(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

good morning mommies and Ian[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cyn

You are doing great!Looking at the tight busy schedule and you still bfg...*clap clap*

Don't worry,the first year is always the most difficult year to juggle but once you get the hang of it,it will be become a norm and it will just run smoothly[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Jia you

Im not too sure about the cereal that you are giving Eldrick can be mix with water ..(most cereal can)

I give Meghan her cereal with water now...and she loves it![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]You may wanna try?

Tiffy

jia you..im sure your daddy will be fine[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nycmum

You should begin to offer little water after and between meals...it will help her kidneys dilute the more concentrated waste products of solid foods.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning all!

Cyn, I also asked abt the baby cubes but no one replied. Thot it would be useful to store the pureed food and feed as well. Still thinking abt it though...

re: baby cubes

sorry ladies, guess i have missed your post. :p i bought baby cubes but have not started using since she's mostly on cereals and fresh fruits puree. i guess they are good for later part when they eat more 'complicated' things that require cooking and stuff. oh, also good if you are bringing baby out and have some purees prepared. keep in the cubes then won't make a mess. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies who are giving water after cereal, do you give filtered tap water or bottled mineral water?

Do we need to boil the mineral water first?

oh yes, i received a very interesting nutrition guide from Happy Baby as well.. got some info on freezing apple, banana, pear, green beans etc. purees and serving those little frozen cubes mixed together, or mixed with their cereals. if you are keen, PM me your email address and i will mass send that file to you.

It's been a busy week so far. My older boy just started drop off program and he is still crying. I haven't started Chace Cereal yet... For my older boy, I tried cereal for a month only and after that the baby led weaning method (very fun) anyone tried that before?

Groovy,

do not give mineral water to bb n young kids. Their body are unable to break down the minerals yet. It will b taxing for the organs to break n absorb the minerals.

Boiled water will do.

Groovy, usually I will boil the tap water for Nat's usage. In fact all my water has been boil before drinking =P its our hse practice.

hello good morning mummies..

I'm back again.:) my baby is 5mths 3 weeks, weighing at 7.9kg, 70cm long. He drinks 180ml, 5X a day (including night feeds). I started giving him rice cereal last Sunday and he is taking well.

One thing abt my little one is that he sleeps early, around 8pm and wake up at 7am. He will wake up at 3-4am for one feeding. Do any mummies here also experience same situation, baby ZZZZzz early?

novakido,

what's baby led weaning??

rubie,

my girl sleeps early at ard 8pm and wakes up at 6am. think she was 'trained' by my mum to do that 'cos my dad comes at 6.25am to pick her up every morning. she doesn't wake in the middle of the night for milk though. anyway, it's good for babies to sleep early and wake up early.

Rubie

My girl sleeps at around 8pm too. Will give her milk before bed. She wakes up at 6.45am. She will wake up in between for another feed at 4-5am.

Re: Baby Cubes,

I bought them for my boy and used it to store purees when we are on the move. Quite useful in the sense, even till today I still use them to store biscuits/cookies for him to bring out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry,

Thanks for sharing the info [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.babyledweaning.com/

Starry,

check it out! Hehe very interesting... It just meant to let your baby start weaning right from the start, giving them small sized pieces of food instead of puree and all.

It was really fun, I did it with Caleb not entirely though alternating between a bit of cereal and whole size food!

novakido

Jade was on led weaning method when she was around 6mths or so...but was rather early i remember because she can sit steadily in her high chair and always a MESS!!!!!lol[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Its fun for them[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]She grab whatever she see's on the table and started to eat and put food in her mouth....

However,i don't quite like it now as she adopts the habit of picking food from the table now even though she knows that she supposed to used her cutlery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Btw, wanna check something with you all, not sure if someone is experiencing the same situation as I am?

Lately, I notice my gal has been veri sticky to me, previously she's patted to sleep by my hb. But strangely, her behaviour these days said otherwise, whenever my hb carries her or pat her to sleep, she will cry and cry till I carry her -_-" and wherever I go, her eyes are always on me. If she sees me walk away, she will start crying again diao diao...dunno wat's wrong with her tis days?

