(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Zuen:

Yup. I'll Jia you to try bottle feeding kayden. Just now tried to bottle feed him water again. Played with him n got him interested in the bottle first lor.

Will try again tonight to feed him bottle n FM. Hopefully he'll learn soon.

Hi Starry, u mentioned consistency is key true wor but what if in cases like my bb suddenly rejects cereal and hates avocado , she will cries after few mouths... i should still carry on right ? But they mention dont force feed too.. it seems like my bb still doesnt accepts semi food.. but bad thing is she often wants put our food in her mouth instead

Lilbluey & bblibran: thanks, Logan is much better after his fever meds.

Groovy & zuen: yes I agree that grandmas are not mummies, however this isn't the first time she did this kind of last min thing and we had already planned everything out a week beforehand. If she finds taking care of Logan difficult or taking away too much of her time and freedom she should at least b honest with me so I can work something out. It's ok if he is fine but on days wen he is sick or I hv to go hospital I'd rather he stay at home than gg out with me. I've had to take him to hospital with me to visit my mum in a ward full of sick ppl because my mil wanted to go out as well. My hb broached e subject before and got an earful. All I can do is come here and complain. HaiZ...

Groovy: worst part of it all is my hb n his bro were taken care of by their grandmas in separate homes. My mil was working and didn't take care of them at all so I think she shd know wat it's like to need help but I also know she has zero experience taking care of a young bb, so I dun expect miracles.

Starry: ya its been too long!! Read the forum once in a while cos just so busy.. Maybe my time mgt sucks la. I also alone at home. Have to do everything on my own. How do you ladies do it har??

I tried to add 1/2tsp cereal to her milk just now.. but she KNEW it and refused her milk after a few mouthful!! Lucky I added it to 40ml separately from her usual feed. When I gave her pure BM she was eyeing it wryly.. but phew after awhile she took the bot again.

She smart, knew I tried to bluff her. Maybe she not hungry enough.. I also dunno what to do liao. Tomor I try a different brand or flavour la. If that fails, then what do I do?

LilBluey, Hmm ya think better get another one then. Hiya now have to go research on it.

Princess D and Seabreeze, happy birthday to yr babies!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Vivian, Lilbluey. I pureed sweet potates enough for 2 days n keep in fridge. Thinned it with bm like u ladies recommeded b4 feeding sofea.

Stella, yr MIL is so inconsiderate. I tink she din take care of her own kids, dat's y she finds it troublesome. But she was the one right who wanted to take care of logan in e 1st place?

Mommies who are feeding yr baby solids.. how many times are u feeding each day? Im doing it 2x a day for breakfast and dinner. BUt Sofea refuses dinner, managed only 1 tsp and drink v little water, then she'll turn her head away everytime i put the spoon in front of her face. But for breakfast she can eat 4tsps and drink lots of water. Should i feed her dinner earlier? I fed her at 5pm then wipe her and by 5.30pm is her usual bedtime

Marrissa: ya she insisted on being e caregiver wen I went back to work but she wants the best of both worlds I guess. I'm fine w her gg out if it's a normal day n I dun hv anything urgent to attend to. After all she is helping me but sometimes I find she goes abit overboard and it really makes life very difficult. She insists on a few holidays a year w my fil and I hv to take leave to stay hone w Logan which I dun mind but I dun hv unlimited leave to throw for her vacations. Then wen emergencies crop up I got no leave left how? First month back to work I already used 6 days because my mum was in hospital and for my flat and my mil wanted to go out. First quarter of the yr not over one fifth of my leave gone Liao. How to survive rest of e yr? Very worrying lor n she wun b happy if I tell her I can't take leave. My hb also can't jus take leave coz he's in charge and his outlet is understaffed.

stella, yr MIL needs to realise that being a caregiver means the kid comes 1st. Cannot just anyhow last min disappear. If she finds it troublesome maybe u shd start looking for other arrangements? Someone else whos more responsible dat can look after logan? U can't possibly take leave all the time to accommodate her or rush back home when she just suddenly wants to go out. Maybe initially she was so 'on' to take care of logan now mths past by she realised she can't haf her freedom like b4. My mom is also like dat. She was so 'on' to take care of my cousin's kids n bring them out but then she realised the kids were whiny outside and needed to poop etc she grew tired n start complaining.

