(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

served fresh scallops (I used frozen ones) with porridge yesterday and daryl loves it! I tried it and its really tasty. yummy hee hee

stella, great to know you're getting beta.

Booboobear

Yay! Happy for Alyssa too! Guess seeing the 2 handsome boys drink motivates our babes to try drinking from straws too! So cute la, seeing her drink from straw for the first time.

Xin

Don't give up. Kayden will be able to join the straw-cup club very soon!

Stella

So are you hoping for a boy or girl this time?

Ann

Lose weight or not, Niko still look as cute as ever, especially now with his new shaolin look!

Metta

Wow. Wouldn't it be quite costly, using fresh scallops? I'm using dried ones, in addition to pork, vege & fish. How much does the fresh ones cost?

My mum came and just 1 day she's shown preferences to my elder sister compares to me and Josie. lolzzz.. My elder sister isn't pregnant and doesn't have any kid yet! But dunno my mom like doesn't want to make her just walk further to go to my place and get her things instead, she went to her place and bring her things (food etc) that she asked my mum to buy from Indo. And tomorrow wanted to go family dinner together also at first want to choose place near her place in Serangoon?? And I live in Woodlands, my sister lives in Sengkang. LOLZZZZ!!

I remember last time I preggy also mom insist eat dinner at Orchard on the first day she arrived when she stay in my place instead of eating in Woodlands or nearby my place, saying it's in the middle between my house and my sis, in the end we arrived quite late at night, she can't go shopping anymore, only eat and my sister angry becoz she arrived first, then saying actually she's okay to go to woodlands instead and has asked mom but mom insist to eat at orchard.

A bit disappointed but I dunno, maybe later if I ever have 2nd child I also will still grow preferences to Josie.. I guess 1st child will always be a favorite leh.

stella

Glad everything is good for your 2nd baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. Hopefully soon no more morning sickness for you

Some more I remember, last time I preggy, and when she stayed at my sister's place, she still asked me to go and get my things in my sister's place. LOL. See what's the favoritism looks like!!!! Can't help to feel angry.

Last time until I asked hubby to go alone and get my things becoz it's my first trimester, still vomiting occasionally and very lazy to go out. When hubby take my things also that means I need to be alone at my own home and feel miserable alone.

Groovy,

Human nature. My mum favors my bro over me and my dad used to favors my sis. I grew up with middle child symdrome n promised myself to have only 2 kids.

I know it is hard but getting upset will not change anything. I also cry and quarrel with my mum countless times for the past 32 years but the conclusion wun change.

Good morning!!!!

Dovey,

Now his hair has grown abt 2 mm n it is v cute stroking it! Lol.

Groovy,

Maybe there is a reason why ur mum choose that venue? Maybe she just want to walk around? Or love sengkang region better?

Zuen

Hugs!!! I think favouritism is everywhere n really human has this nature to show it!

I felt it too when i was little n hoping i wont show it to my kids n love them exactly the same. It will b tough!

Even though u show exactly same love (how to measure anyway?) sometimes the kids might intrepret it differently being too sensitive n all. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

groovy & metta:

Thanks! It's a relief to know everything is gd so far.

Ann & dovey:

I am excited to know e gender. For Logan I only found out at 20 week scan. Hopefully it's sooner for this one. Hoping for a girl this time but wat's mine is mine. As long as my bb is healthy I'm happy.

Re: milk bottles

For babies using the pigeon milk bottles, can I know if u all face the problem of baby drinking n the teat sort of flatten? My boy can suck until the nipple flatten leh. Wonder if it is the prob with the teat or the bottle or baby. Have changed the teat n still the same leh.

Xin

From what I know, when baby sucks in the milk, the teat will flatten if they did not release the air. So when it flattens, just move the bottle so that air can be released then it will bounce back to it's original shape.

Favoritism

Everybody WILL practice favoritism somehow, no matter how much we try to be fair. Like what ZuEn said, it's human nature. Since there's no way to change it, then just close one eye to it lor.

