(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

GD=Gestational diabetes

vallous and chris: thanks for the advise on cupboard, i wil get drawer instead then. those cheap cheap one..

Jen (cookiemonster2010): if you have family history of diabetes, it's better for you to do the OGTT (Glucose test). discuss this with your doc to see whether it is neccessary to do the test. need to take blood to measure the sugar level in blood, i think urine test can't determine whether diabetic or not.

Whitecookies >> I cn still bear w the pain. Wld rather bear w it thn tak injection...vry scary leh. Is it ok to jus bear w the pain? Is it something serious? BB in danger?

Bluesoda >> Will u keep mi updated on wat ur gynae says?

Cin bunny, we have a fb page??? Dun think we have, just some moms add some moms on fb. No official pg.

Or have I missed out something on fb?

@ Chris, yupyup you can opt to not take the injection. It is not going to harm the bb...just that you will feel painful and uncomfortable until you give birth.

nana: Thanks for the info. will check with gynae on this sat visit.

Mummywong: Thanks for the suggestion on clothing.

MIL: I think MIL's discussion can go on for days and days... that's a very common topic for all...haha. Cos the upbringing of us and the family is different so it is always difficult to agree with each other.

Jen: I dun have family history of diabetes, hubby side also dun have. My monthly urine test also pass & scan results show my bb is not v big... but in the end I still got it. It's not a MUST do test, but my gynae still put me thru the Gluocose Tolerance Test. Think it might have developed as I go into 3rd trim.. nevertheless lucky found out early else it may affect bb & delivery.

Nana: If urine test can detect the high sugar means it's very serious liao, need insulin injection. The litmus is not as sensitive test as the OGTT.

Jewel: oh u need to see the dietician? i also detected with mild diabetic but gynae never tell me go see dietician just to control my diet on sweet stuffs and rice intake.

i dun really have the diabetic symptoms u have listed...only sometimes get real thirsty after meals.

can kindly let me know wat the dietician advise after ur appt with him/her? tks in adv [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vallous: i had went for 4d scan abt 1 mth ago at NUH @26wks. i had went in n out 4 times due bb position not good..lying too close to cord/placenta thus blocking partial of her face..

after the 4th try, i just give in to whatever best shots they have and downloaded to dvd+ prin out 2 photos...i can choose to come back at another date but then no confirmation tat bb will be in good position lah...also better to scan during weekday at morning as lesser crowds so maybe can try a few times like my case - 4 times..

its pretty cute to see bb at 4d view, can see her opening mouth, sticking tongue out too...all the mouth expression...also can see her half opening her eyes..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hands moving around her face...

Wat to buy in preparation for e arrival of a newborn bb

according to e list of items to buy (from my antenatal class notes), I have bought precisely 7 items to date (somemore not sufficient amt).

1) bb wipes (1 box of 50 pcs)

2) disposal newborn diapers (24 pcs)

3) anti-slip rubber mat

4) blanket ( supposed to buy 2-4 pcs, but I only have 1)

5) feeding bottles (supposed to buy 6, I only have 4)

6) teats (supposed to buy 6, I only have  2)

7) plastic tongs for dishing sterilized bottles/teats

Which means I have 26 items to buy before I pop.... I think I shd change name from 'the PregnantOne' to 'JIT MTB'.

ho ho ho *wry laugh* 

Yes Irene, prob hospital gynae more kiasu. The dietician is in same hospital so easier for them to refer to, compare to gynae in private clinic. Do you know ur readings? Anything >~7.8mmol/l is considered diabetic.

I have all the symptons...fatigue, thirsty & frequent urinating. Np, I can share my diet recipe with you, you can save some $$ too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jewel: oh not yet see my ogtt test report, but shld see it on this coming thurs appt with gynae.

tks alot jewel! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Long time since I last post in this thread. For those who are having not the 1st child, what will your sleeping arrangement be like when the baby is born?

Currently, my ds sleeps with us on our bed. If we put the baby cot in our room, scared I will get an "orchestra" when the baby cries.

mil

jen, i agree totally with u. I complain abt her whenever i'm tired or stressed, which is bad in all ways.

Diana, we hv to close one eye...

hi aphrodite, i'll be transiting my no.1 to his own bed in another room this week. Plan is no.2 will sleep with us in a cot until i wean him off his night feeds.

