(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Jo, I never looked at it that way...

Mrs Lee, can I tempt u with Hello Kitty?? :p V cute u know... or maybe I shd show u wat my frens always buy back from Bangkok for their dogs. :p

whim, you complement your hb. ;)

pre-nat yoga

the next round of pre-nat yoga lesson will start from 18 Sep (current session ends on 11 sep). students can opt for 6 wks or 8 wks, as some of us are preparing for birth. kindly let me know if you are interested. Pm me or email me at [email protected]

Venue:

Blk 154 Bishan Street 13

#01-22 S(570154)

timing: Sat 12:15pm-1:15pm

Existing yoga-goers, if u have not let me know whether you are continuing, pls let me know too.

last but not least, let's arrange for a lunch on 11 Sep, 1st term's last lesson. LMK. =)

Good morning mummies. Can I ask when do u plan to start washing and preparing your baby infant clothes in preparation? My EDD is 2 Dec. Not sure when is a good time to wash them... cos we haven't settled on storage space, baby cupboard or drawer so now wash also no where to keep.

Hpc: some mummies already preparing. Maybe u should start to find bb storage cupboard first n start washing. Nowadays always rain

Jewel>> Oh u r so lucky to hv such a hubby leh.(Except for the nagging part). My hubby will also do simple cleaning, esp nw tat I m pregnant. I usually feel tat he is nt detailed enough...but I will keep my mouth shut. Cos it is alrdy vry nice of him to do all tat while I m sleeping or jus resting on the couch watching TV. MOst of the times I feel guilty, but no choice for mi nw. :p

hpc >> U still hv time, no nd to rush. I think mus prepare the place to put bb's stuff 1st. Otherwise after washing, if no proper place to store thm, thy will get dirty by the time bb deliver. My EDD is 18 Nov. My mum says she will hlp mi to wash 1-2 mths b4 delivery. I will most probably start preparing the rm for bb ard early Sep bah.

Gd morning mommies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

is the stuff during Robinson nursery fair gd buy?

Also for kodomo body foam or shampoo which type ur r using?suitable for newborn?

Thank you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hpc i plan to wash them one month before. i dun want to wash early is because bb has sensitive skin and i dun wan the clothes to be clean and idle there to collect dust. and i plan to finish all my shopping 2 months before EDD at least the necessities must be ready hehehe

Tks OrangeBB, Chris and PTB. I think I will wait for the storage to be settled first then wash them. Now not many stuff to wash also. I think I also need to stock up on those newborn rompers, now only got a few...

my mil will take care of all the washing.. she always remind me dun waste $$ to buy these or that.. i never even buy a single bb clothes cos all are passed down one..

when we bought the stroller, she was exclaiming! " I got 2 in the store le y buy!" Then hb just reply, those cannot incline and this is better.. Somemore when i buy avent milk bottles, she said this one not good cos the milk may not totally be sucked out.. she prefer those no brands one, tall and slim and cheap.. haiz

Guess she belongs to those traditional type where they dun see the need to spend much $$ on bb stuff..

Jun, in that case, I think ur MIL will be super traditional during confinement...Is she doing confinement for u?

Jun Lim> mine too..my MIL is super thrifty type and reminded me many times not to buy this, not to buy that..even i told her that i will be getting this, she said she will help me buy from the market..MARKET u noe!! oh my goodness...i cant stop her, i mean is very kind of her to help me save $ but i just want to enjoy shopping for my baby stuff and get something which i like...my 1st baby mah...

Jillz, I also cant remember. Must go chk the notes tat sinseh wrote for me. Hehe will update u. R u feelin betta?

Shauna, any idea the robinsons nursery fair is till when? I am only allowed to buy bb things aft 7th mth.

