(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

woohoo... Good morning ladies and Ian...

wah lao, I got to read so many archives leh... scary..

Was really laffing away on the train while reading what you all post... like sia cha bor like that...

Anyway, on enrichment classes, my #1 din have any coz like shin's hb, my hb is a non-believer in enrichment classes. Although I did go for some play gym trials with my forum frens when #1 is less than 1yo, we find that it is so so so tiring for parents... haha.. coz they are still young and in the end, the parents got to carry up carry down etc. After that gym trial not only the kid KO, the parent also KO lor. haha...

Anyway, my hb has his own way of thinking and I respect it lah. Luckily for #1, we are able to spend a lot more time and effort to interact and teach him at home, plus most imptly, he attended childcare at 18mths and the cc provides enrichment activities too. So we dun see the need for extras.

But now, I felt that we dun really have much time to help him in his mandarin, even though I am an A1 student for chinese (rusty liao). I wanted to cultivate his interest in mandarin before he go to primary school in 1-2 years time (now he is in K1). So managed to convince my hb to let him try Berries. We are checking it out now so hopefully he can get it and enjoy the language which I did.

So there is no right or wrong in sending or not sending your kid for enrichment classes at young age. I believed at this young age of our babies now, all they need is LOTS and LOTS of love.

My sis sent her son for GUG. But thats it. She just sing song to her son, bring him to enrichment class but spend very little time with him. End up, he learns nothing except memorising the zoo phonics. Ask him other things, he dun know. Only know the song they taught. Now he seldom sees his own mother coz she works late and have all sorts of activities. I felt sad for the boy lor. Worse is that, we suspect the boy got a bit of autistic. sigh... long story...

So all in all... hug and kiss and spend lots of time with our kids... they will grow up fine. And most imptly, they know that we love them so much.

Sorry lah... a bit emotional here. Maybe after reading that sad story link really affects me a lot. That photo still lingers in my mind. Makes me want to hug and kiss my kids every single second...

I took 2 months maternity last yr (+ 25 working days of annual leave to clear last yr) and 2 months taken this year... i just returned in Feb 2011. He somemore said i will be pro-rated again for this year's bonus as well...

Princess D...

#3! #3! #3!!! haha....

J & M are really really cute lor... I everyday must view their cute pic in FB lor... perks up my day...

Starry,

Saw your U/S! Glad that little beanie is doing well... you rest well and JIA YOU!!! so excited for you. And your little jadelyn is so pretty and cute. Last nite I told my mum abt your jadelyn rolling under the bed and your mum got to drag her out by the legs... we had a really good laff... SO CUTE!! my rhea still only flip onto tummy and dun know how to flip back yet... keke...

Sorry but I lost track of whose baby is sick... Hopefully all the kids get well real soon and mummies also must also take care leh...

i ask my boss why like dat and i dun remember this happened for my first baby and he just said it is not a policy formally but he feels this is fairer as i was away....I wanted to challenge him. What about guys who go on reservist??? Totally not fair. He makes me feel like quitting and I have slogging for this company for the past 10 years...

beautyseet, if u are really feeling imbalance & u can afford to lose this job in the worst case scenario, confront ur boss after verifying with MOM on the pro-rata bonus. must hv concrete information from them. moreover 10yrs in the company is consider long service le

Hi Ian~

Beautyseet,

Not fair. Since it is unofficial, he also cannot do that wat. How can he make his own decision to prorate your bonus? Think you better check with your HR or MOM and confront him if he is in wrong.

ISETAN PRIVATE SALES

====================

Just to share, tomolo is isetan private sales hor. Those who need retail therapy, might want to chiong this coz really good discounts... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hee... FYI.

Thanks all for your sympathy with my case. Ian, your link is particularly helpful.

It is difficult to confront him because the bonus is performance bonus and not fixed bonus. HR will say it all depends on your Head's assessment of your performance, and my boss's point is since i am away, how could i perform during absence so he just deduct for that period. MOM will also be unlikely to interfere cos how to verify if he is giving me less because i am not up to mark?