Whim: I'm quite kiasu. I adhere to 70% of the baby kingdom baby to buy list. Haha. Coz not sure whether convenient to go out after bb delivered. Wan to choose myself rather than hubby anyhow buy

Do we need so many blanket? Thought baby w cloths on be wrapped in receiving blanket will be enough

My bb weigh 924g now at 27 weeks 3 days. She's Small size bb. Most of the bb here weigh more than 1kg. I think I need to eat more.. She placed her leg to cover up her face. Also saw she was yawning inside, so cute...

Nana:

U mentioned you are anaemic. Did your gynae prescribe any iron supplements for you?

Maybe you can eat more spinach to improve your condition? Just my thoughts.

jollymummy: thanks.. yes, gynae gave me a multi-vit with more iron contents. black colour pills. okay, i'll take more spinach. have you done ur OGTT? how's the result?

Mrs Lee:

Thanks! I'm feeling much better now, although not 100% ok yet, abt 90% ok I think.

I went to see dr on Fri evening bec really cannot tahan already. Then called my gynae at night to check if medicine really safe to eat, as prescribed by GP. Also to test the emergency gynae hotline at same time, hehe. He called back like within 7 minutes.

Then super busy on Sunday as it was my tot's 2 year old birthday. She enjoyed it and knows it's her birthday.

BTW, thanks for telling me abt finding Elmo at PS. I actually found it 2 Saturdays ago, it was the one and only bigger sized one at the shop near escalator. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nana:

I'm seeing my gynae next Wed, 1 Sep in the morning for 28th wk appt and OGTT test.

I was eating potato chips yesterday even though still not well yet. I read that carbo will cause bad results? Should I stop eating my favourite potato chips for now? Hehe.

Nana, must be very happy to see baby's action!! during my last gynae visit, my gynae tried to do a 3D screen but baby also cover up his face with his arms.. so cannot see..anyway take care and work hard to gain baby's weight!!

Bad day today.. upgraded my iphone software and it crashed!!! spent the whole day to recover my contacts n msg..

washing baby cloths,

should be washing everything together in Sept.. will cut all the tags on bb's cloths and wash everything with machine then sun tan it!! hahaha..

baby shopping,

don't know what else to buy, whats the baby blanket for? same as receiving blanket??

Jollymummy, no problem.. glad they're still sellin. hhehe!!

naf, i did blood test for bloodcount last fri after lunch w u girls. den gynae needa see me, dunno whats with the reason. hopefully ok ba.

anyone can advise wher to buy those dry shampoo? im tinking of trying out that at least for the 1st wk of confinement ba. cos i can nvr dun wash my hair nor shower for 1 whole mth...

im also tinking of washing the bb clothes next mth. lots of things to do next mth. muz bring my breast pump for servicing too...

jillz, I went to chk notes, sinseh said to drink coconut juice weekly.

Am now startin to fast. Sigh tmr takin the sweet drink. Keepin fingers cross for the test esp bloodcount so tat can stop takin iron pills. These few days felt tummy tight n xin ku, duno whether it is tummy expanding.

Sun went bb shower & friend mother said my tummy small. Today my uncle also said. Hopefully gynae will chk on bb growth tmr too, kinda of worry as last visit was only 2+kg weight gain so far.

Shauna: I use johnsons and like everything about it.

Chris: your uterus grew bigger and plus the increasing weight of the baby, the whole thing sits on the pelvic bone hence causing the pain. I experienced it in T2 when I got heavier. It's not likely to last till you give birth. Mine only lasted about 5 days or at most a week??? Can't remember. The position will change and move so don't worry. You can massage lightly on your own.

Jewel: I'm not going for the test, I'm only seeing gynae tomorrow. Hopefully I won't be summoned to take the test! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Trismom: I remember seeing people selling on the BP threads. You can try otherwise pharmacy should have?

jollymummy, good to have u back! We missed u during sat's pilates class.

hammiebao, poor thing. Managed to get everything back up onto ur iPhone? I still trying to figure out my HTC hp, haven't migrated wholesale from the iPhone yet.

Trismom, yah, pharmacy e.g. Guardian or Watsons will sell dry shampoo. Or the pharmacies at the hospital will also sell. I was thinking of trying black hair powder (which is like dry shampoo). Anyone tried it before? Got any feedback?

http://www.bumbleandbumble.com/product/spp.tmpl?CATEGORY_ID=CAT72&PRODUCT_ID=176

Naf, gambatte! Hopefully tom will bring u good news. Abt the 2kg+ weight gain, u mean ur own weight gain or the bb weight gain?

naf, the sweet drink is small matter comparin to what u've been thru. so i bet no prob for u la.. dun worry. the result will be good. remember to check bb weight tomolo k.

hi morning all..

was looking thru the lis whim provided..thnk u, whim!

