(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

hammiebao:

my boy use to have very sensitive skin when he was a newborn.. i use GAIA organic baby lotion. for the body i use the massage oil. i find the texture not too oily. but of course it will be oilier den johnson n johnson baby lotion cause its oil base.

you might wanna drop by guardian see see? i first tried out with their trail pack which is S$25 with i think 5small bottle.

1 x shampoo. i use till bb 6months den buy big bottle. use i drop will have alot foam liao.

1x body wash

1x massage oil

1x smoothing cream (this one i apply on his face. got stated for sensitive skin)

1x forget the name liao. but i think can use for nappy rash.

any one suffering from sore butt ? dunno izzt i sit too long or my weight has exceed the amount of butt fat... i will feel sore/aching when i stand up after sitting for a while

Calendula cream can get from some BP sellers in this forum, think its cheaper than buying from overseas website.

Dolliepollie,

I'm interested to get that too. I want 4pcs. Think lots of mummies want it too! Added u in facebook!

Hammiebao,

my boy uses jj pink btl lotion.It's not too early to get scissors too cos it's plastic n it doesn't rust. Can keep else later when u want it can't find besides the price is cheaper than bp

i use calendula cream n gaia shower gel on my boy as well. These brands have less chemicals or preservatives which are less harsh on baby's delicate skin, as compare to certain commercial brands.

Hi Dolliepollie, i'm interested in the scissors.

Hammiebao, the scissors is useful aft the bb turns 1yo n start on solid food.

Koori_Kaylen > Ya i just saw that too. Intend to get the Calendula cream and Desitin cream from BP.

Was so tied up at work today. Now im briefing my collegue who will be covering me during my maternity leave. Dunno why, i suddenly feel so sad that i will be on ML soon...think im too attached to my job and also gonna miss my collegues during this period...

Dimple: Salt is a sanitiser. Saline lotion is salt water too. Safe for babies and adults. Salt water can clear nose block in infants and babies.

Re: washing hair

yup 1 mth no hair wash n shower. And it's my own free will, no one forced me. Mil did advise against washing n I told my hb I don't think I can. We don't stay w IL so no pressure. I combed my hair everyday n clip it up all the time except when sleeping. I sweat after eating herbal soup n will go to my aircon room 27degrees to cool off. I wiped my Upper body with the herbs once a day after lunch but I washed my lower half as I was having discharge. My hair really didn't bother me n I didn't feel like it was oily or itchy. I asked hb sleeping beside me if I smelled n he said no. Hee. So far he didn't pass out while sleeping next to me ha! I don't plan to wash hair for 1 mth too this round. I feel my body stronger after confinement n I don't fall sick so often. My Mil she's 85 n she's v v strong. She had 3 mths of confinement,meaning no hair wash for 3 mths! What's more no aircon n fan. Kudos to her.

Whim: Buy the avent bottle brush, it's a 2-in-1. Those sponge types will get mouldy easily and need to be changed regularly. Avent's is a brush and it's rubber tip is good for washing milk curds off the teats. Usually only formula milk will have such problem but if you stir properly till milk powder dissolves, it shouldn't be a problem.

Chris: Besides dry skin, Lotion can be used to massage baby as well. A little goes a long way so don't apply too much. Good to apply also if baby is sleeping in air-con room.

washing hair

i hv oily scalp n hair will fall if the scalp gets too oily. i went thru a bad patch (no pun intended) when my no.1 is ard 1yo. can see bald spots on my scalp n i still have one hidden bald spot. i better wash my hair well...

confinement

i find my health also better after confinement. i'm the big size 林黛玉 lor.