How many times in my life can i give birth, right? This boss is very miserly and calculative...and worst, last year was a very good year, so i actually lost more...

vivian,

wahahaa! now that you mention jadelyn under the bed, i was reminded of it and wanna laugh. lol! my mum props pillows next to the baby mattress to cover the 'hole' so that she cannot roll under anymore. :p i was also laughing like siao char bor over the "pang jio" yesterday. HAHAA!

BS> yeah performance bonus is abit hard to argue your way out..ur boss can simply rebutt you by saying during ur absence..u didn't contribute to the company. so i guess seeking TAFEP for help would be most appropriate~

starry..

jadelyn can flip & roll? my gal can only flip & on her tummy lei. i saw Shin's clip on Aedan.. he also can flip & flip lei. but my little princess can only flip one direction and cannot unflip liao. then will 'shout' HELP HELP.. LOL

Beauty,

If it is performance bonus, then I think difficult for u to challenge liao cos there is no rule to say who get wat n it is at e company's discretion on how much to give. It is indeed valid for your boss to say that u were absent n thus not contributing n so shld get lesser performing bonus. But most companies dun do that bcos should be supporting the govt to make more mummies work mah. The most is to argue that u r on annual leave, not extra leave, everybody gets the same no of days of leave so why others not penalize.

I am just very upset cos like Ian correctly pointed out, it is discrimination at work. Guys go on long reservist leave too and pple go on hospitalisation leave too but the pro-rata treatment does not apply for them simply because my boss cannot remember and does not keep track. My dept is dominated by guys and I am the only one who gives birth last yr. My previous boss was much better as he knows that I worked very hard all my years with the company and that i should not be penalise just because i became pregnant...

i really feel it is a lot of sacrifice ever since I became a mummy cos I cannot "chiong" in my career like i used to... I used to work very very long hours...

Beauty Seet

He can give you less but he cant pro-rate. For example, assuming that you didnt give birth n performance is good, you get 2mth bonus.

Sine you give birth, your performance level is affected thus you only get 1.5mth, then its fair.

If across board everyone gets 1mth, then you should get the same cos its not tied to personal performance.

BUT no pro-rated, not sure if you understand what I mean.

Go to HR and fight for your rights!!

Good morning mommies and daddy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

WAH!!!!how come the thread so active??????[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So shack these few days.....Must be the weather![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mommies wanted to meet up,i think i will organise another meet up soon maybe next week n it will be during lunck since the Dinner plan is impossible for most...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Beauty seet

Sorry to hear what happened...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]Hope the mommies n daddy input may help you through....fight for your rights!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vivian

*gulp* No3?I m so scared!lol

See how la..Im not ready le...I wanted to join th work force!LOL

Think,when Meghan turn 2yrs old..i might wanna find something to do....My brain is failing!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Starry

Thanks for the recipe....maybe later go buy a black chicken and try it out tonight...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I m a great fan of chicken essense![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BS,

oh.. if is PB, then difficult.

This year, my PB also low coz i only worked for 6mths in 2010 lor. On hospitalization leave + maternity leave... Bo bian. Sigh...

Seabreeze, yeah i agree with you but i don't know how much rest is being paid leh cos we are not supposed to tell how many months we get. I guess I can only LL lor.. what to do? He is basically sending message that I better not get pregnant again.... talk about singapore birth rates falling...

need some help. Just tried four leaf millet for bb n I tried it myself. It's pretty rough n has a bitter after taste. Any mummies has any other recommendation? I don't want to keep buying different brand n end up wasted..

I tried holle for elder boy. Likes it but only problem is it's hard to get at times. Given it's organic, I also can't stock up!

princess d,

haha!! very funny right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jadefeet,

try Healthy Times. can be purchased from NTUC. otherwise happy baby / organix cereals also good. can purchase from agape babies in BP thread.

Any mummies have a root canal treatment on front teeth before (incisor)? It's the tooth beside the canine..

I went to doctor this morning and he informed me my tooth nerve has died! Hix..

He said I have 2 alternatives, wait for another week to get it checked again, who knows it will recover from the trauma (Josie's head bump my tooth)or do the root canal treatment immediately.

