(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Hammiebao, we have all heard BM is how gd how gd for bb, so once u hav ur mind fix to tbf but later realised u cant satisfy bb cos bb keep crying so u end up stressed. Tats what happened to a fren, she almost had postnatal blues. Bb cry she cry. My reasons:

1. Not enuff BM - supply < demand

2. BM not filing- My BM is like water to my big bb, 100ml can only lasts her 1-1.5hrs, n she can't sleep cos she dun feel full. So I feed BM during day time, night time give FM so tat can lasts her longer.

Once u can accept FM as a way out, then u will feel better. First few days was a frustration to me too cos I keep thinking why some ppl can total BM but I can't. Later I think, since Bb is still accepting my BM n she cry less with FM, why so insistence on total BM. I aso accept some ppl can produce more milk than others n I hav tried my best to produce more. Furthermore, as working mum FM is def. More convenient for me. Diff stroke for diff folks, so see which suits u n bb better.

my lochia discharge stopped at 10 days, is that consider fast? All my blood clots already discharge out after I consume medication from EYS which my mum bought.

whitecookies, 100ml is alot! I can oni express 50ml each time frm both side and the gap is about 6-8hrs till the next express. No point I express 3hourly with no milk.. i feel like giving up feeding bm since it is so time consuming and demoralising with the small amount

i tbf. Direct latch durin day. Usually interval of 2-3hrs. My bb doesnt push me away even if full. He lik to latch himself to slp. I used to supplement w fm whn i wasnt sure if bb was gettin enough. Aftr latch, if bb cry within same hr, i giv fm of 30ml. Bt nw tat i knw i hv milk supply, i tbf w latch in day n ebm in nite. I will giv pacifier if he cry aftr latch. Cos nw he has develop bad habit of suckin to slp. 5 days old bb jus nd 60-70ml per fd of interval 3hrs.

Mummies... My friend told me there is something for e baby to drink to detox, ie. Something to rid e baby of e junk food tat we ate during pregnancy... Something called"golden grass" or something like that. Any idea what's tat? And where can I get it?

@Jun Lim, continue to pump and hopefully it will increase...i used to be able to pump more than 200ml for both breasts every 3 hrs...now no more...i suspect baby not drinking when latching also plays a part in decreasing our supply. Dun be disheartened...just give ur baby whatever you have and supplement with FM.

Mummies... According to my gynae before I was discharged, he reminded me not to jus drink red date water... He said to also drink plain water to prevent urinary tract infection so I hav been drinking plain water too though I control my intake, not too excessive.

Any idea when the growth spurt will stop? My boy was on 100ml every 2.5 hours to 3 hours for week 3. Now that he's moving into week 4, the intervals are getting shorter to 2 hours. He sometimes cries v loudly for milk (diapers clean) even within 1.5 hours. We try to stretch the interval by carrying him or feeding him some water but he still doesn't get satisfied. He doesn't puke after each feed so is it an iindication that he needs more? I'm concerned if we are overfeeding him yet this morn he finished 100ml fm at 9am. Finished 120ml bm at 11am. By 1230 he was crying so I latched him for abt 10 mins. Cl is now feeding him fm 100ml again. Cl said babies get hungry easily if they are on bm as compared to fm. How should I lengthen the feeding intervals man??

@cherrie, i think ur bb is normal...mine as well...she drinks 100ml per feed every 2-3 hrs...she is now 4 weeks old. Sometimes she wants more...there was once she drank 190ml in 2 hrs...100ml BM and 90ml FM...and didnt puke any out..i am also puzzled...maybe they are gg thru growth spurt.

Koori: I'm sending my girl to pat's at jubilee, next to west coast plaza. Holiday still can go to school for holiday programs. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] maybe while you are still on ml, we can bring the bbies to the park after our #1s go to school! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Strawberrys: yes, I get my allowance plus groceries allowance. Of course, it's still a drastic reduction from my last