Whim, it is gd to pre-empt our hb. Even tis is my 3rd bb, am still goin to remind him becuz I lost my temper a few times durin pregnancy, he also din give in to me lo & tell me control. And some more I am not those xiao nu ren who will sai nai or teh one. hahaha or perhaps I shld try or learn to be one & c whether works or not.

hpc: I have already wash and fold them nicely once i bought them and put them into my bb drawers cabinet. Bb room is ready and prob will put the mattress and mattress covers for the bb cot when i am week 36 bah after i am on leave. Now for me, all done during the GSS period, my hb super efficient, the delivery bag also ready liao.

Shauna: i felt some is a gd buy but i shop during gss period and usually from warehouse factory sales. I find robinsons quite expensive.

I am still a johnsons and johnsons fan. Dunno why just love the powdery smell.

actually bb daily clothes really no need to spend so much as they outgrow it a lot. But you can buy one or two really pretty ones and expensive ones for going out. So those to stay at home, market ones are really good enough. they are affordable and airy.

I bought mostly from markets. I dont have problems with it. Just tat when it comes to milk bottles, i am more particular, to be on the safe side.

Bluesoda: Older folks do tend to be more thrifty but they do have a point. Sometimes no need to overspend for the same product that dont make a difference at all, for e.g. brand conscious. But you can just tell your hb to hint to your mil that you like to buy some stuff for your own bb. Try not to tell her directly, wait she get offended. Always go through hb bah.

ya, she is doing confinement for me.. i also duno if she will strictly follow, but according my sil, she said she gets bored with the meal prepare and at times my sil even throw away the food..

as for taking care of bb wise, seriously i dun realli like the way she talks to bb or kids.. cos most of the time she speaks too loudly even downstair can hear one.. imagine her own daughter also doesnt like.. rather engage a maid to help than asking her mother to look after..

but anyway, i will endure the confinement period and during the maternity leave, i will bring bb back to my mum' house till hb come and fetch us home daily lor, since it's just a foot stone away only..

bluesoda, maybe for me, this is not her 1st grandchild, tats y she feel that there is no need to waste $$ to buy new stuffs when she has already collected for me all the stuff required.. faintz.. my 1st bb also needs to be pamper ma..

OranGeBB> u don't need to worry, i'm lagi behind too. as i'm in the midst of shifting house (have not start reno), i have not even buy bb cupboard, bb cot, bb stuff, thus the bb clothes also have not been washed, not to say i have not pack hospital bag. guess i'll be SUPER busy in the last few weeks catching up all these as I cant do anything now..

Jo: I did the test & gynae made an appt for me to see the dietician next tue. Dietician will advise what I shld do based on my test results.. watch diet, can eat or cannot eat what, self prick to monitor own glucose level or self inject insulin in more serious case. think I shld not need insulin but pricking shld be required ba... :X

A diabetic person may feel:

# tiredness

# excessive thirst

# passing a lot of urine

# blurred vision

No wonder, Im feeling like tat as I entered 3rd trim. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Chris: Well.. at least ur hubby is willing to help. Some husbands I know will never lift a finger to help their wives on house work, even if they r pregnant & esp if their wives r SAHM. So give & take... nobody is perfect.

jun lim: i share your sentiments. I am not comfortable with mil taking care of my bb too. Its the habits that I dont want my bb to pick up. Plus I wanted my bb to pick up proper english and chinese early, have manners and so on. Grandparents just tend to spoil them and they always feel that kids are always too young to be taught and discipline.

hey all..

just to share:

was speaking to my frd who delivered 2mths back..she advised not to buy many 0-3mth clothes coz bb outgrew them in less than 4wks.at4wks he is wearing 3-6mths outfits..so dont overspend on 0-3mths [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Also she said NB diapers her bb wore onli for 1 week,then switch to S diapers.. so fast hor..

her bb was only 6lbs at birth.

Orangebb & mummywong, luckily u share wat u haven't buy yet.

No bb cot, no bb cupboard, no bb bedlinen, no bb bathtub. I haven't even gotten my bb stroller and car seat yet (which I was supposed to get last weekend). Long story there.... I think I shd look at those bb checklist and make myself start buying real/impt stuff.