I wait first :S.

But I realized, that tooth has already decayed since forever. I did a tooth filling when I was 10 years old, and re-do the filling here in 2008 when I was 23 years old!! No wonder Josie's head butt causes it to be dead..

Last Monday when I have the toothache, it's not dead yet. The doctor just re-do the tooth filling again for the third time.. But today it's dead already. So sad.

Dunno becoz of the re-tooth filling or not so it's dead, but it's my fault too didn't remember that I bump into Josie a few days before the pain, so I didn't inform the doctor.. :'(

Doctor said the treatment is $400 :S..

I'm quite scared actually, becoz I read in the internet some horror stories about that.. The success rate is 90% only. huhu..

But if I don't do the treatment, eventually I'll lose my tooth.. hix

beautyseek> I also get my bonus pro-rated I guess, it's in the "Individual Performance" rate, which he need to rank everyone in my department and give certain rate based of that.

I'm still quite ok, because it's true I can't be compared with people who works the full year that time.. But I also never asked the new hire, what do they get. Huhu.. I don't dare otherwise later I'll feel sad..

Salary is a very sensitive matter. If you asked other person, then you'll feel sad if you don't get enough. If you don't ask, you don't know, you will feel better and performs better for the next year to get better increment. That's what I thought

Afternoon mummies n Ian,

Can I Check for those feeding FM, how much ur babies drinking now?

I'm thinking of starting FM for kayden for his last feed. Have been considering n trying out other ways to help him sleep thru but seems like cannot leh.

Was thinking since I may wan to slowly cut down on breastfeeding by 6mths. Now a good time to slowly introduce FM n bottle feeding to kayden.

Kind of lost as to which brand of FM sld I buy n also wat to look out for after that? His poo sld be wat colour n need to feed water? Sorry but his mummy here very blur n lost la. So far just latch so convenient. Haha.

Then how much hot n cold water to put har? Wats the proportion?

Starry

Thanks for the recipe link!! I also like the blog very much!

Jadefeet

u can use millet for cooking or baking if ur baby doesn like it, sk no waste.

i also bought that brand but hvnt try.

Xin2

If u want to start 6 mnth plus can ask for milk samples from each brand.

groovy,

root canal treatment also means the tooth had "died" no nerves mean dead le lor. but it will still be there, after the dentist remove the nerve, the will clean it up and replace it with a crown. I thk you shld go for it. But also note that because the tooth is "dead" there will be discoloration of the tooth in the future. It will turn yellow and many many many many years later eventually turn black.

starry thanks for the link! my aunt taught me to make beef essence that way too! tastier than chicken, can try if you take beef!

novakido> huhu.. so sad.. Thinking it's front tooth some more :S.

I now thinking it's very unlikely the tooth will come back to live again, remembering it's the decayed tooth since my childhood [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. Can't blame Josie totally because the tooth has decayed. No wonder her head butt caused it to be dead. huhu..

I really regret last time I never have a good habit of brushing teeth properly. My parents are not the type who will check. They also never bring me to dentist unless I have a serious toothache. They even worked in candies factory, so we've been eating lots and lots of sweets during our childhood..

Even though I goes to dentist here after I get dental claim from my company (starting in 2008), it's too late already..

Remember, told your kid, the teeth will ROT if they don't brush..

Last time my parents only said toothache, but as kids, I never encounter a bad one, so I don't care and still lazy in brushing my teeth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. Good habit must be from the beginning.

I will bring Josie to see dentist every 6 months with me when she's grown up..

Xin,

Proportion wise u have to check on the milk powder can itself. Similac's 60ml water to 1 scoop powder. Estimate temp of water yourself. Ard normal human body temp will do.