Anyone care to shed some light or their experiences?

TIA [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry, where did u get the baby cubes from? Trying to compare prices. :p. Pmed u for the nutrition guide as well. Arigato!

novakido,

looks interesting!!! like very fun. and messy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess d,

you going to do the same thing for meghan?

lilbluey,

when your child gets sticky, it may mean something.. that you have breaking news to share! other than that reason, i have no idea why.

emmie,

i bought them from here: http://www.motherslove.com.sg/category_10/Baby-Cubes.htm

will wait for more mummies to PM me before i send out the nutrition guide. mass send easier. :p

LilBluey ...

This is the time that they are starting to show some form of separation anxiety. Yx oso ... will eye-power me until I carry her ... IF i just walk past her and ignore her ... she will make so much noise just to catch my attention.

Last night also, I was busy trying to settle my #2 and get him ready for bed, this lil Missy cry n cry even though my hb was carrying her.

It will pass ...

OH yeah i almost forgot!

i always wanted to post this but forget!!

Those of you who is using Tomme tippee soft tip spoon for weaning...

Pls be careful and changed the spoon after 1-2mths because

I used that on Jade last time and she had 2 teeth when she was 3-4mths and at 5th months when i fed water with that spoon...somehow it got bitten off!!

Sometimes whe you feed ,they will tend to bite a hold the spoon in their mouth...

So,just be careful k..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

seabreeze,

you can go FB search for "cottage kiddy". shld be very easy to find. then add her as friend. she has many albums on her FB page.

starry

im not sure i'll start on Meghan or follow the strict rules of using cutlery cos...it can be a headache to see them picking food with hands next time when older....

Jade uses her fork and spoon well but somehow,when she sees food on the table,even when we are out...she will have the habit to pick food first (like food tasting)...lOL

Im okay but in this society really difficult esp when schools are adopting nice clean hygiene wAYS during meal time...Maybe im not strict enough????

Thanks Starry & Nycmum for your reply.

So I'm not alone. I feed my boy around 7.30pm and he will doze off around 8pm.

Starry, u r so lucky that your gal sleep thru out.

Nycmum, we are in the same boat, hope our darlings will sleep thru soon.

If you bring your baby out, u will be home early before their sleeping time?? Cos I usually try to be back home by 7-7.30pm.

Starry,

Choy Choy Choy! Absolutely no breaking news!!! and my factory is closed for good!!! aiyoyo...

Both kids sooo sticky to me!! Super peng san leh...-_-""

Seabreeze,

Thanks for sharing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I oso hope it's just a phrase and it will soon pass...

Hi!!

Baby led weaning sounds fun! But dont think i can tolerate the mess! N thinking of the cleaning up ..

Thanks princess for reminding.

I m using tomee tippee too n was actually wondering how come it has deformed easily! Only started feeding abt 2 weeks now.

princess d,

i don't know about this strictness thing. 'cos some kids don't respond too well to 'hard' methods. will reminding jade to use her cutleries before every meal time work? then use reward system like give 1 star for every meal she doesn't pick food off table with her hands and once accumulate 10 stars give her a treat?? learnt this from some american super-nanny show..

rubie,

i try to be home early to put her in bed. otherwise she will be super cranky and whiny.

seabreeze,

that time she had ready stock and because i wanted it urgently, i had it couriered over on the same day. her response very fast too!

starry

She actually will use her cutlery ..just a spoon to eat[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But what i meant is...whenever food is served....she naturally will touch the food then she will realzed that she have to use her spoon[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

other than that,she is okay now..

I reminded her on every meal and i got a lil upset with that sometimes...

we used to give her snacks occasionally (like nuggets,carrot sticks and mashed potatoes...)now we stop all!