fel,

In this case, baby cries so it's impossible to feed already. And I agree that cannot force feed. My girl also didn't want to eat cereal 2 weeks ago. She didn't cry but wouldn't open her mouth for it anymore. Same for avocado earlier this week. She took a mouthful and didn't want anymore. But my mum just called me and told me that these couple of days, she's slowly coming to enjoy cereal and avocado! Was surprised because I saw how she wasn't enjoying them and now having 35ml milk + 4 teaspoons cereal + mashed avocado, finishing all and crying for more. She also said it's consistency.. Once she sees Jadelyn rejecting, she stopped and try agin te next day till she came to like it again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Seabreeze n princess d,

Very happy birthday to your bao bei!

Suwaiwai,

My suggestion to 1st intro to solids is to avoid food with any taste. Try the plain cereals or rice. Not those with fruits flavor. Then 2 weeks later then intro pumpkin on its own. This is to make sure that if there is any allergy u will b able to pinpoint it. Btw, my boy loves the organic 4 grain cereals. Ask for more when I tried this morning, unlike his reaction when I gave four leaf millet.

Marrissa: I wanted to find a babysitter nearby but she shot e idea down. She quarreled w my hb n both pil asked us to move out if we're not happy. How like dat? It's only been a month since I went back to work, not a few months. 1 month already so many prob, future I dunno wat to do... I'm also stuck coz no other family to help take care n my mil is dead set against anyone but her taking care yet she still wants her freedom. I really dunno how to solve this issue. She even said that wen Logan is older she will bring him out galavanting with her and she can go out from morning til night! Very stressed n very worried.

Starry .. thanku so much!! feeling better after reading your encountance, i will continue try daily if tm cant then next day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fel,

No problem! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just sharing what I learnt from my mum. She used to be a nanny to a little boy from he was 1.5yrs old till ard 6! And consistency really pays off for babies and toddlers alike. If they reject certain food, don't force them. Forcing will only make them 'fear' the food more. Rather, re-introduce it later in the week.

If it's routine like nap time at 2pm, make sure to place the child/baby in quiet/darkened environment at that time everyday and even if the child doesn't sleep, it's okay. After a few days, he/she will learn to. That's why babies and children in childcare centers 'learn' to nap in the afternoons! It's the same thing... CONSISTENCY! Your magic word. Haha!

stella,

I'm just guessing... Your mil wanna look good 'offering' to take care of Logan but doesn't want to take any responsibility. It sounds like there will be more issues in future if both of you don't trash this out. A line has gotta be drawn somewhere, you can't let her do what she likes, go out as and when she feels like it. At the same time you also cannot expect that she comprehends your frustrations without voicing out. Someone's got to bang the table (figuratively lah) and say, "look.. If u want to look after your grandson, you have to follow these rules, otherwise we will look for alternatives.." And I feel that someone is your hubby.

Able to get him to talk to his mum? No mother likes the idea of their child staying out the whole day lor.. Heart ache just thinking abt it.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

stella> I think your MIL is really unreliable.. How come she expect a baby that has fever to go out??

I guess it's better to find another arrangement. It seems that your MIL will do more harm to your baby.

Or is it maybe because she feels you and your husband is still staying in their house and still dependent on them?

stella> Why don't you look for a maid? She can help your MIL, and when your MIL goes out she can take care of the baby.. Your MIL won't be going out everyday anyway, so most of the time your baby will still be with her, and she can watch over the maid..

starry> Thinking of what you're saying.. I regret last time I always forces Josie to drink milk and finish her drink [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I think that's the reason why she fears to drink milk nowadays and only want to drink when she's asleep.

My Josie now is very cute, she can ON the musical projector that we put on her cot by herself! Hehe.. Maybe it's just a coincidence, she tried to touch it, and in the end pressed the button. Hehe.. But so far I haven't catch her doing that in the camera. I should have done that!