Ann,

No prob. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Novakido,

The beef can just use frozen lean beef meat chunks from supermarkets?

groovy,

ya lor. my hubby got a "sick" front tooth, hit by soccer ball. it turned yellow. so the dentist said it may have bled during the injury so the bruise will coz the discoloration. and it wont turn white anymore... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ya lor must cultivate good dental habits hor. my older boy now brushes his teeth twice a day-morning and night. did it since he was 6 months old. now chace, i clean his gums hehe. for myself i try to floss at least once a day besides brushing coz I have quite a few fillings. my dentist says cannot always change fillings de, cause the drilling will keep thining the teeth... so must look after the fillings lo.

starry, my aunt ask me to use 五花肉 i m not sure which part also I think its the thigh? normally i just go wet mkt ask the uncle for the meat haha! best to take once every week! beef up!

oh i thk i remembered she said if u are at the supermarket then she suggest looking for those parts where u can stir fry to use. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

novakido> The dentist actually said if I don't do root canal treatment, later it will turn yellow, then later black, and it will drop off by itself. Huhu..

I'm still hoping the nerve will come back to life. :S.. My appointment is actually 2 weeks later. I'll monitor if discoloration appear, will go immediately to the dentist.

Thanks a lot for your info [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

novakido,

thanks!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] sounds yummy! feeling hungry now. haha!

i have 2 stupid questions i wanna ask... its quite random though...

1) for sippy cup, isit ok to sterilise them? mine is NUK learner bottle with spout that type... if i use it as like "water-bottle"... meaning throughout the day i use it to feed Aedan water and only wash it twice a day... is that ok or will it be very dirty?

2) for mummies using BB creams... is the concealer used before or after applying the cream?

ok thats all! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi starry,

I went to paragon n gotten the organix faster pack n hole millet with milk. Will try tomorrow .

Ann,

How to cook or bake with millet? Any recipes to share?

Am sure my elder son won't eat it since it's bitter.

Tried feeding kayden FM using bottle. Wa. He was crying n crying lor. Think he din drink much cos prepare 120ml for him still got 50ml left. Then the napkin so wet lor. Think he spit out quite a lot. Haiz. After that offer him breast he also dun wan. Either he full Liao or just wanna sleep already.

Will try again tmr n see how. Really hope he'll learn to drink from bottle n FM also. Then easier to wean him from breast.

Hi Shin ..im also using the NUK as like waterbottle when im out as my ger doesnt drink from bottle so that acts s water for her, and i didnt sterilise only before and after home.

usually bb cream doesnt needs concealer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Beautyseet: my pb is not prorated. Probably because I'm a civil servant, it's tagged to standard grading n promotion. Since I got promoted last yr my pb wil b low this yr but stil a full yr pb. Even though I was pregnant then on maternity I believe i performed well in that time given and ml is an entitlement given by govt n not some extra leave we demand so how can we b judged on that? If govt said no ml aft give birth take ur own leave or go back to work we wld jus follow rite. We dun set the rules so we shouldn't b penalized for it.

Xin2: I find formula doesn't really make a difference on how long bb sleeps. My boy sleeps from 12-7 w/o waking up on bm alone. Occasionally wil wake up if he didnt finish his dream feed. Tried formula for night feed, still the same timing.

Time to rant again... Today went to hdb in e evening to sign agreement to lease for my new flat. We got e appt letter last week so I already arranged w my mil that ytd I wld bring my bb for vaccination then today she wld stay hm in e evening to watch him in case he gets fever. Ended up this morning she went out and told my hb she's not coming back til late! We had to bring him to hdb and he was really feverish n cranky n crying practically the whole time. I am so mad at my mil rite now. She even went w me to e pd ytd n she knows that aft each injection bb got fever. Furthermore she agreed to stay hm w him. If she hadn't agreed I wld hv rescheduled either his vaccination or e appt. Wen she finally got hm still got the cheek to ask if he had fever. Wen I told her yes she jus walked away. Really blood boil!

Fel

thanks for reply!!! ok.. so it can be sterilised right? hehehe.. ok i think i shall start using... try first to see if it works.. lol

cherry

happy shopping for you!!!

stella

relax relax!!! breathe!!!

princess d .. finally ive made a creamy texture fr the avocado.. i smash it wif a fork and put alot bm to create a liquid. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but bb still dun seems to accept it .. will try again otherwise give another type of food maybe banana

any mommies try giving bb "si sen " brown rice powder before