(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

booboobear.. YES I AM! oh gosh, i m chasing the drama like siao. anyway if u hv iphone, now there is a free app to dl - pptv. can view on phone but better to connect using wireless cos might be faster.

sometimes Nat will burp on her own but more of the occasions she doesnt burp. so i was wondering do i still need to burp her diligently like she was as a newborn for a good 15mins?

mm.. planning to go genting. but hor, the journey is very long ie 6 hrs. nt sure Nat can take it or not. how abt u? where u planning

hi booboobear, xin and emmie,

i also order tingkat for dinner. too bz with kids. n dont like cooking too.

which one did u use? i use neo garden. so far so good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bblibran,

Planning to go Phuket, short flight time and lots of accomodation choices with kitchenette. This is like a trial trip, if she does well on the flight, we'll try to go back to Sydney next. I still burp my girl after every meal but it's just very very brief. She won't sit still for us to pat her for too long.

carebear,

I order from Neo garden too! Haha... I ordered from Natal essentials for confinement cuz I didn't have confinement lady then we continued normal tingkat from their affiliation, Mom's cooking. Now trying Neo garden, it's cheaper but portions are smaller and dishes are simpler.

hi booboobear

yes. their dishes are nice n simple. do u know u will get 10% off if u pay 2 mths in advance.? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

booboobear, yup, my boy decided to make his appearance on 24 Sep instead. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So he's turning 9mths next friday. Will cry when told he finished his food. :p he likes to go into the kitchen cos he knows that;s where food comes from...hahahah... I'm also watching HK drama... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

carebearQ, I don't mind cooking but no time. evenings are crazy and I don't like to cook in advance. Yet I can tahan tingkat. Weird I know... :p

I tried Mom's Cooking (very good...but EXPENSIVE!), and tiffin carrier (not worth the price). Now on Empire Food. Portion enough for 2A1C except on days where they give things like fried chicken drumsticks.

bblibran, I don't diligently burp my boy. Cant recall when exactly I stopped doing it. But he tends to burp himself.

Question for mummies :

Do you think babies who are not swaddled in first month tends to be insecure when older? My friend and I are having this 'argument'.

booboobear,

not bad lei.. still got trial trip.. LOL! so cute la. give it a try ba. just like i hv been thinking & now trying to take the first step :D

hi emmie

hahha me too . me n my hubby can tahan tingkat

tks for sharing the info. maybe i can try empire food or others when im sick of neo garden [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tks tks

Good Afternoon all~~

I need advice on something....

Is anybody using those Intelligent cleaning robot thingy? The round vacuum cleaner that "walks" around your house automatically. I've seen a demo of it earlier and is pretty interested because I'm really tired of having to vacuum the hairs and dust everyday. It's not very cheap, so I wanna see if any other mummies using it and whether it's worth the price.

This thread is moving so fast??!!! Just a few days of not logging in and it's moved a few pages!

I've been busy making new hair clips for my girls lately, and my husband is quite happy. Because those ribbons and accessories I bought are left collecting dust for quite some time! But been spending so much time making them till I'm so tired and lack of sleep recently!

Shin

HELLO~~ We've only met each other once and yet we can still recognize each other on the streets huh! Say liao you also won't believe. I was walking past Mango before I met you, and I saw a lady who resembles you. I was thinking whether is it you, then I told myself, can't be, since you don't stay in the east, and 1 hour later, I saw you!! Such a coincidence lor!!! And both you and Aedan are looking GREAT! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bblibran

I guess Nat should be ok with Genting? We drove up to Cameron Highland + Perak last month and my girl was ok with the long car ride, but cannot sit for long in the car seat, so me and my hubby took turns driving / carrying her.

Booboobear

How's our east side gathering har? No news liao?

Dovey, how's the shopping? I'm using the irobot daily. Quite clean I would say but.can't get under my sofa or narrow corners. happy with it as I can set it to wander while I settle the baby morning bath n nap. Now my hubby wants to get the version that can mop!

Emmie

Shopping - Good for me and the kids, no good for the daddy. Cos he's picking up the tabs! Haha~

The one I saw comes with the mopping function. I was quite hesitant about buying it, but now that there's 1 good review, I can persuade my husband to part with more of his $$ then. Thanks~~

hi dovery

tks tks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wow now i hv some many choices for tingkat. can try one by one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bblibran, i din diligently burp my boy. Sometimes will pat pat him a while.

xin, my ss not much to start with. After returning to work from maternity leave, i started pumping till really not much. Then i just stopped pumping. The ss just stopped by itself wor.

