessions will be part of the curriculum. Yes I actually find is ex. But ard my areas dun hv any good childcare nursery. So was intending to give this a try..

Half day is $1195 (before WM $150 relief, if applicable)

Full day is $1395 (before WM $350 relief, if applicable)

evelyn: wow!! The fees are rather steep indeed! Maybe u can check on other CC which fees r nt so high? But if u r comfortable with Mindchamps u can consider trying out n see how it goes too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Pls do share with us ur experiences too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Die - Its per mth.. and $380 for up front registration fee which is non refundable.. Feeling abit heartpain for the $$$$. But if really good then dun mind to slog for him lor.. Keke.. But actually I oso dunno how to really know if its good or not.. Raise kid nowadays so expensive.. My hubby say CDA acct top up to the max also not enough to pay his 1 yr fees..

Anyway I will prob try out for a few months 1st.. since its paid on monthly basis. If my son is not enjoying his time and learning much things there then I may choose to chng nursery if needed.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

die (die)& evelyn (evet) : Lol! I was having the same sentiments as d fees are rather on d high side so dun think can afford too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

evelyn : U r right,since its on mthly basis,do try out first n most imptly ur child must be comfortable [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babywonder,mine is boy is on full day CC at sunflower kinderhub@amk. Fees after wms is 425/mth.Paid via CDA.

So far the school so good in my opinion. My son now able to wave good bye to me compare to 2 mths back,where tears accompanied him thru the day and drop dead when he reach home (exhusted due to excessive crying) He took abt 2 to 3 weeks to adapt to the new environment.

Personally, i would say the school gv me a feel of home. Everyone seems like a family member to each other.And my son's form teacher is a young lady,but well loved by my son.

I love how the school email and inform the parents of mthly study weblog,so that during wkend, i can do a re-cap with him.They does introduce outdoor learning. The school organise veggie farm tour,bird park excusion cum pinic.And they include all level for their programm.

My aim of sending him to school at such a young age 1) no one able to help to take care of him after my helper left.2) Making frens and playtime.

Hence curriculum is my least piority.

Now coming into 3rd mth of his CC life, he can express himself quite well as compare to previous where he was taken care by my helper. He can sway with the music and act as if he is a singer and babble his baby lang,take off his shorts on his own during bath time and eat his own meal with supervison.

And i m considering to switch him to PCF nursery once he hit 4 yrs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I prefer him in PCF coz i felt curriculum wise,its more in line to prepare them for government school (P1 onward).I m kiasu! opps!

Evelyn, haha! put this 2 boys together,mayb miricle will happen. both will start to talk! haha

Die & Babywonder - Its not parent accompanied as its equivalent to a half day or full day childcare..

Curriculum wise.. Remembered vaguely there is english speech class, chinese lessons, gym lessons, drawing, outdoor activities, breakfast, lunch, tea time, nap time... But they say the schedules will chng as and when needed..

Actually to be frank at their age.. All nursery or playgrp shld be thereabouts the same. Its a matter of how the teachers there communicate and interact with the kids and whether the kids themselves like the environment. Sometimes actually ex does not really mean good too.. Not sure if Mindchamps is kind of over rated too.. Although did hv good review from other frds who hv placed their kiddos there..

My parents actually do not encourage me to plc him in these chilcare coz they can look after him. But my main aim is to let him interact with other kids and learn more. Coz at home he just runs ard the house everyday. My mum cant bring him to any 2 or 3 hrs playgrp or enrichment classes as she hv to look after my other niece and nephew too and I'm a working mum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Chloe - Yeh Yeh maybe we shld put the 2 boys together to interact.. Maybe miraculously both of them will really talk.. Whhahaa

Chloe Goh (hapigal) : Tts a very gd sign tat things are gg well for both of u. And ur boy is doing good too! Its nt tt u are kiasu ,plssss...sometimes I felt we dun hv much choices esp living in Singapore..hmmmmm... *_*|||

Its gd tat u hv other alternatives in mind so its easier too...

evelyn (evet) : Yes, I think its d different approaches in diff schools so it really depends on us which school to go to [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] No harm trying afterall!

Oh ya,btw,this is out of the topic ...but need some advises frm mommies here... Lately these 2days, my gal suddenly developed very soft stools and initially i think its slight diarrhorea then after tt nt so watery..I went to get d Friso Soy powder milk for her as tts wat PD gave us the last time, she finished within 2days,cos its a v small tine, hmmm..her stools are still soft but nt watery anymore, went to NTUC to get another in the end I got the wrong one!! Argghhh!! I was carrying her on one hand n the other hand jus grab n go!! Came home,quickly opened up n realise its Friso Comfort!! Nt the Friso Soy!! How ah? Can I still give her?? I already open the tin!! haizzzz....