Starry: my hb has tried talking to my mil but each time ends in a big quarrel and pil always win. Now he's a bit scared to try again. If I open my mouth with my temper things wil turn ugly again. I'm still appreciative of her efforts to take care of Logan but I'm quite sad that she doesn't seem to think of Logan first. Even at home she would keep him awake in e evenings so that my fil can play w him wen he gets back frm work and refuses to acknowledge that he's tired and cranky because he needs to sleep. Then at night I have to struggle to put him to bed because he's overtired. Just last night he was so tired he took an hr to slp n refused his night feed but woke up crying but still wanted to slp. I dunno y she stil refuses to let us get a babysitter.

Groovy: a maid is not possi coz we r staying in a 3 Rm flat n no place for maid to slp. Plus I'm afraid my mil will leave bb w e maid and go out which I would never want. I can't wait to get my flat but horrors of horrors I found out that e lease only starts in 2015. 4 more yrs to endure.

My bb loves organix banana porridge n avocado milk shake. I started giving her solid when she was 4.5 mth old. I start off with organix rice cereal then gave her avocado milk shake when she is 5 mth old. She can finish Half avocado blend with 60ml of milk. Recently, I tried applesauce with milk n cereal. I use the Philip 2pm 1 blender. 1apple plus 30-60 ml milk plus cereal if not too watery. She finished off as well. Now she eats two solids per day plus 6 -7 milk intake

Stella

Pardon me for saying. But you are the one eventually taking care of baby so why u care about what ur PIL do? Just hire the babysitter. I think for the sake of Logan, you just need to put all these to a stop. Let them know "if you can take care of Logan 24/7 a week (include at night), then I won't bother so much.... If not! Don't meddle when I wanna make things easier."

I know it's not easy but it cannot be dragged on. Ur situation is like quite bad cos even ur hb also "lose" to them... Then u will forever be under their thumbs. So smtg drastic has got to happen for them to get ur message.

Sorry I might be ok frank or sound harsh cos i just feel they are too much. Tell them if they continue their nonsense, you will move Logan back to ur parents place!!! Tell them don't push ur limits.

Now I'm main caregiver for Aedan. Hb and MIL only helps out so things I want for Aedan to make life easier for me, I will do it. If hb complains, I will say. "you not the one taking care... You think so easy u come takecare lah". Usually hb is ok cos he knows difficult to handle Aedan. Sometimes he help me half a day on Sat while I rest, he also complain Liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] lol

Be strong and don't angry! Rmb... Everything you do will be for the best for LOgan so needa be thick skinned!!!! Hehehe

Ladies ...

Thanks for the well-wishes. We had fun walking outside Universal Studio cos I made a mistake and thought that the $5 ticket entry at 7pm was available yesterday but it will start fr 25 March onwards only.

Re: Feeding Solid

Just a reminder that all new food that you intend to introduce must be for breakfast or lunch only so that you can watch out for any allergy reaction. Anything for dinner must be those tried and tested food only.

IF the child dun like solid then wait for 1-2 more weeks then try, make it a happy experience and not something that you need to 'force' otherwise the child will not enjoy solid food.

Shin: thanks for ur suggestion. I'm not angry anymore jus lost as I dunno how to salvage e situation with minimal unhappiness. I guess u mummies are rite, I gotta find a way to put my foot down. Have to discuss w hb n find a suitable way. Initially I thought having my mil taking care of logan was a gd idea coz she's family but now... Haiz... Hope my hb will back me up on this one coz if not I wil die ugly.

Good Morning Mommies and Ian[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

THank you all for the well wishes....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Jade had a fun time at school taking photos with her fav friends[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

This girl had few wishes yesterday

1.had a slice of her cake

2.wear her pink dress to school

3.3 bedtime stories instead of 1...

(she had 2 new princess books yesterday)

4.Sleep on my bed...=.='''(regretted...both hb n i got kicked many times)

All granted and she is a happy girl...today second round![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Hope she will enjoy her birhtday party and a surprise Princess Cake....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Seabreeze,

How was your Friday out?Did your boy enjoyed

USS?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stella,

How is Logan now?His fever gone?How about his Poo?back to normal?