I realized she like challenges ...so i give her spaghetti and noodles for her using CHOPSTICKS!lol

So far okay,but still need to be reminded[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ann

you are welcome[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]oh !niko using it..he got teeth rite?

must changed if its show signs or worn

ooppss sorry novakido

DOn't mean to discourage mommies from starting led weaning maybe it's just JAde??[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Actually back to led weaning

i tried it because Jade started to to hate food and i thought it's nice to intro more food to her in a fun learning way ...there's when i started![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thy learn tetured food dna can feel them..that's the best way to teach and train their motor skills[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

it will be messy but this is where they will learn too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Groovy,

Good to have someone check on your maid and baby in the day even if you have the CCTV. Can never trust a maid enuff, esp the entire day.

Rubie,

I will do cartwheel if Isaac turns in that early and only wakes up once for feed. If I tuck him to bed before 9pm, he usually ends up with 2 night feed. Even when I tuck him in at 9.30pm, it is one night feed and he might end up waking up at 5+am. This boy doesnt like to sleep. -.o"

bblibran

Hahha no use for me to make more.. Cos yes... The last 30ml is super difficult to feed... Once he drank like 90ml I already struggle to feed him!!! And yes it's like drinking poison !!!!! So I don't bother making too much [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] or he waste a lot of milk Liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jac

Ok thanks for asking them abt it! I'll finish up the healthy times then feed him the happy baby... Hehehe

baby cubes

I bought similar ones from mothercare... Will be using them soon!!!!

Ade

Thanks for sharing the links!! I think I seriously need those... Hahahahha!!!

Ian

Huh! Sounds gross!!!!

Cyn

Jia you! I can't imagine waking up at 5am and then rush for work... Then again spending time with my lil one as sahm is rewarding though tiring. Whichever it is... We just want the best for our kids [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so hang in there!!!

Rubie

Haha I'm not too anxious about her sleeping through the night yet as I feel that she drinks too little. And if I dun need to express in the middle of the night, waking up once to feed her is ok for me lah...Just hoping that she'll drink and eat more and be healthy =)

weaning

My MIL and older relatives said can let baby taste fish or a bit of what we are eating. I know of a friend who let his 4mth baby taste fish and prawn! I let my girl taste fish and tofu under the pressure of MIL. My girl spit out the fish but seems to enjoy the tofu.

Thinking of feeding her tofu/tou huay...but worried about the coagulent used. Any mummies feed BB tofu? Starry the food scientist, any advice? Hee hee

nycmum,

i'm not nutritional expert lah. haha!! just passing on what little i learnt in school. i don't think should let them taste such complex proteins so early. they are bound to swallow some and may cause allergies. even soy-based things should wait till they are 9 months old then slowly introduce to them because their digestive systems are very delicate. introducing such foods too early can cause GI (gastro-intestinal) problems. this is what i read from the doctor sears nutrition information.

Afternoon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

need some advice, bb grace hasn't pooed in days. She used to poo daily but over the last couple of weeks (actually since her 4mth jab) her poo has been v erratic. She can poo daily or once in a couple of days. Her record was 7 days without pooing!! We were on our way to bringing her to the pd when she pooed!! Is this normal??

Oh and when she pooes, it's normal poo. Not constipated at all. She seems normal. Drinks all her milk and have heavy diapers. sleeps thru the night and is generally a happy baby. So why is she not pooing so often?? Very scary le

Starry

Very tempted to get these baby cubes too!! But decided I'll try using normal ice cube trays first especially since I have those with a lid. But am wondering how to store the frozen cubes once I remove them fro the tray. Ie if I wanna make another batch of purée and need the tray to freeze them. Hmmm. I scare if I transfer them to another tuppeware, they will all stick together.

thanks ZuEn for your reply.

Yes nycmum, I have the same sentiment too. I rather he wake up for milk as I always afraid he din have enough (only 4feeds during daytime).

all mummies here, may i know the schedule of your babies after weaning...

Cyn,

I can totally understand the mad rush everyday.