Babywonder - I tot Friso comfort is for baby who regurgitate often and also for babies who constipate.. Coz that was wat my PD told me to get when my boy constipate.. Maybe you can just try to give it to your gal and see if there is any difference. If still have watery stools after taking the Friso comfort then btr dun give it to her anymore..

Haha I wish my boy have more watery stools. His stools are always so hard and he poos only like once in every 2-3 days.. Haiz..

evelyn : Ya i read tt its for constipation n colicky bbs...My eyes almost dropped when I realised i took the wrong tin!! Haizzz...my fault [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my ger was making noise so i jus quckly grabbed n go... im so blinded..tot it was d same.. -_-|||

Now its like "still can carry on giving" tt kind of feeling~~~

What FM is ur boy taking now? As advised by our PD we changed frm Similac to S26...

Babywonder : Haaaa if your girl is ok with that then no harm giving bah..

My boy is taking Enfagrow now.. But I heard S26 is equally heaty too.. Stress to chng milk powder since he is alrdy so used to the taste of enfagrow now.. I still hv 4 x 1.8kg tins Enfagrow at home..!! Kaisu got sale buy to stock up.. Haaaaa now kena stuck..

evelyn,my boy oso taking enfa since birth. and now their price hike.my chinese medicial shop here use to sell 1 x 1.8kg at 58,but jerk up to 64/tin. haha! i stock up 12 tins at 1 go just b4 the price hike..

babywonder, yes i m stress up man...i once dream of our citizen becomes 2nd class citizen in SG...haha! crazy dream huh!?

Vivien, what is the root course for your kiddo bitting his classmate? did his classmate bite him as well? Monkey see monkey do...they see and they pick up veri fast. Talk to them nicely and explain to them that is no rite to bite other.

What abt at home? does he bite?

Chloe: It's perfectly fine to dream …人是因梦想而伟大!lol!! Pardon my poor chinese … [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes,I heard Enfa is oso on d heaty side ...haizzz double sian when prices of milk keeps gg up..

Evelyn, not only u do stocked up,me too,so equally stress

too .

Chloe & Babywonder : Whahaa u stock up 12 tins? I stocked up the new version when there was a sale at Carrefour.. Haaa but oni 6 tins lah.. After disc tink still about $64 leh.. My hubby say I so kiasu.. Wah biangz but I say milk so ex.. keep increasing like nobody's business.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Whoohoo good to dream.. But muz dream that one day we become rich rich ppl.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vivien : I tink your boy might have seen other kids bitting each other or he might have got bitten by other kids himself.. Now is the stage where Chloe say is true monkey see monkey do.. (which is good and bad. Maybe you can check with the school to monitor him and the kids ard him..

Evelyn, *high five!* We must dream to be rich !wahahahah...to cope with increasing costs in Singapore!!

Lol!! It was my hb who told me to stock up cos he himself knows tt milk's price is increasing like madness!

Yup I agreed tt children nowadays matured faster n they really will hv the "monkey see monkey do" attitude..

Eg: when my hb picks up the hp n goes "hello" , my ger will pick up her "fone" n do exactly the same as daddy does n she goes "halooooo haloooo" OMG! Lol!

Wah the thread is alive! I m kind of lost in the conversation, but just to share how my girl is doing lately.

Baby wonder: ya lol my girl also talks on the phone like adult! she will go hello...*pause*...ah...ah...*laughs*...bye...imitate my mum talk...super funny...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Language wise, think she has picked up quite a fair bit of words...she can call us without hesitation...say some fruit words, color words, say "ok, hi-5, bye, milk milk, pat pat, orh orh, please...etc...

She loves to use the spoon or fork to feed herself, enjoy dancing or twirling to music...help out with our "chores"...haha...like bring the laundry to the room to be folded...etc..

I m one nuah mummy...hubby ask got any enrichment classes we should send her...but I feel that she is progressing ok so never actively look for it...haha...any short term ones to recommend? How do we know which schools can use CDA to pay?

Any comments on Agape Little Uni kindy? Do they have nursery level? There are 2 near my home, but is it very expensive? I don't mind putting my girl in Pcf too, because I m also teaching her at home, but just wondering about other alternatives...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rompersleepingbag: Wow! Ur gal is definitely doing great!! N since u r teaching her at home I think tts v gd!

Ya I started the topic hoping mommies in tis group can join n share their experiences n advises on d schools/ CVS attended so far.

Lol...me too am overwhelmed by d number of schools n CCs

till I'm so confused.. Let's get tis topic up n keep it alive!

ヽ(^。^)ノ

haha!evelyn...yes stock up 12 tins at one go. coz he is a milk beast. he loves his milk. morning drink 300ml,noon 180ml,night 300ml again. And the milk deplete veri fast. 2.5 wks,1 tin of 1.8kg gone. lol!

