(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Claudia> DO NOT give honey! My colleague said he gives honey to his baby when she's not 1 year old yet, then his baby got diarrhea!! And lose 0.5-1 kg after that!!

Thanks to mummies who replied on honey.

Luckily i never give to my boy though my uncle told me can give as i also remembered hearing some elderly says can only give honey/royal jelly when child turn 1 yr old. I just feed him lukewarm water frequently hopefully to thin or clear his phlegm. I hope he get well soon too. His cough has been very drastic esp at night, he cough so loud till i hear also heart pain. He cough until he vomit outs his milk, which he feels good after that, happy for him but i stay up till very late to clear up the mess. Tonight he vomits again and i m hearing him coughing while typing this..

Groovy!!Lost weight..so serious? My this poor little boy also lost weight after coughing for 4 days..initially he was 10kg at 5 mths old but now weighs 9.3kg during his visit to the pd last mon. no more chub chub, now he looks so jelly..

Princess,

Bb goes to Dr Terence Tan at Mt. A and he is prescribed Iliadin nasal decongestant solution for his runny nose, ventolin for his phlegm, mucolexin for his cough and paracertamol for his slight fever. Initially he doesnt want to give him any medication as pd said its best not to give medication to babies under 6mths old but he gave my boy as he said his cough is quite bad, scared may lead to asthma. My heart almost fall out when i heard this. He feels so irritated and cranky. sometimes wants to be cuddled and pat to sleep and sometimes wants to be left alone. He has been so difficult these few days..hopefully this phase will passed soon..Oh Meghan has runny nose and cough for 2 weeks! thats mean another week of sleepless nights for me ..His mucus is clear and sometimes greenish and he is not given any antibiotics..he still cough badly, don't know shld i bring him to see another pd or??

Hi Zuen,

My boy also got really bad eczema. Whole body also kenna including face. We went to a skin specialist and he gave him steroid cream, 1 wk already still not really improved.

And his face has "open" skin with lots of pus so doc said infected need to take antibotics...see already so heartpain.

Think its really itchy too. He keeps waking up at night trying to scratch has face.

Oh and doc also told us to add oat into his bath. No need use soap. I used to be using Mustela.

Isaac fell off the bed this morning! Boohoo. He has been sleeping on the junior bed and there is this bed rail that covers 3/5 of the opening lor. Duno how this silly boy managed to flip off the bed. Cried so badly, I heartpain. I think he didnt land head 1st, no bump or bruise. Will have to monitor him for the day. Well, I expect kids to fall off bed but didnt expect it to be so soon. Feel like a lousy mummy. Hb has to try to convert the junior bed back to cot this evening.

Claudia,

Ya, when baby down with flu, they usually take about 2 weeks to fully recover. Isaac also lost weight when he was down with flu last week. Lost appetite and was uber cranky. Their cough will be especially bad at night bcos of the mucus backflow. He was only given nose drop and paracetamol. No other medicine.

Loca,

Isaac too. His neck is horrible, the other parts affected are all the skin folds. His face is constantly red. May make him look cute from a distance but actually sore and itchy. -.o" His skin breaks too if they are sore for too long and we dun "save" it by moisturising. I went to see both PD and KKH doctor and they all refuse to give medication just say to like soap free bath foam and lots of moisturiser.

Add what oat into the bath? How much to add? I am using QV now. And lots of baby california. Baby california doesnt fully control his eczema but helps to tame. Then alternate with Dr Lily aloe vera gel and that paw paw cream thing. I realised that prolong use of one cream loses its effect. What are you using?

You have any famiy history on ezcema? My hb side got. You started weaning liao? There is a higher chance for food allegry.

Morning mummies.