drawn but manageable, still can afford pampering myself and not become auntified for staying at home! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ha ha ha... I always tell my hubby that for my standards I'm way underpaid! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cherrie: I think you are a great mum too! The fact that you went through 9 months, putting up with the physical changes, you already are one! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] none of us knows how to handle a kid instantaneously and naturally, we all learnt and went through glitches! Jia you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bam, since u went polyclinic for the hep B jab, they wil auto schedule next appt for u. But it's up to u if u want to bring bb to PD or not. If u want to bring to PD, then u just cancel the polyclinc appt and make PD appt for the same day (or thereabouts). but if you choose to let bb see polyclinic doc, then no need to go PD already for developmental assessment. on the other hand, if u had gone to PD for the hep B jab, the nurse there will also auto schedule u for the next appt for jab and developmental assessment. Same lah... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies who pump after bb latches on...how much more are you able to pump after that? Just a thot, coz we have fore milk and hind milk right? So if we pump after bb latches on, does this mean we'll be pumping the hind milk that is not "emptied"? So that bottle of ebm will be hind milk only? haha. sorry, just a thot that came to me when reading and pumping at the same time...

Sophia: the cup used for cup feeding is those that promoters give out drinks in supermarket. The ones that nurses use to contain painkiller in the hospital.

Jo: ok... those lil' plastic cups i got a lot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] collected them when I was admit to hosp 2x before delivery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hehehehe...

Jo- I reali peifu u.. Can take care of 2 kids..can chit chat here, still gt time to upkeep urself to make sure u r not auntified.. I wonder do u have enff time 4 rest .. If its me with 2 kids n no help, I tink I will go bald b4 I turn 30..and I tink I will stop at 1..

Jo, hubby can't find the cup from carrefour so we haven't try cup feeding..

Jewel, thanks.. I will try tbc longer since now only day 5.. Thanks for ur explanation

Chris, 60-70ml! Ok.. I always tot 30ml can last him 3 hours haha.. Now my bb cry for milk about 1 hour 45 mins.. But he only willing to latch about 20-30 mins in total..

hammi>i tink it also dpd on which stage of bm bb is given. At my stage, bm is watery so digest vry fast. Tis amt is same as if u giv fm. Bt of cos bm digest faster hence bb gt hungry faster than compare to fm bah. Lactationist tld me if i pump 30ml in 15mins, it means bb cn gt 60ml if latch on for the same timing. So i tink dont worry too much bah.

My gal jaundice was 259 yesterday. PD advised us to admit to hospital but Kk hospital didn accept the admission.. Need to exceed 300 then can admit. I tot 255 is the maximum limit. Yesterday was trying out all the methods, bathe with beer, drink traditional med, sun bathing, egg massage, giv plain water, even giv bb to drink fm (at first insist no fm). Today went to check at polyclinic again, thanks god it dropped to 234. I'm wondering will bb refuse to take milk from breasts aft 3 days. I'll be super sad if she refuse to latch on again as I really enjoy the Bf moment with her.

Anyone using Babyplus? Can share is there any significant results?? My bb only cry when hungry, is this one of the outcomes?

Nana,

you are not alone. my girl jaundice had been 256 and then drop slowly. now she is almost 6 weeks n still have 131. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] as i am seeing doc at polyclinic, they said if it is exceed 279, they will ask to admit hospital. although i told them i am totally latching on her, they didn't say anything. they just said now jaundice is going down. hope u still can latch her too.

Hammiebao: i allowed bb to be supplemented FM bcoz he is always hungry. I am only producing 30ml every 1hr of pumping session, but direct latchin is of course will produce more.

Main reason y is I wasnt healing well n super lack of sleep. I pity my hubby who is lack of sleep too eventhough he say he

is ok.

My stitches is bit loose when i was so gung ho moving ard trying to latch my crying tiger in several position day n nite. After the 4th day i couldnt even sit properly on float n going up n down the bed was based on my arm strenght.

I was more rested when i decide on daytime latch n pumpin by nite. My wound got better. 2days ago i pump my milk standing up for an hr twice at nite. So darn sleep still hav to stand. Kaoz. Ystd i can sit down n pump for an hr twice at nite.

My wound hurts more mayb coz im forceps so episotomy was longer. Moreover my wound was swollen for few days. Only tdy it got better. Nanny say my skin no good thats y recovery slow.

If u can TBF do la. Its better. I had wanted that.

Hammiebao: ur CL wants to help is it? My CL help me to latch bb while i fed him sleep sideway for the past days. I feed bb 30min on each breast, so after 30min she'll come n change bb direction for me while i myself switch as well.

When bb admitted to hospital for 2days, she was awake in the middle of the nite with me teaching me how to use the medela swing, massage my breast for lumps, hand express for me n holding the pumps for me (I couldnt sit well on the float n one of my hand was holding the back of the chair for my dear life).