Salt for washing teats...hmm..how does tht wk..

n speaking of dry shampoo..how does tht work as well?

Dimple, I also dunno why we need to have salt. I think in my next KK lesson, I will ask them. In the 1st place, wat kind of salt? Normal kitchen salt??

Orangebb, I also dunno why we need so many blankets for the bb. Maybe they know that bb tend to spit up milk etc so better to get more than 1 so u dun have to wait for 1 to dry?

I went thr the list w/ my SO last nite, I told him "U see, we only have 7 items out of 33, how?!" He took a closer look and said "actually, we have only 6 (dun have blankets), but we bought the waterproof cover for e bb mattress @ e pigeon warehouse sale, so considered 0.5 items."

So we only have 6.5 items out of 33 items...really need to go shopping soon.

Good morning ladies...

Whim, when I attended my lesson by TMC last week, Mrs Wong talked abt using salt to wash teats but she said that's not necessary.. It's widely used by older folks.. she said use mild detergent such as Pigeon Liquid Detergent will be sufficient as baby is delicate, our normal detergent will be too strong for them. And yes, normal salt is used in this case. Hope this helps ^.^

Bluesoda,

My gfrd told me I should start from week 32.. during the lesson by Mrs Wong, she said to start 1 mth before our EDD.

Regarding baby's blanket, does anyone know where to buy? I have been searching but I can't seem to find.

ueno/clover,

I remember at the Tung Lok lunch, one of you were using this children's scissors to cut food for ur son. Sorry, can't remember which child was the one.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4412172.jpg]

Is it this? From my seat, it looks like this....

yes whim... tats the scissor we r talking abt. wher can we buy frm?

for all those 1st x mommies tink u all dun hv to b too kan cheong la. cos last x wen i had my #1, i din hv forum or experience frds also. but i tink most of the things kinda come naturally n we will b able to handle it naturally. cos maternal instinct ma... so stay cool n relax... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks irene, I have checked. Unfortunately I am already in my week 28 and this fri reaching week 29. Dont think I am in time as bb prob would have changed direction. Never mind, I shall see little one when he is out.

I have been sleep deprived for many nights and falling asleep at work. So sian. Nights are filled with tightness in the belly, pokes and kicks and sommersaults, then backaches, then numbness in my hands, limbs i get pulling cramps. Its terrible. I just cant find a good position to sleep despite my pregnancy pillow and by the time i fall asleep its wee hours in the morning and i have to get ready for work.

I am so sleepy.

Thank you whim, tat is my weight gain nia. Bb on small size. A little lower below avg on the growth chart. Gynae machine dun show weight. Jus arrived at clinic & gain another 1.2kg for past 3+wks. So total weight gain for myself is 3.5kg. Hopefully bb gainin more too.

Jillz, tink tis is the 1st time i drink the glucose vry fast. Less then 10mins finish cuz scare by the time finish & another blood test, will be ultimate late to fetch my elder. Else wont be motivated to drink tat fast. Hehe

Jo >> Thks. I am also hoping tat it will b better. Today still hv the pain, but nt tat intense anymore. It shld get better bah..crossing my fingers.

Bb list:

Baby lotion is it necessary? My parents nvr apply tat for my nehpews leh.

Water proof cover for mattress. I m thinking if it is waterproof, thn it mus b air proof too, rt? So if we r using babysafe mattress, it will defeat the purpose of a babysafe mattress? Is it thn safe to use waterproof cover? Will it b too warm in SG weather?

Bb's blanket shld be refering to swaddle cloth n receiving blanket bah. I bgt 2 receiving blankets to b used in aircon rm. As for swadle cloth, I use large napkin cloth, which is more cooling for SG weather.

Dry hair shampoo:

One of my colleague who gave birth many yrs ago tld me tat it is more bearable nt to wash hair than to use dry shampoo. She maks it sound lik the shampoo will get the hair sticky n scalp itchy and the only plus pt is the hair smells gd. Mayb so many yrs ago ther wasn't better dry shampoo? Any experience mummy use this b4?