Claudia,

How long has your boy been coughing? If terence has seen him recently, should be fine. You may go to see another doctor if he is better after 5 days of medication my boy, darius was coughing for more than a month seen few doctors, all say too young, don't give medication. He was coughing so badly until I feel wheezing sound from his breathing. and when he coughed hard, he will vomit milk and sometimes phlegm will fly out from his mouth finally, I took him to a famous pd in bukit timah. He.felt better after 1 day of medication but he need.to take anti biotics

zuen:

my dd used to have ezcema, but have already clear of it ..

was give moisturiser by PD, (brand, korean) Dr atope and some antiseptic cream.. I was told to apply moisturiser first then follow by e antiseptic cream.

shireen n claudia:

previously, my dd was also down with cough n flu. during then, PD give antibiotics n flu medicine. dd recover after a week on anti.

Good morning Mommies and Ian[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Claudia,

Is your choice to bring to see another PD onot?Dr Terence Tan is a good PD however all Pd have their ways of assessment and prescribing meds[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Diarhhea will usually let them go passing out as much as possible and we just gotta constantly feed them lots n lots of fluid to prevent dehydration.

But if your boy been coughing for long...like 1week...bring him to see another PD..

I will always avoid going to KKH because i had bad experienced in KKH!and they always suggest admission which i hate it!!(touch wood...)

Meghan cough for 1 week and i can tell that her cough are due to her congestion in her airway....So i brought her to PD and she was put on meds (above mentioned) adn also antibiotics cos she had difficulty in breathing (looking at her side of her chest....when she breathe in..is sunken in![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif])She was then diagnosed as bronchilitis.

After 1 week,she was off neubulizer and antibiotics and now ok![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I suspect tat it was Jade who brought those germs back cos couple of weeks back,she had 1 day of runny nose!

DOn't worry about his lost of weight!He will put on after when he is well.....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]This is part n parcel of growing up!I was like you too when Jade had all this spmtoms when she was 5mths and then i went berserk[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Really heartache to see the so sick!...HOpe your boy recover well[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Claudia

Just for your Info,Antibiotics usually are prescribe only if the case is kinda severe otw they will not encourage the bb to take antibiotics....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning..!

Haih... my bestie is excited alrdy abt the gel nails pckge but hubby said no !

Actually he said... "up to u" in a weird manner. I take it as a no...

Huhu....

Morning all!

Claudia, hope your boy feels better soon. Btw, ventolin does not clear phlegm. It opens up the airways to 'ease' coughing out the phlegm. To dissolve phlegm, flumicil is quite good. My paed prescribes that for my baby.

Zuen, my boy's left side of the face is always patchy too! Everyday apply the CB calendula and moisturizer and alternate with the mess prescribed by paed. Hubby says he permanently scarred. Choyyyyyyy... I also scare frequent use of one brand will lead to immunity.

Morn mummies,

Baby Kayden has finally took to the bottle (I hope). Yesterday make 120ml for him n he finished it. When he saw the bottle he cried a bit but still drink. After that still give me happy n satisfied look. Haha.

I've also started to use the Mag Mag beaker to teach him to drink water from there. Nw wen he sees the cup, he'll open his mouth. So cute lor.

Zuen:

My boy used to hv red patches n dry skin also. Not sure if it's eczema cos PD nvr say. But after I tried using the CB calendular cream. Much better now. His face no longer got the red patches. Only hands still gt a bit n I realized only wen he's sweaty or hot then more obvious.

I try to keep his sleeping area n play area clean lor.

Something to share......LOL

ders not ‘cultured’ enough for Holland Village?

By Angela Lim | SingaporeScene – Thu, Mar 24, 2011 5:03 PM SGT

Email

Print

A resident at Holland Village criticises local Heartlanders on national radio. (Yahoo! Photo)

An angry rant on radio about how Singapore's 'heartlanders' do not jive with 'cultured' folks who live in Holland Village has sparked outrage among netizens in Singapore.

(Listen to rant here)

The caller, identified only as Samantha, phoned in to 91.3FM's The Married Men on Wednesday morning and began her tirade on how local heartlanders should stay away away from Holland Village if they are not "high-class".