Huhu ya lor. Just can't help but feel quite sad.. I complain to her already saying don't expect too much from me anymore, my siblings definitely can arrange gathering etc better than me. Becoz I have Josie I, lack of sleep for 6 mths already so I can't think if she want me to have dinner near my place in woodlands and arrange like MUST book the place etc. Huhu.. Some more I very rarely eat out now ever since I have Josie... And Causeway Point is being renovated now so it's still like a maze inside..

Yesterday Josie wake up at 4 AM and today we have the family photo at botanical garden. huhu.. Very tired but happy too. My Josie sometimes is not very cooperative beoz she;s sleepy. Wake up at 4 refuse to sleep until 7. I sleep at 11, wake up at 2.30 and when I'm about to sleep again Josie wakes up. Huhuhu

Stella

am excited for you! Boy or girl, so long as the baby is healthy and happy, that's the most important thing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] You will close shop after this one huh? Hahah.

Emma:

Thanks for the link. Will go check the nipple n bottle again.

Dovey/shin/booboobear:

Yay! So excited. Kayden is able to drink from his straw cup already. He anyhow bite n suck n realized there's water. So he continue sucking n able to drink Liao.

Hi Xin

I also encountered similar problem before.. did u used wash the teat holes and the holes around the teat? I remembered it happened to the teats at my mum's place before. I suspected that the teat holes not cleaned probably by the maid. The holes supposed to clean everytime.

now i dun have this problem. my boy using L size now.

Help its help. :)

Ann,

Tat is y I tell hb tat I only want 2 kids, then we each can dote on one. Nobody gets left out. Lol. I am trying my best not to favors one over e other but realize that mummy tends to hv stronger bond with e elder one.

Dovey,

I say that to myself too. Dun care... Otherwise, only make myself upset.

Emma,

Thanks! I'm excited too but apprehensive abt handling a toddler n infant. Somemore my boy is still so young n active n needs a lot of attention... Definitely closing shop. Even considering ligation. I dun think I wana risk another accident. 2 pregnancies are enough to set me up for life hehe.

Zuen, yup2 even now I really think if I ever have a 2nd child, I might not treat him/her the same as Josie too.. I'm also middle child like u.. Last time I saw my photos, I don't have much new toys or necessities like stroller etc. Now I'm thinking it's the way parents save money so the 2nd child use 1st child's one, but then by the time it reach the 3rd child, the things spoilt already so must buy the new one.. I think quite common..

That's why until now I've yet to buy a new stroller for Josie. I'm now using a 2nd hand from my colleague. I'm thinking later if have 2nd child can buy new stroller for him/her so at least he/she have 1 new item.. (besides clothes of course)..

Nowadays even every time we go somewhere, see cute clothes we'll buy for Josie.. Then my hubby even last Sunday, play 1 toy for Josie while we go shopping, in the end he said let's buy this for her becoz she seems interested in it. Lol.. Not that expensive toy, only $15, but then when I reach home if I think if not buying those small2 items we can buy a new stroller already, more necessary...

Zuen, thanks, hebe is way much better since yest morning. My mum loves my younger sis and my dad me. My 2nd younger sis is the middle. Thou she sometimes say favoritism but she seem to be okie.

Hi Xin2,

I had e same prob with pigeon teats. It happened becos we didn't clean the hole of the teats properly. Each pigeon bottle comes with a small toothpick like gadget. Just poke it into the hole under running water will do the trick!

hihi mummies, i m one of the oct 2010 mummies but seldom post here.. now planning on my boy's birthday bash.. cant decide on the location.. any recommendations?

morning mummies~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hope everyone had a gd weekend!

hello mummies and Ian! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] happy youth day! hahaha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dovey - not ex as I use frozen ones. I buy from giant (1 pack is $9+). They are small ones and China product so cheaper. If you get big ones more ex - esp if Japan product. I brought cheap ones to let him try if he like then I "invest" for bigger scallops. i cook fresh scallops (grind to a paste like form) plus veg with porridge. to cut cost can add fish or meat (so use less scallops).