Jewel, yah I understand what u mean abt the wives being SAHM. I think my SO will be like that, so might be better not for me to be SAHM after the bb is born. In my case the "M" might become "maid" instead of "mom". Ho ho ho

just wan to ask how many went for the 3d/4d scans? I am considering going for it, but wat if bb hides or covers face during scan, then how?

whim> i intend to get bb stroller during cny time when bb about 2-3mths old when i go back Sin for cny, one thing is i think bb likely will not be bringing bb out alot initially and maybe when bringing out i'll hand carry also. for bb cot etc, i can only buy/deliver them when my house finish reno. i have quite a handful hand-down clothes which i have not looked through and wash, so i'll had a hard time doing all those in Oct time. so far i have only bought a avent steriliser, borrowed a breast pump (which i have not look through how to use or any equipment that i need to buy), i have also not buy those milk bottles/teats, as i'm totally clueless how many to buy, what size to buy, whether different brand teats fit different bottles as i have some free avent milk bottles and some other brand milk bottles as gift. i'm also feeling stressful now when everyone starts preparing...

bb movement> my bb usually on the left side too, sometimes i wonder how the bb lie inside also, is horizontal or vertical? i can start to feel more vigourous movement these 2wks, i think the bb grows thus more movement. and then these 2 days suddenly i can feel like hand/leg stretching inside, seeing my tummy go up/down..

Im so worried coz my hubby and I will be moving back to my MIL place after my confinement. My mother is taking care of my niece so no choice but to ask my MIL for help. Personally i will prefer my own mother to take care. I foresee that there will definitely be some conflict btw us over taking care of baby...

Jun Lim> wow your MIL really talks very loud ...erm not very good when there is baby around..just endure for one month =)

bb cupboard (to put bb clothes)>

any suggestion on the model/type of cupboard that i can buy? is it those without cover/door?

mummywong10>

Same here. these days, can feel that baby is doing somersault in my belly. the movement is so vigourous that i feel abit nauseous for the past 2 days..yest i saw my tummy going up and down..even my hubby saw that too

nana: i think with doors and cover better, keep the dust out.

bluesoda, mummywong10: Me too.. I am having sleepless and disrupted nites as bb is kicking, poking, somersaulting. My hb saw the bumps and joins in to poke back..

Jun,

ur SIL as in ur MIL daughter and not DIL rite...then might be different lor...coz own mother will take care of her own children mah...like mayb will put more ginger use more sesame oil to cook to help get rid of the wind.....but for DIL, they might nt use tat much so as to save or wat lah....

also conflict between mother and daughter can be easily resolved but nt MIL and DIL. My MIL did my confinement for my son, and nw, we decided to get CL lor due to the things tat happen during confinement lor....but the different is tat my is first grandchild for both families lah...

vallous >> I did the 4d scan! Nw I knw hw my boy looks lik. Keke..:p Jus lik me w round chubby face n board nose. But he has got his daddy lips n hairline. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I did it in NUH, bgt it as a pkg w detail scan. Thy allow maximum 2 tries, or actually 2 days to try, in case bb doesn't cooperate, as in my case. So advisable to mak appt early in the morning, so u cn try for the whole day. If buy as pkg, ther will b no refund if it is unsuccessful. But I heard after wk28 can't tak anymore.

Heehee :p ur hubby so cute, alrdy start playing w ur bb. Ever since my hubby can feel bb kicks, he starts to spk more often to bb. But sometimes he asks bb vry silly questions, eg. "Bb wat r u doing inside? Did u study?" Haha so funny.