Clover: i went to see him when i send bb check in for jaundice. He gav me antiseptic n cream to put le. Tdy am feeling better le. Can sit down on soft chair. Hehe

Btw my bb uses the calendula cream all over his body. I wan to buy again!

Nana: I'm a user of babyplus. Was highly recommended by my friend whose bb is extremely calm. Doesn't seem to have any effect on my bb. He's extremely impatient and cranky. Maybe I didn't use babyplus at regular hours? Luckily the set was loaned to me.

OranGebb: your Cl is so nice! I can't imagine standing up to pump in the middle of the night. Really admire you for your perseverance. You pump every other hour?

Angel kkk, yea doc said bb taking bm wil hav longer time to get rid of jaundice. I think bb alr started to refuse my breasts Liao. Keep on moving non stop and unlatch :'(

Cherrie, ic... Haha, yea, I also don see any difference using the bbplus. Some feedback bb wil be v alert but mine prefers to sleep most of the time.

Sophia: reply to your feeding thingy in awhile. Putting small one to sleep, and consolidating thoughts. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chloe: this is the time when I ve some time to chit chat! I chat I also learn a lot from you guys so this is one of the ways I upkeep myself! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yes thanks, I get to nap with them in pm and go to bed at 10, so far so good! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hammie: the cups are available at those disposable plastic container shops like SKP. Near your place that beach road place next to the st John headquarters ve it. Those party shops on level 3 if I'm not wrong. When are you seeing pd at mt a? The parentcraft centre should have also. Otherwise, TMC has them.

Oh ya, your sore nipples, can be healed with tea leaves too. Use tea bags soak in cool water then apply on sore nipples. I like to use cold water, very nice feeling.

Hammie,

try using lanolin cream for ur sore nipples..LC taught me to apply some BM first, let it dry, then apply a layer of lanolin and let it dry (walk around with ur breasts exposed for a while). this method worked really well for me. happy to report tt my bleeding nip is 90% healed and my BF journey is now continuing well..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but i think the major help is tt now i'm latching on correctly, so there's not more further "trauma" to the nip

orangebb,

ur CL sounds really good! one of the very few that's good n supporting BF so far i've heard within the forum

Sophia,

to figure out ur bb's personality u may want to try checking out the baby whisperer forums..i figured out my #1 was spirited (cries the loudest in the whole nursery, and also eyes always big big,cannot tell he's sleepy but then actually he's overtired!) and now #2 is prob textbook. i only keep bb who's less than 2 wks old up for a total of 45-60 mins (including feeding time) then i'll settle her down for sleep. already giving her pacifier (since day 7 ot 8) as night time sleep cue, which is working out well.

my schedule so far is:

7.30 to 8.00am:BF, burping/diaper change (usually she's still sleepy)

8.45am:nap

10am:Bath

10.30:BF

11:nap(reversed E and A cuz my massage lady comes at 11)

1pm:BF

1.30:A time, burping/diaper change

2pm: Nap

4pm: BF

4.30:activity (

5:nap

7pm:BF

7.30: wipe down body (sometimes if she's too sleepy, i'll swap the E and A times, so A comes first)

8: wind down with cuddles, paci, then sleep

nite time i feed on demand, typically she wakes for feed at 10, then 1, and 4/5am

u can also find some sample EASYs here.

http://www.babywhispererforums.com/index.php?topic=164027.0

Nana, thanks for the clarification.

Lilyn, thanks for the explanation. I'll try to read up the samples & apply it. Problem on my end is in-laws are working and expect to play with bb when they're bk frm work which is like past 9pm. Few times, I was trying to put bb to sleep, they told hubby I always kept bb inside room & forbid them to hold/play with their grandson. DUHHHHhh...

Sophia: hey, don't say that about yourself, you are a great mum, some babies just fall into more than one catergory, and those are just guidelines, whichever catergory he is, you still ve to feed. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ok, not sure if this will work but no harm trying cos it works for me.

Sleep time: may I suggest you change your 2-3 hours of awake time to to the 4-6 time of the day? An infant like ours

need about 18-20 hours of sleep including naps, and as they grow, they will automatically drop their naps. So keeping him awake around the 4-6 time frame will send him to bed by 8 or even earlier. You can adopt this first and see if it will change his night sleeping time. Some babies are considerate, day time wake up within shorter time frame and night time can stretch longer. If going to bed at that time means daddy has no bonding time with him then push back your stay awake time by another hour.

