(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Hihi mummies!

Long time never come in cos bz bz with 2 kiddos.

Miss u mummies here!

Tried to read the posts here and couldnt catch up Liao.

Anyways just to update on my little baobei, HK.

He's currently on 2 meals a day. Milk intake is around 3 to 4 times a day and only around 120ml. He tends not to drink alot at one go. I tried increasing to 150ml months back but always waste my bm so just let him be.

For first solid meal I usually give cereal ( either instant brown

rice cereal/barley and oats/ yu ren sheng Si Shen brown rice) mixed with white porridge (that my elder son takes) and for his second meal of the day I usually steam and pureed the vegetables or tofu ( either broccoli and sweet potato / pumpkin / spinach / tofu ) and mix them with plain porridge again. He will take almost a full small rice bowl each time.

For tea time, I would sometimes give fresh apples or papayas. He would occasionally take prune juice to help with his bowels. And sometimes I would give him the plain baby rice biscuits.

He would eat the soft wholemeal bread also and now he's keen to eat whatever we are eating though I'm not giving any to him.

My elder son is very picky so Im not restricting my younger boy on his food. As long the food is considered healthy, non spicy, doesn't cause choking and is not hard, I would just let him try.

My opinion is to let kids try and eat whatever they like

otherwise they tend to be less adventurous with food after

they past 18 mths old.

My baobei has tried avocado but he is not keen. He had a taste of bananas too and he seems to like it but I avoid it cos it causes phlegm. I will probably try avocado again cos it's a nutrious food. What do u usually mix the avocado with?

You may think my 9 mth old may be very fat cos I've been feeding him a variety of food but he's not cos he had been sick on and off and he's super active. LOL

I'm no planning to feed him eggs til after his first birthday though pd told me to let him try the egg yolk first.

Oh ya... I would like to check if anybody is organising any trial classes? I hope to join if possible so that my little one could socialize abit outside. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] pls let. Me know k? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw pls add me on fb too.

Thks!!

Oh ya forgot to ask.. Any mummies here thinking abt yr little one's first bday celebration? Can share ideas? And are we having any forum bday bash celebration together? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

baby2010: i am using slow cooker for porridge as well...if i turn on "HIGH" the porridge will be ready in 2 hours...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] whim shared a nice tip here which i also practise...soak the rice before you cook it...the rice grains will break more easily and you will get a nice mushy porridge for bb...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shoppiee: i also tried making spaghetti on tuesday for the first time with ABC+chicken stock...my glutton girl finished every bit of it!! so happy...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

happy bb puffs

mummies who are feeding puffs do you give the whole puff yet? i am so scared my bb will choke although she has two teeth liao...i tried it myself and it tasted quite dry...doesn't seem to "melt in baby's mouth" as claimed leh...now i break into half and give her half at a time only...she can chew meat and fish liao but i still worry...haha...

baby sleeping

mummies are your babies sleeping through the night already? for e.g. sleep at 10 wake up 7 those kind...

my girl is taking 2 solid feeds a day already but it seems like she is still waking up for milk in the night...i wonder what it takes for her to sleep throughout...hehe...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

strawberry79 > ya, wendy is organising the forum bday/xmas celebration in early dec, I think. Can't really rem the details. It will b in a condo function rm located in town. Nelotte is booking the rm. Thers a trial class this sat at UE square. Bt I think its full liao leh. This Fri there a lunch gathering at jrg pt, mayb u will lik to join? I also doesn't hv any idea on bb bday celebration. So far I hv only booked a chalet.

enmummy > My bb doesn't wak up in the middle of the nite any more. Bt he usually slp quite late, between 10-11pm n wakes up between 6-7am. On certain nites, he will hv nitemares n cry waking up. Bt nt for fd lor. Err.. cn I ask a silly qn? Wats ABC huh? I hear alot of ppl mentioning, bt I still don't knw wat is it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

happy bb puffs... 2 weeks ago, when I gave the whole puff, he wasn't ready. but last week when I tried, he can manage already.

I tried giving the full puff again last week cos he finish so fast I can't keep up with his speed!

enmummy: ya.i tried using slow cooker last night.yes,the taste is better than using thermal cooker. i am using smallest slow cooker so do not hv button" high or low" i start cook at 1am till this morning 5:30am. bcos i intend cook the porridge and bring to nanny there and ask her feed my son at ard 12pm.

enmummy, im keen on your receipe for ABC+chicken stock.. May i ask if i can replace pasta stars for the spaghetti and how do i go about preparing the chicken stock? ABC refers to potato & carrot ya? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chris> i think ABC refers to containing Vit A,B,C & usually people use Carrot, Potato & something else cant remember is Meat/Tomato...but definitely contains Carrot & Potato..