Jun >> My parents also spk vry loudly. But thy hv their reasons...my mum gets excited easily n whn she gets excited, she jus spk vry loudly w/o knowing. My dad has hearing problem tats probably y he spk vry loud as he can't hear himself. But I m still leaving my bb w thm, as I don't hv a better choice. Hw I wish i cn b a SAHM, but it is really tough to b one in SG. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

nana >> Same as vallous, I thnk a cupboard/cabinet w cover/door will b better. Can kp dust away. For me, I am emptying an entire built-in cupboard jus for my bb. It was originally used to put my dog's stuff. Poor dog, gotta mak way for his new owner. :p

Dimple : Thanks for the advice... was still thinking of getting some more NB clothes and diapers this weekend for the baby. Maybe will buy lesser of NB stuff but more on the S or 3 - 6 mth stuff.

bb movement: Me too, feel bb's moving side ways and up down. Esp when i lay down by the side to sleep. Like when i sleep on the left, i can feel it move to the right... so cute. But recently not much of kicking just movement only.

whim: me too...esp after reading mostly have even started packing hospital bag i told my SO time is getting close. so we just went thru the list last sun and think it is really time to go and buy and start packing up abit. Been really lazy these few weeks and getting more and more lazy to walk around.

Yesterday so funny, received a phamplet from town council saying they will be building a infant and childcare right below my block. SO and I was like wah... so near ... just right below. Somemore the centre will open by end of Nov. At the moment, think will get my mum to take care of the baby after maternity leave till 1y.o then send him to the childcare. Also, not comfortable for MIL to take care of the baby.

Glucose test: Those who did the glucose test is it something was spotted during your usual checkup urine test and hence gynae send u for the test or is it a standard test at certain weeks?

washing bb clothes

wash 1-2mth b4 yr edd with bb detergent. Sun the clothes well. Store in big ziplock bags which can prevent dust n save space. I sit on the bag to press the air out before sealing up the bag. I also do this when we travel. The big ziplock bags can be bought at army market @ beach road or SKP.

Diana, my no.1 also first grandchild n a boy too leh. mil n i dun hv conflict during my last confinement but its later on as my kid grows up, we clashed indirectly coz of diff bringing up method. This time round, she is v hands off. It's v true that our own mother will take care of us better.

Jen> Sometimes it's better to buy the pants 1 size bigger than top, for eg top 3-6mths, bottom 6-9mths, reason being they wear diapers can be more puffy, i agree not to buy too much NB clothes, they outgrow very fast, maybe in 2months time.

agree with diana that mum n daughter can speak freely irregards of anything while there will always be reservation btw MIL and DIL..

no choice leh, cos my mil volunteer to help us out for the confinement.. I cant say no lor cos we living under the same roof ma.. she said she will be fair by taking care of the 1st grandchild of her every children.. All her 6 grandchildrens were under her care except for her daughter's youngest son.. guess we r of no exception lor

OranGeBB> thanks, will take care. i'll not "join in" during any reno/moving as better be safe than sorry cause pregnant. I'll only shop with hubby for furniture/electronics. after house is ready, then i can start to pack all the bb clothes nicely in cupboard maybe in end oct/beg nov..

chris: huh after 28 weeks knt take liao ah...i just turned 28 weeks last friday...miss the boat liao leh...aiyah!

my hb tried to tok to bb, but he dunno what to say , so kept calling out his name...so funny, at the most he says "dun disturb mummy too much".

clover: i agree with you, our mothers are better. Lesser conflicts and will respect how we look after the kids. I too will put into infant care and childcare. I rather pay $ then to get into conflicts with mil.

whim - lol on your story. sadly, my hubby is the "neat" one in our case but after 10 yrs of marriage, i hv also become "neater" - he will of course say this is subjective :p

FB - can someone add me to FB page? my email addy : [email protected] gam xia!

bluesoda - induced labour, i went for No 1 at 38 weeks cos I had GD and gynae said baby was big enough at 38 weeks (3.44kgs).

my hb opposite, he will at times ask bb to kick me.. past few days the kicks are more intense and frequent, is this an indication bb is growing and lesser space for them to move around?