Hi gals, I am new here and also a Nov MTB. Have been following the thread for quite some time though. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PTB >> I hv tat butt ache since a few wks bk. I think it is normal. Btw, I hv got HUGE butt. There was once, during my pregnancy, my hubby happen to open the toilet door while I was sitting on the toilet bowl n he probably got a shock n jus commented, "Wah, ur butt vry big leh. Cover the whole toilet bowl!" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Washing hair:

Mayb I will also try nt to wash hair during confinement. Meximum I hv try nt washing my hair was abt 2 wks, whn I had chicken pox. I wan2 b strong whn I m 85 too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

calendula cream

i ordered 2 extra from drugstore.com recently. anyone interested? will just split the charge according to cc bill n shipping charge.

Clover: I also have oily scalp and cannot imagine not washing hair for a day. Especially those long flights and cannot wash hair......2 years ago when I went to Israel, it was such a long long flight with transits somemore...so I remember at Bangkok airport, I went to wash my hair in the airport toilet sink and then towel dry it.....So shiok!

But the good thing to it is my hair is very soft and fine....looks like rebonded and I don't use conditioner, so that's the up side to it...I think I will need to wash it everyday during confinement but will continue to use mild shampoo and blow dry immediately lah.

Dollie: I'm interested in the scissors too, 3 pcs for me pls! Thanks.

Hammie: Not early to get scissors, I already have one german brand kind but I still want this. Looks interesting! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] As for lotion, use lotion given our weather here, cream is too oily. Also, I think it's good to apply whole body only at bedtime. As for day time, maybe at the joints of hands and legs so it won't be too overwhelming for babies. Must also remember to let babies' skin breathe and not lose it's own natural moisture. As for application, use gentle top to bottom strokes, no strength required. Hope this helps. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ueno: This time I'm going to try not washing my hair. Ha ha ha... I still can't visualise myself doing it! :p During my #1, I only tried for 2 days, I gave up! I felt very good and de-stressed washing my hair that's why! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I had long hair then, and at 3rd month, I dropped quite a lot so I cut it short!

Jewel: Just saw gynae today. Phew! No need to take glucose test! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Me good, baby good! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But it's confirmed placenta low and position not likely to change. C-sect for me confimed liao.

ladies, thanks for all the advice on the bottle cleaners. Whew! For a while I was super confused...

Cherry, the amt/variety of bottle cleaners are just like the baby wipes the last time. Confusion being the name of the game.

Bb scissors, I think I'll ask my SIL if she's interested... I think for me, FTMTB, bb won't be eating solids for a while, so no need to get.

dolliepollie, is ur fb initial JG? Do u have a blogshop or a website we can go outside fb?

ueno: u really good! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jo: congrats that everything fine with both u n bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so when u plan for ur c-sect? oct20= 2010 2010..nice numbers [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] alot of ppl also getting married on tat day.

Hi mummywong..

Ya ya..me too..it's been quite a while for me too.. Sore and numb feeling at the butt area..need to stand up sometimes..I think it's the tummy weight that is pressing down that's y the butt bone hurts..

Bam: Yup, yesterday i'm at SCGS. Din see u leh..

Dolliepollie: I'm interested to get 1 pair too, tks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Irene: Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Phew! At least I can eat what I want! :p No, don't think so, that is too early! I'll be only 36 weeks? I think it's probably gonna be done at 38wks so Nov 1- 01-11-10? That's not too bad and easy to remember too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jo: congrats! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]... dieting is v no joke... my body is craving for carbo after 3 days of low carb meals. Feeling hungry v fast... & bb keep kick is v vigorous like shouting out " gime fooddd!!!!". :p

Did u have low placenta & need c-sect b4?... My gynae said I have low placenta but its not covering the cervix so dun need c-sect. urs covering fully or partially?

Ueno: *thumbs up**... dun think I can even last 3 days without bathing. But I can survive without aircon.

hey i was thinking.

maybe we can organize a gathering.

maybe a buffet gathering??

den when the scissors is here i just pass to u all?

whim:

sorrie i do not have a blogshop. only facebook.

want to ask those who r visiting gynae at 31 wks, r u all paying deposit for hosp? Nurse told me next visist at 31 wks got to pay.