"I live in Holland Village, and I just can't understand why people from the heartlands want to come here. We people are cultured, and you heartlanders are definitely not cultured," she said.

She defines heartlanders as being "people from Ang Mo Kio, Yishun, Toa Payoh and the nearby Bukit Batok" who "have no manners", "talk loudly" and wear "cheap clothes from Bugis Street".

"People who come here are cultured. So if you want to come here, you know, when you're in Rome, behave like a Roman. When you're in Holland, behave like us -- cultured people. "

Her message to heartlanders?

"Please stay where you are, I think you fit best there."

Another caller, Maddy, who lives in Bedok responded to Samantha's comments on air saying, "Every heartlander earns their money, so why can't we go? We go there for good food, that's what they're known for, so why aren't we allowed there?"

Maddy dismisses her comments as "major stereotyping", claiming many renowned schools are located in the heartlands and that people who live there are perfectly capable of carrying themselves well.

Popular radio deejay Rod Monteiro, one-third of The Married Men, told Yahoo! Singapore that listeners who responded after the show unanimously disapproved of Samantha's remarks.

Monteiro, who lives in Siglap, said, "It's not just the locals, even expats thought what she said was unwarranted. Even a foreigner living in Simei called in to say Samantha's comments were elitist."

"Personally, I feel that it's one people, one nation, one Singapore. It's not really about how we dress. Of course, we should dress well while eating at posh restaurants, but when it comes to eating at Holland Village's coffee shops, people should be allowed to wear what they want," he added.

Residents in Holland Village seem to agree.

Linus Choo, 22, a business student at MDIS said, "Her view is careless and myopic. She definitely does not spend much time there, because if she did, she would know that the community is very much made of heartlanders -- the residents themselves."

Yew Lee Peng, 24, who lives in a HDB flat in Holland Village added, "It really depends on the purpose of going to Holland Village.... I won't wear a gown to do my grocery shopping, right?"

Student Jojo Tan, 20, said, "I've seen fights and there was a case of a couple walking naked around some time back. I doubt that is very 'cultured'. But the vibe is indeed different from other parts of Singapore -- it is a very Westernised place and unlike other areas, the people are generally more polite and friendlier."

Follow Yahoo! News on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

princess_d> Hahahha... My husband last time stays in HDB nearby Holland V, and we used to go and eat there wearing only our "Home Clothes".

Even NUS students are going there to eat! They might the one wearing cheap clothes from Bugis Street. Huehehhehe..

another silly bimbo. hope she reads the news and get angry!! haha! gonna tell my hubby to go there more often and wear t-shirt + shorts + slippers there.

Wow who is this samantha? So high and mighty??

if she so atas go stay in BT TIMAH area la. Holland village is not atas enuff for her.

Imagine if u stay there then wanna go downstairs buy food from hawker but take one hr to make up and dress up nicely to go ta bao ur food... make sense anot?

How come she knows abt "cheap clothes from bugis st"?? She must have been mingling ard bugis st long enough too.. wahaha.

Emmie,

That is really wat happen. If I use one kind of cream for too long, I realized that e effect diminished. Then I will stop n switch to something else n it will have a better effect when I switch back after awhile.

Xin,

Heat n dryness are usually the main culprit. I m not too sure if e condition will be triggered by dirt leh.

Wah... have been really busy lately, barely had time to read the postings in here... how's everyone?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

This samantha woman is really too much. Like to play dress-up and act ATAS ... she just doesn't fit in Singapore.. She should just get out...

please lor

Wear branded stuffs but picket empty oso useless wat!! Only those wannabe will talk thus way!

Talk without filtering the brain! Got a brain , use it!!

But I was laughing out loud when u saw thus posting yesterday! Then today my homepage got her "fans" storming in on wat she have said!

Tsk tsk tsk ....regardless on how n wat u wear!

my HB first to condemn ! Muahaaaa !!

morning!!!!