Feeding: actually, your boy quite clever leh, he knows that it's better to empty one breast than to suckle half the quality of 2 breasts. After feeding, is your breast soft? If yes, then he is definitely feeding on the hind milk. You can try burping him but don't rush him for the next breast, he is probably a rester kind of feeder; he wants a rest in between feeds. If he is one then you need patience for this type. Burping works for me or even putting him down but not letting him sleep comfortably. Once he feels the discomforts, put him back to nurse the 2nd breast. You have to alternate your breast for feeds.

Sophia: oh ya, the strictly 3/4 hourly feeds applies better on fm babies so don't fret. It's not unusual for breastfed babies to get hungry earlier. As time goes when milk is more substantial, babies are more filled up, all these frequent feedings will be reduced. Hope the info are helpful reference for you. Hopefully they can be of help in your midst of fine-tuning your problems.

Jo, thanks for de advise.

Instead of keeping bb awake for a whole stretch of few hours, I break it up into hourly awake time. Is that rite? So it sort of like eat, awake/play, sleep, eat, awake/play, sleep??

OR RATHER IT'S

eat, sleep, eat, sleep then kept him awake frm 4pm-7pm then whine him down to be asleep by 8pm??

Today bb was awake frm 1pm to 7pm, refuse to sleep thru but cat naps for 15-30mins. Feeding went hay wire, demand feed every 1-1/2 hrs & latch on for abt 15min or so only.

MIL just got bk & 'demand' to see her grandson. When I told her he's sleeping, she can reply "so early ar?" OMG!!! It's 10.30pm!!! Early?!?!?

My bb just fall asleep and only till now got time to pump milk! 1st day Cl left already so tired duno how to survive the nite feed later sure zombie

Sophia: ya, like the tamagouchi toy, eat, play sleep.... But when it comes to the 4-7 time frame, nap will be short and awake time longer. The rest of the day, longer naps, they need them otherwise affect sleep at night. They will be cranky and unsettled also. Try it, I'm sure you'll get it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] no right or wrong answer ultimately it's a schedule thar fits you best!

Ha ha ha... Tell your ILs that if they want a smart and healthy grandson, come back earlier. Babies can't be so stimulated before bed time.

Oct/Nov/Dec 2010 Birth List

Congrats to all mummies who have popped in November including myself [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks for those who have updated the birth details via the form eg. Lilyn22, Hammiebao, JanO & Yup45! Gong Xi Gong Xi!

I've also tried my best to capture the birth details of BB of Nana, OrangeBB, Chris & Jollymummy. Congrats again! Let me know if there's any addition [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

To those awaiting, ganbatte!

To Add/Update Birth List via Online Form

https://spreadsheets.google.com/viewform?formkey=dEVDaVA5SjVpdEZ4SHRfMDZRaS11bnc6MQ#gid=0

To View Birth List

https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=0AmrK_xaPhWk5dEVDaVA5SjVpdEZ4SHRfMDZRaS11bnc&hl=en_GB&output=html

Nana, I used BB plus, my boy open his eyes when we were still in the delivery suite.. he only cries when he's hungry..

Diaper change,(just sharing some funny incidents)

alot of funny incidents.. yesterday while changing his diaper.. another round of poo flow out of his butt like fountain.. then today when we were changing diapers.. he urine so another fountain.. then tonight.. when I was changing him after he poo.. another round shot out from his butt.. the poo was on the bed, bed frame, my top, my socks and the floor.. I told my hubby that "I'm full of shit" i guess all these make me love n hate him in a way.. haha..

BF,

I'm feeling more confident now, Thanks Jo for teaching me.. Now bb can latch well on my left, I don't feel pain even without adjusting bb's mouth, but my right still hurts when I BF..

I notice that after meal, my BM gets thicker.. at night, the BM seems more watery..

Lilyn, U reading the book Baby Whisperer? which title? cos I found that they have alot of titles right? I also want to set a schedule for my bb.. but not now, now I'm still learning how to feed him!