Btw, ask gynae abt whether cord ard neck, she said even if detect, cant do anythin to take bb out now & usually not harmful now. But if 36 or 37wks onward detect tat, then to take bb out. So told mme not to think abt tat. Just monitor bb active & movement.

Bb today kept moving a lot & tummy feel so tight!

Washin hair & bathin:

I did tat everyday durin confinement as mum bought herbal for me to bathe with hot hot herbal bath. Shiok but aft bathin, realised I perpsired even more. Haha think is to get rid water retention in our body.

Jewel: Thanks. Ya, I can imagine how hard that will be! Don't be too hard on yourself, too extreme also won't help. eat in small portions, still can eat brown rice, cereals, wholemeal bread... Yes, #1 was c-sect too, at 38 wks. Then, the placenta wasn't exactly low but it was preventing the baby's head from engaging. No change even at 36 wks so doc prepared me for c-sect. This time he said placenta is low but not low to the extent of will cause bleeding- maybe that explains why I didn't have bleeding despite the low placenta. I learnt from ante-natal class that there are a few types and levels of low placenta, can't remember exactly though! :p

Naf: I paid $400 when I crossed my 12wks-during the time I started the package with my gynae.

Washing Hair & Bathing: Ha ha ha... I am one of those too- washed and showered everyday, sometimes even showered 2-3xs a day! My body was really heated up and I couldn't take it! Phew! So far so good. This time I thought I'll try and see if i can tahan- which I doubt so! :p

PTB7476,

My butt feel sore since I preg(started like in 2nd mth of pregnancy).. its like muscle pain, I asked my gynae then he said I walked too much, should rest more.. but I don't rem I walked much leh.. cos I was jobless and doing nothing everyday... now is better, only sometimes I will feel the pain, pilate instructor asked me to do some stretching..

Ashley,

I think Jo will be doing confinement without in laws and CL but her hubby will be with her for the whole month

Dolliepollie,

thanks for the info on GAIA, shall go check out the price

Whim,

I went thru the baby shopping list u posted and its actually very genaral leh... try to get one from Taka or Babykingdom.. the items they listed inside I think about 3x of the list u have!!

Washing Hair & Bath,

I think i can tahan dont wash hair, just tie everything up.. haha..but bathing cannot tahan..

where to get the herbal for bathing??

my mum told me use tea leafs to wash the wound after natural birth will help to heal faster..

novembaby, so u are Selena?

My SO just told me a 'joke'. He said during my confinement, he'll have time to play PS (playstation) "coz the bb wakes up and wants to feed every 2 hrs, so if it takes 1 hr to eat, there's still time to play." (his words not mine).

I think he's serious that during my confinement (and when he's taking leave), he can treat it like he's on normal leave.

What can I tell him to convince him otherwise??

Naf: R u refering to the warding's deposit? If yes, the Nurse told me deposit is to be paid upon admission leh... mine is something like $1800. Your 1st 2 kids not with delivered at the same hospital?

Jo: small portions made me keep eating the whole day.. like a glutton, haha. tough, but I'll survive the 3 mths.

ic, ...low placenta doesnt mean need c-section unless its blocking the bb's exit like in ur case. owell, if bb comes out healthy, how it comes out doesnt really matter ya ;)

Just some updates from me. This week is my 29th week. I just seen gynae this evening. As usual, bb likes to face down when seeing her on the ultrasound. Gynae measures her weight is about 1.6kg, consider just right. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My placenta still at low position, blocking the cervix exit. Likely have to go for C-sect.

Enmummy,

JanO,

I went out a few times, once for gynae checkup , once for baby's jaundice., once for a quick shopping for baby stuff at mothercare near my place. I put on a cap when I went out cos bad hair mth. Hee.

Dollie,

I'm on for the buffet. Yr bp ends 30aug , when will the stock arrive? We can plan something then..