Do ur babies have the habit of grabbing ur fingers or arms or legs n wanting to bite?

Kayden kept wanting to grab my hands n legs to bite lor. Aiyo. Dunno y got such habit leh.

Ian:

Of cos I know they are teething la. Just wondering how come of all things they wanna bite hands n legs mah. So weird lor.

Hello all...been awhile. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Talking abt teething, any babies here grind their teeth? Mine is doing that. And his teeth are not fully out...still in the midst of sprouting.

Stella, wow...2nd tri...fast! Hope you will stop your ms totally soon.

Groovy ...

Having 3 kids now ... I can tell you that I love them all the same and constantly remind myself that no favoritism. Its not a rule that the older one must always give in or that the younger one is always right ... it depends on the situation and they should just take turn. At times my #1 gives in and the next time my #2 got to give in. Obviously Yx is still too young to be involved now. And no such thing as boys better than girl!!

With regards to hand-me downs. Have you considered the fact that you should invest in new items for #1 now so that your #2 can share esp big ticket items like cot, car seat etc? What's the point of buying new stuff for #2 when only the #2 can use unless you have #3 ... so end up #3 also using old stuff.

In fact ... most of Yx home wear clothes are all hand me down ... cos at this age ... I got more friends with kids compared to when I just had my #1 (was one of the first few to have kids among my friend). I am so happy cos beside the fact that I save money ... the clothes are all so seasoned and comfy for yx to wear and it looks very new as they out grow very fast. Her going out clothes are all new ... and trust me she only wear 2-3 times per piece cos we only bring her out on weekends.

We invested in a good car seat for my #1 and it lasted till today ... now Yx using. $499 for 3 kids over a span of 5years and counting ... if you ask me ... SUPER WORTH IT!!! So dun see as spending ... its an investment for your kids and esp if you have more ... its called 'economy of scale'

Oh toys too!! Bought so much toys that I dun need to buy toys for Yx too. All in very good condition and they SHARE. No such thing as this one buy for you or me or what ... even birthday present. As long as its toy ... SHARE!!!

And I am sure your mother love you all the same ... it could be that you already felt that she favours your sister over you so whatever she does ... you will think otherwise. Esp now that we are all grown up ... you might want to stop having that thought in your mind ... very unhealthy and you might sub-consciously have this mentality towards your own kid.

Helo! Mummies & Ian!

Ian, long time no see you in forum lor. Or you slient reader like me?!

What you sais is so true! "if only we can read babies' mind, then life as parents will be much easier." And every baby is unique in their own way. if our babies are predictable then will be a programmed baby lor, like robot? We as parents actually share the joys of them reaching each new milestones, some baby faster, some baby slower. But those are little surprises for us and brings smile to our face isn't it?

oh yeah, I like the photos of you bringing Xavier for swimming. Looks like he's totally enjoying his swim!

Helo seabreeze! I have to agree no matter what all parents love their child, maby just different ways towards each child. There should be no doubt in their love.

ivy> yeah..nowadays once in awhile ba..

he's totally enjoying water splashing onto his face lor..otherwise he wun smile~ bth..then i saw a bigger girl..already can walk one..dun even dare to touch the water..need her daddy to hug her in the water,while xavier is crawling in the pool like dunno wat..

Morning!!

Ian, ivy

Sooooo true!

I wish niko also come with 'manual' but will not hv surprises.

Emmie

My baby grinds teeth! Usually when he is unhappy, so i just ignore. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hopefully nothing bad happen. Cannot ask them not to do it too!

Guten Morgen mommies and Ian![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Forum no "like" button?ROFL[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How come so DEAD in the forum?where are the mommies??.....