Mummies,how much do ur kiddos drink now?

My son is down with stomach flu for the 2nd time. Last kana was in apr. Now, again! what a nightmare when kids are sick...I have to say, prepare for a sick kid if they are placed in CC.

wah chloe you son really loves his milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]...how come different volume for noon?

milk: my girl still drink 180-190 ml only about 4 times a day...i think it is sufficient for her cos' after milk her tummy always feel quite hard...hee...but my milk tin also deplete every 2 weeks dunno why!

Rompers- afternoon coz he is in the cc. And they feed milk after Lunch hour. Like 11.30am lunch, then 1pm

Milk follow by nap time.So I didn't want to over fed him, hence 180ml onli.

Chloe & rompersleepingbag: My milk tin is jus the same as u mommies too! Lol!

Chloe u r right! Have to really get ourselves mentally prepared once they hit any CC or enrichment classes.

Mommies,come in n share share ur views n advises! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Haha my boy used to be a milk beast too and my milk tins depleted very quickly... But because of his constipation issues.. I tried to cut dwn on his milk feeds.. Now its only like morning once when he wakes up and at night before he sleeps.. (180ml-200ml) per feed. Sometimes if he insist on wanting milk before his afternoon nap then my mum will give to him. Not sure isit bcoz of the milk that he constipates but aiya juz to play safe. Anyway he is already having solid foods so guess milk twice a day shld be more than sufficient. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ya was thinking gg to CC chances of getting sick definitely be more frequent.. Virus all around the class. But seeing them sick also so heartpain.. Haiz..

Chole , hope your son is getting better. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Die: Sunflower also has a branch in Punggol. That school used to be Learning Vision but Sunflower has taken over. Its the same Sunflower cc that Chloe sends her kid to. You can check it out.

Vivien: Any out of the norm things happen at home? Are you preg? Is your son doing it a one-off thing or has it become chronical? Sudden changes in his comfort zone may cause him to react in such a way so revisit those situations.

CC: You all started already? If not, its good to pump our kids up with vits and multi-vits to cushion them for the virues and germs in the envirnment. Even if they fall sick, it wont be that bad. Can give 6 months before then when school starts, can cut down and get back to normal.

Milk: I'm also one of those who stock up at one go! I have enough tins to last me till next year! my kid drinks 3xs a day, 270x3, so can say he is a milk monster also.

Tummy upset: Chloe and Babywonder, go get some biogaia from PD, not cheap but its very source of probiotics for baby's tummy. It will strengthen and prevent baby from getting too sick if baby gets stomach viruses. Its like yakult, minus the sugar and fruit flavor.

Jo (jogwyn) :Thks for ur advises! I wonder if my ger's PD will sell us the biogaia as mentioned..

Haha..I've nt started any CC yet.. :p how abt u? Ur kid can really drink alot of milk..lol...but i think tts fine esp their age nw [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wah jo until next year? I think you have a lot of space at home...hehe..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cc: i also haven't started my girl on school...quite worried abt viruses and hfmd so keeping her at home still...but i am looking out for short term classes maybe just for interaction with other kids and to expose her to the idea of school...any not too ex suggestions? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hmm...why my girl still drinking 190 ml only? like a really small eater leh...but in actual fact she can eat a lot of solid food...and she certainly don't look skinny... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My girl also don't drink a lot, only 200ml before she sleeps at night and after she wakes up in the morning. But she can eat a lot during lunch and dinner time. She likes to eat rice and noodle. Btw, any mummy here starts to train your toddlers to brush their teeth and go toilet for urine or shit? If yes, how to train and get prepare?

yah mbgirl...i want to learn from other mummies too...anyone potty train their bb already? it seems like everyday just pass by so quickly so busily that i almost forgot about potty training my girl....she can communicate that she want to pass motion liao...but tell her to sit potty she refuse leh...

brushing teeth: i m still using the bb toothpaste that can be swallowed safely...my girl actually enjoy "eating" the toothpaste...*faint* how to teach her to gurgle her mouth and spit the toothpaste?

my girl loves rice and noodles too...my mum cooked stir-fried udon today and she finished everything and asked my mum for 1 more mian4...hahaha...now she knows how to bargain liao...very funny...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mommies, is there a FB group for Nov mommies? Helping to ask for my friend whose twins are born in Oct 10 but EDD Nov 10 (premmies). Pls PM me so I can refer her FB account to. Thanks! (I myself is a June 10 mommy)

same here ...my boy only go poo poo less than 10x on toilet bowl so far [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ade, thanks. Do you know where to find it or who I can ask?

This morning my friend asked and I told her no one replied, so we guess no mommies joined FB group. She si beh sian.