Buffet gathering,

Maybe we can check out any Credit card promotion that gives 1 for 1, I know last time Marina Mandarin got 1-for-1 buffet lunch with UOB credit card but only on weekdays.. but don't know if it still have the promotion

ahko80:

my #1 dr oso placenta low. den i bed rest as much as i can. if can oso put ur leg high up rest against the wall.. this is wad i did..

ueno:

it will arrive within 2weeks from 30th Aug. which means latest 13th Sep. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I will oso be doing my confinement myself with my hubby. but my mum will help abit here and there cause she will need to work. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

oh. by any chance..

anyone need waterproof mat for their baby bed?

i try find pic.. i use for #1 cause his pampers always leak. so am getting for #2 too.

hammiebao, the Taka/bb kingdom list is 3X as long as the KK one? And I only have 6.5 items???

That means I super fail..... I think my SO has the bb kingdom list somewhere, will ask him for it.

buffet

Originally for the Tung Lok lunch (our recent gathering), I called a few places.

DBS credit cards also has 1-for-1 offer. The one I called was for Triple Three @ Mandarin, normal weekday buffet (Mon-Thurs is abt $60-odd++ per person, but aft the credit card promo, it'll be abt $30-odd++ per person). Basically abt 50% off.

Hi mummies with low placenta like me,

I just discharge from hospital. Last week having some nightmare. Almost freak me up I was having contraction at week 27 and for almost 3 hr the contraction is at interval of 5 min. They push me to delivery suite to stand by. I was scared to death as bb is only 27 week. Not only hospital bill is very ex but survival rate for bb is low according to my gynae. Luckily bb guai guai listen to mummy not to come to see the world now. As it not the right time yet.

I was having low placenta pervia n my gynae suspect that I walk too much due to

My job. Was on mc for 1 mth for bed rest. Mummy out there pls take care for those who have low placenta.

fashionspree, ok! will take note.. will cut down on walkin as much as possible. thanks for highlighting. u take care k!

whitecookies, me experience ribcage pain but only on the right side. think bb dun like right side ba.

naf, goodjob on finishin those drinks. as for iron pills, no choice la.. jus continue takin. how much was the bloodcount den? for constipation, try yogurt. dun forget to take lotsa of calcium products while takin iron pills.

Whim: I uses babykingdom list as well, but u dun need all of them. Maybe 70%.

Clover: I haven't bought any baby lotion. Can sell me one? I would like to try.

Dollie: my fren n I am interested in the scissors too. Get me 4. Thanks.

Whim,

the list from taka n baby kingdom is quite detailed i would say, u wont need everything like OrangeBB said but it can use as a guide..

Guess soon i have to go thru the baby shopping list with hubby again to check what we havent buy.. Time really flies!! Some of mummies here are going to their 30th week already!

Sometime am excited to see baby soon, but sometime do feel worried dont know how life be after giving birth..

Good job mummies!! And lets enjoy the last few months of pregnancy together!!

Chris/Whim: The water-proof sheet I ssuggest you put it from baby's waist down if you intend to line it on the cot mattress, otherwise it'll be too hot for the baby. Alternatively, use it only after bath for dressing up or changing purposes. So far, no leaks for me with #1 as far as I can remember.

Ashley: Yes, I am doing my confinement without CL, M or MIL. You have doubts?

Dollie: Noted about the arrival of scissors date, will transact the cash to you soon. Thanks for ordering.

Mrs Lee: I think the ribcage pain is due to the expansion of the uterus and it's position. During T2 or end T2, our uterus will be higher and likely will press on our ribcage. Then it'll move down to prepare for birth by T3. I experienced it in T2 and by now I think my uterus position has shifted a little lower so no pain. When you experience this, just stand tall, straighten your back and stretch for a few seconds, it should feel better.

Buffet? Sure! I'm craving for oysters now- naughty naughty I know! :p

Fashionspree: Very scary, please take care!

Jewel: ya, my last c-sect was a breeze too, so don't mind lah, as long as baby is healthy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Enmummy: Welcome! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Which day in Nov is your EDD?

Hammie: Yes, tea leaves can help wound to heal faster. Very soothing too.