Pull up pants/dry pants

Any one start using this?

Eh i saw got 2 types. Any different?

I start to think if want to try pull up diaper cos my boy really difficult to get him change lo. Twist and toss and turn when changing his diaper. Aiyo... always break out to sweat when changing him. Need alot energy and give him something to keep him still. Headache ah! Very notti! haha!

thanks dovey.. when i heard 6 hrs i flip. LOL

ya bb are their age wont be able to sit too long. u r right. gonna take turn lor.

wow, u can still make your own clips for the little gal. i dont have the creative trait, so usually will just buy off the shelves. some so ex.

emmie, i tried empire. din really like theirs like wat i have told dovey. will try her suggestions in the near future.

thanks for replying on the burping. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dovey, cheaper to get from US if u have someone who can bring it back for u. If u get the version with the mopping function, then u can review and let me know if it's good, hubby says some reviews says it leave a track mark... I'm still hoping to outsource my mopping!

bblibran

Hope Nat will enjoy the cooling weather there!

Ya, the clips are so expensive! I'm not creative at all! I just copied the design off the web. hehe

Empire

I used to order from Empire, frankly speaking, their food not very nice, as compared to others I've tried.

Emmie

The one I saw is from korea. Waiting for my hubby to call me when he finishes work later, then must try to persuade him cos I've spent quite a lot of $$ recently. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bblibran,

yeah was away on long trip plus me has been sick along with the boys for 2 months... So tiring.. Coughing my lungs out and throat hurt like hell ....As a sahm no public holidays no mc no off day!!!

Finally sneak out to colour my ugly hair now... Haven't done anything to my hair for 6 months...

Warning to all mummies,

pd told me there's a spike in pneunococal cases and it's very virulent and causing very bad damage... So he advise me to keep the kids away from school n crowds if possible...

Take good care everyone... The weather is bad n flu virus getting stronger, harder to recover...

I remember when I had my #1, I tend to fall sick very often during the 1st yr... Think history is repeating itself with the lack of sleep n irregular meals...

Harlow everyone, popping in to say 'hi', esp to the new mummies!

Had added some of you in FB and my initial is AW. *Waves to booboobear*

Short intro about myself, currently a SAHM to 2 boys, staying in the east. Had been a while since i posted but still a silent reader to catch up on the latest 'happening'!

been really bz the past few weeks as both boys are down with a really bad cough. Kor kor is still coughing and ayden is much better but down with a slight running nose last night.

My granny passed away last week hence it's been a really crazy week going down all the way to Jurong for 5 days for the wake. Both the boys are extremely exhausted and their napping & sleeping time had gone haywired! Am still trying to fine tune the timing.

ok, little one is up, will pop in again after his milk feed.=P

melissa!! Long time no c u in here! Life must be hectic wif 3 kiddos. ;)

Ade, sorry to hear abt yr grandmas passing. Hope u n e boys get enuf rest.

Dovey, e irobot got mop function oso ah? Where u saw it? How much? I badly need one, pt maid comes once a wk but within 2 days dirty already coz i live by e main rd. Been wanting to get one but dunno good or not.

Booboobear, im waiting for e fb invite too!

Princess_d haf a gd day out wif jade!

Dovey!

I was wondering why you disappeared these few days haha. I just took baby in a carrier to Tamp mall to buy Fathers' Day card and small pressie for hubby. My first shopping trip with her alone, happy! It was a short short trip so all I brought was a nappy and wipes in my handbag hahaha. Such a coincidence, you meeting Shin.

As for the gathering, was stardust meant to update us when her boy was feeling better? Also didn't see her last few days... Want to meet next week or after school hols? East mummies and those who don't mind travelling to Tamp, any preference on dates?

bblibran,

I've been thinking for a long time too. Initially planned to go Sydney in May, but couldn't work out how to bring fbm, how to pump on the flight, and couldn't decide whether day or night flight is better. So we gave up, too complicated. Now itching for a short getaway, see how baby takes the flight.

carebear,

Thanks for the tip! But don't think will do 2 months in a row, I like to go out for dinner then walk around the malls a bit..hee...