For me, my day starts ard 5+am too. Wake up to pump then wash up, then get ready for work, get #1 up, dress for school with the help of hubby. Then hubby will send #1 to school while I will bring #2 to my mum's place. Then hubby will drive me to Kovan then I take MRT to Boon Keng, walked 15 mins to school before 8am.

Usually my classes ends at 6pm. Rush home to pump (now dropping this pump coz want to stop liao) then rush over to my mum's place for dinner and play with the 2 kids. Will bring #1 and #2 back home by 9pm. Hubby will settle #1 to bed after bedtime stories while I settle #2 to bed after milk by latest 10pm.

Then I finally get to bathe, wash pump, bottles, sterilise, pack #1 school bag, pack #2 bag, do some work if I still got energy. By the time I sit down and watch tv, almost 12am liao. Sometimes, just sit down on the sofa for 2 mins before I go bathe will DOZE OFF and WOKE UP at 2AM. Then mad rush starts.... bathe... wash up... pack bag... aiyo... 2 more hrs of sleep and time to wake up liao....

chiam hor.... haha....

Baby Cubes

==========

I used it when I started weaning #1. Very useful coz for a start usually babies dun take a lot of puree at a time and so when we prepare 1 fruit/veggie for example, will end up with more than 1 portion. So I will keep them in baby cubes and freeze for next feed. Like the small portion so each time just heat up 1 cube can liao. Easy and convenient.

Afternoon Mummies & Ian.

Tiffy / Seabreeze, stay strong and jia you jia you. Anything jus come here n rant out.

Starry, thanks for sharing the infos on the cereal content.

Suwaiwai, is your bb on BM? I've seek advise from my PD before, she said still ok if on BM not to poo for 7days. If only full FM already, then better bring baby to see her, not advisable for FM baby not to poo for more than 4 days.

Weaning : I also have the same questions and some mummies already asked and thanks to the mummies for their advise as well. It's very useful.

Arrggh.. I wana rant out, dunno how my MIL take care of my baby, from very bad nappy rash till fungi infections on the butt. Poor thing! But heng this lil girl still chirpy.. Aiyo, mil go n apply calomile lotion on her butt lor, when we only apply Desitin cream. Haiz.. smetimes i must say old folks always thought only of their way on taking care of babies.

good afternoon mommies n Ian

Suwaiwai

What I was told by pd about Meghan is she had bf- constipation! Stool will still b as usual color n texture n they Can actually keep till 10 days!!! Sigh...

Meghan max days was 10th days n tho she showed no sign of discomfort .. I decided to bring het to pd to insert the bullet!!twice .... Haaa! Only after insertion , her tummy churned then she make noise ...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I guess it's okay if her poo is like normal n she didn't show signs of discomfort ?is your bb still on BM?

Real constipation will cause discomfort n bb will scream whn poo... And their poo is hard like rabbit stool..

Suwaiwai,

my pd say babies digestive system is not stabilized now so not pooing for 7 days is still considered normal, BM or FM. If baby is not behaving normally, shows discomfort during the period, then shld bring to see pd. As wat princess d said, constipation is when poo is really hard. If poo is normal even after several days, it shld be ok. Just monitor.

Forgot to mention grace is still on tbm. So I'm wondering if bf bb can get constipation. And princess d has confirmed it!! Hiyo how how?? She is not showing any signs of discomfort. Just that her fart v v smelly!!! When we drove bk fro KL the last time, we had to wind down the windows cos her fart was that smelly!!! Can kill pple le.

Maybe I need to gv her some fruits. Banana?? Any other Safe fruits to gv her?

suwaiwai

Its okay wan...yah yah..towards the 5th days...usually have killers fart!!LOL

What you can help is massage her tummy clockwise and do the cycling excercise.

I actually hold her up like a squating position and help her to gek her poo out!Now tat she started her solids...things went back to usual ..5pm POO TIME~!

mummies, i hv got one question but totally out of the blue question la.. got any good recommendation of vaccum cleaner? can clean carpets too.. eh, hopefully not too expensive so O**m is out..