Emmie,

Have you tried applying teething gel?Maybe it helps? He has many teeth now?

Talking about 2nd child!

I AM ALSO A 2ND CHILD!AND IM A REAL TERROR!OFten and not i felt my parents treats me differently....VERY DIfferent...of course at that moment,i thought they favor the rest and not me and that's y i was put in my grandma's care!SO the thought of being NOT WANTED has been always there...But the truth is...my mom was at her wits end and only my grandma can "settle" me!

Apparently she said im always a very good girl espe in church!!LOL....so my mom thought,since she cant handle me..let the MOTHER do the job!=.='''

But being 2nd child,i ve got all new clothes reason being bcos my older sis is FAT..hahahha

TIll im older and now married with kids!I make it a point that my child get a fair share of everything!Im not gonna plan who will get new stuffs and not and why 2nd hand n not new.Why wanna plan such thing?Whatever they have,

THEY MUST SHARE!

LIfe is short...if you compare every single cents and everything to the bits,it will only lead to a very depress and dark life!Children don't need expensive toys...a simple toy can make their day![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]And it doesnt cost alot!Im not rich but i never stinged on my kids...things that worth investing are the bulky items..

When i punished Jade,i often asked why she misbehaves and why she upset me......Then i recalled how i upset my mom and it was 100000000x worst than what Jade did!!hahhahahaa.......

then the question....does my mom loves me?YES SHE DOES!She worries me the most among 4 bcos im the odd one that don't stay with them ...hahahhaah!!

At the end of the day..there are no mother that don't love their own child!MY mom n i loves to bicker!That's our hobby!!we find joy by doing that[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Be happy !Happy momma= happy family![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning sista!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

NOng nong nvr see!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HOw are you?Xavier terrorizing the house?lol

My house always in a mess too!Jade and Meghan also a full time terrorist![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

When both at home ...my house like WWIII!!!=.='''

Very busy chasing after the lil one!She started to snatch toys from Jade!And things she don't get she will cry and scream!But only ended at few secs....

So when u gonna get xavier another sibling?

Ann, I'm trying to ignore the grinding too... But I do wonder if it will hv any impact.

Princess, really nong time no see! Lucas have 4 teeth now. Hmm... Then I better go find the teething gel. : p.

I'm also middle child. N my dad is the traditional Chinese man who favors boys but I know he loves me in a different way. Example, I never knew or rather had the need to cook instant noodles when I was growing up cos my dad will make afternoon snacks for me. My bro ever ask me if I thot my dad practice favoritism but I'm ok with what hv. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello..what's up everybody :D good morning!!

have been busy lately so din post on the forum but hv been reading on & off.

princessD, like button? can.. we can 'create' ourselves. Or rather can have DISLIKE button? =P

well said to mummies who shared about favoritism :D i believe all parents love their each & every child equally. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] every child is a god-send.

mummies & ian, has your little one been sleeping thru the night? my little nat 'decides' that lately she wanna wake up in the middle of night.. tossed & turned.. and make eh eh eh sound. making me so walking zombie now

sis> yeah xavier left me with aching arms over the weekend..zzzz..no walker at home..and keeps wanting to be carried after awhile..-__-""

next yr i suppose..lol..already having big headache looking after this fella even for 1-2 days lor..he's too active la~ cant imagine if next one also same pattern as him :X

sista!

Hahahhaha..nvr mind..when the 2nd one comes.....xavier will have company..less worry![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Jia you!!Same pattern good mah!At least something in common!!buahahahahhahhah!!!!!!!!

Now u know how "wei da" is SAHM!!buahahhahahah!!!!!!not easy when you ave lil terror at home!I stoked up lozenges at home...i dunno about you!lol

Emmie,

im just guessing it might help..jsut hope that it will not be a habit later on where mouth guard have to be use!