Emmie,

So clever your boy, know where the food source is lol. I love Mom's cooking's soups, but ya they are one of the more expensive caterers. On swaddling, hard to tell if their insecurity is due to not swaddling, but my girl was swaddled for months cuz she sleeps better and longer lol.

Jadefeet

Must take good care of yourself too ok!

Ade

Condolence to you and your family. Trust all of you are coping just fine, especially the kids. Hope your boys recover fast and soon!

Marissa

Yup, the new ones comes with mapping and mopping function. Saw it outside Parkway Giant, they having demo till Sunday. Can go to their website and see www.iclebo.com.sg Selling at $868 or $838 I can't remember.

From their demo I see like not bad la, because I also very lazy and tired to vacuum everyday, since Jovis is learning to crawl now, must maintain the cleanliness. My floor is full of hairs! Plus nearby PIE so gets dusty easily too. If you wanna get one too hor, let me know, I try to see if I can get the boss to gives us discount or not. Hee~

Booboobear

Miss me huh! Lol.

So happy for you that you took the first step in bringing her out alone!! Well done!!! Next time can bring her out for longer period liao! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am fine in meeting next week, how about Friday 24th?

Dovey, how much is the one you saw?

Marissa, yes irobot has one model that is for mopping...called scooba.

Booboo bear, think he notices that every time I come out from the kitchen, there's food for him. :p. That's what I think of swaddling too. How to tell whether insecurity is due to non-swaddling but she insists and her baby hates to be swaddled! The only link I see is that it stops them from startling themselves awake.

Empire catering

Maybe I have gotten used to their style. Quite ok... I shd change caterers one day...too lazy. :p

Xin,

The intention of hand expressing is to release pressure and not empty breasts so I guessed wun be able to get rid of the lumps. What I did the last time is to drag express but I wasnt successful the 1st time too. Slowly drag until ss dropped then finally stopped altogether.

BBlin,

Yday Isaac managed to sit up on his own liao. Then he attempted to use the rail to stand up. -.o" So dangerous.

Re: Holidays

Isaac been to Genting and on cruise. Both are easy destinations with babies. For Genting, we took night coach and flight back so it was easy traveling. Cruise even easier. Once board ship got cabin waiting for us liao. Hehe.

Hi dovey, booboobear,

Sorry Mia past few days! Ya my boy's still got a stuffy nose, but shd be well in a couple of days. Fri I can't, could we make thurs instead?

mummies:

At this age can our babies take lotus root soup? My mil jus fed my boy lotus root porridge with some kind of bean which I dunno wat it's called. I'm abit worried abt wat my mil is feeding my boy these days...

hi stellasr

the soup salty? if salty better dont'r ur boy to drink.

for bean, i think too young to introduce ( if im not wrong).

im v kiasee. i only let my no 2 try new food a bit by bit.

hi booboobear

me also like dine out. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] nvm. i will try to go our more when my gals are bigger [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

carebearQ,

No it's not salty but babies can take lotus root anot? N the beans are the dried kind. Round, white inside w brown skin. My mil insists that it's ok for bb n it wil boost his appetite. I dun really trust her on that though... She already made soup for the porridge with soy beans before. Tell her not to she wun listen...

hello

any mummies interested to let your baby attend My Little Genius at the kovan branch for their july intake?

Their teaching like Shichida.

We can khaki and join together.

got my long waited break - hee hee my hubby took 3 day leave and we went on a impromptu shopping trip to JB yesterday. just the 3 of us so we slowly shop, eat and drive. so relaxing. Could not take a longer trip as he need to do some work his afternoon and return to office tonight (yah even when he is on leave). looking forward to tmr [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin - I also noone to rant to. just have to rant here and take it easy on our own. at least you can bring yr baby out on your own - see I still struck at home with my baby as I can't cope. now he is teething which is my nightmare worst time as he is so clingy to me til my hubby said call him "superglue".

xin/ann

yup sometimes i already eating overnight food! hahaha.. as in like buy the day before [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princessD

thanks! hows ur pamper urself day with jade? heehee

emmie

yah my lunch i will eat once i feed Aedan... actually i did consider ordering tingkat.. initially my hubby say like a bit expensive.. but now he say maybe can consider.. hahaa..

bblin/bblibran

hk dramas fans also?