Sorry to hear what happened...Sigh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

You might wanna find alternative like infant care where this can lead to a better living environment for now with you IL....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Many IL are like that...I know is frustrated and heartbreaking...YOu Cannot care much on how much freedom she(MIL) want at this time.....

Someone have to be the BAD person in this matter and it have to be you,unfortunately!

SImple reason if they ever asked why Logan have to be taken care by a nanny,or in an infant care?

Just tell them...Go and enjoy life !that's it!

They will soon find that their ways of escaping the problem is their own fault!

If your HB can't do the talking,you HAVE TO!

Unless you can live with it..Do consider alternative...Im sure there will be a way!

ALways,think of yourself first before others..not even your HB...this way you can organize your plan properly...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I hope your HB can help you and give you all the support you need for now for the sake of Logan![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cheer up k...happy mommy = happy baby![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Have a wonderful weekend mommies

Ian

HOep Xavier is all well now[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Have fun In HRC[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess: Logan's fever is all gone and his poo is back to yellowish brown [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks for e advise looks like I gotta put on a bulletproof vest n get ready for a war...

thanks tiffy, seabreeze. din know only 1 meal is enuf to start wif. Coz i asked a fren and her son took 2 meals rite from the start. But ive been giving sofea the same food till now. now signs of allergy so far, thank god.

Jadefeet you give me hope!! I'll try the 4 grain cereal tomor. Hope she'll like it, didnt know feed a bb can be this hard.

Hi!!! How are u mummies doing?? Super long nv login again!!

Dear starry, how are you now?? Ur lil one doing good??

Btw got west gathering? Can join mah?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh ya tink i kinda kiasu... Have you all wondered how to celebrate your darling's first birthday yet?? But most imptly, do you have any good recommendations of customised cakes/cupcakes???

hello!! You all having a great weekend?? Mine has been tiring so far. Lol! What's new right? :p

Stella,

How are things now? Is Logan better??

Princess d,

Jade sounded like she had tons of fun! And so many wishes! You and your hubby got kicked in bed once a year also nvm lah. Consider worth it for such a cute and lovely girl!

Rachoho,

Of course can join in for the west gathering! I also wanna see Dylan. Hope he will be well enough by then to join us. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: west gathering

Didn't follow thread and using iPhone hard to read. What's the date??

Re: cereals

I let Jadelyn try the Organix banana porridge this morning and she really loves it! Thought I made too much and all gonna be wasted but she finished everything and wanted more. I tasted a bit and it's really good too. Very fragrant wholegrain + light ripe banana smell.

Starry: yeah Logan is better, fever gone but he's been super cranky n very hard to get him to slp these couple of days. E mil issue still nit resolved yet. Waiting for a chance to discuss w hb first.

I hv 1 tin of 900gram. Selling at $20. Expiry date: 30 june 2012.

Prefer collection: tanjong pagar mrt.

Pls sms 9125 6518 if u r keen.

MOrning mummies,

My attempt to try to bottle feed kayden is not really successful leh. For the past few nights sat there trying to feed him for nearly 2 hours lor. He just refuses to drink n just eyes open lor. His mouth just don't want to move n suck leh. Have to keep moving the teat n try to get him to drink. Think end up a lot was on the towel lor. He just kept spitting out.

Wonder if still wanna try cos really tiring n affecting sleep cos he'll be so awake n take a while after that to get him bk to sleep. But if don't try now then he won't learn to drink from bottle at all which will be a prob next time.

Those mummies who supplement with FM. Does baby hv a preference?

Xin,

Isaac is bottle fed when I m at work. I still have enuff bm for him, so not supplementing but it was tough making him take e bottle in e beginning.

Try morning or afternoon feed with bottle. Only when he's ok to take bottle, then use for night feed.