Anyway, really wanna thank you all ladies being so helpful here.. I learn alot from here! and I'm glad to make friends here too.. I will TRY MY BEST to organize mini gathering after confinement.. haha

CL,

My new CL will be coming tomorrow around 1pm, sometime I see my current CL like very poor thing that she don't know that she's going home tomorrow, but if she don't leave, I will be the poor thing.. haha.. sometimes feel bad for her, she wants to carry baby but I'm sort of shut her out from baby, only let her bath bb.. I can see that she wanna hold bb.. she always volunteer to burp bb but I always reject..

Confinement,

After hearing the CL stories from hubby, MIL asked me to have confinement at hubby's place(now we are at my own parents house), hubby wanted me to as he think that it can help to make the r/s better (me n MIL got no topic to talk about normally), and he also find that at least there's someone to overlook bb n my wellbeing, cos I'm alone with CL at my own place in the day while hubby works, he gets worry about me n bb.. my family actually agrees and they wanted me to go over too.. so I will be moving next week!

Re:Emo

Today I'm much much better, yesterday I cried whole night feeling very negative and down.. today my MIL visited me and hubby took leave to accompany me..

Shan,

I got bb's name from Long Shi Fu already, hubby find him quite professional and he likes his service! thanks!

Jo, I asked my bro to get me the cup from NUH(he works there) so I told him its those cup used to contain medicines, anyway guess I will stop pumping for the moment since bb gets hungry so frequently.. I think I've no time to pump also..

OrangeBB, thanks for the contact, hope ur stitches recover asap..

Having a baby is really NOT EASY!! but for the joy that I get is ALL WORTH IT! hahaha

Jollymummy: Thanks! Caught up with your birth story! *Salute* Great that all's well now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummywong10: Thanks! Was having bad contractions before birth that I could not even walk or talk.. then once BB came, there're so many endless things to learn! Thank God for hubby and my mum! Glad to be able to check back here now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jo

Really peifu your courage to sahm. I just talked to my boss today abt taking npl or working part time. Still quite unsure abt my ability to stay home and look after baby and also adjust to the lost of income. But on the other hand, I don't want to miss my boy's milestones. Haiz...

Mummies who feed ebm

How long does it takes for the nipples to stop hurting? After 1 month of pumping, my nipples still very sore leh. Even shower also pain... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] is there anything special to do to reduce the pain? Tia!

sorry to disturb..

i have a Lamaze - space symphony motion gym

condition : 9.5/10

to let go at $35

keen pls sms me at 90283209 Thanks

ML, I just do what the mummies suggested here.. I put BM after feed, and the Lansinoh Cream before feeding, today someone mentioned Lasinoh cream after BM after feed, I just try it for my previous feed.. I also trying to heal my sore nip..

Just now hubby and I was brainstorming bb's name while I BF.. and it really hurts!! so I joke with hubby that bb should name "Killer" and BB bites me harder!! My goodness.. hahaha.. then hubby keep laughing at me..

Tenderhearted: you are back! Was wondering if you disappear to pop! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hammie: pleasure, anytime! I learnt lots also by sharing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] good to hear you are feeding well and coping well too! You probably are not used to RHS feeding yet. Rectify the position and continue to ensure proper latching, you will get there! Sore nipples are caused by improper positioning and latching.

The least you should worry now is your CL, maybe she is better for other mummies.

Great! Ya, your bro should be able to get. Pumping is not a

must now, take it easy, one step at a time.

ML: it wasn't an easy decision for me also, but after seeing how my kids blossom, I really think it's worthwhile! I'm sure you can do it too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sore nipples: use tea bags or tea leaves,.

Hammiebao

I do that do but still painful leh. Wonder if I am doing anything wrongly.

Btw any of your darlings have blocked nose. My boy have a lot of mucus in his nose. The Pd says he might be allergic to cow's milk. Have already changed to ha formula and I have stopped taking dairy and eggs as per Pd advise but he doesn't seem to get better. Wonder Wat I can do. He like very xinku when he sleeps ESP at night. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jo

I hope so too. Cross my fingers. There is little justification for me to be sahm as both my mum and mil are able to help care for my boy and my pay is not low either. Also don't feel secure depending on a single income. But as I had a diff preg and had a hard time getting preg ( failed 2 Ivf), I wanted to spend more time with my boy. Guess I am just bring greedy. Really hope I am up for it. But time really flies and they grow up so fast. Can't believe my boy is 1 month old Liao. Sometimes look at him or his pic, I will tear up. Hehehe