Bam: thanks so much ... am contemplating to bring my boi there in Oct...

Hammiebao: where did u go the last round... no nursing room then hw to change diapers?

enmummy: my boy takes 2 meals per day also but he is still waking up for night feed but it all depends... so i just let him drink but night feed only abt 3oz.

enmummy> my girl too takes 2 meals per day. She sleep ard 9pm and wakes up ard 6am. After her milk @ 6am, she continue to sleep till ard 7am+

Whim: I think for me.. this trip is a chance to get out of house and get out of sg. For once, my phone will not ring if i'm not home by 10pm!!

I think i'm worst than a maid. My mum is not around to give me curfew.

Though its tiring to carry bb ard HKG, but it's less stessful. We take our time, we plan our trips.. we try not to roam too far from our hotel, so that we can get back if bb is very tired or we bought too much stuff and need to head back to put the stuffs first. We did not play any rides when we were at Ocean park. Mainly because of the LONG Q! But we enjoy the scenary loh..

bam > so whn bb tired, u wil brin her bk hotel to nap? I also tot of brin bb out for holi, bt my bb doesnt slp or eat whn out. Tis a big problem. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Chris, your bb don't like to sleep in stroller or carrier? I tght the 'motion/movement' makes bb easy to sleep... Mine will sleep, but not as long as normal naps.. maybe max 1hr+

bam > ur carrier is those tat bb wil sit up right one? I dont hv those type, only gt the cross type n hippy chick.

Shoppi > so far we hv only tried stroller. Doesnt wan2 sty in ther for long. Nvr try carrier cos i dont hv one. The cross type tat i hv seems uncomfortable to use n troublesome leh. Bt i tink my bb is vry playful so wil try to sty awake as long as possible.

bluesoda: your girl's schedule really good leh..*envy envy*...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] mine is a night owl (like me though, haha)...but she also wakes up later like 8 plus most of the time...btw is your girl still taking mamil gold? ntuc now got discount only $61.50 instead of $64.50...i plan to stock up a few tins...

ABC soup

haha mummies, my mum's version of adult ABC soup is potato+carrot+onion+celery+tomato+sweetcorn...but for my girl's pasta we only make hers with potato+carrot+celery+chicken....i never give her onion+tomato cos' the last time she had that her poo smells a bit "spicy"...haha...

jolyn: pasta stars are ok if you bb can chew and swallow...i only tried the spaghetti type (heinz) cos' its easier to break into smaller pieces if required...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] as for chicken stock we use a chicken drumstick for her...first you blanch the chicken...then bring to boil a pot of water...add in the chicken...then add small pieces of carrot+potato+celery and boil/simmer over fire like how you will cook soup...i like to use corningware to cook soup personally...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] then i cook the pasta separately...when the stock is ready...i take out a few pieces of carrot+potato and mash it...i also grate some chicken meat...then combine with the pasta and stock to serve....it is soupy based pasta....hehe...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Potato puree

i am thinking making potato puree but anything can mix with potato puree? as only potato puree seem like abit tasteless hor...not sure my son like it or not...

potato puree is ok store in freeze for 1week or 2 weeks like other fruit puree right?

Re: Potato puree

i am thinking making potato puree but anything can mix with potato puree? as only potato puree seem like abit tasteless hor...not sure my son like it or not...

potato puree is ok store in freeze for 1week or 2 weeks like other fruit puree right?

baby2010 > I tried potato n carrot puree. My boy wil tak it whn its fresh. Bt once frozen n thawed, he doesn't lik it. The texture of the puree is also different liao.

Baby2010

I freeze potato on its own. When giving it to my baby, I often mix other veggie. Have given potato+carrot, potato+sweet potato, potato+pumpkin, potato+peas.

I remember that food is safe to freeze up to 4 weeks, the food I put in the ice-cube tray also abt there or less.

Hey, I'm going penang soon with baby and SO. haven't been there in a super long time. Has anyone been there recently? Can recommend? Do you think I can get away with just a stroller or must bring stroller +bb carrier?

Diana,

i was browsing on the website for 1year old cake. Any idea how much on estimating does Bee's Cake is selling??

Hi Mommies!

Can I ask u all, Hw u teach ur bb to chew/bite with gums n then swallow?

My girl till now still gags n then will vomit out all her entire meal of porridge.

Partly was my fault, I gave her a melt n she just swallowed immediatey, she then choke n vomitted out all her dinner.