MIL and DIL vs own daughter

I think as DILs, it s best that we dun expect the same treatment or guidelines as our SIL ( who are the daughters).

The other day, when we were all in a store together, my MIL picked up a bottle of dry shampoo and told me I cannot shower during my confinement. I v naturally asked "oh, u mean ABC (my SIL's name) didn't shower for 1 mtg during her 2 pregnancies?"

my MIL replied "no, she did. But she didnt listen to me, u shd listen to me."

U cannot even convince ur own daughter then u want me to do it???

Aack.

jun lim: perhaps not much space left but also bb is getting bigger and stronger so you will feel the kicks intensity more. More frequent cos bb can hear sounds and respond to some light now, so more active.

whim: its like tat. I have my own fair share of unfairness since getting married. My sil also never listen to her mum and do anything she likes. But i am just different, dunno why must listen. But sometimes i pretend i dunno or tell my hb to respond but never do.

vallous >> mayb u cn double chk again. Cos I also rem one of my colleague try to do it after wk 28 in radlink paragon. Mayb diff pl has diff standards bah. U r in wk28, shld b able to do it in NUH, if u cn get an appt within these few days.

Anyone experience pain at the bone near urinary area? Sometimes I hv this kind of pain, but lower, nearer to vaginal. But today the pain is more intense n it is near urinary area. Pain is more obvious whn I walk. Anyone has this experience? Is it something to be wary? Wonder if I shld ask my gynae. Scare tat he will find mi a pain in the neck, for asking silly questions.

chris: sure I will ask for the scan. I dun have the pain but u should ask ur gynae. No question is silly enough to ask. You might not know the seriousness of any signs. Go ahead and call your clinic for advice.

vallous >> mayb u cn double chk again. Cos I also rem one of my colleague try to do it after wk 28 in radlink paragon. Mayb diff pl has diff standards bah. U r in wk28, shld b able to do it in NUH, if u cn get an appt within these few days.

Anyone experience pain at the bone near urinary area? Sometimes I hv this kind of pain, but lower, nearer to vaginal. But today the pain is more intense n it is near urinary area. Pain is more obvious whn I walk. Anyone has this experience? Is it something to be wary? Wonder if I shld ask my gynae. Scare tat he will find mi a pain in the neck, for asking silly questions.

chris, coz the weight of the baby is at yr pelvis area. it's common.

whim, it's human nature, but i think its unfair. dil always remain as the bottom of the food chain.

Mummywong: that's good. But don overwalk. Luckily I'm moving only when bb few mths old next yr. But that means I have to pack n get involved. Haha

cin bunny (cin_bunny)> Sorry what is GD?

Chris> Yes, i experience that too.. the pain was quite intense for the past few days..i have pushed forward my appt due to this, intend to see my gynae this sat..

Clover> oic..thanks..at least im relieved..

@ Chris, I experienced the pain too and went to my gynae. He said its related to the pelvic joint...to relieve the pain he gave me 2 injections at the pelvic joint. You may want to check with your gynae.

clover,

haha...my conflict wif my MIL during confinement in my view are mainly due to hygiene problem la....coz my MIL is clean but no hygiene concept le....for examaple day 1 after we discharge, she carried my son without washing her hands or changes her clothes, when previuosly she was carrying her dog and her dog saliva is on her lor....then best is she can still tell me, "ur son is hungry, u see, he is sucking my arm"....i was like HUH!!!

then understand and knowing her hygiene concept is low, i will explain to her y muz like this or like tat....but she choose to tink tat i only impose on her and not my own family members lor...faintz....

On upbringing of my son, i took a very firm stand and thus can say tat she dun hv much say on tat part lor...afterall, nt take care by her mah...somemore, it is kind of she let the chances go of taking of my son de...

on the confinement food part, for me i dun care, but juz upset tat she tried to gif me overnite rice lor...actually lot of issue lah....dun wish to repeat it again in this forum...if got chance then i tell u ba...if u interested to know....muahahaha