Xin, u probably need someone else to bottle feed him coz he now recognises u n knows he can get milk Direct frm breast. If still dun work maybe can jump straight to sippy cup? Sofea refused bottle no matter how hard i try but at least she likes drinking frm sippy cup. She can even hold e cup n bring it to her mouth. jus need to guide her. Im still nursing her direct latch but when shes up n active i will offer her sippy cup

Zuen:

Thks for the suggestion. Hv decided to try for his feed later this morning. See if it's cos of the FM or the bottle.

My breasts were so engorged this morning cos he din latch on last night. Rock hard lor.

Hopefully he'll learn to drink from bottle again. Regret not giving him at least 1 feed after CL left.

Marrissa

Sofea doesn't drink from bottle also? Well, I think kayden can drink cos wen I went to extract my wisdom tooth wen he was 3mths. Had to feed him bottle n he drank the EBM leh. Though struggle but still drank.

Will try sippy cup if really can't. But think try out few more days first.

Also thinking of hanging the teat cos hb lor. Say let him use 6-18 mths teat cos he now 5mths Liao. Think mb not suitable also. Haiz. Later going buy the 0-6 mths teat n try again.

Headache sia.

Xin2: if I'm not wrong if latching the teat dun need to change. Only if bottle feeding full time then change teat if not the flow wun match then bb wil prefer bottle to breast coz easier to feed.

Stella:

I think with your MIL like that, abit hard in the long run. As always, I am quite extreme and what I would do if I were you is to put my foot down. If she wants to look after your son, she has to do it properly, i.e. no galavanting excessively, no disappearance, no making you take leave. If not, you will move out and cut off their access to your son. This is very extreme but if done well, it may work. Otherwise, you will always be at her mercy. YOur work will be affected lor.

Re: Feeding solids

To succeed, you need to try abit each day. Babies have moods so even if they don't want it at a certain times/days.

i've been feeding my bb mamax gold & he's going to be 6 mths old next April fool day. Contemplating to choose between mamil stage 2 or enfa pro 2? Did a comparison & concluded that enfa pro contains more dha than mamil. Hmm??

My bb is down with flu again! Was up the whole night & he threw up his phlegm on me twice, horrible night! Haiz

Sorry to interrupt...

I'm from Dec'10 thread n have abt 20 bags of Jan'11 fbm to give away cos my chest freezer is running out of space soon.

Pls PM me if u're keen, collection from my place in sengkang, thks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

P/s: I dun really watch my diet but I avoid all kinds of alcohol n dun smoke

Xin,

No need to regret lah. Can start training and many mummies here will envy you for being able to fully latch until now lor.

Re: Full BM mummies

For mummies who are expressing, how do you increase your ss? Bcos the baby's dd is increasing and our ss is stagnant and cannot express too many times at work in the day. I realise that my bb has to start relying on fbm and I have no addition to freeze. -.o" Soon, I wun have enuff for him. Already tried to latch when I am home but usually just two feeds including the night feed. Also try to fully latch during weekends when if I am not working.

Hi Mummies, sorry to disturb, i have a tin of Friso Gold with P2 Dual System™ 900g for exchange with Enfapro A+ Stage 2 900g or 2 tins of 400g.. Deal at Buangkok/ Sengkang MRT... Please sms 93388073 Valerie...

Zuen: try expressing for a slightly longer time at each pump? The best way is express more often but if can't mayb slightly longer might help.

ZuEn> I totally dunno how to increase supply.. What I know is if I'm stressed out, supply will drop!

If I sleep better, drink a lot before I sleep, my supply will be back to normal.

If latching, make sure that your baby latch until your breast totally empty.. Because my left breast very likely to get blocked, so it won't get equal supply to my right breast. But if Josie latch last time until it's totally empty, I will get equal supply for left & right..

Right now Josie is not latching anymore, so I encounter decrease of supply. huhu..

Zuen:

How did u manage to train issac to drink from the bottle? Rem u mention that he kept crying also? Then eventually he drank? How long u took?

For me think will take longer cos thinking of trying out only at the afternoon feed. Dont wanna affect his morning n noon nap times. So tot try after his naps then even if take a long time still ok.

Think kayden quite smart lor. The moment he sees the bottle he'll start crying already.