Claudia

If u believe in tcm, when aedan was having cough and I fed him western med... He still have. Lotta phlegm so I gave him pak Poh powder from eu Yan sang and the phlegm was gone! It does help![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess

Wah she must be one kind stupiak (from the noose) bimbo! If I go there eat zi char then what? I must wear nice nice and make up ah? Or I go cold storage... I must wear gown? Kns. I think her eyes growing at her butt! Of cos we know when to dress up and when not to right? Lol

Just wondering, mummies who are using formula milk to dilute the cereal, how many scoop you use for each tbs of cereal?

I'm going to buy the healthy times cereal to be tried to Josie this weekend..

groovy,

i make about 30ml of milk (half a scoop of similac) and add cereal to it till i get the consistency i want. if too thick or too thin, just add more water or cereal bit by bit. hope this helps.

i'll be bringing my boss' toy poodle home tonight because he's on holiday so colleagues take turns to 'babysit' his dog. hope jadelyn will enjoy her new friend. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my hubby is very happy!! he likes dogs and find the poodle very adorable.

Actually I was wondering whether if I dilute the cereal with formula milk, can 1 month finish 1 can of formula milk?

Because I know that formula milk once opened can only be kept for 30 days. huhu..

I'm not gonna drop my pumping session in office anymore now.. Maybe only if the company moves somewhere so far away that I won't have time to prepare everything every morning.. huhu..

Actually what I'm afraid is because last time there's one article about children is more prone to iron-deficiency anaemia if they are only been given breast milk. Since iron in breast milk is not enough anymore when the baby grows older..

I have a history of anaemia, so I'm afraid if Josie will be the same.. So I'm thinking to at least give 1 formula milk a day, by dilute it with cereal..

bblibran,

his dog is very adorable. and very guai also. so we all love him. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

groovy,

if you buy small 400g cans then probably can finish in 30 days. if buy big 900g cans, i don't think so.

princess d,

yeah, he's really cute!! old liao, 10 yrs old but still behaving like a puppy!hope jadelyn will not bully him though 'cos he is a really very gentle doggy.

Thanks for the links Ian..

I have not tried to use baby walker to Josie yet.. But she's in her high chair when we are eating. Hopefully it won't strain her spine too much. Hm..

Hi Claudia, if he is not getting any better. You might want to consider bringing him to the PD again. Sharing with you my experience with Caelan. He was caught a bug/virus mid Dec '10, brought him to PD, given mild medicine but it didn't work and gotten worst. As it was about 2 weeks already, PD prescribe antibiotic, etc. He was recovering but gotten worst cos his sis was sick. This time round he needed neubuliser, no antibiotic. Recovered for a few days and sick again. I think he caught it from another baby in IFC. But to nebuliser and medicine. Nebuliser dosage increased, fumicil wasn't as effective as before. Cough is better but still thick phlegm. Desparate me, bring him to TCM. I combine both PD's medicine and TCM with 3 to 4 hours apart. Finally he recovered. But PD still put him on singular to keep the cough away and he is also on TCM medicine twice a week.

Sadly, he was sick again last Thu. We weren't sure but could have caught from another baby in IFC. This time round, his cough gotten worst within 1 to 2 days. There are phlegm, wheezing, breathless. Instead of bring him to the PD which I know will be immediately to nebuliser, etc. I'm worried that he will depend on nebu each time he is down with cough. I brought him back to TCM. He was given double boiled medicine. cry and cry but he did get better. He is still coughing with phlegm but is much better and no breathlessness.

My sharing is not to say whether PD or TCM is better. But to highlight that although they are young and not advisable to give medicine. Sometimes, we have to cos they are sick and need it to recover.

PD/TCM adv us to keep him at home instead cos his immunity is quite weak. We are making arrangement to do so. So sad to see him sick so often. Me also sad that tbf yet he falls sick often, the bf no power. hiazzz.... Can't help to think if not tbf, will it be worst

Princess, glad that Meghan is well. Really not easy to be looking after sick babies.