She cant join mine cos my group is strict on members, ie must be same month then can join.

Jelly T/MB girl: pm mummywong. She is the main in charge of the fb group.

Babywonder/romper: ya! Milk monster but he's not as bak bak compared to my girl at the same age. His weight is ok though. And yes, need space to store them! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Babywonder: most PDs will sell the Biogaia, price range is $38-$42 depending on how many bottles you buy. One of the mummies buys it at $38 from her pd cos she buys often. If you have friends who are pharmacist or doctors, can get them at cheaper rates.

School- I'll send my boy next year in Jan. Heard from the school principal that quite a handful of kids in that class are born in the 2nd half of the year, and they will be sending only after June.

Jelly: oh ya, there are quite a few mummies with Nov edd but end up giving birth early in Oct; not twins though.

Jo: Thks thks for ur help!

So nxt yr which school will u be sending ur boy to? Enrichment type or? Pardon me as im a very blur moma at times too.. Have u done the registration already?

Hi mummies who have brought your toddler for airplane travel, need your advice...

I am quite clueless what I can actually bring on board because of the liquid restrictions, but if I need to make milk they will allow me to bring a small hot thermos flask and water bottle for my girl ornot? I may be taking an 8 hour flight...so making milk is unavoidable leh...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks!

Hi rompersleeping bag,

I have brought my gal for plane from Spore to London. It is less strict at Spore side, they allow me to bring mineral water, hot flask, and diaper cream.

I had more problem at London side. They took a long time to scan through these "illegal items". They took the diaper cream for content search (but returned and allowed me to bring on flight), took away my mineral water, but let me keep the hot water in the flask after asking me to drink a sip.

So to answer your questions, yes, you can bring these items, but be prepared to spend more time at the customs checkpoint.

Hi piggydog, thanks for sharing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am most probably taking budget flight to Australia, not sure if they are very strict leh. I hope to be able to bring at least a small hot flask, 2-3 milk bottles pre-filled with a bit of water...not sure if they allow...I don't mind spending a bit more time at checkpoint but my hubby keep saying cannot bring...can ask for hot water on board...i feel more comfortable bringing my own stuff lor...dun feel like asking stewardess to bring this bring that later they black face cos' right after boarding they might be very busy and in the middle of my night flight i m not sure if i can find them when i need to...LOL...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i m going penang in sept on budget air too.yet to book air tic [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] excited abt my boy 1st trip.

i got this from :

http://www.changiairport.com/passenger-guide/departure/guidelines-on-hand-carried-luggage/faq#em

What are the exemptions for medications in liquid, aerosol and gel form?

Medications in liquid, aerosol and gel form, such as insulin, cough syrups and nasal sprays, will be exempted from the new restrictions. Such items should be taken in quantities that are sufficient for the flight.

A doctor's letter or prescription, while not mandated, would be helpful in facilitating the security screening process.

If the medications are in containers with a maximum capacity of not more than 100ml, passengers are encouraged to place the containers in the 1-litre transparent re-sealable plastic bag. If this is not possible or if the medications are in containers larger than 100ml, the medications will be subjected to further checks at the security screening point. Passengers may also be asked to taste their medications.

What are the exemptions for baby food in liquid, aerosol and gel form?

Baby foods in liquid, aerosol and gel form, such as milk, juice and porridge, will be exempted from the restrictions, if there is a baby travelling with the adult passenger. Such items should be taken in quantities that are sufficient for the flight.

If the baby food is in containers with a maximum capacity of not more than 100ml, passengers are encouraged to place these containers in the 1-litre transparent re-sealable plastic bag. If this is not possible or if the baby food is in containers larger than 100ml, the baby food will be subjected to further checks at the security screening point. The baby must also be present at the security screening point. Passengers may also be asked to taste the baby food.

Is there a restriction on the amount of baby milk powder that can be carried in hand-carry luggage?

No. Milk powder is not considered a liquids, aerosols and gels item.

Can I carry hot water in a flask to prepare baby food?

Yes. Hot water will be allowed for carriage in a flask if there is a baby travelling with the adult passenger, even though hot water should be available from the airline onboard the flight. The hot water should be taken in quantities that are sufficient for the flight. It will also be subjected to further checks at the security screening point.

thanks chloe...i read that too...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]...but just like to find out whether they are really strict about it here....i think oz side i may have to be prepared for more thorough checks too...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1.8kg blue Gain IQ

Manufacturded in Ireland

Imported by Malaysia

Distributed by Jin Tai Tong Chinese Medicine Shop(medical hall in Tampines mart)

Expiary date: Mar 2013

Letting go at $45

Collection at tampines on sunday afternoon near tampines JC, toa payoh MRT, novena MRT or orchard MRT during lunch time.

PM me if interested.