Hw u all teach bb to eat melts?

TWhim,

I was advised not to freeze potatoes. They say storing purred potatoes can cause a lot of gas in tummy.

Sheepysheep,

I also do the munching action for my kids to copy. Then when I'm feeding food that I want them to chew, i'll repeat the action. My girl is chewing now. She can chew the tiny pieces of hard boiled egg white.

I rember someone ask me about feeding eggs, I give her ne egg everyday now. Either in mashed hard boil form or I beat the egg then cook inside the porridge. I start with 1/4 egg yolk h en every 3 days increase by 1/4. About 10dys of eating full egg yolk, then I give bit of egg white. Slowly increase till now full egg. Was advised by both my TCM and GP to give egg due its very nutritious, high in protein.

Mummies, Im still breastfeeding and I noticed that there's a white spot on my left nipple. After pricking it with a needle, the aerola ( not sure if I got the spelling right) doesn't feel so pain. Milk can also come out from the affected area. But how come the white spot ( looks like milk that has dried up) is still at the affected area? The area felt better now just that I'm still worried / uneasy abt the white spot is still there.

Any mummies encounter milk duct clogged before? What did u do to get rid of it? I tried to massage breast, put hot towel and also to latch my boy and nothing helps unil I pricked it with a needle.

Thanks Mommies!

My girl just stared at me n clse mouth tight. I open mouth to do "ah" she also ignore me. Not imitating me at all. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

But I will still try!

Whim - stroller + bb carrier is recommended cos bb many patterns sometimes wan carry then when u tired, can try putting in stroller.

Baby2010, yes, I do put (cool boiled) water when mashing potato. My FIL v funny, he saw me mashing and said 'should add butter, then taste good!' KFC mashed potato anyone?

Jovialz, I didn't know that abt freezing potato. But so far ok.

Sheepysheeps, I trained my daughter to chew by progessively giving her hard stuff. Give her super soft food, slowly slowly give hard and harder texture. I dun blend the food as fine as when I first started giving her solids.

She could happily munch on apples etc before her teeth came out. As long as she is supervised when she is eating, I find it's ok. She has gagged before when she chewed too big a mouth, but she has learnt to cough it out (I taught her by pretend 'coughing' and putting my hand to her mouth to ask her to spit out).

Koori, I agree, my girl likes to display many patterns when sitting in e stroller, that's why am thinking whether to bring e carrier out also. But a lot of barang barang!

I saw few mummies using the Kate Spade polka dots iphone cover. You all buy from Sin or USA? Was wondering if it's worth it to get all the way fr there...

Strawberry : I think mine took about a week to fully recover and the blip disappear. So long no milk blocked, and not painful, should be ok. That time, I managed to manual squeeze out a long strand of solidified milk then it got better

Hi shoppiee,

Im using the kate spade polka dots cover. Bought from the motherhood forum under overseas spree..Not bad, but the casing abit heavy...

Btw, thanx for organising the JWT gym trial! Im sure we all had a good time! But hor, i prefer The Little Gym trial class...Hee

For mummies who went, what do u all think? Anyone signed up with JWT? =p

Happy_ocean, no prob [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yes, we all had fun. I'm one of the first few to leave after class cos my son was hungry n cranky already

U still rem how much u paid for the cover?

Shoppiee, ya, thanks for organising. My gal enjoyed herself.

Happy_ocean, I prefer JWT than little gym, cos it is not so tiring on us parents!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But most likely will not sign up cos the location is not convenient for us.

Hi Mummies.

I notice that my son this few days he like use his left hand to knock his head when i feeding him milk.. any mummy encounter this? any reason to caused him do this?

Re: rockmelon puree

Last night intend to making rock melon puree but end up become rock melon juice..so i steam a white pototoes and blend with rock melon juice..the texture just nice..but not sure rock melon can mix with potatoes or not..any mummies can advise?

I'm looking for many unopened tins of S26 Stage 2. Anyone giving away or selling with low price? Very tight budget. Please PM me with your price, collection and expiry. Thanks!

Shoppiee, tks for organising the JWT trial. We were also the first few to leave cos I was rushing to put my bb at mum' splace before going for my church cell meeting. Weekends are also very busy for us. My baby enjoyed the swing. It was nice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Actually I was very surprised they didn't sell us any package. I was expecting some hard sell.

flin: oh really? u know when the promo ends? Thanks for the info! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

JWt trial: I missed the class too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Jus called thm. I shld b going for the trial on 03 sep, sat 1 pm. Any mummies here will lik to join mi?