Jac, hope Jadelyn enjoy the furry friend company. Caelan likes to look at our dog and will go eh eh eh to her.

The weekend is here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yoz ladies + Ian...

Me in office again despite this week onwards supposed to be vacation week. Sianz...

Diveera,

So sorry to hear that Caelen went thru so much recently. My #1 also very prone to cough as he has sensitive airways. Whenever he got cough, his phlegm is always those super stubborn type which refused to clear. After getting well for few days, will strike again once he goes back to childcare... there is a period where every week, we got to go back to pd at least once. Now the nurse in the clinic no need to ask for name, see my face, straight away key in my boy's name liao. Sigh... he was on singular for like few months that time. 1 pack of singular is like $1 lor. We are so afraid that he will get asthmatic.

So now, whenever he gets a little bit of cough, we send him to see TCM first. If not better, straight go PD liao. Still can rem those horrible night when the coughing sound starts, the merlion pours... I totally can understand how you feel.

So now, Caelen is not going IFC??

Claudia,

Dr. Terence Tan is a nice doctor. I think he is afraid that it will lead to brochitis so gives you more meds to prevent that.

As what the ladies have pointed out, honey cannot be taken before 1yo. After 1yo, you can try manuka honey which we tried on my boy. It does help. Just 1 tablespoon neat a day. FYI.

groovy

How I prepare his cereals is 8 spoons of cereal flakes (those small teaspoon), and I make 100ml of fm cos I need him to drink milk. I mix the fm Liao then I just add to the cereals to get the thickness I want.. Then I let him drink the remaining fm first followed by cereals. Usually he finishes everything! I think he likes organix and healthy times! Haha

Bblibran

Lol... Direct translation... 眼睛长在屁股上! Lol

Cherry

Yah I saw ur nails on fb!!! It's really very nice! Omg u all seriously seriously tempting me :/ I need to discuss with hb when I can go do the nails!!!!! Hahahhaa

But.. How to remove? Isit very mafan???

diveerA

Sorry to hear abt cae. Pls do not be upset although as mummies we sure worry. I will too! But u have done a gd job in tbf him so don't feel bad abt it. Rmb the article I posted abt the jap preschool? The jap mums send their kids to infant for them to get sick!!!!!!! Strange it may sound but this way they build up their immune system. So as much as we are heartache when we see them... Just be careful and give him the right treatment he needs... And take it as a way their little bodies are building the foundation for future. Take care [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

groovy

Oh btw I read abt u saying the iron defiency this. Yup after 6months we need to supplement them cos bm/fm is not enough... That's when ur solid food comes in lor! So even fm also might not be the solution. If u still have bm to give... Why not? Shld supplement with solids. Unless u decide to give up BFg then u give fm lor. For me I feed fm, wah.. One 900g tin can finish like in 1.5weeks. Super fast!!!! I'm abt to slowly upgrade him to enfapro stage 2 after 6months.

I'm from Apr thread and had just gave birth to my gal 4 days ago.

Are there any mummies interested in an opened tin of Nan HA1 used with about 10 scoops used? The can was only bought and opened for 2 days. My supply has kicked in and do not wish to waste the formula off.

Please PM me if you are interested.

Starry

Wah toy poodle ?? my fav ..they are like toy dogs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin

Yar lor gel nails are hot topic recently .. im so tempted too, rem de last time i did mind and i was too lazy to return shop to remove them so end up was peeled off when loose .. hmm but nails was very thin till outgrwn new ones again

princess d

isz convenient ..i will like 2c your lovely nails too

Shin, from what my friends told me.. they said enfalac stage 1 has more nutrients. so if can continue giving stage 1 then should continue until 12 months. Stage 2 comes in after that.

mummies here, anyone can enlighten us?