i am like a big hk drama addict lah!!!! wahahahaha

i already finished the No Regrets... then I went to rent the first part (Rosy Business).. also finished watching liao... both also good!!!! must watch lah! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bblibran

i dont burp Aedan anymore. lol

booboobear

yah now i am considering ordering tingkat cos sometimes cooking also really too lazy and disruptive lah! hahaha..

yup! my dad knows i love to watch hk dramas. hahaha... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so neo garden is quite good? the tingkat?

dovey

yah HELLO! the world so small lor! heehee!

didnt expect to meet u there also! lol.. i was there cos my mum and granny wanna go there and so we brought Aedan along lor! u are super leh! can bring ur little girl plus 2 elder kids out on ur own??? lol

bblin

i am using mamy poko easy fit pants and also for going out i am using the mamy poko pull up pants (the more expensive one). also at night when he sleeps i use the normal mamy poko diapers.. and once in a while mixture with pampers active cos that time buy already need to use...

IT IS REALLY MUCH EASIER! lol... but for the easy fit pull up pants, if u get to see the diaper, there is like the band area around the waist which is thinner.. so when Aedan poos a lot, it will smudge through that thin layer.. but its not a big problem lah.. so far can contain the pee and poo ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ade

hello!!!! long time never see ur posts here!!hope kor kor and little ayden quickly get well soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sorry to hear abt ur granny.... do take care!

Stella

ur MIL also one kind ah.. quite stubborn ah! i am not sure abt the lotus root thing leh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

booboobear/dovey/stardust

u all meeting thursday at tamps?

wouldnt it be very crowded? haha.. what time u all mtg? keep me updated.. maybe i can join in [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Metta

yah sometimes i think my hubby also so busy with work.. so sometimes i rant to him, also rant to my mum.. hahaha.. sometimes i pek cek ... i have no one to talk to then i come here lor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] mummies here do give good advices [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i took my very first step in bringing aedan out alone with encouragements from mummies here.. i still rmb my first time bringing him out was to meet the mummies at Marche! hahaha.. my boy also recently quite clingy leh.. but dont care lah! if i am not tired i will bring him out... if not i will rot with him at home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stardust,

I'm okay with Thurs. Dovey, Marrissa, Emma, you girls ok with Thurs? Hope I didn't miss out anyone...

Anymore mummies want to join us in the east?

Zuen,

I'm so envious, you've already been on holiday twice. How did your boy sleep in the overnight coach? How did you sterilise the bottles on the cruise? Were you nursing your boy? My milk situation was a major deterrence for us to go anywhere...

carebear,

I guess it's harder to eat out all the time when you have 2 little ones. One is already quite a challenge. But they grow up real fast and it'll get easier...I hope...

i am looking at the tingkat caterers u all recommended... i know it makes sense they provide 5 days a week... but i wanna choose like 3 days a week u think they will provide? hahaha.. think must call up... so far i see only empire food offers for 1 pax leh..

Shin,

Join us! Neo garden's tingkat is not bad for the price, very simple dishes though. You can do a 10-day trial first. Ya Dovey quite amazing right? She takes care of 3 kids all by herself most of the time!

Metta,

Isn't it very therapeutic to come here and rant? Hahaha... I wish I had joined much earlier. Keeps me sane when there's no one to talk to at home.

Ade,

Sorry to hear about your granny, my condolences to you and your family.

Stella,

I'm also not sure about lotus root, but I think Lilbluey might know.

Zuen,

Your baby no problem sleeping in unfamilar places? My baby can't lei. I tried at chalet and he cried so badly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but I'm going to try again. Not going to give up ! hee

Shin

ha ha ya I rot with my baby at home and face colour turing yellow due to lack of sunshine.

I find taxi fare too ex so I have been bringing baby on bus, LRT and MRT rides. So far he is getting better but got to do more "training" before i venture out further. My furthest ride was to Nex. hope to travel from Punggol to Vivo soon! Another to try is 1 hour bus ride to tampines! A SAHM milestone or PMP?! haha ...

Recently he will cry when see strangers (esp if they smile or talk to him.) For Malay or Indians, they just need to stand next to him (esp in lift) and he will cry! alamak I dont know what to do also. My neighbours are indian and then he like this! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I have reassured him but situation not improving a lot. is this a phrase? i hope so and quickly get over it!

Shin

Hubby always not around so no choice have to be alone lor.

Actually weekday Tamp not so crowded, but weekend is another story altogether!! I always avoid going to malls on weekends, no lots, must wait forever for lifts, and the queues at restaurants are so long!!