*raise hand* im one of them ....hheeeheee[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My dad too on favoring the boy....but again..my bro really a good boy!I remember tying my bro at the tree trunk and pretend he got shot!THen used a masking tape to taped his hair to pretend him wearing hairband...(afterwhich my bro got a stretch of bald patch cos those masking tape i used are very GAO LAT!!Super sticky type...then throw away my bro's stinky blanket..locked my bro in the toilet and more!My nanny attempt to cane me but i run away to my neighbours house to eat n sleep there(find shelter) lol..lists goes on....

so my mom said.....do u see urself terrorizing at home??????aske u rock ur bro u swing his yao lan and hit his head at the altar!buahahhaha

I love my bro so much!heeheeehee....no wonder my mom gave up!!ROFL!!si fun jsut by thinking about it!.....no wonder my parents gotta PROTECT my bro so much!!!NOw i dare not do that ..cos my bro's hand is bigger than my face..*gulp*!

Bblibran

Ok ok "like" and "dislike" button!!wahhahahaha

Hope Nat goes back to her routine soon....has she been playing too mcuh in the day?

princessD - LIKE

i hope so too.. it is very tiring for both hub & me waking up a few times in the middle of nite. mm.. playing too much ah? ok la.. but she definitely has been napping lesser than before in the day. but i thot this wld tire her more & zzz str in the night? anyway, will just have to see how ba.. *YAWNZ*

bblibran

hahahha....

Ermm...not really..some or most kids can't sleeps well if they are over stimulated in the day...they will cry or crank up during their night sleeps...even to toddlers age...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bblibran, princess d

V paiseh to give dislike button hor. Lol.

Im also middle child. I feel my mum favors my bros more, but actually my bros said my mum favor me more. Wahaha.

Thats why so difficult to 'measure' love.. and no mtter how fair parents r, the children can intrepret it differently

Anyway i agree mother's love is unconditional n mostly fair to their children.

Seabreeze,

Thumbs up for u!! Not easy juggling with 3 ( + 1) children

Ann ...

You too!! See from your FB that niko is super active! He botak look *like*

Princess Dia ...

Wow your brother still love you ar ... I will 'DISLIKE' you already hahaha

bblibran ...

Princess is correct ... when they nap well in the day ... they can actually sleep better at night. Meaning that they are less wakeful. Cos if they are overly tired, it may be wasy to put them to zzzz but will keep waking up.

hello mummies and Ian!

xin

u try giving him diapers he also will bite.. they bite practically almost everything now. not only hands and legs... so why isit weird leh? hahaha.. from floor to towel to clothes to hair to fingers to remote control... EVERYTHING! get the idea? lol

ian

u already very steady as a papa already leh! being so involved with xavier and so on~ i show my mum and granny all the babies pics.. my granny say Xavier got a very "seng mok" face.. like very smart and alert like that... hahaha

i can't wait to brinG Aedan to swim too~ but his papa always busy...

hello seabreeze, teoong, ann, emmie, bblibran, princess! hello ebriboody (barberella style!) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Isaac loves to bite too and it is super painful bcos he has 6 teeth and he dun bite big mouthful. Bite a little and PULL......!!!! Faint.

I still think favoritism exists. My dad used to openly declares that my sis is his favorite child. But gg thru it makes me more conscious and reminds me to treat my kids fairly.

ANN

you wanna gimme a "dislike" button??WHYYYYYY?????LOLahahhahahahahaha

Seabreeze

Y you dislike me?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] whahahahah....this kind of childhood memory CONFIRMED stay till die!LOL

hahahhaa.......my bro and i are partner in crime le....thats why he so lovable lor,scold him oso not feeling type de ....not now that he is like a GIANT la...LOL

HIHI SHIN![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zuen

true la favoritism does exists but like wat you said......we try not to bring it to our child since we are aware of it...if its not it will be endless..LOL

Absolutely agreed with your thought "reminds me to treat my kids fairly"!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Isaac bite pull bite pull what???LOL!!!!