Booboobear/stardust

Thurs I can't make it as it's hubby's birthday and I "forced" him to come home on that day, since he's working in the waters near Tuas. (Actually the birthday is an excuse only la, main reason is cos I'm doing rebonding on that day and I want him to look after Jovis together with my sis so that I feel more assured). I'm fine with any other day, stardust, since you're working then how about you give us another day which you're free? Tue? Wed?

Xin

Thanks!! Shall check it out tomorrow!!

booboobear

yes very therapeutic even when no one replies to my thread (as thread moves very fast on some days)! already feel better just ranting online :p

Catering:

I think the minimum is 4 days a week. For 1 pax, only empire has it, and house of catering too. But no difference in the menu between these 2, all from the same source but empire slightly cheaper.

Metta

I guess it's just a phase babies go through. The next time he cries at Malay/Indians, just smile and pretend nothing happens lor, what to do right... Lol

booboobear

yah let me know if i can make it i will meet up with u all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but the neo garden one is for 2 pax leh... portion a lot? cos most of the time its only for myself anyway [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

metta

hahaha i am also rotting at home! with aedan and my dramas.. lol

dovey

u power lah! but one thing lucky is ur 2 elder ones are much older so they also can take care of themselves... but still!!!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] good job!

stardustxx

30th June should be ok also...

next week mon-wed i cant [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks for coordinating!

I saw that some of you are giving babies some puff? May i know what its called and where to buy? My parents are visiting me and i am thinking of asking them to buy some baby food stuff from SG. Any recommendation on finger food for baby? Here quite limited and my boy isnt even interested in those baby biscuits they have here.

Also just went for pd checkup. Sigh..he only put on 100g since 1.5mths ago. Only 7.9kg at 8.5mths and height only grew 1.5cm. PD saying its slightly below average..so ask me to introduce more solid since my boy doesnt want to drink milk. He say can eat all kind of veg and meat liao. Also suggested giving egg yolk either with soup or veg. And also to let my boy try adult natural favor yoghurt (since he had diarrhea when he took the one meant for baby some time back). Sigh...

hellos! so exciting got gathering! Stardust thanks for coordinating! i should be fine with Thur 30 June. May arrive late or leave early depending on Ethan's lunch / nap time.

loca, try cooking milk with rice and the other meat / vegetables into a thick porridge (ang moh call it rice pudding)? That's what I do and my boy loves it. Can put egg yolk into the porridge too. FOr the puff, it's the Happy Baby, get from the Agape babies BP or website. http://www.agapebabies.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=58&products_id=300

Alternatively get Gerbers from NTUC. I haven't given my boy any of these puffs yet though, except fro the Organix rice cakes which he likes. I limit to one cake a day so that it doesn't affect his appetite.

http://www.agapebabies.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=58&products_id=349

Morning everyone! Happy weekend!

stardust, Shin, Emma,

I'm good with 30 Jun too. Dovey, Marrissa, ok with you?

Shin,

Neo garden's portions are not very big. Mom's cooking used to do 1 pax few months back, they must've just changed. Their portions are bigger, more expensive too.

Gathering

I'm ok with 30th. Shall we set it as follows:

Date: 30 June

Time: 12pm

Venue: Swensens @ Tampines Mall

Attending:

Dovey + Jovis

Booboobear + Alyssa

Stardust + baby

Marissa + Sofea

Emma + Ethan

Shin + Aedan

Stardust, what's your name of your boy huh? Don't think you've mentioned it before.

Anybody else wanna join us?

Ok so far 30th Jun, booboobear, shin, Emma. 12pm-2pm at swensens Tampines mall? Dovey, marissa?

Lilbluey,

U mentioned si Shen for improving aPpetite, is it e same as e si sen brown rice dat we can get from supermarket?

Loca,

My boy oso same weight as urs at 8.5 months. Pd oso said he's a little small. E puffs I give happy baby. Can get from four seasons organic mArket, vitakids, or pink of health at millennia walk. Now four seasons got Gss so cheaper. Or get online like Emma mentioned. Ever since i gave my son e puffs and he took to them so well, I've introduced other finger goods too, like steamed bits of carrot, sweet potato, pear etc anything that can pick up with fingers basically. He apparently doesn't like spoon! Only wants fingers. Wat a primitive baby I've got! Hah.